Ontario Municipal Partnership Fund 2008 - Deputy Minister's Memo

Ministry of Finance
Office of the
Deputy Minister

Frost Building South
7 Queen's Park Cr
Toronto ON M7A 1Y7
Tel (416) 325-1590
Fax (416) 325-1595
www.fin.gov.on.ca
Ministry of Municipal
Affairs and Housing
Office of the
Deputy Minister

777 Bay Street
Toronto, ON M5G 2E5
Tel (416) 585-7100
Fax (416) 585-7211
www.mah.gov.on.ca

March 14, 2008

Dear Treasurer/Clerk-Treasurer:

This letter is in follow up to the recent letter to Heads of Council from the Ministers of Finance and Municipal Affairs and Housing announcing the release of the 2008 Ontario Municipal Partnership Fund (OMPF) allocations.

In 2008, the OMPF is providing $870 million to 393 municipalities across the Province.  This is a $252 million or 41% increase over the funding provided in 2004 under the previous program.

No municipality will receive less funding than the level identified on the 2008 Stable Funding Guarantee Notice issued December 21, 2007.

In addition, municipalities delivering social programs will benefit significantly from the upload of the Ontario Drug Benefit (ODB) and Ontario Disability Support Program (ODSP) announced by the Premier last August.  By 2011, the Ontario Drug Benefit (ODB) and Ontario Disability Support Program (ODSP) upload will save municipalities in excess of $900 million annually.  The municipal savings resulting from the January 1, 2008 upload of ODB is identified on Line E1 of the enclosed Allocation Notice.

The OMPF is included in the Provincial-Municipal Fiscal and Service Delivery Review (PMFSDR) and the review’s recommendations may result in changes to the program for future years.  As noted in the Ministers’ letter, a key principle for the province is that the OMPF remain responsive to changes in municipal circumstances and provincial support only be provided in respect of costs that are actually incurred by municipalities.  As a result, 2008 will be a transition year for the OMPF. 

Details of the 2008 OMPF Release

Details of the 2008 OMPF grant calculations are provided in the attached Ontario Municipal Partnership Fund Technical Guide 2008.

The 2008 OMPF has been updated to reflect the most current program data to ensure that the OMPF remains responsive to changing municipal circumstances. 

The January 2008 upload of municipal ODB costs to the Province has resulted in significant savings for municipalities delivering these services.  These reduced municipal costs are reflected in the social program grants under the 2008 OMPF.

Similarly, changes in assessment, households or policing costs are also reflected in the respective grants.

While the basic structure of the OMPF grants will remain the same in 2008, further refinements to OMPF grant parameters have been introduced in order to continue to provide enhanced support to municipalities.  The specific refinements to the grant parameters incorporated in the 2008 OMPF are as follows:

  • The weighted assessment eligibility benchmark for the Social Programs Assessment Threshold Component has been adjusted to 0.176% in 2008 (from 0.178% in 2007), to respond to municipal assessment growth.
  • Under the Assessment Equalization Grant Component, municipalities will receive funding if their total assessment per household is less than $190,000 (adjusted from $187,000 in 2007), in response to assessment changes.
  • The tax revenue benchmark for Northern and Rural Social Programs Grant Component has been adjusted to 12.5% in 2008 (from 13% in 2007) to reflect changes in tax revenue.
  • Rural and Small Community Measure (RSCM) representing the proportion of a municipality’s population residing in rural areas or small communities has been updated to incorporate recently released 2006 Census data.

Special 2008 ODB Upload Guarantee

The Special 2008 ODB Upload Guarantee is included in this year’s OMPF.  This grant provides special additional one-time funding in 2008 to those municipalities that otherwise would see funding decreases, relative to their March 2007 OMPF allocations, specifically as a result of no longer sharing the ODB costs for social assistance recipients.  Some municipalities will receive additional assistance, as in previous years.

OCB/NCBS

With the introduction of the Ontario Child Benefit (OCB), announced in 2007, municipalities are benefiting from lower social assistance (SA) costs. To the extent that overall SA expenditures decline as a result of reducing child-related payments, the municipal share of these expenditures will also decline. This decline will result in municipal cost savings.

While the National Child Benefit Supplement (NCBS) will no longer reduce SA benefits for families with children, municipalities are still expected to maintain investments in the NCB reinvestment programs.  These municipal investments will continue to be recognized as eligible social program costs under OMPF, after the introduction of the OCB, if they flow to programs for children in low-income families.

2008 OMPF Allocation Notice

The results for your municipality are reflected in the enclosed 2008 OMPF Allocation Notice.

As the Ministers’ letter advised, no municipality will receive less funding in 2008 than the level of funding announced under the 2007 OMPF in March.  To ensure this, municipalities otherwise projected to see lower OMPF funding in 2008 will receive additional assistance, as in previous years, and/or the Special 2008 ODB Upload Guarantee (Lines B and A5 respectively, on the Allocation Notice).

2008 Cash Flow

The attached 2008 Cash Flow Notice identifies each of the 2008 OMPF quarterly payments.  The remaining quarterly payments to municipalities will be processed at the end of April, July and October 2008.

