MAIN HEADING: Ontario Automobile Insurance Anti-Fraud Task Force - Preliminary Review of KPMG Forensic Report Dated June 13, 2012

24 July 2012

Author:
Mr. Liam M. McFarlane
Ernst & Young LLP
Insurance and Actuarial Advisory Services
Ernst & Young Tower
222 Bay Street
Toronto, Canada M5K 1J7
Phone: 416 941-7751
Fax: 416 943-3796
Email: liam.mcfarlane@ca.ey.com

Mr. Alvaro del Castillo 24 July 2012

Director, Industrial & Financial Policy Branch
Ministry of Finance
Frost Building North
95 Grosvenor Street, 4th Floor
Toronto ON M7A 1Z1

Preliminary Review of KPMG Forensic Report
Dated June 13, 2012

Dear Alvaro,

Enclosed is our Preliminary Report on our Review of the KPMG Forensic Report Dated June 13, 2012
relating to automobile insurance fraud in Ontario.

Yours sincerely,

Liam McFarlane, FCIA, FCAS
Consulting Actuary

1. Executive Summary

KPMG estimates automobile insurance fraud in Ontario to be between $769 million to $1,560 million.

We believe that the application of the estimated percentage of Opportunistic Fraud selected by KPMG should be restricted to injury claims only as opposed to all claims since the studies relied upon involved injury claims only.  In addition, KPMG has not considered Premeditated Fraud in their estimate of automobile insurance fraud.

We concur with KPMG in their assertion that the impact of Organized Fraud is likely understated due to the limitations inherent in the Proof of Concepts reviewed in their study. We cannot, however confirm the extrapolation to total Ontario automobile insurance claims associated with POC-1.

If revisions were made to KPMG’s estimates to reflect (i) Premeditated Fraud (ii) the correct treatment of non-injury claims and (iii) a more fulsome estimate of Organized Fraud, then we believe that KPMG's estimate of automobile insurance fraud is not unreasonable.

2. Introduction

Ernst & Young (“EY”) was retained by the Ontario Ministry of Finance (“MoF”) to provide consulting services to the Automobile Insurance Anti-Fraud Task Force (“the Task Force”) in their mandate to determine the nature and scope of automobile insurance fraud in Ontario.  Specifically EY was asked by the MoF to:

  • Complete a comprehensive review of the report on automobile insurance fraud in Ontario prepared by KPMG (“the KPMG Report”) for the Insurance Bureau of Canada (“IBC”)
  • Complete a comprehensive review of three (3) other reports on automobile insurance fraud as directed by the Task Force

In the interest of time, it was agreed with the Task Force that EY would produce two reports (i) a Preliminary Report which focuses on the estimate of automobile insurance fraud in Ontario contained in the KPMG Report, and (ii) a Final Report which, in addition to the content included in the Preliminary Report, would provide additional commentary relating to the comprehensiveness of the methodology used, the objectivity of the conclusions reached and gaps in KPMG’s approach. The Final Report would also include a review of the other reports as directed by the Task Force.

This document is our Preliminary Report as described above.

2.1 Use and Distribution

This report and the opinions and conclusions contained herein were prepared for the use of the Task Force and were based on information supplied by the Task Force.  It is not intended or necessarily suitable for any other purpose. 

No further distribution of this report may be made without the prior permission of both Ernst & Young LLP and the Task Force.  The Task Force and Ernst & Young LLP should be notified immediately following any requests for disclosure of any part of this report.  Should the report be disclosed, it must be provided in its entirety.

2.2 Restrictions

The information and findings included in this report are based on information that was provided to us to the date of this report. We reserve the right to review our comments and modify this report should additional information become available to us subsequent to the date of this report.

We understand that the Task Force may publicly communicate the findings of this report. EY will not assume any responsibility or liability for any costs, damages, losses, liabilities or expenses incurred by anyone as a result of circulation, publication, reproduction, use of or reliance on this report. Comments in our report are not intended, nor should they be interpreted to be, legal advice or opinion as we are not qualified to provide such advice or opinion.

