: Question and Answers — Compensation Restraint Compliance

The Public Sector Compensation Restraint to Protect Public Services Act, 2010 prohibits compensation increases for non-bargaining employees in the broader public sector for two years. Each employer captured under this Act must provide the Minister of Finance with a compliance report for the period ending March 31st, 2011 and for the period from April 1st, 2011 to March 31st, 2012. The compliance report is available on the ServiceOntario Central Forms Repository at: www.forms.ssb.gov.on.ca/.

Broader public sector employers should send signed compliance reports to the appropriate government sector ministry early enough to allow ministries to submit these reports to the Minister of Finance. Signed compliance reports for the restraint period from April 1, 2011 to March 31, 2012 must be received by the Minister of Finance on or before May 1, 2012.

Q1. What is the Public Sector Compensation Restraint to Protect Public Services Act, 2010?

The Public Sector Compensation Restraint to Protect Public Services Act, 2010 sets out measures which are part of the government's plan to protect services for the public. The Act received Royal Assent on May 18, 2010.

For employees who do not collectively bargain compensation, the Act prohibits increases to rates of pay, pay ranges, benefits, perquisites and other payments in effect on March 24, 2010, before the beginning of April 2012, unless permitted by specified exceptions.

Q2. Who is covered by the Public Sector Compensation Restraint to Protect Public Services Act, 2010?

The Act applies to Ontario Public Service (OPS) staff who do not bargain collectively as well as most non-municipal employees in the broader public sector who do not bargain collectively, including political and legislative staff. All the organizations noted below are covered under the Act:

  • The Crown in right of Ontario.
  • Agencies of the Crown.
  • Authorities, boards, commissions, corporations, offices or organizations of persons a majority of whose directors, members or officers are appointed or chosen by or under the authority of the Lieutenant Governor in Council or a member of the Executive Council.
  • The Office of the Lieutenant Governor in Council, the Office of the Assembly, members of the Assembly and offices of persons appointed on an address of the Assembly.
  • Every board as defined in the Education Act.
  • Every university in Ontario and every college of applied arts and technology and post-secondary institution in Ontario whether or not affiliated with a university, the enrolments of which are counted for purposes of calculating annual operating grants and entitlements.
  • Every hospital referred to in the list of hospitals and their grades and classifications maintained by the Minister of Health and Long-Term Care under the Public Hospitals Act.
  • Every board of health under the Health Protection and Promotion Act.
  • Hydro One Inc., each of its subsidiaries, Ontario Power Generation Inc. and each of its subsidiaries.
  • Every other authority, board, commission, corporation, office or organization of persons that may be prescribed.

Q3. Who is not covered by the Act?

The Act does not apply to municipalities and local boards of municipalities as defined in subsection 1(1) of the Municipal Act, 2001, other than local boards of health.

Q4. Are other organizations, not specifically identified as “public sector employers” in the Act, subject to the restraint requirements?

Some organizations are covered if they received a significant amount of funding from the Province. The Act applies to an employer if the organization is an authority, board, commission, corporation, office or organization of persons, other than one described above, that meets the following conditions:

  • It received at least $1,000,000 in funding from the Government of Ontario in 2009, as determined for the purposes of the Public Sector Salary Disclosure Act, 1996; and
  • It does not carry on its activities for the purpose of gain or profit to its members or shareholders.

Q5. What is required of employers covered by the Act to ensure compliance?

The Public Sector Compensation Restraint to Protect Public Services Act, 2010 requires that each employer subject to the Act provide the Minister of Finance with a compliance report which includes a statement from the highest ranking officer confirming compliance with the Act throughout the reporting period.

Q6. Where do I submit the report?

Compliance Reports are to be forwarded to the ministry that provides the bulk of an employer's public funding. Each funding ministry will identify a contact person who will receive the forms.

Q7. Where may I get more detail on the requirements?

The compliance report and further information on broader public sector compensation restraint are available online at: www.ontario.ca/compensation

Q8. Which organizations need to submit a report?

