2010 Ontario Budget: Chapter II: Ontario’s Economic Outlook and Fiscal Plan
Section B: 2009–10 Interim Fiscal Performance

As outlined in the Fall 2009 Ontario Economic Outlook and Fiscal Review, lower 2008–09 results and a weaker economy in 2009 led to a significant reduction in projected revenues for 2009–10. Total expense increased as the Province invested to support job creation and lessen the impact of the economic downturn on Ontarians.

Since the fall of 2009, Ontario’s economy has stabilized and begun to recover while the Province’s finances have improved and strengthened. There are clear signs that Ontario’s economic recovery is taking shape. Jobs, gross domestic product (GDP), merchandise exports and manufacturing sales have all improved from lows posted during the recession. However, the pace of recovery has been moderate and these key indicators remain below pre-recession levels (see Section C of this chapter). The economic recovery has improved the Province’s finances through a modest increase in taxation revenues.

In addition, as the global recession took hold, the government took immediate action to manage spending while protecting the quality and sustainability of public services. Building on its track record of fiscal responsibility, the government tasked the Treasury Board Working Group with leading the 2009 expenditure management review to ensure taxpayers’ dollars are spent effectively. Going forward, the Province will continue implementing expenditure management measures to support its commitment to return to fiscal balance (see Chapter I, Section B).

The government’s plan is producing results. The Province is now projecting a $21.3 billion deficit in 2009–10, an improvement of $3.4 billion from the $24.7 billion deficit forecast published in the Fall 2009 Ontario Economic Outlook and Fiscal Review.

The improved fiscal projection is mainly due to a $1.9 billion reduction in program expense resulting from the government’s prudent management of expense, as well as lower costs associated with the Provincial response to the H1N1 flu virus. In addition, the Province’s interest on debt expense projection is $0.5 billion below the fall forecast.

Improved Transparency in Financial Reporting – Impacts on Ontario’s Fiscal Plan

Starting with this Budget, a number of items will be presented differently for improved transparency in reporting. These changes are being made to comply with recently revised Public Sector Accounting Board standards. These presentation changes do not impact the Province’s annual surplus/deficit results or underlying revenues and expenses.

The principal change is the treatment of Education Property Tax. Previously, Education Property Taxes collected by municipalities for local school boards were netted against (i.e., subtracted from) Education expense. Under the new presentation, Education Property Taxes are included in Provincial revenue and are no longer netted against Education expense.

To facilitate comparisons, the Province’s historical revenues and expenses have been restated to account for this reporting change. The following table illustrates how this change affects the Province’s 2008–09 financial results.

Presentation in the Fall 2009 Economic Outlook and Fiscal Review   New Presentation in the 2010 Budget
($ Billions) Actual 2008–09   ($ Billions) Actual 2008–09
Revenue   Revenue
Taxation Revenue 62.4 $6.5 B Taxation Revenue 68.9
 
Total Revenue 90.5   Total Revenue 96.9
Expense     Expense  
Health Sector 40.7   Health Sector 40.7
Education Sector 13.2 $6.5 B Education Sector 19.6
 
Total Expense 96.9   Total Expense 103.3
Reserve   Reserve
Surplus / (Deficit) (6.4)   Surplus / (Deficit) (6.4)

Note that while the surplus/deficit of the Province as well as the accumulated deficit are unaffected by this change in presentation, there has been a change in the calculation of net debt. See Addendum to the 2010 Ontario Budget: Ontario’s Plan to Enhance Accountability, Transparency and Financial Management for more information.

Table 2
2009–10 In-Year Fiscal Performance
($ Millions)
  Fall
Outlook1
Interim Change from
Fall Outlook
Revenue 96,648 96,409 (239)
Expense      
Programs 110,757 108,809 (1,949)
Interest on Debt 9,406 8,930 (476)
Total Expense 120,163 117,739 (2,425)
Reserve 1,200 (1,200)
Surplus/(Deficit) (24,716) (21,330) 3,386
  • 1 Both revenue and expense have been restated to reflect fiscally neutral accounting changes from incorporating the education property tax.
  • Note: Numbers may not add due to rounding.

The interim outlook for 2009–10 projects that revenue will be 0.2 per cent below the forecast in the Fall 2009 Ontario Economic Outlook and Fiscal Review. Total expense for 2009–10 is projected to decrease by 2.0 per cent from the fall forecast.