3. Fraud Definition

Insurance fraud can take many forms and consequently, in defining insurance fraud, the Task Force uses three categories:

  1. Organized Fraud which involves multiple participants
  2. Premeditated Fraud where one individual defrauds the system
  3. Opportunistic Fraud where an individual inflates an otherwise legitimate claim

4. KPMG Quantification  

The following chart summarizes the annual estimate of automobile insurance fraud in Ontario produced by KPMG1.

  ($millions)
Type of Fraud Low Estimate High Estimate
Opportunistic Fraud $594 $1,285
Organized Fraud $175 $275
Total Fraud $769 $1,560
%age of Total Claims Cost 9% 18%

As illustrated in the foregoing table, KPMG has not considered Premeditated Fraud in arriving at their estimate of automobile insurance fraud in Ontario.  In what follows, we will discuss the estimate of automobile insurance fraud produced by KPMG.

4.1 Opportunistic Fraud

KPMG considers it Opportunistic Fraud when an individual “pads” an otherwise legitimate claim. This is consistent with the definition used by the Task Force.

KPMG selects percentages of opportunistic fraud for both the low and high end of the range from two closed claims studies. The low end of the range is selected from a 2007 closed claim study prepared by the Insurance Research Council (“IRC”) relating to Automobile Injury Insurance Fraud in the United States and the high end of the range is selected from a 2001 closed claim study completed by the Canadian Coalition Against Insurance Fraud (“CCAIF”).

4.1.1 2007 IRC Report

The 2007 IRC Report relates to automobile injury insurance fraud. The focus of the study was the coverages of Bodily Injury, Personal Injury Protection, Medical Payment, Uninsured and Underinsured Motorist. Fraud in automobile physical damage coverages such as Collision and Comprehensive insurance is not considered in this study.

The 2007 IRC Report is a comprehensive study that included a significant number of closed claims. The IRC regularly completes studies of this nature and hence we have no reason to question the results contained in this report.

The study distinguishes between “fraud” and “buildup” where fraud is defined as deliberate misrepresentation of a material aspect of a claim and buildup is the inflation of some aspect of an otherwise legitimate claim. KPMG considers buildup claims to be what the Task Force has considered to be Opportunistic Fraud which we think is a reasonable assumption.

Given the nature of the insurance injury coverages provided in Ontario we believe it is reasonable to assume that the low value of buildup claims calculated (6.8% of claims paid) could apply to insurance injury coverages in the Ontario environment. 

In KPMG’s calculation of the low estimate of Opportunistic Fraud they applied the 6.8% to the estimate of ultimate claims for all coverages (injury and  non-injury) for Ontario Private Passenger (Excluding Farmers) Accident Year 2010 ($8,739,000,000) as estimated by the General Insurance Statistical Agency (“GISA”)  . This assumes that the level of Opportunistic Fraud in the non-injury coverages is the same as the injury coverages. We are not convinced that this is an appropriate assumption. Of the $8.8 billion of Ontario automobile claims referred to by KPMG, approximately $6.6 billion relates to injury claims and $2.2 billion to non-injury claims. If the low factor was applied to injury claims only, the estimated amount of insurance injury fraud would be $449 million which is $145 million lower than the $594 million estimated by KPMG.

4.1.2 2001 CCAIF Report

The 2001 CCAIF Report relates to automobile injury insurance fraud. The focus of the study was the coverages of Bodily Injury and Accident Benefits. Fraud in automobile physical damage coverages such as Collision and Comprehensive insurance is not considered in this study.

The 2001 CCAIF Report is a comprehensive study that included a reasonably significant number of closed claims. The authors of the CCAIF study appear to be credentialed to conduct studies of this nature and hence we have no reason to question the results contained in this report. The study was a national study, however due to the size of the automobile insurance market in Ontario a separate appendix was created which deals with this province specifically.

This study was designed to measure the incidence of Premeditated and Opportunistic fraud. Premeditated fraud was defined as “any action or commission resulting in illicit collection of property and casualty insurance benefits” and opportunistic fraud was defined as “the inflation of otherwise legitimate expenses that result from a real injury.” This definition of Opportunistic Fraud is consistent with that as defined by the Task Force.

