Introduction

Back to table of contents

Expenditure Estimates of the Province of Ontario for the fiscal year ending March 31, 2007
VOLUME 1

Purpose of the Estimates

The 2006-07 Estimates set out details of the operating and capital spending requirements of Ministries for the fiscal year commencing April 1, 2006. The Estimates constitute the Government's formal request to the Legislature for approval of the amounts involved. All expenditures from the Consolidated Revenue Fund must be authorized by an appropriation, either through the Supply Act or other legislation.

The Estimates are required to be tabled no more than 12 sitting days after a Budget is presented. The Standing Committee on Estimates considers the Estimates of between 6 and 12 Ministries or offices. Once approved by the Legislature in the Supply Act, the Estimates become the legal spending authority for each Ministry.

The Votes and Items contained in the Estimates provide a framework for legislative control of public spending, which must be consistent with the purpose of each Vote and Item and cannot exceed Voted totals without legislative authority.

Format of the Estimates

The Expenditure Estimates of the Province of Ontario is comprised of two or more separate volumes/publications:

  • Volume 1: Volume 1 is the Main Estimates, which detail the spending plans of each Ministry for the fiscal year.

  • Volume 2: Volume 2 of the Estimates sets out the spending plans of the Board of Internal Economy offices, i.e., Office of the Assembly, Office of the Chief Election Officer, Ombudsman Ontario, and Office of the Auditor General.

  • Supplementary Estimates: Where it is necessary to seek the Legislature's approval for additional expenditures after the tabling of the Main Estimates, Supplementary Estimates may be tabled.

The Estimates for each Ministry or office are categorized as Operating Expense, Operating Assets, Capital Expense and Capital Assets. The spending plans within these categories are further classified as Votes, Items, Standard Accounts and Statutory Appropriations.

The Votes are major programs which Ministries are responsible for delivering and each are identified by a unique Vote number within the Estimates. Votes in turn are sub-divided into Items in order to distinguish between their different functions or services. This Vote/Item structure permits the Legislature to be more specific in appropriating funds to particular services. Items may be further sub-divided into sub-items, which can provide additional information on the Program/Function, if necessary.

In the Estimates, Statutory Appropriations are added to the amounts to be Voted to produce the Total Estimates for each Ministry. Statutory Appropriations represent payments pursuant to a specific legislative authority and are not included in the Supply Act.

Within each Item and Statutory Appropriation, expenditures are detailed by standard account, i.e., Salaries and Wages, Employee Benefits, Transportation and Communication, Services, Transfer Payments, etc. (see Terms and Definitions Used).

Each Ministries' detailed section of the Estimates begins with a "Ministry Program Summary" table providing a high-level perspective of each Ministries' planned spending, listing all Votes/Programs showing total amounts to be Voted, then adding Statutory Appropriations and consolidations and other adjustments. Following the "Ministry Program Summary" is a Vote Summary table for each Vote, listing each Item and Statutory Appropriation details within that Vote. Subsequent to the Vote-Item listing is a breakdown of each Vote-Item and Statutory Appropriation by standard account.

For comparative purposes, Estimates and Actual amounts for prior years are provided on "Ministry Program Summary" and Vote Summary pages. These amounts are restated to provide comparability where functional reorganizations and transfers, Supplementary Estimates or accounting changes have occurred. Restatement of previously published data is shown in a separate table following each Ministry's section in the Estimates.

Consolidation adjustments are provided on each "Ministry Program Summary" page, where applicable. The adjustments reconcile the spending requests of Ministries as set out in the Estimates to the annual Budget, which is prepared on a consolidated basis. A final total of Operating and Capital Expenses plus Statutory Appropriations and consolidations and other adjustments completes the picture of total Ministry spending (not including Assets).

Following the Ministry sections are 12 summary tables listing operating, capital, and total operating and capital Estimates totals for all Ministries.

Estimates Accounting Policies

Since 2003-04, the Estimates have been prepared on the accrual basis of accounting.

As noted above, the Budget is prepared on a consolidated basis and the Estimates are adjusted to reconcile with the Budget totals for each Ministry. Consolidation combines the Items of Ministries with those of other government organizations, i.e., agencies, boards and commissions.

Presentation Changes

This year the layout and cover of the Estimates have been modernized. Changes to the layout include: an expanded Introduction, clearer labelling of tables, and an easier-to-read format for Ministry sections. In addition, by visually linking the cover of the Estimates to the cover of the Budget, the connection between the documents as elements of the same process and continuum of financial reporting becomes more evident.

