Ontario Municipal Partnership Fund 2008 - Minister's Memo

Ministry of Finance
Office of the Minister
Frost Building South
7 Queen's Park Cr
Toronto ON M7A 1Y7
Tel (416) 325-1590
Fax (416) 325-1595
Ministry of Municipal Affairs
and Housing
Office of the Minister
777 Bay Street
Toronto, ON M5G 2E5
Tel (416) 585-7100
www.mah.gov.on.ca

December 21, 2007

Dear Head of Council:

We are pleased to write to you regarding the Ontario Municipal Partnership Fund (OMPF) allocations for 2008.  We trust that this information will provide you with certainty on your funding allocation and assist you in proceeding with your 2008 municipal budget.

As you are aware, at the Association of Municipalities of Ontario (AMO) annual conference in August 2007, the Premier made a commitment to upload the municipal share of Ontario Drug Benefit (ODB) in 2008 and begin uploading the Ontario Disability Support Program (ODSP) in 2009, thereby reducing costs to municipalities by a projected $935 million annually by the time the upload is fully implemented in 2011.

As part of the Provincial-Municipal Fiscal and Service Delivery Review (PMFSDR), municipalities identified the provincial upload of these two social programs as their top priority.  These programs are among the fastest growing in terms of cost and are entirely delivered by the province. 

Although municipal social program costs will fall in 2008, the government also committed that, province-wide, overall dollars for the OMPF would not be reduced in 2008 as a result of the upload. 

Thus, we are pleased to announce a stable funding guarantee for municipalities for 2008.  The 2008 OMPF will remain at $843 million -- the same level of funding announced in March 2007.   This stable funding guarantee will ensure that each municipality will receive no less funding in 2008 than it received in its March 2007 Allocation Notice.  This delivers on the government’s commitment made at the time of the upload announcement and will allow municipalities to proceed with their 2008 budgets.  

The upload of ODB and ODSP builds on the government’s previous uploads (OMPF, gas tax, public health, and land ambulance), which will bring the government’s total ongoing annual operating support to municipalities to over $2.8 billion by 2011.

The government is continuing to move forward with the work of the PMFSDR, which will be submitting its recommendations this coming spring.   As the OMPF is the province’s main transfer payment to municipalities, the review may recommend changes to the program for future years.

2008 will therefore be a transitional year for the OMPF.  For that reason, the government will be confirming detailed 2008 allocations in the new year.

The Ontario government is committed to working with municipalities to build strong and vital communities.  Municipalities can access the PMFSDR website through the Ministry of Municipal Affairs and Housing homepage at: www.mah.gov.on.ca/Page181.aspx. Municipalities can keep informed of the review’s progress and submit ideas for its consideration.

Together, we will develop a plan to ensure that municipalities across the Province continue to prosper.

Yours sincerely,

Dwight Duncan
Minister
Ministry of Finance

Jim Watson
Minister
Ministry of Municipal Affairs and Housing

Fonds de Partenariat avec les Municipalitmunicipalitéss de l'Ontario 2008 - La lettre du ministre

Ministry of Finance
Office of the Minister
Frost Building South
7 Queen's Park Cr
Toronto ON M7A 1Y7
Tel (416) 325-1590
Fax (416) 325-1595
Ministry of Municipal Affairs
and Housing
Office of the Minister
777 Bay Street
Toronto, ON M5G 2E5
Tel (416) 585-7100
www.mah.gov.on.ca

21 décembre 2007

Madame le chef du conseil,
Monsieur le chef du conseil,

Nous sommes heureux de vous écrire au sujet de l’affectation du Fonds de partenariat avec les municipalités de l'Ontario (FPMO) pour 2008. Nous espérons que les présents renseignements contribueront à vous rassurer en ce qui concerne votre part de financement et vous aideront à poursuivre l’établissement de votre budget municipal de 2008.

Comme vous le savez, à la conférence annuelle de l’association des municipalités de l'Ontario (AMO), en août 2007, le premier ministre s’est engagé à reprendre la responsabilité de la part municipale du Programme de médicaments de l'Ontario (PMO) en 2008 et à commencer à reprendre la responsabilité du Programme ontarien de soutien aux personnes handicapées (POSPH) en 2009. On prévoit ainsi réduire de 935 millions $ par an les coûts assumés par les municipalités une fois que la reprise des responsabilités sera complètement mise en œuvre en 2011.

Au cours de l’Examen provincial-municipal du financement et du mode de prestation des services, les municipalités ont reconnu la reprise en charge de ces deux programmes sociaux par le gouvernement provincial comme leur principale priorité. Ces programmes se trouvent parmi ceux dont les coûts augmentent le plus vite et sont entièrement exécutés par la province.

Le gouvernement a aussi pris l’engagement de ne pas réduire les montants globaux affectés au FPMO dans toute la province en 2008 à la suite de la reprise de responsabilités des programmes, même si les coûts des programmes sociaux municipaux diminueront en 2008.

Nous sommes heureux d’annoncer aujourd’hui une garantie de financement stable pour les municipalités en 2008. Le FPMO de 2008 demeurera à 843 millions $, ce qui représente le même niveau de financement qui a été annoncé en mars 2007. Cette garantie de financement stable assure aux municipalités de recevoir au moins le même financement en 2008 qu’elles ont reçu dans l’Avis d’affectation de mars 2007. Le gouvernement s’acquitte ainsi de l’engagement qu’il a pris en annonçant la reprise de responsabilités et les municipalités pourront établir leur budget pour 2008.

La reprise de responsabilités s'ajoute aux plus de 1,9 milliard de dollars alloués au fonctionnement des municipalités (FPMO/FRC, Taxe provinciale sur l'essence, Ambulances et Santé publique) que le gouvernement McGuinty a déjà investis, pour une totale de plus de 2,9 milliard de dollars en 2011.

Le gouvernement continue d’avancer dans l’exécution des travaux liés à l’Examen et des recommandations seront présentées au printemps prochain. Étant donné que le FPMO est le principal paiement de transfert accordé aux municipalités par la province, on recommandera peut-être d’y apporter certains changements pour les années à venir.

L’année 2008 sera par conséquent une année de transition pour le FPMO. Pour cette raison, le gouvernement confirmera en détail la répartition des fonds pour 2008 dans le courant de la nouvelle année.

Le gouvernement de l’Ontario tient à travailler avec les municipalités pour bâtir des collectivités fortes et dynamiques. Les municipalités peuvent accéder au site Web de l’Examen par l’entremise de la page d’accueil du ministère des Affaires municipales et du Logement à http://www.mah.gov.on.ca/Page2286.aspx. Elles peuvent se tenir au courant des progrès de l’examen et soumettre des idées.

Ensemble, nous mettrons au point un plan qui assurera la prospérité continue des municipalités de l’ensemble de la province.

Veuillez agréer, Madame, Monsieur, nos salutations distinguées.

Dwight Duncan
Ministre
Ministère des Finances

Jim Watson
Ministre
Ministère des Affaires municipales et du Logement