: 2010 Ontario Budget: Sector Highlights
Aboriginal Affairs

Aboriginal Affairs

The McGuinty government is committed to building stronger, more positive relationships with the First Nations, Métis and Inuit peoples of Ontario. Its goal is to create economic opportunities and improve the quality of life for young and growing Aboriginal populations.

2010 Ontario Budget

The province is creating jobs, improving social conditions and promoting economic sustainability for Aboriginal Peoples in Ontario.

Initiatives announced in the 2010 Ontario Budget include providing $45 million over three years for a new project-based skills training program to help Aboriginal Peoples and northern Ontarians participate in and benefit from emerging economic development opportunities. This includes the Ring of Fire – an area of Ontario’s Far North with potentially large deposits of minerals such as chromite, nickel, copper and platinum.

The program will also help develop capacity in the North to undertake base mapping, develop resource inventories and gather other information to support community-based land-use planning and environmentally sustainable development that benefits Aboriginal Peoples, northern Ontarians and Ontario as a whole.

The government will also appoint a Ring of Fire Coordinator to work and consult with Aboriginal Peoples, northern Ontarians and the mining community to encourage responsible and sustainable economic development related to the Ring of Fire. For more information, see Backgrounder: Creating Jobs through New Investments in Postsecondary Education and Northern Ontario.

The province continues to call on the federal government to work with Ontario and First Nations to determine a mutually agreeable method of administering a point-of-sale exemption under the Harmonized Sales Tax that best corresponds to Ontario’s current administrative approach under the Retail Sales Tax.

Recent Achievements

The province invests about $600 million annually in programs and services for Aboriginal Peoples through various ministries across the Ontario government. This includes investments in children and social services, health care services, justice and policing initiatives, and education and training programs.

Recent initiatives include:

  • Approving a new agreement between the Ontario Lottery and Gaming Corporation and the Chippewas of Mnjikaning First Nation (Rama) to secure the continued operation of Casino Rama in Rama First Nation. The 20-year agreement, which takes effect August 1, 2011, provides additional financial benefits and opportunities for development for Rama First Nation, including one-time funding of $2.3 million for a new training and development centre. With more than 500 Aboriginal employees, Casino Rama is the largest single-site employer of Aboriginal Peoples in Canada
  • Launching the $250 million Aboriginal Loan Guarantee Program (ALGP) to support Aboriginal equity participation in renewable green energy and transmission infrastructure projects. A complementary Aboriginal Energy Partnership Program will help develop community energy plans, fund feasibility studies and develop an Aboriginal Renewable Energy Network
    • The ALGP is now fully operational and supports incentives in the Ontario Power Authority’s feed-in tariff program for renewable energy that encourages partnerships with local Aboriginal communities
  • Providing $15 million over two years for sports and recreation infrastructure projects in approximately 40 communities
  • Proceeding with an Aboriginal procurement program to ensure that Aboriginal businesses have greater opportunities for doing business with the province
  • In the spirit of building a better working relationship, co-hosting the first ever Ontario First Nations Economic Forum on January 14-15, 2010, at the Fort William First Nation Reserve, to assist First Nations economic development. All parties, including the federal government and other First Nations leaders, are committed to maintaining an economic development forum to establish a coordinated approach to building more sustainable economies for First Nations across Ontario
  • Hosting the Working Relationships: Principles and Practices Forum on consultation and accommodation best practices with government, industry and First Nations in the spring of 2009
  • Building and enhancing existing relationship agreements and creating new agreements and tables with Aboriginal communities, including:
    • The Anishinabek Nation Bilateral Roundtable and a Letter of Intent with the Grand Council of Treaty #3
    • Continuing discussions with Nishnawbe Aski Nation on a number of issues through a formal table process
    • Signing a political accord with Six Nations
    • Working with the Association of Iroquois and Allied Indians on an Accord Relationship
    • Signing a Framework Agreement with the Métis Nation of Ontario. The intent of this agreement is to work together to improve the well-being of children, families and communities while protecting and promoting the distinct culture, identity and heritage of the Métis people
  • Taking the leadership on a new Provincial-Territorial Aboriginal process that includes a working group, which will report to the Council of the Federation in August 2010. These are the first meetings since 2005
  • Working in partnership with the Ontario Aboriginal Housing Support Services Corporation and Miziwe Biik Development Corporation to support an $80 million housing program for Aboriginal families living off-reserve
  • Creating a new student bursary program to help Aboriginal students in financial need attend college, university or Aboriginal postsecondary institutions in Ontario.

