: Ontario Municipal Partnership Fund - Assistant Deputy Minister's Letter (December 09)

Ministry of Finance
Provincial-Local
Finance Division
10th Floor
777 Bay Street
Toronto ON M5G 2C8
Tel (416) 327-0240
Fax (416) 325-7644

Ministère des Finances
Division des relations provinciales-municipales en matière de finances
10e étage
777 rue Bay
Toronto ON M5G 2C8
Télé.   (416) 327-0240
Téléc. (416) 325-7644

December 15, 2009

Dear Treasurer/Clerk-Treasurer:

This letter follows the recent letter to Heads of Council, from the Ministers of Finance and Municipal Affairs and Housing, announcing the 2010 Ontario Municipal Partnership Fund (OMPF). Also enclosed are the details of your municipality’s 2010 OMPF allocation.

In 2010, the OMPF will provide $625 million to 382 municipalities across the province. The combined benefit to municipalities through the OMPF and the provincial uploads will total $1.2 billion in 2010. This represents a 26 per cent increase over the 2009 combined benefit.

The increase in the 2010 combined benefit reflects the first phase of the upload of municipal costs for Ontario Disability Support Program (ODSP) and Ontario Works (OW) benefits. This builds on previous uploads of Ontario Drug Benefits (ODB) in 2008 and the administration component of ODSP in 2009.

When all of the uploads are fully implemented, including up to $125 million in court security costs, the net benefit to municipalities will be approximately $1.5 billion annually.

Details of the 2010 OMPF Release

Ministry staff have incorporated updated data elements required to determine 2010 OMPF allocations.

Consistent with the key principle that the OMPF should remain responsive to changes in municipal circumstances, the 2010 OMPF social programs grants for upper- and single-tier municipalities have been adjusted to reflect the reduction in municipal costs for ODSP and OW benefits. 

The OMPF continues to remain responsive to changing municipal circumstances such as updates in assessment, households or policing costs. Specific refinements to grant parameters incorporated in the 2010 OMPF are consistent with previous years’ updates:

  • The weighted assessment eligibility threshold for the Social Programs Assessment Threshold Component has been adjusted to 0.156 per cent in 2010 (from 0.165 per cent in 2009), in response to assessment changes.
  • The total weighted assessment per household threshold under the Assessment Equalization Grant Component has been adjusted to $213,000 in 2010 (from $202,000 in 2009), in response to assessment changes.
  • The tax revenue threshold for the Northern and Rural Social Programs Grant Component has been adjusted to 11.5 per cent in 2010 (from 12.0 per cent in 2009) in response to changes in tax revenue. 

2010 OMPF Allocation Notice and Insert

The results for your municipality are provided on the enclosed 2010 OMPF Allocation Notice.  Your municipality’s 2010 OMPF funding allocation is identified on Line C, Total 2010 OMPF Funding

For single- and upper-tier municipalities, the additional benefit to your municipality from the social assistance benefit program uploads in 2010 are identified on Lines D2 to D5 of the Notice, and summarized in the Grant Allocation and Upload Summary on the enclosed Insert. Of course the removal of these costs from the common property tax base will also benefit lower-tier taxpayers.

2010 Cash Flow

Also enclosed is the 2010 Cash Flow Notice that identifies the OMPF quarterly payments your municipality will receive. The quarterly payments will be processed at the end of January, April, July, and October, 2010.

2010 Reporting Requirements

I would also like to remind you that, as in previous years, municipalities are required to submit the following to the Ministry of Municipal Affairs and Housing:

  • their 2009 Financial Information Returns (FIRs) by June 1, 2010;
  • their 2010 tax rate by-laws by September 30, 2010; and
  • any outstanding 2008 Financial Information Returns (if applicable).                                  

Failure to meet these deadlines may result in the withholding of 2010 OMPF payments until these documents have been provided to the Province.

All 2010 OMPF Allocation Notices and the 2010 Ontario Municipal Partnership Fund Technical Guide will be posted on the Ministry of Finance website:

http://www.fin.gov.on.ca/en/budget/ompf/2010/
http://www.fin.gov.on.ca/fr/budget/ompf/2010/

If you require additional information, you may e-mail your inquiries and your contact phone number to: info.ompf@ontario.ca.

Sincerely,

Sriram Subrahmanyan         
Assistant Deputy Minister
Provincial Local Finance Division

Enclosures

c.

Audrey Bennett
Assistant Deputy Minister (Acting)
Local Government and Planning Policy Division
Ministry of Municipal Affairs and Housing

Robert Taylor
Assistant Deputy Minister
Municipal Services Division
Ministry of Municipal Affairs and Housing

: Fonds de partenariat avec les municipalités de L'Ontario - La lettre de Sous-ministre adjointe (Decembre 09)

Ministry of Finance
Provincial-Local
Finance Division
10th Floor
777 Bay Street
Toronto ON M5G 2C8
Tel (416) 327-0240
Fax (416) 325-7644

Ministère des Finances
Division des relations provinciales-municipales en matière de finances
10e étage
777 rue Bay
Toronto ON M5G 2C8
Télé.   (416) 327-0240
Téléc. (416) 325-7644

Le 15 décembre 2009

Madame la Trésorière ou la Secrétaire-trésorière,
Monsieur le Trésorier ou le Secrétaire-trésorier,

La présente fait suite à la lettre que les ministres des Finances et des Affaires municipales et du Logement ont récemment fait parvenir aux présidentes et présidents de conseil pour leur annoncer le Fonds de partenariat avec les municipalités de l’Ontario (FPMO) de 2010. Vous trouverez également, ci-joint, les détails relatifs à l’affectation accordée à votre municipalité en 2010 au titre du FPMO.

