: 2010 Ontario Budget: Backgrounder
Ontario's Tax Plan for Jobs and Growth

March 25, 2010

The McGuinty government’s Tax Plan for Jobs and Growth, introduced in the 2009 Budget, will lead to more jobs and higher incomes and help sustain key priorities, such as health care and education, by creating a stronger, more competitive economy.  The tax plan will make Ontario one of the most tax-competitive jurisdictions in the industrialized world for new business investment.  Ontario’s marginal effective tax rate (METR), which measures the tax burden on new business investment, will be cut in half by 2018.

The tax plan includes the Harmonized Sales Tax (HST), effective July 1, 2010, and provides significant permanent and temporary tax relief for people and businesses starting in 2010.

A study by tax expert Jack Mintz shows that the tax plan will provide large benefits to Ontarians.  The study estimates that by 2020, the tax measures in the 2009 Budget, together with other recent tax changes, will lead to $47 billion in incremental business investment, higher annual incomes of up to 8.8 per cent and nearly 600,000 net new jobs.

Diagram: How Do the HST and Tax Cuts for Business Create Jobs

Harmonized Sales Tax

As of July 1, 2010, the Retail Sales Tax (RST) will be replaced with a modern value-added tax that will be combined with the federal Goods and Services Tax (GST) to create the federally administered HST.

The provincial portion of the HST will be the current eight per cent and the federal portion will be five per cent, for a combined HST rate of 13 per cent.  

Eighty-three per cent of consumer purchases will not see a new tax; only 17 per cent of consumer purchases will be affected by the HST.

Currently, the RST is charged at each stage of production before a product reaches the store. This hidden tax increases costs to consumers and is a significant competitive disadvantage to businesses in Ontario. 

Replacing the RST with the HST allows most businesses to be reimbursed for tax paid on their business inputs through the use of input tax credits.  These credits will be paid to most businesses for the HST they originally paid on many of their purchases and capital investments, providing significant savings by lowering the tax burden on business.

Bar Graph: Cutting Ontario’s METR on New Business Investment in Half

Tax Cuts for People

The government is providing tax relief for people totalling $11.8 billion over three years by enhancing ongoing sales tax and property tax relief, permanently cutting Personal Income Tax (PIT) and providing direct payments to help Ontarians transition to the HST.

New Tax Credits

Two new tax credits are replacing the combined property and sales tax credits, starting in 2010, to help offset the impact of the HST. The new credits are refundable and provide tax relief to low- to middle-income people:

  • Ontario Sales Tax Credit — this will provide sales tax relief of more than $1 billion per benefit year to about 3.1 million families and individuals, starting in August 2010
  • Ontario Energy and Property Tax Credit — in the 2010 Budget, the government proposes to introduce legislation to convert the Ontario Property Tax Credit to the Ontario Energy and Property Tax Credit.  This tax credit would provide more than $1.2 billion annually in energy and property tax relief to low- to middle-income individuals and families.

Personal Income Tax Cuts

Effective January 1, 2010, the tax rate on the first tax bracket was cut from 6.05 per cent to 5.05 per cent.

  • 93 per cent of income tax payers will see a PIT cut, including about 90,000 lower-income tax filers who will no longer pay Ontario PIT
  • Ontarians now benefit from the lowest provincial tax rate in Canada on the first $37,106 of taxable income for 2010.

Transition Payments

Eligible Ontario residents aged 18 or over will receive Sales Tax Transition Benefit payments in June 2010, December 2010 and June 2011.

  • Eligible families, including single parents, with adjusted family net incomes of $160,000 or less, will get three payments totalling $1,000
  • Eligible single people with adjusted net incomes of $80,000 or less will get three payments totalling $300.

Ontario will also provide targeted HST relief to people and key public service bodies through point-of-sale exemptions and rebates.  Point-of-sale exemptions mean that selected goods will only be taxed at the five per cent GST rate.

