March 29, 2011

The Ontario economy is turning the corner after the global recession and is now poised for a period of sustained growth.

The Open Ontario plan, along with the government’s continuing approach to prudent fiscal management, provides a solid foundation for supporting the economic recovery and ensuring long-term prosperity for the province.

The deficit for 2010–11 is projected to be $16.7 billion, which is $3.0 billion lower than outlined in the 2010 Budget. This is largely due to the fact that program expense for 2010–11 is projected to be $2.6 billion lower than the forecast published in the 2010 Budget.

Over the next two years, the government is on track to improve on its deficit projections by $1.7 billion, for a total cumulative improvement of $4.7 billion over three years. The government has a responsible plan to balance the budget — a plan that is working.

The Open Ontario Plan is Working

Ontario’s plan to make the province more competitive is getting results.

Jobs are coming back and the economy is turning the corner. Key indicators, such as real GDP and employment, are near pre-recession levels. Ontario has recovered 91 per cent of the jobs lost during the global downturn and all private-sector forecasters predict sustained economic growth for the province.

The balanced pace of deficit reduction ensures the province is overcoming the fiscal challenge it faces through realistic and responsible means — not by putting vital public services at risk or resorting to arbitrary, across-the-board cuts.

Ontario's Fiscal Performance

Beyond 2012–13, the Ontario government remains on track to meet its fiscal targets outlined in the 2010 Budget. This includes a $13.3 billion deficit in 2013–14, followed by steadily declining deficits and a return to a balanced budget by 2017–18.

Through prudent fiscal management, the government has overachieved on its budget targets in five of the last seven fiscal years. These results are in large part the outcome of the government’s continued efforts to reduce growth in program expense while protecting the public services that matter most to Ontarians.

Although the economy is recovering, the government cannot rely on economic growth alone to eliminate the deficit. The Ontario government is setting priorities and getting better value for money across government.

Economic Outlook

Ontario’s real GDP grew by an estimated 2.8 per cent in 2010, following declines of 0.9 per cent in 2008 and 3.6 per cent in 2009. The Ministry of Finance’s plan is based on Ontario’s real GDP increasing by 2.4 per cent in 2011, 2.7 per cent in 2012 and 2013, and 2.6 per cent in 2014. The provincial forecast is more cautious than average private-sector forecasts. The modest but solid pace of growth reflects a fundamentally sound domestic economy and continued increases in global demand for Ontario’s exports.

Ontario Economic Outlook
(Per Cent)
  2008 2009 2010 2011p 2012p 2013p 2014p
Real GDP Growth (0.9) (3.6) 2.8e 2.4 2.7 2.7 2.6
Nominal GDP Growth 0.1 (1.1) 6.1e 4.6 5.1 4.8 4.6
Employment Growth 1.6 (2.5) 1.7 1.7 1.8 1.8 1.7
CPI Inflation 2.3 0.4 2.5 2.3 2.1 2.0 2.0
e = Ontario Ministry of Finance estimate. p = Ontario Ministry of Finance planning projection.
Sources: Statistics Canada and Ontario Ministry of Finance.

Ontario’s key economic indicators, such as employment and real GDP, are near pre-recession levels. Real GDP increased for five consecutive quarters from the third quarter of 2009 to the third quarter of 2010. Recent statistics indicate that the economic recovery strengthened in the final quarter of 2010 and continued into 2011. It is likely that real GDP will have surpassed pre-recession levels in the first quarter of 2011.

Ontario Real GDP

Rebound in Job Creation

According to Statistics Canada, almost 233,000 net new jobs have been created from May 2009 to February 2011, recovering 91 per cent of the jobs lost during the global economic downturn. During the recession, Ontario had a net loss of 257,000 jobs.

The unemployment rate in Ontario has recently fallen to 8.0 per cent from 9.4 per cent at the height of the recession. While there has been a solid recovery in employment so far, there has also been an increase in the number of Ontarians in the labour force. As a result, the Ontario unemployment rate remains above the pre-recession rate of 6.5 per cent.

Ontario Unemployment Rate Declining

The government responded with the Open Ontario plan in 2010, improving the province’s economic fundamentals, encouraging an environment for job creation and protecting schools and hospitals.

