Ontario Municipal Partnership Fund 2009 - Deputies' Letter (December 08)

Ministry of Finance
Office of the
Deputy Minister

Frost Building South
7 Queen's Park Cr
Toronto ON M7A 1Y7
Tel (416) 325-1590
Fax (416) 325-1595
www.fin.gov.on.ca
Ministry of Municipal
Affairs and Housing
Office of the
Deputy Minister

777 Bay Street
Toronto, ON M5G 2E5
Tel (416) 585-7100
Fax (416) 585-7211
www.mah.gov.on.ca

December 15, 2008

Dear Treasurer/Clerk-Treasurer:

This letter follows the recent letter to Heads of Council, from the Ministers of Finance and Municipal Affairs and Housing, announcing the 2009 Ontario Municipal Partnership Fund (OMPF) and provides your municipality with its detailed 2009 OMPF allocation.

As outlined in our November 14th letter, the Combined Benefit Stable Funding Guarantee (CBSFG) will ensure that your municipality’s combined benefit of your 2009 OMPF plus the reduced costs from the ODB and ODSP administration uploads, will be equal to or greater than your March 2007 OMPF. The combined benefit approach was agreed to by both AMO and the City of Toronto as part of the Provincial-Municipal Fiscal and Service Delivery Review (PMFSDR) and included in the consensus Report tabled October 31, 2008.

The November 14th Interim Notice was an early notification of the minimum OMPF funding your municipality should expect to receive in 2009 and an estimate of the projected reduction in your social programs costs resulting from the upload of Ontario Drug Benefits (ODB) and Ontario Disability Support Program (ODSP) administration.

No municipality will receive less than the CBSFG amount on Line A of the November 14th Interim Notice.

Details of the 2009 OMPF Release

Ministry staff have incorporated updated data elements and completed the analysis required to determine the detailed 2009 OMPF allocations. The results for your municipality are reflected in the enclosed 2009 OMPF Allocation Notice.

Consistent with the key principle that the OMPF should remain responsive to changes in municipal circumstances, the 2009 OMPF social programs grants for upper- and single-tier municipalities have been adjusted to reflect the reduction in municipal costs for ODB and ODSP administration. The attached Notice also identifies the direct benefit to single- and upper-tier municipalities from the upload of ODB and ODSP administration.

Similarly, changes in assessment, households or policing costs are also reflected in the respective grants.

While the basic structure of the OMPF grants will remain the same in 2009, further refinements to OMPF grant parameters have been introduced in order to continue to provide support to municipalities. The specific refinements to the grant parameters incorporated in the 2009 OMPF are as follows:

  • The weighted assessment eligibility benchmark for the Social Programs Assessment Threshold Component has been adjusted to 0.165% in 2009 (from 0.176% in 2008), to respond to municipal assessment growth.

  • Under the Assessment Equalization Grant Component, municipalities will receive funding if their total assessment per household is less than $202,000 (adjusted from $190,000 in 2008), in response to assessment changes.
  • The tax revenue benchmark for the Northern and Rural Social Programs Grant Component has been adjusted to 12.0% in 2009 (from 12.5% in 2008) to reflect changes in tax revenue.
  • The Total Household Income used to determine the level of funding under the Income Threshold Component of the OMPF Social Programs Grant reflects the 2006 Census data. The threshold has been reduced to 0.60% of the total household incomes (from 0.75% in 2008).


2009 OMPF Allocation Notice and Insert

The results for your municipality are reflected in the enclosed 2009 OMPF Allocation Notice. Your municipality’s 2009 OMPF funding allocation is identified on Line C, Total 2009 OMPF Funding.

The additional benefit to your municipality of the reduced costs attributable to the ODB and ODSP administration uploads in 2009 are identified on Lines D2 and D3 of the Notice, and summarized in the Chart Data of the Insert.

2009 Special One-Time Assistance

Delivering on the November 14th Combined Benefit Stable Funding Guarantee (CBSFG), the Total 2009 OMPF Funding (Line C) includes special one-time assistance for those municipalities that would otherwise see a reduction in their OMPF because of the phase-out of transitional assistance received in the past, and the reduced costs from the ODB and ODSP administration upload.

The Special One-Time Assistance (Line B on the attached Allocation Notice) ensures your municipalitys 2009 OMPF allocation is equal to the CBSFG amount on Line A of the November 14th Interim Notice.

In 2009, the Ministry of Finance will also work with AMO and the City of Toronto to review OMPF mitigation in advance of the release of 2010 allocations.

2009 Cash Flow

The attached 2009 Cash Flow Notice identifies each of the 2009 OMPF quarterly payments. The remaining quarterly payments to municipalities will be processed at the end of April, July and October 2009.