Pie Chart: Sales Tax Rebates, 2011-12

Senior Homeowners’ Property Tax Grant

Eligible senior homeowners will continue to receive additional assistance with their property taxes through the Ontario Senior Homeowners' Property Tax Grant, which started in 2009. The maximum grant was doubled to $500 in 2010, as announced in the 2008 Budget.

Through this grant, the government is providing $1 billion over the next five years to more than 600,000 seniors with low to middle incomes who own their homes.

Tax Cuts for Business

Starting July 1, 2010, the government will be providing tax cuts totalling more than $4.6 billion over three years for large and small businesses:

  • The general Corporate Income Tax (CIT) rate will be lowered from 14 per cent to 12 per cent and then to 10 per cent over three years
  • The CIT rate on income from manufacturing and processing, mining, logging, farming and fishing will be lowered from 12 per cent to 10 per cent
  • The small business CIT rate will be cut from 5.5 per cent to 4.5 per cent
  • The small business deduction surtax of 4.25 per cent will be eliminated.

These tax cuts are in addition to the more than $1.6 billion in annual savings for businesses from the elimination of the Capital Tax on July 1, 2010.

Along with targeted tax measures announced in the 2009 Budget, Ontario’s tax cuts will provide more than $1 billion to small businesses over three years.

The Tax Plan for Jobs and Growth reduces Ontario revenue by more than $4 billion in the first three years, net of federal transitional assistance of $4.3 billion.

Assisting Businesses with the Transition to the Harmonized Sales Tax

As announced in the 2009 Budget, Ontario will provide up to $400 million in one-time transitional assistance for small businesses to help them adapt to the HST, providing up to $1,000 to businesses with less than $2 million in annual taxable sales.

Measures implemented by the Ontario Tax Plan for More Jobs and Growth Act, 2009, include the wind-down of applicable provisions of the Ontario Retail Sales Tax Act and compensation for RST vendors as of March 31, 2010.  The government is proposing to extend compensation to RST vendors up to a maximum of $375 for the shortened RST collection period of April 1, 2010 to June 30, 2010. 

Additional information on Ontario’s Tax Plan for Jobs and Growth is available at www.ontario.ca/taxchange.


Alicia Johnston, Minister’s Office, 416-325-3645
Scott Blodgett, Ministry of Finance, 416-325-0324

For public inquiries call 1-800-337-7222
(Toll-free in Ontario only)

Disponible en français

: Budget de l’Ontario 2010 :
Document d’information
Plan fiscal de l’Ontario pour stimuler la création d’emplois et la croissance

Le 25 mars 2010

Le plan fiscal pour stimuler la création d’emplois et la croissance que le gouvernement McGuinty a présenté dans le budget de 2009 favorisera la création d’emplois et la hausse des revenus et contribuera à soutenir les priorités clés comme les services de santé et l’éducation en créant une économie plus vigoureuse et plus compétitive. Le plan fiscal fera de la province un des territoires les plus compétitifs sur le plan fiscal dans le monde industrialisé pour ce qui est des nouveaux investissements d’entreprises. Le taux effectif marginal d’imposition (TEMI) de l’Ontario, qui permet d’évaluer le fardeau fiscal associé aux nouveaux investissements d’entreprises, sera réduit de moitié d’ici 2018.

Le plan prévoit la mise en oeuvre de la taxe de vente harmonisée (TVH) le 1er juillet 2010. Il accorde un allégement fiscal permanent et temporaire considérable aux particuliers et aux entreprises à compter de 2010.

Selon une étude effectuée par le fiscaliste Jack Mintz, le plan fiscal sera très avantageux pour la population de l’Ontario. En effet, le professeur Mintz estime que, d’ici 2020, les mesures fiscales annoncées dans le budget de 2009, conjuguées à d’autres modifications fiscales récentes, hausseront les investissements des entreprises de 47 milliards de dollars, augmenteront les revenus annuels d’un pourcentage pouvant atteindre 8,8 % et créeront près de 600 000 emplois nets.

