ROAD USER SAFETY PROGRAM - VOTE 2703

Back to the Ministry of Transportation Summary page

ROAD USER SAFETY PROGRAM - VOTE 2703

The Road User Safety Program develops ministry strategies to improve road safety and mobility through education, enforcement and regulation of safe driving behaviour, promotion of vehicle and motor carrier safety and customer service. The program works with many partners including police, community groups, safety organizations and the private sector to reduce fatalities and injuries on our roads.

The key responsibilities of the program are to: set safety standards and develop policies, programs and regulations for road users, carriers and vehicles; inspect, monitor and enforce compliance with those standards; manage and deliver commercial vehicle International Registration Plan; oversee the delivery of driver and vehicle licensing and registration by service delivery partners including ServiceOntario; manage contracts and ongoing relationships with service providers; and work with partners to educate road users about safe driving behaviour and road user safety policies, laws and programs. Developments in other jurisdictions and traffic safety research are monitored so that road safety initiatives are effective in maintaining Ontario's leading position as one of the safest jurisdictions in North America.

The program leads and actively participates with other jurisdictions in Canada and the U.S. in developing and promoting road safety programs and best practices. The program also sets customer service standards and monitors service delivery, including the electronic delivery of government products and services. It also facilitates the delivery of programs for other ministries, for example Drive Clean (Ministry of the Environment) and Family Support Payments (Ministry of Community and Social Services).

The Ministry of Transportation collects information from individuals under the authority of the Highway Traffic Act. The ministry maintains stewardship of this information and protects individuals' privacy in keeping with the Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act.

VOTE SUMMARY
($)
ITEM # ITEM

Estimates
2008-09

Estimates
2007-08

Difference
Between
2008-09
and
2007-08

Actual
2006-07

  OPERATING EXPENSE        
1 Road User Safety 105,881,400 82,432,100 23,449,300 94,874,542
  Total Including Special Warrants 105,881,400 82,432,100 23,449,300 94,874,542
Less: Special Warrants - 22,800,000 (22,800,000) -
  TOTAL OPERATING EXPENSE TO BE VOTED 105,881,400 59,632,100 46,249,300 94,874,542
Special Warrants - 22,800,000 (22,800,000) -
Statutory Bad Debt Expense, the Financial Administration Act 300,000 300,000 - 1,500,000
  Total Statutory Appropriations 300,000 300,000 - 1,500,000
  Total Operating Expense 106,181,400 82,732,100 23,449,300 96,374,542
  OPERATING ASSETS        
2 Road User Safety 1,000 1,000 - -
  TOTAL OPERATING ASSETS TO BE VOTED 1,000 1,000 - -
  Total Operating Assets 1,000 1,000 - -



Standard Account by Item and Sub-items
($)
VOTE -ITEM
#
STANDARD ACCOUNT BY ITEM AND SUB-ITEMS      
  OPERATING EXPENSE      
2703-1 Road User Safety      
  Salaries and wages     60,802,500
  Employee benefits     8,666,500
  Transportation and communication     6,414,500
  Services     37,312,600
  Supplies and equipment     4,861,400
  Transfer payments      
     Community Safety Grants     200,000
  Subtotal     118,257,500
  Less: Recoveries     12,376,100
  Total Operating Expense to be Voted     105,881,400
  Statutory Appropriations      
  Other transactions      
Statutory    Bad Debt Expense, the Financial Administration Act     300,000
  Total Operating Expense for Road User Safety Program     106,181,400
  OPERATING ASSETS      
2703-2 Road User Safety      
  Deposits and prepaid expenses     1,000
  Total Operating Assets to be Voted     1,000
  Total Operating Assets for Road User Safety Program     1,000

PROGRAMME DE LA SéCURITé DES USAGERS DE LA ROUTE - CRÉDIT 2703

Retour au Ministère des Transports sommaire

PROGRAMME DE LA SéCURITé DES USAGERS DE LA ROUTE - CRÉDIT 2703

Le Programme de la sécurité des usagers de la route élabore des stratégies ministérielles destinées à améliorer la sécurité routière et la circulation en encourageant la prudence au volant par l'éducation, l'observation de la loi et la réglementation de la conduite, en faisant la promotion de la sécurité des véhicules et des transporteurs et en assurant le service à la clientèle. Le programme travaille avec de nombreux partenaires (police, groupes communautaires, organisations de prévention des accidents, secteur privé, etc.) pour réduire le nombre d'accidents mortels et de blessures sur les routes de l'Ontario.

