2011 Ontario Budget: Chapter II: Ontario's Economic Outlook and Fiscal Plan
Section E: Ontario's Fiscal Plan

Medium-Term Fiscal Outlook

The 2010 Budget projected that the Province’s deficit would be cut in half in five years from its peak in 2009–10 and eliminated by 2017–18. The government’s realistic and responsible plan to balance the budget is working. The deficit for 2010–11 is now projected to be $3.0 billion lower than outlined in the 2010 Budget, an improvement of about 32 per cent from the 2009–10 deficit of $24.7 billion forecast in the fall of 2009. Over the next two years the government is on track to improve on its deficit projections by $1.7 billion — for a total improvement of $4.7 billion over three years.

TABLE 17. Medium-Term Fiscal Plan and Outlook
($ Billions)
  Interim
2010–11
Plan
2011–12
Outlook
2012–13 2013–14
Total Revenue 106.2 108.5 111.8 117.0
Expense        
Programs 113.3 113.8 114.6 116.7
Interest on Debt 9.5 10.3 11.4 12.6
Total Expense 122.9 124.1 126.0 129.3
Reserve 0.7 1.0 1.0
Surplus/(Deficit) (16.7) (16.3) (15.2) (13.3)
Note: Numbers may not add due to rounding.

Total revenue over the medium term is projected to increase at an average annual rate of 3.3 per cent between 2010–11 and 2013–14, as government revenues continue to recover from the impact of the global recession.

Over the same period, total expense is projected to increase at an average annual rate of 1.7 per cent — about half the rate of growth in revenue. This constrained rate of growth reflects the government’s continued commitment to steadfastly tackle the deficit without putting vital public services at risk or resorting to arbitrary, across-the-board cuts. It reflects the Province’s accelerated plan to achieve greater efficiencies in the delivery of public services.

To offset potential changes to revenue and expense that would otherwise impact the Province’s fiscal performance, the fiscal plan includes prudence in the form of contingency funds of $0.7 billion in 2011–12 and a reserve of $0.7 billion in 2011–12, and $1.0 billion in 2012–13 and 2013–14.

Key Changes Since the 2010 Budget

The government is on track for a cumulative improvement of $4.7 billion between 2010–11 and 2012–13 compared with the 2010 Budget deficit projections.

TABLE 18. Change in Medium-Term Fiscal Outlook Since the 2010 Budget
($ Billions)
  2010–11 2011–12 2012–13
Surplus/(Deficit) from 2010 Budget (19.7) (17.3) (15.9)
       
Total Revenue Changes (0.7) 0.7 (0.1)
Expense Changes      
Net Program Expense Changes (2.6) 0.8 0.3
Interest on Debt (0.4) (0.8) (1.2)
Total Expense Changes (3.0) 0.0 (0.9)
Change in Reserve (0.7) (0.3)
       
Fiscal Improvement/(Deterioration) 3.0 1.0 0.7
       
2011 Budget Surplus/(Deficit) (16.7) (16.3) (15.2)
Note: Numbers may not add due to rounding.

The medium-term revenue forecast is within one per cent of the 2010 Budget outlook in each year of the forecast. Complete details on changes to the revenue forecast are outlined in Section D of this chapter.

Program expense in 2010–11 is projected to be $2.6 billion lower than forecast in last year’s budget. Further details on the 2010–11 interim fiscal performance are outlined in Section B of this chapter.

For 2011–12, the net change in program expense mainly reflects revised implementation schedules for infrastructure projects, including economic stimulus projects. Otherwise, as is the case in 2012–13, overall program expense levels are largely consistent with the 2010 Budget projections.

Interest on debt expense is now lower than forecast, partly due to lower deficit projections, as well as lower-than-projected interest rates. The Province has taken advantage of the lower interest rate environment in 2010–11 and extended the term to maturity of its debt. This has allowed the Province to lock in low interest rates for a longer period, which reduces refinancing risks and helps offset the impact of expected higher interest rates.

The reserve for 2010–11 has been used to improve the Province’s fiscal performance and reduce the deficit. For 2011–12, consistent with previous years’ practice, the reserve has been lowered because there is more visibility into the economic outlook for 2011–12 than there was a year ago.