Comment la TVH et les réent-elles des emplois?

Taxe de vente harmonisée

À compter du 1er juillet 2010, la taxe de vente au détail (TVD) sera remplacée par une taxe sur la valeur ajoutée moderne et combinée à la taxe sur les produits et services (TPS) fédérale pour créer la TVH, qui sera administrée par le gouvernement fédéral.

La composante provinciale de la TVH sera de 8 %, un taux identique au taux actuel, et la composante fédérale s’établira à 5 %, pour un taux combiné de 13 %.

Quatre-vingt-trois pour cent des achats des consommateurs seront exemptés de la nouvelle taxe. Seulement 17 % de ces achats seront assujettis à la TVH.

À l’heure actuelle, la TVD est perçue à chaque étape de la production avant qu’un produit ne soit mis en vente. Cette taxe cachée accroît les coûts pour les consommateurs et nuit considérablement à la compétitivité des entreprises ontariennes.

Comme la TVD sera remplacée par la TVH, la plupart des entreprises bénéficieront d’un remboursement de la taxe qu’elles auront payée sur leurs intrants grâce à des crédits de taxe sur les intrants. Ces crédits seront accordés à la plupart des entreprises pour la TVH qu’elles auront payée sur un grand nombre de leurs achats et investissements dans les immobilisations et cet allégement de leur fardeau fiscal leur permettra de réaliser des économies considérables.

Réduction de moitié du TEMI de l'Ontario sur les nouveaux investissements des entreprises

Réductions d’impôt pour les particuliers

Le gouvernement accorde aux particuliers un allégement fiscal totalisant 11,8 milliards de dollars sur trois ans en bonifiant les crédits d’impôts fonciers et de taxe de vente, en réduisant de façon permanente l’impôt sur le revenu des particuliers (IRP), et en accordant des paiements directs pour aider la population de l’Ontario à faire la transition à la TVH.

Nouveaux crédits d’impôt

Pour atténuer l’incidence de la TVH, deux nouveaux crédits d’impôt remplacent les crédits combinés d’impôt foncier et de taxe sur les ventes à compter de 2010. Les nouveaux crédits sont remboursables et accordent un allégement fiscal aux personnes à revenu faible ou moyen :

  • Le crédit de taxe de vente de l’Ontario procurera un allégement fiscal au titre de la taxe de vente de plus de 1 milliard de dollars, par année de calcul des prestations, à environ 3,1 millions de familles et de particuliers à compter d’août 2010.
  • Dans le budget de 2010, le gouvernement propose de déposer un projet de loi afin de convertir le crédit d’impôts fonciers de l’Ontario en crédit d’impôt de l’Ontario pour les coûts d’énergie et les impôts fonciers. Ce crédit accorderait un allégement fiscal de plus de 1,2 milliard de dollars par année au titre des coûts d’énergie et des impôts fonciers aux particuliers et aux familles à revenu faible ou moyen.

Réductions de l’impôt sur le revenu des particuliers

Le 1er janvier 2010, le taux de la première tranche d’imposition est passé de 6,05 % à 5,05 %.

  • 93 % des contribuables paieront moins d’IRP et environ 90 000 déclarants à faible revenu ne paieront plus l’IRP de l’Ontario.
  • Pour 2010, les Ontariennes et Ontariens jouissent du plus faible taux d’imposition provincial au Canada sur la première tranche de 37 106 $ de revenu imposable.

Paiements de transition

Les résidents de l’Ontario admissibles de 18 ans ou plus recevront la prestation de transition au titre de la taxe de vente en juin 2010, décembre 2010 et juin 2011.

  • Les familles admissibles (y compris les familles monoparentales) ayant un revenu familial redressé net de 160 000 $ ou moins recevront trois versements totalisant 1 000 $.
  • Les personnes seules admissibles ayant un revenu net redressé de 80 000 $ ou moins recevront trois paiements totalisant 300 $.