En 2010, le FPMO octroiera 625 millions de dollars à 382 municipalités à travers la province. L’avantage combiné pour les municipalités au titre du FPMO et des reprises par la province s’élèvera à plus de 1,2 milliard de dollars en 2010, ce qui représente une augmentation de 26 pour cent par rapport à l’avantage combiné annoncé en 2009.

L’augmentation de l’avantage combiné en 2010 correspond à la première étape de la reprise des coûts municipaux liés aux prestations du Programme ontarien de soutien aux personnes handicapées (POSPH) et d’Ontario au travail (OT). Elle s’inscrit dans la continuité des précédents transferts du Programme de médicaments de l’Ontario (PMO) en 2008 et du volet de gestion du PSOPH en 2009.

Une fois toutes les reprises entièrement mises en œuvre, notamment jusqu’à 125 millions de dollars pour les coûts liés à la sécurité des tribunaux, l’avantage net pour les municipalités sera d’environ 1,5 milliard de dollars par an.

Détails des allocations du FPMO de 2010

Le personnel du Ministère a intégré des éléments de données mis à jour qui sont nécessaires pour établir les allocations du FMPO de 2010.

Conformément au principe fondamental selon lequel le FPMO doit continuer à s’adapter aux changements de la réalité des municipalités, les subventions destinées aux programmes sociaux et accordées dans le cadre du FPMO en 2010 aux municipalités de palier supérieur et à palier unique ont été ajustées afin de refléter la réduction des coûts municipaux liés aux prestations du POSPH et d’OT.

Le FPMO continue de s’adapter aux changements de la réalité des municipalités comme les mises à jour sur les coûts liés à l’évaluation, aux ménages ou aux services policiers. Les améliorations particulières apportées aux paramètres de subvention intégrés dans le FPMO de 2010 sont dans la logique des mises à jour des années antérieures :

  • Le critère d’admissibilité en matière d’évaluation pondérée pour le seuil d’évaluation des programmes sociaux a été ajusté à 0.156 % en 2010 (par rapport à 0,165 % en 2009), en réponse aux changements d’évaluation.
  • En vertu de l’évaluation de subvention de péréquation, le critère d’admissibilité en matière d’évaluation pondérée pour le seuil d’évaluation du revenu des ménages a été ajusté à 213 000 $ en 2010 (par rapport à 202 000 $ en 2009), en réponse aux changements d‘évaluation.
  • Le seuil de revenus fiscaux pour les subventions concernant les programmes sociaux des collectivités du Nord et rurales a été ajusté à 11.5 % en 2010 (par rapport à 12,0 % en 2008) afin de refléter les changements au niveau des revenus fiscaux. 

Avis d’attribution de 2010 et encart du FPMO de 2010

Les résultats pour votre municipalité sont présentés dans l’Avis d’attribution de 2010 ci-joint. L’allocation accordée à votre municipalité dans le cadre du FPMO de 2010 est indiquée à la ligne C (Financement total en vertu du FPMO en 2010).   

Pour les municipalités à palier unique et de palier supérieur, les avantages supplémentaires que retirera votre municipalité de la reprise du programme des prestations de l’aide sociale en 2010 sont indiqués aux lignes D2 à D5 de l’avis, et résumés dans l’encart Résumé du montant des subventions et du transfert des coûts ci-joint. Le retrait de ces coûts de l’assiette fiscale de la propriété commune profitera aussi, bien évidemment, aux contribuables du palier inférieur.

Rentrée de fonds 2010

Vous trouverez également ci-joint l’Avis de rentrée de fonds 2010 qui indique les versements trimestriels au titre du FPMO que votre municipalité recevra. Les versements trimestriels seront effectués fin janvier, fin avril, fin juillet, et fin octobre 2010.

Exigences en matière de rapport en 2010

J’aimerais également vous rappeler que, comme pour les années précédentes, les municipalités doivent faire parvenir les documents suivants au ministère des Affaires municipales et du Logement :

  • leur Rapport d’information financière (RIF) de 2009 avant le 1er juin 2010;
  • leur règlement administratif sur le taux d’imposition de 2010 avant le 30 septembre 2010; et
  • tout RIF de 2008 qui n’a pas été fourni (le cas échéant).

Le fait de ne pas respecter ces dates limites pourrait se traduire par une retenue des versements au titre du FPMO de 2010 jusqu’à la remise de ces documents à la province.

Tous les Avis d’attribution de 2010 ainsi que le Fonds de partenariat avec les municipalités de l’Ontario – Manuel technique 2010 seront affichés, en français et en anglais, sur le site Web du ministère des Finances à :

http://www.fin.gov.on.ca/en/budget/ompf/2010/
http://www.fin.gov.on.ca/fr/budget/ompf/2010/

Si vous souhaitez obtenir un complément d’information, vous pouvez envoyer votre demande par courriel en indiquant le numéro de téléphone où l’on peut vous joindre à : info.ompf@ontario.ca.

Veuillez agréer, Madame la Trésorière ou la Secrétaire-trésorière, Monsieur le Trésorier ou le Secrétaire-trésorier, mes salutations les plus cordiales.

Sriram Subrahmanyan         
Sous-ministre adjoint
Division des relations provinciales-municipales en matière de finances

p.j.

c.c.

Audrey Bennett
Sous-ministre adjointe (par intérim)
Division des administrations locales et des politiques d'aménagement
Ministère des Affaires municipales et du Logement

Robert Taylor
Sous-ministre adjoint
Division des services municipaux
Ministère des Affaires municipales et du Logement