The reserve has been drawn down to help offset the impact of slower economic growth on the Province’s fiscal performance.

The 2009–10 interim results are based on the best information available as of early March 2010. Given the preliminary nature of the interim forecast, these projections are subject to change as actual Provincial revenue and expense are finalized in the 2009–10 Public Accounts.

In-Year Revenue Performance

Total revenue in 2009–10 is estimated to be $96,409 million. This is $239 million or 0.2 per cent below the Fall 2009 Ontario Economic Outlook and Fiscal Review forecast.

Table 3
Summary of Revenue Changes since the Fall
2009 Ontario Economic Outlook and Fiscal Review
($ Millions)
    Interim 2009–10
Taxation Revenue   257
Gouvernement du Canada    
Infrastructure (777)  
Other 96  
    (681)
Income from Government Business Enterprises    
Ontario Power Generation Inc. and Hydro One Inc. (186)  
Ontario Lottery and Gaming Corporation (83)  
Liquor Control Board of Ontario 93  
All Other Government Business Enterprises 7  
    (169)
Other Non-Tax Revenue    
Power Sales 472  
Other Non-Tax Revenue (118)  
    354
Total Revenue Changes   (239)
  • Note: The Fall 2009 Ontario Economic Outlook and Fiscal Review forecast is restated to reflect accounting changes due to the implementation of line-by-line consolidation of controlled broader public-sector organizations. For a restated version of the 2009 Budget and Fall 2009 Ontario Economic Outlook and Fiscal Review revenue outlook, see Section D of this chapter.

Revenue Changes

Highlights of key 2009–10 revenue changes from the Fall 2009 Ontario Economic Outlook and Fiscal Review forecast are as follows:

  • Taxation Revenues are slightly higher (0.4 per cent) than projected due to favourable changes in the composition of economic growth.
  • Transfers from the Government of Canada for infrastructure are $777 million lower due to revised timelines for capital projects and changes in federal funding. A significant portion of the expenditure planned for 2009–10 will occur in 2010–11 or later years.
  • Other Government of Canada transfers are $96 million higher, largely due to Labour Market program funding re-profiled to 2009–10.
  • The combined net income of Hydro One Inc. and Ontario Power Generation Inc. (OPG) is estimated to be $186 million lower, largely due to lower electricity market prices received by OPG for its unregulated and non-contracted electricity output.
  • Ontario Lottery and Gaming Corporation net income is $83 million lower, mainly due to lower gaming revenue from slot machines and casinos.
  • Net income from the Liquor Control Board of Ontario is $93 million higher due to stronger-than-expected sales, including better-than-expected sales of higher-margin products.
  • All Other Government Business Enterprises are $7 million higher, largely due to an accounting change in reporting financial results for the Ontario Northland Transportation Commission (ONTC). The impact of the reporting change is fiscally neutral.
  • Revenues recorded under Power Sales are $472 million higher due to the Lambton and Nanticoke support contract between the Ontario Electricity Financial Corporation and OPG. The increase in "Power Purchase" expense for the Lambton and Nanticoke contract is fully offset by the increase in revenues recovered from electricity ratepayers under Power Sales.
  • Other Non-Tax Revenue is $118 million lower, largely due to lower Electricity Debt Retirement Charge revenue, lower Vehicle and Driver Registration Fees, lower Royalties, and lower Other Fees, Licences and Permits. These decreases are partially offset by higher Reimbursements and Sales and Rentals revenues.

In-Year Expense Performance

Total expense in 2009–10 is currently projected to be $117,739 million, a decrease of $2,424.7 million, or 2.0 per cent, from the Fall 2009 Ontario Economic Outlook and Fiscal Review forecast.

Table 4
Summary of Expense Changes since the Fall
2009 Ontario Economic Outlook and Fiscal Review
($ Millions)
  Interim
2009–10
Program Expense Changes  
Health Sector (599.6)
Education Sector1 (47.5)
Postsecondary and Training Sector (237.9)
Children's and Social Services Sector 141.0
Justice Sector (62.4)
Other Program Expense Changes (1,142.3)
Total Program Expense Changes (1,948.7)
Interest on Debt (476.0)
Total Expense Changes (2,424.7)
  • 1 Excludes Teachers' Pension Plan.

