2013 Ontario Economic Outlook and Fiscal Review

Chapter VII: Borrowing and Debt Management

Highlights

  • The total long-term public borrowing requirement over the 2013–16 period has been reduced by $0.5 billion compared to the 2013 Budget, primarily due to the lower deficit recorded in the 2012–2013 Public Accounts of Ontario.
  • The forecast for long-term public borrowing for 2013–14 remains at $33.4 billion, as forecast in the 2013 Budget.
  • The interest on debt (IOD) expense for 2013–14, forecast at $10,605 million, remains the same as in the 2013 Budget.
  • Net debt and accumulated deficit are forecast to be $0.7 billion and $1.1 billion respectively lower than projected in the 2013 Budget, primarily due to the lower deficit recorded in the 2012–2013 Public Accounts of Ontario.
  • Net debt is projected to be $272.1 billion as at March 31, 2014. Accumulated deficit is projected to be $178.9 billion as at March 31, 2014. The difference of $93.2 billion between net debt and accumulated deficit is due to net investments in capital assets.
  • The government will maintain a rigorous approach to control program spending to reduce Ontario’s net debt-to-GDP ratio to its pre-recession level of 27 per cent.
  • The government would make Ontario the first province in Canada to offer green bonds.

Long-Term Public Borrowing

The forecast long-term public borrowing requirement for 2013–14 remains at $33.4 billion, as forecast in the 2013 Budget. As at October 23, 2013, $21.9 billion, or 65 per cent, of this year’s long-term public borrowing requirement was completed. This figure includes Ontario Savings Bond sales of $0.4 billion.

The weighted-average term to maturity of long-term provincial debt issued so far in 2013–14 is 13.8 years, compared to 12.4 years for 2012–13 and 13.0 years for 2011–12. The term of debt may be extended or shortened depending on the future direction of interest rates and the term preference of investors. The interest on debt (IOD) expense for 2013–14, forecast at $10,605 million, remains the same as in the 2013 Budget.

Ontario has issued $17.5 billion in long-term debt in the Canadian dollar market so far this year, representing 80 per cent of total borrowing to date. The Province expects to end the year with at least 70 per cent of its borrowing in the Canadian market, as set out in the 2013 Budget.

Chart 7.1 2013–14 Borrowing

Canadian dollar borrowing has been completed through:

  • syndicated issues;
  • floating rate notes;
  • medium-term notes; and
  • Ontario Savings Bonds.

The U.S. dollar market has remained an important source of funding for Ontario this year. About $4.4 billion, or 20 per cent, of borrowing has been completed through global bonds in U.S. dollars.

TABLE 7.1 2013–14 Borrowing Plan
($ Billions)
  Budget
Plan
Current
Outlook
In-Year
Change
Deficit 11.7 11.7
Investment in Capital Assets 11.1 11.2 0.1
Non-Cash Adjustments (3.9) (3.9)
Net Loans/Investments 1.6 1.6
Debt Maturities 23.7 23.6 (0.1)
Debt Redemptions 0.3 0.3
Total Funding Requirement 44.5 44.5
Decrease/(Increase) in Short-Term Borrowing (1.5) (1.5)
Increase/(Decrease) in Cash, Cash Equivalents and Temporary Investments (5.8) (5.8)
Maturity of Debt Buybacks (3.7) (3.7)
Total Long-Term Public Borrowing Requirement 33.4 33.4
Note: Numbers may not add due to rounding.

Long-term public borrowing in 2013–14 will remain at $33.4 billion as forecast in the 2013 Budget.

Over the summer and early fall, long-term interest rates rose above those forecast in the 2013 Budget. If interest rates resume their rise during the remainder of 2013–14, there could be potential upward pressure on IOD costs depending on the term of debt issued.

The credit ratings of debt issued in the capital markets affect the cost of borrowing. The government will maintain a rigorous approach to control program spending to reduce Ontario’s net debt-to-GDP ratio to its pre-recession level of 27 per cent. This will help keep IOD at a manageable level and protect future generations from rising interest costs, which could otherwise crowd out spending on government priorities.

To finance further investment in transit, the government would make Ontario the first province in Canada to offer green bonds to finance transit projects. Green bonds, pioneered by the World Bank in 2008, are a tool to raise capital for projects with specific environmental benefits. Green bonds would be issued by Ontario for green transit initiatives, and other environmentally friendly infrastructure projects, to capitalize on the Province’s ability to raise low-cost funds.