Since this study included an Ontario specific element we believe it is reasonable to assume that the high value of Opportunistic Fraud claims calculated (14.7% of claims paid) would apply to insurance injury coverages in the current Ontario environment.

In KPMG’s calculation of the high estimate of Opportunistic Fraud they applied the 14.7% to the estimate of ultimate claims for all coverages for Ontario Private Passenger (Excluding Farmers) Accident Year 2010 ($8,739,000,000) as estimated by GISA. This assumes that the level of opportunistic fraud in the non-injury coverages is the same as the injury coverages. We are not convinced that this is an appropriate assumption. Again, if the high factor was applied to injury claims only the estimated amount of insurance injury fraud would be $970 million which is $314 million lower than the $1,285 million estimated by KPMG.

4.2 Organized Fraud

KPMG considers Organized Fraud to be when a group of individuals act in concert to take advantage of the insurance system. On the other hand, Premeditated Fraud involves the purposeful claiming of insurance claim benefits by an individual (rather than a group). These definitions are consistent with those of the Task Force.

As part of their review KPMG considered three “Proof of Concepts” (“POCs”) which used data analytic tools for the identification of claims that have indicators of fraudulent activity. The POCs were not undertaken for the purpose of quantifying the extent of fraud in the Ontario automobile insurance market, however extrapolations of potential fraud by two of the POCs was used by KPMG in their report. The POCs were used to provide estimates of Organized Fraud and not Premeditated Fraud, however some elements of Premeditated Fraud may be included in the estimates derived from the POCs.

The low estimate of the annual impact of automobile insurance fraud in Ontario was selected from the POC labelled by KPMG as POC-2 for confidentiality reasons and the high estimate was selected from that labelled POC-1. 

4.2.1 POC-1

The data used in POC-1 consisted of approximately 233,000 Ontario automobile claims (injury and non-injury) with a value of $6.8 billion from the six year period of 2005 to 2010.  This data was processed using analytics software which identified approximately 56,000 claims with $1.6 billion of payments that contained some indicators of potential fraud. These claims were then further filtered to identify some 222 “clusters” of connected groups with a total of 2,600 claims which received $54 million in payments.  According to those involved with POC-1 a review of these claims indicated that previously identified organized insurance fraud groups were flagged.

The extrapolation completed by those involved with POC-1 provided an estimated range of annual Ontario automobile insurance fraud of $200 million to $275 million. These estimates would be consistent with an extrapolation of the Ontario figures above to total Ontario industry statistics as published by GISA.

4.2.2 POC-2

The data used in POC-2 consisted of approximately 1.2 million claims (injury and non-injury) with a value of $4.5 billion from the period of May 2008 to May 2011. The Ontario data set consisted of approximately 0.8 million claims with a value of $3.3 billion. The data analytic process used a scoring approach and applying this to the Ontario data produced 6,298 claims with a value of $89 million that were considered as suspicious. 

The extrapolation completed by those involved with POC-2 provided an estimated range of annual Ontario automobile insurance fraud of $175 million to $203 million.  These estimates would be consistent with an extrapolation of the Ontario figures above to total Ontario industry statistics as published by GISA.

The POCs focused on Organized Fraud where more than one entity was involved in a claim. As a result the extrapolations made by the POCs do not include Opportunistic Fraud and may have limited elements of Premeditated Fraud. There are a number of reasons enumerated by KPMG as to why they believe the POCs may produce an estimate of Organized Fraud that is understated including

  • Only a sampling of industry data was used and hence if all industry information was included it is likely that more “relationships” would have been identified increasing the number of potential Organized Fraud claims;
  • Only a limited period of data was included. Again, a longer experience period would likely increase the number of “relationships” detected.

We agree with KPMG that it is likely that their estimate of Organized Fraud is understated by the data analytics software.

