2010 Ontario Budget: Chapter II: Ontario's Economic Outlook and Fiscal Plan
Section E: Ontario's Fiscal Plan

Medium-Term Fiscal Outlook

The government’s plan over the medium term manages down growth in expenses and continues to follow through on policies that support jobs and growth to ensure future opportunity and prosperity. Details are provided in the table below.

Table 21
Medium-Term Fiscal Plan and Outlook1
($ Billions)
  Interim
2009–10
Plan
2010–11
Outlook
2011–12 2012–13
Total Revenue 96.4 106.9 107.7 112.0
Expense        
Programs 108.8 115.9 112.9 114.3
Interest on Debt 8.9 10.0 11.1 12.5
Total Expense 117.7 125.9 124.1 126.9
Reserve 0.7 1.0 1.0
Surplus/(Deficit) (21.3) (19.7) (17.3) (15.9)
  • 1 Both revenue and expense have been restated to reflect a fiscally neutral accounting change for the revised presentation of education property taxes.
  • Note: Numbers may not add due to rounding.

Medium-term revenue is projected to increase at an annual average rate of 5.1 per cent between 2009–10 and 2012–13, consistent with the economic outlook for nominal GDP growth.

Total expense is projected to increase by an average annual rate of 2.5 per cent from 2009–10 to 2012–13, which is about half the projected growth in revenue over the same period. This reflects the government’s continued commitment to follow through on policies that support jobs and growth while managing down growth in expenses.

Recognizing that the fragility of the global economy is a threat to Ontario’s continuing economic recovery, the fiscal plan includes prudence in the form of contingency funds of $2.0 billion in 2010–11 to offset potential expense changes, and a reserve of $0.7 billion in 2010–11 and $1.0 billion in 2011–12 and 2012–13.

Key Changes since the Fall 2009 Ontario Economic Outlook and Fiscal Review

As discussed further in the Addendum to the 2010 Ontario Budget: Ontario’s Plan to Enhance Accountability, Transparency and Financial Management, Education Property Taxes are now explicitly included in Provincial revenue and are no longer netted against Education expense. The following table shows the medium-term fiscal outlook as published in the Fall 2009 Ontario Economic Outlook and Fiscal Review, restated for this accounting change.

Table 22
Fall 2009 Ontario Economic Outlook and Fiscal Review1
Restated Medium-Term Fiscal Outlook
($ Billions)
  2009–10 2010–11 2011–12
Total Revenue 96.6 105.8 106.6
Expense      
Programs 110.8 115.2 112.9
Interest on Debt 9.4 10.6 11.9
Total Expense 120.2 125.8 124.8
Reserve 1.2 1.2 1.2
Surplus/(Deficit) (24.7) (21.1) (19.4)
  • 1 Both revenue and expense have been restated to reflect a fiscally neutral accounting change for the revised presentation of education property taxes.
  • Note: Numbers may not add due to rounding.

The following table outlines key changes to Ontario’s medium-term fiscal plan since the Fall 2009 Ontario Economic Outlook and Fiscal Review after it has been restated to reflect the accounting change.

Table 23
Change in Fiscal Outlook since the Fall
2009 Ontario Economic Outlook and Fiscal Review
($ Billions)
 
2009–10
2010–11
2011–12
Surplus / (Deficit) from Fall 2009 Ontario
Economic Outlook and Fiscal Review
(24.7)
(21.1)
(19.4)
Total Revenue Changes
(0.2)
1.0
1.2
Programs
Change in Infrastructure Expense
(1.6)
1.0
0.2
All Other Program Expense Changes
(0.4)
(0.3)
(0.2)
Total Program Expense Changes
(1.9)
0.7
0.0
Change in Interest on Debt Projections
(0.5)
(0.6)
(0.8)
Total Expense Changes
(2.4)
0.1
(0.7)
Change in Reserve
(1.2)
(0.5)
(0.2)
Fiscal Improvement since Fall 2009 Ontario
Economic Outlook and Fiscal Review
3.4
1.4
2.1
2010 Budget Surplus / (Deficit) (21.3) (19.7) (17.3)
  • Note: Numbers may not add due to rounding.

As outlined in the previous section, the medium-term forecast for total revenue is slightly lower in 2009–10 but higher in 2010–11 and 2011–12 compared with the Fall 2009 Ontario Economic Outlook and Fiscal Review.

