Ministry of Consumer and Business Services - Summary

Back to table of contents

The Expenditure Estimates are available in PDF and HTML versions. The PDF version is a format reflecting the true printed version. The HTML version is an accessible format.

MINISTRY OF CONSUMER AND BUSINESS SERVICES - Summary

The purpose of the Ministry of Consumer and Business Services is to be a responsive, innovative world leader in customer service, electronic service delivery, and consumer protection by delivering quality products for a fair, safe, dynamic and informed Ontario marketplace.

This purpose is realized by the ministry, its related agencies, and partners through a body of legislation, regulation and practice designed to: set the policy framework, set standards, manage the compliance process, advance shared public/private responsibility and partnership, position the ministry as a source of easily accessible marketplace information and promote consumer self-sufficiency.

MINISTRY OF CONSUMER AND BUSINESS SERVICES - Summary

Accrual 2003-04 Estimates
PROGRAMS
Cash 2002-03 Estimates
Cash 2001-02 Actual
$   $ $
OPERATING      
44,207,446
Ministry Administration Program1
43,955,440
45,222,002
52,755,200
Registration Program2,3
54,884,600
56,726,601
9,887,300
Consumer Protection and Public Safety/Business Standards Program4
9,091,600
9,790,705
36,114,000
Alcohol and Gaming Management Program5
36,739,200
35,388,419
35,942,900
Integrated Service Delivery Program6
29,607,400
27,173,616
178,906,846
Ministry Total Operating
174,278,240
174,301,343
81,651,000
Less: Special Warrants
85,135,000
-
65,246
Less: Statutory Appropriations
62,840
2,445,477
97,190,600
< TOTAL OPERATING TO BE VOTED
89,080,400
171,855,866
     
178,906,846
Ministry Total Operating    
(24,000)
Adjustments for Bad Debt Expense    
178,882,846
TOTAL INCLUDING CONSOLIDATION AND OTHER ADJUSTMENTS    

NOTE: Commencing in 2003-04, Estimates are presented on the accrual basis of accounting. Information for 2002-03 and earlier years is presented on the modified cash basis, and therefore comparison between 2003-04 and earlier year figures may not be meaningful. Differences between cash and accrual relate to adjustments such as timing of transfer payments and provisions for bad debts, that would increase or decrease the 2002-03 amounts had they been presented on the accrual basis.

Adjustments for this Ministry, if any, are indicated by superscripted references above and are explained on the page following the Ministry Summary - Reconciliation of 2002-03 Estimates from Cash to Accrual.

RECONCILIATION OF 2002-03 ESTIMATES FROM CASH TO ACCRUAL

VOTE and item
Cash 2002-03 Estimates
Adjustments from Cashto Accrual
Estimates Presented as Accrual
Estimates on Accrual Basis
Change from 2002-03 Estimates on Accrual Basis
$ millions
$ millions
$ millions
$ millions
$ millions
OPERATING          
801
Ministry Administration Program
1
Ministry Administration1
43.9
(0.3)
43.6
44.2
0.5
S
Minister’s Salary, the Executive Council Act
-
-
-
-
-
S
Parliamentary Assistant’s Salary, the Executive Council Act
-
-
-
-
-
S
Bad Debt Expense, the Financial Administration Act
-
-
-
-
-
 
44.0
(0.3)
43.7
44.2
0.5
802
Registration Program
1
Program Administration2
2
(0.1)
2
2.7
0.8
2
Registration Services3
52.8
(1.3)
51.6
50
(1.6)
S
Crown Contribution re Judges’ Plan, the Registry Act
-
-
-
-
-
S
Claims against Land Titles Assurance Fund
-
-
-
-
-
 
54.9
(1.3)
53.6
52.8
(0.8)
803
Consumer Protection and Public Safety/Business Standards Program
1
Program Administration
0.6
-
0.5
0.6
-
2
Marketplace Standards and Services4
5.8
(0.1)
5.6
6.4
0.8
3
Sector Liaison
1.6
-
1.6
1.7
0.2
4
Licence Appeal Tribunal
1.2
-
1.1
1.2
-
 
9.1
(0.2)
8.9
9.9
1.0
804
Alcohol and Gaming Management Program
1
Alcohol and Gaming Commission of Ontario5
36.7
(1.1)
35.7
36.1
0.4
 
36.7
(1.1)
35.7
36.1
0.4
805
Integrated Service Delivery Program
1
Integrated Service Delivery6
29.6
(0.5)
29.1
35.9
6.8
 