Expense Changes

Highlights of key 2009–10 expense changes from the Fall 2009 Ontario Economic Outlook and Fiscal Review forecast are as follows:

  • Health sector expense decreased by $599.6 million, primarily due to lower-than-anticipated costs to respond to the H1N1 flu virus and revised timelines for capital projects related to the Recreational Infrastructure Canada Program in Ontario and the Ontario Recreation Program that will now be implemented in 2010–11.
  • Education sector expense decreased by $47.5 million, due to lower Ministry of Education spending on administration and other programs.
  • Postsecondary and Training sector expense decreased by $237.9 million, primarily due to revised implementation timelines for various capital projects.
  • Children’s and Social Services sector expense increased by $141.0 million, mainly to support the delivery of programs for the vulnerable, including social assistance and child protection services. This increase also includes $18.3 million for community projects to support the renewal of social services facilities used by low-income and vulnerable Ontarians.
  • Justice sector expense decreased by $62.4 million, primarily due to revised schedules for courthouse and correctional facility construction projects.
  • Other program expense decreased by $1,142.3 million in 2009–10, reflecting the balance of changes in program expense. These include ministries’ savings as a result of expenditure management measures, revised schedules for infrastructure projects to be completed in 2010–11, as well as a decrease in expenses of various consolidated organizations. The Operating Contingency Fund has been maintained at $50.0 million in recognition of expense changes that could materialize as the 2009–10 Public Accounts are finalized.
  • Interest on Debt expense is $476.0 million lower than forecast in the Fall 2009 Ontario Economic Outlook and Fiscal Review. This amount reflects the impact of lower-than-forecast interest rates on floating rate debt, more financing at shorter-term maturities, and a lower deficit than forecast in the Fall 2009 Ontario Economic Outlook and Fiscal Review.

Budget de l’Ontario 2010 : Chapitre II : Perspectives économiques et plan financier de l’Ontario
Section B : Résultats financiers provisoires de 2009-2010

Comme l’indiquait le document d’automne Perspectives économiques et revue financière de l’Ontario de 2009, la baisse des résultats de 2008-2009 et le ralentissement de l’économie en 2009 ont entraîné une réduction importante des revenus projetés pour 2009‑2010. Les charges totales ont augmenté puisque le gouvernement a investi pour appuyer la création d’emplois et atténuer les effets de la récession économique sur la population ontarienne.

Depuis l’automne 2009, l’économie ontarienne s’est stabilisée et a commencé à reprendre de la vigueur alors que les finances de la province s’amélioraient et se renforçaient. L’économie ontarienne montre des signes encourageants de relance. Les emplois, le produit intérieur brut (PIB), les exportations de marchandises et les ventes de produits manufacturés se sont tous améliorés par rapport aux creux constatés durant la récession. Cependant, le rythme de la relance est modéré, et ces indicateurs clés demeurent en deçà des niveaux antérieurs à la récession (voir la section C du présent chapitre). La reprise économique a amélioré la situation financière de la province grâce à une modeste augmentation des revenus tirés des taxes et impôts.

En outre, alors que s’installait la récession mondiale, le gouvernement a pris des mesures immédiates pour gérer les dépenses tout en améliorant la qualité et la viabilité des services publics. Le gouvernement, qui a déjà fait ses preuves sur le plan de la responsabilité financière, a chargé le Groupe de travail du Conseil du Trésor de diriger l’examen de 2009 de la gestion des dépenses afin de veiller à ce que les deniers publics soient dépensés à bon escient. Continuant sur cette lancée, le gouvernement provincial entend mettre en oeuvre des mesures de gestion des dépenses pour appuyer son engagement à rétablir l’équilibre financier (voir le chapitre I, section B).

Le plan du gouvernement porte ses fruits. Le gouvernement provincial prévoit actuellement un déficit de 21,3 milliards de dollars en 2009‑2010, ce qui est inférieur de 3,4 milliards de dollars au déficit de 24,7 milliards de dollars que l’on prévoyait au moment de la publication du document d’automne Perspectives économiques et revue financière de l’Ontario de 2009.

