Ministry of Education - Summary

Back to table of contents

The Expenditure Estimates are available in PDF and HTML versions. The PDF version is a format reflecting the true printed version. The HTML version is an accessible format.

MINISTRY OF EDUCATION

The Ministry of Education is committed to providing Ontario students with an excellent and accountable elementary/secondary education, so their futures and that of the Province will be characterized by continued prosperity, stability and growth.

MINISTRY OF EDUCATION - Summary

Accrual 2003-04 Estimates PROGRAMS Cash 2002-03 Estimates Cash 2001-02 Actual
$   $ $
OPERATING      
21,316,646 Ministry Administration Program1 20,989,340 20,885,039
10,005,815,400 Elementary and Secondary Education Program2,3,4 9,396,271,300 9,012,921,412
10,027,132,046 Ministry Total Operating 9,417,260,640 9,033,806,451
4,994,058,900 Less: Special Warrants 2,600,630,500 -
306,048,246 Less: Statutory Appropriations 670,048,240 645,079,847
4,727,024,900 < TOTAL OPERATING TO BE VOTED 6,146,581,900 8,388,726,604
10,027,132,046 Ministry Total Operating    
1,060,000 Net Consolidation Adjustment - Education Quality and Accountablity Office    
(6,420,700) Net Consolidation Adjustment - Ontario Educational Communications Authority (TV Ontario)    
10,021,771,346 TOTAL INCLUDING CONSOLIDATION AND OTHER ADJUSTMENTS    
Assets      
625,000 Elementary and Secondary Education Program - 6,530,016
625,000 Ministry Total Assets - 6,530,016
624,000 Less: Special Warrants - -
1,000 TOTAL ASSETS TO BE VOTED - 6,530,016

NOTE: Commencing in 2003-04, Estimates are presented on the accrual basis of accounting. Information for 2002-03 and earlier years is presented on the modified cash basis, and therefore comparison between 2003-04 and earlier year figures may not be meaningful. Differences between cash and accrual relate to adjustments such as timing of transfer payments and provisions for bad debts, that would increase or decrease the 2002-03 amounts had they been presented on the accrual basis.

Adjustments for this Ministry, if any, are indicated by superscripted references above and are explained on the page following the Ministry Summary - Reconciliation of 2002-03 Estimates from Cash to Accrual.

MINISTRY OF EDUCATION - RECONCILIATION OF 2002-03 ESTIMATES FROM CASH TO ACCRUAL

VOTE and item   Cash 2002-03 Estimates Adjustments from Cash to Accrual 2002-03 Estimates Presented as Accrual 2003-04 Estimates on Accrual Basis Change from 2002-03 Estimates on Accrual Basis
  OPERATING $ millions $ millions $ millions $ millions $ millions
1001 Ministry Administration Program          
1 Ministry Administration1 20.9 (0.7) 20.3 21.3 1.0
S Minister’s Salary, the Executive Council Act - - - - -
S Parliamentary Assistant’s Salary, the Executive Council Act - - - - -
    21.0 (0.7) 20.3 21.3 1.0
1002 Elementary and Secondary Education Program          
1 Policy and Program Delivery2 8,660.4 (49.8) 8,610.6 9,632.8 1,022.2
2 Educational Operations3 65.8 (1.7) 64.1 67.0 2.9
S Teachers’ Pension Fund4 670.0 (522.4) 147.6 306.0 158.4
    9,396.3 (574.0) 8,822.3 10,005.8 1,183.5
  Ministry Total Operating 9,417.3 (574.7) 8,842.6 10,027.1 1,184.5

Note: Amounts are rounded to the nearest one hundred thousand dollars and amounts less than fifty thousand dollars are shown as zero. Totals may not add due to this rounding.