2008 Reporting Requirements

Municipalities are required to submit the following to the Ministry of Municipal Affairs and Housing:

  • their 2007 Financial Information Returns (FIRs) by May 31, 2008
  • their 2008 tax rate by-laws by September 30, 2008; and
  • any outstanding 2006 Financial Information Returns (if applicable).

Failure to meet these deadlines may result in the withholding of 2008 OMPF payments until these documents have been provided to the Province.
                                                                                                                                   
All 2008 OMPF Allocation Notices and the 2008 Ontario Municipal Partnership Fund Technical Guide will be posted in English and French on the Ministry of Finance website:

http://www.fin.gov.on.ca/en/budget/ompf/
http://www.fin.gov.on.ca/fr/budget/ompf/

Staff from the Ministries of Finance and Municipal Affairs and Housing would also be pleased to arrange technical briefings on the modifications to the OMPF grant parameters in the upcoming months if requested.

If you require additional information regarding your 2008 OMPF allocation, you may contact your local Municipal Services Office of the Ministry of Municipal Affairs and Housing, or e-mail your inquiries and your contact phone number to: info.ompf@ontario.ca


Sincerely,

Colin Andersen
Deputy Minister
Ministry of Finance

John Burke
Deputy Minister
Ministry of Municipal Affairs and Housing

Fonds de Partenariat avec les Municipalités de l'Ontario 2008 - La lettre du sous-ministre

Ministere des Finances
Bureau du
sous-ministre

Édifice Frost Sud
7, croissant Queen's Park
Toronto (Ontario) M7A 1Y7
Tél. : (416) 325-1590
Téléc. : (416) 325-1595 www.fin.gov.on.ca
Ministere des Affaires
municipales et du Logement
Bureau du
sous-ministre

777, rue Bay
Toronto (Ontario) M5G 2E5
Tél. : (416) 585-7100
Téléc. : (416) 585-7211
www.mah.gov.on.ca

Le 14 mars 2008

Madame, Monsieur,

La présente fait suite à la récente lettre adressée aux présidents des Conseils par le ministre des Finances et le ministre des Affaires municipales et du logement, annonçant la distribution des allocations du Fonds de partenariat avec les municipalités de l’Ontario (FPMO) pour 2008.

En 2008, le FPMO versera 870 millions de dollars à 393 municipalités à l’échelle de la province. Il s’agit d’une augmentation de 252 millions de dollars ou de 41 % par rapport au financement fourni en 2004 dans le cadre du programme précédent.

Aucune municipalité ne recevra moins de fonds que le financement annoncé par l’avis de garantie de financement stable pour 2008, émis le 21 décembre 2007.

De plus, les municipalités offrant des programmes sociaux profiteront avantageusement de la reprise de responsabilité par le gouvernement à l’égard du Programme de médicaments de l’Ontario (PMO) et du Programme ontarien de soutien aux personnes handicapées (POSPH), annoncée par le premier ministre au mois d’août dernier. D’ici 2011, cette reprise de responsabilité permettra aux municipalités d’économiser plus de 900 millions de dollars par année. Les économies municipales découlant de la reprise de responsabilité du Programme de médicaments à compter du 1er janvier 2008 sont indiquées à la ligne E1 de l’Avis d’allocation ci-joint.

Le FPMO est compris dans l’Examen provincial-municipal du financement et du mode de prestation des services; les recommandations de cet examen pourraient entraîner des changements au programme au cours des prochaines années. Comme l’indique la lettre du ministre, à titre de principe clé, le FPMO doit demeurer attentif aux changements au niveau des circonstances municipales, et le soutien provincial doit être fourni seulement pour les coûts réels des municipalités. Par conséquent, 2008 sera une année de transition pour le FPMO.

Détails de la distribution du FPMO pour 2008

Les détails entourant le calcul des subventions FPMO pour 2008 sont indiqués dans le document Fonds de partenariat avec les municipalités de l'Ontario - Manuel technique 2008 ci-joint.

Le FPMO 2008 a été mis à jour afin de refléter les données les plus récentes et d’assurer que le FPMO demeure attentif aux changements au niveau des circonstances municipales. 
                                                                                                                                   
La reprise de responsabilité par le gouvernement, en janvier 2008, des coûts municipaux pour le PMO a entraîné des économies importantes pour les municipalités qui offrent ces services. Cette réduction des coûts municipaux est reflétée dans les subventions pour programmes sociaux en vertu du FPMO de 2008.

Dans le même ordre d’idées, les changements en matière de coûts d’évaluation résidentiels ou de maintien de l’ordre sont également reflétés dans les subventions respectives.