TABLE 7.2 Medium-Term Borrowing Outlook
($ Billions)
  2013–14 2014–15 2015–16
Deficit 11.7 10.1 7.2
Investment in Capital Assets 11.2 10.4 10.4
Non-Cash Adjustments (3.9) (3.1) (3.0)
Net Loans/Investments 1.6 0.4 1.8
Debt Maturities 23.6 21.7 20.4
Debt Redemptions 0.3 0.3 0.3
Total Funding Requirement 44.5 39.8 37.1
Decrease/(Increase) in Short-Term Borrowing (1.5) (1.5)
Increase/(Decrease) in Cash and Cash Equivalents (5.8) (1.3)
Maturity of Debt Buybacks (3.7)
Total Long-Term Public Borrowing 33.4 37.0 37.1
Note: Numbers may not add due to rounding.

The total long-term public borrowing requirement over the 2013–16 period has been reduced by $0.5 billion compared to the 2013 Budget primarily due to the lower deficit recorded in the 2012–2013 Public Accounts of Ontario.

Debt

Total debt, which represents all borrowing without offsetting financial assets, is projected to be $291.9 billion as at March 31, 2014, compared to $281.1 billion as at March 31, 2013.

Ontario’s net debt is the difference between total liabilities and total financial assets. It is projected to be $272.1 billion as at March 31, 2014, $0.7 billion lower than forecast in the 2013 Budget. Net debt was $252.1 billion as at March 31, 2013.

Accumulated deficit is projected to be $178.9 billion as at March 31, 2014, compared to $179.9 billion forecast in the 2013 Budget. The projected difference of $93.2 billion between net debt and accumulated deficit is due to net investments in capital assets.

Residual Stranded Debt Update

The 2013 annual financial statements of the Ontario Electricity Financial Corporation (OEFC) showed revenue over expense of $1.0 billion, reducing the OEFC’s unfunded liability (or “stranded debt of the electricity sector”) from $12.3 billion as at March 31, 2012, to $11.3 billion as at March 31, 2013.

In accordance with Ontario Regulation 89/12, the Minister of Finance has determined the residual stranded debt to be $3.9 billion as at March 31, 2013. This is a decrease of $0.6 billion compared to residual stranded debt of $4.5 billion as at March 31, 2012, and a decrease of $8.0 billion from an estimated peak of residual stranded debt of $11.9 billion as at March 31, 2004.

Chart 7.2 Residual Stranded Debt since April 1, 1999

The residual stranded debt determination as at March 31, 2013, is based on a stranded debt amount of $11.3 billion, reduced by the estimated present value of future dedicated revenues to OEFC of $7.4 billion. This results in the calculated $3.9 billion of residual stranded debt as at March 31, 2013.

The Electricity Act, 1998, provides for the Debt Retirement Charge (DRC) to be paid by consumers until the residual stranded debt is retired. The estimate for when the residual stranded debt will likely be retired is between 2015 and 2018. The estimated timing for residual stranded debt retirement and the end of the DRC is provided as a range to reflect the uncertainty in forecasting future OEFC results and dedicated revenues to OEFC, which depend on the financial performance of Ontario Power Generation, Hydro One and municipal electrical utilities, as well as other factors such as interest rates and electricity consumption.

Total Debt Composition

Total debt is composed of bonds issued in the public capital markets, non-public debt, treasury bills and U.S. commercial paper.

Ontario total debt was $288.1 billion as at September 30, 2013. Public debt totals $274.8 billion, primarily consisting of bonds issued in the long-term markets in Canadian dollars and internationally in U.S. dollars and nine other currencies. The Province also has $13.3 billion outstanding in non-public debt issued in Canadian dollars. Non-public debt primarily consists of debt instruments issued to the Canada Pension Plan. This debt is not marketable and cannot be traded.

Chart 7.3 Total Debt Composition as at September 30, 2013

Debt-to-GDP Ratios

The Province’s debt-to-GDP ratios are expected to increase due to the projected deficits and investments in capital. The ratios will stabilize and begin to decline as the deficit is eliminated.