In addition, the Ontario government, together with its Aboriginal partners, continues to work on several multi-year strategic initiatives, including building partnerships that enhance economic development. These include:

New Relationship Fund

Launched in December 2008, the New Relationship Fund helps First Nations communities and Métis organizations develop the resources, capacity and skills necessary to enhance and improve business and economic-development partnership opportunities. About 250 projects involving First Nations communities, Métis communities and urban Aboriginal organizations have received funding under the New Relationship Fund. Through the 2010 Budget, the government is annualizing this funding and will provide approximately $60 million over the next four years.

Land Claims

In August 2009, the Province signed a landmark Framework Agreement with the Algonquins and Canada, and opened a land claim consultation office.

Over the past year, 10 more land claims were removed from the land claim backlog, and Ontario is on target to eliminate much of the backlog by 2011.

In August 2009, Ontario signed an Agreement in Principle with the Pays Plat First Nation and the federal government.

Modernization of Ontario’s Mining Act

The Mining Amendment Act, 2009 includes a number of progressive provisions that respond to the concerns of First Nations and Métis communities while promoting balanced, sustainable development and a vibrant industry. Broad-based consultations on the regulations are currently underway.

Resource-Benefits Sharing

In April 2009, the Ontario government reaffirmed its commitment to resource-benefits sharing with Aboriginal communities by setting aside $30 million towards this initiative. The Ontario government is working with Aboriginal communities province-wide to discuss the potential elements of a plan for resource-benefits sharing.

Resource-benefits sharing is a way to include Aboriginal communities in the benefits of natural resource development. It is designed to encourage skills training, job creation and economic development opportunities for Aboriginal communities, and promote economic spin-offs that will benefit regional economies and Ontario as a whole.

Ipperwash Inquiry Priorities and Action Committee

On March 1, 2010, the government began moving to deregulate Ipperwash Provincial Park so that the land can be transferred to the federal government, a step closer to returning the land to the Chippewas of the Kettle and Stony Point First Nation. This transfer will bring important social and economic benefits to this First Nation community.

Assessment and implementation of the Ipperwash Inquiry Report’s recommendations will continue, including the First Nations policing review.

Far North Planning Initiative

The government is working with First Nations communities on a land-use planning process to promote environmentally sustainable development and protection of 50 per cent of Ontario’s northern Boreal forest.

The planning process for the Far North enshrines a new respect and working relationship with First Nations through land-use planning. Community-based land-use plans will be led by local First Nations, working jointly with the Ministry of Natural Resources, and plans will require the agreement of local First Nations. Land-use planning gives First Nations a greater say in the future of their communities and will balance the social, environmental and economic interests
of First Nations and Ontario.

In 2008, the government committed $30 million over four years to support this plan and build capacity for Far North First Nations.

Growth Plan for Northern Ontario

In October 2009, the government released a proposed 25-year Growth Plan for Northern Ontario for public review and comment. A key priority of the proposed plan is to work with Aboriginal Peoples to increase participation in the future economic growth of northern Ontario and to achieve better health status for Aboriginal communities. This builds on more than three years of dialogue with Aboriginal Peoples, northerners and other key partners.

Achievements Since 2003

Since 2003, the McGuinty government has introduced a number of other targeted initiatives to support economic opportunities and improve the quality of life for Aboriginal communities. These include:

  • Signing a historic $3 billion Gaming Revenue Sharing and Financial Agreement, announced in 2008, which provides a stable revenue source to First Nations to invest in education, health, economic, community and social development
  • $19 million to fund community and business-related projects through the Aboriginal Community Capital Grants program, which helps improve social infrastructure in communities and provides a better environment for business and industry
  • More than $33.5 million to Aboriginal communities through Northern Ontario Heritage Fund Corporation programs
  • $6 million annually to the Akwe:go and Wasa-Nabin programs to provide at-risk urban Aboriginal children and their families with culturally relevant and community-based supports
  • Providing an endowment of $3 million to the Council of Ontario Universities to support the creation of a Research chair in Métis Studies, in cooperation with the Métis Nation of Ontario. The Chair will undertake research to create a greater understanding of the Métis people in Ontario
  • $1.5 million, to be matched by the Heart and Stroke Foundation of Ontario, to establish a Research Chair in Aboriginal and Rural Health at the northern Ontario School of Medicine
  • A First Nation, Métis and Inuit Education Policy Framework to give Aboriginal children and youth a chance at a brighter and more promising future
  • Passing legislation in May 2008 to establish Algoma University as an independent, degree-granting university. Algoma now has greater independence to focus on the postsecondary needs of the North and the significant population of Aboriginal students it serves.

