Memorandum of Agreement Concerning a Canada-Ontario Comprehensive Integrated Tax Co-ordination Agreement

BETWEEN:

The Government of Canada (referred to as "Canada"), as represented by the Minister of Finance of Canada

AND:

The Government of Ontario (referred to as "Ontario"), as represented by the Minister of Finance of Ontario;

Preamble

This memorandum of Agreement ("MOA") reflects the strong commitment by Canada and Ontario to work collaboratively to build a stronger economic foundation.

Pursuant to this MOA, both parties commit to using their best efforts to negotiate a new Canada-Ontario Comprehensive Integrated Tax Co-ordination Agreement (hereafter referred to as the "Canada-Ontario CITCA"), together with any necessary related agreements, whereby the Canada Revenue Agency ("CRA")and the Canada Border Services Agency ("CBSA") will administer an Ontario Value-Added Tax ("OVAT").

This MOA forms the framework for concluding the Canada-Ontario CITCA.

Canada-Ontario Comprehensive Integrated Tax Co-ordination Agreement

Canada and Ontario agree to make their best efforts to fulfill the undertakings set out in this MOA in order that all policy and administrative details are finalized, including any necessary legislative processes and the signing of appropriate agreements, before March 31, 2010, except where otherwise specified in this MOA.

Canada undertakes to seek the approval of the Governor in Council to enter into an agreement under Part III.1 of the Federal-Provincial Fiscal Arrangements Act consistent with the terms of this MOA. The parties understand that this MOA does not constitute an agreement pursuant to subsection 8.3(1) of the Federal-Provincial Fiscal Arrangements Act.

Ontario undertakes to seek authority to enter into the Canada-Ontario CITCA.

Canada and Ontario will use their best efforts to conclude the Canada-Ontario CITCA within six months of having signed this MOA.

Implementation Date

Subject to both Parties having signed the Canada-Ontario CITCA, and subject to legislative approval, the Parties will work toward the imposition of the proposed OVAT by the CRA/CBSA on July 1, 2010. Subject to these approvals, the CRA/CBSA will have the necessary systems in place to effectively implement the OVAT on July 1, 2010.

Federal Transitional Assistance to Ontario

To help offset the transition costs associated with the implementation of the OVAT and the winding down of the retail sales tax administration in Ontario and because moving to an OVAT would support economic growth and job creation, Canada will make two transfer payments totalling $4,300 million to Ontario. The schedule of transfer payments will be as follows: $3,000 million upon the date of imposition of the OVAT and $1,300 million one year following the date of imposition of the OVAT provided the tax continues to be in place one year after the date of imposition of the OVAT.

Ontario agrees to remain a party to the Canada-Ontario CITCA for a period of at least five years following imposition.

Ontario Value-Added Tax

An 8% OVAT would be implemented under the federal Excise Tax Act. Ontario will propose legislation to give effect to the Canada-Ontario CITCA and any other provincially administered measures appropriate to the transition to the OVAT.

The OVAT would have the same tax base as the Goods and Services Tax (GST), subject to the exceptions described below.

Provincial Tax Policy Flexibility

The Canada-Ontario CITCA will confirm Ontario's flexibility, subject to reasonable notice provisions, to:

  • increase or decrease the OVAT rate after two years from the date of OVAT implementation;
  • designate a limited number of OVAT point-of-sale rebates, not exceeding 5%, in aggregate, of the estimated GST base for Ontario subject to data availability and definitions used in the Canadian System of National Accounts or other mutually agreed upon data sources, definitions and methodologies. For greater certainty, point-of-sale rebates that Canada agrees to administer for Ontario will include children's clothing, feminine hygiene products and books;
  • temporarily deny for a period of up to five years a portion, up to 100%, of allowable business input tax credits ("ITCs") based on a select list of items to be determined by Ontario (not to apply beyond the items subject to the current ITCs denials under the Quebec Sales Tax). Following this period, full ITCs will be phased-in, in equal annual proportions, over a period of up to three years. Ontario would advance the timeline for the phase-in of full ITCs should fiscal circumstances allow; and
  • set OVAT rebate rates and thresholds for Municipalities, Universities, Schools, Colleges and Hospitals (MUSH),Charities, qualifying NPOs and New Housing, subject to matching other federal GST administrative and structural parameters.

