Ministry of Transporation

Back to Expenditure Estimates home page
Back to table of contents

MINISTRY OF TRANSPORTATION

TRANSPORTATION POLICY AND PLANNING PROGRAM - VOTE 2702

The primary focus of the Transportation Policy and Planning program is to plan and promote a safe, efficient and reliable multi-modal transportation system, including transit that supports strong communities, an enhanced quality of life and a healthy economy. To achieve this, the program provides leadership in setting strategic policy direction for the ministry as part of its integrated long-term planning, and works to enable a supportive policy and regulatory environment.

In addition, this program focuses on easing traffic congestion through the promotion of public transit, and facilitating the movement of people and goods along our highways and at our border crossings. It also manages the ministry's inter-provincial and bilateral negotiations with the federal government on a range of transportation related issues including the implementation of various federal investment programs.

TRANSPORTATION POLICY AND PLANNING PROGRAM 2702 - Capital Expenses Summary
Item ACTIVITIES

2005-06
Supplementary
Estimates
$


2005-06
Estimates
$


2004-05
Estimates
$


2003-04
Actual
$

3 Urban and Regional
Transportation
944,000,000 381,516,700 364,649,000 448,552,345
  Total Capital Expenses 944,000,000 381,516,700 364,649,000 448,552,345
  Amount to be Voted 944,000,000 381,516,700 364,649,000 448,552,345


TRANSPORTATION POLICY AND PLANNING PROGRAM - Standard Accounts Classification of Activities and Sub-activities - CAPITAL EXPENSES
Urban and Regional Transportation (2702-3) Activity   $
Transfer payments
$
Greater Toronto Area Transit Investments 830,000,000
Public Transit 114,000,000
Transfer payments Subtotal   944,000,000
Activity Total   944,000,000
Total Capital for Transportation Policy and Planning Program   944,000,000


PROVINCIAL HIGHWAYS MANAGEMENT PROGRAM - VOTE 2704

This program oversees the maintenance and operation of the provincial highway network and invests strategically in highway infrastructure to support the development of safe and strong communities in Ontario.

The program manages activities to preserve public investment in existing infrastructure and improve the movement of people and goods on Ontario's highways. Investment strategies include a focus on improving trade corridors leading to key international border crossings and integrating highways with public transportation.

Activities include routine highway maintenance; winter snow and ice control; highway planning, engineering and detailed design; highway rehabilitation; new construction and construction administration.

The program also develops operational policies and guidelines, sets highway maintenance and construction standards, manages research and develops new technologies. In addition to the highway network, the program is responsible for remote airports in northern Ontario and ferry services in various locations across Ontario.

PROVINCIAL HIGHWAYS MANAGEMENT PROGRAM 2704 - Capital Expenses Summary
Item ACTIVITIES

2005-06
Supplementary
Estimates
$


2005-06
Estimates
$


2004-05
Estimates
$


2003-04
Actual
$

2 Engineering and Construction 420,564,900 165,566,000 166,477,400 151,604,941
  Total Capital Expenses 420,564,900 165,566,000 166,477,400 151,604,941
  Amount to be Voted 420,564,900 165,566,000 166,477,400 151,604,941


PROVINCIAL HIGHWAYS MANAGEMENT PROGRAM - Standard Accounts Classification of Activities and Sub-activities - CAPITAL EXPENSES
Engineering and Construction (2704-2) Activity $
Transfer payments
Transition Fund 420,564,900
Activity Total 420,564,900
Total Capital for Provincial Highways Management Program     420,564,900
TOTAL CAPITAL FOR MINISTRY OF TRANSPORTATION     1,364,564,900
Go to the top of this page.

