Back to the Ombudsman Ontario Summary page

OMBUDSMAN ONTARIO PROGRAM - VOTE 2301

The Ombudsman is an Officer of the Legislature who submits his reports directly to the Legislative Assembly. The Ombudsman's mandate is set out in the Ombudsman Act. The Ombudsman publishes an Annual Report as required by the Act, as well as special reports throughout the year on systemic investigations conducted by the Special Ombudsman Response Team.

The Ombudsman investigates complaints about the administration of Ontario's provincial governmental organizations and makes recommendations to improve government policy, programs and services. The Ombudsman can investigate both individual and systemic complaints brought forward by members of the public, Members of Provincial Parliament, and on his own initiative. The Ombudsman services are free of charge.

During the 2011/2012 fiscal year, the Ombudsman's Office experienced a 27% increase in its caseload, receiving over 18,500 complaints. We are on track to exceed this number for the 2012/2013 fiscal year. The Ombudsman's Office maintains a complement of 86 FTE's, 63 of which are members of the Canadian Office and Professional Employees union (COPE). The Office's current collective agreement expires March 31, 2013.

The Ombudsman also investigates citizens' complaints about closed municipal meetings pursuant to the Municipal Act, where no municipal investigator is in place. This additional jurisdiction was received in 2008 and was implemented using existing resources and with no resulting increase in the operating budget of the office. The Ombudsman also publishes an Annual Report on the Closed Meetings investigations conducted by his office, as well as special reports on individual investigations.

The Office of the Ombudsman maintains a high social media presence and individuals may contact the Office to lodge a complaint in person, in writing, via toll-free telephone, email, internet or using a mobile web application. The Office provides extensive information about its operations and specific investigations in both English and French, on its website at www.ombudsman.on.ca.

VOTE SUMMARY
($)
ITEM # ITEM

Estimates
2012-13

Estimates
2011-12

Difference
Between
2012-13
and
2011-12

Actual
2010-11

  OPERATING EXPENSE        
1 The Ombudsman 11,159,300 10,782,400 376,900 10,183,818
  TOTAL OPERATING EXPENSE TO BE VOTED 11,159,300 10,782,400 376,900 10,183,818
  Total Operating Expense 11,159,300 10,782,400 376,900 10,183,818



Standard Account by Item and Sub-items
($)
VOTE -ITEM
#
STANDARD ACCOUNT BY ITEM AND SUB-ITEMS      
  OPERATING EXPENSE      
2301-1 The Ombudsman      
  Salaries and wages     7,271,700
  Employee benefits     1,672,500
  Transportation and communication     593,000
  Services     1,373,200
  Supplies and equipment     248,900
  Total Operating Expense to be Voted     11,159,300
  Total Operating Expense for Ombudsman Ontario Program     11,159,300

Retour au Ombudsman Ontario sommaire

L'ombudsman est un officier de l'Assemblée législative qui fait directement rapport à l'Assemblée. Son mandat est énoncé dans la Loi sur l'ombudsman. L'ombudsman publie le rapport annuel exigé par la Loi, ainsi que, tout au long de l'année, des rapports spéciaux sur des enquêtes systémiques menées par l'Équipe d'intervention spéciale de l'Ombudsman.

L'ombudsman enquête sur les plaintes concernant l'administration d'organismes gouvernementaux de la province de l'Ontario et fait des recommandations en vue d'améliorer les politiques, programmes et services gouvernementaux. L'ombudsman peut enquêter sur des plaintes individuelles et systémiques présentées par des membres du public, des députés ou de son propre chef. Les services de l'ombudsman sont gratuits.

Au cours de l'exercice 2011-2012, le Bureau de l'ombudsman a enregistré une hausse de 27 % du nombre de dossiers, avec plus de 18 500 plaintes reçues. Il semble bien que ce chiffre sera dépassé en 2012 2013. Le Bureau de l'ombudsman a un effectif de 86 ETP, dont 63 membres du Syndicat canadien des employées et employés professionnels et de bureau (SEPB). La convention collective actuelle du Bureau vient à expiration le 31 mars 2013.

L'ombudsman examine également les plaintes de citoyens concernant des réunions à huis clos en vertu de la Loi sur les municipalités, lorsqu'aucun enquêteur municipal n'est en poste. Cette compétence a été ajoutée en 2008 et mise en œuvre à partir des ressources existantes, sans hausse connexe du budget de fonctionnement du Bureau. L'ombudsman publie également un rapport annuel sur les enquêtes menées par son bureau concernant les réunions à huis clos, ainsi que des rapports spéciaux sur des enquêtes précises.

Le Bureau de l'ombudsman est très présent sur les médias sociaux. Les particuliers peuvent communiquer avec le Bureau pour déposer une plainte en personne, par écrit, en appelant une ligne sans frais, par courriel, par Internet ou au moyen d'une application Web pour mobiles. Le Bureau donne de nombreux renseignements concernant ses activités et certaines enquêtes, en français et en anglais, sur son site Web (www.ombudsman.on.ca).

SOMMAIRE - CRÉDIT
($)
POSTE No POSTE

Prévisions
2012-2013

Prévisions
2011-2012

Différence
entre
2012-2013
et
2011-2012

Dépenses réelles
2010-2011

  CHARGES DE FONCTIONNEMENT        
1 Ombudsman 11 159 300 10 782 400 376 900 10 183 818
  TOTAL À VOTER - CHARGES DE FONCTIONNEMENT 11 159 300 10 782 400 376 900 10 183 818
  Total - Charges de fonctionnement 11 159 300 10 782 400 376 900 10 183 818

Catégorie de dépenses par poste et sous-postes
($)
CRÉDIT -POSTE
No
CATÉGORIE DE DÉPENSES PAR POSTE ET SOUS-POSTES      
  CHARGES DE FONCTIONNEMENT      
2301-1 Ombudsman      
  Traitements et salaires     7 271 700
  Avantages sociaux     1 672 500
  Transports et communications     593 000
  Services     1 373 200
  Fournitures et matériel     248 900
  Total à voter - Charges de fonctionnement     11 159 300
  Total (Charges de fonctionnement) - Programme - Ombudsman Ontario     11 159 300