Canada agrees to introduce legislation to enable the tax policy flexibility noted herein.

Common Tax Base

Except as provided in this MOA under the heading Provincial Tax Policy Flexibility, Ontario will enter into the Canada-Ontario CITCA and will be bound by tax base changes made by Canada with respect to the GST. However, where Canada proposes a tax base change that would result in a reduction of more than one percent of OVAT revenues (net of provincial rebates provided for under this MOA, and ITCs), Canada may implement the change only if the Minister of Finance of Ontario provides written agreement to the change prior to implementation. If Canada implements the tax base change without consulting Ontario, or proceeds without Ontario's written agreement, Canada agrees to fully compensate Ontario for the revenue reduction for every year that the change remains in place and the Canada-Ontario CITCA remains in force.

Canada and Ontario will develop reasonable notice provisions in the Canada-Ontario CITCA.

Collection and Administration

The OVAT, including all eligible rebates and temporarily restricted ITCs provided for in this MOA under the heading Provincial Tax Policy Flexibility, will be collected and administered, at mutually agreed upon service and compliance levels, by the CRA/CBSA at no charge to Ontario. In addition, Canada will be solely responsible for all CRA/CBSA startup and ongoing costs, including their development and systems costs.

For greater clarity, these costs will not reduce or be offset against the $4,300 million in total transfer payments provided for in this MOA under the heading Federal Transitional Assistance to Ontario.

Payment of Revenues Collected

Canada and Ontario agree that revenues payable to Ontario will be based on the revenue allocation framework as set out under the Canada-Ontario CITCA, subject to the following:

  • Canada agrees to pay Ontario its revenue entitlements on a daily basis. For greater clarity, the allocation for a tax entitlement year will be paid to Ontario in estimated daily amounts determined using the revenue allocation framework beginning July 1, 2010. The payments will be based on the estimate for the tax entitlement year, and will include adjustments to these amounts relating to scheduled revisions and reconciliations as provided for under the revenue allocation framework.

The revenue allocation framework to be included in the Canada-Ontario CITCA will be based on the framework in the CITCA between Canada and the HST provinces.

Exchange of Information and Other Agreements

There will be full co-operation between Canada and Ontario with respect to the exchange of information relating to the OVAT. The specific terms on information exchange and mutual assistance will be provided for in agreements to be entered into between Canada and Ontario (e.g., the CRA and Ontario and the CBSA and Ontario). Such agreements will ensure the timely provision of available OVAT specific data and other OVAT-related information to Ontario, as maybe disclosed pursuant to the appropriate laws and regulations.

Canada and Ontario will work to establish mechanism(s)/agreement(s) to provide for the management of issues related to client services, compliance and enforcement of the OVAT by the CRA/CBSA.

Best efforts will be made to conclude these agreements in a timeframe that is consistent with, and no later than, the target date for the conclusion of the Canada-Ontario CITCA noted earlier.

Human Resources

Canada and Ontario acknowledge that they each must consider relevant legislation and policies, and have collective agreement obligations with their respective bargaining agents. Within this context, the Parties agree to negotiate the best possible arrangements, to be contained within a Human Resources Agreement, for employment at CRA/CBSA within Ontario, of Ontario Public Service employees affected by this MOA.

CRA Administration of OVAT in Ontario

Given the significant presence of CRA/CBSA activity and operations in Ontario, and the previous clause pertaining to Human Resources, Canada will maximize the amount of activities and operations carried on in Ontario for OVAT.

Where it can be demonstrated, with respect to specific OVAT activities and operations, that the effective administration of OVAT would be jeopardized if the activities and operations are performed in Ontario, Canada will use best efforts to maximize employment opportunities in Ontario for a corresponding number of Ontario employees affected by this initiative, within departments or agencies of the federal government.

