: 2010 Ontario Budget: Sector Highlights
Partnering with Municipalities

Partnering with Municipalities

The McGuinty government wants to ensure that Ontario is made up of safe and strong communities with dynamic local economies, abundant green space and a quality of life that is second to none. The government will continue to promote local governments that are accountable and able to plan, manage and invest for the future.

Since 2003, the McGuinty government has worked hard to strengthen provincial-municipal relations. To date, the government has made great progress in building a relationship with municipalities based on collaboration and respect, which has resulted in a partnership that is stronger than ever before.

Progress to date includes unprecedented investments in local infrastructure, sharing of the gas tax revenue, uploading costs that were downloaded by the previous government, supporting schools and hospitals, and ensuring municipalities have the tools they need to deliver high-quality services to Ontarians.

The government will continue to build on the progress it has made in working with its municipal partners.

Recent Achievements

The new spirit of partnership and mutual respect between the McGuinty government and municipalities was exemplified by the 2008 landmark report of the Provincial-Municipal Fiscal and Service Delivery Review. Municipalities are continuing to benefit from the government’s decision to upload the municipal share of social assistance benefit program costs from the property tax base.

In 2010, the province began the phased upload of:

  • Ontario Disability Support Program benefit costs
  • Ontario Works benefit costs.

This builds on the McGuinty government’s previous uploads of:

  • Ontario Drug Benefits in 2008
  • Ontario Disability Support Program administration costs in 2009.

When these uploads are completed in 2018, including up to $125 million annually in court security costs, the net benefit to municipalities will be $1.5 billion per year. This will ensure that more property tax dollars are available for important municipal priorities, including investments in infrastructure and economic development.

Since 2003, the province has more than doubled its support to municipalities. The provincial uploads of social assistance benefit program costs and the Ontario Municipal Partnership Fund grants alone, will provide municipalities with $1.2 billion in 2010. When combined with other investments such as the provincial gas tax program, increased funding for land ambulance and the upload of public health costs, the ongoing provincial support to municipalities will be approximately $2.6 billion in 2010.

By 2018, the McGuinty government will have increased ongoing annual support to municipalities to over $3.8 billion, an increase of more than 250 per cent over the support provided in 2003.

Ongoing Support to Municipalities is Increasing

Municipalities are also benefiting from significant infrastructure investments. In the 2009 Budget, the government announced economic stimulus funding to benefit communities across the province. To date, the province has invested more than $1.7 billion for communities across Ontario to fund more than 2,200 key municipal and community infrastructure projects. The McGuinty government has also provided $1.1 billion directly to municipalities through the Investing in Ontario Act, 2008.

Since 2004, the province has been sharing provincial gas tax revenue with municipalities.  To date, the government has committed more than $1.3 billion through the gas tax program. These investments have expanded and improved transit service and increased capacity, which has attracted new transit riders by giving them a more reliable and convenient alternative to their cars. As part of its commitment to municipalities and the environment, the government will continue to make investments in public transit, building on the nearly $9.3 billion that it has provided across the province since 2003.

Further strengthening its relationship with municipalities, the Ontario government entered into agreements with the Association of Municipalities of Ontario and the City of Toronto that formalize the principle of early consultation with the municipal sector. The agreements commit the province and municipalities to work together in the spirit of mutual respect, ongoing consultation and cooperation on matters of common interest.

The McGuinty government has modernized the province’s legal relationship with municipalities and brought municipal powers into the 21st century, with:

  • The City of Toronto Act, 2006, which sets out a broad, permissive legislative framework for Toronto
  • The Municipal Statute Law Amendment Act, 2006, which provides local governments with broad new powers and legislative freedoms that allow municipalities to better deliver services to their communities
  • The Planning and Conservation Land Statute Law Amendment Act, 2006, which reforms the Ontario Municipal Board and enhances local decision-making, community participation in local planning and use of fiscal tools.

Communities and Schools

As a component of the Poverty Reduction Strategy, the government is making investments to ensure that schools are an integral part of the communities they serve, including:

  • Investing $38.5 million in the 2009-10 school year to make it easier and more affordable for people to use schools after hours. Since 2005-06, average rates charged to community groups decreased by 43 per cent due to the province’s $90 million investment. The number of participants grew by 46 per cent
  • Establishing 21 more Parenting and Family Literacy Centres in 2009-10, for a total of 144 centres that help children in high-needs neighourhoods prepare for school through play-based learning
  • Providing more than 15,500 children and youth in Grades 1 through 12 with access to safe, active and healthy after-school activities through the After-School Initiative at more than 270 sites across Ontario
  • Serving an additional 100,000 students during the 2008-09 school year through the expanded Student Nutrition Program, increasing the total number of students served to 500,000 annually
  • Reaching out to schools in disadvantaged communities to increase parent engagement; the number of Parents Reaching Out Grants awarded to these schools in 2009-10 increased by 354 per cent from last year.

