: 2010 Ontario Budget: Backgrounder
Ontario's Economic Outlook and Fiscal Plan

March 25, 2010

When the McGuinty government took office in 2003, it implemented a prudent and responsible plan that eliminated the hidden $5.5 billion deficit while investing in education, health care and infrastructure, and growing the provincial economy.

Before the global recession, growth in spending on programs and services by the McGuinty government did not exceed growth in revenues.  When the global economic recession occurred, it hit Ontario harder than other provinces, due to its reliance on its manufacturing and forestry sectors.  Government revenues declined steeply.  In fact, no other Canadian jurisdiction experienced a sharper decline in corporate tax revenues between 2007-08 and 2009-10.

The McGuinty government made a choice to help lessen the impact of the recession on Ontarians, through short-term stimulus investments that created jobs and helped restore growth.  The government also made a decision to protect education and health care.  As a result, Ontario, like other jurisdictions in Canada and around the world, has a fiscal deficit.

Ontario’s 2010 Speech from the Throne set out a new five-year plan to Open Ontario to new jobs and economic growth.  The Open Ontario plan lays the foundation for the province to seize new global opportunities and turn them into jobs for Ontarians.  It positions Ontario to emerge from the global economic recession and return to a sound financial footing.

As part of the Open Ontario plan, commitments in the Budget include helping 20,000 more students go to college and university, and helping northern Ontario businesses create jobs and communities thrive. The government is also retraining laid-off workers, introducing full-day learning in our schools, and investing heavily in infrastructure to create jobs and stimulate the economy. The plan continues the investments in Ontario’s future that are necessary to create jobs, boost economic growth and protect schools and hospitals.

The 2010 Ontario Budget forecasts a deficit of $21.3 billion for 2009-10, down from the $24.7 billion projected in the Fall 2009 Ontario Economic Outlook and Fiscal Review, due to a better-than-expected economic recovery and lower-than-expected expenditures. The deficit is projected to be $19.7 billion in 2010-11. The Budget lays out a plan to cut the deficit in half in five years and eliminate it in eight years.

Bar Graph: Ontario’s Plan to Eliminate the Deficit

Economic Outlook

There are clear signs the Ontario economy has stabilized and that a recovery is taking shape.  All major indicators have improved from lows posted during the recession.  Ontario’s real GDP has increased for two consecutive quarters, rising 0.5 per cent in the third and 1.6 per cent in the fourth quarters of 2009. Despite the improvement, real GDP is 2.8 per cent below the pre-recession level.

Economic Recovery Post-Recession
  Pre-Recession Levels Global Recession Recovery to Date
Jobs (000s) 6,722.8 (249.7) +91.7
Real GDP ($ Billions, 2002) 534.9 (25.1) +10.3
Merchandise Exports ($ Billions) 14.3 (4.9) +1.7
Manufacturing Sales ($ Billions) 24.4 (7.4) +2.7
Retail Sales ($ Billions) 12.8 (1.2) +1.0
  • Sources: Statistics Canada and Ontario Ministry of Finance.

Ontario’s families and businesses are still feeling the effects of the global financial and economic crisis.  Despite the rebound of 91,700 jobs since May 2009, Ontario employment is still down more than 158,000 jobs from the pre-recession level.  Over the five-year period before the global recession, Ontario’s employment had increased by almost 490,000 net new jobs.  The global economy remains fragile, which is a threat to Ontario’s continuing recovery.

The Ministry of Finance is projecting real GDP growth of 2.7 per cent in 2010, 3.2 per cent in 2011, 3.2 per cent in 2012 and 3.0 per cent in 2013. Growth is expected to strengthen due to improving global demand for Ontario exports, significant government actions to support jobs and the economy, and government policies to promote long-term competitiveness and growth.

Ontario Economic Outlook
(Per Cent)
  2007 2008 2009 2010p 2011p 2012p 2013p
Real GDP Growth 2.3 (0.5) (3.4e) 2.7 3.2 3.2 3.0
Nominal GDP Growth 4.5 0.4 (3.5e) 4.4 5.0 5.3 5.0
Employment Growth 1.6 1.4 (2.4) 1.1 2.1 2.3 2.0
CPI Inflation 1.8 2.3 0.4 1.9 2.1 2.0 2.0
  • e = estimate. p = Ministry of Finance planning projection.
  • Sources: Statistics Canada and Ontario Ministry of Finance.

Due to the sharp decline in GDP resulting from the global recession, Ontario real GDP is expected to remain below its pre-recession level until the first quarter of 2011.  Since employment growth tends to lag real GDP growth, it is expected to take somewhat longer for the province to see the same level of employment as before the global recession.