The overall content and underlying structure of the Estimates is unchanged. Some information has been reordered to improve the flow of information from Amounts to be Voted to the final Budget totals. The Vote lines in the "Ministry Program Summary" tables no longer include Statutory Appropriation amounts in order to be consistent with the Estimates' purpose as support to the Supply Act, which grants legal spending authority by a Vote on spending as set out in the Votes and Items in the Estimates. Statutory amounts have been moved to a total line following the amounts to be Voted. Full statutory amount details continue to be available on all Vote Summary pages.

During 2005-06, two new Ministries were created: Ministry of Health Promotion and Ministry of Research and Innovation.

Terms and Definitions Used

Special Warrants
Special Warrants are issued to authorize payments for the purpose of general and necessary government expenditures when the Legislature is not in session. When Special Warrants are used, the amounts provided by Special Warrants are not included in the total for each program amount to be Voted.

Cost Recovery Items
In cases where the anticipated recovery of costs of an Item is equal to or greater than the expenditures, the balance of the Item is shown at the nominal value of $1,000.

Standard Accounts
Spending is forecast for the fiscal year 2006-07 under Standard Accounts at the Item level. The descriptions of the contents of the Standard Accounts given below are intended to serve as brief outlines only and should not be considered all inclusive.

  • Salaries and Wages
    Includes salaries and wages, overtime and other remuneration paid to regular, probationary, unclassified and other staff; temporary help costs; indemnities and allowances paid to Members of the Legislative Assembly; and special allowances paid to employees.

  • Employee Benefits
    Includes the government's contribution as an employer to the Canada Pension Plan; the Ontario Public Service Employees' Union Pension Plan; the Public Service Pension Plan; Employment Insurance; the Workplace Safety and Insurance Board; and other employee benefit plans.

  • Transportation and Communication
    Includes traveling expenses of employees on government business and recipients of government services, such as wards of the province; relocation expenses of employees who transferred or recruited; expenses of moving office furniture and equipment; costs of transportation of goods other than for initial delivery; mailing costs, such as postage and registration; and communication costs, such as telephone and data communications.

  • Services
    Includes information services, such as, advertising and communication services provided by professional agencies and advertising placed directly with the media; rental and purchased repair and maintenance of machinery, equipment, buildings, land and engineering structures; data processing services; insurance premiums; and other professional and special services.

  • Supplies and Equipment
    Includes provision for the purchase of all machinery and equipment including motor vehicles and computers, both new and used; and the purchase of all materials, supplies and utilities

  • Transfer Payments
    Includes grants, subsidies, assistance to persons; the business sector; non-commercial institutions; and other government bodies.

  • Other Transactions
    Includes special transactions, such as interest incentives and subsidies; guarantees honoured; losses on loans; and repayable grants

Assets are balance sheet accounts which require an appropriation in the Estimates. Asset categories include the following:

  • Deposits and Prepaid Expenses
    Includes payments in advance of receiving related goods or services or in advance of being earned by transfer payment recipients, and which will be recorded in a non-asset standard account in a future fiscal year.

  • Advances and Recoverable Amounts
    Includes payments to transfer payment recipients that will be repaid to the Province in a future fiscal year.

  • Loans and Investments
    Includes payments to debtors under loan agreements and investments in the shares of Crown corporations or other entities.

  • Tangible Capital Assets
    Includes acquisition and construction of buildings and roads; and the acquisition of land.

Statutory Appropriations
Statutory Appropriations represent payments pursuant to a specific legislative authority and are not included in the Supply Act. Statutory Appropriations are included in the Estimates for information purposes and are not Voted by the Legislature. Amounts required for Statutory Appropriations are shown, where applicable, as separate entries under the Standard Accounts Classifications details relating to each Item.

Sources of Additional Information

Public Accounts
Comprised of 3 volumes containing the Consolidated Revenue Fund schedules, ministry statements showing actual expenses, financial statements of significant provincial crown corporations, boards and commissions, and detailed schedules of payments made from the Consolidated Revenue Fund by Ministries to vendors and transfer payment recipients. http://www.fin.gov.on.ca/en/budget/paccts/2005/index.html

Results-based Plan Briefing Books
Published annually by each Ministry, following the Ontario Budget and publication of the Estimates. The Plans highlight what each Ministry has done over the previous year, what is planned for the coming year, what targets have been set and how results will be measured. The Standing Committee on Estimates uses the Results-based Plan Briefing Books when they ask Ministries to defend their Estimates.

