2010 Ontario Economic Outlook and Fiscal Review

Chapter 4: Borrowing and Debt Management

HIGHLIGHTS

  • The total funding requirement for 2010–11 has declined by $2 billion since the 2010 Ontario Budget, due to the $1 billion decline in the projected deficit and the $1 billion payment to the Province from the proposed Teranet agreement.
  • Interest on debt (IOD) expense, at $9,715 million, is $246 million less than forecast in the 2010 Budget. This reduction in IOD primarily reflects the impact of lower interest rates.
  • Total debt is projected to be $236.5 billion as at March 31, 2011.
  • Net debt is projected to be $219.5 billion as at March 31, 2011.

LONG-TERM PUBLIC BORROWING

The forecast long-term public borrowing requirement for 2010–11 is $38.7 billion. As at November 4, 2010, $27.4 billion, or 71 per cent, of the long-term borrowing requirement was completed. This figure includes Ontario Savings Bond sales of $1.1 billion.

The Province maintained a flexible approach to borrowing, monitoring both domestic and international capital markets for cost-effective borrowing opportunities. The 2010 Ontario Budget announced that the Province planned to borrow at least 50 per cent in the domestic market. Since then, the Province has been responsive to strong demand in Canada, allowing it to increase the proportion borrowed domestically compared to recent years.

The Province has extended the term of its debt in response to robust demand from investors for long-term Ontario debt denominated in Canadian dollars. This term extension reduces refinancing risks and will mitigate the impact on the Province’s interest on debt costs in the future when rates begin to return to historical norms.

About $16.4 billion, or 60 per cent, of borrowing has been completed in the domestic market so far in 2010–11, compared to 49 per cent for the entire 2009–10 fiscal year. Domestic borrowing has been completed through a number of instruments, including:

  • syndicated issues
  • floating rate notes
  • Ontario Savings Bonds.
Chart 1: Pie Chart: Borrowing — Domestic Market

About $11 billion, or 40 per cent, of borrowing has been completed in the international markets so far in 2010–11, compared to 51 per cent for the entire 2009–10 fiscal year. Bonds issued in foreign currencies include:

  • four Global bonds in U.S. dollars
  • Euro Medium-Term Notes (EMTNs) in Euros, Norwegian kroner, Swiss francs, Japanese yen and Hong Kong dollars
  • a Kangaroo bond in Australian dollars.
Chart 2: Pie Chart: Borrowing — International Markets


Table 1
2010–11 Borrowing Program: Province and Ontario Electricity Financial Corporation (OEFC)
($ Billions)
  Budget Plan Current Outlook In-Year Change
Deficit 19.7 18.7 (1.0)
Investment in Capital Assets 9.8 9.8
Non-Cash Adjustments (1.7) (2.7) (1.0)
Net Loans/Investments 1.9 1.9
Debt Maturities 15.6 15.6
Debt Redemptions 0.4 0.4
Total Funding Requirement 45.6 43.6 (2.0)
Canada Pension Plan Borrowing (0.8) (0.8)
Decrease/(Increase) in Short-Term Borrowing (1.6) (0.6) 1.0
Increase/(Decrease) in Cash and Cash Equivalents (3.5) (3.5)
Total Long-Term Public Borrowing 39.7 38.7 (1.0)
  • Note: Numbers may not add due to rounding.

The total funding requirement for 2010–11 has decreased by $2 billion since the 2010 Ontario Budget, due to the $1 billion decrease in the provincial deficit and the $1 billion payment to the Province from the proposed Teranet agreement.

The Province has chosen to reduce both short-term and long-term borrowing at this point. Depending on market conditions throughout the remainder of the year, the Province has the flexibility to adjust the mix between short-term and long-term borrowing to continue to match investor demand.

Interest on debt (IOD) expense, at $9,715 million, is $246 million less than forecast in the 2010 Budget. This reduction in IOD primarily reflects the impact of lower interest rates.