MINISTÈRE DES TRANSPORTS

MINISTÈRE DES TRANSPORTS

PROGRAMME DES POLITIQUES ET DE LA PLANIFICATION DES TRANSPORTS - CRÉDIT 2702

L'objectif premier du programme des politiques et de la planification des transports est la planification et la promotion d'un réseau de transport multimodal sûr, efficace et fiable, notamment un réseau de transports en commun qui dessert des communautés fortes et crée un climat propice à une meilleure qualité de vie et aux affaires. Pour y parvenir, le programme fixe les orientations stratégiques du ministère en s'appuyant sur une planification intégrée à long terme et facilite la mise en place du cadre stratégique et réglementaire

Le programme s'attache aussi à réduire les embouteillages en faisant la promotion des transports en commun et en facilitant la circulation des personnes et des marchandises sur le réseau routier de la province et aux postes frontaliers. Il dirige également, pour le compte du ministère, les négociations interprovinciales et bilatérales avec le gouvernement fédéral touchant diverses questions liées aux transports, notamment la mise en oeuvre de plusieurs programmes d'investissement fédéraux.

PROGRAMME DES POLITIQUES ET DE LA PLANIFICATION DES TRANSPORTS 2702 - Dépenses en immobilisations - Sommaire
Poste ACTIVITÉS

Prévisions
supplémentaires
2005-2006 $


Prévisions
2005-2006 $


Prévisions
2004-2005 $


Dépenses réelles
2003-2004 $

3 Transports urbains et régionaux  944 000 000  381 516 700  364 649 000 448 552 345
  Total - Dépenses en immobilisations  944 000 000  381 516 700  364 649 000 448 552 345
  Montant à voter  944 000 000  381 516 700  364 649 000  448 552 345


PROGRAMME DES POLITIQUES ET DE LA PLANIFICATION DES TRANSPORTS - Classification des activités et sous-activités par catégorie de dépenses - DÉPENSES EN IMMOBILISATIONS
Transports urbains et régionaux (2702-3) Activité   $
Paiements de transfert
$
Investissements dans le transport en commun - RGT  830 000 000
Transports en commun  114 000 000
Paiements de transfert - Total partiel
 944 000 000
Total - Activité    944 000 000
Total (Immobilisations) - Programme des politiques et de la planification des transports      944 000 000


PROGRAMME DE GESTION DES ROUTES PROVINCIALES - CRÉDIT 2704

Ce programme supervise l'entretien et l'exploitation du réseau routier de la province; il investit stratégiquement dans l'infrastructure routière pour encourager le développement de communautés fortes et sûres en Ontario.

Ce programme gère les activités permettant de protéger les investissements publics dans l'infrastructure routière; et d'améliorer la circulation des personnes et des marchandises sur le réseau routier de l'Ontario. Les stratégies d'investissement visent notamment les couloirs commerciaux menant aux principaux postes frontaliers et l'intégration du réseau routier aux transports en commun.

Ses activités comprennent, notamment, l'entretien normal du réseau routier; l'entretien d'hiver (déneigement et déverglaçage); la planification du réseau routier; le génie et la conception détaillée; la réfection des routes; la construction et la gestion des chantiers de construction.

Le programme élabore aussi les politiques et directives opérationnelles; fixe les normes d'entretien et de construction des routes; gère les travaux de recherche et met au point de nouvelles technologies. En plus du réseau routier, le programme est responsable des services d'aéroport aménagés dans les régions éloignées du Nord de l'Ontario et des services de traversiers répartis dans l'ensemble de la province.

PROGRAMME DE GESTION DES ROUTES PROVINCIALES 2704 - Dépenses en immobilisations Sommaire
Poste ACTIVITÉS

Prévisions
supplémentaires
2005-2006 $


Prévisions
2005-2006 $


Prévisions
2004-2005 $


Dépenses réelles
2003-2004
$

2 Génie des transports et construction  420 564 900  165 566 000  166 477 400  151 604 941
  Total - Dépenses en immobilisations  420 564 900  165 566 000  166 477 400  151 604 941
  Montant à voter  420 564 900  165 566 000  166 477 400  151 604 941


PROGRAMME DE GESTION DES ROUTES PROVINCIALES - Classification des activités et sous-activités par catégorie de dépenses - DÉPENSES EN IMMOBILISATIONS
Génie des transports et construction (2704-2) Activité $
Paiements de transfert  
Fonds de transition  420 564 900
Total - Activité  420 564 900
Total (Immobilisations) - Programme de gestion des routes provinciales     420 564 900
TOTAL (IMMOBILISATIONS) - MINISTÈRE DES TRANSPORTS    1 364 564 900