The net debt-to-GDP ratio is expected to peak in 2015–16 at 40.5 per cent, compared to the forecast peak of 40.4 per cent in the 2013 Budget. This small increase can be attributed to lower-than-forecast nominal GDP growth.

Chart 7.4 Net Debt-to-GDP

Chart 7.5 Accumulated Deficit-to-GDP

Cost of Debt

The effective interest rate (on a weighted-average basis) on total debt was 4.0 per cent as at September 30, 2013, compared to 4.1 per cent as at March 31, 2013. This drop occurred because the debt issued in the first half of this fiscal year had lower interest rates than that of maturing debt, even though long-term interest rates have risen above those forecast in 2013 Budget. The rate of decline in the Province’s effective interest rate has slowed, however, and if long-term interest rates continue to rise, this trend will reverse and the effective interest rates on total debt will begin to rise.

Chart 7.6 Effective Interest Rate (Weighted Average) on Total Debt

Risk Exposure

The Province limits itself to a maximum net interest rate resetting exposure of 35 per cent of debt issued for Provincial purposes and a maximum foreign exchange exposure of five per cent of debt issued for Provincial purposes. As at September 30, 2013, the net interest rate resetting exposure was 8.9 per cent and foreign exchange exposure was 0.4 per cent.

Chart 7.7 Interest Rate Exposure

Chart 7.8 Foreign Exchange Exposure

Chart 7.1: 2013–14 Borrowing
As at October 23, 2013, the Province’s 2013–14 borrowing program totalled $21.9 billion, and consisted of $15.6 billion of domestic syndicated bonds, $1.4 billion of domestic floating rate notes, $0.02 billion of domestic medium-term notes, $0.4 billion of Ontario Savings Bonds and $4.4 billion of U.S. dollar global bonds.

Return to Chart 7.1

Chart 7.2: Residual Stranded Debt since April 1, 1999
As at March 31, 2013, as determined by the Minister of Finance, the residual stranded debt was $3.9 billion, a decrease of $0.6 billion compared to residual stranded debt of $4.5 billion as at March 31, 2012. This is also a total estimated decrease of $8.0 billion from an estimated peak of residual stranded debt of $11.9 billion as at March 31, 2004.

Return to Chart 7.2

Chart 7.3: Total Debt Composition as at September 30, 2013
As at September 30, 2013, the Province’s total debt was $288.1 billion, and consisted of $189.6 billion of domestic bonds, $13.3 billion of non-public debt, $19.7 billion of treasury bills and U.S. commercial paper, and $65.5 billion of international bonds.

Return to Chart 7.3

Chart 7.4: Net Debt-to-GDP
Net debt-to-GDP ratio is projected to be 39.3 per cent for 2013–14. The net debt-to-GDP is projected to peak at 40.5 per cent in 2015–16.

Return to Chart 7.4

Chart 7.5: Accumulated Deficit-to-GDP
The accumulated deficit-to-GDP ratio is projected to be 25.9 per cent for 2013–14. The accumulated deficit-to-GDP is projected to peak at 26.3 per cent in 2014–15.

Return to Chart 7.5

Chart 7.6: Effective Interest Rate (Weighted Average) on Total Debt
The effective interest rate (calculated as a weighted average) on total debt was 4.0 per cent as at September 30, 2013. This compares with 4.1 per cent in 2012–13 and 4.4 per cent in 2011–12. The effective interest rate has been steadily decreasing from 10.9 per cent in 1990–91.

Return to Chart 7.6

Chart 7.7: Interest Rate Exposure
The Province’s interest rate exposure, calculated as a percentage of the debt issued for Provincial purposes was 8.9 per cent on September 30, 2013. This compares to 8.9 per cent as at March 31, 2013, and 8.3 per cent as at March 31, 2012. The interest rate exposure limit is set at 35 per cent and excludes OEFC debt.

Return to Chart 7.7

Chart 7.8: Foreign Exchange Exposure
The Province’s foreign exchange exposure, calculated as a percentage of the debt issued for Provincial purposes, was 0.4 per cent as at September 30, 2013. This compares to 0.8 per cent as at March 31, 2013, and 1.0 per cent as at March 31, 2012. The foreign exchange exposure limit is set at 5 per cent and excludes OEFC debt.

