Ministry of Transportation - Vote 737

Back to the MINISTRY OF TRANSPORTATION Summary page

The Expenditure Estimates are available in PDF and HTML versions. The PDF version is a format reflecting the true printed version. The HTML version is an accessible format.

ROAD USER SAFETY PROGRAM - VOTE 2703

This program contributes to the improvement of road safety and mobility through the promotion and regulation of safe driving behaviour. The key objective is to reduce death and injury on our roads by developing, promoting and participating in road user safety programs. It also promotes the effectiveness and efficiency in the delivery of its programs.

To this end, the key safety responsibilities of the program are to: set safety standards, develop and evaluate policies, programs and regulations for road users, carriers and vehicles; inspect, monitor and enforce compliance with those standards; licence drivers and vehicles; and to work with a broad range of partners to educate road users about safe driving behaviours and road user safety policies, laws and programs.

The program is responsible for managing and improving customer service by setting standards and monitoring performance of service delivery, promoting government products through Electronic Service Delivery for Individuals and the private and not for profit sectors. The management of information on every driver, vehicle and commercial carrier in Ontario is an inherent responsibility. The program is also responsible for facilitating the delivery of core programs for other ministries (e.g., Drive Clean).

ROAD USER SAFETY PROGRAM 2703 - Summary

VOTE and item Accrual 2003-04 Estimates PROGRAM AND ACTIVITIES Cash 2002-03 Estimates Cash 2001-02 Actual
  $   $ $
2703   ROAD USER SAFETY PROGRAM    
         
OPERATING        
1 188,835,600 Road User Safety4 140,853,900 140,313,660
  188,835,600 Total Operating 140,853,900 140,313,660
  121,000,000 Less: Special Warrants 38,100,000 -
  67,835,600 Amount to be Voted 102,753,900 140,313,660

NOTE: Commencing in 2003-04, Estimates are presented on the accrual basis of accounting. Information for 2002-03 and earlier years is presented on the modified cash basis, and therefore comparison between 2003-04 and earlier year figures may not be meaningful. Differences between cash and accrual relate to adjustments such as timing of transfer payments and provisions for bad debts, that would increase or decrease the 2002-03 amounts had they been presented on the accrual basis.

Adjustments for this Ministry, if any, are indicated by superscripted references above and are explained on the page following the Ministry Summary - Reconciliation of 2002-03 Estimates from Cash to Accrual.

ROAD USER SAFETY PROGRAM - Standard Accounts Classification

OPERATING    
Road User Safety (2703-1)   $
Salaries and wages   92,766,200
Employee benefits   11,325,700
Transportation and communication   8,189,600
Services   63,602,600
Supplies and equipment   15,706,300
Transfer payments $  
Canada Safety Council 10,000  
Community Safety Grants 200,000  
Highway Safety Research Grants 142,600  
Ontario Safety League 30,000  
Traffic Injury Research Foundation 30,000  
Transport Canada Compendium 25,000  
    437,600
    192,028,000
Less: Recoveries   3,192,400
    188,835,600
Total Operating for Road User Safety Program   188,835,600

MINISTÈRE DES TRANSPORTS - CRÉDIT 737

Retour au MINISTÈRE DES TRANSPORTS sommaire

Le Budget des dépenses est disponible en format PDF et HTML. La version PDF reproduit fidèlement la version imprimée. La version HTML est un format accessible.

PROGRAMME DE SÉCURITÉ ROUTIÈRE - CRÉDIT 2703

Ce programme s’efforce d’améliorer la sécurité routière et de faciliter la circulation des personnes et des marchandises en encourageant la prudence au volant et en réglementant la conduite. Son principal objectif est de réduire le nombre d’accidents de la route. Pour ce faire, il élabore, favorise et mène des programmes de sécurité routière. Il encourage aussi la prestation efficace et économique de ses programmes.

Les principales responsabilités du programme sont l’établissement de normes de sécurité; l’élaboration et l’évaluation des politiques, programmes et règlements visant les usagers de la route, les transporteurs et les véhicules; l’inspection, la surveillance et l’application des normes de sécurité; la délivrance des permis et l’immatriculation des véhicules; la collaboration avec un vaste éventail de partenaires pour sensibiliser les usagers de la route à la conduite sécuritaire et aux politiques, lois et programmes régissant la sécurité routière.

Le programme veille également à l’administration et à l’amélioration du service à la clientèle. Pour ce faire, il fixe des normes et surveille la prestation de ses services; il fait la promotion des produits du gouvernement que les particuliers et les entreprises du secteur privé et à but non lucratif peuvent obtenir par voie électronique. La tenue des dossiers de tous les conducteurs, véhicules et transporteurs commerciaux de l’Ontario fait partie intégrante de ses responsabilités. Le programme a également pour mandat de faciliter la prestation des programmes de base d’autres ministères (p. ex. Air pur).

PROGRAMME DE SÉCURITÉ ROUTIÈRE 2703 - Summary

CRÉDIT et poste Prévisions 2003-2004 - Compt. exerc. PROGRAMME ET ACTIVITÉS Prévisions 2002-2003 - Compt. caisse Dépenses réelles 2001-2002 - Compt. caisse
  $   $ $
2703   PROGRAMME DE SÉCURITÉ ROUTIÈRE    
         
FONCTIONNEMENT        
1 188 835 600 Sécurité routière4 140 853 900 140 313 660
  188 835 600 Total - Fonctionnement 140 853 900 140 313 660
  121 000 000 Moins : Mandats spéciaux 38 100 000 -
  67 835 600 Montant à voter 102 753 900 140 313 660

NOTE : À compter de 2003-2004, le Budget des dépenses est présenté selon la méthode de la comptabilité d’exercice. Les chiffres de 2002-2003 et des exercices antérieurs sont présentés selon la méthode de la comptabilité de caisse modifiée; la comparaison des chiffres de 2003-2004 avec les chiffres des exercices antérieurs risque donc de ne pas être concluante. La différence entre ces deux méthodes de comptabilité se situe au niveau des redressements (date des paiements de transfert et provisions pour dettes irrécouvrables, par exemple) qui auraient pour effet d’augmenter ou de diminuer les montants de 2002-2003 s’ils avaient été présentés selon la méthode de la comptabilité d’exercice.

Les redressements effectués pour ce ministère, le cas échéant, sont indiqués par des renvois en exposant et expliqués dans la page qui suit lE sommaire du ministère sous l’intitulé Rapprochement des chiffres du Budget des dépenses 2002-2003 - de la comptabilité de caisse à la comptabilité d’exercice.

PROGRAMME DE SÉCURITÉ ROUTIÈRE - CLASSIFICATION PAR CATÉGORIE DE DÉPENSES

FONCTIONNEMENT    
Road User Safety (2703-1)   $
Traitements et salaires   92 766 200
Avantages sociaux   11 325 700
Transports et communications   8 189 600
Services   63 602 600
Fournitures et matériel   15 706 300
Paiements de transfert $  
Conseil canadien de la sécurité 10 000  
Subventions pour la sécurité publique 200 000  
Subventions pour la recherche sur la sécurité routière 142 600  
Ontario Safety League 30 000  
Fondation de recherche sur les blessures de la route 30 000  
Répertoire de Transports Canada 25 000  
    437 600
    192 028 000
Moins : Recouvrements   3 192 400
    188 835 600
Total (Fonctionnement) - Programme de sécurité routière   188 835 600