Table 2
Medium-Term Borrowing Outlook: Province and OEFC
($ Billions)
2010–11 2011–12 2012–13
Deficit 18.7 17.3 15.9
Investment in Capital Assets 9.8 10.6 10.4
Non-Cash Adjustments (2.7) (3.0) (2.8)
Net Loans/Investments 1.9 1.8 1.0
Debt Maturities 15.6 14.0 17.4
Debt Redemptions 0.4 0.4 0.5
Total Funding Requirement 43.6 41.1 42.3
Canada Pension Plan Borrowing (0.8) (1.1) (0.8)
Decrease/(Increase) in Short-Term Borrowing (0.6) (1.2) (1.2)
Increase/(Decrease) in Cash and Cash Equivalents (3.5) (0.1)
Total Long-Term Public Borrowing 38.7 38.8 40.2
  • Note: Numbers may not add due to rounding.

For fiscal years 2010–11 to 2012–13, the Province’s total funding requirement has decreased by a cumulative $1.9 billion from the forecast included in the 2010 Budget.

DEBT

Total debt, which represents all borrowing without offsetting financial assets, is projected to be $236.5 billion as at March 31, 2011, compared to $212.1 billion as at March 31, 2010.

Ontario’s net debt is the difference between total liabilities and total financial assets. Ontario’s net debt is projected to be $219.5 billion as at March 31, 2011, compared to $193.6 billion as at March 31, 2010.

TOTAL DEBT COMPOSITION

Total debt is composed of bonds issued in both the short- and long-term public capital markets and non-public debt.

Public debt totals $209 billion as at September 30, 2010, primarily consisting of bonds issued in the domestic and international long-term public markets in 11 currencies. Ontario also has $16.3 billion outstanding in non-public debt issued in Canadian dollars. Non-public debt consists of debt instruments issued to public-sector pension funds in Ontario and the Canada Pension Plan Investment Board (CPPIB). This debt is not marketable and cannot be traded.

Chart 3: Pie Chart: Total Debt Composition as at September 30, 2010

DEBT-TO-GDP RATIOS

The Province’s debt-to-GDP ratios are expected to increase due to the projected deficits. The ratios stabilize and begin to decline during the period of the recovery plan as the deficit is eliminated.

Chart 4: Line Graph: Net Debt-to-GDP


Chart 5: Line Graph: Accumulated Deficit-to-GDP

COST OF DEBT

The effective interest rate (on a weighted-average basis) on total debt was 4.63 per cent as at September 30, 2010 (March 31, 2010, 4.58 per cent).

Chart 6: Line Graph: Effective Interest Rate (Weighted Average) on Total Debt

RISK EXPOSURE

The Province limits itself to a maximum net interest rate resetting exposure of 35 per cent of debt issued for Provincial purposes and a maximum foreign exchange exposure of five per cent of debt issued for Provincial purposes. As at September 30, 2010, the net interest rate resetting exposure was 5.1 per cent and foreign exchange exposure was 1.1 per cent.

All exposures have remained well below policy limits in 2010–11.

Chart 7: Bar Graph: Net Interest Rate Resetting Exposure


Chart 8: Bar Graph: Foreign Exchange Exposure

Perspectives économiques et revue financière de l'Ontario de 2010

Chapitre 4 : Emprunts et gestion de la dette

POINTS SAILLANTS

  • Le total des besoins en matière de financement pour 2010-2011 a diminué de 2 milliards de dollars depuis la publication du budget de l’Ontario de 2010, en raison de la baisse de 1 milliard de dollars du déficit prévu et du paiement de 1 milliard de dollars à recevoir par la province dans le cadre de l’accord qu’elle propose de conclure avec Teranet.
  • Les frais d’intérêt sur la dette, qui se chiffrent à 9 715 millions de dollars, sont inférieurs de 246 millions de dollars aux prévisions du budget de 2010. Cette diminution résulte surtout de l’incidence des taux d’intérêt plus faibles que prévu.
  • La dette totale devrait s’élever à 236,5 milliards de dollars au 31 mars 2011.
  • La dette nette devrait se chiffrer à 219,5 milliards de dollars au 31 mars 2011.

