2010 Ontario Budget: Chapter II: Ontario's Economic Outlook and Fiscal Plan
Section F: A Stronger Ontario for a Stronger Canada


The Ontario and federal governments have worked well together recently to strengthen Ontario’s economy. This partnership has produced real results: significant economic stimulus through infrastructure investments; financial support for Ontario’s auto sector; service delivery improvements and cooperation in regulatory activities; and enhanced competitiveness through sales tax harmonization.

Ontario is concerned, however, with the trend of disappearing federal financial commitment in key areas. When federal support for provincial programs is time-limited, declines over time or ends, it can leave provinces with significant ongoing financial pressures and negatively affect citizens who rely on these key services.

To build on past successes and achieve results, the Province is calling on the federal government to invest in the future success of Ontarians and recognize that Canada’s success depends on a strong and competitive Ontario.

Federal Transfers and Support for a Stronger Ontario

Ontario welcomes the federal government’s decision to continue transfers that support hospitals and schools, and to extend the funding for another year to 2014–15.

Ontario will continue to press the federal government to protect these existing federal transfers, renew health care funding agreements, strengthen investments in postsecondary education and training programs, live up to the Canada–Ontario Immigration Agreement, support Ontario’s green economy, help Ontario’s First Nations, and locate the principal operations for a Canadian Securities Regulator in Toronto.

The Need for a Reliable Long-Term Funding Partner

Ontario is disappointed that the federal government has stepped away from ensuring stability in the child care sector. The last federal payment under the Early Learning and Child Care Agreement was made in 2006–07. This final payment helped the Province sustain approximately 8,500 subsidized child care spaces to the end of 2009–10.

However, access to affordable high-quality child care and full-day learning programs is crucial to working families. The government will not allow the end of federal funding to disrupt the progress made to date, and the services that parents with young children rely on. The Province remains committed to supporting Ontario families and will step in with an investment of $63.5 million per year to permanently fill the funding gap left by the federal government. This funding will support on an ongoing basis the 8,500 child care spaces.

In other areas, the Province will be unable to make up the lost support when the federal government vacates its funding responsibilities and will have to consider the implications of time-limited funding before entering into further agreements with the federal government.

The funding enhancements to the Labour Market Agreement and the Labour Market Development Agreement announced in the 2009 federal budget helped to provide much-needed assistance to workers affected by the global recession. These enhancements, however, will expire after the 2010–11 fiscal year. As employment tends to lag economic recovery, Ontario strongly believes that extending the time-limited, federally funded enhancements is necessary and that responsibility for funding these extensions rests with the federal government.

The federal government is also not fully living up to its commitment to support new Canadians. During the first four years of the Canada–Ontario Immigration Agreement, the federal government underspent by an estimated $193 million, shortchanging new Canadians who come to Ontario.

That is why it is important that Ontario and the federal government begin to negotiate a new immigration agreement that would include devolution to the Province of settlement and language training and full funding for these programs.

A Partnership for Results

As a leader in the green economy, Ontario is looking to the federal government to substantially extend its funding commitments for the environment, beyond carbon capture and storage projects, to support Ontario’s transition to a prosperous low-carbon economy. The Province calls on the federal government to show leadership on climate change, to help Ontario businesses take advantage of the changes that are coming to the North American market and to help create jobs for Ontarians.

The federal government also has the opportunity to enhance an already successful partnership on tax harmonization by supporting Ontario’s First Nations.

The Province continues to call on the federal government to work with Ontario and First Nations to determine a mutually agreeable method of administering a point-of-sale exemption under the Harmonized Sales Tax that best corresponds to Ontario’s current administrative approach under the Retail Sales Tax.

Budget de l’Ontario 2010 : Chapitre II : Perspectives économiques et plan financier de l’Ontario
Section F : Un Ontario plus fort pour un Canada plus fort

AperÇu

Le gouvernement de l’Ontario et le gouvernement fédéral ont collaboré avantageusement ces derniers temps pour renforcer l’économie de la province. Ce partenariat a donné des résultats tangibles : une importante stimulation de l’économie grâce à des investissements dans l’infrastructure; une aide financière au secteur de l’automobile en Ontario; l’amélioration de la prestation des services et une collaboration en matière de réglementation; et l’accroissement de la compétitivité grâce à l’harmonisation de la taxe de vente.

Toutefois, l’Ontario s’inquiète du fait que l’engagement financier du gouvernement fédéral est à la baisse dans des secteurs clés. Lorsque le soutien fédéral à l’égard de programmes provinciaux est d’une durée limitée, qu’il diminue avec le temps ou qu’il est interrompu, les provinces peuvent avoir à composer avec d’importantes pressions financières et les citoyens qui dépendent des services clés risquent d’être pénalisés.