Return to Chart 7.8

Perspectives économiques et revue financière de l'Ontario de 2013

Chapitre VII : Emprunts et gestion de la dette

Points saillants

  • Le total des besoins d’emprunt à long terme sur les marchés publics pour la période de 2013 à 2016 a été réduit de 0,5 milliard de dollars par rapport au budget de 2013, en raison surtout du déficit moins élevé déclaré dans les Comptes publics de l’Ontario de 2012-2013.
  • Les emprunts à long terme sur les marchés publics devraient se chiffrer à 33,4 milliards de dollars pour 2013-2014, ce qui est conforme aux prévisions du budget de 2013.
  • Les charges liées à l’intérêt sur la dette pour 2013-2014 devraient être de 10 605 millions de dollars, ce qui est conforme aux chiffres du budget de 2013.
  • La dette nette et le déficit accumulé devraient être inférieurs de 0,7 milliard de dollars et de 1,1 milliard de dollars, respectivement, à ce qui était prévu dans le budget de 2013 en raison surtout du déficit moins élevé que prévu déclaré dans les Comptes publics de l’Ontario de 2012-2013.
  • La dette nette devrait se chiffrer à 272,1 milliards de dollars au 31 mars 2014. On prévoit que le déficit accumulé sera de 178,9 milliards de dollars au 31 mars 2014. La différence de 93,2 milliards de dollars entre la dette nette et le déficit accumulé est attribuable à des investissements nets dans les immobilisations.
  • Le gouvernement maintiendra une approche rigoureuse pour maîtriser les dépenses de programmes en vue de réduire le rapport dette nette-PIB de l’Ontario pour le ramener au niveau de 27 % enregistré avant la récession.
  • Le gouvernement ferait de l’Ontario la première province canadienne à offrir des obligations vertes.

Emprunts à long terme sur les marchés publics

Les besoins d’emprunt à long terme sur les marchés publics pour 2013-2014 s’établissent toujours à 33,4 milliards de dollars, conformément à ce qui était prévu dans le budget de 2013. Au 23 octobre 2013, la province avait mobilisé 21,9 milliards de dollars, soit 65 % de ses besoins d’emprunt à long terme sur les marchés publics de cette année. Ce montant englobe les ventes d’Obligations d’épargne de l’Ontario, qui se sont chiffrées à 0,4 milliard de dollars.

La moyenne pondérée de l’échéance de la dette provinciale à long terme contractée jusqu’ici en 2013-2014 est de 13,8 ans, par rapport à 12,4 ans pour 2012-2013 et à 13,0 ans pour 2011-2012. L’échéance de la dette peut être prolongée ou écourtée selon l’orientation future des taux d’intérêt et les préférences des investisseurs quant à ces échéances. Les charges liées aux frais d’intérêt sur la dette pour 2013-2014 devraient se chiffrer à 10 605 millions de dollars, ce qui est conforme aux chiffres du budget de 2013.

Jusqu’ici cette année, l’Ontario a émis des titres d’emprunt à long terme de 17,5 milliards de dollars sur le marché du dollar canadien, ce qui représente 80 % du total des emprunts à l’heure actuelle. La province s’attend maintenant à terminer l’exercice avec au moins 70 % de ses emprunts contractés sur le marché canadien, comme cela est indiqué dans le budget de 2013.

Graphique 7.1 Emprunts de 2013-2014

Ces emprunts en dollars canadiens ont été faits à l’aide des instruments suivants :

  • des obligations consortiales;
  • des obligations à taux variable;
  • des billets à moyen terme;
  • des Obligations d’épargne de l’Ontario.

Le marché du dollar américain est demeuré une importante source de financement pour l’Ontario cette année. Environ 4,4 milliards de dollars, ou 20 %, des emprunts ont été effectués à l’aide d’obligations planétaires en dollars américains.

TABLEAU 7.1   Plan d’emprunt 2013-2014
  Plan
budgétaire
Perspectives
actuelles
Variation
en cours
d’exercice
Déficit 11,7 11,7
Investissement dans les immobilisations 11,1 11,2 0,1
Redressements sans effet sur la trésorerie (3,9) (3,9)
Prêts/Investissements nets 1,6 1,6
Dette arrivant à échéance 23,7 23,6 (0,1)
Règlement de la dette 0,3 0,3
Total des besoins en matière de financement 44,5 44,5
Diminution/(Augmentation) des emprunts à court terme (1,5) (1,5)
Augmentation/(Diminution) de la trésorerie, des équivalents de trésorerie et des placements temporaires (5,8) (5,8)
Échéance des rachats de dette (3,7) (3,7)
Total des besoins d’emprunt à long terme sur les marchés publics 33,4 33,4
Nota : Les totaux peuvent ne pas correspondre à la somme des chiffres, qui ont été arrondis.