29.6
(0.5)
29.1
35.9
6.8
Ministry Total Operating
174.3
(3.3)
171.0
178.9
7.9

Adjustments from Cash to Accrual - Commencing in 2003-04, Estimates are prepared on the accrual basis of accounting. Information for 2002-03 and earlier years was prepared in the Estimates on the modified-cash basis. Information is provided in the followingnotes on the adjustments that increase or decrease the 2002-03 amounts to present them on the accrual basis in this reconciliation. Theaccrual presentation of the 2002-03 Estimates is not an official restatement; it is an approximation reflecting only the significant accrualadjustments as required to allow for a comparison between the 2003-04 and the 2002-03 Estimates on a consistent basis of accounting.(Note: adjustments of less than $0.05 million are not shown )

$ millions
1.
(0.3)
adjustment to remove the pension costs related to ministry employees because, commencing in 2003-04, the cost to the Province of all pension benefits earned by employees is reflected in the Estimates for Management Board Secretariat
2.
(0.1)
adjustment to remove the pension costs related to ministry employees because, commencing in 2003-04, the cost to the Province of all pension benefits earned by employees is reflected in the Estimates for Management Board Secretariat
3.
(1.3)
adjustment to remove the pension costs related to ministry employees because, commencing in 2003-04, the cost to the Province of all pension benefits earned by employees is reflected in the Estimates for Management Board Secretariat
4.
(0.1)
adjustment to remove the pension costs related to ministry employees because, commencing in 2003-04, the cost to the Province of all pension benefits earned by employees is reflected in the Estimates for Management Board Secretariat
5.
(1.1)
adjustment to remove the pension costs related to ministry employees because, commencing in 2003-04, the cost to the Province of all pension benefits earned by employees is reflected in the Estimates for Management Board Secretariat
6.
(0.5)
adjustment to remove the pension costs related to ministry employees because, commencing in 2003-04, the cost to the Province of all pension benefits earned by employees is reflected in the Estimates for Management Board Secretariat
(3.3)
<< Total Adjustments

MINISTRY OF CONSUMER AND BUSINESS SERVICES - Capital Summary

Accrual 2003-04 Estimates
PROGRAMS
Cash 2002-03 Estimates
Cash 2001-02 Actual
$
$
$
CAPITAL
     
854,500
Registration Program
509,600
-
854,500
Ministry Total Capital
509,600
-
471,300
Less: Special Warrants
500,000
-
383,200
< TOTAL CAPITAL TO BE VOTED
9,600
-
       
854,500
Ministry Total Capital    
854,500
TOTAL INCLUDING CONSOLIDATION AND OTHER ADJUSTMENTS    

NOTE: Commencing in 2003-04, Estimates are presented on the accrual basis of accounting. Information for 2002-03 and earlier years is presented on the modified cash basis, and therefore comparison between 2003-04 and earlier year figures may not be meaningful. Differences between cash and accrual relate to adjustments such as timing of transfer payments and provisions for bad debts, that would increase or decrease the 2002-03 amounts had they been presented on the accrual basis.

Adjustments for this Ministry, if any, are indicated by superscripted references above and are explained on the page following the Ministry Summary - Reconciliation of 2002-03 Estimates from Cash to Accrual.

RECONCILIATION OF 2002-03 ESTIMATES FROM CASH TO ACCRUAL

VOTE and item   Cash 2002-03 Estimates Adjustments from Cash to Accrual 2002-03 Estimates Presented as Accrual 2003-04 Estimates on Accrual Basis Change from 2002-03 Estimates on Accrual Basis
    $ millions $ millions $ millions $ millions $ millions
  CAPITAL          
802            
3 Registration Program          
  Accommodation Capital
0.5
-
0.5
0.9
0.3
   
0.5
-
0.5
0.9
0.3
  Ministry Total Capital
0.5
-
0.5
0.9
0.3

Note: Amounts are rounded to the nearest one hundred thousand dollars and amounts less than fifty thousand dollars are shown as zero. Totals may not add due to this rounding.