4.3 Premeditated Fraud

KPMG has not included Premeditated Fraud in their estimate of total fraud in Ontario. We note that the 2001 CCAIF Report, which was used to select the high estimate of Opportunistic Fraud, also addressed Premeditated Fraud with respect to injury claims. The 2001 CCAIF Report classified claims as:

  1. Staged Accident
  2. Caused Accident
  3. Fictitious Injury
  4. Other Premeditated Fraud
  5. Opportunistic Fraud Only
  6. Fully Legitimate

KPMG used item (v) in their estimate of Opportunistic Fraud and used the POC’s for estimating Organized Fraud. If we assume that Organized Fraud equates to items (i), (ii) and (iii) above then we believe that item (iv) provides a possible estimate of Premeditated Fraud for injury claims. This would imply a range of between 2% to 4% of injury claims or between $130 million to $260 million of Premeditated Fraud related to Ontario automobile injury claims.

4.4 Summary Comments Relating to KPMG Quantification

We conclude the following relating to the quantification completed by KPMG.

  1. We believe the percentage values of Opportunistic Fraud selected by KPMG are reasonable, however we believe that these percentages should be applied to injury claims only since the studies from which the values were extracted related to injury claims only;
  2. We believe that the omission of Premeditated Fraud has the potential to materially underestimate total automobile insurance fraud in Ontario;
  3. We cannot confirm the extrapolation to total Ontario automobile insurance claims associated with POC-1;
  4. We agree with KPMG that the level of Organized Fraud in Ontario is likely greater than that estimated by the POC’s referred to in KPMG’s report;
  5. If revisions were made to KPMG’s estimates to reflect (i) Premeditated Fraud (ii) the correct treatment of non-injury claims and (iii) a more fulsome estimate of Organized Fraud, then we believe that KPMG's estimate of automobile insurance fraud is not unreasonable..

1 KPMG Forensic Report Dated June 13, 2012, Page 58

MAIN HEADING: Groupe de travail antifraude de l'assurance-automobile de l'Ontario
Examen préliminaire du rapport de KPMG daté du 13 juin 2012

24 juillet 2012

Auteur :  
M. Liam M. McFarlane
Ernst & Young s.r.l.
Services consultatifs en assurance et en actuariat
Ernst & Young Tower
222, rue Bay
Toronto (Ontario) Canada  M5K 1J7
Téléphone : 416 941-7751
Télécopieur : 416 943-3796
Courriel : liam.mcfarlane@ca.ey.com

Monsieur Alvaro del Castillo 24 juillet 2012

Directeur, Politiques pour les industries et les services financiers
Ministère des Finances
Édifice Frost Nord
95, rue Grosvenor, 4e étage
Toronto (Ontario) M7A 1Z1

Examen préliminaire du rapport de KPMG
daté du 13 juin 2012

Monsieur,

Vous trouverez ci-joint notre rapport préliminaire faisant suite à notre examen du rapport juridique de KPMG daté du 13 juin 2012 concernant la fraude à l’assurance-automobile en Ontario.

Veuillez agréer, Monsieur, l'expression de mes sentiments distingués.

Liam McFarlane, FCIA, FCAS
Actuaire-conseil

1. Résumé

KPMG estime que la valeur de la fraude à l’assurance-automobile se situe entre 769 millions et 1 560 millions de dollars.

Nous croyons que l’application du pourcentage estimatif de la fraude opportuniste qu’a choisi KPMG devrait se limiter aux demandes d’indemnités pour blessures corporelles plutôt qu’à toutes les demandes d’indemnités puisque les études utilisées faisaient intervenir uniquement des demandes d’indemnités pour blessures corporelles. KPMG n’a pas pris non plus en considération la fraude préméditée dans son estimation de la fraude à l’assurance-automobile.

Nous sommes d’accord avec l’affirmation de KPMG selon laquelle l’incidence de la fraude organisée est probablement sous-estimée en raison des limites inhérentes aux preuves de concept (POC) examinées dans son étude.

Si les estimations de KPMG étaient révisées pour refléter (i) la fraude préméditée, (ii) le traitement approprié des demandes de règlement non associées à des blessures et (iii) une estimation plus complète de la fraude organisée, l’estimation de la fraude à l’assurance-automobile faite par KPMG serait à notre avis raisonnable.

