: 2010 Ontario Budget: Sector Highlights
Environment and the Green Economy

Environment and the Green Economy

Ontarians expect a clean and safe environment to live in, enjoy and explore. Since 2003, improving and protecting Ontario's environment has been a priority for the McGuinty government. It is not only essential for the health and quality of life of Ontarians, but it is becoming increasingly important to the province’s economic goals. The McGuinty government is committed to ensuring that our present and future generations thrive in a province where environmental and economic sustainability are equally important.

The government has launched various programs to protect Ontario’s air, water and land resources. Such efforts have resulted in economic opportunities by supporting home-grown innovation in emerging sectors, such as clean technology, and by attracting investments in renewable energy that will create thousands of Ontario-based jobs. Furthermore, the government is taking steps to make Ontario a leader in innovative clean water technologies and services that aid in water conservation and treatment.

2010 Ontario Budget

As part of its Open Ontario plan, the government is developing a wide-ranging water strategy to make Ontario the North American leader in water conservation and innovation, and to sustain Ontario’s water resources for future generations. The strategy will promote new business and employment opportunities in the water sector by supporting the commercialization of water and wastewater technologies.

Through its water strategy, the Ontario government will:

  • Work with researchers and entrepreneurs to create jobs and to attract clean water expertise and investment in the province
  • Improve the efficiency of Ontario’s water and wastewater infrastructure
  • Introduce a new Water Opportunities Act to support the development of new technologies and practices for water conservation and treatment
  • Promote Ontario’s water technology sector at home and abroad.

Recent Achievements

Green Energy and Energy Efficiency

The Green Energy Act, 2009 will help create 50,000 jobs in the first three years, support the growth of renewable energy installations and increase energy conservation.

  • The Act has helped attract a $7 billion proposed investment in Ontario by a consortium led by Samsung C&T Corporation and the Korea Electric Power Corporation that would build 2,500 megawatts (MW) of wind and solar power. This would triple Ontario’s generation capacity from renewable wind and solar sources. It would also create more than 16,000 new green energy jobs to supply, build, install and operate the renewable generation projects
  • The implementation of the Feed-in Tariff Program (FIT) is a key element of the Act and has attracted significant interest in renewable energy investments. On March 10, 2010, the Ontario Power Authority announced that it had issued the first 510 FIT contracts, totalling 112 MW, enough to power more than 13,000 homes
  • By the end of 2014, Ontario’s electricity supply will no longer include coal. Ontario’s coal replacement initiative is the single-largest greenhouse-gas reduction initiative in Canada
    • In 2009, carbon dioxide emissions from coal-fired power generation were 73 per cent lower than 2003 levels, with four more units coming off-line in fall 2010
  • Almost 5,300 MW of additional electricity supply projects are currently in progress, including about 1,400 MW of renewables (not including the Korean consortium and other FIT projects). These projects represent about $14 billion in investments and nearly 80,000 jobs during the construction period
  • The government announced a plan in July 2009 to make it easier to buy electric vehicles
  • The government helped more than 189,000 homeowners obtain energy savings information about their homes since May 2009, through the Ontario Home Energy Savings Program, and provided almost $132 million to help retrofit more than 96,800 homes. The reduction in carbon dioxide emissions is equivalent to removing 52,850 cars from Ontario’s roads.

Achievements Since 2003

Since October 2003, more than 7,000 MW of additional generating capacity have come on-line, representing investments totalling over $7 billion and creating about 50,000 jobs. This includes:

  • About 1,300 MW of new renewable electricity generation have come on-line
  • Increasing wind power capacity 80-fold, with more than 1,100 of the 1,300 MW of renewable energy coming from wind power
    • More than 690 wind turbines have been built as a result of $2.7 billion in investments
    • In 2009, electricity generated from wind turbines increased more than 60 per cent when compared to 2008.