Les emprunts à long terme sur les marchés publics en 2013-2014 seront de 33,4 milliards de dollars, conformément à ce qui était prévu dans le budget de 2013.

Au cours de l’été et au début de l’automne, la hausse des taux d’intérêt à long terme a dépassé les prévisions du budget de 2013. Si ces taux recommencent à augmenter d’ici la fin de 2013-2014, cela pourrait exercer une pression à la hausse sur les frais d’intérêt sur la dette en fonction de l’échéance de la dette contractée.

La cote de solvabilité se rattachant à une dette contractée sur les marchés financiers a une incidence sur le coût des emprunts. Le gouvernement maintiendra une approche rigoureuse pour maîtriser les dépenses de programmes en vue de réduire le rapport dette nette-PIB de l’Ontario pour le ramener au niveau de 27 % enregistré avant la récession. Cela aidera à maintenir l’intérêt sur la dette à un niveau raisonnable et à protéger les générations futures de la hausse des frais d’intérêt, qui risqueraient de réduire les fonds destinés aux priorités du gouvernement.

En vue d’obtenir du financement pour investir davantage dans le transport en commun, le gouvernement ferait de l’Ontario la première province canadienne à offrir des obligations vertes pour le financement de projets de transport en commun. Les obligations vertes, qui ont été émises pour la première fois par la Banque mondiale en 2008, permettent de réunir des capitaux pour des projets ayant des bienfaits précis pour l’environnement. Elles seraient émises par l’Ontario pour des initiatives relatives au transport en commun écologique et d’autres projets d’infrastructure respectueux de l’environnement, en vue de miser sur la capacité de la province de recueillir des fonds à faible coût.

TABLEAU 7.2   Perspectives du programme d’emprunt à moyen terme
(en milliards de dollars)
  2013-2014 2014-2015 2015-2016
Déficit 11,7 10,1 7,2
Investissement dans les immobilisations 11,2 10,4 10,4
Redressements sans effet sur la trésorerie (3,9) (3,1) (3,0)
Prêts/Investissements nets 1,6 0,4 1,8
Dette arrivant à échéance 23,6 21,7 20,4
Règlement de la dette 0,3 0,3 0,3
Total des besoins en matière de financement 44,5 39,8 37,1
Diminution/(Augmentation) des emprunts à court terme (1,5) (1,5)
Augmentation/(Diminution) de la trésorerie et des équivalents de trésorerie (5,8) (1,3)
Échéance des rachats de dette (3,7)
Total des emprunts à long terme sur les marchés publics 33,4 37,0 37,1
Nota : Les totaux peuvent ne pas correspondre à la somme des chiffres, qui ont été arrondis.

Le total des besoins d’emprunt à long terme sur les marchés publics pour la période de 2013 à 2016 a été réduit de 0,5 milliard de dollars par rapport au budget de 2013, en raison surtout du déficit moins élevé déclaré dans les Comptes publics de l’Ontario de 2012-2013.

Dette

La dette totale, qui représente tous les emprunts sans y inclure les actifs financiers, devrait s’élever à 291,9 milliards de dollars au 31 mars 2014, comparativement à 281,1 milliards de dollars au 31 mars 2013.

La dette nette de l’Ontario équivaut à la différence entre le total des passifs et le total des actifs financiers. Elle devrait atteindre 272,1 milliards de dollars au 31 mars 2014, soit 0,7 milliard de dollars de moins que ce qui était prévu dans le budget de 2013. La dette nette se chiffrait à 252,1 milliards de dollars au 31 mars 2013.

On prévoit que le déficit accumulé sera de 178,9 milliards de dollars au 31 mars 2014, comparativement aux 179,9 milliards de dollars prévus dans le budget de 2013. La différence prévue de 93,2 milliards entre la dette nette et le déficit accumulé est attribuable à des investissements nets dans les immobilisations.