Employment is projected to increase by 1.1 per cent in 2010, strengthening to an average of 2.1 per cent annually over 2011 to 2013, resulting in 504,000 more jobs in 2013 than in 2009.  The unemployment rate is expected to stabilize at 9.1 per cent in 2010 as job creation keeps pace with the increase in the number of people seeking jobs. Over the medium term, Ontario’s unemployment rate is expected to decline to 6.8 per cent in 2013.

Government Revenues

Ontario government revenues have stabilized and are beginning to recover. However, the pace of recovery is moderate and the impact of the global financial crisis was substantial.  Taxation revenues in 2009-10 are estimated at $65.8 billion, 12.2 per cent below their level two years ago. Revenues are projected to increase at an annual average rate of 5.1 per cent between 2009-10 and 2012-13. Taxation revenues are not expected to recover to their 2007-08 level until 2011-12.

Expenses

Total expense is projected to increase by an average annual rate of 2.5 per cent from 2009-10 to 2012-13, which is about half the projected growth in revenue over the same period. This reflects the government’s continued commitment to follow through on policies that support jobs and growth while managing down growth in expenses.

Medium-Term Fiscal Plan and Outlook1
($ Billions)
  Interim Plan Outlook
  2009–10 2010–11 2011–12 2012–13
Revenue 96.4 106.9 107.7 112.0
Expense        
Programs 108.8 115.9 112.9 114.3
Interest on Debt2 8.9 10.0 11.1 12.5
Total Expense 117.7 125.9 124.1 126.9
Reserve 0.7 1.0 1.0
Surplus/(Deficit) (21.3) (19.7) (17.3) (15.9)
Net Debt3 193.2 220.0 245.0 267.8
Accumulated Deficit3 134.6 154.3 171.6 187.5
  • 1 Both revenue and expense have been restated to reflect a fiscally neutral accounting change for the revised presentation of education property taxes.
  • 2 Interest on Debt expense is net of interest capitalized during construction of tangible capital assets of $0.1 billion in 2009–10, $0.2 billion in 2010–11, $0.2 billion in 2011–12, and $0.2 billion in 2012–13.
  • 3 Net Debt is calculated as the difference between liabilities and financial assets. The annual change in Net Debt is equal to the surplus/deficit of the Province plus the change in non-financial assets; and the change in the fair value of the Ontario Nuclear Funds. Accumulated Deficit is calculated as the difference between liabilities and total assets. The annual change in the Accumulated Deficit is equal to the surplus/deficit plus the change in the fair value of the Ontario Nuclear Funds.
  • Note: Numbers may not add due to rounding.

-30-

FOR MEDIA INQUIRIES ONLY:
Alicia Johnston, Minister’s Office, 416-325-3645
Scott Blodgett, Ministry of Finance, 416-325-0324

For public inquiries call 1-800-337-7222
(Toll-free in Ontario only)

ontario.ca/finance-news
Disponible en français

: Budget de l’Ontario 2010 : Document d’information
Perspectives économiques et plan financier de l’Ontario

Le 25 mars 2010

Lorsque le gouvernement McGuinty est arrivé au pouvoir en 2003, il a adopté un plan prudent et responsable qui a éliminé le déficit caché de 5,5 milliards de dollars, tout en procédant à des investissements dans l’éducation, les soins de santé et l’infrastructure et en renforçant l’économie provinciale.

Avant la récession mondiale, la croissance des dépenses liées aux programmes et aux services du gouvernement McGuinty n’était pas supérieure à la hausse des revenus. Lorsque la récession mondiale s’est amorcée, l’Ontario a été davantage frappé que les autres provinces en raison de l’importance de ses secteurs manufacturier et forestier. Les revenus du gouvernement ont chuté. D’ailleurs, entre 2007‑2008 et 2009‑2010, aucun autre territoire canadien n’a connu de baisse plus marquée des revenus tirés de l’impôt des sociétés que l’Ontario.

Le gouvernement McGuinty a pris la décision délibérée d’atténuer les répercussions de la récession sur la population ontarienne grâce à des investissements de stimulation à court terme, lesquels ont créé des emplois et contribué à rétablir la croissance. Le gouvernement a aussi décidé de protéger l’éducation et les soins de santé. Par conséquent, on constate un déficit en Ontario, comme c’est le cas ailleurs au Canada et dans de nombreux pays.