The measures announced in the 2010 Budget are consistent with the government's record of strategic investments aimed at making Ontario Canada's greenest province. Since 2003, the government has:

  • Passed the Toxics Reduction Act, 2009, which sets out a framework for reducing the industrial use of toxic substances
  • Committed $13.6 million to the GreenCentre Canada at Queen’s University in Kingston, which will connect Ontario universities and companies to develop commercial alternatives to toxic chemicals, as announced in September 2009
  • Launched Ontario’s Cosmetic Pesticide Ban, which took effect on April 22, 2009. Under the ban, pesticides cannot be used for cosmetic purposes on lawns, vegetable or ornamental gardens, patios, driveways, cemeteries, or in parks and school yards
  • Provided $480,000 to the Cosmetic Use Pesticides Research and Innovation Program being administered by the Agricultural Adaptation Council
  • Continued to make investments in public transit and will build on the nearly $9.3 billion it has invested across the province since 2003
  • Protected about 1.8 million acres of environmentally sensitive and agricultural land in the Golden Horseshoe from urban development and sprawl under the Greenbelt Act, 2005
  • Implemented a long-term plan for environmentally sustainable development while protecting at least 50 per cent of Ontario's Far North Boreal region. The government provided $30 million over four years to support planning, including building capacity for Far North First Nations, providing mapping and research and engaging non-native municipalities
  • Begun investing up to $24 million to support Ontario industry in reducing the use and creation of toxic substances, through support to green chemistry and technologies
  • Allocated up to $14.4 million through the Ontario Solar Thermal Heating Incentive, until March 31, 2011, to encourage commercial and institutional investment in qualifying solar heating equipment
  • Helped 14 innovative Ontario companies, resulting in a total investment of almost $110 million, through the Innovation Demonstration Fund, which focuses on bio-based green energy and environmental technologies. This fund began accepting applications in 2006
  • Passed the Endangered Species Act, 2007, making Ontario a North American leader in species-at-risk protection and recovery, providing a total of $18 million in funding since its inception in 2007 for the Species-at-Risk Stewardship
  • Committed to plant 50 million trees in southern Ontario by 2020, with more than 3.7 million trees planted to date
  • Provided $1.7 million for 16 environmental science projects, as part of the Best in Science Program, to support professors and graduate students in studying a range of issues, including brownfields remediation and contamination of fish and the aquatic environment.

Water Protection/Clean Water

  • Passed the Safeguarding and Sustaining Ontario's Water Act, 2007, strengthening the management, protection and conservation of Ontario's water resources, including the Great Lakes
  • Provided over $23 million in 2007-08 to conservation authorities to support development of source water protection plans and $24.5 million over four years, starting in 2007-08, for community source water protection initiatives
  • Committed $36 million over four years for new inspection resources and 60 new inspectors to protect Ontario's air, land and water
  • Investing $100 million in 2009-10 to help the City of Hamilton upgrade the Woodward Avenue Wastewater Treatment Plant.

: Budget de l’Ontario 2010 :
Points saillants - secteur
Environnement et économie verte

Environnement et économie verte

Les Ontariennes et Ontariens s’attendent à pouvoir bénéficier d’un milieu propre, sûr et invitant, où il fait bon vivre. Depuis 2003, l’amélioration et la protection de l’environnement de l’Ontario est une priorité du gouvernement McGuinty. Cela est non seulement essentiel pour la santé et la qualité de vie des Ontariennes et Ontariens, mais revêt également une importance croissante pour atteindre les objectifs économiques de la province. Le gouvernement McGuinty est déterminé à faire en sorte que la population actuelle et les générations futures puissent s’épanouir dans une province qui accorde la même importance à la durabilité environnementale et à la viabilité économique.

Pour protéger l’air, l’eau et les sols de la province, le gouvernement a instauré une variété de programmes. Ces programmes ont débouché sur d’intéressantes possibilités économiques en encourageant l’innovation locale dans les secteurs émergents, comme les technologies propres, et en attirant des investissements qui créeront des milliers d’emplois en Ontario dans le secteur de l’énergie renouvelable. De plus, le gouvernement prend des mesures pour faire de l’Ontario un chef de file des technologies et services novateurs du secteur de l’eau propre qui favorisent la conservation et l’assainissement de l’eau.

Budget de l’Ontario de 2010

Dans le cadre de son plan Ontario ouvert sur le monde, le gouvernement élabore une stratégie de l’eau d’envergure pour, d’une part, faire de l’Ontario le chef de file nord-américain de l’innovation et de la conservation dans le secteur de l’eau et, d’autre part, protéger les ressources en eau de la province pour les générations futures. La stratégie encouragera les affaires et la création d’emplois dans le secteur de l’eau en appuyant la mise en marché des technologies de l’eau et de l’assainissement de l’eau.

