2010 Ontario Budget: Chapter II: Ontario's Economic Outlook and Fiscal Plan
Section G: Accountability, Transparency and Financial Management

The government is committed to ensuring Ontarians receive the best value for their tax dollars. This objective is achieved by enhancing the public’s understanding of government finances, improving transparency in financial reporting and strengthening accountability to the public.

Details of the government’s plan to strengthen accountability and provide greater transparency in the reporting of government finances are presented in the Addendum to the 2010 Ontario Budget: Ontario’s Plan to Enhance Accountability, Transparency and Financial Management.

Enhancing Public Understanding of Government Finances

Ontario, along with the federal, territorial and other provincial governments, has been working with the Public Sector Accounting Board (PSAB) of the Canadian Institute of Chartered Accountants (CICA) to improve public-sector financial reporting. The aim is to ensure that Canadian public-sector accounting standards continue to support sound public policy decision-making, government fiscal accountability and the clear transparent reporting of information on government finances to the public.

Ontario and the other governments in Canada are concerned that changes PSAB recently proposed to accounting standards are inconsistent with these objectives. Ontario raised these concerns with PSAB through an interjurisdictional Joint Working Group of senior government and accounting standards officials. The Group identified concerns with PSAB’s conceptual framework that underlies the board’s development of all public-sector accounting standards in Canada.

The government believes Ontarians, and all Canadians, need a set of public-sector accounting standards that:

  • reflects governments’ public policy objectives and the role of public-sector organizations in delivering public services;
  • supports governments’ and public-sector organizations’ accountability for the spending of tax dollars;
  • reflects the unique structure of governments and the public sector in Canada; and
  • gives the public transparent and understandable information on government finances.

Currently, the CICA prescribes four different sets of accounting standards for use in the public sector in Canada. In 2011, the CICA will introduce another set, International Financial Reporting Standards. Each of these sets of standards measures, records and reports public-sector financial results differently. This results in public-sector organizations reporting different financial results in similar circumstances. This distorts transparency and fiscal accountability for the expenditure of public monies.

Accordingly, there is a need for PSAB to establish a consistent set of accounting standards for all public-sector organizations in Canada as soon as possible. In the interim, the Ontario government will provide direction to provincial government organizations and enterprises to ensure consistent, transparent financial reporting and fiscal accountability are sustained throughout Ontario’s public sector.

Improved Transparency in Financial Reporting

Starting with this Budget, for improved transparency in reporting, a number of important changes have been implemented in how revenues and expenses are presented. These presentation changes do not impact the Province’s annual surplus or deficit results or accumulated deficit. These changes affect the presentation of:

  • education property taxes and school board expenses;
  • refundable property and sales tax credits; and
  • net debt.

Strengthening Accountability To The Public

As part of continuing efforts to strengthen the financial management, transparency and accountability of Ontario’s ministries and agencies, the government is enhancing existing policies and processes to improve accountability, oversight and reporting, including:

  • strengthening the assurance that Ontario’s ministries and government agencies are spending taxpayer dollars wisely, including strict new guidelines on procurement and hospitality expenses;
  • strong control measures to ensure stimulus grants are spent wisely by recipient organizations. These controls ensure that funds are spent for the intended purpose and that results are achieved on time and on budget;
  • enhancing the quality and transparency of disclosures under the Public Sector Salary Disclosure Act, 1996 by disclosing salaries of individuals earning over $100,000 who are seconded to government ministries from public-sector organizations; and
  • proposing a number of amendments to the Financial Administration Act and other related statutes to improve financial management and reporting transparency. These amendments include the government’s authority to direct organizations in the province’s reporting entity on which accounting policies to apply when preparing their financial statements.

Budget de l’Ontario 2010 : Chapitre II : Perspectives économiques et plan financier de l’Ontario
Section G : Responsabilité, transparence et gestion financière

Le gouvernement s’est engagé à veiller à ce que l’argent des contribuables ontariens soit utilisé de façon judicieuse. Cet objectif est atteint en accroissant la compréhension du public à l’égard des finances du gouvernement, la transparence de l’information financière et la responsabilité à l’égard du public.

Les détails du plan du gouvernement visant à accroître la responsabilité et la transparence en ce qui concerne la communication de l’information sur sa situation financière sont présentés dans l’addenda au budget de l’Ontario de 2010, Plan de l’Ontario pour renforcer la responsabilité, la transparence et la gestion financière.