Ontario’s Tax Plan for Jobs and Growth

Under the Harmonized Sales Tax (HST), public service bodies (PSBs), including municipalities, will be able to claim rebates for the provincial portion of the HST they pay on many of the things they buy. These rebates are intended to keep this sector, as a whole, fiscally neutral relative to the Retail Sales Tax they are currently required to pay. Municipalities will receive a rebate of 78 per cent of the provincial portion of the HST.

In general, the HST will follow the same definitions and rebate rules for municipalities as currently exist under the federal Goods and Services Tax (GST).

To further support PSBs, temporary restrictions on certain input tax credits will not apply to municipalities.

: Budget de l’Ontario 2010 :
Points saillants - secteur
Établir des partenariats avec les municipalités

ÉTABLIR DES PARTENARIATS AVEC LES MUNICIPALITÉS

Le gouvernement McGuinty veut faire en sorte que l’Ontario soit composé de collectivités fortes et sûres qui possèdent des économies locales dynamiques, des espaces verts abondants et une qualité de vie sans pareille. Le gouvernement continuera de faire la promotion d’administrations locales responsables et prévoyantes, qui savent gérer efficacement et investir dans leur avenir.

Depuis 2003, le gouvernement McGuinty a travaillé fort afin de renforcer les relations provinciales-municipales. Jusqu’à présent, il a fait des progrès énormes pour nouer avec les municipalités une relation fondée sur la collaboration et le respect, ce qui a donné lieu à un partenariat plus fort que jamais.

Au nombre des progrès réalisés jusqu’à présent figurent des investissements sans précédent dans l’infrastructure locale, le partage des revenus tirés de la taxe sur l’essence, la prise en charge de coûts dévolus aux municipalités par le gouvernement précédent, le soutien aux écoles et aux hôpitaux, et l’adoption de mesures pour donner aux municipalités les outils nécessaires à la prestation de services de grande qualité aux Ontariennes et Ontariens. 

Le gouvernement continuera de miser sur la relation améliorée qu’il a établie avec ses partenaires municipaux.

Réalisations récentes

Le rapport marquant de 2008 intitulé Examen provincial-municipal du financement et du mode de prestation des services offre un bel exemple du nouvel esprit de partenariat et de respect mutuel qui marque la relation entre le gouvernement McGuinty et les municipalités. Ces dernières continuent de bénéficier de la décision du gouvernement d’utiliser les revenus tirés des impôts fonciers pour payer la part municipale des coûts associés aux programmes d’aide sociale.

En 2010, la province a débuté la prise en charge graduelle des :

  • coûts relatifs aux prestations du Programme ontarien de soutien aux personnes handicapées;
  • coûts relatifs aux prestations du programme Ontario au travail.

Ces mesures s’ajoutent aux mesures antérieures de prise en charge du gouvernement McGuinty, qui visaient :

  • le Programme de médicaments de l’Ontario en 2008;
  • les coûts d’administration du Programme ontarien de soutien aux personnes handicapées en 2009.

Lorsqu’elle sera achevée en 2018, cette prise en charge, qui inclut jusqu’à 125 millions de dollars par année en coûts de la sécurité dans les tribunaux, représentera des économies nettes pour les municipalités de 1,5 milliard de dollars par année. Cela fera en sorte qu’une part plus grande des revenus tirés des impôts fonciers serve aux grandes priorités municipales, notamment les investissements dans l’infrastructure et le développement économique.

Depuis 2003, la province a plus que doublé son soutien aux municipalités. À eux seuls, la prise en charge par la province des coûts des programmes d’aide sociale et le Fonds de partenariat avec les municipalités de l’Ontario (FPMO) procureront 1,2 milliard de dollars aux municipalités en 2010. Jumelé à d’autres investissements, comme le partage des fonds provenant de la taxe sur l’essence, le financement accru des ambulances terrestres et la prise en charge des coûts des services de santé publique, ce montant fera passer à environ 2,6 milliards de dollars en 2010 le soutien provincial continu aux municipalités.

D’ici 2018, le gouvernement McGuinty aura porté son soutien annuel continu aux municipalités à plus de 3,8 milliards de dollars, une augmentation de plus de 250 % par rapport à 2003.

L’aide permanente aux municipalités augmente

Les municipalités tirent également profit d’investissements considérables dans l’infrastructure. Dans le budget de l’Ontario de 2009, le gouvernement a annoncé l’octroi de fonds de stimulation à l’intention des collectivités de l’ensemble de la province. Jusqu’à présent, la province a investi plus de 1,7 milliard de dollars pour financer plus de 2 200 importants projets municipaux et communautaires d’infrastructure. Le gouvernement McGuinty a également fourni 1,1 milliard de dollars directement aux municipalités dans le cadre de la Loi de 2008 permettant d’investir dans l’Ontario.