Government Revenues

Ontario government revenues are recovering following the global recession. Taxation revenues are projected to grow 5.6 per cent over the previous year. Revenues are projected to increase at an annual average rate of 3.3 per cent from 2010–11 to 2013–14. Projected revenue increases are largely driven by the forecast for economic growth. There are no new taxes or tax increases included in the budget.

Total revenue in 2010–11 is estimated to be $106,185 million. This is $682 million (0.6 per cent) below the amount projected in the 2010 Budget. The medium-term revenue forecast is within one per cent of the 2010 Budget outlook in each year of the forecast.


Total expense in 2010–11 is currently projected to be $122.9 billion, a decrease of $3.0 billion from the 2010 Budget forecast. Program expense in 2010–11 is projected to be $2.6 billion lower than forecast in last year’s budget. This decrease reflects the government’s prudent approach to managing expense and a portion of the contingency funds being available to be redirected to reduce the 2010–11 deficit.

Over the medium term, between 2010–11 and 2013–14, total expense is projected to increase at an average annual rate of 1.7 per cent — about half the rate of growth in revenue. This constrained rate of growth reflects the government’s continued commitment to reduce the deficit without putting vital public services at risk or resorting to arbitrary, across-the-board cuts. It reflects Ontario’s accelerated plan to achieve greater efficiencies in the delivery of public services.

To offset potential changes to revenue and expense that would otherwise have an effect on Ontario’s fiscal performance, the fiscal plan includes prudence in the form of contingency funds of $0.7 billion in 2011–12 and a reserve of $0.7 billion in 2011–12 and $1.0 billion in 2012–13 and 2013–14.

Borrowing Less

Ontario’s total funding requirement for 2010–11 is $38.6 billion, a decline of $7.0 billion since the 2010 Budget. The province took advantage of favourable market conditions and robust demand for Ontario bonds to pre-borrow for 2011–12. This pre-borrowing, combined with a lower deficit forecast for 2010–11, will allow Ontario to increase its cash reserves by $5.6 billion and reduce its short-term borrowing by $1.6 billion compared to the 2010 Budget forecast.

Ontario was able to borrow almost 59 per cent in the domestic market in 2010–11, up from 49 per cent in 2009–10. This increase in domestic borrowing reflects strong global investor demand for Canadian-dollar assets, the liquidity of Ontario benchmark bonds and continuing confidence in the Province of Ontario credit. With a smaller borrowing program and expected ongoing strong demand in the domestic market, the province will be relying less on foreign markets to achieve its financing requirement.


Andrew Chornenky, Minister’s Office, 416-325-9819
Scott Blodgett, Ministry of Finance, 416-325-0324

For public inquiries call 1-800-337-7222

(Toll-free in Ontario only)

Disponible en fran├žais

: Budget de l’Ontario 2011 : Perspectives économiques et plan financier de l’Ontario

Le 29 mars 2011

L’économie de l’Ontario remonte la pente à la suite de la récession mondiale et se prépare à une période de croissance soutenue.

Le plan Ontario ouvert sur le monde, conjugué à l’approche de gestion financière prudente et soutenue du gouvernement, fournit des assises solides à la reprise économique et à la prospérité à long terme de la province.

Le déficit pour 2010-2011 devrait être de 16,7 milliards de dollars, soit 3,0 milliards de dollars de moins que le montant prévu dans le budget de 2010. Ce résultat est surtout attribuable au fait que les charges de programmes de 2010-2011 devraient être de 2,6 milliards de dollars inférieures aux prévisions du budget de 2010.

Au cours des deux prochaines années, le gouvernement devrait dépasser de 1,7 milliard de dollars les projections de réduction du déficit, ce qui représente une amélioration globale de 4,7 milliards de dollars sur trois ans. Le gouvernement a mis en oeuvre un plan responsable pour équilibrer le budget et ce plan fonctionne.

Le plan Ontario ouvert sur le monde fonctionne

Le plan de l’Ontario visant à rendre la province plus compétitive donne les résultats escomptés.

Les emplois reviennent et l’économie remonte la pente. Les indices clés, comme le PIB réel et l’emploi, se rapprochent de leurs niveaux antérieurs à la récession. L’Ontario a recouvré 91 % des emplois perdus pendant le ralentissement économique mondial et tous les prévisionnistes du secteur privé s’attendent à ce que la croissance économique soit soutenue dans la province.