Adjustments from Cash to Accrual - Commencing in 2003-04, Estimates are prepared on the accrual basis of accounting. Information for 2002-03 and earlier years was prepared in the Estimates on the modified-cash basis. Information is provided in the following notes on the adjustments that increase or decrease the 2002-03 amounts to present them on the accrual basis in this reconciliation. The accrual presentation of the 2002-03 Estimates is not an official restatement; it is an approximation reflecting only the significant accrual adjustments as required to allow for a comparison between the 2003-04 and the 2002-03 Estimates on a consistent basis of accounting. (Note: adjustments of less than $0.05 million are not shown )

$ millions
1. (0.7) adjustment to remove the pension costs related to ministry employees because, commencing in 2003-04, the cost to the Province of all pension benefits earned by employees is reflected in the Estimates for Management Board Secretariat
2. (1.1) adjustment to remove the pension costs related to ministry employees because, commencing in 2003-04, the cost to the Province of all pension benefits earned by employees is reflected in the Estimates for Management Board Secretariat
  (48.8) transfer payment adjustments for differences between when funds are flowed to transfer payment recipients (cash basis) and when the recipients fulfill their obligations under the transfer payment program (accrual basis)
  0.1 adjustment for differences between when payments are made to suppliers (cash basis) and when the goods and services are received (accrual basis)
3. (1.7) adjustment to remove the pension costs related to ministry employees because, commencing in 2003-04, the cost to the Province of all pension benefits earned by employees is reflected in the Estimates for Management Board Secretariat
4. (522.4) adjustment for the difference between contributions under the Teachers’ Pension Act (cash basis) and the cost to the Province of pension benefits earned by teachers (accrual basis)
(574.7) << Total Adjustments

MINISTRY OF EDUCATION - Capital Summary

Accrual 2003-04 Estimates PROGRAMS Cash 2002-03 Estimates Cash 2001-02 Actual
$   $ $
CAPITAL      
16,085,000 Elementary and Secondary Education Program 9,706,000 17,145,959
16,085,000 Ministry Total Capital 9,706,000 17,145,959
3,000,000 Less: Special Warrants - -
13,085,000 < TOTAL CAPITAL TO BE VOTED 9,706,000 17,145,959
16,085,000 Ministry Total Capital    
16,085,000 TOTAL INCLUDING CONSOLIDATION AND OTHER ADJUSTMENTS    

NOTE: Commencing in 2003-04, Estimates are presented on the accrual basis of accounting. Information for 2002-03 and earlier years is presented on the modified cash basis, and therefore comparison between 2003-04 and earlier year figures may not be meaningful. Differences between cash and accrual relate to adjustments such as timing of transfer payments and provisions for bad debts, that would increase or decrease the 2002-03 amounts had they been presented on the accrual basis.

Adjustments for this Ministry, if any, are indicated by superscripted references above and are explained on the page following the Ministry Summary - Reconciliation of 2002-03 Estimates from Cash to Accrual.

RECONCILIATION OF 2002-03 ESTIMATES FROM CASH TO ACCRUAL

VOTE and item   Cash 2002-03 Estimates Adjustments from Cash to Accrual Estimates Presented as Accrual Estimates on Accrual Basis Change from 2002-03 Estimates on Accrual Basis
  CAPITAL $ millions $ millions $ millions $ millions $ millions
1002 Elementary and Secondary Education Program          
3 Support for Elementary and Secondary Education 9.7 - 9.7 16.1 6.4
    9.7 - 9.7 16.1 6.4
  Ministry Total Capital 9.7 - 9.7 16.1 6.4

Note: Amounts are rounded to the nearest one hundred thousand dollars and amounts less than fifty thousand dollars are shown as zero. Totals may not add due to this rounding.

