: 2010 Ontario Budget: Backgrounder
Creating Jobs Through New Investments in Postsecondary Education and Northern Ontario

March 25, 2010

Ontario’s 2010 Speech from the Throne sets out a five-year plan to Open Ontario to new jobs and economic growth. 

The plan focuses the government’s resources on areas that will open Ontario to new ideas, investment and jobs. To move the Open Ontario plan forward, the 2010 Ontario Budget includes investments in postsecondary education and northern Ontario.

Postsecondary Education

Education is the top priority for the McGuinty government. A well-educated workforce enhances the province’s economic growth and competitiveness. Ontario’s colleges and universities also open the province to the world, attracting students from every corner of the globe.

Ontario’s colleges and universities play a critical role in equipping people for success and preparing them to generate the ideas, products and jobs that will ensure future prosperity. Ontario has one of the highest rates of postsecondary education attainment in the world at 62 per cent. However, as the economy changes, 70 per cent of all new jobs will require postsecondary education or training.

The Open Ontario Plan for Postsecondary Education

Through its Open Ontario plan, the McGuinty government’s goal is to raise Ontario’s postsecondary attainment rate to 70 per cent. There will be a place for every qualified Ontarian who wants to go to college or university. The government will also increase international student enrolment by 50 per cent, while guaranteeing spaces for qualified Ontario students.

As part of the Open Ontario plan, commitments to postsecondary education in the 2010 Budget include:

  • Investing $310 million to add 20,000 new spaces to colleges and universities this September. This is in addition to providing $155 million in 2009-10 to fully support enrolment growth at colleges and universities, including $65 million announced through the Fall 2009 Ontario Economic Outlook and Fiscal Review
  • Aggressively promoting Ontario postsecondary schools abroad to encourage the world’s best students to study here, settle here and help Ontario build a stronger economy
  • Improving students’ ability to navigate Ontario’s postsecondary system by providing additional resources to support the implementation of a credit transfer system.

These measures will make Ontario one of the world’s leading jurisdictions for postsecondary education.

Jobs and Growth in Northern Ontario

In recent years, Ontario’s resource-based industries have faced significant challenges, including the strong Canadian dollar and increased global competition. The mining and forest products industries – mainstays of northern Ontario’s economy – have been particularly hard hit by weak demand and soft commodity prices during the recession.

A further challenge for northern Ontario is that many of its communities rely on a single, resource-based industry. Over the past three years, northern Ontario has experienced a longer and deeper employment decline than the overall Ontario economy. Employment in northern Ontario has fallen by more than twice the rate of the province as a whole. 

The government recognizes the unique circumstances of northern communities. The Open Ontario plan will help strengthen the northern economy, while protecting the boreal forest region.

Open Ontario and the North

Through its Open Ontario plan, the McGuinty government will help open northern Ontario to new investment and jobs, while providing relief to northern industries and residents from the higher energy costs they face.

As part of the plan, the 2010 Ontario Budget proposes initiatives that will enhance job creation and economic growth in northern Ontario, including:

Northern Industrial Electricity Rate Program

Creating a three-year Northern Industrial Electricity Rate Program, averaging $150 million annually, that would provide electricity price rebates of two cents per kilowatt-hour. This would, on average, reduce industrial electricity prices by about 25 per cent for large facilities, based on 2009 levels. The rebate would be available to qualifying large northern industrial facilities that commit to an electricity efficiency and sustainability plan, and will help protect and create jobs in the North.

Enhancing Economic Development Opportunities (The Ring of Fire)

Providing $45 million over the next three years for a new project-based skills training program to help Aboriginal Peoples and northern Ontarians participate in and benefit from emerging economic development opportunities. This includes the Ring of Fire – an area with potentially large deposits of minerals such as chromite, nickel, copper and platinum. The program will also help build capacity in the north to undertake base mapping, develop resource inventories and gather other information. This will support community land-use planning and environmentally sustainable development that benefit Aboriginal Peoples and northern Ontarians. It will help to implement the proposed Far North Act, 2010.

The government will also appoint a Ring of Fire Coordinator to work and consult with Aboriginal Peoples, northern Ontarians and the mining community to encourage responsible and sustainable economic development related to the Ring of Fire.