Holding the line on program expense growth is a key reason the government has been able to improve on the fiscal targets outlined in the Fall 2009 Ontario Economic Outlook and Fiscal Review. In fact, the government’s medium-term expense outlook is on track with the projections included in the fall forecast. While immediate actions undertaken by the government to restrain spending are contributing to a projected decline in program expense of $1.9 billion this year, changes to the Province’s 2010–11 program expense forecast are mainly related to the revised timelines for the completion of infrastructure stimulus projects. As stimulus is wound down as planned at the end of 2010–11, the Province’s 2011–12 program expense outlook at $112.9 billion is unchanged from the projection in the Fall 2009 Ontario Economic Outlook and Fiscal Review.

Interest on debt expense is now lower than forecast in the Fall 2009 Ontario Economic Outlook and Fiscal Review. This change partly reflects the improved deficit projections over the medium term.

The reserve for 2009–10 has been drawn down to help offset the impact of slower economic growth on the Province’s fiscal performance. The reserve for 2010–11 and 2011–12 has been lowered to reflect the fact that the Ontario economy has stabilized and is showing signs of recovery.

In total, the fiscal outlook for the Province of Ontario has improved by $3.4 billion in 2009–10, $1.4 billion in 2010–11 and $2.1 billion in 2011–12, compared to the projections included in the Fall 2009 Ontario Economic Outlook and Fiscal Review.

Ontario’s Medium-Term Expense Outlook

Table 24
Summary of Medium-Term Expense Outlook1
($ Billions)
  Interim
2009–10
Plan
2010–11
Outlook
2011–12
2012–13
Programs
Health Sector 43.5 46.1 48.0 49.5
Education Sector2 20.6 21.4 22.3 23.0
Postsecondary and Training Sector 7.2 8.1 7.1 7.0
Children's and Social Services Sector 13.1 13.9 14.2 14.7
Justice Sector 3.9 4.4 4.6 4.7
Other Programs 20.5 22.0 16.7 15.5
Total Programs 108.8 115.9 112.9 114.3
Interest on Debt 8.9 10.0 11.1 12.5
Total Expense 117.7 125.9 124.1 126.9
  • 1 Both revenue and expense have been restated to reflect a fiscally neutral accounting change for the revised presentation of education property taxes.
  • 2 Excludes Teachers’ Pension Plan.
  • Note: Numbers may not add due to rounding.

Highlights of key program expenses over the medium term include the following:

  • Total health sector expense is projected to increase by $6.0 billion from 2009–10 to 2012–13. In addition to maintaining funding growth in major program areas such as hospitals, OHIP and long-term care, the government will continue to support priorities such as reducing emergency-room wait times and achieving results through the Ontario Diabetes Strategy.
  • Total education sector funding is projected to increase by $2.4 billion from 2009–10 to 2012–13. This increase includes additional Provincial grants to school boards to support improved student achievement and implementation of the government’s full-day learning initiative.
  • Total postsecondary and training sector expense is projected to increase by $0.9 billion in 2010–11, primarily due to new funding to support postsecondary enrolment growth and revised implementation schedules for various capital projects. From 2010–11 to 2012–13, expense stabilizes after accounting for one-time stimulus funding.
  • Total children’s and social services sector funding is projected to increase by $1.6 billion from 2009–10 to 2012–13. This is primarily due to increased expenses in social assistance, the Ontario Child Benefit and developmental services to cushion the effect of the recession on families and communities. It also takes into account $63.5 million in annual provincial funding for child care to permanently fill the gap left by the federal government.
  • Total justice sector expense is projected to increase by $0.8 billion between 2009–10 and 2012–13. This increase includes investments for various justice and community safety initiatives, including capital funding for courthouses and correctional facilities.
  • Other Programs expense is projected to decrease by $5.0 billion between 2010–11 and 2012–13. This decrease is mainly due to the phase-out of time-limited investments intended to help the Province emerge from the economic downturn and temporary relief for the transition to the new sales tax system, while also reflecting steps taken to manage overall expense.

Included in the total expense outlook is interest on debt, which is expected to increase by $3.6 billion over the medium term, mainly due to additional borrowing required to fund investments in infrastructure and deficits.

The government’s medium-term total expense outlook — which projects growth of no more than 2.5 per cent — also reflects the new measures announced in this Budget to restrain spending in support of the Province’s return to balance in 2017–18. This includes efficiency measures aimed at managing the overall rate of growth in spending — such as freezing base operating expenses at or below 2010–11 levels over the medium term and adjusting the timing of key infrastructure investments — as well as a new plan to support the transformation of key public services.

