: 2010 Ontario Budget: Sector Highlights
Agriculture and Rural

Agriculture and Rural

Strong rural communities are important in a diversified and innovative provincial economy. Food and beverage manufacturing is the second-largest manufacturing sector in the Ontario economy. With farm cash receipts totalling about $10.2 billion in 2008, Ontario farmers make an important economic contribution to the province. The McGuinty government is committed to supporting Ontario's farmers and is working with rural communities to help ensure a prosperous future.

Recent Achievements


In 2009-10, ongoing support by the Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs (OMAFRA) increased by 53 per cent, compared to 2003-04, including:

  • $9 million over three years, starting in 2009-10, to promote and increase awareness of Ontario food products to the Broader Public Sector
  • $1.5 million for OMAFRA to develop new agri-food research centres focused on livestock and crop production, renewable energy, nutrition and health.

As a result, food producers are selling their products with greater ease as consumers are now better able to identify Ontario-grown foods and produce.

Rural Communities

Since the creation of the Eastern Ontario Development Fund in 2008, the government has approved more than $30 million in funding. This money will help attract investment and help companies in the region invest in new technologies, new equipment and skills training for their employees.

Since 2003, the Rural Summer Jobs Service Program has provided over 8,000 employers with $21 million to assist in placing more than 28,000 students.

Ontario’s Tax Plan for Jobs and Growth

As a result of the Harmonized Sales Tax (HST), it is estimated that farmers will benefit from nearly $30 million in sales tax relief annually. Similar to the Goods and Services Tax (GST), farmers will not pay HST on zero-rated farm equipment and will be reimbursed for the tax paid on other business purchases by claiming input tax credits. These credits will apply to many items bought for use in farming that are currently taxable under the Retail Sales Tax, like trucks, light vans and parts, lawn mowers, office computers and freezers.

To further support Ontario farmers, temporary restrictions on certain input tax credits will not apply to farming businesses. Farming and agriculture corporations will also save $15 million per year when Ontario’s corporate income tax cuts are fully implemented.

Achievements Since 2003


In the agricultural sector, the Ontario government has:

  • Continued to support Ontario farmers through farm-income stabilization and support programs — expenditures for these programs totalled more than $1.8 billion over the 2003-04 to 2008-09 fiscal years
  • Expanded the Land Transfer Tax exemption in 2008 for transfers of family farms to include transfers from family farm corporations to individual family members. This has allowed continuation of the tradition of passing on ownership of the family farm
  • Increased consumer awareness and demand for the fresh, high-quality food produced in Ontario through enhanced funding for Foodland Ontario, and encouraged its expansion into other product areas, and support for local marketing initiatives through the Market Investment Fund
  • Enhanced research, innovation, environmental stewardship and economic development investment through:
    • A $25 million investment in the Agricultural Research Institute of Ontario and the Vineland Research and Innovation Centre
    • A $31 million investment for development of the Elora Livestock, Environmental and Energy Complex
    • A $6 million investment in research for development of agricultural-based bio-materials to be used in auto manufacturing
    • Providing financial support for environmental farm plans and more than $11.2 million to support the development of green energy on-farm bio-gas power generation.
  • Provided over $2.9 billion since 1998 from slot machine revenues at race tracks to promote the economic growth of the horse-racing industry in Ontario, a key component of the province’s agricultural sector
  • In 2003, OMAFRA increased the number of meat-inspection positions from 10 to 128. Between 2005 and 2008, following the proclamation of the Food Safety and Quality Act   and implementation of Meat Reg 31/05, OMAFRA further increased the number of meat-inspection positions to 170. OMAFRA has also provided $14.6 million to date for compliance upgrading support for processors.


The government is committed to supporting a high quality of life in Ontario’s rural communities. Key initiatives include:

  • With its federal partner, the Ontario government is investing more than $700 million under the first intake of the Communities Component of the Building Canada Fund.  This will involve 291 infrastructure projects in Ontario communities with populations of fewer than 100,000.  A further joint investment of $392 million for 187 projects, as part of the infrastructure stimulus measures, was announced in June 2009 under the second intake of the program
  • The governments of Ontario and Canada announced nearly $1.95 billion in combined funding for more than 1,200 construction-ready projects under the municipal intake of the Infrastructure Stimulus Fund, including rural municipalities
  • In July 2009, the provincial and federal governments announced a joint investment of $110 million to support the development of the Eastern Ontario Regional Network, which will expand high-speed Internet access throughout rural Eastern Ontario
  • Since 2007, the Ontario government has committed over $27.4 million to 47 broadband projects through the Rural Connections initiative. Once all projects are completed, it is expected that about 85 per cent of the rural population in southern Ontario will have broadband access
  • Since 2003, the Rural Economic Development Program has invested $91 million in 266 projects, generating over $737 million in new economic activity
  • Adding 59 Family Health Teams to rural and northern communities
  • $298 million in provincial funding under the Canada-Ontario Municipal Rural Infrastructure Fund to help fund 280 infrastructure projects. This included an Asset Management Program to help rural and small communities improve and increase their capacity to manage infrastructure assets
  • $140 million in 2006-07 for rural and small municipalities under the Rural Infrastructure Investment Initiative for infrastructure renewal
  • $450 million in 2007-08 under the Municipal Infrastructure Investment Initiative to help municipalities outside Toronto implement infrastructure projects in their communities
  • An additional $789 million to rural school boards for the 2002-03 to 2009-10 school years — a 46 per cent increase per student.