Depuis 2004, la province partage les revenus tirés de la taxe sur l’essence avec les municipalités. Cet investissement de la part de la province, qui représente jusqu’à présent plus de 1,3 milliard de dollars, a permis d’étendre et d’améliorer les services de transport en commun, d’en accroître la capacité et d’attirer de nouveaux usagers en leur offrant une solution de rechange plus fiable et plus commode à la voiture. Dans le cadre de son engagement envers les municipalités et l’environnement, le gouvernement continuera d’investir dans les transports en commun pour donner suite aux près de 9,3 milliards de dollars qu’il a déjà investis depuis 2003 dans toute la province.

Pour renforcer encore davantage sa relation avec les municipalités, le gouvernement de l’Ontario a conclu avec l’Association des municipalités de l’Ontario (AMO) et la cité de Toronto des ententes qui officialisent le principe de la consultation rapide du secteur municipal. Aux termes de ces ententes, la province et les municipalités doivent collaborer aux dossiers d’intérêts communs dans un esprit de respect mutuel, de consultation permanente et de coopération.

Le gouvernement McGuinty a modernisé la relation juridique qu’entretient la province avec les municipalités et a adapté les pouvoirs des municipalités aux réalités du XXIe siècle au moyen des mesures législatives suivantes :

  • la Loi de 2006 sur la cité de Toronto, qui prévoit un cadre législatif vaste et permissif pour la cité de Toronto;
  • la Loi de 2006 modifiant des lois concernant les municipalités, qui confère aux administrations locales des pouvoirs étendus et une plus grande liberté sur le plan législatif pour améliorer la prestation de services à leurs collectivités;
  • la Loi de 2006 modifiant des lois en ce qui a trait à l’aménagement du territoire et aux terres protégées, qui réforme la Commission des affaires municipales de l’Ontario et améliore la prise de décisions à l’échelle locale, la participation communautaire à la planification locale et le recours aux outils financiers.

Collectivités et écoles

Dans le cadre de la Stratégie de réduction de la pauvreté, le gouvernement investit pour veiller à ce que les écoles fassent partie intégrante des collectivités qu’elles desservent. Entre autres, il :

  • octroie 38,5 millions de dollars durant l’année scolaire 2009-2010 afin qu’il soit plus facile et moins coûteux pour les gens d’utiliser les écoles après les heures de classe. Depuis 2005-2006, l’investissement de plus de 90 millions de dollars par la province a fait chuter de 43 % les tarifs moyens que doivent payer les groupes communautaires pour utiliser les installations scolaires. Le nombre de participants a aussi augmenté de 46 %;
  • crée 21 nouveaux Centres de formation au rôle parental et de littératie pour les familles en 2009-2010. Cela portera à 144 le nombre total de ces centres, qui aident à préparer l’entrée à l’école des enfants des quartiers à besoins élevés au moyen de l’apprentissage par le jeu;
  • assure à plus de 15 500 enfants et jeunes de la 1re à la 12e année un accès à des activités parascolaires sûres, dynamiques et bonnes pour la santé par l’entremise de l’Initiative ontarienne d’activités après l’école, offerte à plus de 270 endroits partout en Ontario;
  • étendre le Programme de bonne nutrition des élèves à 100 000 élèves additionnels durant l’année scolaire 2008-2009, pour faire passer à 500 000 le nombre d’élèves qui participent au programme chaque année;
  • aider les écoles des quartiers défavorisés à accroître la participation des parents; le nombre de Subventions pour la participation et l’engagement des parents accordées à ces écoles en 2009-2010 a augmenté de 354 % par rapport à l’année précédente.

Plan fiscal de l’Ontario pour stimuler la création d’emplois et la croissance

Dans le cadre de la taxe de vente harmonisée (TVH), les organismes du secteur public, y compris les municipalités, pourront demander le remboursement de la composante provinciale de la TVH qu’ils paient sur bon nombre de leurs achats. Ces remboursements ont pour but de neutraliser l’effet net sur le plan financier de la nouvelle taxe, par rapport à la taxe de vente au détail, pour ce secteur dans son ensemble. Le remboursement accordé s’établira à 78 % de la composante provinciale de la TVH.

En général, la TVH appliquera aux municipalités les mêmes définitions et règles de remboursement que celles de la taxe sur les produits et services (TPS) fédérale en vigueur à l’heure actuelle.

Pour appuyer encore davantage les organismes du secteur parapublic, les restrictions temporaires associées à certains crédits d’impôt sur les intrants ne s’appliqueront pas aux municipalités.

-30-