Audit

The Ontario Minister of Finance may designate a person to examine such books and records, excluding information which is protected by law, as maybe relevant in order to permit such person to report in respect of the payments made to Ontario under the Canada-Ontario CITCA.

Appointment of Panel

Canada and Ontario agree to jointly appoint a Panel or Individual, within 6 months following the implementation of the OVAT, to review and make recommendations on possible improvements to the:

  • administrative and policy information available on the OVAT;
  • revenue allocation framework, such as replacement by a system that would provide the distribution of revenue to Ontario, and Harmonized Sales Tax provinces, based on actual sales of goods and services in such provinces; and
  • governance and organizational structures of the various committees under the Canada-Ontario CITCA.

The Panel or Individual will report back to the parties within one year of being appointed.

Canada and Ontario agree to consider revising the Canada-Ontario CITCA as appropriate to reflect the recommendations of the Panel or Individual. Canada will consult with the existing Harmonized Sales Tax provinces.

Ontario Retail Sales Tax

Ontario will be responsible for winding down its retail sales tax to the extent that it is to be replaced by the OVAT.

CRA/CBSA and Ontario will have the option of agreeing on the CRA/CBSA providing client services, collections, audit, rulings, objections and appeal activities in respect of the retail sales tax on an incremental fee for service basis over the transition period.

Constitutional Jurisdiction Not Waived

Neither Canada nor Ontario shall be deemed to have surrendered or abandoned any of its powers, rights, privileges or authorities under the Constitution Acts, 1867-1982, and any amendments thereto, or otherwise, or to have impaired any such powers, rights, privileges, or authorities.

Confidentiality

Pending a public announcement by Ontario that it is introducing an OVAT, Canada commits to taking all steps to embargo the existence of this MOA and to not disclose in any way federal-provincial discussions relating to the development, negotiation and execution of this MOA or to an OVAT. The Parties agree not to disclose this MOA unless mutually agreed to in writing or required by law.

THIS MEMORANDUM OF AGREEMENT ENTERED INTO ON:

March 9, 2009

FOR CANADA
The Honourable James M. Flaherty
Minister of Finance
March 10, 2009

FOR ONTARIO
The Honourable Dwight Duncan
Minister of Finance
Page: 2758  |

Protocole d'accord en vue de la conclusion d'une entente intégrée globale de coordination fiscale Canada-Ontario

ENTRE:

Le gouvernement du Canada (ci-après appelé « le Canada »), représenté par le ministre des Finances du Canada

ET

Le gouvernement de l'Ontario (ci-après appelé (« l'Ontario »), représenté par le ministre des Finances de l'Ontario

Préambule

Le présent protocole d'accord témoigne de l'engagement ferme du Canada et de l'Ontario de travailler en collaboration en vue d'établir des assises économiques plus solides.

Conformément au présent protocole, les parties s'engagent à faire de leur mieux pour négocier une nouvelle entente intégrée globale de coordination fiscale Canada-Ontario (ci-après appelée (« EIGCF Canada-Ontario »), ainsi que les accords connexes nécessaires, afin que l'Agence du revenu du Canada (« ARC ») et l'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (« ASFC ») assurent l'administration d'une taxe à la valeur ajoutée de l'Ontario (« TVAO »).

Le présent protocole constitue le cadre pour la conclusion de I'EIGCF Canada-Ontario.

Entente intégrée globale de coordination fiscale Canada-Ontario

Le Canada et l'Ontario conviennent de faire de leur mieux pour remplir les engagements pris aux termes du présent protocole de sorte que toutes les modalités stratégiques et administratives, y compris les processus législatifs nécessaires et la signature des accords appropriés, puissent être finalisées avant le 31 mars 2010, sauf disposition contraire énoncée au présent protocole.

Le Canada s'engage à demander au gouverneur en conseil l'autorisation de conclure, en vertu de la partie III.1 de la Loi sur les arrangements fiscaux entre le gouvernement fédéral et les provinces, un accord qui est conforme aux modalités du présent protocole. Les parties comprennent que le présent protocole ne constitue pas un accord au sens du paragraphe 8.3(1) de cette loi.

