: Public Sector Compensation Restraint

Resources

Government Holds Compensation Consultations

On July 20, 2010, the Honourable Dwight Duncan, Minister of Finance, spoke to a group of Broader Public Sector employer and union leaders, to reiterate the need for broader public sector compensation restraint and the government’s intention to work with its partners to achieve collective bargaining outcomes consistent with the government's Policy Statement of no net increases to compensation for two years. 

The Minister of Finance announced that the government will pursue detailed consultations with BPS bargaining agents and employers about reaching collective agreements that comply with the Policy Statement. The talks are to  involve a respectful dialogue in which the government welcomes the parties’ views, opinions and proposals on how they can come together to reach agreements acceptable to everyone, including the taxpayers, given the current fiscal realities.

Government officials are now proceeding with these consultations. Those officials are facilitating discussions between employers and bargaining agents and participating as a party. The consultations were tentatively scheduled in three phases of two weeks' duration each, as set out below. Due to the number of partners that the government is consulting and the time needed for detailed discussions, and scheduling challenges, each phase has carried over into the following week.

Phase 1 – August 9th to 22nd

  • Ontario Public Service Employees Union across Sectors
  • Canadian Auto Workers across Sectors
  • Service Employees International Union across Sectors
  • University Faculty Associations (full-time faculty)
  • Ontario Public Service bargaining agents (Association of Management Administrative and Professional Crown Employees of Ontario; Professional Engineers, Government of Ontario; Association of Law Officers of the Crown; Ontario Crown Attorneys’ Association; Association of Ontario Physicians and Dentists in the Public Service)
  • Ontario Provincial Police Association

Phase 2 – August 30th to September 12th

  • Ontario Nurses’ Association across the Health Sector
  • Ontario Medical Association
  • Internes and Residents
  • Canadian Union of Public Employees across Sectors
  • Various unions with significant presence in the following sectors Community Services, Hospitals, Long Term Care, Child/Family/Adult Services:
    • Canadian Office Professional Employees
    • Christian Labour Association
    • United Steel Workers
    • Labourers
    • Food & Commercial Workers

Phase 3 – September 20th to October 3rd

  • Teachers unions in the Education Sector
  • Power Workers Union and Society of Energy Professionals in the Energy Sector
  • Amalgamated Transit Union in GO Transit

Invitations for the phases were sent to all the bargaining agents listed above, and key employers associations or individual employers that have collective bargaining relationships with those unions. The unions with the largest representation in the relevant sectors and the key employers were invited to participate in the consultations.

The goal of consultations is to reach framework understandings or agreements. To support this goal, the government will provide details of the current fiscal situation and canvass the views and proposals of the collective bargaining parties. There will be a full exploration of means of achieving the outcomes set out in the Policy Statement.  While government representatives will act as facilitators, individual employers and unions would have to agree with and ratify any collective bargaining outcomes.  

While these consultations are ongoing, the Minister of Finance has requested that the collective bargaining parties agree to pause their contract negotiations and put interest arbitrations on hold to allow this consultation to proceed.

Page: 3015  |

: Mesures de restriction de la rémunération dans le secteur public

Le gouvernement mène les consultations sur la rémunération

Le 20 juillet 2010, l’honorable Dwight Duncan, ministre des Finances, s’est adressé à un groupe d’employeurs et de dirigeants syndicaux du secteur parapublic afin de réaffirmer la nécessité d’adopter des mesures de restriction de la rémunération dans le secteur parapublic et l’intention du gouvernement de travailler avec ses partenaires à la conclusion de négociations collectives conformes à la Déclaration de principes du gouvernement, laquelle ne prévoit aucune hausse nette des montants payés en rémunération pendant deux ans.

Le ministre des Finances a annoncé que le gouvernement continuera de consulter les agents négociateurs et les employeurs du secteur parapublic afin de négocier des conventions collectives qui respectent la Déclaration de principes. Grâce à ces discussions, le gouvernement espère établir un dialogue respectueux dans le cadre duquel il s’engage à entendre les avis et les propositions des parties sur la meilleure façon de collaborer pour parvenir à des conventions acceptables pour tous, y compris pour les contribuables, compte tenu des réalités financières actuelles.

Les représentants du gouvernement ont maintenant lancé ces consultations. Ils facilitent les discussions entre les employeurs et les agents négociateurs, et agiront en tant que partie. Les consultations se dérouleront en trois étapes de deux semaines chacune, comme l’indique le calendrier provisoire ci-dessous. Étant donné le nombre de partenaires que le gouvernement consulte, le temps nécessaire à des consultations approfondies et les problèmes de calendrier, chaque étape se poursuit jusqu’à la semaine suivante.

Étape 1 – Du 9 au 22 août

  • Syndicat des employés de la fonction publique de l’Ontario dans tous les secteurs
  • TCA dans tous les secteurs
  • Service Employees International Union dans tous les secteurs
  • Associations des Professeurs des Universités de l’Ontario (corps professoral à temps plein)
  • Agents négociateurs de la fonction publique de l’Ontario (Association des employées et employés gestionnaires, administratifs et professionnels de la Couronne de l’Ontario; Ingénieurs - gouvernement de l’Ontario; Association des avocats de la Couronne; Ontario Crown Attorneys’ Association; Association of Ontario Physicians and Dentists in the Public Service)
  • Association de la Police provinciale de l’Ontario

Étape 2 – Du 30 août au 12 septembre

  • Association des infirmières et infirmiers de l’Ontario dans le secteur de la santé
  • Ontario Medical Association
  • Internes et résidents
  • Syndicat canadien de la fonction publique dans tous les secteurs
  • Divers syndicats ayant une présence importante dans les secteurs suivants : services communautaires, hôpitaux, soins de longue durée, services aux enfants, aux familles et aux adultes
    • Syndicat canadien des employées et employés professionnels et de bureau
    • Association ouvrière chrétienne
    • Syndicat des Métallos
    • Ouvriers
    • Travailleurs unis de l’alimentation et du commerce (TUAC)

Étape 3 – Du 20 septembre au 3 octobre

  • Syndicats de professeurs dans le secteur de l’éducation
  • Power Workers’ Union et Society of Energy Professionals dans le secteur de l’énergie
  • Syndicat uni du transport dans GO Transit
Des invitations pour chacune des étapes ont été envoyées aux agents négociateurs susmentionnés, ainsi qu’aux principales associations patronales ou aux employeurs individuels engagés dans des négociations collectives avec ces syndicats. Les principaux employeurs et syndicats des secteurs visés ont également été invités à participer aux consultations.

L’objectif des consultations est de parvenir à des accords ou à des conventions collectives de base. Pour appuyer cet objectif, le gouvernement fournira des renseignements précis sur la situation financière actuelle et sondera l’opinion des parties aux négociations. Les moyens pour atteindre les résultats prévus dans la Déclaration de principes seront évalués avec soin. D’un côté, les représentants du gouvernement agiront comme facilitateurs, de l’autre, les employeurs individuels et les syndicats devront se mettre d’accord sur les négociations collectives, puis les approuver.

Ces consultations sont en cours; le ministre des Finances a d’ailleurs demandé aux parties à la table des négociations de suspendre les discussions relatives à leurs conventions ainsi que les procédures d’arbitrage de différends pour permettre aux consultations d’avoir lieu.

Page : 3015  |