EMPRUNTS À LONG TERME SUR LES MARCHÉS PUBLICS

Les besoins d’emprunt à long terme sur les marchés publics pour 2010‑2011 devraient se chiffrer à 38,7 milliards de dollars. Au 4 novembre 2010, la province avait mobilisé 27,4 milliards de dollars, soit 71 % de ses besoins d’emprunt à long terme. Ce montant englobe les ventes d’Obligations d’épargne de l’Ontario, qui se sont chiffrées à 1,1 milliard de dollars.

La province a continué à gérer son programme d’emprunts en ayant recours à des démarches souples et en surveillant les marchés financiers canadiens et internationaux afin de saisir des occasions de limiter les coûts d’emprunt. On a annoncé dans le budget de l’Ontario de 2010 que la province prévoyait effectuer au moins 50 % des emprunts sur le marché canadien. Depuis, en raison de la forte demande au Canada, la province a augmenté la proportion des emprunts contractés au pays comparativement à ce qui s’est fait au cours des dernières années.

La province a prolongé l’échéance de sa dette en raison de la forte demande de titres de créances de l’Ontario à long terme en dollars canadiens de la part des investisseurs. Elle réduit ainsi les risques de refinancement. Cela permettra aussi d’atténuer l’incidence sur les frais d’intérêt sur la dette de la province lorsque les taux commenceront à retourner à leurs valeurs historiques.

Environ 60 % des emprunts, soit quelque 16,4 milliards de dollars, ont été contractés sur le marché canadien jusqu’à présent en 2010-2011, comparativement à 49 % pour tout l’exercice 2009-2010. Ces emprunts ont été faits à l’aide d’un certain nombre d’instruments, dont les suivants :

  • des obligations consortiales
  • des obligations à taux variable
  • des Obligations d’épargne de l’Ontario.
Graphique 1 : Emprunts — Marché canadien

Environ 40 % des emprunts, soit quelque 11 milliards de dollars, ont été contractés sur les marchés internationaux jusqu’à présent en 2010-2011, comparativement à 51 % pour tout l’exercice 2009-2010. Les obligations émises en devises étrangères ont englobé les suivantes :

  • quatre obligations planétaires en dollars américains
  • des euro-billets à moyen terme en euros, en couronnes norvégiennes, en francs suisses, en yens japonais et en dollars de Hong Kong
  • une obligation en dollars australiens.
Graphique 2 : Emprunts — Marchés internationaux


Tableau 1
Programme d'emprunt de 2010-2011 : Province et Société financière de l'industrie de l'électricité de l'Ontario (SFIEO) (en milliards de dollars)
  Plan budgétaire Perspect. actuelles Variation en cours d'exercice
Déficit 19,7 18,7 (1,0)
Investissement dans des immobilisations corporelles 9,8 9,8
Redressements sans effet sur la trésorerie (1,7) (2,7) (1,0)
Prêts/Investissements nets 1,9 1,9
Dette arrivant à échéance 15,6 15,6
Rachats de titres de créances 0,4 0,4
Total des besoins en matière de financement 45,6 43,6 (2,0)
Emprunts auprès du Régime de pensions du Canada (0,8) (0,8)
Diminution/(Augmentation) des emprunts à court terme (1,6) (0,6) 1,0
Augmentation/(Diminution) de la trésorerie et des équivalents (3,5) (3,5)
Total des besoins d'emprunt à long terme sur les marchés publics 39,7 38,7 (1,0)
  • Nota : Les totaux peuvent ne pas correspondre à la somme des chiffres, qui ont été arrondis.

Le total des besoins en matière de financement pour 2010-2011 a diminué de 2 milliards de dollars depuis la publication du budget de l’Ontario de 2010, en raison de la baisse de 1 milliard de dollars du déficit prévu et du paiement de 1 milliard de dollars à recevoir par la province dans le cadre de l’accord qu’elle propose de conclure avec Teranet.

À ce moment-ci, la province a décidé de diminuer les emprunts tant à court terme qu’à long terme. Si la situation change plus tard dans l’année, la province a la souplesse nécessaire pour modifier la combinaison d’emprunts à court et à long terme en fonction de la demande des investisseurs.