L'Ontario s'engage à demander l'autorisation de conclure l'EIGCF Canada-Ontario.

Le Canada et l'Ontario feront de leur mieux pour conclure l'EIGCF Canada-Ontario dans les six mois suivant la signature du présent protocole.

Date de mise en œuvre

Sous réserve de la signature par les deux parties de l'EIGCF Canada-Ontario et sous réserve d'autorisation législative, les parties travailleront en vue de l'imposition de la TVAO par l'ARC/ASFC le 1er juillet 2010. Sous réserve de ces autorisations, l'ARC/ASFC aura mis en place les systèmes nécessaires en vue de la mise en œuvre efficace de la TVAO le 1er juillet 2010.

Aide fédérale de transition à l'Ontario

Afin d'aider à compenser les coûts de transition associés à la mise en œuvre de la TVAO et à la fin de l'administration de la taxe de vente au détail en Ontario et compte tenu du fait que le passage à une TVAO stimulerait la croissance économique et la création d'emplois, le Canada fera à l'Ontario deux paiements de transfert totalisant 4 300 millions de dollars, selon le calendrier suivant: 3000 millions de dollars à la date d'imposition de la TVAO et 1 300 millions de dollars un an suivant la date d'imposition de la TVAO, pourvu que la taxe soit toujours en place un an après cette date.

L'Ontario convient de demeurer partie à I'EIGCF Canada-Ontario pendant une période d'au moins cinq ans après l'imposition.

Taxe à la valeur ajoutée de l'Ontario

Une TVAO de 8 % serait mise en œuvre en vertu de la Loi sur la taxe d'accise fédérale. L'Ontario proposera des mesures législatives visant à donner effet à l'EIGCF Canada-Ontario et à toutes autres mesures administrées par la province qui ont trait à la transition vers la TVAO.

L'assiette de la TVAO serait la même que celle de la taxe sur les produits et services (TPS), sous réserve des exceptions prévues ci-après.

Marge de manœuvre en matière de politique fiscale provinciale

L'EIGCF Canada-Ontario confirmera la marge de manœuvre de l'Ontario, laquelle sera assujettie à des dispositions de préavis raisonnable, lui permettant de faire ce qui suit:

  • Augmenter ou réduire le taux de la TVAO une fois écoulée une période de deux ans après la date de sa mise en œuvre.
  • Désigner un nombre limité de remboursements de la TVAO au point de vente, n'excédant pas, au total, 5 % de l'assiette de TPS estimative pour l'Ontario, sous réserve de la disponibilité des données et des définitions utilisées dans le Système de comptabilité nationale du Canada ou dans d'autres sources de données, définitions et méthodologies convenues d'un commun accord. Il est entendu que les remboursements au point de vente que le Canada convient d'administrer pour l'Ontario comprendront ceux visant les vêtements pour enfants, les produits d'hygiène féminine et les livres.
  • Refuser temporairement, pendant une période maximale de cinq ans, une proportion, n'excédant pas 100 %, des crédits de taxe sur les intrants (« CTI ») d'entreprise admissibles d'après une liste d'éléments que dressera l'Ontario (et se limitant aux éléments à l'égard desquels le CTI est actuellement refusé sous le régime de la taxe de vente du Québec). Au terme de cette période, le plein montant des CTI sera mis en œuvre progressivement, en proportions annuelles égales, sur une période maximale de trois ans. L'Ontario accélérera ce calendrier de mise en œuvre si le contexte fiscal s'y prête.
  • Fixer le taux des remboursements de TVAO et les seuils applicables aux municipalités, universités, écoles, collèges et hôpitaux, aux organismes de bienfaisance, aux organismes à but non lucratif admissibles et aux habitations neuves, tout en respectant les autres paramètres administratifs et structurels applicables à la TPS au niveau fédéral.

Le Canada convient de déposer des mesures législatives validant la marge de manœuvre en matière de politique fiscale dont il est question ici.