2009 Reporting Requirements

Municipalities are required to submit the following to the Ministry of Municipal Affairs and Housing:

  • their 2008 Financial Information Returns (FIRs) by June 1, 2009;

  • their 2009 tax rate by-laws by September 30, 2009; and

  • any outstanding 2007 Financial Information Returns (if applicable).


Failure to meet these deadlines may result in the withholding of 2009 OMPF payments until these documents have been provided to the Province.

All of the 2009 OMPF Allocation Notices (with Inserts) will be posted on the Ministry of Finance websites below. The 2009 Ontario Municipal Partnership Fund Technical Guide is only available on the Ministry’s websites and can be downloaded in PDF format from:

http://www.fin.gov.on.ca/en/budget/ompf/
http://www.fin.gov.on.ca/fr/budget/ompf/

If you require additional information, you may contact your local Municipal Services Office of the Ministry of Municipal Affairs and Housing, or e-mail your inquiries and your contact phone number to: info.ompf@ontario.ca.

Sincerely,

Peter Wallace
Deputy Minister
Ministry of Finance

Fareed Amin
Deputy Minister
Ministry of Municipal Affairs and Housing

Fonds de partenariat avec les municipalités de l'Ontario 2009 - La lettre Des sous-ministres (Déembre 08)

Ministere des Finances
Bureau du
sous-ministre

Édifice Frost Sud
7, croissant Queen's Park
Toronto (Ontario) M7A 1Y7
Tél. : (416) 325-1590
Téléc. : (416) 325-1595 www.fin.gov.on.ca
Ministere des Affaires
municipales et du Logement
Bureau du
sous-ministre

777, rue Bay
Toronto (Ontario) M5G 2E5
Tél. : (416) 585-7100
Téléc. : (416) 585-7211
www.mah.gov.on.ca

Le 15 décembre 2008  
 

Madame la trésorière ou la secrétaire-trésorière,
Monsieur le trésorier ou le secrétaire-trésorier, 

La présente donne suite à la lettre que les ministres des Finances et des Affaires municipales et du Logement ont récemment fait parvenir aux présidentes et aux présidents des conseils pour annoncer le Fonds de partenariat avec les municipalités de l'Ontario (FPMO) de 2009 et informer votre municipalité des allocations auxquelles elle avait droit. 

Comme nous l'avons indiqué dans la lettre du 14 novembre, grâce à la Garantie de financement stable incluant l'avantage combiné (GFSAC), nous veillerons à ce que l'allocation combinée qui sera versée à votre municipalité dans le cadre du FPMO de 2009, plus les coûts réduits découlant de la reprise du Programme ontarien de soutien aux personnes handicapées (POSPH) et du Programme de médicaments de l'Ontario (PMO), soient supérieurs ou égaux à l'allocation que vous avez reçue en mars 2007 dans le cadre du FPMO. L'approche d'allocation combinée a été entérinée par l'Association of Municipalities of Ontario (AMO) et la cité de Toronto dans le cadre de l'Examen provincial-municipal du financement et du mode de prestation des services, et elle fait partie du rapport consensuel présenté le 31 octobre 2008. 

L'avis provisoire du 14 novembre vous informait à l'avance du financement minimum qu'allait recevoir votre municipalité dans le cadre du FPMO en 2009 et présentait une estimation des réductions prévues découlant de la reprise du PMO et du POSPH par le gouvernement.  

Aucune municipalité ne recevra un financement de la GFSAC inférieur à celui indiqué à la ligne A de l’avis provisoire du 14 novembre. 

Détails des allocations du FPMO de 2009 

Le personnel du Ministère a utilisé les données les plus récentes pour terminer l'analyse visant à déterminer les allocations détaillées du FPMO pour 2009. Les résultats pour votre municipalité sont présentés dans l’Avis d’attribution de 2009 ci-joint.  

Conformément au principe clé selon lequel il faut continuer d’adapter le FPMO à l’évolution de la situation des municipalités, les subventions du FPMO de 2009 accordées aux municipalités de palier supérieur et aux municipalités à un seul palier pour les programmes sociaux ont été ajustées à la baisse pour refléter la réduction des coûts des municipalités découlant de la reprise du PMO et du POSPH par le gouvernement. L'avis ci-joint précise les avantages directs que retireront les municipalités de palier supérieur et à un seul palier à la suite de la reprise de ces programmes.  

Dans le même ordre d’idées, les changements en matière de coûts d’évaluation résidentiels ou de maintien de l’ordre sont également reflétés dans les subventions respectives.  