Medium-Term Expense Outlook

The Province’s total expense outlook is projected to grow by an average annual rate of only 1.7 per cent between 2010–11 and 2013–14. Moreover, excluding the estimated impact associated with the federal–provincial announcement to extend the funding deadline for completion of infrastructure stimulus projects to October 31, 2011, the Province’s 2011–12 program expense outlook is unchanged year over year, compared with the 2010–11 interim estimate. This outlook reflects the government’s commitment to control growth in program expense while protecting the public services that matter most to Ontarians.

TABLE 19. Summary of Medium-Term Expense Outlook
($ Billions)
  Interim
2010–11
Plan
2011–12
Outlook
2012–13 2013–14
Programs        
Health Sector 45.6 47.6 49.2 50.6
Education Sector1 22.2 23.2 24.0 24.3
Postsecondary and Training Sector 7.6 7.1 7.1 7.4
Children's and Social Services Sector 13.1 13.7 14.0 14.4
Justice Sector 4.4 4.7 4.6 4.2
Other Programs 20.3 17.4 15.7 15.9
Total Programs 113.3 113.8 114.6 116.7
Interest on Debt 9.5 10.3 11.4 12.6
Total Expense 122.9 124.1 126.0 129.3
1 Excludes Teachers' Pension Plan.
Note: Numbers may not add due to rounding.

Between 2010–11 and 2013–14, total program expense is projected to increase by an average annual rate of only 1.0 per cent. Highlights of key program expense changes over the medium term include the following:

  • Total health sector expense is projected to increase by $5.0 billion from 2010–11 to 2013–14. Funding maintains growth in major program areas such as hospitals and OHIP. It also supports increased investments in the community services sector, including long-term care homes, to improve services and help divert pressures from acute care and emergency rooms.
  • Total education sector funding is projected to increase by $2.1 billion from 2010–11 to 2013–14. This increase includes additional Provincial grants to support student achievement and funding for the ongoing implementation of the government’s full-day kindergarten program.
  • Total postsecondary and training sector expense is projected to decrease by $0.5 billion in 2011–12 primarily due to the phase-out of time-limited stimulus funding. From 2011–12 to 2013–14, expense is projected to increase to support postsecondary enrolment growth.
  • Total children’s and social services sector funding is projected to increase by $1.3 billion from 2010–11 to 2013–14. This is primarily due to increased expenses in social assistance.
  • Total justice sector expense is projected to decrease by approximately $0.2 billion from 2010–11 to 2013–14. This decrease is primarily due to the expected completion of previously approved capital projects, including courthouses and correctional facilities.
  • Other programs expense is projected to decrease by $4.4 billion from 2010–11 to 2013–14. This decrease is mainly due to the phase-out of time-limited investments intended to help the Province emerge from the global recession and temporary relief for the transition to the new sales tax system.

The total expense outlook includes interest on debt expense, net of interest capitalized during construction of tangible capital assets, and is projected to increase by $3.1 billion from 2010–11 to 2013–14. This increase is mainly due to additional borrowing required to fund investments in infrastructure and deficits.

Risks to Expense Outlook

As is the case every year, potential risks may emerge causing variances to both the Province’s revenue and expense outlooks. Yet, by maintaining a prudent approach towards fiscal management, the government has overachieved on its budget targets in five of the last seven fiscal years.

The government’s 2011–12 expense plan includes contingency funds totalling $0.7 billion. The contingency funds provide flexibility for the government to respond, in a timely manner, to any further challenges that may arise to Ontario’s fiscal outlook. Contingency funds are also built into the fiscal plan over the medium term.

The following table provides a summary of key expense risks and sensitivities that could result from unexpected changes in economic conditions and program demands. A change in these factors could impact total expense, causing variances in the overall fiscal forecast. It should be noted that these sensitivities and risks are illustrative and can vary, depending on the nature and composition of potential risks.