Adjustments from Cash to Accrual - Commencing in 2003-04, Estimates are prepared on the accrual basis of accounting. Information for 2002-03 and earlier years was prepared in the Estimates on the modified-cash basis. Information is provided in the following notes on the adjustments that increase or decrease the 2002-03 amounts to present them on the accrual basis in this reconciliation. The accrual presentation of the 2002-03 Estimates is not an official restatement; it is an approximation reflecting only the significant accrual adjustments as required to allow for a comparison between the 2003-04 and the 2002-03 Estimates on a consistent basis of accounting. (Note: adjustments of less than $0.05 million are not shown )

no adjustments from cash to accrual

MINISTÈRE DE L’ÉDUCATION - Sommaire

Retour à la table des matières

Le Budget des dépenses est disponible en format PDF et HTML. La version PDF reproduit fidèlement la version imprimée. La version HTML est un format accessible.

MINISTÈRE DE L’ÉDUCATION

Le ministère de l’Éducation s’engage à offrir aux élèves de l’Ontario un système d’éducation élémentaire et secondaire de qualité supérieure afin que leur avenir et celui de la province continuent d’être placés sous le signe de la prospérité, de la stabilité et de la croissance.

MINISTÈRE DE L’ÉDUCATION - Sommaire

Prévisions 2003-2004 - Compt. exerc. PROGRAMMES Prévisions 2002-2003 - Compt. caisse Dépenses réelles 2001-2002 - Compt. caisse
$   $ $
FONCTIONNEMENT      
21 316 646 Programme d’administration du ministère1 20 989 340 20 885 039
10 005 815 400 Programme d’éducation élémentaire et secondaire2,3,4 9 396 271 300 9 012 921 412
10 027 132 046 Total du ministère - Fonctionnement 9 417 260 640 9 033 806 451
4 994 058 900 Moins : Mandats spéciaux 2 600 630 500 -
306 048 246 Moins : Crédits législatifs 670 048 240 645 079 847
4 727 024 900 < TOTAL À VOTER - FONCTIONNEMENT 6 146 581 900 8 388 726 604
10 027 132 046 Total du ministère - Fonctionnement    
1 060 000 Redressement de consolidation net - Office de la qualité et de la responsabilité en éducation    
(6 420 700) Redressement de consolidation net - Office de la télécommunication éducative de l’Ontario (TVOntario)    
10 021 771 346 TOTAL, Y COMPRIS REDRESSEMENT DE CONSOLIDATION ET AUTRES REDRESSEMENTS    
Actif      
625 000 Programme d’éducation élémentaire et secondaire - 6 530 016
625 000 Total du ministère - Actif - 6 530 016
624 000 Moins : Mandats spéciaux - -
1 000 < TOTAL À VOTER - ACTIF - 6 530 016

NOTE : À compter de 2003-2004, le Budget des dépenses est présenté selon la méthode de la comptabilité d’exercice. Les chiffres de 2002-2003 et des exercices antérieurs sont présentés selon la méthode de la comptabilité de caisse modifiée; la comparaison des chiffres de 2003-2004 avec les chiffres des exercices antérieurs risque donc de ne pas être concluante. La différence entre ces deux méthodes de comptabilité se situe au niveau des redressements (date des paiements de transfert et provisions pour dettes irrécouvrables, par exemple) qui auraient pour effet d’augmenter ou de diminuer les montants de 2002-2003 s’ils avaient été présentés selon la méthode de la comptabilité d’exercice.

Les redressements effectués pour ce ministère, le cas échéant, sont indiqués par des renvois en exposant et expliqués dans la page qui suit lE sommaire du ministère sous l’intitulé Rapprochement des chiffres du Budget des dépenses 2002-2003 - de la comptabilité de caisse à la comptabilité d’exercice.