Les frais d’intérêt sur la dette, qui se chiffrent à 9 715 millions de dollars, sont inférieurs de 246 millions de dollars aux prévisions du budget de 2010. Cette diminution résulte surtout de l’incidence des taux d’intérêt plus faibles que prévu.

Tableau 2
Perspectives du programme d'emprunt à moyen terme : Province et SFIEO (en milliards de dollars)
  2010-2011 2011-2012 2012-2013
Déficit 18,7 17,3 15,9
Investissement dans des immobilisations corporelles 9,8 10,6 10,4
Redressements sans effet sur la trésorerie (2,7) (3,0) (2,8)
Prêts/Investissements nets 1,9 1,8 1,0
Dette arrivant à échéance 15,6 14,0 17,4
Rachats de titres de créances 0,4 0,4 0,5
Total des besoins en matière de financement 43,6 41,1 42,3
Emprunts auprès du Régime de pensions du Canada (0,8) (1,1) (0,8)
Diminution/(Augmentation) des emprunts à court terme (0,6) (1,2) (1,2)
Augmentation/(Diminution) de la trésorerie et des équivalents (3,5) (0,1)
Total des besoins d'emprunt à long terme sur les marchés publics 38,7 38,8 40,2
  • Nota : Les totaux peuvent ne pas correspondre à la somme des chiffres, qui ont été arrondis.

Pour les exercices 2010-2011 à 2012-2013, le total des besoins en matière de financement de la province a diminué d’un montant cumulatif de 1,9 milliard de dollars par rapport aux prévisions du budget de 2010.

DETTE

La dette totale, qui représente tous les emprunts sans y inclure les actifs financiers, devrait s’élever à 236,5 milliards de dollars au 31 mars 2011, comparativement à 212,1 milliards de dollars au 31 mars 2010.

La dette nette de l’Ontario, qui équivaut à la différence entre le total des passifs et le total des actifs financiers, devrait atteindre 219,5 milliards de dollars au 31 mars 2011, par rapport à 193,6 milliards de dollars au 31 mars 2010.

COMPOSITION DE LA DETTE TOTALE

La dette totale est constituée d’obligations émises sur les marchés financiers publics à court et à long terme et d’une dette interne.

La dette contractée sur les marchés publics totalise 209 milliards de dollars au 30 septembre 2010 et consiste principalement en obligations émises en 11 devises sur les marchés publics canadiens et internationaux à long terme. L’Ontario a aussi une dette interne de 16,3 milliards de dollars contractée en dollars canadiens. Celle-ci est constituée de titres de créances qui sont détenus par des régimes de retraite du secteur public de l’Ontario et l’Office d’investissement du Régime de pensions du Canada. Cette dette contractée hors des marchés publics est non négociable.

Graphique 3 : Composition de la dette totale au 30 septembre 2010

RAPPORTS DETTE-PIB

On s’attend à ce que les rapports dette-PIB de la province augmentent en raison des déficits projetés. Les rapports se stabilisent et commencent à diminuer au cours de la période couverte par le plan de redressement lorsque le déficit est éliminé.

Graphique 4 : Rapport dette nette-PIB


Graphique 5 : Rapport déficit accumulé-PIB

COÛT DE LA DETTE

Au 30 septembre 2010, le taux d’intérêt effectif (selon une moyenne pondérée) sur la dette totale était de 4,63 % (4,58 % au 31 mars 2010).

Graphique 6 : Taux d’intérêt effectif (moyenne pondérée) de la dette totale

EXPOSITION AUX RISQUES

La province limite son exposition aux risques associés aux changements nets de taux d’intérêt à 35 % de la dette contractée pour les besoins de la province et son exposition aux risques de change, à 5 % de cette dette. Au 30 septembre 2010, l’exposition de la province aux risques associés aux changements nets de taux d’intérêt était de 5,1 %. Son exposition aux risques de change était de 1,1 %.

En 2010-2011, toutes les expositions sont restées nettement inférieures aux limites prévues dans la politique.

Graphique 7 : Exposition aux risques associés aux changements nets de taux d’intérêt


Graphique 8 : Exposition aux risques de change