TABLE 20. Selected Expense Risks and Sensitivities
Program/Sector 2011–12 Assumption 2011–12 Sensitivity
Health Sector Annual growth of 4.3 per cent. One per cent change in health spending: $476 million.
Hospitals' Sector Expense Annual growth of 4.7 per cent. One per cent change in hospitals' sector expense: $212 million.
Drug Programs Utilization Annual growth of less than 4.8 per cent. One per cent change in program expenditure of all drug programs: $43 million (seniors and social assistance recipients).
Long-Term Care Homes 77,800 long-term care home beds. Average Provincial annual operating cost per bed in a long-term care home is $48,300. One per cent change in number of beds: approximately $38 million.
Home Care Approximately 20 million hours of homemaking and support services.
Approximately 8 million nursing and professional visits.
One per cent change in hours of homemaking and support services: approximately $6 million.
One per cent change in nursing and professional visits: approximately $6 million.
Elementary and Secondary Schools 1,877,000 average daily pupil enrolment. One per cent enrolment increase: $140 million.
University Students 366,000 full-time undergraduate and graduate students. One per cent enrolment change: $35 million.
College Students 182,600 full-time students. One per cent enrolment change: $13 million.
Ontario Works 260,423 average annual caseload. One per cent caseload change: $23 million.
Ontario Disability Support Program 290,172 average annual caseload. One per cent caseload change: $38 million.
Correctional System 3.2 million adult inmate days per year. Average cost $180 per inmate per day. One per cent change in inmate days: $5.8 million.
Interest on Debt Average cost of 2011–12 borrowing is forecast to be approximately 4.5 per cent. The 2011–12 impact of a 100 basis-point change in borrowing rates is forecast to be approximately $500 million.

Compensation costs and wage settlements are also key cost drivers. Consistent with the government’s broader public-sector compensation policy statement, the fiscal plan provides no funding for incremental compensation increases for the first two years of any future collective agreements.

Contingent Liabilities

In addition to the key demand sensitivities and economic risks to the fiscal plan, there are risks stemming from the government’s contingent liabilities. Whether these contingencies will result in actual liabilities for the Province is beyond the direct control of the government. Losses could result from legal settlements, defaults on projects, and loan and funding guarantees. Provisions for losses that are likely to occur and can be reasonably estimated are expensed and reported as liabilities in the Province’s financial statements. Significant contingent liabilities were disclosed as part of the 2009–10 Annual Report and Consolidated Financial Statements, released in August 2010.1

Plan to Eliminate the Deficit

The Open Ontario plan, along with the government’s continuing approach to prudent fiscal management, provides a solid foundation for supporting the economic recovery and ensuring long-term prosperity for the province.

The balanced pace of deficit reduction ensures that the Province will overcome the fiscal challenge it faces through realistic and responsible means, not by putting vital public services at risk or resorting to arbitrary, across-the-board cuts. The plan is working.

The government is on track for a cumulative improvement of $4.7 billion between 2010–11 and 2012–13 compared with the 2010 Budget deficit projections. This improvement is in large part a result of the government’s continued efforts to control expense while protecting the public services that matter most to Ontarians, such as education and health care.

Chart 20: Bar Graph: Ontario's Plan to Eliminate the Deficit

Key elements of the government’s plan to eliminate the deficit by 2017–18 include:

  • holding annual growth in program expense to an average of 1.0 per cent between 2010–11 and 2013–14;
  • initiatives to improve the delivery of public services and ensure that Ontarians receive the best value for their tax dollars;
  • promoting principled and sustainable federal–provincial fiscal arrangements;
  • maintaining a cautious and prudent fiscal plan, including contingency funds and a reserve; and
  • continuing support for Ontario’s recovery as the economy turns the corner on the recession.
TABLE 21. Ontario's Recovery Plan
($ Billions)
  Interim
10–11
Plan
11–12
Medium-Term Outlook Extended Outlook
12–13 13–14 14–15 15–16 16–17 17–18
Revenue 106.2 108.5 111.8 117.0 122.8 129.0 135.4 142.2
Expense                
Programs 113.3 113.8 114.6 116.7 118.8 121.0 122.9 124.9
Interest on Debt 9.5 10.3 11.4 12.6 13.7 14.8 15.7 16.3
Total Expense 122.9 124.1 126.0 129.3 132.6 135.8 138.6 141.2
Reserve 0.7 1.0 1.0 1.0 1.0 1.0 1.0
Surplus/ (Deficit) (16.7) (16.3) (15.2) (13.3) (10.7) (7.8) (4.2) 0.0
Note: Numbers may not add due to rounding.

Fiscal Prudence

In addition to maintaining a prudent and responsible approach to managing growth in expenditures, each year the fiscal plan includes other elements of prudence to help protect the government’s overall fiscal objectives and contribute to the achievement of fiscal targets.

In keeping with sound fiscal practices, the Province’s revenue outlook is based on prudent economic assumptions.

Consistent with requirements under the Fiscal Transparency and Accountability Act, 2004, the fiscal plan incorporates prudence in the form of a reserve to protect the fiscal outlook against adverse changes in the Province’s revenue and expense, including those resulting from changes in Ontario’s economic performance.

