Ministry of Transportation - Vote 737

ROAD USER SAFETY PROGRAM - VOTE 2703

The Road User Safety Program leads key ministry road safety strategies of improving road safety and mobility, by the education, enforcement and regulation of safe driving behaviour, promoting vehicle safety and by improving customer service. Our key objective is to reduce fatalities and injuries on our roads by developing, promoting and participating in road user safety programs. The Road User Safety Program continues to work with many partners including police, community groups, safety organizations and the private sector to continuously improve road user safety.

The key safety responsibilities of the program are to: set safety standards, develop and evaluate policies, programs and regulations for road users, carriers and vehicles; inspect, monitor and enforce compliance with those standards; licence drivers and vehicles; manage contracts and ongoing relationships with service providers; and work with a broad range of partners to educate road users about safe driving behaviour and road user safety polices, laws and programs. Developments in other jurisdictions and traffic safety research are monitored so that road safety initiatives are effective in maintaining Ontario's leading position as one of the safest jurisdictions in North America.

The program is also responsible for managing and improving customer service by setting standards and monitoring performance of service delivery, including the delivery of government products and services through electronic means for individuals and for the business sector and facilitating the delivery of programs for other ministries (e.g., Drive Clean [Ministry of Environment], Family Support Payments [Ministry of Community and Social Services]).

Ministry of Transportation collects information from individuals under the authority of the Highway Traffic Act. The ministry maintains stewardship of this information and protects individuals' privacy in keeping with Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act.

ROAD USER SAFETY PROGRAM 2703 - Operating Expenses Summary

ItemACTIVITIES 

2005-06
Estimates
$

Change
from
2004-05
$

2004-05
Estimates
$

2003-04
Actual
$

1 Road User Safety   156,421,300 (-3,051,300) 159,472,600 191,956,757
Statutory Bad Debt Expense, the Financial Administration Act   300,000 299,000 1,000 -
     
  Total Operating Expenses   156,721,300 (-2,752,300) 159,473,600 191,956,757
Less: Statutory Appropriations   300,000 299,000 1,000 -
     
  Amount to be Voted   156,421,300 (-3,051,300) 159,472,600 191,956,757
     


ROAD USER SAFETY PROGRAM 2703 - Operating Asset Expenditures Summary

ItemACTIVITIES 

2005-06
Estimates
$

Change
from
2004-05
$

2004-05
Estimates
$

2003-04
Actual
$

2 Road User Safety   1,000 - 1,000 -
     
  Total Operating Asset Expenditures   1,000 - 1,000 -
     
  Amount to be Voted   1,000 - 1,000 -
     


ROAD USER SAFETY PROGRAM - Standard Accounts Classification of Activities and Sub-activities - OPERATING EXPENSES

Road User Safety (2703-1) Activity $
Salaries and wages 70,948,500
Employee benefits 8,915,300
Transportation and communication 5,121,800
Services 63,513,200
Supplies and equipment 15,132,400
Transfer payments
Community Safety Grants 200,000
Subtotal 163,831,200
Less: Recoveries 7,409,900
Activity Total 156,421,300


Statutory Appropriations Activity $
Other transactions
Bad Debt Expense, the Financial Administration Act 300,000
Activity Total 300,000


Total Operating for Road User Safety Program 156,721,300


ROAD USER SAFETY PROGRAM - Standard Accounts Classification of Activities and Sub-activities - OPERATING ASSET EXPENDITURES

Road User Safety (2703-2) Activity $
Deposits and prepaid expenses 1,000
Activity Total 1,000


Total Assets for Road User Safety Program 1,000

MINISTÈRE DES TRANSPORTS - CRÉDIT 737

Retour au MINISTÈRE DES TRANSPORTS sommaire

PROGRAMME DE SÉCURITÉ ROUTIÈRE - CRÉDIT 2703

Le Programme de la sécurité des usagers de la route participe aux stratégies clés du ministère visant à améliorer la sécurité routière et à faciliter la circulation des personnes et des marchandises en encourageant la prudence au volant par l'éducation, l'observation de la loi et la réglementation de la conduite; en encourageant la sécurité des véhicules et en améliorant le service à la clientèle. Son principal objectif est de réduire les accidents mortels et les blessures sur les routes de l'Ontario en élaborant, encourageant et participant aux programmes de sécurité des usagers de la route. Le programme continue de travailler avec ses nombreux partenaires (police; groupes communautaires; organisations de prévention des acccidents; et secteur privé) pour améliorer sans cesse la sécurité des usagers de la route.