: Budget de l’Ontario 2010 :
Points saillants - secteur
Agriculture et affaires rurales

Agriculture et affaires rurales

Des collectivités rurales dynamiques jouent un rôle important dans une économie provinciale diversifiée et novatrice. L’industrie des aliments et des boissons vient au deuxième rang des secteurs de la fabrication au sein de l’économie ontarienne. Étant donné que les recettes monétaires agricoles totalisaient environ 10,2 milliards de dollars en 2008, les agriculteurs de l’Ontario contribuent grandement à l’économie de la province. Le gouvernement McGuinty est déterminé à appuyer les agriculteurs de l’Ontario et à collaborer avec les collectivités rurales pour leur assurer un avenir prospère.

Réalisations récentes

Agriculture

En 2009-2010, le ministère de l’Agriculture, de l’Alimentation et des Affaires rurales (MAAARO) a accru son soutien permanent de 53 % par rapport à 2003-2004. Ce financement comprend notamment :

  • 9 millions de dollars sur trois ans, à compter de 2009-2010, pour promouvoir les produits alimentaires ontariens auprès du secteur parapublic et mieux les faire connaître;
  • 1,5 million de dollars pour créer de nouveaux centres de recherche agroalimentaire qui mettront l’accent sur l’élevage du bétail, la production de cultures, l’énergie renouvelable, la nutrition et la santé.

En conséquence, les producteurs d’aliments vendent plus facilement leurs produits, car les consommateurs peuvent mieux identifier les aliments et produits agricoles cultivés en Ontario.

Collectivités rurales

Depuis la création du Fonds de développement de l’Est de l’Ontario en 2008, le gouvernement a approuvé plus de 30 millions de dollars en aide financière. Cette somme permettra d’attirer des investissements et aidera les entreprises de la région à investir dans de nouvelles technologies et machines, et dans la formation professionnelles de leurs employés.

Depuis 2003, le Programme d’emplois d’été en milieu rural a offert 21 millions de dollars à plus de 8 000 employeurs pour faciliter le placement de plus de 28 000 étudiants.

Plan fiscal de l’Ontario pour stimuler la création d’emplois et la croissance

Par suite de la mise en oeuvre de la taxe de vente harmonisée (TVH), il est prévu que les agriculteurs profiteront d’un crédit pour la taxe de vente totalisant près de 30 millions de dollars par année. Comme dans le cas de la taxe sur les produits et services (TPS), les agriculteurs ne paieront pas la TVH sur le matériel agricole détaxé et ils auront droit au remboursement de la taxe acquittée sur les autres achats d’entreprises en faisant valoir des crédits de taxe sur les intrants. Ces crédits s’appliqueront à de nombreux articles utilisés à des fins agricoles et actuellement assujettis à la taxe de vente au détail, comme les camions, les fourgonnettes et pièces connexes, les tondeuses à gazon, les ordinateurs de bureau et les congélateurs.

Afin d’aider encore plus les agriculteurs de la province, les restrictions temporaires frappant certains crédits de taxe sur les intrants ne s’appliqueront pas aux entreprises agricoles. Les sociétés d’exploitation agricole économiseront aussi 15 millions de dollars par année une fois que les réductions de l’impôt ontarien sur le revenu des sociétés seront mises en oeuvre dans leur intégralité.

Réalisations depuis 2003

Agriculture

Dans le secteur de l’agriculture, le gouvernement de l’Ontario a pris les mesures suivantes :