All organizations covered by the Act are required to submit a compliance report for the restraint period from April 1, 2011 to March 31, 2012 no later than May 1, 2012.

Q9. What if an organization is not sure if it is subject to the Act?

If an organization is uncertain if it is covered by the legislation, it should seek direction from the Public Sector Compensation Restraint Board. The Public Sector Compensation Restraint Board (the PSCRB) is an adjudicative tribunal established under section 14 of the Act. Employers, employees, office holders and the Minister of Finance may apply to the PSCRB for an order declaring whether the Act applies to an employer, employee or office holder.

The Public Sector Compensation Restraint Board can be reached at:

  • http://www.pscrb.gov.on.ca
  • Reception: 416-326-7500
  • Toll-Free: 1-877-339-3335
  • Fax: 416-326-7531
  • Hearing Impaired (TTY): 416-212-7036

: Questions et réponses – Mesures de restriction de la rémunération

La Loi de 2010 sur les mesures de restriction de la rémunération dans le secteur public visant à protéger les services publics interdit, pendant deux ans, toute hausse de rémunération des employés du secteur parapublic exclus des négociations. Chaque employeur auquel s’applique la présente loi doit présenter au ministre des Finances un rapport de conformité pour la période se terminant le 31 mars 2011 ainsi que pour la période allant du 1er avril 2011 au 31 mars 2012. Le rapport de conformité est disponible sur le site central des formulaires de ServiceOntario à : http://www.forms.ssb.gov.on.ca/.

Les employeurs du secteur parapublic doivent envoyer un rapport de conformité signé au ministère du secteur concerné suffisamment tôt afin de permettre à tous les ministères de transmettre ces rapports au ministre des Finances. Le ministre des Finances doit avoir reçu les rapports de conformité signés pour la période de restriction allant du 1er avril 2011 au 31 mars 2012 au plus tard le 1er mai 2012.

Q1. En quoi consiste la Loi de 2010 sur les mesures de restriction de la rémunération dans le secteur public visant à protéger les services publics?

La Loi de 2010 sur les mesures de restriction de la rémunération dans le secteur public visant à protéger les services publics énonce des mesures qui s’inscrivent dans le cadre du plan du gouvernement visant à protéger les services publics. La Loi a obtenu la sanction royale le 18 mai 2010.

En ce qui concerne les employés qui reçoivent une rémunération qui n’est pas établie dans une convention collective, la Loi interdit toute hausse de rémunération, y compris les taux ou salaires, échelles salariales, avantages sociaux, avantages accessoires ou autres paiements, qui étaient en vigueur en date du 24 mars 2012, avant le début d’avril 2012, sauf dans des circonstances bien précises.

Q2. Qui est concerné par la Loi de 2010 sur les mesures de restriction de la rémunération dans le secteur public visant à protéger les services publics?

La Loi s’applique aux employés de la fonction publique de l’Ontario (FPO) qui reçoivent une rémunération qui n’est pas établie dans une convention collective ainsi qu’à la plupart des employés non municipaux du secteur parapublic qui reçoivent une rémunération qui n’est pas établie dans une convention collective, y compris le personnel politique et législatif. Tous les organismes cités ci-après sont concernés par la Loi :

  • la Couronne du chef de l’Ontario;
  • les organismes qui en relèvent;
  • les offices, conseils, commissions, personnes morales, bureaux et organisations de personnes dont la majorité des administrateurs, des membres ou des dirigeants sont nommés ou choisis par le lieutenant-gouverneur en conseil ou par un membre du Conseil exécutif, ou sous leur autorité;
  • le Bureau du lieutenant-gouverneur de l’Ontario, le Bureau de l’Assemblée, les membres de l’Assemblée et les bureaux des personnes nommées sur adresse de l’Assemblée;
  • les conseils au sens de la Loi sur l’éducation;
  • les universités de l’Ontario ainsi que les collèges d’arts appliqués et de technologie et les établissements postsecondaires — qu’ils soient affiliés ou non à une université — dont l’effectif entre dans le calcul des subventions de fonctionnement annuelles et des sommes auxquelles ils ont droit;
  • les hôpitaux mentionnés sur la liste des hôpitaux et de leurs classes et catégories que tient le ministre de la Santé et des Soins de longue durée aux termes de la Loi sur les hôpitaux publics;
  • les conseils de santé visés par la Loi sur la protection et la promotion de la santé;
  • Hydro One Inc. et chacune de ses filiales ainsi que Ontario Power Generation Inc. et chacune de ses filiales;
  • les autres offices, conseils, commissions, personnes morales, bureaux et organisations de personnes qui sont prescrits.