ACCROÎTRE LA COMPRÉHENSION DU PUBLIC À L’ÉGARD DES FINANCES DU GOUVERNEMENT

L’Ontario, de concert avec les gouvernements du Canada, des autres provinces et des territoires, collabore avec le Conseil sur la comptabilité dans le secteur public (CCSP) de l’Institut Canadien des Comptables Agréés (ICCA) afin d’améliorer la communication de l’information financière du secteur public. On souhaite ainsi que les normes comptables pour le secteur public canadien continuent d’appuyer la prise de décisions sensées en matière de politiques stratégiques, la responsabilité financière du gouvernement et la communication de renseignements clairs et transparents sur les finances publiques.

L’Ontario et les autres gouvernements du Canada craignent que les modifications que le CCSP a récemment proposé d’apporter aux normes comptables ne respectent pas ces objectifs. L’Ontario a fait part de ces préoccupations au CCSP par l’entremise d’un groupe de travail conjoint intergouvernemental, formé de hauts fonctionnaires et de responsables des normes comptables. Ce groupe a fait état de préoccupations à l’égard du cadre qu’utilise le CCSP pour élaborer toutes les normes comptables canadiennes pour le secteur public.

Le gouvernement estime que la population de l’Ontario et du reste du Canada a besoin d’une série de normes comptables pour le secteur public qui :

  • correspond aux objectifs des gouvernements en matière de politiques publiques et au rôle que jouent les organismes du secteur public dans la prestation des services publics;

  • aide les gouvernements et les organismes du secteur public à rendre des comptes sur l’utilisation de l’argent des contribuables;

  • tient compte de la structure unique des gouvernements et du secteur public au Canada;

  • fournit au public des renseignements transparents et faciles à comprendre sur les finances gouvernementales.

À l’heure actuelle, l’ICCA prescrit quatre séries de normes comptables pour le secteur public au Canada. En 2011, il présentera une autre série de normes, soit les Normes internationales d’information financière. Chacune de ces séries de normes établit des critères différents pour l’évaluation et la comptabilisation des résultats financiers du secteur public, et la présentation de rapports à ce sujet. Il en résulte que des organismes du secteur public présentent des résultats financiers différents dans des circonstances similaires. Cela va à l’encontre des principes de transparence et de responsabilité financière pour les dépenses publiques.

Par conséquent, le CCSP doit, dès que possible, établir une série cohérente de normes comptables s’appliquant à tous les organismes du secteur public au Canada. D’ici là, le gouvernement de l’Ontario fournira des directives aux organismes et entreprises publiques provinciaux pour assurer la communication transparente et uniforme de l’information financière et la responsabilité financière dans tout le secteur public de la province.

ACCROÎTRE LA TRANSPARENCE De L’INFORMATION FINANCIÈRE

À partir du présent budget, afin de rendre l’information plus transparente, on a apporté des changements importants dans la façon de présenter les revenus et les charges. Les modifications apportées touchent uniquement la présentation et n’ont aucune incidence sur l’excédent ou le déficit annuel de la province ni sur le déficit accumulé. Ces changements ont trait à la présentation de ce qui suit :

  • les impôts fonciers prélevés aux fins scolaires et les charges des conseils scolaires;

  • les crédits d’impôts fonciers et de taxe de vente remboursables;

  • la dette nette.

ACCROÎTRE LA RESPONSABILITÉ À L’ÉGARD DU PUBLIC

Dans le cadre des efforts déployés constamment pour renforcer la gestion financière, la transparence et la responsabilité des ministères et des organismes de l’Ontario, le gouvernement améliore les politiques et les processus en place de façon à favoriser la responsabilité, la surveillance et la communication de l’information financière. Les mesures prises :

  • visent à assurer à la population que les ministères et les organismes du gouvernement de l’Ontario dépensent les deniers publics de façon judicieuse; on a notamment établi de nouvelles lignes directrices strictes pour l’approvisionnement et les frais d’accueil;

  • englobent la mise en oeuvre des mesures de contrôle strictes pour veiller à ce que les subventions de stimulation soient dépensées judicieusement par les organisations bénéficiaires; ces mesures visent à s’assurer que les fonds sont consacrés aux fins prévues et que les résultats sont obtenus à temps et en respectant le budget établi;

  • visent à améliorer la qualité et la transparence des divulgations faites en vertu de la Loi de 1996 sur la divulgation des traitements dans le secteur public en divulguant les traitements des employés d’organismes du secteur public gagnant plus de 100 000 $ qui sont en détachement dans des ministères;

  • proposent un certain nombre de modifications à la Loi sur l’administration financière et à d’autres lois connexes en vue d’améliorer la gestion financière et la transparence de l’information financière. Ces modifications englobent le pouvoir du gouvernement de dicter aux organismes faisant partie de l’entité comptable de la province quelles méthodes comptables utiliser lorsqu’ils préparent leurs états financiers.