Risks to Expense Outlook

A heightened degree of global economic uncertainty remains despite clear signs of recovery. Ontario’s economy has been hit hard by the global economic downturn and this will continue to impact the Province’s overall fiscal plan, including the expense outlook.

The government’s 2010–11 expense plan includes contingency funds totalling $2.0 billion. The contingency funds will provide the government with the flexibility to respond in a timely manner to further challenges that may arise to Ontario’s continuing recovery.

The following table provides a summary of key expense risks and sensitivities that could result from unexpected changes in economic conditions and program demands. A change in these factors could impact total expense, causing variances in the overall fiscal forecast. It should be noted that these sensitivities and risks are illustrative and can vary, depending on the nature and composition of potential risks.

Table 25
Selected Expense Risks and Sensitivities
Program/Sector 2010–11 Assumption 2010–11 Sensitivity
Health Sector Annual growth of 6.0 per cent. One per cent change in health spending: $461 million.
Hospitals’ Sector Expense Annual growth of 4.9 per cent. One per cent change in hospitals’ sector expense: $206 million.
Drug Programs Utilization Annual growth of less than 7 per cent. One per cent change in program expenditure of all drug programs: $41 million (seniors and social assistance recipients).
Long-Term Care Homes 77,027 long-term care home beds. Average Provincial annual operating cost per bed in a long-term care home is $41,600. One per cent change in number of beds: approximately $34 million.
Home Care Approximately 19 million hours of homemaking and support services. One per cent change in hours of homemaking and support services: approximately $5 million.
Approximately 8 million nursing and professional visits. One per cent change in nursing and professional visits: approximately $6 million.
University Students1 357,700 full-time undergraduate and graduate students. One per cent enrolment change: $34 million.
College Students 177,000 full-time students. One per cent enrolment change: $13 million.
Ontario Works 267,195 average annual caseload. One per cent caseload change: $23 million.
Ontario Disability Support Program 274,469 average annual caseload. One per cent caseload change: $35 million.
Correctional System 3.2 million adult inmate days per year. Average cost $173 per inmate per day. One per cent change in inmate days: $5.6 million.
Interest on Debt Average cost of 2010–11 borrowing is forecast to be approximately 4.9 per cent. The 2010–11 impact of a 100 basis-point change in borrowing rates is forecast to be approximately $480 million.
  • 1 Based on 2009–10 estimates.

Compensation costs and wage settlements are also key cost drivers and could have a substantial impact on the finances of both broader public-sector partners and the Province.

Contingent Liabilities

In addition to the key demand sensitivities and economic risks to the fiscal plan, there are additional risks stemming from the government’s contingent liabilities. Whether these contingencies will result in actual liabilities for the Province is beyond the direct control of the government. Losses could result from legal settlements, defaults on projects, and loan and funding guarantees. Provisions for losses that are likely to occur and can be reasonably estimated are expensed and reported as liabilities in the Province’s financial statements. Significant contingent liabilities were disclosed as part of the 2008–09 Annual Report and Consolidated Financial Statements, released in September 2009.1

Fiscal Prudence

In addition to maintaining a prudent and responsible approach to managing growth in expenditures, the fiscal plan includes other key elements of prudence each year to help protect the government’s overall fiscal objectives and contribute to the achievement of fiscal targets.

In keeping with sound fiscal practices, the Province’s revenue outlook is based on prudent economic assumptions.

Consistent with requirements under the Fiscal Transparency and Accountability Act, 2004, the fiscal plan incorporates prudence in the form of a reserve to protect the fiscal outlook against adverse changes in the Province’s revenue and expense, including those resulting from changes in Ontario’s economic performance.

The fiscal plan also includes contingency funds (both operating and capital) totalling $2.0 billion in 2010–11 to help mitigate expense risks that may otherwise have a negative impact on results.

Budget de l’Ontario 2010 : Chapitre II : Perspectives économiques et plan financier de l’Ontario
Section E : Plan financier de l’Ontario

Perspectives financières à moyen terme

Le plan à moyen terme du gouvernement réduit l’augmentation des charges et continue de donner suite aux politiques qui appuient la création d’emplois et la croissance pour assurer les possibilités et la prospérité de demain. Le tableau ci-dessous renferme des précisions à cet égard.