Le rythme équilibré de réduction du déficit fait en sorte que la province est en mesure de relever ses défis financiers grâce à des mesures réalistes et responsables, sans compromettre les services publics essentiels ni recourir à des compressions arbitraires dans l’ensemble des secteurs.

Ontario's Fiscal Performance

Au-delà de 2012-2013, le gouvernement de l’Ontario continue d’être en voie d’atteindre ses objectifs financiers établis dans le budget de 2010. Ces objectifs comprennent la réduction du déficit pour l’abaisser à 13,3 milliards de dollars en 2013-2014 et le réduire graduellement en vue de rétablir l’équilibre budgétaire d’ici 2017-2018.

Grâce à une gestion financière prudente, le gouvernement a pu dépasser ses objectifs budgétaires pour cinq des sept derniers exercices. Ces résultats découlent en grande partie des efforts soutenus du gouvernement pour réduire la croissance des charges de programmes, tout en protégeant les services publics auxquels la population ontarienne attache le plus d’importance.

Bien que l’économie se rétablisse, le gouvernement de l’Ontario ne peut compter uniquement sur la croissance de l’économie pour éliminer le déficit. C’est pourquoi il établit des priorités et optimise l’utilisation des ressources à l’échelle du gouvernement.

Perspectives économiques

Le PIB réel de l’Ontario s’est accru d’environ 2,8 % en 2010, à la suite de baisses de 0,9 % en 2008 et de 3,6 % en 2009. Le plan du ministère des Finances est basé sur une augmentation du PIB réel de l’Ontario de 2,4 % en 2011, de 2,7 % en 2012 et 2013 et de 2,6 % en 2014. Les prévisions provinciales sont plus prudentes que la moyenne des prévisions du secteur privé. La province connaît un rythme de croissance modeste mais soutenu, qui reflète une économie intérieure fondamentalement solide et une augmentation continue de la demande mondiale à l’égard de ses exportations.

Perspectives économiques de l’Ontario
(en pourcentage)
  2008 2009 2010 2011p 2012p 2013p 2014p
Croissance du PIB réel (0,9) (3,6) 2,8e 2,4 2,7 2,7 2,6
Croissance du PIB nominal 0,1 (1,1) 6,1e 4,6 5,1 4,8 4,6
Croissance de l'emploi 1,6 (2,5) 1,7 1,7 1,8 1,8 1,7
Inflation de l'IPC 2,3 0,4 2,5 2,3 2,1 2,0 2,0
e = estimation du ministère des Finances de l'Ontario; p = projection de planification du ministère des Finances de l'Ontario.
Sources : Statistique Canada et ministère des Finances de l'Ontario.

Les indicateurs clés de l’économie de l’Ontario tels que l’emploi et le PIB réel ont presque atteint leur niveau d’avant la récession. Le PIB réel de l’Ontario s’est accru au cours de cinq trimestres consécutifs, soit entre le troisième trimestre de 2009 et le troisième trimestre de 2010. Des statistiques récentes indiquent que la reprise économique a pris de l’ampleur au dernier trimestre de 2010 et qu’elle se poursuit en 2011. Il est probable que le PIB réel aura dépassé les niveaux antérieurs à la récession au cours du premier trimestre de 2011.

PIB reel de l'Ontario

Reprise de la creation d'emplois

Selon Statistique Canada, près de 233 000 emplois nets ont été créés entre mai 2009 et février 2011, ce qui signifie que 91 % des emplois perdus lors du ralentissement économique mondial ont été recouvrés. Pendant la récession, la province a subi une perte nette de 257 000 emplois.

Le taux de chômage en Ontario est passé de 9,4 % au plus fort de la récession à 8,0 % récemment. Malgré la solide reprise de l’emploi enregistrée jusqu’ici, on constate aussi une augmentation du nombre d’Ontariennes et d’Ontariens sur le marché du travail, ce qui explique pourquoi le taux de chômage en Ontario demeure au-dessus des 6,5 % affichés avant la récession.