RECONCILIATION OF 2002-03 ESTIMATES FROM CASH TO ACCRUAL

CRÉDIT et poste   Prévisions 2002-2003 - Compt. caisse Redressements - Compt. caisse à compt. exerc. Prévisions 2002-2003 - Compt. exerc. Prévisions 2003-2004 - Compt. exerc. Variat. prévisions 2002-2003 - Compt. exerc.
  FONCTIONNEMENT en millions de $ en millions de $ en millions de $ en millions de $ en millions de $
1001 Programme d’administration du ministère          
1 Administration du ministère1 20,9 (0,7) 20,3 21,3 1,0
L Traitement versé au ministre en vertu de la Loi sur le Conseil exécutif - - - - -
L Traitement versé à l’adjoint parlementaire en vertu de la Loi sur le Conseil exécutif - - - - -
    21,0 (0,7) 20,3 21,3 1,0
1002 Programme d’éducation élémentaire et secondaire          
1 Politiques et prestation des programmes2 8 660,4 (49,8) 8 610,6 9 632,8 1 022,2
2 Activités éducatives3 65,8 (1,7) 64,1 67,0 2,9
S Caisse de retraite des enseignantes et des enseignants de l’Ontario4 670,0 (522,4) 147,6 306,0 158,4
    9 396,3 (574,0) 8 822,3 10 005,8 1 183,5
  Total du ministère - Fonctionnement 9 417,3 (574,7) 8 842,6 10 027,1 1 184,5

Note: Les montants ont été arrondis à la centaine de millier de dollars la plus proche et les montants inférieurs à cinquante mille dollars ramenés à zéro. Il est possible que les totaux ne correspondent pas à la somme des éléments parce qu’ils ont été arrondis.

Redressements de la comptabilité de caisse à la comptabilité d’exercice - À compter de 2003-2004, le Budget des dépenses est préparé selon la méthode de la comptabilité d’exercice. Les chiffres de 2002-2003 et des exercices antérieurs étaient préparés selon la méthode de la comptabilité de caisse modifiée. On décrit dans les notes qui suivent les redressements qui augmentent ou diminuent les montants de 2002-2003 pour les présenter selon la méthode de la comptabilité d’exercice dans cet état de rapprochement. La présentation des chiffres du Budget des dépenses 2002-2003 selon la méthode de la comptabilité d’exercice n’est pas un retraitement officiel, mais une approximation où ne figurent que les principaux redressements imputés à l’exercice, tels que requis pour pouvoir comparer le Budget des dépenses 2003-2004 à celui de 2002-2003 à partir de la même méthode de comptabilité. (Note : les redressements inférieurs à 0,05 million de dollars n’apparaissent pas.)

en millions de $
1. (0,7) redressement pour supprimer les coûts des régimes de retraite des employés du ministère car, à compter de 2003-2004, le coût, pour la province, de toutes les prestations de retraite acquises par les employés est inscrit dans le Budget des dépenses du Secrétariat du Conseil de gestion.
2. (1,1) redressement pour supprimer les coûts des régimes de retraite des employés du ministère car, à compter de 2003-2004, le coût, pour la province, de toutes les prestations de retraite acquises par les employés est inscrit dans le Budget des dépenses du Secrétariat du Conseil de gestion.
  (48,8) redressements de paiement de transfert reflétant l’écart entre les montants comptabilisés au moment où ils sont versés aux bénéficiaires de paiement de transfert (comptabilité de caisse) et les montants comptabilisés au moment où les bénéficiaires remplissent leurs obligations au titre du programme de paiement de transfert (comptabilité d’exercice).
  0,1 redressement reflétant l’écart entre les montants comptabilisés au moment où on paie les fournisseurs (comptabilité de caisse) et les montants comptabilisés au moment où on reçoit les produits et services (comptabilité d’exercice).
3. (1,7) redressement pour supprimer les coûts des régimes de retraite des employés du ministère car, à compter de 2003-2004, le coût, pour la province, de toutes les prestations de retraite acquises par les employés est inscrit dans le Budget des dépenses du Secrétariat du Conseil de gestion.
4. (522,4) redressement reflétant l’écart entre les contributions versées en vertu de la Loi sur le régime de retraite des enseignants (comptabilité de caisse) et le coût, pour la province, des prestations de retraite acquises par les enseignants (comptabilité d’exercice).
(574,7) << Total des redressements