Adjustments from Cash to Accrual - Commencing in 2003-04, Estimates are prepared on the accrual basis of accounting. Information for 2002-03 and earlier years was prepared in the Estimates on the modified-cash basis. Information is provided in the followingnotes on the adjustments that increase or decrease the 2002-03 amounts to present them on the accrual basis in this reconciliation. The accrual presentation of the 2002-03 Estimates is not an official restatement; it is an approximation reflecting only the significant accrual adjustments as required to allow for a comparison between the 2003-04 and the 2002-03 Estimates on a consistent basis of accounting. (Note: adjustments of less than $0.05 million are not shown )

no adjustments from cash to accrual

MINISTÈRE DES SERVICES AUX CONSOMMATEURS ET AUX ENTREPRISES - Sommaire

Retour à la table des matières

Le Budget des dépenses est disponible en format PDF et HTML. La version PDF reproduit fidèlement la version imprimée. La version HTML est un format accessible.

MINISTÈRE DES SERVICES AUX CONSOMMATEURS ET AUX ENTREPRISES

L’objectif du ministère des Services aux consommateurs et aux entreprises est d’être un chef de file mondial, attentif et innovateur dans le domaine du service à la clientèle, de la prestation électronique des services et de la protection du consommateur en offrant des produits de qualité favorisant l’établissement d’un marché équitable, sûr, dynamique et bien informé en Ontario.

Le ministère, ses organismes apparentés et ses partenaires accomplissent cette mission grâce à un ensemble de lois, de
règlements et de pratiques destinés à : établir le cadre stratégique, fixer les normes, gérer le processus d’application de la loi, promouvoir la responsabilité partagée et les partenariats entre les secteurs public et privé, faire du ministère un centre de renseignements accessible et encourager l’autonomie du consommateur.

MINISTÈRE DES SERVICES AUX CONSOMMATEURS ET AUX ENTREPRISES - Sommaire

Prévisions 2003-2004 - Compt. exerc.
PROGRAMMES
Prévisions 2002-2003 - Compt. caisse
Dépenses réelles 2001-2002 - Compt. caisse
$   $ $
FONCTIONNEMENT      
44 207 446
Programme d’administration du ministère1
43 955 440
45 222 002
52 755 200
Programme des enregistrements2,3
54 884 600
56 726 601
9 887 300
Programme de protection du consommateur, de sécurité publique et normes commerciales4
9 091 600
9 790 705
36 114 000
Programme de réglementation des alcools et des jeux5
36 739 200
35 388 419
35 942 900
Programme de prestation intégrée des services6
29 607 400
27 173 616
178 906 846
Total du ministère - Fonctionnement
174 278 240
174 301 343
81 651 000
Moins : Mandats spéciaux
85 135 000
-
65 246
Moins : Crédits législatifs
62 840
2 445 477
97 190 600
< TOTAL À VOTER - FONCTIONNEMENT
89 080 400
171 855 866
     
178 906 846
Total du ministère - Fonctionnement    
(24 000)
Redressements de créances irrécouvrables    
178 882 846
TOTAL, Y COMPRIS REDRESSEMENT DE CONSOLIDATION ET AUTRES
REDRESSEMENTS
   

NOTE : À compter de 2003-2004, le Budget des dépenses est présenté selon la méthode de la comptabilité d’exercice. Les chiffres de 2002-2003 et des exercices antérieurs sont présentés selon la méthode de la comptabilité de caisse modifiée; la comparaison des chiffres de 2003-2004 avec les chiffres des exercices antérieurs risque donc de ne pas être concluante. La différence entre ces deux méthodes de comptabilité se situe au niveau des redressements (date des paiements de transfert et provisions pour dettes irrécouvrables, par exemple) qui auraient pour effet d’augmenter ou de diminuer les montants de 2002-2003 s’ils avaient été présentés selon la méthode de la comptabilité d’exercice.

Les redressements effectués pour ce ministère, le cas échéant, sont indiqués par des renvois en exposant et expliqués dans la page qui suit lE sommaire du ministère sous l’intitulé Rapprochement des chiffres du Budget des dépenses 2002-2003 - de la comptabilité de caisse à la comptabilité d’exercice.