Tableau 21
Plan financier et perspectives à moyen terme1
(en milliards de dollars)
  Chiffres prov.
2009-2010
Plan
2010-2011
Perspectives
2011-2012 2012-2013
Total des revenus 96,4 106,9 107,7 112,0
Charges        
Programmes 108,8 115,9 112,9 114,3
Intérêt sur la dette 8,9 10,0 11,1 12,5
Total des charges 117,7 125,9 124,1 126,9
Reserve 0,7 1,0 1,0
Excédent/(Déficit) (21,3) (19,7) (17,3) (15,9)
  • 1 Tant les revenus que les charges ont été redressés pour tenir compte d’une modification comptable neutre sur le plan financier découlant de la présentation révisée des impôts fonciers prélevés aux fins scolaires.
  • Nota : Les totaux peuvent ne pas correspondre à la somme des chiffres, qui ont été arrondis.

Les revenus à moyen terme devraient progresser au taux annuel moyen de 5,1 % de 2009-2010 à 2012-2013, conformément aux perspectives économiques de croissance du PIB nominal.

Quant à lui, le total des charges devrait croître à un taux annuel moyen de 2,5 % de 2009-2010 à 2012-2013. Ce taux est inférieur d’environ 50 % au taux de croissance prévue des revenus pendant la même période. Cela témoigne de la détermination continue du gouvernement à donner suite aux politiques qui appuient la création d’emplois et la croissance tout en réduisant le rythme de croissance des charges.

Étant donné que la fragilité de l’économie mondiale menace la poursuite de la reprise économique en Ontario, la province fait preuve de prudence en incluant dans son plan financier, d’une part, un fonds de prévoyance de 2,0 milliards de dollars en 2010‑2011 pour compenser les variations éventuelles dans les charges et, d’autre part, une réserve de 0,7 milliard de dollars en 2010-2011 et de 1,0 milliard de dollars en 2011-2012 et en 2012-2013.

Principales variations depuis la publication de Perspectives économiques et revue financière de l’Ontario de 2009 l’automne dernier

Comme nous l’expliquons plus en détail dans l’addenda au budget de l’Ontario de 2010, Plan de l’Ontario pour renforcer la responsabilité, la transparence et la gestion financière, les impôts fonciers prélevés aux fins scolaires sont maintenant explicitement inclus dans les revenus provinciaux et ne sont plus déduits des charges dans le domaine de l’éducation. Le tableau ci-dessous illustre les perspectives financières à moyen terme telles qu’elles sont présentées dans Perspectives économiques et revue financière de l’Ontario de 2009, publié l’automne dernier, et redressées en fonction de cette modification comptable.

Tableau 22
Perspectives économiques et revue financière de l’Ontario de 20091
Perspectives financières à moyen terme redressées
(en milliards de dollars)
  2009-2010 2010-2011 2011-2012
Total des revenus 96,6 105,8 106,6
Charges      
Programmes 110,8 115,2 112,9
Intérêt sur la dette 9,4 10,6 11,9
Total des charges 120,2 125,8 124,8
Réserve 1,2 1,2 1,2
Excédent/(Déficit) (24,7) (21,1) (19,4)
  • 1 Tant les revenus que les charges ont été redressés pour tenir compte d’une modification comptable neutre sur le plan financier découlant de la présentation révisée des impôts fonciers prélevés aux fins scolaires.
  • Nota : Les totaux peuvent ne pas correspondre à la somme des chiffres, qui ont été arrondis.

Le tableau suivant énumère les principales variations au plan financier à moyen terme de l’Ontario depuis la publication, l’automne dernier, de Perspectives économiques et revue financière de l’Ontario de 2009, après redressement en fonction de la modification comptable.

Tableau 23
Variations aux perspectives financières depuis la publication de
Perspectives économiques et revue financière de l’Ontario de 2009
(en milliards de dollars)
 
2009-2010
2010-2011
2011-2012
Excédent/Déficit par rapport aux prévisions de Perspectives économiques et revue financière de l’Ontario de 2009
(24,7)
(21,1)
(19,4)
Total des variations de revenus
(0,2)
1,0
1,2
Programmes
Variations des charges liées à l’infrastructure
(1,6)
1,0
0,2
Ensemble des autres variations des charges de programmes
(0,4)
(0,3)
(0,2)
Total des variations des charges de programmes
(1,9)
0,7
0,0
Variation des prévisions relatives à l’intérêt sur la dette
(0,5)
(0,6)
(0,8)
Total des variations des charges
(2,4)
0,1
(0,7)
Variation de la réserve
(1,2)
(0,5)
(0,2)
Amélioration financière depuis la publication de Perspectives économiques et revue financière de l’Ontario de 2009
3,4
1,4
2,1
Excédent/(Déficit) par rapport au budget de 2010 (21,3) (19,7) (17,3)
  • Nota : Les totaux peuvent ne pas correspondre à la somme des chiffres, qui ont été arrondis.

