Ministry of Labour - Vote 759

Back to the MINISTRY OF LABOUR Summary page

The Expenditure Estimates are available in PDF and HTML versions. The PDF version is a format reflecting the true printed version. The HTML version is an accessible format.

LABOUR RELATIONS PROGRAM - VOTE 1603

The role of Labour Relations is to promote a stable labour relations climate and harmonious workplace relationships in the Province.

The Ontario Labour Relations Board (OLRB) is an independent, quasi-judicial tribunal which mediates and adjudicates a variety of employment and labour relation-related matters under various Ontario statutes. The OLRB is responsible for, amongst other things: certification of trade unions, termination of bargaining rights, unfair labour practice applications, sale of business related employer applications, illegal strikes and lock-outs, both in the construction and non-construction sectors. The OLRB also generally ensures minimum workplace standards through the review of decisions of employment standards officers and occupational health and safety inspectors, as well as mediating and arbitrating other labour and employment disputes with a view to promoting safe, fair and harmonious conditions in Ontario’s workplaces.

The two statutory tribunals comprising the Public Service Appeal Boards are independent quasi-judicial tribunals that oversee the labour relations of Ontario Crown employees. They include the Crown Employees Grievance Settlement Board and the Public Service Grievance Board.

The Labour Management Services program provides neutral, third party assistance to trade unions and employers through collective agreement conciliation and mediation, appointment of arbitrators and collective bargaining information.

LABOUR RELATIONS PROGRAM 1603 - Summary

VOTE and item Accrual 2003-04 Estimates PROGRAM AND ACTIVITIES Cash 2002-03 Estimates Cash 2001-02 Actual
  $   $ $
1603   LABOUR RELATIONS PROGRAM    
OPERATING        
1 11,665,700 Labour Relations Board3 11,795,000 12,010,579
2 1,267,500 Public Service Appeal Boards 1,254,900 872,911
3 8,093,900 Labour Management Services4 8,114,600 7,951,000
  21,027,100 Total Operating 21,164,500 20,834,490
  14,606,300 Less: Special Warrants 7,579,500 -
  6,420,800 Amount to be Voted 13,585,000 20,834,490

NOTE: Commencing in 2003-04, Estimates are presented on the accrual basis of accounting. Information for 2002-03 and earlier years is presented on the modified cash basis, and therefore comparison between 2003-04 and earlier year figures may not be meaningful. Differences between cash and accrual relate to adjustments such as timing of transfer payments and provisions for bad debts, that would increase or decrease the 2002-03 amounts had they been presented on the accrual basis.

Adjustments for this Ministry, if any, are indicated by superscripted references above and are explained on the page following the Ministry Summary - Reconciliation of 2002-03 Estimates from Cash to Accrual.

LABOUR RELATIONS PROGRAM - Standard Accounts Classification

OPERATING  
Labour Relations Board (1603-1) $
Salaries and wages 7,849,500
Employee benefits 675,300
Transportation and communication 916,600
Services 2,175,300
Supplies and equipment 49,000
  11,665,700
Public Service Appeal Boards (1603-2)  
Salaries and wages 455,800
Employee benefits 101,900
Transportation and communication 160,400
Services 1,574,900
Supplies and equipment 15,000
  2,308,000
Less: Recoveries 1,040,500
  1,267,500
Labour Management Services (1603-3)  
Salaries and wages 5,625,900
Employee benefits 601,700
Transportation and communication 695,000
Services 1,148,400
Supplies and equipment 122,900
  8,193,900
Less: Recoveries 100,000
  8,093,900
Total Operating for Labour Relations Program 21,027,100

MINISTÈRE DU TRAVAIL - CRÉDIT 759

Retour au MINISTÈRE DU TRAVAIL sommaire

Le Budget des dépenses est disponible en format PDF et HTML. La version PDF reproduit fidèlement la version imprimée. La version HTML est un format accessible.