: Budget de l’Ontario 2010 :
Points saillants - secteur
Affaires autochtones

Affaires autochtones

Le gouvernement McGuinty est déterminé à établir des relations plus solides et plus dynamiques avec les Premières nations, les Métis et les Inuits de l’Ontario dans le but de créer des débouchés économiques et d’améliorer la qualité de vie de la population autochtone jeune et grandissante.

Budget de l’Ontario de 2010

La province crée des emplois, améliore la condition sociale des peuples autochtones de l’Ontario et encourage la viabilité économique de leurs communautés. 

Parmi les initiatives annoncées dans le budget de l’Ontario de 2010 figure l’octroi de 45 millions de dollars sur trois ans en vue de créer un nouveau programme de formation professionnelle dispensé dans le cadre de projets. Ce programme aidera les peuples autochtones et les résidents du Nord à se prévaloir et à bénéficier des possibilités de développement économique émergentes, en particulier celles du Cercle de feu, une zone du Grand Nord de l’Ontario pouvant contenir d’importants gisements de minéraux comme la chromite, le nickel, le cuivre et le platine.

Grâce à ce programme, la région du Nord pourra aussi se doter de compétences lui permettant d’entreprendre des activités de cartographie de base, procéder à un inventaire des ressources et recueillir d’autres données servant à appuyer, à l’échelon communautaire, l’aménagement du territoire et un développement viable sur le plan environnemental, au bénéfice des peuples autochtones, des résidents du Nord et de l’Ontario dans son ensemble.

Le gouvernement désignera aussi un coordonnateur du développement du Cercle de feu qui travaillera en collaboration et en consultation avec les communautés autochtones et du Nord ainsi qu’avec l’industrie minière afin de favoriser un développement économique responsable et durable dans le Cercle de feu. Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter le document d’information : Création d’emplois grâce à de nouveaux investissements dans l’éducation postsecondaire et le Nord de l’Ontario.

Le gouvernement de l’Ontario prie toujours le gouvernement fédéral de collaborer avec la province et les Premières nations à la mise au point d’un mode d’administration d’une exemption au point de vente de la taxe de vente harmonisée qui fera l’objet d’un commun accord et qui correspondra au mode actuel d’administration de la taxe de vente au détail en Ontario.

Réalisations récentes

La province investit environ 600 millions de dollars par année dans des programmes et des services destinés aux peuples autochtones par l’entremise de différents ministères du gouvernement de l’Ontario. Ces investissements comprennent des fonds au titre des services à l’enfance et des services sociaux, des services de soins de santé, des initiatives liées à la justice et aux services de police, et des programmes d’éducation et de formation.

Parmi les initiatives récentes figurent :