PIB reel de l'Ontario

Le gouvernement a réagi en adoptant le plan Ontario ouvert sur le monde en 2010, qui a permis de renforcer les assises économiques de la province, de favoriser un environnement propice à la création d’emplois et de protéger les écoles et les hôpitaux.

Revenus du gouvernement

Les revenus du gouvernement de l’Ontario se redressent à la suite de la récession mondiale. Les revenus fiscaux devraient augmenter de 5,6 % par rapport à l’exercice précédent. On prévoit que les revenus augmenteront en moyenne de 3,3 % par année entre 2010-2011 et 2013-2014. La hausse des revenus prévue est surtout attribuable à la croissance économique prévue. Le budget ne comprend aucune nouvelle taxe et aucun nouvel impôt, ni augmentation des taxes et impôts.

Le total des revenus est estimé à 106 185 millions de dollars en 2010-2011, ce qui représente une baisse de 682 millions de dollars, soit 0,6 %, par rapport au montant prévu dans le budget de 2010. Les revenus prévus à moyen terme varient d’au plus un pour cent par rapport aux chiffres indiqués à ce titre chaque année dans les perspectives du budget de 2010.

Charges

On prévoit actuellement que le total des charges en 2010-2011 sera de 122,9 milliards de dollars, une diminution de 3,0 milliards de dollars par rapport aux prévisions du budget de 2010. Les charges de programmes pour 2010-2011 devraient être inférieures de 2,6 milliards de dollars à celles prévues dans le budget de l’année dernière. Cette baisse témoigne de la gestion prudente des charges que le gouvernement a appliquée ainsi que de la possibilité de réaffecter une partie des fonds de prévoyance afin de réduire le déficit pour 2010-2011.

À moyen terme, les charges de programmes devraient quant à elles progresser à un taux annuel moyen de 1,7 % entre 2010-2011 et 2013-2014, ce qui représente environ la moitié du taux de croissance des revenus. Ce rythme de croissance contenu illustre la détermination soutenue du gouvernement à réduire le déficit sans compromettre les services publics essentiels ni faire des compressions de façon arbitraire dans l’ensemble des secteurs. De plus, il tient compte du plan accéléré de l’Ontario visant à réaliser des gains d’efficience dans la prestation des services publics.

Pour compenser les variations éventuelles des revenus et des charges qui auraient une incidence sur les résultats financiers de l’Ontario, la province fait preuve de prudence en incluant dans son plan financier un fonds de prévoyance de 0,7 milliard de dollars en 2011-2012 et une réserve de 0,7 milliard de dollars en 2011-2012 et de 1,0 milliard de dollars en 2012-2013 et en 2013-2014.

Réduction des emprunts

Le total des besoins de l’Ontario en matière de financement pour 2010-2011 est de 38,6 milliards de dollars, une diminution de 7,0 milliards de dollars depuis la publication du budget de 2010. Le gouvernement provincial a tiré parti des conditions favorables sur les marchés et de la forte demande d’obligations de l’Ontario en faisant des emprunts anticipés pour 2011-2012. Ces emprunts anticipés, conjugués au déficit moins élevé que prévu pour 2010-2011, permettront à l’Ontario d’augmenter ses réserves de trésorerie de 5,6 milliards de dollars et de réduire ses emprunts à court terme de 1,6 milliard de dollars par rapport aux prévisions du budget de 2010.

L’Ontario a été en mesure de contracter près de 59 % des emprunts sur le marché canadien en 2010-2011, par rapport à 49 % en 2009-2010. Cette augmentation des emprunts sur le marché canadien découle de la forte demande d’actifs en dollars canadiens de la part des investisseurs internationaux, de la liquidité des obligations de référence de l’Ontario et de la confiance qu’inspire toujours le crédit de la province de l’Ontario. Grâce à des emprunts moins importants et à la forte demande prévue sur le marché canadien, le gouvernement provincial dépendra moins des marchés étrangers pour combler ses besoins en matière de financement.


DEMANDES DE RENSEIGNEMENTS DES MÉDIAS :

Andrew Chornenky, Bureau du ministre, 416  325-9819
Scott Blodgett, ministère des Finances, 416 325-0324

Demandes de renseignements du public :
1 800 337-7222

(Interurbains sans frais uniquement en Ontario)

ontario.ca/finances-nouvelles
Available in English