Assiette fiscale commune

Sauf disposition contraire énoncée au présent protocole sous l'intertitre « Marge de manœuvre en matière de politique fiscale provinciale », l'Ontario conclura I'EIGCF Canada-Ontario et sera lié par les modifications apportées par le Canada à l'assiette de la TPS. Toutefois, dans l'éventualité ou une modification proposée par le Canada à l'assiette de la TPS aurait pour effet de réduire de plus de 1 % les recettes tirées de la TVAO (déduction faite des remboursements provinciaux prévus par le présent protocole et des CTI), le Canada ne pourra mettre la modification en œuvre que si le ministre des Finances de l'Ontario y consent par écrit au préalable. Le Canada, s'il met la modification en œuvre sans consulter l'Ontario ou s'il procède à sa mise en œuvre sans le consentement écrit de l'Ontario, convient de dédommager pleinement l'Ontario de la réduction des recettes et ce, pour chaque année où la modification demeure en place et où l'EIGCF Canada-Ontario demeure en vigueur.

L'EIGCF Canada-Ontario contiendra des dispositions de préavis raisonnable, mises au point par le Canada et l'Ontario.

Perception et administration

La TVAO, y compris les remboursements admissibles et les CTI temporairement limités prévus dans le présent protocole sous l'intertitre (« Marge de manœuvre en matière de politique fiscale provinciale », sera perçue et administrée par l'ARC/ASFC sans frais à l'Ontario, selon des niveaux de service et d'observation convenus d'un commun accord. En outre, le Canada assumera seul les coûts de démarrage et permanents de l'ARC/ASFC, y compris les coûts liés au développement et aux systèmes.

Il est entendu que ces coûts ne seront pas appliqués en réduction des paiements de transfert totaux de 4 300 millions de dollars prévus par le présent protocole sous l'intertitre « Aide fédérale de transition à l'Ontario ».

Paiement des recettes perçues

Le Canada et l'Ontario conviennent que les recettes payables à l'Ontario seront fondées sur le cadre de répartition des recettes prévue dans I'EIGCF Canada-Ontario, sous réserve de l'énoncé suivant:

  • Le Canada convient de verser quotidiennement à l'Ontario la quote-part qui lui revient. Il est entendu que le montant de l'attribution pour une année de quote-part sera versé à l'Ontario à raison de sommes quotidiennes estimatives déterminées au moyen du cadre de répartition des recettes à compter du 1er juillet 2010. Les versements seront fondés sur l'estimation pour l'année de quote-part et comprendront des rajustements liés à des révisions et des rapprochements prévus, conformément au cadre de répartition des recettes.

Le cadre de répartition des recettes de l'EIGCF Canada-Ontario sera fondé sur le cadre établi dans l'EIGCF conclue entre le Canada et les provinces où la TVH est imposée.

Échange de renseignements et autres accords

Le Canada et l'Ontario travailleront en toute collaboration en ce qui à trait à l'échange de renseignements concernant la TVAO. Les modalités précises relatives à l'échange de renseignements et à l'assistance mutuelle seront prévues par des accords qui seront conclus entre le Canada et l'Ontario (par exemple, entre l'ARC et l'Ontario et l'ASFC et l'Ontario). Ces accords feront en sorte que l'Ontario obtienne en temps opportun des données spécifiques disponibles sur la TVAO et d'autres renseignements relatifs à la TVAO, dont la communication est autorisée en vertu des lois et règlements applicables.

Le Canada et l'Ontario travailleront à l'établissement de mécanismes ou d'accords portant sur la gestion de questions relatives aux services à la clientèle, à l'observation et à l'application de la TVAO par l'ARC/ASFC.

Les parties s'efforceront de conclure ces accords au plus tard à la date prévue pour la conclusion de l'EIGCF Canada-Ontario mentionnée ci-devant.

Ressources humaines

Le Canada et l'Ontario reconnaissent qu'il est important, pour chacun d'eux, d'examiner les mesures législatives et politiques pertinentes et qu'ils ont chacun, envers leurs agents négociateurs respectifs, des obligations dans le cadre de conventions collectives. Dans ce contexte, les parties conviennent de négocier les meilleurs arrangements possibles - qui feront l'objet d'un accord sur les ressources humaines - visant l'emploi au sein de l'ARC/ASFC en Ontario d'employés de la fonction publique ontarienne touchés par le présent protocole.