Les principales responsabilités du programme sont l'établissement des normes de sécurité; l'élaboration et l'évaluation des politiques, programmes et règlements visant les usagers de la route, les transporteurs et les véhicules; l'inspection, la surveillance et l'application des normes de sécurité; la délivrance des permis et l'immatriculation des véhicules; la gestion des contrats et des relations courantes avec les fournisseurs de services; la collaboration avec un vaste éventail de partenaires pour sensibiliser les usagers de la route à la conduite sécuritaire et aux politiques, lois et programmes régissant la sécurité routière. Il surveille ce qui se passe dans les autres compétences et la recherche en matière de sécurité routière afin que les initiatives mises en place en Ontario permettent à la province de rester l'une des compétences les plus sûres d'Amérique du Nord.

Le programme veille aussi à l'administration et à l'amélioration du service à la clientèle, pour ce faire, il fixe les normes et surveille la prestation des services, notamment la prestation par voie électronique des services et produits du gouvernement aux particuliers et au secteur des affaires; et la prestation de programmes d'autres ministères (p. ex., Air pur [ministère de l'Environnement], Programme d'aide à la famille [ministère des Services sociaux et communautaires]).

Le ministère des Transports de l'Ontario recueille des données auprès des particuliers en vertu du Code de la route. Il administre cette information et protège la confidentialité des renseignements personnels conformément à la Loi sur l'accès à l'information et la protection de la vie privée.

PROGRAMME DE SÉCURITÉ ROUTIÈRE 2703 - Dépenses de fonctionnement Sommaire

Poste ACTIVITÉS  


Prévisions
2005-2006
$

Variation
par rapport
à 2004-2005
$


Prévisions
2004-2005
$

Dépenses
réelles
2003-2004
$

1 Sécurité routière   156 421 300 (- 3 051 300) 159 472 600 191 956 757
Crédits législatifs Créances irrécouvrables, Loi sur l'administration financière   300 000 299 000 1 000 -
             
  Total - Dépenses de fonctionnement   156 721 300 (- 2 752 300) 159 473 600 191 956 757
  Moins : Crédits législatifs   300 000 299 000 1 000 -
             
  Montant à voter   156 421 300 (- 3 051 300) 159 472 600 191 956 757
             


PROGRAMME DE SÉCURITÉ ROUTIÈRE 2703 - Dépenses de fonctionnement - Actif Sommaire

Poste ACTIVITÉS  


Prévisions
2005-2006
$

Variation
par rapport
à 2004-2005
$


Prévisions
2004-2005
$

Dépenses
réelles
2003-2004
$

2 Sécurité des usagers de la route   1 000 - 1 000 -
             
  Total - Dépenses de fonctionnement - Actif   1 000 - 1 000 -
             
  Montant à voter   1 000 - 1 000 -
             


PROGRAMME DE SÉCURITÉ ROUTIÈRE - Classification des activités et sous-activités par catégorie de dépenses - DÉPENSES DE FONCTIONNEMENT

Sécurité routière (2703-1) Activité $
Traitements et salaires 70 948 500
Avantages sociaux 8 915 300
Transports et communications 5 121 800
Services 63 513 200
Fournitures et matériel 15 132 400
Paiements de transfert   
Subventions pour la sécurité publique 200 000
 
Total partiel 163 831 200
Moins : Recouvrements 7 409 900
 
Total - Activité 156 421 300
 


Crédits législatifs Activité $
Autres opérations   
Créances irrécouvrables, Loi sur l'administration financière 300 000
 
Total - Activité 300 000
 


Total (Fonctionnement) - Programme de sécurité routière 156 721 300
   


PROGRAMME DE SÉCURITÉ ROUTIÈRE - Classification des activités et sous-activités par catégorie de dépenses - DÉPENSES DE FONCTIONNEMENT - ACTIF

Sécurité des usagers de la route (2703-2) Activité $
Dépôts et charges payées d'avance 1 000
 
Total - Activité 1 000
 


Total (Actif) - Programme de sécurité routière 1 000