Supplementary Expenditure Estimates: Ministry of Transportation

Back to Expenditure Estimates home page
Back to the General Summary

POLICY, PLANNING AND STANDARDS PROGRAM - VOTE 2702

The primary focus of the Policy, Planning and Standards Program is to plan and promote a safe, efficient and reliable multi-modal transportation system, including transit that supports strong communities, an enhanced quality of life and a healthy economy. To achieve this, the program provides leadership in setting strategic policy direction for the ministry as part of its integrated long-term planning, and works to enable a supportive policy and regulatory environment.

In addition, this program focuses on easing traffic congestion through the promotion of public transit, and facilitating the movement of people and goods along our highways and at our border crossings. The program is leading the government's investment in the Windsor Gateway including planning for a new or expanded international crossing by 2013. It also manages the ministry's inter-provincial and bilateral negotiations with the federal government on a range of transportation related issues including the implementation of various federal investment programs.

VOTE SUMMARY
($)
ITEM # ITEM

Supplementary
Estimates
2006-07

Estimates
2006-07

Estimates
2005-06

Actual
2004-05

  CAPITAL EXPENSE        
3 Urban and Regional Transportation 336,122,200 535,374,400 1,346,836,700 344,678,120
  TOTAL CAPITAL EXPENSE TO BE VOTED 336,122,200 535,374,400 1,346,836,700 344,678,120
  Total Capital Expense 336,122,200 535,374,400 1,346,836,700 344,678,120



Standard Account by Item and Sub-items
($)
VOTE -ITEM
#
STANDARD ACCOUNT BY ITEM AND SUB-ITEMS      
  CAPITAL EXPENSE      
2702-3 Urban and Regional Transportation      
  Transfer payments      
     Public Transit     336,122,200
  Total Capital Expense to be Voted     336,122,200
  Total Capital Expense for Policy, Planning and Standards Program     336,122,200

PROVINCIAL HIGHWAYS MANAGEMENT PROGRAM - VOTE 2704

This program oversees the maintenance and operation of the provincial highway network and invests strategically in highway infrastructure to support the development of safe and strong communities in Ontario.

The program manages activities to preserve public investment in existing infrastructure and improve the movement of people and goods on Ontario's highways. Investment strategies include a focus on improving trade corridors leading to key international border crossings and integrating highways with public transportation.

Activities include routine highway maintenance; winter snow and ice control; highway planning, engineering and detailed design; highway rehabilitation; new construction and construction administration.

The program also develops operational policies and guidelines, sets highway maintenance and construction standards, manages research and develops new technologies. In addition to the highway network, the program is responsible for remote airports in northern Ontario and ferry services in various locations across Ontario.

VOTE SUMMARY
($)
ITEM # ITEM

Supplementary
Estimates
2006-07

Estimates
2006-07

Estimates
2005-06

Actual
2004-05

  CAPITAL EXPENSE        
2 Engineering and Construction 28,433,000 111,770,000 564,810,900 248,563,194
  TOTAL CAPITAL EXPENSE TO BE VOTED 28,433,000 111,770,000 564,810,900 248,563,194
  Total Capital Expense 28,433,000 111,770,000 564,810,900 248,563,194



Standard Account by Item and Sub-items
($)
VOTE -ITEM
#
STANDARD ACCOUNT BY ITEM AND SUB-ITEMS      
  CAPITAL EXPENSE      
2704-2 Engineering and Construction      
  Transfer payments      
     Transition Fund   25,000,000  
     Millennium Partnership - Provincial   3,433,000 28,433,000
  Total Capital Expense to be Voted     28,433,000
  Total Capital Expense for Provincial Highways Management Program     28,433,000
  TOTAL CAPITAL EXPENSE FOR MINISTRY OF TRANSPORTATION     364,555,200

Supplémentaire Dépenses prévues : Ministère des Transports

Retour à la page d'accueil du Budget des dépenses
Retour au Sommaire Gènèral

PROGRAMME DES POLITIQUES, DE LA PLANIFICATION ET DES NORMES - CRÉDIT 2702

L'objectif premier du programme des politiques, de la planification et des normes est de planifier et de promouvoir un réseau de transport multimodal sûr, efficace et fiable, et notamment un réseau de transports en commun qui dessert des communautés dynamiques et crée un climat propice à une meilleure qualité de vie et aux affaires. Pour y parvenir, le programme fixe les orientations stratégiques du ministère en s'appuyant sur une planification à long terme intégrée et travaille à mettre en place le cadre stratégique et réglementaire nécessaire.