Comme nous le décrivons dans la section précédente, les prévisions à moyen terme relativement au total des revenus sont légèrement inférieures en 2009-2010, mais supérieures en 2010-2011 et en 2011‑2012, aux données figurant dans Perspectives économiques et revue financière de l’Ontario de 2009.

Le gouvernement a obtenu des résultats supérieurs aux objectifs financiers fixés dans Perspectives économiques et revue financière de l’Ontario de 2009 en limitant notamment la croissance des charges de programmes. En fait, les perspectives des charges à moyen terme de l’Ontario sont conformes aux projections incluses dans les prévisions de l’automne. Même si les mesures immédiates prises par le gouvernement pour limiter les dépenses ont contribué à la diminution prévue de 1,9 milliard de dollars des charges de programmes cette année, les modifications aux prévisions des charges de programmes de la province pour 2010-2011 sont principalement rattachées aux calendriers modifiés applicables à la réalisation des projets de stimulation liés à l’infrastructure. Comme les mesures de stimulation arriveront à terme comme prévu à la fin de 2010-2011, les perspectives des charges de programmes de la province pour 2011-2012, qui s’élèvent à 112,9 milliards de dollars, resteront inchangées par rapport aux projections énoncées dans le document Perspectives économiques et revue financière de l’Ontario de 2009, publié l’automne dernier.

Les frais rattachés à l’intérêt sur la dette sont aujourd’hui inférieurs aux prévisions énoncées dans Perspectives économiques et revue financière de l’Ontario de 2009. Cette modification reflète en partie les projections améliorées du déficit par rapport aux projections à moyen terme.

Le gouvernement a utilisé la réserve de 2009-2010 afin de contrebalancer en partie les incidences du ralentissement de la croissance économique sur les résultats financiers de la province. La réserve pour 2010‑2011 et 2011-2012 a été réduite par suite de la stabilisation de l’économie ontarienne et de l’apparition des premiers signes de la reprise.

Bref, les perspectives financières de la province de l’Ontario se sont accrues de 3,4 milliards de dollars en 2009-2010, de 1,4 milliard de dollars en 2010-2011 et de 2,1 milliards de dollars en 2011-2012 comparativement aux projections incluses dans le document Perspectives économiques et revue financière de l’Ontario de 2009, publié l’automne dernier.

Tableau 24
Sommaire des perspectives des charges à moyen terme1
(en milliards de dollars)
  Chiffres prov.
2009-2010
Plan
2010-2011
Perspectives
2011-2012
2012-2013
Programmes
Secteur de la santé 43,5 46,1 48,0 49,5
Secteur de l’éducation2 20,6 21,4 22,3 23,0
Secteur de l’enseignement postsecondaire et de la formation 7,2 8,1 7,1 7,0
Secteur des services sociaux et des services à l’enfance 13,1 13,9 14,2 14,7
Secteur de la justice 3,9 4,4 4,6 4,7
Autres programmes 20,5 22,0 16,7 15,5
Total des charges de programmes 108,8 115,9 112,9 114,3
Intérêt sur la dette 8,9 10,0 11,1 12,5
Total des charges 117,7 125,9 124,1 126,9
  • 1 Tant les revenus que les charges ont été redressés pour tenir compte d’une modification comptable neutre sur le plan financier découlant de la présentation révisée des impôts fonciers prélevés aux fins scolaires.
  • 2 Exclut le Régime de retraite des enseignantes et des enseignants de l’Ontario.
  • Nota : Les totaux peuvent ne pas correspondre à la somme des chiffres, qui ont été arrondis.