PROGRAMME DES RELATIONS DE TRAVAIL - CRÉDIT 1603

Le rôle de la Commission est de promouvoir des relations de travail stables et des rapports harmonieux sur les lieux de travail de la province. La Commission des relations de travail de l’Ontario (CRTO) est un tribunal quasi-judiciaire indépendant qui assure la médiation et l’arbitrage des différends en matière d’emploi et de relations de travail en vertu de diverses lois de l’Ontario. La CRTO s’occupe, notamment, de l’accréditation des syndicats; de la résiliation des droits de négociation; des pratiques déloyales de travail; des ventes d’entreprises et autres requêtes d’employeurs; des grèves et lock-out illégaux dans le secteur de la construction et d’autres secteurs. La CRTO veille aussi à l’observation des normes minimales d’emploi en étudiant les décisions rendues par les agents des normes d’emploi et les inspecteurs de la santé et de la sécurité au travail, et aide à la médiation et à l’arbitrage d’autres conflits de travail afin de promouvoir des conditions de travail sécuritaires, équitables et harmonieuses sur les lieux de travail de l’Ontario.

Les commissions d’appel de la fonction publique, instituées par une loi, sont deux tribunaux indépendants et quasi-judiciaires qui s’occupent des relations de travail des employés de la Couronne de l’Ontario. Il s’agit de la Commission de règlement des griefs des employés de la Couronne et de la Commission des griefs de la fonction publique.

Le programme des Relations patronales-syndicales fournit une aide neutre et indépendante aux syndicats et aux employeurs en leur offrant des services de conciliation et de médiation en matière de conventions collectives, en nommant des arbitres et en fournissant des renseignements sur les négociations collectives.

PROGRAMME DES RELATIONS DE TRAVAIL 1603 - Summary

CRÉDIT et poste Prévisions 2003-2004 - Compt. exerc. PROGRAMME ET ACTIVITÉS Prévisions 2002-2003 - Compt. caisse Dépenses réelles
2001-2002 - Compt. caisse
  $   $ $
1603   PROGRAMME DES RELATIONS DE TRAVAIL    
FONCTIONNEMENT        
1 11 665 700 Commission des relations de travail3 11 795 000 12 010 579
2 1 267 500 Commissions d’appel de la fonction publique 1 254 900 872 911
3 8 093 900 Relations patronales-syndicales4 8 114 600 7 951 000
  21 027 100 Total - Fonctionnement 21 164 500 20 834 490
  14 606 300 Moins : Mandats spéciaux 7 579 500 -
  6 420 800 Montant à voter 13 585 000 20 834 490

NOTE : À compter de 2003-2004, le Budget des dépenses est présenté selon la méthode de la comptabilité d’exercice. Les chiffres de 2002-2003 et des exercices antérieurs sont présentés selon la méthode de la comptabilité de caisse modifiée; la comparaison des chiffres de 2003-2004 avec les chiffres des exercices antérieurs risque donc de ne pas être concluante. La différence entre ces deux méthodes de comptabilité se situe au niveau des redressements (date des paiements de transfert et provisions pour dettes irrécouvrables, par exemple) qui auraient pour effet d’augmenter ou de diminuer les montants de 2002-2003 s’ils avaient été présentés selon la méthode de la comptabilité d’exercice.

Les redressements effectués pour ce ministère, le cas échéant, sont indiqués par des renvois en exposant et expliqués dans la page qui suit lE sommaire du ministère sous l’intitulé Rapprochement des chiffres du Budget des dépenses 2002-2003 - de la comptabilité de caisse à la comptabilité d’exercice.

PROGRAMME DES RELATIONS DE TRAVAIL - CLASSIFICATION PAR CATÉGORIE DE DÉPENSES

FONCTIONNEMENT  
Commission des relations de travail (1603-1) $
Traitements et salaires 7 849 500
Avantages sociaux 675 300
Transports et communications 916 600
Services 2 175 300
Fournitures et matériel 49 000
  11 665 700
Commissions d’appel de la fonction publique (1603-2)  
Traitements et salaires 455 800
Avantages sociaux 101 900
Transports et communications 160 400
Services 1 574 900
Fournitures et matériel 15 000
  2 308 000
Moins : Recouvrements 1 040 500
  1 267 500
Relations patronales-syndicales (1603-3)  
Traitements et salaires 5 625 900
Avantages sociaux 601 700
Transports et communications 695 000
Services 1 148 400
Fournitures et matériel 122 900
  8 193 900
Moins : Recouvrements 100 000
  8 093 900
Total (Fonctionnement) - Programme des relations de travail 21 027 100