Mise à jour sur le reliquat de la dette insurmontable

Les états financiers annuels de 2013 de la Société financière de l’industrie de l’électricité de l’Ontario (SFIEO) indiquent que les revenus sont de 1,0 milliard de dollars supérieurs aux charges, ce qui réduit la dette non provisionnée de la SFIEO (ou « dette insurmontable du secteur de l’électricité »), pour la faire passer de 12,3 milliards de dollars au 31 mars 2012 à 11,3 milliards de dollars au 31 mars 2013.

Conformément au Règlement de l’Ontario 89/12, le ministre des Finances a établi le reliquat de la dette insurmontable du secteur de l’électricité à 3,9 milliards de dollars au 31 mars 2013. Cela représente une diminution de 0,6 milliard de dollars par rapport au reliquat de la dette insurmontable de 4,5 milliards de dollars au 31 mars 2012 et une diminution de 8,0 milliards de dollars par rapport au sommet estimé à 11,9 milliards de dollars au 31 mars 2004.

Graphique 7.2 Reliquat de la dette insurmontable depuis le 1er avril 1999

Pour établir le reliquat de la dette insurmontable au 31 mars 2013, on a déduit du montant de la dette insurmontable de 11,3 milliards de dollars la valeur estimative actuelle des futurs revenus devant être consacrés à la SFIEO de 7,4 milliards de dollars. On a obtenu ainsi un montant de 3,9 milliards de dollars au 31 mars 2013.

La Loi de 1998 sur l’électricité prévoit une redevance de liquidation de la dette que doivent verser les consommateurs jusqu’à ce que le reliquat de la dette insurmontable soit éliminé. On estime que le reliquat sera éliminé entre 2015 et 2018. On ne peut donner de date précise pour l’élimination du reliquat et de la redevance de liquidation en raison de l’incertitude entourant les résultats affichés par la SFIEO et les revenus qui y seront consacrés à l’avenir, éléments qui dépendent du rendement financier de l’Ontario Power Generation, de Hydro One et des services publics municipaux du secteur de l’électricité, ainsi que d’autres facteurs tels que les taux d’intérêt et la consommation d’électricité.

Composition de la dette totale

La dette totale est constituée d’obligations émises sur les marchés financiers publics et d’une dette interne, de bons du Trésor et de billets de trésorerie américains.

Au 30 septembre 2013, la dette totale de l’Ontario s’établissait à 288,1 milliards de dollars. La dette publique totalisait 274,8 milliards de dollars; elle était constituée principalement d’obligations émises sur les marchés à long terme en dollars canadiens et, sur les marchés internationaux, en dollars américains et dans neuf autres devises. La province a aussi une dette interne de 13,3 milliards de dollars contractée en dollars canadiens. Celle-ci est constituée principalement de titres de créance qui sont détenus par le Régime de pensions du Canada. Cette dette contractée hors des marchés publics est non négociable.

Graphique 7.3 Composition de la dette totale au 30 septembre 2013

Rapports dette-PIB

On s’attend à ce que les rapports dette-PIB de la province augmentent en raison des déficits projetés et des investissements dans les immobilisations. Les rapports se stabiliseront et commenceront à diminuer lorsque le déficit sera éliminé.

Le rapport dette nette-PIB devrait atteindre un sommet de 40,5 % en 2015-2016, comparativement au sommet de 40,4 % prévu dans le budget de 2013. Cette légère augmentation est attribuable à la croissance plus faible que prévu du PIB nominal.

Graphique 7.4 Rapport dette nette-PIB

Graphique 7.5 Rapport déficit accumulé-PIB

Coût de la dette

Au 30 septembre 2013, le taux d’intérêt effectif (selon une moyenne pondérée) sur la dette totale était de 4,0 % comparativement à 4,1 % au 31 mars 2013. Cette diminution s’est produite parce que les taux d’intérêt de la dette contractée au cours de la première moitié de l’exercice étaient moins élevés que ceux de la dette arrivant à échéance, malgré le fait que la hausse des taux d’intérêt à long terme ait dépassé les prévisions du budget de 2013. Le rythme de diminution du taux d’intérêt effectif de la province a ralenti, mais si les taux d’intérêt à long terme continuent d’augmenter, cette tendance sera renversée et les taux d’intérêt effectifs pour la dette totale commenceront à augmenter.