Quoique la structure de base des subventions du FPMO demeure la même en 2008, des améliorations additionnelles aux paramètres de subvention du FPMO ont été apportées afin de continuer à fournir un soutien supérieur aux municipalités. Voici les améliorations précises apportées aux paramètres de subvention du FPMO en 2008 :

  • Le critère d’admissibilité en matière d’évaluation pondérée pour le seuil d’évaluation des programmes sociaux a été ajusté à 0,176 % en 2008 (de 0,178 % en 2007), en réponse à la croissance de l’évaluation municipale.
  • En vertu de l’évaluation de subvention de péréquation, les municipalités recevront des fonds si leur évaluation totale par foyer est inférieure à 190 000 $ (ajusté à partir de 187 000 $ en 2007), en réponse aux changements d’évaluation.
  • Le seuil de revenus fiscaux pour les subventions concernant les programmes sociaux des collectivités du Nord et rurales a été ajusté à 12,5 % en 2008 (de 13 % en 2007) afin de refléter les changements au niveau des revenus fiscaux.
  • Un coefficient applicable aux régions rurales et aux petites localités, représentant la proportion de la population d’une municipalité qui réside dans les milieux ruraux ou dans de petites communautés, a été mis à jour afin d’incorporer les données du recensement émises en 2006.

Garantie spéciale de reprise de responsabilités en 2008 à l’égard du PMO

La garantie de reprise de responsabilité en 2008 à l’égard du PMO est comprise dans le FPMO de cette année. Cette subvention unique procure des fonds spéciaux additionnels aux municipalités qui autrement verraient leur financement diminuer par rapport aux fonds FPMO reçus en mars 2007, surtout parce qu’elles ne partagent plus les coûts du PMO pour les assistés sociaux. Certaines municipalités recevront de l’aide additionnelle, comme par les années précédentes.

POE/SPNE

Avec l’introduction de la Prestation ontarienne pour enfants (POE), annoncée en 2007, les municipalités profitent de coûts réduits en matière d’aide sociale. Dans la mesure où l’ensemble des dépenses d’aide sociale accuse une baisse à la suite de la réduction des paiements d’aide à l’enfance, la part municipale de ces dépenses accusera également une baisse. En retour, cette baisse entraîne une économie dans les coûts municipaux.

Bien que le Supplément de la prestation nationale pour enfants (SPNE) n’ait plus pour effet de réduire les prestations d’aide sociale pour les familles avec enfants, les municipalités doivent continuer à maintenir leurs investissements dans les programmes de réinvestissement PNE. Ces investissements municipaux continueront d’être reconnus comme étant des coûts de programmes sociaux admissibles en vertu du FPMO, après l’introduction de la POE, s’ils sont réservés à des programmes pour des enfants dans des familles à faible revenu.

Avis d’allocation FPMO de 2008

Les résultats pour votre municipalité sont reflétés dans l’Avis d’allocation FPMO de 2008 ci-joint.

Comme l’indiquait également la lettre des ministres, aucune municipalité ne recevra moins de fonds en 2008 que le niveau de financement annoncé en vertu du FPMO en mars 2007. À titre de garantie, les municipalités dont le financement FPMO en 2008 devrait accuser une baisse recevront de l’aide additionnelle, comme par les années passées, et/ou la garantie spéciale de reprise de responsabilité en 2008 à l’égard du PMO (lignes B et A5 respectivement, de l’Avis d’allocation).

Trésorerie 2008

L’Avis concernant la Trésorerie 2008 qui est ci-joint identifie chacun des paiements trimestriels FPMO de 2008. Les autres paiements trimestriels aux municipalités seront versés à la fin des mois d’avril, de juillet et d’octobre de 2008.

Documents requis pour 2008

Les municipalités doivent soumettre les documents suivants au ministère des Affaires municipales et du logement :

  • leurs Rapports d’information financière (RIF) pour 2007 d’ici le 31 mai 2008
  • leurs règlements en matière de taux d’imposition pour 2008 d’ici le 30 septembre 2008; et
  • tout Rapport d’information financière en suspens pour 2006 (le cas échéant).
                                                                                                                                       

Il est impératif de respecter ces échéanciers, faute de quoi les intéressés courent le risque que les paiements FPMO de 2008 soient retenus jusqu’à ce que les documents réglementaires aient été fournis à la province.
                                                                                                                                   
Tous les Avis d’affectation du FPMO pour 2008 OMPF et le Fonds de partenariat avec les municipalités de l’Ontario – Manuel technique 2008 seront affichés en anglais et en français sur le site Internet du ministère des Finances :

http://www.fin.gov.on.ca/en/budget/ompf/
http://www.fin.gov.on.ca/fr/budget/ompf/

Sur demande, les membres du personnel du ministère des Finances et du ministère des Affaires municipales et du logement se feront un plaisir de préparer des directives techniques sur les modifications apportées aux paramètres de subvention du FPMO au cours des mois à venir.

Si vous avez besoin de renseignements complémentaires au sujet de l’allocation que vous accorde le FPMO pour 2008, vous pouvez soit communiquer avec votre bureau local de services municipaux du ministère des Affaires municipales et du logement soit adresser vos questions et votre numéro de téléphone par courriel à : info.ompf@ontario.ca

Nous vous prions de bien vouloir agréer, Madame, Monsieur, l’expression de nos sentiments distingués,

 

Colin Andersen     
Sous-ministre
Ministère des Finances

 

John Burke
Sous-ministre
Ministère des Affaires municipales et du Logement