L’amélioration des perspectives financières est attribuable dans une large mesure à une réduction de 1,9 milliard de dollars des charges de programmes résultant de la gestion prudente des charges exercée par le gouvernement et des coûts moins élevés de la lutte contre le virus H1N1. En outre, les projections du gouvernement concernant les charges liées à l’intérêt sur la dette sont inférieures de 0,5 milliard de dollars aux prévisions de l’automne dernier.

Communication plus transparente de l’information financière – incidence sur le plan fiscal de l’Ontario

Dans le présent budget, divers éléments sont présentés différemment afin d’améliorer la transparence de l’information financière. On maintiendra cette nouvelle présentation dans les budgets subséquents. On apporte ces modifications pour respecter les normes révisées récemment par le Conseil sur la comptabilité dans le secteur public. Elles n’ont aucune incidence sur l’excédent ou le déficit annuel de la province ni sur les revenus et les charges sous-jacents.

Les modifications touchent principalement le traitement des impôts fonciers prélevés aux fins scolaires. Auparavant, les impôts fonciers prélevés par les municipalités aux fins scolaires au nom des conseils scolaires locaux étaient déduits des charges du secteur de l’éducation. Selon la nouvelle présentation, ces impôts sont inclus dans les revenus provinciaux et ne sont plus déduits des charges du secteur de l’éducation.

Pour faciliter la comparaison, on a redressé les revenus et les charges passés de la province afin de tenir compte de ce changement. Le tableau ci-dessous illustre l’effet de ce changement sur les résultats financiers de la province pour 2008‑2009

Présentation dans le document d’automne
Perspectives économiques et revue financière de l’Ontario de 2009
  Nouvelle présentation dans le budget de 2010
(en milliards de dollars) Chiffres réels
2008-2009
  (en milliards de dollars) Chiffres réels
2008-2009
Revenus   Revenus
Revenus fiscaux 62,4 6,5 G$ Revenus fiscaux 68,9
 
Total des revenus 90,5   Total des revenus 96,9
Charges     Charges  
Secteur de la santé 40,7   Secteur de la santé 40,7
Éducation 13,2 6,5 G$ Éducation 19,6
 
Total des charges 96,9   Total des charges 103,3
Réserve   Réserve
Excédent/(Déficit) (6,4)   Excédent/(Déficit) (6,4)

Signalons que si l’excédent ou le déficit de la province de même que le déficit accumulé ne sont pas touchés par ce changement de présentation de l’information financière, celui-ci a eu une incidence sur le calcul de la dette nette. Pour de plus amples renseignements, voir l’addenda au budget de l’Ontario de 2010, Plan de l’Ontario pour renforcer la responsabilité, la transparence et la gestion financière.

Tableau 2
Résultats financiers en cours d’exercice 2009‑2010
(en millions de dollars)
  Perspectives
d’automne1
Chiffres
provisoires
Variation depuis
les perspectives
d’automne
Revenus 96 648 96 409 (239)
Charges      
Programmes 110 757 108 809 (1 949)
Intérêt sur la dette 9 406 8 930 (476)
Total des charges 120 163 117 739 (2 425)
Réserve 1 200 (1 200)
Excédent/(Déficit) (24 716) (21 330) 3 386
  • 1 Les revenus et les charges de programmes ont été redressés pour tenir compte des changements neutres sur le plan financier dans la présentation de l’information financière qui découlent de l’intégration des impôts fonciers prélevés aux fins scolaires.
  • Nota : Les totaux peuvent ne pas correspondre à la somme des chiffres, qui ont été arrondis.

Selon les perspectives provisoires pour 2009‑2010, les revenus seront inférieurs de 0,2 % aux prévisions publiées l’automne dernier dans Perspectives économiques et revue financière de l’Ontario de 2009. On prévoit que le total des charges pour 2009‑2010 diminuera de 2,0 % par rapport aux perspectives d’automne.

La réserve a été utilisée pour compenser les effets du ralentissement de la croissance économique sur les perspectives financières de l’Ontario.

Les résultats provisoires de 2009‑2010 sont fondés sur les meilleurs renseignements disponibles au début de mars 2010. Puisqu’elles sont provisoires, ces projections risquent de changer lorsque les revenus et les charges réels de la province seront présentés dans les Comptes publics de l’Ontario de 2009‑2010.