L’Ontario accordera également un allégement ciblé au titre de la TVH aux particuliers et aux organismes de services publics par l’entremise d’exemptions aux points de vente et de remboursements. Les exemptions aux points de vente signifient que certains biens seront assujettis uniquement à la TPS de 5 %.

Remboursements de la taxe de vente en 2011-2012

Subvention ontarienne aux personnes âgées propriétaires pour l’impôt foncier

Les personnes âgées propriétaires admissibles continueront de recevoir une aide supplémentaire au titre de leurs impôts fonciers grâce à la Subvention ontarienne aux personnes âgées propriétaires pour l’impôt foncier, qui est entrée en vigueur en 2009. Le montant maximal de la subvention a doublé en 2010 pour atteindre 500 $, tel qu’annoncé dans le budget de 2008.

Par l’entremise de cette subvention, le gouvernement accordera 1 milliard de dollars au cours des cinq prochaines années à plus de 600 000 personnes âgées à revenu faible ou moyen qui possèdent leur propre habitation.

Réductions d’impôt pour les entreprises

À compter du 1er juillet 2010, le gouvernement accordera des réductions d’impôt de plus de 4,6 milliards de dollars sur trois ans aux petites et aux grandes entreprises :

  • le taux général de l’impôt sur le revenu des sociétés (IRS) passera de 14 % à 12 %, puis à 10 %, sur trois ans;
  • le taux de l’IRS pour les revenus tirés de la fabrication et de la transformation, de l’exploitation minière, de l’exploitation forestière, de l’agriculture et de la pêche passera de 12 % à 10 %;
  • le taux de l’IRS pour les petites entreprises passera de 5,5 % à 4,5 %;
  • la surtaxe de 4,25 % sur la déduction accordée aux petites entreprises sera éliminée.

Ces réductions d’impôt se greffent aux économies annuelles de plus de 1,6 milliard de dollars que réaliseront les entreprises grâce à l’élimination de l’impôt sur le capital le 1er juillet 2010.

Les réductions d’impôt de l’Ontario, conjuguées aux mesures fiscales ciblées annoncées dans le budget de 2009, procureront plus de 1 milliard de dollars aux petites entreprises sur trois ans.

Le plan fiscal pour stimuler la création d’emplois et la croissance réduit les revenus de l’Ontario de plus de 4 milliards de dollars au cours des trois premières années, déduction faite de l’aide fédérale de transition de 4,3 milliards de dollars.

Aide aux entreprises pour la transition à la taxe de vente harmonisée

Tel qu’annoncé dans le budget de 2009, l’Ontario fournira jusqu’à 400 millions de dollars en aide de transition ponctuelle aux petites entreprises pour les aider à s’adapter à la TVH et jusqu’à 1 000 $ aux entreprises dont les ventes taxables sont de moins de 2 millions de dollars par année.

Les mesures mises en oeuvre grâce à la Loi de 2009 sur le plan fiscal de l’Ontario pour accroître l’emploi et la croissance comprennent l’abrogation graduelle des dispositions pertinentes de la Loi sur la taxe de vente au détail de l’Ontario et l’élimination progressive de l’indemnité payée aux vendeurs au titre de la TVD le 31 mars 2010. Le gouvernement propose de prolonger le paiement de cette indemnité, qui pourrait atteindre 375 $ pour la période de perception réduite de la TVD allant du 1er avril 2010 au 30 juin 2010.

On trouvera d’autres renseignements sur le plan fiscal de l’Ontario pour stimuler la création d’emplois et la croissance sur le site www.ontario.ca/modificationfiscale.

-30-

Renseignements (médias seulement) :
Alicia Johnston, Bureau du ministre, 416 325-3645
Scott Blodgett, ministère des Finances, 416 325-0324

Renseignements (public) : 1 800 337-7222
(sans frais en Ontario seulement)

ontario.ca/finances-nouvelles
Available in English