2. Introduction

Le ministère des Finances de l’Ontario (le « ministère ») a retenu les services d’Ernst & Young (« EY ») pour fournir des services consultatifs au Groupe de travail antifraude de l’assurance-automobile de l’Ontario (le « Groupe de travail ») pour l’exécution de son mandat visant à déterminer la nature et l’ampleur de la fraude à l’assurance-automobile de l’Ontario. Plus précisément, le ministère a demandé à EY de faire un examen exhaustif :

  • du rapport sur la fraude à l’assurance-automobile en Ontario préparé par KPMG (le « rapport de KPMG ») pour le Bureau d’assurance du Canada (le « BAC »);
  • de trois autres rapports sur la fraude à l’assurance-automobile selon les directives du Groupe de travail.
Pour gagner du temps, EY a convenu avec le Groupe de travail de produire deux rapports : (i) un rapport préliminaire qui met l’accent sur l’estimation de la fraude à l’assurance-automobile en Ontario présentée dans le rapport de KPMG et (ii) un rapport final qui, outre le contenu du rapport préliminaire, contiendrait des commentaires supplémentaires sur l’exhaustivité de la méthodologie utilisée, l’objectivité des conclusions et les lacunes de l’approche de KPMG. Le rapport final contiendrait également un examen des autres rapports demandé par le Groupe de travail.

Le présent document est notre rapport préliminaire.

2.1 Utilisation et distribution

Le présent rapport ainsi que les opinions et les conclusions qu’il contient ont été préparés à l’intention du Groupe de travail à partir des renseignements fournis par le Groupe de travail. Il ne doit servir à aucune autre fin.

Le présent rapport ne peut être distribué sans l’autorisation préalable d’Ernst & Young s.r.l. et du Groupe de travail qui doivent être informés immédiatement après une demande de divulgation d’une partie du présent rapport. Si le présent rapport est divulgué, il doit l’être dans son entièreté.

2.2 Restrictions

Les renseignements et les constatations contenus dans le présent rapport reposent sur les renseignements qui nous ont été fournis à la date du rapport. Nous nous réservons le droit de réviser nos commentaires et de modifier le présent rapport si des renseignements supplémentaires deviennent disponibles ultérieurement.

Il est entendu que le Groupe de travail pourra rendre publiques les constatations contenues dans le présent rapport. EY n’assume aucune responsabilité pour les coûts, dommages, pertes, obligations ou dépenses engagés ou subis par quiconque à la suite de la distribution, de la publication, de la reproduction ou de l’utilisation du présent rapport. Les commentaires contenus dans le présent rapport ne sont ni des conseils, ni des opinions juridiques, et ne doivent pas être interprétés comme tel, car nous ne sommes pas qualifiés pour donner de tels avis ou opinions.

3. Définition de fraude

La fraude contre l’assurance peut prendre de nombreuses formes et, partant, pour la définir, le Groupe de travail la classe en trois catégories :

  1. la fraude organisée, qui implique de multiples participants;
  2. la fraude préméditée, où un seul individu fraude le système;
  3. la fraude opportuniste, où un individu augmente la valeur des indemnités demandées dans une demande de règlement par ailleurs légitime.

4. Quantification faite par KPMG  

Le tableau qui suit résume l’estimation annuelle de la fraude à l’assurance-automobile qu’a faite KPMG1.

  (En millions de $)
Genre de fraude Estimation
inférieure
Estimation
supérieure
Opportuniste 594 $ 1,285 $
Organisée 175 $ 275 $
Total 769 $ 1,560 $
% du coût total des
demandes de règlement
9 % 18 %

Comme le montre le tableau ci-dessus, KPMG n’a pas tenu compte de la fraude préméditée pour établir l’estimation de la fraude à l’assurance-automobile en Ontario. Dans les pages qui suivent, nous discuterons de l’estimation de la fraude à l’assurance-automobile produite par KPMG.

4.1 Fraude opportuniste

KPMG considère qu’une fraude est opportuniste lorsqu’un individu augmente la valeur de sa demande de règlement par ailleurs légitime. Cette définition concorde avec celle du Groupe de travail.