RAPPROCHEMENT DES CHIFFRES DU BUDGET DES DÉPENSES 2002-2003 - DE LA COMPTABILITÉ DE CAISSE À LA COMPTABILITÉ D’EXERCICE

CRÉDIT et poste
Prévisions 2002-2003 - Compt. caisse
Redressements - Compt. caisse à compt. exerc.
Prévisions 2002-2003 - Compt. exerc.
Prévisions 2003-2004 - Compt. exerc.
Variat. prévisions 2002-2003 - Compt. exerc.
en millions de $
en millions de $
en millions de $
en millions de $
en millions de $
FONCTIONNEMENT          
801
Programme d’administration du ministère
1
Administration du ministère1
43,9
(0,3)
43,6
44,2
0,5
L
Traitement versé au ministre en vertu de la Loi sur le Conseil exécutif
-
-
-
-
-
L
Traitement versé à l’adjoint parlementaire en vertu de la Loi sur le Conseil exécutif
-
-
-
-
-
L
Créances irrécouvrables, Loi sur l’administration financière
-
-
-
-
-
 
44,0
(0,3)
43,7
44,2
0,5
802
Programme des enregistrements
1
Administration du programme2
2
(0,1)
2
2,7
0,8
2
Services d’enregistrement3
52,8
(1,3)
51,6
50
(1,6)
L
Contribution de la Couronne au Régime de
retraite des juges, Loi sur l’enregistrement
des actes
-
-
-
-
-
L
Demandes d’indemnisation adressées à la
Caisse d’assurance des droits immobiliers
-
-
-
-
-
 
54,9
(1,3)
53,6
52,8
(0,8)
803
Programme de protection du consommateur, de sécurité publique et normes commerciales
1
Administration du programme
0,6
-
0,5
0,6
-
2
Normes et services relatifs au marché4
5,8
(0,1)
5,6
6,4
0,8
3
Secteur tertiaire
1,6
-
1,6
1,7
0,2
4
Tribunal d’appel en matière de permis
1,2
-
1,1
1,2
-
 
9,1
(0,2)
8,9
9,9
1,0
804
Programme de réglementation des alcools et
des jeux
1
Commission des alcools et des jeux de
l’Ontario5
36,7
(1,1)
35,7
36,1
0,4
 
36,7
(1,1)
35,7
36,1
0,4
805
Programme de prestation intégrée des services
1
Prestation intégrée des service6
29,6
(0,5)
29,1
35,9
6,8
 
29,6
(0,5)
29,1
35,9
6,8
Total du ministère - Fonctionnement
174,3
(3,3)
171,0
178,9
7,9

Redressements de la comptabilité de caisse à la comptabilité d’exercice - À compter de 2003-2004, le Budget des dépenses est préparé selon la méthode de la comptabilité d’exercice. Les chiffres de 2002-2003 et des exercices antérieurs étaient préparés selon la méthode de la comptabilité de caisse modifiée. On décrit dans les notes qui suivent les redressements qui augmentent ou diminuent les montants de 2002-2003 pour les présenter selon la méthode de la comptabilité d’exercice dans cet état de rapprochement. La présentation des chiffres du Budget des dépenses 2002-2003 selon la méthode de la comptabilité d’exercice n’est pas un retraitement officiel, mais une approximation où ne figurent que les principaux redressements imputés à l’exercice, tels que requis pour pouvoir comparer le Budget des dépenses 2003-2004 à celui de 2002-2003 à partir de la même méthode de comptabilité. (Note : les redressements inférieurs à 0,05 million de dollars n’apparaissent pas.)

en millions de $
1.
(0,3)
redressement pour supprimer les coûts des régimes de retraite des employés du ministère car, à compter de 2003-2004, le coût, pour la province, de toutes les prestations de retraite acquises par les employés est inscrit dans le Budget des dépenses du Secrétariat du Conseil de gestion.
2.
(0,1)
redressement pour supprimer les coûts des régimes de retraite des employés du ministère car, à compter de 2003-2004, le coût, pour la province, de toutes les prestations de retraite acquises par les employés est inscrit dans le Budget des dépenses du Secrétariat du Conseil de gestion.
3.
(1,3)
redressement pour supprimer les coûts des régimes de retraite des employés du ministère car, à compter de 2003-2004, le coût, pour la province, de toutes les prestations de retraite acquises par les employés est inscrit dans le Budget des dépenses du Secrétariat du Conseil de gestion.
4.
(0,1)
redressement pour supprimer les coûts des régimes de retraite des employés du ministère car, à compter de 2003-2004, le coût, pour la province, de toutes les prestations de retraite acquises par les employés est inscrit dans le Budget des dépenses du Secrétariat du Conseil de gestion.
5.
(1,1)
redressement pour supprimer les coûts des régimes de retraite des employés du ministère car, à compter de 2003-2004, le coût, pour la province, de toutes les prestations de retraite acquises par les employés est inscrit dans le Budget des dépenses du Secrétariat du Conseil de gestion.
6.
(0,5)
redressement pour supprimer les coûts des régimes de retraite des employés du ministère car, à compter de 2003-2004, le coût, pour la province, de toutes les prestations de retraite acquises par les employés est inscrit dans le Budget des dépenses du Secrétariat du Conseil de gestion.
(3,3)
<< Total des redressements