The fiscal plan also includes contingency funds (both operating and capital) to help mitigate expense risks that may otherwise have a negative impact on results.

1For further information, visit www.fin.gov.on.ca/en/budget/paccts/2010.

Budget de l’Ontario 2011 : Chapitre II : Perspectives économiques et plan financier de l’Ontario
Section E : Plan financier de l’Ontario

Perspectives financières à moyen terme

Le budget de 2010 avait prévu que le déficit de la province serait réduit de moitié en cinq ans, par rapport à son sommet de 2009-2010, et serait éliminé d’ici 2017-2018. Le plan réaliste et responsable adopté par le gouvernement en vue d’équilibrer le budget fonctionne. Le déficit pour 2010-2011 devrait être inférieur de 3,0 milliards de dollars aux projections du budget de 2010, ce qui représente une amélioration d’environ 32 % par rapport à celui de 24,7 milliards de dollars qui avait été prévu pour 2009‑2010 à l’automne 2009. Au cours des deux prochaines années, le gouvernement devrait dépasser de 1,7 milliard de dollars les projections au chapitre du déficit, ce qui représente une amélioration globale de 4,7 milliards de dollars sur trois ans.

TABLEAU 17. Plan financier et perspectives à moyen terme
(en milliards de dollars)
  Chiffres prov.
2010-2011
Plan
2011-2012
Perspectives
2012-2013 2013-2014
Total des revenus 106,2 108,5 111,8 117,0
Charges        
Programmes 113,3 113,8 114,6 116,7
Intérêt sur la dette 9,5 10,3 11,4 12,6
Total des charges 122,9 124,1 126,0 129,3
Réserve 0,7 1,0 1,0
Excédent/(Déficit) (16,7) (16,3) (15,2) (13,3)
Nota : Les totaux peuvent ne pas correspondre à la somme des chiffres, qui ont été arrondis.

À moyen terme, les revenus totaux devraient augmenter à un taux annuel moyen de 3,3 % entre 2010-2011 et 2013-2014, alors que les revenus gouvernementaux continuent à se redresser à la suite de la récession mondiale.

Durant la même période, les charges de programmes devraient quant à elles progresser à un taux annuel moyen de 1,7 %, ce qui représente environ la moitié du taux de croissance des revenus. Ce rythme de croissance contenu illustre la détermination soutenue du gouvernement à s’attaquer au déficit sans compromettre les services publics essentiels ni faire des compressions de façon arbitraire dans l’ensemble des secteurs. Le gouvernement provincial a un plan accéléré visant à réaliser des économies encore plus importantes au chapitre de la prestation des services publics.

Pour compenser les variations éventuelles des revenus et des charges qui auraient une incidence sur ses résultats financiers, la province fait preuve de prudence en incluant dans son plan financier un fonds de prévoyance de 0,7 milliard de dollars en 2011-2012 et une réserve de 0,7 milliard de dollars en 2011-2012 et de 1,0 milliard de dollars en 2012-2013 et en 2013-2014.

Principales variations depuis la publication du budget de 2010

Le gouvernement est en voie de réaliser des améliorations cumulatives de 4,7 milliards de dollars entre 2010-2011 et 2012-2013 par rapport aux projections au titre du déficit dans le budget de 2010.

TABLEAU 18. Variations des perspectives financières à moyen terme depuis la publication du budget de 2010
(en milliards de dollars)
  2010-2011 2011-2012 2012-2013
Excédent/(Déficit) par rapport au budget de 2010 (19,7) (17,3) (15,9)
       
Total des variations des revenus (0,7) 0,7 (0,1)
Variations des charges      
Évolution des charges de programmes (nettes) (2,6) 0,8 0,3
Intérêt sur la dette (0,4) (0,8) (1,2)
Total des variations des charges (3,0) 0,0 (0,9)
Variation de la réserve (0,7) (0,3)
       
Amélioration/(Détérioration) financière 3,0 1,0 0,7
       
Excédent/(Déficit) du budget de 2011 (16,7) (16,3) (15,2)
Nota : Les totaux peuvent ne pas correspondre à la somme des chiffres, qui ont été arrondis.

Les revenus prévus à moyen terme varient d’au plus un pour cent par rapport aux chiffres indiqués à ce titre chaque année dans les perspectives du budget de 2010. Les détails complets sur la variation des prévisions au chapitre des revenus se trouvent dans la section D du présent chapitre.