Graphique 7.6 Taux d’intérêt effectif (moyenne pondérée) de la dette totale

Exposition aux risques

La province limite son exposition aux risques de taux d’intérêt (nets) à 35 % de la dette contractée pour les besoins de la province et son exposition aux risques de change, à 5 %.Au 30 septembre 2013, l’exposition de la province aux risques de taux d’intérêt (nets) était de 8,9 % et son exposition aux risques de change était de 0,4 %.

Graphique 7.7 Exposition aux risques associés aux changements de taux d’intérêt

Graphique 7.8 Exposition aux risques de change

Graphique 7.1 : Emprunts de 2013-2014
Au 23 octobre 2013, le programme d’emprunt de la province pour 2013-2014 totalisait 21,9 milliards de dollars, dont 15,6 milliards de dollars d’obligations consortiales, 1,4 milliard de dollars de billets à taux variable sur le marché canadien, 0,02 milliard de dollars de billets à moyen terme sur le marché canadien, 0,4 milliard de dollars d’obligations d’épargne de l’Ontario et 4,4 milliards de dollars d’obligations en dollars américains sur le marché international.

Retourner au graphique 7.1

Graphique 7.2 : Reliquat de la dette insurmontable depuis le 1er avril 1999
Au 31 mars 2013, le ministre des Finances a déterminé que le reliquat de la dette insurmontable était de 3,9 milliards de dollars, soit une diminution de 0,6 milliard de dollars comparativement au reliquat de la dette insurmontable qui se chiffrait à 4,5 milliards de dollars au 31 mars 2012. Il s’agit aussi d’une diminution totale estimée à quelque 8,0 milliards de dollars par rapport à un sommet estimé à 11,9 milliards de dollars au 31 mars 2004.

Retourner au graphique 7.2

Graphique 7.3 : Composition de la dette totale au 30 septembre 2013
Au 30 septembre 2013, la dette totale de la province était de 288,1 milliards de dollars et consistait en 189,6 milliards de dollars d’obligations intérieures, 13,3 milliards de dollars de dette interne, 19,7 milliards de dollars de bons du Trésor et de billets de trésorerie américains et 65,5 milliards de dollars d’obligations sur le marché international.

Retourner au graphique 7.3

Graphique 7.4 : Rapport dette nette-PIB
Le rapport dette nette-PIB devrait être de 39,3 % pour 2013-2014. Ce rapport devrait atteindre un sommet de 40,5 % en 2015-2016.

Retourner au graphique 7.4

Graphique 7.5 : Rapport déficit accumulé-PIB
Le rapport déficit accumulé-PIB devrait être de 25,9 % pour 2013-2014. Ce rapport devrait atteindre un sommet de 26,3 % en 2014-2015.

Retourner au graphique 7.5

Graphique 7.6 : Taux d’intérêt effectif (moyenne pondérée) de la dette totale
Au 30 septembre 2013, le taux d’intérêt effectif (calculé selon une moyenne pondérée) se chiffrait à 4,0 % de la dette totale de la province, comparativement à 4,1 % en 2012-2013 et à 4,4 % en 2011-2012. Le taux d’intérêt effectif diminue graduellement depuis 1990-1991 où un taux de 10,9 % était affiché.

Retourner au graphique 7.6

Graphique 7.7 : Exposition aux risques associés aux changements de taux d’intérêt
L’exposition de la province aux risques de changements de taux d’intérêt, calculée en pourcentage de la dette contractée pour les besoins de la province, était de 8,9 % au 30 septembre 2013, comparativement à 8,9 % au 31 mars 2013 et à 8,3 % au 31 mars 2012. Cette exposition est limitée à 35 % et exclut la dette de la SFIEO.

Retourner au graphique 7.7

Graphique 7.8 : Exposition aux risques de change
L’exposition aux risques de change de la province, qui est calculée en pourcentage de la dette contractée pour les besoins de la province, était de 0,4 % au 30 septembre 2013, comparativement à 0,8 % au 31 mars 2013 et à 1,0 % au 31 mars 2012. Cette exposition est limitée à 5 % et exclut la dette de la SFIEO.

Retourner au graphique 7.8