  • l’approbation d’une nouvelle entente entre la Société des loteries et des jeux de l’Ontario et la Première nation chippewa de Mnjikaning (Rama) pour assurer le maintien en activité du Casino Rama, situé dans la Première nation de Rama. D’une durée de 20 ans, cette entente entrera en vigueur le 1er août 2011 et procurera à la Première nation de Rama des avantages financiers et des occasions de développement additionnels, y compris un financement non renouvelable de 2,3 millions de dollars en vue de l’établissement d’un nouveau centre de formation et de perfectionnement. Fort de plus de 500 employés autochtones, Casino Rama constitue le plus grand employeur de personnes autochtones sur un même site au Canada;
  • le lancement du Programme de garanties d’emprunt pour les Autochtones (PGEA), doté d’un budget de 250 millions de dollars, pour appuyer la participation des Autochtones au capital social de projets d’infrastructure liés à la production et à la transmission d’énergie verte renouvelable. Un programme complémentaire, le Programme de partenariats énergétiques pour les Autochtones, favorisa l’élaboration de plans énergétiques communautaires, le financement d’études de faisabilité et la formation d’un Réseau d’information sur l’énergie renouvelable pour les Autochtones;
    • le PGEA, qui est maintenant pleinement opérationnel, appuie les initiatives en matière d’énergie renouvelable mises en oeuvre dans le cadre du Programme de tarifs de rachat garantis de l’Office de l’électricité de l’Ontario, qui encourage les partenariats avec les communautés autochtones locales;
  • l’octoi de 15 millions de dollars sur deux ans en vue de projets d’infrastructure ayant trait aux sports et aux loisirs dans quelque 40 communautés;
  • la mise en oeuvre d’un programme d’approvisionnement pour les Autochtones afin de donner aux entreprises autochtones plus d’occasions de faire affaires avec la province;
  • le premier forum économique des Premières nations de l’Ontario, tenu dans le but de forger de meilleures relations de travail et organisé par la province et ses partenaires les 14 et 15 janvier 2010, dans la réserve de la Première nation de Fort William, pour favoriser le développement économique des Premières nations. Toutes les parties, y compris le gouvernement fédéral et des dirigeants d’autres Premières nations, sont déterminées à maintenir un forum de développement économique pour établir une approche coordonnée visant à accroître la viabilité économique des Premières nations de l’ensemble de l’Ontario;
  • la présentation du Forum sur les principes et les pratiques pour de bonnes relations de travail portant sur les meilleures pratiques en matière de consultation et d’hébergement, qui a réuni des membres du gouvernement, de l’industrie et des Premières nations au printemps de 2009;
  • le resserrement d’accords de relations existants et la conclusion de nouveaux accords et tables de négociation avec les communautés autochtones, y compris :
    • la Table ronde bilatérale de la Nation Anishinabek et la rédaction d’une lettre d’intention avec le Grand conseil du Traité no 3;
    • la poursuite des discussions avec les collectivités de la Nation Nishnawbe Aski au sujet de plusieurs questions importantes par l’entremise d’une table de négociation officielle;
    • la signature d’un accord politique avec les Six Nations;
    • la collaboration avec l’Association of Iroquois and Allied Indians sur un accord de relations;
    • la signature d’une entente cadre avec la Métis Nation of Ontario. Cette entente a pour objet de travailler conjointement en vue d’améliorer le bien-être des enfants, des familles et des collectivités, tout en protégeant et en encourageant la culture, l’identité et le patrimoine distincts du peuple métis;
  • la mise sur pied d’une initiative pour l’établissement d’un nouveau processus provincial-territorial sur les autochtones comprenant la création d’un groupe de travail. Celui-ci présentera un rapport au Conseil de la fédération en août 2010. Il s’agit des premières réunions depuis 2005;
  • la collaboration avec la Ontario Aboriginal Housing Support Services Corporation et la Miziwe Biik Development Corporation afin d’appuyer un programme de logement de 80 millions de dollars destiné aux familles autochtones vivant à l’extérieur des réserves;
  • la création d’un nouveau programme de bourses d’études pour aider les étudiants autochtones dans le besoin à fréquenter le collège, l’université ou un établissement postsecondaire autochtone en Ontario.

En collaboration avec ses partenaires autochtones, le gouvernement de l’Ontario poursuit également la mise en oeuvre d’initatives stratégiques pluriannuelles, y compris l’établissement de partenariats pour améliorer le développement économique. Parmi ces initiatives figurent :

Fonds pour les nouvelles relations

Lancé en décembre 2008, le Fonds pour les nouvelles relations aide les communautés des Premières nations et les organisations métis à acquérir les ressources, les capacités et les compétences nécessaires pour accroître et améliorer les occasions de partenariats d’affaires et de développement économique. Environ 250 projets touchant les communautés des Premières nations, les communautés métis et les organisations autochtones en milieu urbain ont reçu du financement dans le cadre de ce Fonds. Avec le budget de 2010, le gouvernement annualise ce financement et contribuera environ 60 millions de dollars au cours des quatre prochaines années.

Revendications territoriales

En août 2009, la province a signé une entente cadre historique avec les Algonquins et le Canada et ouvert un bureau de consultation relativement aux revendications territoriales.

Au cours de l’année écoulée, dix autres revendications territoriales ont été retirées de l’arriéré et l’Ontario est en voie d’éliminer une grande partie de l’arriéré en 2011.

En août 2009, l’Ontario a signé une entente de principe avec la Première nation de Pays Plat et le gouvernement fédéral.

Modernisation de la Loi sur les mines de l’Ontario

La Loi de 2009 modifiant la Loi sur les mines contient plusieurs dispositions progressistes qui répondent aux préoccupations des Premières nations et communautés métis, tout en favorisant un développement équilibré et viable et une industrie dynamique. Des consultations d’envergure sur les règlements sont actuellement en cours.

Partage des avantages des ressources

En avril 2009, le gouvernement de l’Ontario a réaffirmé son engagement envers le partage des avantages des ressources avec les communautés autochtones en réservant 30 millions de dollars pour cette initiative. Le gouvernement de l’Ontario collabore avec les communautés autochtones à l’échelle de la province pour discuter des éléments potentiels d’un plan de partage des avantages des ressources.

Le partage des retombées économiques du développement des ressources est une façon de faire profiter les communautés autochtones des avantages du développement des ressources naturelles. Il veut, d’une part, favoriser l’acquisition de nouvelles compétences, la création d’emplois et l’établissement de nouvelles possibilités de développement économique pour les communautés autochtones et, d’autre part, promouvoir des retombées économiques qui bénéficieront aux économies locales et à l’Ontario dans son ensemble.