Les charges de programmes pour 2010-2011 devraient être inférieures de 2,6 milliards de dollars à celles prévues dans le budget de l’année dernière. De plus amples détails sur les résultats financiers provisoires pour 2010‑2011 sont fournis dans la section B du présent chapitre.

La variation nette des charges de programmes pour 2011-2012 découle principalement de la révision des calendriers de mise en oeuvre de projets d’infrastructure, y compris des projets de stimulation économique. À part cela, tout comme pour 2012-2013, les charges de programmes sont en général conformes aux projections du budget de 2010.

Les frais d’intérêt sur la dette sont maintenant inférieurs aux prévisions, en partie grâce au déficit et aux taux d’intérêt plus faibles que prévu. La province a tiré avantage des faibles taux d’intérêt en 2010-2011 et repoussé l’échéance de sa dette. Elle peut ainsi profiter de bas taux d’intérêt sur une période plus longue, ce qui lui permet de réduire les risques de refinancement et de compenser en partie l’incidence de la hausse prévue des taux d’intérêt.

La réserve pour 2010-2011 a été utilisée pour améliorer les résultats financiers de la province et réduire le déficit. Conformément à la pratique des exercices précédents, la réserve pour 2011-2012 a été révisée à la baisse en raison de la plus grande clarté des prévisions économiques pour 2011‑2012, comparativement à la même période l’an dernier.

Perspectives des charges à moyen terme

Les charges totales de la province devraient augmenter d’un taux moyen de 1,7 % par année seulement entre 2010-2011 et 2013‑2014. En outre, si l’on exclut l’incidence estimée du report au 31 octobre 2011 de la date limite pour le financement des projets de stimulation en matière d’infrastructure annoncé par les gouvernements provincial et fédéral, les perspectives au titre des charges de programmes de la province pour 2011‑2012 demeurent inchangées sur douze mois, par rapport aux estimations provisoires de 2010-2011. Ces perspectives traduisent l’engagement du gouvernement à maîtriser la croissance des charges de programmes tout en protégeant les services publics qui comptent le plus pour la population de l’Ontario.

TABLEAU 19. Sommaire des perspectives des charges à moyen terme
(en milliards de dollars)
  Chiffres prov.
2010-2011
Plan
2011-2012
Perspectives
2012-2013 2013-2014
Programmes        
Secteur de la santé 45,6 47,6 49,2 50,6
Secteur de l'éducation1 22,2 23,2 24,0 24,3
Secteur de l'éducation postsecondaire et de la formation 7,6 7,1 7,1 7,4
Secteur des services à l'enfance et des services sociaux 13,1 13,7 14,0 14,4
Secteur de la justice 4,4 4,7 4,6 4,2
Autres programmes 20,3 17,4 15,7 15,9
Total des programmes 113,3 113,8 114,6 116,7
Intérêt sur la dette 9,5 10,3 11,4 12,6
Total des charges 122,9 124,1 126,0 129,3
1 Exclut le Régime de retraite des enseignantes et des enseignants de l'Ontario.
Nota : Les totaux peuvent ne pas correspondre à la somme des chiffres, qui ont été arrondis.

Entre 2010-2011 et 2013-2014, on s’attend à ce que le total des charges de programmes progresse à un taux annuel moyen de seulement 1,0 %. Les points saillants des principales variations des charges de programmes à moyen terme comprennent ce qui suit :