Afin de miser sur les succès antérieurs et d’obtenir des résultats, la province prie le gouvernement fédéral d’investir dans la réussite future de la population ontarienne et de reconnaître que le succès du Canada repose sur un Ontario fort et compétitif.

Paiements de transfert du gouvernement fédéral et soutien à l’égard d’un Ontario plus fort

L’Ontario salue la décision du gouvernement fédéral de maintenir les paiements de transfert destinés aux hôpitaux et aux écoles, et de continuer de les financer une année de plus, soit jusqu’en 2014-2015.

L’Ontario continuera de demander instamment au gouvernement fédéral de protéger les paiements de transfert existants, de renouveler les accords de financement des services de santé, d’augmenter les investissements dans l’enseignement postsecondaire et les programmes de formation, de respecter l’Accord Canada-Ontario sur l’immigration, d’appuyer l’économie verte de l’Ontario, d’aider les Premières nations en Ontario, et d’établir les principales activités d’un organisme commun de réglementation des valeurs mobilières à Toronto.

Besoin d’un partenaire financier à long terme fiable

L’Ontario est déçu que le gouvernement fédéral ait cessé de chercher à assurer la stabilité du secteur de la garde des enfants. Le dernier versement fédéral en vertu de l’Accord sur l’apprentissage et la garde des jeunes enfants a été fait en 2006-2007. Ce paiement final a permis au gouvernement provincial de subventionner quelque 8 500 places de garderie jusqu’à la fin de 2009-2010.

Toutefois, il est indispensable que les familles de travailleurs aient accès à des services de garde de qualité et abordables ainsi qu’à des programmes d’apprentissage à temps plein. Le gouvernement ne permettra pas que la cessation des paiements de transfert du gouvernement fédéral nuise aux progrès réalisés jusqu’à présent et aux services sur lesquels comptent les parents ayant de jeunes enfants. La province reste déterminée à appuyer les familles de l’Ontario et investira 63,5 millions de dollars par année pour combler de façon permanente le déficit de financement causé par l’interruption de l’aide fédérale. Ces fonds subventionneront sur une base permanente les 8 500 places de garderie mentionnées ci-dessus.

Dans d’autres secteurs, le gouvernement provincial ne pourra pas compenser l’aide perdue quand le gouvernement fédéral cessera de s’acquitter de ses responsabilités en matière de financement et il devra examiner les incidences d’un financement à durée limitée avant de conclure d’autres ententes avec le gouvernement fédéral.

Les bonifications financières de l’Entente sur le marché du travail et de l’Entente sur le développement du marché du travail annoncées dans le budget fédéral de 2009 ont permis d’offrir une aide bien nécessaire aux travailleurs touchés par la récession mondiale. Toutefois, ces bonifications prendront fin après l’exercice 2010-2011. Comme l’emploi a tendance à accuser un certain retard par rapport à la reprise économique, l’Ontario croit fermement qu’il est impératif de prolonger les bonifications à durée limitée du gouvernement fédéral. Il est aussi d’avis que la responsabilité de ce financement incombe au gouvernement fédéral.

Le gouvernement fédéral ne respecte pas non plus l’engagement pris en matière de soutien aux néo-Canadiens. Pendant les quatre premières années de l’Accord Canada-Ontario sur l’immigration, le gouvernement fédéral a versé environ 193 millions de dollars de moins qu’il aurait dû et les nouveaux arrivants qui se sont installés en Ontario ont fait les frais de cette réduction de l’aide financière.

Voilà pourquoi il est important que l’Ontario et le gouvernement fédéral entreprennent des négociations en vue de la conclusion d’un nouvel accord sur l’immigration qui engloberait le transfert à la province de la responsabilité de l’établissement des nouveaux arrivants et de leur formation linguistique de même que le financement intégral de ces programmes.

Partenariat synonyme de résultats

En sa qualité de chef de file dans le domaine de l’économie verte, l’Ontario s’attend à ce que le gouvernement fédéral accroisse considérablement ses engagements financiers sur le plan environnemental sans se limiter à des projets de captage et de stockage du carbone, afin d’appuyer la transition de l’Ontario vers une économie prospère à faibles émissions de carbone. Le gouvernement provincial prie le gouvernement fédéral de faire preuve de leadership face au changement climatique pour aider les entreprises de la province à profiter des changements qui seront apportés au marché nord-américain et appuyer la création d’emplois dans la province.

Le gouvernement fédéral a aussi la possibilité d’améliorer un partenariat déjà couronné de succès sur l’harmonisation de la taxe en appuyant les Premières nations de la province.

Le gouvernement provincial prie toujours le gouvernement fédéral de collaborer avec la province et les Premières nations à la mise au point d’un mode d’administration d’une exemption au point de vente de la taxe de vente harmonisée qui fera l’objet d’un commun accord et qui correspondra au mode actuel d’administration de la taxe de vente au détail en Ontario.