Le programme s'attache aussi à réduire les embouteillages en faisant la promotion des transports en commun; et en facilitant la circulation des personnes et des marchandises sur le réseau routier de la province et aux postes frontaliers. Il gère l'investissement du gouvernement au point de passage de Windsor, en planifiant notamment la construction d'un nouveau poste frontalier ou l'agrandissement du poste actuel d'ici 2013. Il dirige également, pour le compte du ministère, les négociations interprovinciales et bilatérales avec le gouvernement fédéral sur diverses questions liées aux transports, telles que la réalisation de plusieurs programmes d'investissement fédéraux.

SOMMAIRE - CRÉDIT
($)
POSTE No POSTE

Prévisions
supplémentaires
2006-2007

Prévisions
2006-2007

Prévisions
2005-2006

Dépenses réelles
2004-2005

  CHARGES D’IMMOBILISATIONS        
3 Transports urbains et régionaux 336 122 200 535 374 400 1 346 836 700 344 678 120
  TOTAL À VOTER - CHARGES D’IMMOBILISATIONS 336 122 200 535 374 400 1 346 836 700 344 678 120
  Total - Charges d’immobilisations 336 122 200 535 374 400 1 346 836 700 344 678 120



Catégorie de dépenses par poste et sous-postes
($)
CRÉDIT -POSTE
No
CATÉGORIE DE DÉPENSES PAR POSTE ET SOUS-POSTES      
  CHARGES D’IMMOBILISATIONS      
2702-3 Transports urbains et régionaux      
  Paiements de transfert      
     Transports en commun     336 122 200
  Total à voter - Charges d’immobilisations     336 122 200
  Total (Charges d’immobilisations) - Programme des politiques, de la planification et des normes     336 122 200

PROGRAMME DE GESTION DES ROUTES PROVINCIALES - CRÉDIT 2704

Ce programme supervise l'entretien et l'exploitation du réseau routier de la province; il investit stratégiquement dans l'infrastructure routière pour encourager le développement de communautés fortes et sûres en Ontario.

Ce programme gère les activités permettant de protéger les investissements publics dans l'infrastructure routière; et d'améliorer la circulation des personnes et des marchandises sur le réseau routier de l'Ontario. Les stratégies d'investissement visent notamment les couloirs commerciaux menant aux principaux postes frontaliers et l'intégration du réseau routier aux transports en commun.

Ses activités comprennent, notamment, l'entretien normal du réseau routier; l'entretien d'hiver (déneigement et déverglaçage); la planification du réseau routier; le génie et la conception détaillée; la réfection des routes; la construction et la gestion des chantiers de construction.

Le programme élabore aussi les politiques et directives opérationnelles; fixe les normes d'entretien et de construction des routes; gère les travaux de recherche et met au point de nouvelles technologies. En plus du réseau routier, le programme est responsable des services d'aéroport aménagés dans les régions éloignées du Nord de l'Ontario et des services de traversiers répartis dans l'ensemble de la province.

SOMMAIRE - CRÉDIT
($)
POSTE No POSTE

Prévisions
supplémentaires
2006-2007

Prévisions
2006-2007

Prévisions
2005-2006

Dépenses réelles
2004-2005

  CHARGES D’IMMOBILISATIONS        
2 Génie des transports et construction 28 433 000 111 770 000 564 810 900 248 563 194
  TOTAL À VOTER - CHARGES D’IMMOBILISATIONS 28 433 000 111 770 000 564 810 900 248 563 194
  Total - Charges d’immobilisations 28 433 000 111 770 000 564 810 900 248 563 194



Catégorie de dépenses par poste et sous-postes
($)
CRÉDIT -POSTE
No
CATÉGORIE DE DÉPENSES PAR POSTE ET SOUS-POSTES      
  CHARGES D’IMMOBILISATIONS      
2704-2 Génie des transports et construction      
  Paiements de transfert      
     Fonds de transition   25 000 000  
     Partenariats du millénaire - Contribution du gouvernement provincial   3 433 000 28 433 000
  Total à voter - Charges d’immobilisations     28 433 000
  Total (Charges d’immobilisations) - Programme de gestion des routes provinciales     28 433 000
  TOTAL (CHARGES D’IMMOBILISATIONS) - MINISTÈRE DES TRANSPORTS     364 555 200