MINISTÈRE DE L’ÉDUCATION - IMMOBILISATIONS

Prévisions 2003-2004 - Compt. exerc. PROGRAMMES Prévisions 2002-2003 - Compt. caisse Dépenses réelles 2001-2002 - Compt. caisse
$   $ $
IMMOBILISATIONS      
16 085 000 Programme d’éducation élémentaire et secondaire 9 706 000 17 145 959
16 085 000 Total du ministère - Immobilisations 9 706 000 17 145 959
3 000 000 Moins : Mandats spéciaux - -
13 085 000 < TOTAL À VOTER - IMMOBILISATIONS 9 706 000 17 145 959
16 085 000 Total du ministère - Immobilisations    
16 085 000 TOTAL, Y COMPRIS REDRESSEMENT DE CONSOLIDATION ET AUTRES REDRESSEMENTS    

NOTE : À compter de 2003-2004, le Budget des dépenses est présenté selon la méthode de la comptabilité d’exercice. Les chiffres de 2002-2003 et des exercices antérieurs sont présentés selon la méthode de la comptabilité de caisse modifiée; la comparaison des chiffres de 2003-2004 avec les chiffres des exercices antérieurs risque donc de ne pas être concluante. La différence entre ces deux méthodes de comptabilité se situe au niveau des redressements (date des paiements de transfert et provisions pour dettes irrécouvrables, par exemple) qui auraient pour effet d’augmenter ou de diminuer les montants de 2002-2003 s’ils avaient été présentés selon la méthode de la comptabilité d’exercice.

Les redressements effectués pour ce ministère, le cas échéant, sont indiqués par des renvois en exposant et expliqués dans la page qui suit lE sommaire du ministère sous l’intitulé Rapprochement des chiffres du Budget des dépenses 2002-2003 - de la comptabilité de caisse à la comptabilité d’exercice.

RAPPROCHEMENT DES CHIFFRES DU BUDGET DES DÉPENSES 2002-2003 - DE LA COMPTABILITÉ DE CAISSE À LA COMPTABILITÉ D’EXERCICE

CRÉDIT et poste   Prévisions 2002-2003 - Compt. caisse Redressements - Compt. caisse à compt. exerc. Prévisions 2002-2003 - Compt. exerc. Prévisions 2003-2004 - Compt. exerc. Variat. prévisions 2002-2003 - Compt. exerc.
  IMMOBILISATIONS en millions de $ en millions de $ en millions de $ en millions de $ en millions de $
1002 Programme d’éducation élémentaire et secondaire          
3 Soutien à l’éducation élémentaire et secondaire 9,7 - 9,7 16,1 6,4
    9,7 - 9,7 16,1 6,4
  Total du ministère - Immobilisations 9,7 - 9,7 16,1 6,4

Note: Les montants ont été arrondis à la centaine de millier de dollars la plus proche et les montants inférieurs à cinquante mille dollars ramenés à zéro. Il est possible que les totaux ne correspondent pas à la somme des éléments parce qu’ils ont été arrondis.

Redressements de la comptabilité de caisse à la comptabilité d’exercice - À compter de 2003-2004, le Budget des dépenses est préparé selon la méthode de la comptabilité d’exercice. Les chiffres de 2002-2003 et des exercices antérieurs étaient préparés selon la méthode de la comptabilité de caisse modifiée. On décrit dans les notes qui suivent les redressements qui augmentent ou diminuent les montants de 2002-2003 pour les présenter selon la méthode de la comptabilité d’exercice dans cet état de rapprochement. La présentation des chiffres du Budget des dépenses 2002-2003 selon la méthode de la comptabilité d’exercice n’est pas un retraitement officiel, mais une approximation où ne figurent que les principaux redressements imputés à l’exercice, tels que requis pour pouvoir comparer le Budget des dépenses 2003-2004 à celui de 2002-2003 à partir de la même méthode de comptabilité. (Note : les redressements inférieurs à 0,05 million de dollars n’apparaissent pas.)

pas de redressements entre la comptabilité de caisse et la comptabilité d’exercice