Map of Ontario: Location of the Ring of Fire

Northern Ontario Energy Credit

To help low- to middle-income families and individuals in the north with their energy costs, the government is proposing a new permanent Northern Ontario Energy Credit.

Northern residents who pay rent or property tax for their principal residence would be eligible for an annual credit of up to $130 for a single person and up to $200 for a family (including single parents). To target the assistance to those who need it most, the credit would be income-tested. The credit would be reduced for a single person with adjusted net income over $35,000, and eliminated when income exceeds $48,000. It would be reduced for families with adjusted family net income over $45,000, and eliminated when income exceeds $65,000, as shown in the following table.

Northern Ontario Energy Credit
Single Person Family (including Single Parents)
Maximum Benefit Benefit
Reduction Range
Maximum Benefit Benefit
Reduction Range
$130 $35,000 – $48,000 $200 $45,000 –$65,000

To provide northern residents with timely assistance this year, the government is proposing an interim method of payment for 2010. Eligible northern residents would apply to the Ontario Ministry of Revenue to receive the credit, which would be delivered in two instalments – one in the fall of 2010 and another in early 2011.

The credit would be available to eligible residents of the districts of Algoma, Cochrane, Kenora, Manitoulin, Nipissing, Parry Sound, Rainy River, Sudbury, Thunder Bay and Timiskaming.

For 2010, about a quarter of a million families and single people, or over half of northerners, would benefit from about $35 million in assistance.

In subsequent years, this permanent credit would be paid on a quarterly basis along with the proposed Ontario Energy and Property Tax Credit.  (See Backgrounder Ontario’s Tax Plan for Jobs and Growth for more details on the Ontario Energy and Property Tax Credit).

Other Initiatives to Support Jobs and Growth

Other initiatives to help encourage job creation and economic growth in northern Ontario include:

  • Partnering with Sudbury and Thunder Bay to establish pilot economic development planning areas
  • Helping unemployed older workers by implementing the Targeted Initiative for Older Workers.

Infrastructure Investments in the North

The government is making significant infrastructure investments of nearly $1.2 billion to strengthen northern communities by improving highways, hospitals, water and wastewater systems, and other infrastructure. These investments are expected to support 10,000 jobs in 2010-11, and include the following projects:

  • The Thunder Bay Consolidated Courthouse, which will improve access to justice and spur downtown revitalization
  • The Ontario Provincial Police Modernization project, which will include the construction of new detachments, regional command centres and forensic-identification units in 16 communities, including nine northern locations
  • Expanding the 100-kilometre corridor of Highways 11/17 between Thunder Bay and Nipigon to four lanes. Construction on two projects along this corridor will begin in 2010-11, with work on the remainder to follow
  • Providing up to $15 million to support Huron Central Railway’s proposal for $33 million of infrastructure investments on the Sault Ste. Marie to Sudbury rail line.

Recent Success in Strengthening Northern Ontario

Ontario has implemented a number of initiatives that support key recommendations of Dr. Robert Rosehart, the Northwestern Ontario Economic Facilitator, including:

  • Establishing a new Northern Ontario Entrepreneur Program, under the Northern Ontario Heritage Fund Corporation (NOHFC). The NOHFC has provided grants to more than 940 projects in 2009-10, creating and retaining more than 2,300 jobs in the North
  • Accelerating Business Education Tax (BET) rate cuts for northern businesses, which benefited from the full implementation of the reduction in 2010, with savings totalling more than $70 million.

In addition, the Northern Ontario School of Medicine, which opened in 2005, celebrated the graduation of its first 55 students in the spring of 2009.


Alicia Johnston, Minister’s Office, 416-325-3645
Scott Blodgett, Ministry of Finance, 416-325-0324

For public inquiries call 1-800-337-7222
(Toll-free in Ontario only)

Disponible en français

: Budget de l’Ontario 2010 : Document d’information
Création d’emplois grâce à de nouveaux investissements dans l’éducation postsecondaire et le nord de l’Ontario

Le 25 mars 2010

Le Discours du Trône de l’Ontario de 2010 établit un plan quinquennal, le plan Ontario ouvert sur le monde, pour créer des emplois et stimuler la croissance économique.