Revenus au cours de l’exercice

Le total des revenus est estimé à 96 409 millions de dollars en 2009‑2010, ce qui représente une baisse de 239 millions de dollars, soit 0,2 %, par rapport aux prévisions publiées l’automne dernier dans Perspectives économiques et revue financière de l’Ontario de 2009.

Tableau 3
Sommaire des variations des revenus depuis la publication de
Perspectives économiques et revue financière de l’Ontario de 2009
(en millions de dollars)
    Chiffres prov.
2009-2010
Revenus fiscaux   257
Gouvernement du Canada    
Infrastructure (777)  
Autre 96  
    (681)
Revenus tirés des entreprises publiques    
Ontario Power Generation Inc. et Hydro One Inc. (186)  
Société des loteries et des jeux de l’Ontario (83)  
Régie des alcools de l’Ontario 93  
Toutes les autres entreprises publiques 7  
    (169)
Autres revenus non fiscaux    
Vente d’électricité 472  
Autres revenus non fiscaux (118)  
    354
Total des variations des revenus   (239)
  • Nota : Les prévisions publiées l’automne dernier dans Perpectives économiques et revue financière de l’Ontario de 2009 ont été redressées pour tenir compte des changements dans la présentation de l’information financière découlant de la consolidation sur une seule ligne des organismes du secteur parapublic sous contrôle gouvernemental. Pour une version redressée des perspectives de revenus indiquées dans le budget de l’Ontario de 2009 et dans Perspectives économiques et revue financière de l’Ontario de 2009, voir la section D du présent chapitre.

Variations des revenus

Voici les points saillants des principales variations des revenus en 2009‑2010 par rapport aux prévisions publiées l’automne dernier dans Perspectives économiques et revue financière de l’Ontario de 2009.

  • Les revenus fiscaux sont légèrement supérieurs (+0,4 %) aux prévisions en raison des changements favorables survenus dans la composition de la croissance économique.
  • Les transferts provenant du gouvernement du Canada pour l’infrastructure sont inférieurs de 777 millions de dollars aux prévisions, en raison de la révision du calendrier des projets d’immobilisations et des changements survenus dans le financement fédéral. Une portion considérable des dépenses prévues pour 2009‑2010 sera engagée en 2010‑2011 ou plus tard.

  • Les autres transferts du gouvernement du Canada sont supérieurs de 96 millions de dollars aux prévisions, ce qui est surtout attribuable au financement du Programme du marché du travail, qui a été réaménagé pour 2009-2010.

  • Le revenu net combiné tiré de Hydro One Inc. et de l’Ontario Power Generation Inc. (OPG) devrait être inférieur de 186 millions de dollars aux prévisions, en raison surtout de la baisse du prix du marché que reçoit OPG pour sa production d’électricité non soumise à la réglementation ou à un contrat.

  • Le revenu net de la Société des loteries et des jeux de l’Ontario est inférieur de 83 millions de dollars aux prévisions, en raison surtout de la baisse des recettes de jeu provenant des machines à sous et des casinos.

  • Le revenu net de la Régie des alcools de l’Ontario est supérieur de 93 millions de dollars aux prévisions, en raison des ventes plus vigoureuses que prévu, notamment pour les produits à marge de profit plus élevée.

  • Les revenus de toutes les autres entreprises publiques sont supérieurs de 7 millions de dollars aux prévisions, en raison surtout d’une modification comptable apportée à la présentation des résultats financiers de la Commission de transport Ontario Northland (CTON). Ce changement dans la présentation de l’information financière est neutre sur le plan financier.

  • Les revenus tirés de la vente d’électricité sont supérieurs de 472 millions de dollars aux prévisions en raison du contrat de soutien des centrales de Lambton et Nanticoke intervenu entre la Société financière de l’industrie de l’électricité de l’Ontario et l’OPG. L’augmentation des charges au titre de l’achat d’électricité relativement au contrat des centrales de Lambton et Nanticoke est entièrement compensée par l’augmentation des revenus recouvrés des consommateurs d’électricité grâce aux ventes d’électricité.