Comité de priorités et d’action de la Commission d’enquête sur Ipperwash

Le 1er mars 2010, le gouvernement a entamé la déréglementation du parc provincial Ipperwash en vue d’en céder les terrains au gouvernement fédéral, une mesure menant à leur retour à la Première nation chippewa Kettle and Stony Point. Ce transfert aura des retombées économiques et sociales considérables pour cette collectivité.

La province poursuivra l’évaluation et la mise en application des recommandations du Rapport de la Commission d’enquête sur Ipperwash, y compris l’examen des services policiers des Premières nations.

Initiative de planification du Grand Nord

Le gouvernement collabore avec les communautés des Premières nations à l’établissement d’un processus de planification de l’aménagement du territoire afin de favoriser un développement durable au point de vue environnemental et préserver 50 % de la forêt boréale ontarienne.

Le processus d’aménagement du Grand Nord est marqué au coin de relations de travail plus respectueuses avec les Premières nations au regard de l’aménagement du territoire. En collaboration avec le ministère des Richesses naturelles, les Premières nations locales élaborent des plans communautaires d’aménagement du territoire. Ces plans nécessiteront l’accord des Premières nations locales. La planification de l’aménagement du territoire donne aux Premières nations meilleure voix au chapitre en ce qui a trait à l’avenir de leurs communautés, en plus d’établir un équilibre entre leurs intérêts sociaux, environnementaux et économiques et ceux de la province.

En 2008, le gouvernement a affecté 30 millions de dollars sur quatre ans pour appuyer ce plan et aider les Premières nations du Grand Nord.

Plan de croissance du Nord ontarien

En octobre 2009, le gouvernement a publié à des fins d’examen public un projet de Plan de croissance du Nord de l’Ontario qui s’étendrait sur 25 ans. La collaboration avec les peuples autochtones dans le but d’accroître leur participation à la croissance économique future du Nord de l’Ontario et d’améliorer l’état de santé des communautés autochtones est une priorité importante du plan proposé. Ce plan fait suite à plus de trois ans de discussions avec les peuples autochtones, les résidents du Nord et d’autres partenaires importants.

Réalisations depuis 2003

Depuis 2003, le gouvernement McGuinty a mis en place une variété d’autres initiatives ciblées pour soutenir les possibilités économiques et améliorer la qualité de vie des communautés autochtones. Ces initiatives incluent :

  • Signature d’une entente historique de partage des recettes de jeux de 3 milliards de dollars, annoncée en 2008, qui fournit une source de revenu stable aux Premières nations pour effectuer des investissements en éducation, en santé et dans le développement économique, communautaire et social.
  • Versement de 19 millions de dollars pour le financement de projets communautaires et d’affaires par l’entremise du Programme de subventions pour l’infrastructure des communautés autochtones qui contribue à améliorer l’infrastructure sociale dans les communautés et à créer un environnement plus propice aux affaires et à l’industrie.
  • Octroi de plus de 33,5 millions de dollars aux communautés autochtones par l’entremise des programmes de la Société de gestion du Fonds du patrimoine du Nord de l’Ontario.
  • Financement de six millions de dollars par année aux programmes Akwe:go et Wasa-Nabin pour fournir aux enfants autochtones à risque vivant en milieu urbain et à leur famille un soutien communautaire et pertinent sur le plan culturel.
  • Dotation de trois millions de dollars au Conseil des universités de l’Ontario pour soutenir l’établissement de la Chaire d’études métisses en collaboration avec le peuple métis de l’Ontario. Cette chaire effectuera des recherches afin d’amener une meilleure compréhension du peuple métis en Ontario.
  • 1,5 million de dollars, montant qui donnera lieu à un versement de contrepartie de la Fondation des maladies du coeur de l’Ontario, pour l’établissement d’une chaire de recherche en santé des Autochtones et en santé en milieu rural à l’École de médecine du Nord de l’Ontario.
  • Un Cadre d’élaboration des politiques de l’Ontario en éducation des Premières nations, des Métis et des Inuits pour assurer aux enfants et aux jeunes autochtones des possibilités d’avenir plus prometteuses.
  • Adoption de mesures législatives en mai 2008 pour donner à l’Université Algoma le statut d’établissement autonome conférant des grades universitaires. L’Université Algoma jouit maintenant d’une plus grande autonomie pour concentrer ses efforts sur les besoins des gens du Nord en matière d’études postsecondaires et sur sa vaste clientèle autochtone.

-30