Ce plan se concentre sur les ressources du gouvernement dans des domaines qui ouvriront l’Ontario à de nouvelles idées, à de nouveaux investissements et à de nouveaux emplois. Pour mettre de l’avant le plan Ontario ouvert sur le monde, le budget de l’Ontario de 2010 prévoit des investissements dans l’éducation postsecondaire et le Nord de l’Ontario.

Éducation Postsecondaire

L’éducation postsecondaire constitue la principale priorité pour le gouvernement McGuinty. Une main-d’oeuvre instruite rehausse la croissance économique et la compétitivité de la province. Les collèges et universités de l’Ontario ouvrent également la province sur le monde et attirent des étudiants de partout au monde.

Les collèges et universités de l’Ontario jouent un rôle essentiel pour ce qui est de donner aux gens des outils pour réussir et de les préparer à concevoir les idées et à créer les produits et les emplois qui assureront la prospérité future. L’Ontario a l’un des taux les plus élevés d’accession aux études postsecondaires au monde, soit un taux de 62 %. Cependant, puisque l’économie évolue constamment, on prévoit que 70 % de tous les nouveaux emplois nécessiteront une éducation ou une formation de niveau postsecondaire.

Plan Ontario ouvert sur le monde : Éducation postsecondaire

Dans le cadre de son plan Ontario ouvert sur le monde, le gouvernement McGuinty entend porter à 70 % le taux d’accession aux études postsecondaires en Ontario. Tous les Ontariens et toutes les Ontariennes admissibles qui veulent poursuivre des études au collège ou à l’université y trouveront une place. Le gouvernement augmentera également de 50 % le nombre d’inscriptions d’étudiants étrangers tout en garantissant les places nécessaires pour les étudiants ontariens admissibles.

Dans le cadre du plan Ontario ouvert sur le monde, les affectations destinées à l’éducation postsecondaire qui sont prévues dans le budget de 2010 visent les objectifs suivants :

  • investir 310 millions de dollars pour ajouter 20 000 nouvelles places dans les collèges et universités en septembre; cet investissement vient s’ajouter aux 155 millions de dollars versés en 2009-2010 pour fournir un soutien intégral à la croissance des effectifs étudiants dans les collèges et universités, qui comprend les 65 millions de dollars annoncés dans le document Perspectives économiques et revue financière de l’Ontario de 2009 publié à l’automne;
  • promouvoir énergiquement à l’étranger les établissements postsecondaires ontariens afin d’inviter les meilleurs étudiants des quatre coins du monde à venir étudier ici, à s’établir ici et à aider l’Ontario à édifier une économie encore plus vigoureuse;
  • aider les étudiants à évoluer plus facilement dans le système d’éducation postsecondaire de l’Ontario en affectant des ressources additionnelles pour appuyer la mise en oeuvre d’un système de reconnaissance des crédits.

Ces mesures feront de l’Ontario l’un des chefs de file sur le plan de l’éducation postsecondaire à l’échelle mondiale.

Emplois et croissance dans le nord de l’Ontario

Ces dernières années, les industries primaires de l’Ontario ont fait face à des défis de taille, notamment la vigueur du dollar canadien et une concurrence accrue à l’échelle mondiale. Les industries de l’exploitation minière et des produits forestiers, les piliers de l’économie du Nord, ont été durement frappées par le fléchissement de la demande et la faiblesse des prix des produits de base pendant la récession.

Un autre obstacle pour le Nord de l’Ontario réside dans le fait qu’un bon nombre des villes qui s’y trouvent dépendent d’une industrie primaire unique. Au cours des trois dernières années, le déclin de l’emploi a été plus profond et de plus longue durée dans le Nord de l’Ontario que dans l’ensemble de la province. Le taux de diminution de l’emploi dans le Nord représente plus du double du taux constaté pour tout l’Ontario.

Le gouvernement est conscient des circonstances exceptionnelles touchant les collectivités du Nord. Le plan Ontario ouvert sur le monde aidera à renforcer l’économie du Nord et à protéger la région de la forêt boréale.