MINISTÈRE DES SERVICES AUX CONSOMMATEURS ET AUX ENTREPRISES - Sommaire

Prévisions
2003-2004 -
Compt.
exerc.
PROGRAMMES
Prévisions
2002-2003 -
Compt.
caisse
Dépenses
réelles
2001-2002 -
Compt.
caisse
$
$
$
IMMOBILISATIONS
     
854 500
Programme des enregistrements
509 600
-
854 500
Total du ministère - Immobilisations
509 600
-
471 300
Moins : Mandats spéciaux
500 000
-
383 200
< TOTAL À VOTER - IMMOBILISATIONS
9 600
-
       
854 500
Total du ministère - Immobilisations    
854 500
TOTAL, Y COMPRIS REDRESSEMENT DE CONSOLIDATION ET AUTRES
REDRESSEMENTS
   

NOTE : À compter de 2003-2004, le Budget des dépenses est présenté selon la méthode de la comptabilité d’exercice. Les chiffres de 2002-2003 et des exercices antérieurs sont présentés selon la méthode de la comptabilité de caisse modifiée; la comparaison des chiffres de 2003-2004 avec les chiffres des exercices antérieurs risque donc de ne pas être concluante. La différence entre ces deux méthodes de comptabilité se situe au niveau des redressements (date des paiements de transfert et provisions pour dettes irrécouvrables, par exemple) qui auraient pour effet d’augmenter ou de diminuer les montants de 2002-2003 s’ils avaient été présentés selon la méthode de la comptabilité d’exercice.

Les redressements effectués pour ce ministère, le cas échéant, sont indiqués par des renvois en exposant et expliqués dans la page qui suit lE sommaire du ministère sous l’intitulé Rapprochement des chiffres du Budget des dépenses 2002-2003 - de la comptabilité de caisse à la comptabilité d’exercice.

RAPPROCHEMENT DES CHIFFRES DU BUDGET DES DÉPENSES 2002-2003 - DE LA COMPTABILITÉ DE CAISSE À LA COMPTABILITÉ D’EXERCICE

CRÉDIT et poste   Prévisions 2002-2003 - Compt. caisse Redressements - Compt. caisse à compt. exerc. Prévisions 2002-2003 - Compt. exerc. Prévisions 2003-2004 - Compt. exerc. Variat. prévisions 2002-2003 - Compt. exerc.
    en millions de $ en millions de $ en millions de $ en millions de $ en millions de $
  IMMOBILISATIONS          
802            
3 Programme des enregistrements          
  Immobilisations - locaux
0,5
-
0,5
0,9
0,3
   
0,5
-
0,5
0,9
0,3
  Total du ministère - Immobilisations
0,5
-
0,5
0,9
0,3

Note: Les montants ont été arrondis à la centaine de millier de dollars la plus proche et les montants inférieurs à cinquante mille dollars ramenés à zéro. Il est possible que les totaux ne correspondent pas à la somme des éléments parce qu’ils ont été arrondis.

Redressements de la comptabilité de caisse à la comptabilité d’exercice - À compter de 2003-2004, le Budget des dépenses est préparé selon la méthode de la comptabilité d’exercice. Les chiffres de 2002-2003 et des exercices antérieurs étaient préparés selon la méthode de la comptabilité de caisse modifiée. On décrit dans les notes qui suivent les redressements qui augmentent ou diminuent les montants de 2002-2003 pour les présenter selon la méthode de la comptabilité d’exercice dans cet état de rapprochement. La présentation des chiffres du Budget des dépenses 2002-2003 selon la méthode de la comptabilité d’exercice n’est pas un retraitement officiel, mais une approximation où ne figurent que les principaux redressements imputés à l’exercice, tels que requis pour pouvoir comparer le Budget des dépenses 2003-2004 à celui de 2002-2003 à partir de la même méthode de comptabilité. (Note : les redressements inférieurs à 0,05 million de dollars n’apparaissent pas.)

pas de redressements entre la comptabilité de caisse et la comptabilité d’exercice