Les points saillants des principales charges de programmes à moyen terme comprennent ce qui suit :

  • Secteur de la santé – Le total des charges de ce secteur devrait croître de 6,0 milliards de dollars de 2009‑2010 à 2012‑2013. En plus de maintenir la croissance du financement des principaux secteurs de programmes comme les hôpitaux, l’Assurance-santé de l’Ontario et les soins de longue durée, le gouvernement continuera d’appuyer des priorités comme la réduction des délais d’attente dans les salles des urgences et l’obtention de résultats grâce à la Stratégie ontarienne de lutte contre le diabète.
  • Secteur de l’éducation – Le total du financement de ce secteur devrait progresser de 2,4 milliards de dollars de 2009‑2010 à 2012‑2013. Cette hausse comprend les subventions provinciales supplémentaires versées aux conseils scolaires afin d’améliorer les résultats scolaires et la mise en oeuvre de l’initiative d’apprentissage à temps plein des jeunes enfants.
  • Secteur de l’enseignement postsecondaire et de la formation – Le total des charges de ce secteur devrait augmenter de 0,9 milliard de dollars en 2010-2011, en raison principalement des nouvelles aides financières destinées à appuyer la croissance des inscriptions au palier postsecondaire et des calendriers révisés d’exécution de divers projets d’immobilisations. De 2010-2011 à 2012-2013, les charges se stabiliseront après comptabilisation des fonds non renouvelables de stimulation.
  • Secteur des services sociaux et des services à l’enfance – Le total du financement de ce secteur devrait augmenter de 1,6 milliard de dollars de 2009-2010 à 2012-2013. Cette hausse est principalement attribuable à l’élévation des charges rattachées à l’aide sociale, à la Prestation ontarienne pour enfants et aux services aux personnes ayant une déficience intellectuelle, programmes qui visent à protéger les familles et les collectivités des contrecoups de la récession. Elle tient également compte du financement annuel de 63,5 millions de dollars du gouvernement provincial au titre de la garde d’enfants destiné à combler en permanence le déficit financier laissé par le gouvernement fédéral.
  • Secteur de la justice – Le total des charges de ce secteur devrait progresser de 0,8 milliard de dollars de 2009-2010 à 2012-2013. Cette augmentation comprend des investissements au titre de diverses initiatives dans les domaines de la justice et de la sécurité communautaire, notamment des fonds à l’égard des immobilisations des tribunaux et des établissements correctionnels.
  • Autres charges de programmes – Ces charges devraient diminuer de 5,0 milliards de dollars de 2010-2011 à 2012-2013. Cette baisse est principalement attribuable à l’élimination progressive des investissements à durée limitée visant à aider la province à se remettre du ralentissement économique, à la fin du soutien temporaire destiné à faciliter la transition vers un nouveau système de taxe de vente, ainsi qu’aux mesures prises pour gérer l’ensemble des charges.

Le total des perspectives des charges comprend l’intérêt sur la dette, qui devrait augmenter de 3,6 milliards de dollars à moyen terme, en raison surtout de l’emprunt plus élevé contracté pour financer les investissements dans l’infrastructure et les déficits.

Les perspectives des charges totales à moyen terme du gouvernement, qui prévoient une croissance d’au plus 2,5 %, tiennent compte aussi des nouvelles mesures annoncées dans le présent budget pour restreindre les dépenses visant à appuyer le retour de la province à l’équilibre budgétaire en 2017-2018. Sont comprises les mesures visant à accroître l’efficience et destinées à gérer le taux général de croissance des dépenses, comme le gel des charges de fonctionnement de base aux niveaux de 2010-2011 ou en deçà de ces niveaux à moyen terme, et la modification du calendrier d’exécution des principaux investissements dans l’infrastructure de même qu’un nouveau plan pour appuyer la transformation des principaux services publics.

Risques pour les perspectives de charges

Un niveau élevé d’incertitude économique continue de régner à l’échelle planétaire malgré des signes manifestes de reprise. Le ralentissement économique mondial a durement touché l’économie de l’Ontario, et il continuera d’avoir des incidences sur le plan financier général de la province, y compris les perspectives de charges.

Le gouvernement a inclus dans ses prévisions des charges pour 2010‑2011 un fonds de prévoyance de 2,0 milliards de dollars. Ce fonds de prévoyance donnera au gouvernement une certaine souplesse pour réagir de façon appropriée aux autres défis qui pourraient affecter la reprise économique continue de la province.

Le tableau qui suit résume les risques et sensibilités clés que pourraient entraîner des changements imprévus à la conjoncture économique et à la demande liée aux programmes. Un changement dans ces facteurs pourrait avoir une incidence sur les charges totales, ce qui entraînerait des variations dans les prévisions financières globales. Il convient de signaler que ces risques et sensibilités ne sont que des indications et qu’ils peuvent varier selon la nature et la composition des risques possibles.