Le Discours du Trône de 2010 de l’Ontario établit un nouveau plan quinquennal, le plan Ontario ouvert sur le monde, destiné à créer des emplois et à stimuler la croissance économique. Le plan Ontario ouvert sur le monde pose les jalons qui permettront à la province de saisir les nouvelles occasions qui se présentent sur la scène internationale et de les convertir en emplois pour la population ontarienne. Il permettra à l’Ontario de sortir de la récession qui a frappé la planète et de retrouver de solides assises financières.

Dans le cadre du plan Ontario ouvert sur le monde, les affectations prévues dans le budget visent notamment à aider 20 000 étudiants de plus à trouver une place au collège ou à l’université, à soutenir les entreprises du Nord de l’Ontario pour qu’elles puissent créer des emplois et à favoriser l’essor des collectivités. Le gouvernement veille également au recyclage des travailleurs mis à pied, il instaure un programme d’apprentissage à temps plein dans nos écoles et il procède à des investissements considérables dans l’infrastructure afin de créer des emplois et de stimuler l’économie. Le plan continue de faire des investissements nécessaires dans l’avenir de l’Ontario pour créer des emplois, stimuler la croissance économique et protéger les écoles et les hôpitaux.

Dans le budget de l’Ontario de 2010, le gouvernement prévoit un déficit de 21,3 milliards de dollars pour 2009-2010, ce qui est inférieur au déficit prévu au moment de la publication du document Perspectives économiques et revue financière de l’Ontario de 2009 l’automne dernier, qui s’établissait alors à 24,7 milliards de dollars. Cela est attribuable à la reprise économique qui a été plus forte et aux dépenses qui ont été moindres que ce qui avait été prévu. Le déficit prévu est de 19,7 milliards de dollars en 2010-2011. Le budget décrit un plan visant à réduire le déficit de moitié dans cinq ans et à l’éliminer dans huit ans.

Graphique à barres : Plan de l’Ontario en vue d’éliminer le déficit

Perspectives économiques

Nous avons maintenant des indications claires que l’économie de l’Ontario s’est stabilisée et que la reprise s’amorce. Tous les principaux indicateurs de l’Ontario se sont améliorés par rapport aux creux enregistrés durant la récession. Le PIB réel de la province a augmenté pendant deux trimestres consécutifs (+0,5 % pendant le troisième trimestre de 2009 et +1,6 % pendant le dernier trimestre). Malgré cette amélioration, le niveau du PIB réel est toujours inférieur de 2,8 % au niveau constaté avant la récession.

Reprise économique après la récession
  Niveaux antérieurs à la récession Récession mondiale Reprise jusqu’à présent
Emplois (en milliers) 6 722,8 (249,7) +91,7
PIB réel (en milliards de dollars, 2002) 534,9 (25,1) +10,3
Exportations de marchandises (en milliards de dollars) 14,3 (4,9) +1,7
Ventes de produits manufacturés (en milliards de dollars) 24,4 (7,4) +2,7
Ventes au détail (en milliards de dollars) 12,8 (1,2) +1,0
  • Sources : Statistique Canada et ministère des Finances de l’Ontario.

Les familles et les entreprises ontariennes subissent toujours les contrecoups de la crise financière et économique à l’échelle mondiale. Malgré la création de 91 700 emplois depuis mai 2009, l’Ontario accuse toujours 158 000 emplois en moins par rapport aux niveaux enregistrés avant la récession. Pendant les cinq années qui ont précédé la récession mondiale, près de 490 000 emplois nets ont été créés dans la province. La conjoncture économique mondiale reste cependant fragile, et cette vulnérabilité même menace la reprise économique en Ontario.

Le ministère des Finances prévoit une croissance du PIB réel de 2,7 % en 2010, de 3,2 % en 2011, de 3,2 % en 2012 et de 3,0 % en 2013. On prévoit un renforcement de la croissance en raison de l’amélioration de la demande mondiale, des mesures significatives prises par le gouvernement pour soutenir l’emploi et l’économie, et des politiques gouvernementales visant à favoriser la croissance et la compétitivité à long terme.

Perspectives économiques de l’Ontario
(en pourcentage)
  2007 2008 2009 2010p 2011p 2012p 2013p
Croissance du PIB réel 2,3 (0,5) (3,4e) 2,7 3,2 3,2 3,0
Croissance du PIB nominal 4,5 0,4 (3,5e) 4,4 5,0 5,3 5,0
Croissance de l’emploi 1,6 1,4 (2,4) 1,1 2,1 2,3 2,0
Inflation de l’IPC 1,8 2,3 0,4 1,9 2,1 2,0 2,0
  • e = estimation; p = projection de planification du ministère des Finances.
  • Sources : Statistique Canada et ministère des Finances de l’Ontario.