Dans le cadre de sa stratégie de l’eau, le gouvernement de l’Ontario :

  • collaborera avec les chercheurs et les entrepreneurs pour créer des emplois et attirer dans la province une main-d’oeuvre spécialisée et des investissements dans le secteur de l’eau propre;
  • améliorera l’efficience de l’infrastructure ontarienne d’approvisionnement en eau et de traitement des eaux usées;
  • adoptera une nouvelle Loi sur le développement des technologies de l’eau qui appuiera la mise au point de nouvelles technologies et pratiques de conservation et de traitement de l’eau;
  • fera la promotion du secteur ontarien des technologies de l’eau ici à l’étranger.

Réalisations récentes

Énergie verte et efficacité énergétique

La Loi de 2009 sur l’énergie verte favorisera la création de 50 000 emplois au cours des trois premières années, l’expansion des installations de production d’énergie renouvelable et une plus grande économie d’énergie.

  • La Loi a contribué à attirer en Ontario un investissement de 7 milliards de dollars que propose un consortium dirigé par Samsung C&T Corporation et Korea Electric Power Corporation pour produire 2 500 mégawatts d’énergie solaire et éolienne. Cet investissement devrait tripler la capacité de production d’énergie renouvelable de source solaire ou éolienne de l’Ontario et créer plus de16 000 emplois dans le secteur de l’énergie verte pour construire, installer, équiper et faire fonctionner les centrales d’énergie renouvelable.
  • La mise en oeuvre du Programme de tarifs de rachat garantis (TRG) est un élément central de la loi et a suscité un intérêt considérable envers l’investissement dans l’énergie renouvelable. Le 10 mars 2010, l’Office de l’électricité de l’Ontario a annoncé la signature des 510 premiers contrats TRG qui représentent au total 112 mégawatts d’électricité, soit une quantité suffisante pour alimenter plus de 13 000 logements.
  • D’ici la fin de 2014, le charbon ne servira plus à combler les besoins en électricité de la province. Le remplacement des centrales au charbon est la plus importante initiative de réduction des émissions de gaz à effet de serre au Canada.
    • En 2009, les émissions de dioxyde de carbone liées à la production d’électricité à partir de charbon étaient de 73 % inférieures à leurs niveaux de 2003, et la province prévoit fermer quatre autres centrales à l’automne 2010. 
  • Des projets de production d’énergie totalisant près de 5 300 mégawatts d’électricité additionnels sont en chantier, y compris environ 1 400 mégawatts d’énergie renouvelable (sans compter le projet du consortium coréen et les autres initiatives découlant du programme de TRG). Ces projets représentent environ 14 milliards de dollars en investissements et près de 80 000 emplois durant la période de construction.
  • En juillet 2009, le gouvernement a annoncé un plan pour faciliter l’achat de véhicules électriques.
  • Depuis mai 2009, le gouvernement a aussi aidé plus de 189 000 propriétaires d’habitation à obtenir des renseignements sur l’économie d’énergie dans leur foyer par l’entremise du Programme d’économies d’énergie domiciliaire de l’Ontario, et a versé près de 132 millions de dollars pour aider à remettre à niveau plus de 96 800 habitations. La réduction des émissions de dioxyde de carbone ainsi réalisée équivaut à éliminer 52 850 voitures des routes de l’Ontario.

Réalisations depuis 2003

Grâce à des investissements totaux de plus de 7 milliards de dollars, la capacité de production d’électricité de la province a augmenté de plus de 7 000 mégawatts et environ 50 000 emplois ont été créés depuis octobre 2003. Cela inclut :

  • environ 1 300 mégawatts de nouvelle électricité de source renouvelable;
  • de ces 1 300 mégawatts, environ 1 100 mégawatts d’énergie de source éolienne, ce qui multiplie par 80 la capacité de production d’énergie éolienne de la province.
    • Plus de 690 éoliennes ont été construites grâce à des investissements totalisant 2,7 milliards de dollars.
    • L’énergie éolienne produite a augmenté de plus de 60 % en 2009 par rapport à 2008.