Tableau 25
Certains risques et sensibilités liés aux charges
Programme/Secteur Hypothèses 2010-2011 Sensibilités 2010-2011
Secteur de la santé Croissance annuelle de 6,0 %. Variation de 1 % des charges du secteur de la santé : 461 millions de dollars.
Charges du secteur hospitalier Croissance annuelle de 4,9 %. Variation de 1 % des charges du secteur hospitalier : 206 millions de dollars.
Utilisation des programmes de médicaments Croissance annuelle inférieure à 7 %. Variation de 1 % dans les dépenses de programmes de tous les programmes de médicaments : 41 millions de dollars (personnes âgées et bénéficiaires de l’aide sociale).
Foyers de soins de longue durée 77 027 lits de soins de longue durée. Le coût moyen de fonctionnement provincial d’un lit dans un foyer de soins de longue durée est de 41 600 $ par année. Variation de 1 % du nombre de lits : environ 34 millions de dollars.
Soins à domicile Environ 19 millions d’heures de service d’aides familiales et de soutien. Variation de 1 % des heures de service d’aides familiales et de soutien : environ 5 millions de dollars.
Environ 8 millions de visites par du personnel infirmier et des professionnels de la santé. Variation de 1 % des visites par du personnel infirmier et des professionnels de la santé : environ 6 millions de dollars.
Étudiants universitaires1 357 700 étudiants à temps plein du premier cycle et des cycles supérieurs. Variation de 1 % des effectifs : 34 millions de dollars.
Étudiants de niveau collégial 177 000 étudiants à temps plein. Variation de 1 % des effectifs : 13 millions de dollars.
Ontario au travail 267 195 dossiers par année, en moyenne. Variation de 1 % du nombre de dossiers : 23 millions de dollars.
Programme ontarien de soutien aux personnes handicapées 274 469 dossiers par année, en moyenne. Variation de 1 % du nombre de dossiers : 35 millions de dollars.
Système correctionnel 3,2 millions de jours-détenus adultes par année. Coût moyen de 173 $ par jour par détenu. Variation de 1 % des jours-détenus : 5,6 millions de dollars.
Intérêt sur la dette Coût moyen d’emprunt prévu en 2010-2011 : environ 4,9 %. Incidence prévue en 2010-2011 d’une variation de 100 points de base des taux d’emprunt : environ 480 millions de dollars.
  • 1 Selon les prévisions de 2009-2010.

Les coûts de rémunération et les règlements salariaux constituent aussi d’importants inducteurs de coûts et pourraient avoir une incidence considérable tant sur les finances des partenaires du secteur parapublic que sur celles de la province.

Passif éventuel

Outre les principaux risques économiques et sensibilités liés à la demande auxquels il est exposé, le plan financier est aussi assujetti à d’autres risques découlant du passif éventuel du gouvernement. La concrétisation ou non de ces éventualités échappe au contrôle direct du gouvernement. Il pourrait essuyer des pertes à la suite de règlements judiciaires, de manquements dans le cadre de projets et de garanties de prêt ou de financement. Des provisions pour pertes ayant de fortes chances de se réaliser et dont on peut raisonnablement faire une estimation sont imputées au titre des passifs dans les états financiers de la province. Un passif éventuel considérable a été divulgué dans le document Rapport annuel et États financiers consolidés de 2008-2009, qui a été publié en septembre 20091.

Prudence financière

En plus de maintenir un processus prudent et responsable pour contenir la croissance des charges, le plan financier intègre d’autres éléments de prudence clés chaque année afin de protéger les objectifs financiers généraux du gouvernement et de favoriser la réalisation des objectifs financiers.

Conformément à des pratiques financières judicieuses, les perspectives de revenus de la province sont fondées sur des hypothèses économiques prudentes.

Pour satisfaire aux exigences de la Loi de 2004 sur la transparence et la responsabilité financières, le plan financier se fonde sur une approche prudente et prévoit une réserve visant à protéger les perspectives financières contre les variations défavorables des revenus et des charges de la province, y compris celles qui découlent de changements dans le rendement économique de l’Ontario.

Le plan financier inclut également des fonds de prévoyance (pour le fonctionnement et les immobilisations) totalisant 2,0 milliards de dollars en 2010-2011 pour atténuer les risques liés aux charges qui pourraient autrement avoir une incidence négative sur les résultats.