Par suite de la diminution marquée du PIB attribuable à la récession qui a sévi à travers le monde, le taux du PIB réel de l’Ontario devrait rester inférieur au niveau affiché avant la récession jusqu’au premier trimestre de 2011. Étant donné que la croissance de l’emploi a tendance à accuser un certain retard par rapport à la croissance du PIB réel, on s’attend à ce que la province ait besoin d’un peu plus de temps pour retourner au niveau d’emploi atteint avant la récession mondiale.

Le niveau de l’emploi devrait augmenter de 1,1 % en 2010. Cet accroissement devrait osciller autour de 2,1 % en moyenne, par année, de 2011 à 2013. En 2013, il devrait y avoir 504 000 emplois de plus qu’en 2009. Le taux de chômage devrait se stabiliser à 9,1 % en 2010, le taux de création d’emplois croissant au même rythme que le nombre de demandeurs d’emploi. À moyen terme, le taux de chômage en Ontario devrait diminuer pour s’établir à 6,8 % en 2013.

Graphique linéaire : Création prévue de plus d’un demi-million d’emplois

Revenus du gouvernement

Les revenus du gouvernement de l’Ontario se sont stabilisés et recommencent à augmenter. Toutefois, cette reprise est modérée et les effets de la crise financière mondiale ont été très prononcés. Les revenus fiscaux devraient atteindre 65,8 milliards de dollars en 2009-2010, soit 12,2 % de moins qu’il y a deux ans. On prévoit que les revenus augmenteront en moyenne de 5,1 % par année entre 2009-2010 et 2012-2013, et qu’il faudra attendre jusqu’en 2011-2012 avant qu’ils ne reviennent au niveau affiché en 2007‑2008.

Graphique linéaire : Baisse des revenus fiscaux en raison de la récession mondiale

Charges

Le total des charges devrait croître à un taux annuel moyen de 2,5 % de 2009-2010 à 2012-2013. Ce taux est inférieur d’environ 50 % au taux de croissance prévue des revenus pendant la même période. Cela témoigne de la détermination continue du gouvernement à donner suite aux politiques qui appuient la création d’emplois et la croissance tout en réduisant le rythme de croissance des charges.

Plan financier et perspectives à moyen terme1
(en milliards de dollars)
  Chiffres provisoires Plan Perspectives
  2009-2010 2010-2011 2011-2012 2012-2013
Revenus 96,4 106,9 107,7 112,0
Charges        
Programmes 108,8 115,9 112,9 114,3
Intérêt sur la dette2 8,9 10,0 11,1 12,5
Total des charges 117,7 125,9 124,1 126,9
Réserve 0,7 1,0 1,0
Excédent/(Déficit) (21,3) (19,7) (17,3) (15,9)
Dette nette3 193,2 220,0 245,0 267,8
Déficit accumulé3 134,6 154,3 171,6 187,5
  • 1 Tant les revenus que les charges ont été redressés pour tenir compte d’une modification comptable neutre sur le plan financier découlant de la présentation révisée des impôts fonciers prélevés aux fins scolaires.
  • 2 Les frais d’intérêt sur la dette ne tiennent pas compte des intérêts incorporés durant la construction d’immobilisations corporelles se chiffrant à 0,1 milliard de dollars en 2009-2010, à 0,2 milliard de dollars en 2010-2011, à 0,2 milliard de dollars en 2011-2012 et à 0,2 milliard de dollars en 2012-2013.
  • 3 La dette nette représente la différence entre les passifs et les actifs financiers. La variation annuelle de la dette nette équivaut à l’excédent ou au déficit de la province, compte tenu de la variation des actifs non financiers et de la variation de la juste valeur des fonds de l’Ontario Nuclear Funds Agreement (ONFA). Le déficit accumulé représente la différence entre, d’une part, les passifs et, d’autre part, la totalité des actifs. La variation annuelle du déficit accumulé équivaut à l’excédent ou au déficit, auquel s’ajoute la variation de la juste valeur des fonds de l’ONFA.
  • Nota : Les totaux peuvent ne pas correspondre à la somme des chiffres, qui ont été arrondis.

-30-

Renseignements (médias seulement) :
Alicia Johnston, Bureau du ministre, 416 325-3645
Scott Blodgett, ministère des Finances, 416 325-0324

Renseignements (public) : 1 800 337-7222
(sans frais en Ontario seulement)

ontario.ca/finances-nouvelles
Available in English