Plan Ontario ouvert sur le monde : Nord de l’Ontario

Grâce à son plan Ontario ouvert sur le monde, le gouvernement McGuinty aidera le Nord de l’Ontario à s’ouvrir aux nouveaux investissements et à la création d’emplois, tout en procurant aux industries et aux résidents de la région un allégement de leurs coûts d’énergie plus élevés.

Dans le cadre de ce plan, le budget de l’Ontario de 2010 propose des initiatives pour intensifier la création d’emplois et la croissance économique dans le Nord de l’Ontario, notamment les suivantes :

Programme d’aide à l’efficacité électrique pour le secteur industriel du Nord

Créer le Programme d’aide à l’efficacité électrique pour le secteur industriel du Nord (PAEESIN), auquel serait affectée une somme annuelle de 150 millions de dollars, en moyenne, sur trois ans, afin de réduire le prix de l’électricité de deux cents par kilowattheure. Grâce à cette mesure, les prix de l’électricité des grandes entreprises industrielles diminueraient d’environ 25 % en moyenne par rapport aux niveaux de 2009. Ce rabais serait offert aux grandes entreprises industrielles admissibles du Nord de l’Ontario qui s’engagent à mettre en oeuvre un plan visant l’efficacité et la viabilité de leur consommation d’électricité. Le programme contribuera à protéger et à créer des emplois dans le Nord.

Accroissement des possibilités de développement économique (Cercle de feu)

Affecter 45 millions de dollars sur les trois prochaines années à la création d’un nouveau programme de formation professionnelle dispensé dans le cadre de projets, afin d’aider les peuples autochtones et les résidents du Nord à se prévaloir et à bénéficier des possibilités de développement économique émergentes, comme celles du Cercle de feu, une zone qui pourrait comprendre de grands gisements de minéraux comme la chromite, le nickel, le cuivre et le platine. Le programme permettra également à la région du Nord de se doter des compétences lui permettant d’entreprendre des activités de cartographie de base, de procéder à un inventaire des ressources et de recueillir d’autres données. Cette initiative a pour but d’appuyer, à l’échelon communautaire, l’aménagement du territoire et un développement viable sur le plan environnemental, au bénéfice des peuples autochtones et des résidents du Nord. Elle contribuera également à l’application de la Loi de 2010 sur le Grand Nord qui est proposée.

Carte de l’Ontario : Région du Cercle de feu

Le gouvernement nommera un coordonnateur du développement du Cercle de feu qui travaillera en collaboration et en consultation avec les peuples autochtones et les résidents du Nord ainsi qu’avec l’industrie minière afin de favoriser un développement économique responsable et durable dans le Cercle de feu.

Crédit pour les coûts d’énergie dans le Nord de l’Ontario

Afin d’aider les familles et les personnes à revenu faible ou moyen du Nord de l’Ontario à faire face aux prix de l’énergie, le gouvernement propose un nouveau crédit permanent pour les coûts d’énergie dans le Nord de l’Ontario.

Les résidents du Nord payant un loyer ou des impôts fonciers pour leur résidence principale seraient admissibles à un crédit annuel maximal de 130 $ par personne seule et de 200 $ par famille (incluant les familles monoparentales). Pour que cette aide atteigne ceux qui en ont le plus besoin, le crédit serait fondé sur le revenu. Le crédit serait réduit pour une personne seule ayant un revenu net rajusté de plus de 35 000 $ et éliminé lorsque le revenu est supérieur à 48 000 $. Le crédit serait réduit pour une famille ayant un revenu familial net rajusté de plus de 45 000 $ et éliminé lorsque le revenu est supérieur à 65 000 $, comme l’illustre le tableau ci-dessous.

Crédit pour les coûts d’énergie dans le Nord de l’Ontario
Personnes seules Familles (incluant familles monoparentales)
Prestation maximale Fourchette de réduction progressive Prestation maximale Fourchette de réduction progressive
130 $ 35 000 $ – 48 000 $ 200 $ 45 000 $ – 65 000 $

Afin d’offrir une aide en temps opportun cette année aux résidents du Nord, le gouvernement propose une méthode de paiement provisoire pour 2010. Les résidents du Nord admissibles présenteraient une demande au ministère du Revenu de l’Ontario pour recevoir le crédit, lequel serait payé en deux versements, un à l’automne 2010 et l’autre au début de 2011.