KPMG choisit des pourcentages de fraude opportuniste pour les extrémités inférieure et supérieure de l’intervalle à partir de deux études sur les demandes d’indemnités réglées. L’extrémité inférieure provient d’une étude préparée en 2007 par l’Insurance Research Council (l’« IRC ») touchant les fraudes à l’assurance-automobile en matière de blessures corporelles aux États-Unis et l’extrémité supérieure est tirée d’une étude de 2001 sur les demandes réglées menée par la Coalition canadienne contre la fraude à l’assurance (la « CCFA »).

4.1.1 Rapport de 2007 de l’IRC

Le rapport de 2007 de l’IRC porte sur la fraude en matière de blessures corporelles, en particulier sur les garanties pour blessures corporelles, la protection contre les lésions corporelles, les paiements médicaux ainsi que les automobilistes non assurés ou insuffisamment assurés. L’étude ne visait pas la fraude à l’assurance-automobile en matière de dommages matériels comme les garanties Collision et Accidents sans collision et versement.

Le rapport de 2007 de l’IRC est une étude globale qui comprenait un nombre important de demandes d’indemnités réglées. L’IRC fait régulièrement des études de cette nature et, partant, nous n’avons aucune raison de remettre en question les résultats contenus dans le rapport.

L’étude établit une différence entre « fraude » et « augmentation » où la fraude désigne une fausse déclaration délibérée concernant un aspect important d’une demande de règlement et l’augmentation s’entend de la hausse du montant demandé pour un aspect quelconque d’une demande par ailleurs légitime. KPMG considère que les « augmentations » correspondent à ce que le Groupe de travail considère comme une fraude opportuniste, ce qui nous semble une hypothèse raisonnable.

Compte tenu de la nature des garanties pour blessures corporelles fournies en Ontario,nous croyons qu’il est raisonnable de supposer que la valeur inférieure des demandes augmentées (6,8 % des indemnités versées) pourrait s’appliquer aux garanties pour blessures dans le contexte ontarien.

Dans son calcul de l’estimation inférieure de la fraude opportuniste, KPMG a appliqué la valeur de 6,8 % à l’estimation de toutes les garanties (pour blessures et non associées à des blessures) pour les voitures de tourisme de l’Ontario (à l’exclusion des agriculteurs) pour l’année de survenance 2010 (8 739 000 000 $) selon l’estimation de l’Agence statistique d’assurance générale (l’« ASAG »). Cette estimation suppose que le niveau de fraude opportuniste dans le cas des garanties d’assurance non associées à des blessures est le même que celui des garanties pour blessures. Nous ne sommes pas convaincus qu’il s’agit d’une hypothèse appropriée. Sur les 8,8 milliards de dollars d’indemnités d’assurance-automobile en Ontario dont fait état KPMG, environ 6,6 milliards de dollars ont trait à des demandes d’indemnités pour blessures et 2,2 milliards touchent les demandes non associées à des blessures. Si le facteur inférieur était appliqué aux demandes d’indemnités pour blessures uniquement, le montant estimatif de la fraude en matière de blessures corporelles serait de 449 millions de dollars, soit 145 millionsde dollars de moins que les 594 millions de dollars estimés par KPMG.

4.1.2 Rapport de 2001 de la CCFA

Le rapport de 2001 de la CCFA porte sur la fraude en matière de blessures corporelles, en particulier sur les garanties pour blessures corporelles et les indemnités d’accident. L’étude ne visait pas la fraude à l’assurance-automobile en matière de dommages matériels comme les garanties Collision et Accidents sans collision et versement.

Le rapport de 2001 de la CCFA est une étude globale qui comprenait un nombre relativement important de demandes d’indemnités réglées. Les auteurs semblaient avoir les titres de compétences voulus pour mener des études de cette nature et, partant, nous n’avons aucune raison de remettre en question les résultats contenus dans le rapport. L’étude était d’envergure nationale, mais en raison de l’importance du marché de l’assurance-automobile en Ontario, une annexe distincte a été créée pour cette province spécifiquement.

L’étude visait à mesurer l’incidence de la fraude préméditée et de la fraude opportuniste. On y définissait la fraude préméditée comme toute action ou commission se traduisant par la collecte illicite d’indemnités d’assurance de biens ou d’assurance dommages et la fraude opportuniste comme l’augmentation du montant de dépenses par ailleurs légitimes qu’occasionne une blessure réelle. Cette définition de fraude opportuniste correspond à celle du Groupe de travail.