Ontario Budget
The Ontario Government presents a Budget each year, usually in the early Spring. This document outlines expected expense and revenue for the upcoming fiscal year. http://www.fin.gov.on.ca/en/bud.html

Introduction

Retour à la page d'accueil du Budget des dépenses
Retour à la table des matières

Budget des dépenses de la province de l'Ontario pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2007
VOLUME 1

Objet du Budget des dépenses

Le Budget des dépenses 2006-2007présente les prévisions de dépenses (fonctionnement et immobilisations) des ministères pour l'exercice commençant le 1er avril 2006. En déposant ce document, le gouvernement demande officiellement à l'Assemblée législative d'autoriser les montants demandés. Toutes les dépenses du Trésor doivent être autorisées par voie de crédit soit par la Loi de crédits, soit par une autre loi.

Le Budget des dépenses doit être déposé au plus tard douze (12) jours de séance après le dépôt du Budget de l'Ontario. Le Comité permanent des budgets des dépenses examine les budgets des dépenses de six (6) à douze (12) ministères ou bureaux. Une fois approuvé par l'Assemblée législative dans la Loi de crédits, le Budget des dépenses confère à chaque ministère l'autorisation d'engager les dépenses prévues.

Les crédits et postes figurant dans le Budget des dépenses fournissent à l'Assemblée législative le cadre nécessaire au contrôle les dépenses publiques. Ces dépenses doivent être compatibles avec l'objet de chaque crédit et poste et ne peuvent dépasser les totaux votés sans l'autorisation de l'Assemblée législative.

Format du Budget des dépenses

Le Budget des dépenses de la province of Ontario est formé de deux ou plusieurs volumes/publications distincts :

  • Volume 1 : Le Volume 1 est le Budget principal des dépenses; il donne le détail des prévisions de dépenses de chaque ministère pour l'exercice.

  • Volume 2 : Le Volume 2 du Budget des dépenses décrit les prévisions de dépenses des bureaux de la Commission de régie interne, c.-à-d., le Bureau de l'Assemblée législative, le Bureau du directeur général des élections, Ombudsman Ontario et le Bureau du vérificateur général.

  • Budget supplémentaire des dépenses : Lorsque le gouvernement doit obtenir l'autorisation de l'Assemblée législative pour engager des dépenses supplémentaires une fois le Budget principal des dépenses déposé, il présente un Budget supplémentaire des dépenses.

Le Budget des dépenses de chaque ministère ou bureau est réparti en plusieurs catégories : Charges de fonctionnement, Actif de fonctionnement, Charges d'immobilisations et Actif d'immobilisations. Les plans de dépenses figurant dans ces catégories sont à leur tour classifiés en Crédits, Postes, Catégories de dépenses et Crédits législatifs.

Les crédits correspondent aux programmes importants dont les ministères ont la responsabilité et chacun porte un numéro distinct dans le Budget des dépenses. Les crédits sont subdivisés en postes pour distinguer les différentes fonctions les unes des autres. Cette structure crédits/postes permet à l'Assemblée législative d'être plus précise lorsqu'elle affecte des fonds à certains services. Si nécessaire, les postes peuvent être répartis en sous-postes pour apporter un complément d'information sur le programme/la fonction.

Dans le Budget des dépenses, les crédits législatifs sont ajoutés aux montants à voter pour obtenir le budget total des dépenses de chaque ministère. Les crédits législatifs sont des paiements autorisés par un texte législatif et ne sont pas prévus dans la Loi sur les crédits.

À l'intérieur de chacun des postes et crédits législatifs, les dépenses sont présentées par catégorie : Traitements et salaires, Avantages sociaux, Transports et communications, Services, Paiements de transfert, etc. (voir la rubrique Termes et définitions utilisés).

La section détaillée du Budget des dépenses consacrée à chaque ministère commence par un tableau intitulé « Sommaire - Programme du ministère » qui donne un aperçu des prévisions de dépenses du ministère, énumère tous les crédits/programmes et le total à voter, ainsi que les crédits législatifs, le redressement de consolidation et autres redressements. Le « Sommaire - Programme du ministère » est suivi d'un tableau intitulé « Sommaire - Crédit » qui présente chaque crédit et énumère chaque poste et crédit législatif à l'Intérieur de ce crédit. La liste des crédits-postes est suivie à son tour d'une ventilation de chaque crédit-poste et crédit législatif par catégorie de dépenses.