Q3. Qui n’est pas concerné par la Loi?

La Loi ne s’applique pas aux municipalités et aux conseils locaux au sens du paragraphe 1(1) de la Loi de 2001 sur les municipalités, à l’exclusion des conseils de santé locaux.

Q4. Y a-t-il d’autres organismes, qui ne sont pas nommément identifiés comme étant des « employeurs du secteur public » dans la Loi, à qui s’appliquent les exigences relatives aux mesures de restriction?

Certains organismes sont concernés s’ils ont reçu un important financement du gouvernement de l’Ontario. La Loi s’applique à tout employeur qui est un office, un conseil, une commission, une personne morale, un bureau ou une organisation de personnes, à l’exclusion de ceux visés plus haut, qui satisfait aux conditions suivantes :

  • Il a reçu du gouvernement de l’Ontario, en 2009, une aide financière d’au moins 1 000 000 $ calculée pour l’application de la Loi de 1996 sur la divulgation des traitements dans le secteur public; et
  • Il exerce ses activités sans but lucratif pour ses membres ou ses actionnaires.

Q5. Qu’exige-t-on des employeurs auxquels s’applique la Loi en matière de conformité?

La Loi de 2010 sur les mesures de restriction de la rémunération dans le secteur public visant à protéger les services publics exige que chaque employeur auquel s’applique la présente loiprésente au ministre des Finances un rapport de conformité qui comprend une déclaration signée par le dirigeant de l’employeur qui occupe le rang le plus élevé attestant que l’employeur a observé les mesures de restriction énoncées dans la Loi pendant toute la période visée.

Q6. À qui dois-je envoyer mon rapport?

Le rapport de conformité doit être transmis au ministère qui accorde la majeure partie du financement public à un employeur. Chaque ministère concerné désignera une personne-ressource qui réceptionnera les rapports.

Q7. Où puis-je obtenir plus de détails sur les exigences?

Le rapport de conformité et des renseignements complémentaires sur les mesures de restriction de la rémunération dans le secteur parapublic peuvent être consultés en ligne à : www.ontario.ca/remuneration.

Q8. Quels sont les organismes qui doivent transmettre un rapport?

Tous les organismes auxquels s’applique la Loi sont tenus de présenter un rapport de conformité pour la période de restriction allant du 1er avril 2011 au 31 mars 2012 au plus tard le 1er mai 2012.

Q9. Que faire si un organisme n’est pas certain que la Loi s’applique à lui?

Si un organisme n’est pas certain si la loi s’applique à lui, il doit se renseigner auprès de la Commission des mesures de restriction de la rémunération dans le secteur public. La Commission des mesures de restriction de la rémunération dans le secteur public (la Commission) est un tribunal décisionnel, créé en vertu de l'article 14 de la Loi. Les employeurs, employés, titulaires d'une charge et le ministre des Finances peuvent demander à la Commission de rendre une ordonnance statuant sur l'application de la Loi à un employeur, à un employé ou au titulaire d'une charge.

Voici les coordonnées de la Commission des mesures de restriction de la rémunération dans le secteur public :

  • http://www.pscrb.gov.on.ca/french/index.htm
  • Réception : 416 326-7500
  • Sans frais : 1 877 339-3335
  • Téléc. : 416 326-7531
  • Malentendants (ATS) : 416 212-7036