Les principales responsabilités du programme sont les suivantes : établir les normes de sécurité et élaborer les politiques, programmes et règlements visant les usagers de la route, les transporteurs et les véhicules; inspecter, surveiller et faire appliquer ces normes; gérer et exécuter le Plan d'immatriculation international applicable aux véhicules commerciaux; encadrer la délivrance des permis et l'immatriculation des véhicules par les partenaires chargés de la prestation des services, comme ServiceOntario; gérer les contrats et les relations courantes avec les fournisseurs de services; travailler avec des partenaires pour sensibiliser les usagers de la route à la conduite sécuritaire et aux politiques, lois et programmes régissant la sécurité routière. Le programme suit ce qui se passe dans les autres administrations et les travaux de recherche en sécurité routière afin que les initiatives mises en place en Ontario permettent à la province de rester l'un des territoires de compétence les plus sūrs d'Amérique du Nord.

Le programme dirige des efforts - auxquels il participe activement - menés avec d'autres administrations au Canada et aux états-Unis pour élaborer et promouvoir des programmes de sécurité routière et des pratiques exemplaires. Il fixe également des normes de service à la clientèle et surveille la prestation des services, notamment la prestation électronique des produits et services du gouvernement. Il facilite l'exécution de programmes d'autres ministères, p. ex., Air pur (ministère de l'Environnement) ou le Programme d'aide à la famille (ministère des Services sociaux et communautaires).

Le ministère des Transports recueille des données auprès des particuliers en vertu du Code de la route. Il assure la garde de cette information et protège la confidentialité des renseignements personnels conformément à la Loi sur l'accès à l'information et la protection de la vie privée.

SOMMAIRE - CRÉDIT
($)
POSTE No POSTE

Prévisions
2008-2009

Prévisions
2007-2008

Différence
entre
2008-2009
et
2007-2008

Dépenses réelles
2006-2007

  CHARGES DE FONCTIONNEMENT        
1 Sécurité des usagers de la route 105 881 400 82 432 100 23 449 300 94 874 542
  Total, y compris mandats spéciaux 105 881 400 82 432 100 23 449 300 94 874 542
Moins : Mandats spéciaux - 22 800 000 (22 800 000) -
  TOTAL À VOTER - CHARGES DE FONCTIONNEMENT 105 881 400 59 632 100 46 249 300 94 874 542
Mandats spéciaux - 22 800 000 (22 800 000) -
Crédits législatifs Créances irrécouvrables, Loi sur l'administration financière 300 000 300 000 - 1 500 000
  Total - Crédits législatifs 300 000 300 000 - 1 500 000
  Total - Charges de fonctionnement 106 181 400 82 732 100 23 449 300 96 374 542
  ACTIF DE FONCTIONNEMENT        
2 Sécurité des usagers de la route 1 000 1 000 - -
  TOTAL À VOTER - ACTIF DE FONCTIONNEMENT 1 000 1 000 - -
  Total - Actif de fonctionnement 1 000 1 000 - -



Catégorie de dépenses par poste et sous-postes
($)
CRÉDIT -POSTE
No
CATÉGORIE DE DÉPENSES PAR POSTE ET SOUS-POSTES      
  CHARGES DE FONCTIONNEMENT      
2703-1 Sécurité des usagers de la route      
  Traitements et salaires     60 802 500
  Avantages sociaux     8 666 500
  Transports et communications     6 414 500
  Services     37 312 600
  Fournitures et matériel     4 861 400
  Paiements de transfert      
     Subventions pour la sécurité publique     200 000
  Total partiel     118 257 500
  Moins : Recouvrements     12 376 100
  Total à voter - Charges de fonctionnement     105 881 400
  Crédits législatifs      
  Autres opérations      
Crédits législatifs    Créances irrécouvrables, Loi sur l'administration financière     300 000
  Total (Charges de fonctionnement) - Programme de la sécurité des usagers de la route     106 181 400
  ACTIF DE FONCTIONNEMENT      
2703-2 Sécurité des usagers de la route      
  Dépôts et charges payées d'avance     1 000
  Total à voter - Actif de fonctionnement     1 000
  Total (Actif de fonctionnement) - Programme de la sécurité des usagers de la route     1 000