Administration de la TVAO par l'ARC en Ontario

Étant donne la présence importante des activités et opérations de l'ARC/ASFC en Ontario et compte tenu de la disposition précédente concernant les ressources humaines, le Canada maximisera le nombre d'activités et d'opérations exercées en Ontario relativement à la TVAO.

Lorsqu'il peut être établi, relativement à des activités et opérations spécifiques liées à la TVAO, que l'administration efficace de la TVAO serait compromise si les activités et opérations étaient exercées en Ontario, le Canada fera de son mieux pour maximiser les occasions d'emploi en Ontario, au sein des ministères et organismes de l'administration fédérale, pour un nombre correspondant d'employés de la fonction publique de l'Ontario touchés par cette initiative.

Vérification

Le ministre des Finances de l'Ontario peut désigner une personne qui sera chargée d'examiner les livres et registres pertinents, à l'exclusion des renseignements protégés par la loi, de façon qu'elle soit en mesure de faire rapport au sujet des paiements faits à l'Ontario en vertu de l'EIGCF Canada-Ontario.

Nomination d'un comité

Le Canada et l'Ontario conviennent de nommer conjointement, dans les six mois suivant la mise en œuvre de la TVAO, un comité ou un individu chargé d'examiner les questions suivantes et de formuler des recommandations quant à des améliorations possibles :

  • les renseignements disponibles sur l'administration et les politiques relatives à la TVAO;
  • le cadre de répartition des recettes, notamment son remplacement par un système prévoyant la répartition des recettes à l'Ontario, et aux provinces où la taxe de vente harmonisée est imposée, en fonction des ventes réelles de produits et de services dans ces provinces;
  • la gouvernance et la structure organisationnelle des divers comités constitués en vertu de l'EIGCF Canada-Ontario.

Le comité ou l'individu fera rapport aux parties dans un délai d'un an suivant sa nomination.

Le Canada et l'Ontario conviennent d'envisager la révision de l'EIGCF Canada-Ontario afin de tenir compte des recommandations du comité ou de l'individu. Le Canada consultera les provinces où une taxe de vente harmonisée est actuellement imposée.

Taxe de vente au détail de l'Ontario

L'Ontario sera chargé de mettre un terme à sa taxe de vente au détail dans la mesure où elle doit être remplacée par la TVAO.

L'ARC/ASFC et l'Ontario pourront s'entendre sur la prestation par l'ARC/ASFC de services à la clientèle et de services liés à la perception, à la vérification, aux décisions, aux oppositions et aux appels relativement à la taxe de vente au détail selon un principe de rémunération des services sur une base différentielle pendant la période de transition.

Compétence constitutionnelle

Ni le Canada ni l'Ontario ne sont réputés avoir cédé ou abandonné les pouvoirs, droits, privilèges ou attributions qui lui sont conférés par les Lois constitutionnelles de 1867 à 1982, et leurs modifications, ou autrement, ou être lésés dans l'un ou l'autre de ces pouvoirs, droits, privilèges ou attributions.

Confidentialité

Dans l'attente d'une déclaration publique de l'Ontario portant qu'il établit une TVAO, le Canada s'engage à mettre l'embargo sur l'existence du présent protocole et à ne pas divulguer de quelque manière que ce soit la teneur des pourparlers fédéraux-provinciaux concernant l'élaboration, la négociation et la mise en œuvre du présent protocole ou une TVAO. Les parties conviennent de ne pas divulguer la teneur du présent protocole, sauf d'un commun accord conclu par écrit ou sauf si elles y sont requises par la loi.

LE PRÉSENT PROTOCOLE D'ACCORD A ÉTÉ CONCLU LE

9 mars 2009

POUR LE CANADA
L'honorable James M. Flaherty
Ministre des Finances
10 mars 2009

POUR L'ONTARIO
L'honorable Dwight Duncan
Ministre des Finances
Page : 2758  |