Quoique la structure de base des subventions du FPMO demeure la même en 2009, des améliorations additionnelles aux paramètres de subvention du FPMO ont été apportées afin de continuer à fournir un soutien aux municipalités. Voici les améliorations précises apportées aux paramètres de subvention du FPMO en 2009 : 

  • Le critère d’admissibilité en matière d’évaluation pondérée pour le seuil d’évaluation des programmes sociaux a été ajusté à 0,165 % en 2009 (de 0,176 % en 2008), en réponse à la croissance de l’évaluation municipale.
  • En vertu de l’évaluation de subvention de péréquation, les municipalités recevront des fonds si leur évaluation totale par foyer est inférieure à 202 000 $ (ajusté à partir de 190 000 $ en 2008), en réponse aux changements d’évaluation.
  • Le seuil de revenus fiscaux pour les subventions concernant les programmes sociaux des collectivités du Nord et rurales a été ajusté à 12,0 % en 2009 (de 12,5 % en 2008) afin de refléter les changements au niveau des revenus fiscaux.
  • Le revenu total des ménages utilisé pour déterminer le niveau de financement obtenu dans le cadre du volet du seuil de revenu pour la subvention destinée aux programmes sociaux du FPMO provient du recensement de 2006. Le seuil a été réduit à 0,60 % du revenu total des ménages (de 0,75 % en 2008).   

Fonds de partenariat avec les municipalités de l’Ontario (FPMO) – Avis d’attribution de 2009 et encart 

Les résultats pour votre municipalité sont présentés dans l’Avis d’attribution de 2009 ci-joint. L’allocation de votre municipalité dans le cadre du FPMO de 2009 est indiquée à la ligne C (Financement total en vertu du FPMO en 2009).   

Les avantages supplémentaires que retirera votre municipalité des coûts réduits attribuables à la reprise du PMO et du POSPH par la Province en 2009 sont indiqués aux lignes D2 et D3 de l’avis, et résumés dans le graphique de l’encart.  
 

Aide financière spéciale non renouvelable de 2009

Afin de respecter la GFSAC annoncée le 14 novembre, le Financement total en vertu du FPMO en 2009 (ligne C) comprend une aide financière spéciale non renouvelable pour les municipalités qui, autrement, verraient une réduction de leur allocation du FPMO en raison de l'élimination progressive de l'aide reçue par le passé dans le cadre de la transition de la responsabilité du PMO et du POSPH.

Cette aide financière spéciale non renouvelable (ligne B sur l'avis d'allocation ci-joint) garantit que l'allocation que votre municipalité recevra dans le cadre du FPMO de 2009 est équivalente au montant de la GFSAC indiqué à la ligne A de l'avis provisoire du 14 novembre.

En 2009, le ministère des Finances collaborera de nouveau avec l’AMO et la cité de Toronto pour examiner les fonds de redressement du FPMO avant la publication des allocations de 2010.

Avis de rentrée de fonds 2009 

L’Avis de rentrée de fonds 2009 ci-joint détaille chacun des versements trimestriels à recevoir dans le cadre du FPMO de 2009. Les autres versements trimestriels à l'intention des municipalités seront effectués à la fin des mois d’avril, de juillet et d’octobre 2009.  
 

Obligations de rendre compte en 2009 

Les municipalités doivent présenter les documents suivants au ministère des Affaires municipales et du Logement : 

  • leur Rapport d’information financière (RIF) de 2008 d’ici le 1er juin 2009
  • leur règlement municipal sur le taux d’imposition d’ici le 30 septembre 2009;
  • tout RIF de 2007 qui n’a pas été présenté, le cas échéant.
 

Les versements du FPMO de 2009 des municipalités qui n’auront pas envoyé ces documents seront retenus jusqu’à réception desdits documents par la Province. 

Tous les Avis d’attribution de 2009 (avec l’encart) ainsi que le Fonds de partenariat avec les municipalités de l’Ontario – Manuel technique 2009 seront affichés en français et en anglais sur le site Web du ministère des Finances à l’adresse : 

http://www.fin.gov.on.ca/fr/budget/ompf/ 
http://www.fin.gov.on.ca/en/budget/ompf/  
 
Pour obtenir des renseignements supplémentaires, veuillez communiquer avec le Bureau des services aux municipalités du ministère des Affaires municipales et du Logement de votre région, ou envoyer vos questions par courriel à l'adresse info.ompf@ontario.ca, en précisant votre numéro de téléphone.

Veuillez agréer, Madame la trésorière ou la secrétaire-trésorière, Monsieur le trésorier ou le secrétaire-trésorier, mes salutations distinguées. 

 

Peter Wallace     
Sous-ministre
Ministère des Finances

 

Fareed Amin  
Sous-ministre
Ministère des Affaires municipales et du Logement