Les prévisions de dépenses et les chiffres réels des exercices précédents sont fournis, aux fins de comparaison, dans les pages « Sommaire - Programme du ministère » et « Sommaire - Crédit ». Ces montants ont été retraités pour faciliter la comparaison lorsqu'il y a eu des réorganisations et des transferts fonctionnels, le dépôt d'un Budget supplémentaire des dépenses ou des modifications comptables. Les données publiées antérieurement qui ont subi un retraitement sont présentées dans un tableau distinct à la fin de la rubrique consacrée à chaque ministère.

Les redressements de consolidation sont fournis à la page « Sommaire - Programme du ministère», lorsqu'il y a lieu. Ces redressements correspondent aux demandes de crédits des ministères figurant dans le Budget annuel de l'Ontario, qui est préparé sur une base consolidée. Le total définitif, qui comprend les charges de fonctionnement, les charges d'immobilisations, les crédits législatifs, le redressement de consolidation et autres redressements, résume les dépenses totales du ministère (actif non compris).

Les rubriques consacrées aux ministères sont suivies de douze (12) tableaux sommaires présentant les totaux de tous les ministères dans les catégories suivantes : fonctionnement, immobilisations, et total du fonctionnement et des immobilisations.

Conventions comptables régissant le Budget des dépenses

Depuis l'exercice 2003-2004, le Budget des dépenses est préparé selon la méthode de la comptabilité d'exercice.

Tel qu'indiqué plus tôt, le Budget de l'Ontario est préparé sur une base consolidée et le Budget des dépenses est redressé pour faciliter le rapprochement avec les totaux de chaque ministère présentés dans le Budget de l'Ontario. La consolidation consiste à regrouper les postes des ministères et ceux d'autres organisations gouvernementales, c.-à-d. organismes, conseils et commissions.

Changements de présentation

Cette année, la présentation et la couverture du Budget des dépenses ont été modernisées. Voici certains des changements qui ont été apportés : l'introduction est plus longue, les tableaux sont plus clairs, les rubriques consacrées à chaque ministère plus faciles à lire. De plus, en adoptant la même présentation visuelle pour la page de couverture du Budget des dépenses que pour celle du Budget de l'Ontario, on montre clairement que ces deux documents sont les volets d'un même processus et continuum de rapport financier.

Le contenu général et la structure sous-jacente du Budget des dépenses restent inchangés. Certains renseignements ont été réorganisés pour améliorer le flot d'information allant des totaux à voter aux totaux définitifs du Budget. On a retiré les crédits législatifs de la rubrique crédits des tableaux « Sommaire - Programme du ministère » par souci de conformité avec la Loi de crédits, qui autorise les ministères à engager des dépenses par voie de crédit tel qu'indiqué dans les crédits et postes du Budget des dépenses. Les crédits législatifs figurent maintenant à la ligne qui suit le Total à voter. Le détail complet des crédits législatifs continue de figurer aux pages « Sommaire - Crédit ».

Pendant l'exercice 2005-2006, deux nouveaux ministères ont été créés : le ministère de la Promotion de la santé et le ministère de la Recherche et de l'Innovation.

Termes et définitions utilisés

Mandats spéciaux
On délivre des mandats spéciaux pour autoriser le paiement de dépenses gouvernementales générales et nécessaires lorsque l'Assemblée législative n'est pas en session. Les montants accordés par mandats spéciaux ne sont pas compris dans le total à voter de chaque programme.

Recouvrement des coûts
Lorsqu'on s'attend à ce que le recouvrement des coûts d'un poste soit égal ou supérieur aux dépenses, le solde est indiqué par un montant nominal de 1 000 $.

Catégories de dépenses
Les prévisions des dépenses pour l'exercice 2006-2007 sont présentées par poste dans la rubrique Catégories de dépenses. Les descriptions des catégories de dépenses qui suivent sont fournies à titre indicatif et ne sont pas exhaustives.

  • Traitements et salaires
    Cette catégorie comprend les traitements et salaires, les heures supplémentaires et autres montants versés au personnel permanent, stagiaire, non classifié et autre à titre de rémunération; les frais de personnel temporaire; les indemnités versées aux députés de l'Assemblée législative; et les indemnités spéciales versées aux employés.