  • il a continué d’appuyer les agriculteurs de l’Ontario au moyen de programmes de stabilisation du revenu agricole et de soutien aux agriculteurs; les dépenses de ces programmes ont dépassé 1,8 milliard de dollars entre 2003-2004 et 2008-2009;
  • il a élargi l’exonération des droits de cession immobilière adoptée en 2008 dans les cas de cession de fermes familiales pour inclure les cessions de sociétés agricoles familiales à des membres particuliers de la famille. Cette mesure a permis de maintenir la tradition de céder la propriété d’une ferme familiale à un membre de la famille;
  • il a fait connaître aux consommateurs les aliments frais de grande qualité qui sont produits en Ontario, ce qui a stimulé la demande, en majorant le financement de la campagne « Ontario, terre nourricière », il a encouragé son élargissement à d’autres groupes de produits et il a appuyé les initiatives de commercialisation locale au moyen du Fonds d’investissement dans le marché ontarien;
  • il a investi davantage dans l’innovation, la recherche, le développement économique et la gérance de l’environnement. Par exemple :
    • il a investi 25 millions de dollars dans l’Institut de recherche agricole de l’Ontario et le Centre de recherche et d’innovation de Vineland;
    • il a investi 31 millions de dollars dans la création du Elora Livestock, Environmental and Energy Complex;
    • il a investi 6 millions de dollars dans la recherche sur le développement de biomatériaux à base de produits agricoles pouvant être utilisés dans l’industrie de l’automobile;
    • il a accordé un soutien financier aux plans environnementaux des fermes et plus de 11,2 millions de dollars pour soutenir le développement de systèmes de biogaz sur les fermes, une solution écologique de production énergétique;
  • depuis 1998, il a affecté plus de 2,9 milliards de dollars à partir des revenus des machines à sous dans les hippodromes à la promotion de la croissance économique de l’industrie des courses de chevaux en Ontario, une composante importante du secteur de l’agriculture de la province;
  • en 2003, il a haussé le nombre de postes d’inspecteur des viandes, le faisant passer de 10 à 128. Entre 2005 et 2008, après la promulgation de la Loi de 2001 sur la qualité et la salubrité des aliments et la mise en oeuvre du règlement 31/05 sur les viandes, le ministère a porté le nombre d’inspecteurs des viandes à 170. Jusqu’à présent, il a également accordé 14,6 millions de dollars aux entreprises de transformation pour les aider à faire les mises à niveau nécessaires en vue de respecter les normes.

Affaires rurales

Le gouvernement est résolu à soutenir un niveau élevé de qualité de vie dans les collectivités rurales de l’Ontario. Voici quelques initiatives clés visant à assurer la réalisation de cet objectif :

  • En collaboration avec le gouvernement fédéral, l’Ontario investit plus de 700 millions de dollars dans le cadre de la première demande de propositions du volet Collectivités du Fonds Chantiers Canada au titre de 291 projets d’infrastructure dans des collectivités de l’Ontario comptant moins de 100 000 habitants. En juin 2009, il a annoncé un autre investissement conjoint de 392 millions de dollars à l’égard de 187 projets dans le cadre de la deuxième demande de propositions du programme sous le régime des mesures de stimulation liées à l’infrastructure.
  • Les gouvernements de l’Ontario et du Canada ont annoncé l’octroi de près de 1,95 milliard de dollars sous forme d’aide combinée à l’égard de plus de 1 200 projets prêts à être mis en chantier dans le cadre de la participation des municipalités au Fonds de stimulation de l’infrastructure, y compris les municipalités rurales.
  • En juillet 2009, le gouvernement de l’Ontario et celui du Canada ont annoncé un investissement conjoint de 110 millions de dollars pour appuyer le développement du réseau régional de l’Est de l’Ontario, qui permettra d’élargir l’accès à internet à large bande dans les collectivités rurales de l’Est de l’Ontario.
  • Depuis 2007, le gouvernement de l’Ontario a affecté plus de 27,4 millions de dollars à 47 projets à large bande par l’intermédiaire du programme Connexions rurales. Une fois que tous les projets auront été instaurés, on s’attend à ce qu’environ 85 % de la population rurale vivant dans le sud de la province ait accès à internet à large bande.
  • Depuis 2003, le Programme de développement économique des collectivités rurales a investi 91 millions de dollars dans 266 projets, qui ont généré de nouvelles activités économiques totalisant plus de 737 millions de dollars.
  • Il a créé 59 équipes de santé familiale dans des collectivités rurales et du Nord.
  • Le gouvernement provincial a affecté 298 millions de dollars dans le cadre du Fonds sur l’infrastructure municipale rurale Canada-Ontario (FIMRCO) au financement partiel de 280 projets d’infrastructure, dont un programme de gestion des biens afin d’aider les petites localités et les collectivités rurales à améliorer et à accroître leur capacité à gérer les biens d’infrastructure.
  • En 2006-2007, il a accordé 140 millions de dollars à des petites localités et à des municipalités rurales dans le cadre de l’Initiative d’investissement dans l’infrastructure rurale au titre du renouvellement de l’infrastructure.
  • En 2007-2008, il a versé 450 millions de dollars dans le cadre de l’Initiative d’investissement dans l’infrastructure municipale pour aider les municipalités autres que Toronto à mettre en oeuvre des projets d’infrastructure dans leurs collectivités.
  • Entre les années scolaires 2002-2003 et 2009-2010, le gouvernement a versé 789 millions de dollars de plus aux conseils scolaires des régions rurales, soit une augmentation de 46 % par élève.

-30-