Comme cette étude comprend un élément traitant spécifiquement de l’Ontario, nous croyons qu’il est raisonnable de supposer que la valeur supérieure des demandes de règlement liées à la fraude opportuniste (14,7 %des indemnités payées) s’appliquerait aux garanties d’assurance pour blessures corporelles dans le contexte ontarien actuel.

Dans son calcul de l’estimation supérieure de la fraude opportuniste, KPMG a appliqué la valeur de 14,7 % à l’estimation de toutes les garantiespour les voitures de tourisme de l’Ontario (à l’exclusion des agriculteurs) pour l’année de survenance 2010 (8 739 000 000 $) selon l’estimation de l’ASAG. Cette estimation suppose que le niveau de fraude opportuniste dans le cas des garanties non associées à des blessures est le même que celui des garanties pour blessures. Nous ne sommes pas convaincus qu’il s’agit d’une hypothèse appropriée. Encore une fois, si le facteur supérieur était appliqué aux demandes d’indemnités pour blessures uniquement, le montant estimatif de la fraude en matière de blessures corporelles serait de 970 millions de dollars, soit 314 millions de dollars de moins que les 1 285 millions de dollars estimés par KPMG.

4.2 Fraude organisée

KPMG considère que la fraude organisée désigne le fait pour un groupe d’individus de se concerter pour profiter du système d’assurance. Par ailleurs, la fraude préméditée suppose la présentation d’une demande d’indemnités d’assurance par un individu (plutôt que par un groupe). Ces définitions correspondent à celles du Groupe de travail.

Dans le cadre de son examen, KPMG a pris en considération trois preuves de concept (POC) qui utilisaient des outils d’analyse de données pour cerner les demandes d’indemnités qui comprennent des indicateurs d’activité frauduleuse. Les POC n’ont pas été examinées pour quantifier l’ampleur de la fraude dans le marché de l’assurance-automobile en Ontario, mais KPMG a utilisé les extrapolations de fraude possible par deux des POC. Les POC ont été utilisées pour fournir des estimations de la fraude organisée mais non de la fraude préméditée, mais les estimations découlant des POC peuvent contenir des éléments de fraude préméditée.

L’estimation inférieure de l’incidence annuelle de la fraude à l’assurance-automobile en Ontario a été choisie dans la POC que KPMG a appelée POC-2 pour des raisons de confidentialité tandis que l’estimation supérieure provient de la POC-1.

4.2.1 POC-1

Les données utilisées dans la POC-1 consistaient en quelque 233 000 demandes d’indemnités d’assurance-automobile de l’Ontario (pour blessures et non associées à des blessures) d’une valeur de 6,8 milliards de dollars pour une période de six ans allant de 2005 à 2010. Ces données ont été analysées au moyen d’un logiciel qui a permis de cerner environ 56 000 demandes de règlement, représentant des paiements d’une valeur de 1,6 milliard de dollars, qui contenaient des indicateurs de fraude possible. Ces demandes ont ensuite été filtrées pour relever quelque 222 « grappes » de groupes reliés représentant un total de 2 600 demandes d’indemnitéscorrespondant à des paiements de 54 millions de dollars. Selon les participants à la POC-1, un examen de ces demandes d’indemnités indiquait que des groupes de fraudeurs organisés qui avaient déjà été identifiés ont été signalés.

Selon l’extrapolation faite par les participants à la POC-1, le montant estimatif annuel de la fraude à l’assurance-automobile en Ontario se situe entre 200 millions de dollars et 275 millions de dollars. Nous n’avons pas pu confirmer que ces estimations correspondent à une extrapolation des chiffres de l’Ontario présentés ci-dessus aux statistiques totales sur l’industrie de l’Ontario publiées par l’ASAG.