Le crédit serait offert aux résidents admissibles des districts suivants : Algoma, Cochrane, Kenora, Manitoulin, Nipissing, Parry Sound, Rainy River, Sudbury, Thunder Bay et Timiskaming.

En 2010, environ un quart de million de familles et de personnes seules, soit plus de la moitié de la population du Nord, auraient droit à cette aide, dont le montant totaliserait environ 35 millions de dollars.

Pour les années subséquentes, le crédit permanent serait versé tous les trimestres avec le crédit d’impôt de l’Ontario pour les coûts d’énergie et les impôts fonciers proposé (voir le document d’information Plan fiscal de l’Ontario pour stimuler la création d’emplois et la croissance pour un complément d’information sur le crédit d’impôt de l’Ontario pour les coûts d’énergie et les impôts fonciers).

Autres initiatives encourageant la création d’emplois et la croissance

D’autres initiatives encouragent la création d’emplois et la croissance économique dans le Nord de l’Ontario, y compris les suivantes :

  • s’associer aux villes de Sudbury et de Thunder Bay pour établir des zones pilotes de planification du développement économique;
  • mettre en oeuvre l’Initiative ciblée pour les travailleurs âgés, dont bénéficieront les travailleurs âgés sans emploi.

Investissements dans l’infrastructure dans le Nord

Le gouvernement fait des investissements considérables de près de 1,2 milliard de dollars dans l’infrastructure pour renforcer les collectivités du Nord en améliorant les routes, les hôpitaux, les systèmes d’eau et d’égout, et d’autres projets d’infrastructure dans le Nord. Ces investissements devraient appuyer 10 000 emplois en 2010-2011. En voici quelques-uns :

  • le palais de justice polyvalent de Thunder Bay, qui améliorera l’accès à la justice et stimulera la revitalisation du centre-ville;
  • le projet de modernisation des installations de la Police provinciale de l’Ontario, qui comprendra la construction de nouveaux détachements, de centres régionaux de commandement et d’unités d’identification judiciaire dans 16 collectivités, y compris neuf localités du Nord;
  • l’élargissement à quatre voies du tronçon de 100 kilomètres de la route 11/17 entre Thunder Bay et Nipigon; les travaux devraient commencer en 2010-2011 sur deux chantiers le long de ce couloir, le reste des travaux devant suivre plus tard;
  • jusqu’à 15 millions de dollars pour appuyer la proposition de Huron Central Railway visant l’amélioration de l’infrastructure du chemin de fer entre Sault Ste. Marie et Sudbury qui nécessitera un investissement de 33 millions de dollars.

Succès récents en ce qui concerne le renforcement du Nord de l’Ontario

L’Ontario a donné suite à un certain nombre d’initiatives qui appuient les principales recommandations de Robert Rosehart, le facilitateur économique pour le Nord-Ouest de l’Ontario, dont les suivantes :

  • instauration du nouveau Programme des entrepreneurs du Nord de l’Ontario sous la tutelle de la Société de gestion du Fonds du patrimoine du Nord de l’Ontario (SGFPNO). La SGFPNO a accordé des subventions à plus de 940 projets en 2009-2010, ce qui a facilité la création et le maintien de plus de 2 300 emplois dans le Nord;
  • accélération de la mise en oeuvre de la réduction de l’impôt scolaire applicable aux entreprises pour les sociétés du Nord; celles-ci profiteront de la mise en oeuvre complète de la réduction en 2010, économisant ainsi plus de 70 millions de dollars.

En outre, l’École de médecine du Nord de l’Ontario, qui a ouvert ses portes en 2005, a célébré au printemps 2009 sa première collation des grades, qui ont été décernés à 55 étudiants.

-30-

Renseignements (médias seulement) :
Alicia Johnston, Bureau du ministre, 416 325-3645
Scott Blodgett, ministère des Finances, 416 325-0324

Renseignements (public) : 1 800 337-7222
(sans frais en Ontario seulement)

ontario.ca/finances-nouvelles
Available in English