  • Avantages sociaux
    Cette catégorie comprend les cotisations versées par le gouvernement, à titre d'employeur, au Régime de pensions du Canada, au Régime de retraite du Syndicat des employés de la fonction publique de l'Ontario, au Régime de retraite des fonctionnaires, à l'assurance-emploi; à la Commission de la sécurité professionnelle et de l'assurance contre les accidents du travail, et à divers autres régimes d'avantages sociaux des employés.

  • Transports et communications
    Cette catégorie comprend les frais de déplacement des fonctionnaires en service commandé et des bénéficiaires de prestations gouvernementales, tels que les pupilles de la province; les coûts de réinstallation d'employés mutés ou recrutés; les frais de déménagement de mobilier et de matériel de bureau; les coûts de transport de marchandises, autres que pour la livraison initiale; les frais d'acheminement du courrier (affranchissement et courrier recommandé, p. ex.); et les frais de communication (téléphone et transmission de données, p. ex.).

  • Services
    Cette catégorie comprend, notamment, les services suivants : publicité et communications assurées par des agences privées et campagnes publicitaires confiées directement aux médias; location et achat de services indépendants de réparation et d'entretien des machines, du matériel, des bâtiments, des terrains et des infrastructures; services de traitement des données; primes d'assurances; et autres services professionnels et spéciaux.

  • Fournitures et matériel
    Cette catégorie comprend l'achat de toutes les machines et de tout le matériel (véhicules automobiles et ordinateurs compris), neufs et d'occasion; et l'achat de tous les matériaux, toutes les fournitures et tous les services publics nécessaires.

  • Paiements de transfert
    Cette catégorie comprend les subventions, subsides et aides versées à des particuliers, des entreprises, des organismes à but non lucratif et d'autres organismes gouvernementaux.

  • Autres opérations
    Cette catégorie comprend certaines opérations particulières, telles que bonifications d'intérêts et subsides, garanties honorées, pertes sur prêts et subventions remboursables.

L'actif correspond aux comptes de bilan qui doivent faire l'objet d'un crédit dans le Budget des dépenses. Il existe plusieurs catégories d'actif :

  • Dépôts et charges payées d'avance
    Cette catégorie comprend les paiements versés avant d'avoir reçu les produits ou services achetés, ou versés d'avance à des bénéficiaires de paiements de transfert; ces paiements seront inscrits dans une catégorie de dépenses ne faisant pas partie de l'actif au cours d'un prochain exercice.

  • Avances et montants récupérables
    Cette catégorie comprend les montants versés à des bénéficiaires de paiements de transfert qui seront remboursés à la province au cours d'un prochain exercice.

  • Prêts et investissements
    Cette catégorie comprend les paiements versés à des débiteurs en vertu de contrats de prêt et d'investissements dans les actions de sociétés de la Couronne ou d'autres entités comptables.

  • Immobilisations matérielles
    Cette catégorie comprend l'acquisition et la construction de bâtiments et d'ouvrages et l'achat de terrains.

Crédits législatifs
Les crédits législatifs correspondent aux paiements autorisés par un texte législatif et ne sont pas prévus dans la Loi sur les crédits. Les crédits législatifs figurent dans le Budget des dépenses aux fins d'information et ne sont pas votés par l'Assemblée législative. Les montants requis pour les crédits législatifs sont inscrits séparément, s'il y a lieu, dans la rubrique Classification par catégorie de dépenses associée à chaque poste.

Sources de renseignements complémentaires

Comptes publics
Les Comptes publics comportent trois (3) volumes contenant les annexes pertinentes au Trésor, les états des ministères présentant leurs charges réelles, les états financiers des principaux conseils, commissions et sociétés de la Couronne, et des renseignements détaillés sur les paiements versés, à partir du Trésor, par les ministères aux vendeurs et aux bénéficiaires de paiements de transfert. http://www.fin.gov.on.ca/fr/budget/paccts/2005/index.html

Document d'information sur le budget des dépenses et la planification axée sur les résultats
Les ministères publient chaque année ce document après le dépôt du Budget de l'Ontario et la publication du Budget des dépenses. Le document décrit les réalisations du ministère au cours du dernier exercice, ce qu'il envisage de faire pour l'exercice à venir, les objectifs qu'il s'est fixés et la façon dont il compte mesurer les résultats. Le Comité permanent des budgets des dépenses se sert de ces documents pour demander aux ministères de justifier leur budget.

Budget de l'Ontario
Le gouvernement de l'Ontario présente un budget chaque année, habituellement au début du printemps. Ce document renferme les prévisions de revenus et de charges pour l'exercice à venir. ontario.ca/budgetfr.