4.2.2 POC-2

Les données utilisées dans la POC-2 consistaient en quelque 1,2 million de demandes d’indemnités (pour blessures et non associées à des blessures) d’une valeur de 4,5 milliards de dollars pour la période allant de mai 2008 à mai 2011. L’ensemble de données de l’Ontario consistait en environ 0,8 million de demandes d’indemnités d’une valeur de 3,3 milliards de dollars. Le processus d’analyse des données a appliqué une formule de cotation aux données de l’Ontario pour produire 6 298 demandes d’indemnités, d’une valeur de 89 millions de dollars, jugées suspectes.

L’extrapolation faite par les participants à la POC-2 situait l’intervalle relatif à la fraude annuelle à l’assurance-automobile en Ontario entre 175 millions de dollars et 203 millions de dollars. Cette estimation concorderait avec une extrapolation des chiffres de l’Ontario présentés ci-dessus aux statistiques totales sur l’industrie ontarienne publiées par l’ASAG.

Les POC mettaient l’accent sur la fraude organisée dans laquelle plus d’une entité était impliquée dans une demande de règlement. Par conséquent, les extrapolations faites pour les fins des POC ne comprennent pas la fraude opportuniste mais peuvent contenir des éléments limités de fraude préméditée. KPMG donne un certain nombre de facteurs qui expliquent pourquoi les POC peuvent produire des chiffres sous-estimés de la fraude, dont les suivants :

  • Seulement un échantillon des données sur l’industrie a été utilisé et, partant, si tous les renseignements sur l’industrie avaient été utilisés, il est probable que plus de « relations » auraient été relevées, ce qui aurait fait augmenter le nombre de demandes d’indemnités associées à la fraude organisée.
  • Des données portant sur une période limitée seulement ont été utilisées. Encore une fois, une période plus longue aurait probablement fait augmenter le nombre de « relations » détectées.

Nous sommes d’accord avec KPMG pour dire que le logiciel d’analyse des données a sous-estimé les chiffres sur la fraude organisée.

4.3 Fraude préméditée

KPMG n’a pas inclus la fraude préméditée dans son estimation de la fraude totale en Ontario. Nous remarquons que le rapport de 2001 de la CCFA, qui a été utilisée pour choisir l’estimation supérieure de la fraude opportuniste, abordait également la fraude préméditée touchant les demandes d’indemnités pour blessures. Il classait les demandes d’indemnités comme suit :

  1. Accident simulé
  2. Accident causé
  3. Blessure fictive
  4. Autre fraude préméditée
  5. Fraude opportuniste uniquement
  6. Demande entièrement légitime

KPMG a utilisé le point (v) dans son estimation de la fraude opportuniste et a utilisé les POC pour établir l’estimation de la fraude organisée. Si nous supposons que la fraude organisée équivaut aux points (i), (ii) et (iii) ci-dessus, nous croyons alors que le point (iv) fournit une estimation possible de la fraude préméditée touchant les demandes d’indemnités pour blessures. Il s’ensuivrait qu’entre 2 % et 4 % des demandes d’indemnités pour blessures, d’une valeur se situant entre 130 millions de dollars et 260 millions de dollars, constituent une fraude préméditée à l’assurance-automobile de l’Ontario.

4.4 Sommaire des observations relatives à la quantification de KPMG

Nous concluons ce qui suit par rapport à la quantification faite par KPMG.

  1. Nous concluons que les pourcentages des fraudes opportunistes choisis par KPMG sont raisonnables, mais nous croyons qu’ils devraient être appliqués aux demandes d’indemnités pour blessures uniquement parce que les études d’où sont extraites ces valeurs touchaient uniquement les demandes d’indemnités pour blessures.
  2. Nous croyons que l’omission de la fraude préméditée risque fort de sous-estimer la fraude totale à l’assurance-automobile en Ontario.
  3. Nous sommes d’accord avec KPMG que le niveau de fraude organisée en Ontario est probablement plus important que l’estimation faite au moyen des POC mentionnées dans le rapport de KPMG.
  4. Si les estimations de KPMG étaient révisées pour refléter (i) la fraude préméditée; (ii) le traitement correct des demandes d’indemnités non associées à des blessures; (iii) une estimation plus complète de la fraude organisée, l’estimation de la fraude à l’assurance-automobile faite par KPMG serait à notre avis raisonnable.

1 Rapport de KPMG daté du 13 juin 2012, p. 58.