Les mesures annoncées dans le budget de 2010 cadrent avec les nombreux investissements stratégiques réalisés par le gouvernement pour faire de l’Ontario la province la plus verte du Canada. Ainsi, depuis 2003, le gouvernement a :

  • adopté la Loi de 2009 sur la réduction des toxiques qui prévoit un cadre de réduction de l’utilisation des produits toxiques à des fins industrielles;
  • prévu l’octroi de 13,6 millions de dollars au GreenCentre Canada de l’Université Queen’s, à Kingston. Annoncée en septembre 2009, cette initiative créera des ponts entre les universités et les entreprises de l’Ontario pour mettre au point et en marché des solutions de remplacement aux produits chimiques toxiques;
  • interdit l’utilisation de pesticides à des fins esthétiques en Ontario à compter du 22 avril 2009. Il n’est dorénavant plus permis à quiconque d’utiliser des pesticides pour embellir les pelouses, potagers, jardins ornementaux, terrasses, allées, cimetières, parcs et cours d’école;
  • affecté 480 000 $ au Programme de recherche et d’innovation sur les pesticides utilisés à des fins esthétiques, administré par le Conseil de l’adaptation agricole;
  • continué d’investir dans les transports en commun et fera fond sur les près de 9,3 milliards de dollars qu’il a investis dans la province depuis 2003;
  • protégé de l’urbanisation et de l’étalement urbain quelque 1,8 million d’acres de terres agricoles et écologiquement vulnérables dans la région du Golden Horseshoe aux termes de la Loi de 2005 sur la ceinture de verdure;
  • mis en oeuvre un plan à long terme de développement écologiquement durable tout en protégeant au moins 50 % de la région boréale du Grand Nord de l’Ontario. Le gouvernement a accordé 30 millions de dollars sur quatre ans pour favoriser la planification, dont l’accroissement de la capacité des Premières nations du Grand Nord, la prestation de services de cartographie et de recherche, et la mobilisation des municipalités non autochtones;
  • commencé à investir jusqu’à 24 millions de dollars dans la chimie et les technologies vertes dans le but d’encourager l’industrie ontarienne à réduire l’utilisation et la production de substances toxiques;
  • affecté jusqu’à 14,4 millions de dollars par l’entremise de l’Incitatif ontarien pour les systèmes de chauffage solaire thermique, qui prend fin le 31 mars 2011, afin de favoriser les investissements commerciaux et institutionnels dans les systèmes de chauffage solaire thermique admissibles;
  • aidé 14 entreprises ontariennes novatrices grâce à un investissement de près de 110 millions de dollars par l’entremise du Fonds pour les projets pilotes d’innovation, qui met l’accent sur les technologies environnementales et de bioénergie verte. On a commencé à accepter des demandes dans le cadre du fonds en 2006;
  • adopté la Loi de 2007 sur les espèces en voie de disparition, faisant ainsi de l’Ontario un chef de file nord-américain de la protection et du rétablissement des espèces en péril. Le gouvernement a octroyé au Fonds d’intendance des espèces en péril plus de 18 millions de dollars depuis sa mise sur pied en 2007;
  • promis que 50 millions d’arbres seraient plantés dans le Sud de l’Ontario d’ici 2020. Plus de 3,7 millions d’arbres ont été plantés jusqu’à maintenant;
  • affecté 1,7 million de dollars à 16 projets de recherche en sciences environnementales dans le cadre du programme Excellence en science en vue d’appuyer l’étude, par les professeurs et étudiants des cycles supérieurs, d’une grande variété de questions dont l’assainissement des friches contaminées et la contamination des poissons et des milieux aquatiques.

Préservation de l’eau/eau propre

  • Adoption de la Loi de 2007 sur la sauvegarde et la durabilité des eaux de l’Ontario, ce qui a permis de renforcer la gestion, la protection et la conservation des ressources en eau de l’Ontario, y compris les Grands Lacs
  • Octroi de plus de 23 millions de dollars en 2007-2008 aux offices de protection de la nature pour appuyer l’élaboration de plans de protection des sources d’eau et 24,5 millions de dollars sur quatre ans, à compter de 2007-2008, pour des initiatives communautaires de protection des sources d’eau
  • Octroi de 36 millions de dollars sur quatre ans en vue de nouvelles ressources d’inspection et de l’embauche de 60 nouveaux inspecteurs chargés de protéger l’air, les sols et les eaux de la province
  • Investissement de 100 millions de dollars en 2009-2010 pour aider la ville de Hamilton à mettre à niveau l’usine d’épuration des eaux usées de l’avenue Woodward

-30-