  • Les autres revenus non fiscaux sont inférieurs de 118 millions de dollars aux prévisions, en raison surtout des diminutions constatées au chapitre des redevances de liquidation de la dette (électricité), des droits d’immatriculation des véhicules et des permis de conduire, des redevances, ainsi que des autres droits, licences et permis. Ces diminutions sont partiellement compensées par la hausse des remboursements, et des revenus tirés des ventes et locations.

Charges au cours de l’exercice

On prévoit actuellement que le total des charges en 2009‑2010 sera de 117 739 millions de dollars, une diminution de 2 424,7 millions de dollars, soit 2,0 %, par rapport aux prévisions publiées l’automne dernier dans Perspectives économiques et revue financière de l’Ontario de 2009. 

Tableau 4
Sommaire des variations des charges depuis la publication de
Perspectives économiques et revue financière de l’Ontario de 2009
(en millions de dollars)
  Chiffres prov.
2009–2010
Variations des charges de programmes  
Secteur de la santé (599,6)
Secteur de l’éducation1 (47,5)
Secteur de l’éducation postsecondaire et de la formation professionnelle (237,9)
Secteur des services à l’enfance et des services sociaux 141,0
Secteur de la justice (62,4)
Autres variations des charges de programmes (1 142,3)
Total des variations des charges de programmes (1 948,7)
Intérêt sur la dette (476,0)
Total des variations des charges (2 424,7)
  • 1 Exclut le Régime de retraite des enseignantes et des enseignants de l’Ontario.

Variations des charges

Voici les points saillants des principales variations des charges en 2009‑2010 par rapport aux prévisions publiées l’automne dernier dans Perspectives économiques et revue financière de l’Ontario de 2009

  • Les charges dans le secteur de la santé sont inférieures de 599,6 millions de dollars aux prévisions, en raison surtout des coûts moins élevés que prévu de la lutte à la grippe H1N1 et d’une révision du calendrier des projets d’immobilisations liés au programme Infrastructure de loisirs du Canada en Ontario et au programme Loisirs Ontario qui seront maintenant mis en oeuvre en 2010‑2011.

  • Les charges dans le secteur de l’éducation sont inférieures de 47,5 millions de dollars aux prévisions, en raison des dépenses réduites du ministère de l’Éducation au chapitre de l’administration et d’autres programmes.

  • Les charges dans le secteur de l’éducation postsecondaire et de la formation professionnelle sont inférieures de 237,9 millions de dollars aux prévisions, en raison surtout de la révision du calendrier d’exécution de divers projets d’immobilisations.

  • Les charges dans le secteur des services à l’enfance et des services sociaux sont supérieures de 141,0 millions de dollars aux prévisions, ce qui s’explique surtout par la nécessité de financer la prestation de programmes aux membres vulnérables de la société, y compris les programmes d’aide sociale et les services de protection de l’enfance. Cette augmentation comprend également 18,3 millions de dollars pour des projets communautaires visant à appuyer la réfection des installations de services sociaux utilisées par les personnes vulnérables et à faible revenu.

  • Les charges dans le secteur de la justice sont inférieures de 62,4 millions de dollars aux prévisions, en raison surtout de la révision du calendrier des travaux de construction prévus pour les palais de justice et les établissements correctionnels.

  • Les autres charges de programmes sont inférieures de 1 142,3 millions de dollars aux prévisions en 2009‑2010, ce qui représente le reste des variations des charges de programmes. Ce chiffre tient compte des économies réalisées par les ministères par suite des mesures de gestion des dépenses, des calendriers révisés d’exécution de projets d’infrastructure qui seront achevés en 2010‑2011, ainsi que de la réduction des charges de divers organismes dont les résultats sont consolidés. Le fonds de prévoyance pour le fonctionnement a été maintenu à 50,0 millions de dollars, en raison des variations dans les charges qui pourraient se concrétiser lorsque les Comptes publics de 2009-2010 seront arrêtés.

  • Les charges relatives à l’intérêt sur la dette sont inférieures de 476,0 millions de dollars aux prévisions publiées dans Perspectives économiques et revue financière de l’Ontario de 2009. Ce montant découle de l’effet des taux d’intérêt moins élevés que prévu sur les titres de créances à taux d’intérêt variable, d’un recours accru au financement à courte échéance et d’un déficit moins important qu’on ne le prévoyait dans le document d’automne Perspectives économiques et revue financière de l’Ontario de 2009.