  • Les charges totales du secteur de la santé devraient augmenter de 5,0 milliards de dollars entre 2010-2011 et 2013-2014. Le financement alloué tient compte de la croissance dans les principaux programmes, tels que les hôpitaux et l’Assurance-santé de l’Ontario. Il soutient également des investissements accrus au chapitre des soins communautaires, y compris les foyers de soins de longue durée, afin d’améliorer les services et d’atténuer la pression exercée sur les soins actifs et les salles des urgences.
  • Le financement total du secteur de l’éducation devrait être majoré de 2,1 milliards de dollars entre 2010-2011 et 2013-2014. Cette hausse inclut des subventions provinciales supplémentaires pour soutenir le rendement des élèves ainsi que le financement du programme du gouvernement visant à mettre graduellement en oeuvre la maternelle et le jardin d’enfants à temps plein.
  • Les charges totales du secteur de l’éducation postsecondaire et de la formation devraient diminuer de 0,5 milliard de dollars en 2011-2012, principalement en raison de l’élimination progressive des fonds de stimulation, dont la durée était limitée. De 2011-2012 à 2013-2014, les charges devraient augmenter pour soutenir la croissance de l’effectif au palier postsecondaire.
  • Le financement total du secteur des services à l’enfance et des services sociaux devrait augmenter de 1,3 milliard de dollars entre 2010-2011 et 2013-2014. Cette hausse est principalement due à l’augmentation des charges au titre de l’aide sociale.
  • Les charges totales du secteur de la justice devraient diminuer d’environ 0,2 milliard de dollars entre 2010-2011 et 2013-2014 en raison principalement de l’achèvement prévu de projets d’immobilisations déjà approuvés, incluant des palais de justice et des établissements correctionnels.
  • Les charges totales des autres programmes devraient diminuer de 4,4 milliards de dollars entre 2010-2011 et 2013-2014. Cette baisse est en grande partie attribuable à l’élimination progressive des investissements de durée limitée visant à aider l’économie de la province à se redresser à la suite de la récession mondiale et à offrir un allégement temporaire pour faciliter la transition au nouveau régime de taxe de vente.

Les perspectives tiennent également compte des charges au titre de l’intérêt sur la dette, qui ne comprend pas les intérêts capitalisés durant la construction d’immobilisations corporelles, et devraient augmenter de 3,1 milliards de dollars de 2010-2011 à 2013-2014. Cette hausse est en grande partie attribuable aux emprunts additionnels qui doivent être faits pour financer les investissements dans l’infrastructure et les déficits.

Risques pour les perspectives de charges

Comme c’est le cas chaque année, des risques peuvent entraîner des variations des perspectives concernant les revenus et les charges de la province. Toutefois, en maintenant une approche de gestion financière prudente, le gouvernement a pu dépasser ses objectifs budgétaires pour cinq des sept derniers exercices.

Le gouvernement a inclus dans ses prévisions des charges pour 2011-2012 un fonds de prévoyance de 0,7 milliard de dollars. Ce fonds de prévoyance donne au gouvernement une marge de manoeuvre pour réagir de façon opportune aux autres défis auxquels les perspectives budgétaires de l’Ontario pourraient être soumises. Le fonds de prévoyance est également intégré au plan financier à moyen terme.

Le tableau qui suit résume les risques et sensibilités clés que pourraient entraîner des changements imprévus à la conjoncture économique et à la demande liée aux programmes. Un changement dans ces facteurs pourrait avoir une incidence sur les charges totales, ce qui entraînerait des variations dans les prévisions financières globales. Il convient de signaler que ces risques et sensibilités ne sont que des indications et qu’ils peuvent varier selon la nature et la composition des risques possibles.

TABLEAU 20. Certains risques et sensibilités liés aux charges
Programme/Secteur Hypothèses 2011-2012 Sensibilités 2011-2012
Secteur de la santé Croissance annuelle de 4,3 %. Variation de 1 % des charges du secteur de la santé : 476 millions de dollars.
Charges du secteur hospitalier Croissance annuelle de 4,7 %. Variation de 1 % des charges du secteur hospitalier : 212 millions de dollars.
Utilisation des programmes de médicaments Croissance annuelle de moins de 4,8 %. Variation de 1 % des charges de tous les programmes de médicaments : 43 millions de dollars (personnes âgées et bénéficiaires de l'aide sociale).
Foyers de soins de longue durée 77 800 lits de soins de longue durée. Le coût moyen de fonctionnement provincial d'un lit dans un foyer de soins de longue durée est de 48 300 $ par année. Variation de 1 % du nombre de lits : environ 38 millions de dollars.
Soins à domicile Environ 20 millions d'heures de service d'aides familiales et de soutien. Variation de 1 % des heures de service d'aides familiales et de soutien : environ 6 millions de dollars.
Environ 8 millions de visites par du personnel infirmier et des professionnels de la santé. Variation de 1 % des visites par du personnel infirmier et des professionnels de la santé : environ 6 millions de dollars.
Élèves de l'élémentaire et du secondaire Effectif quotidien moyen de 1 877 000 élèves. Augmentation de 1 % de l'effectif : 140 millions de dollars.
Étudiants universitaires 366 000 étudiants à temps plein du premier cycle et des cycles supérieurs. Variation de 1 % de l'effectif : 35 millions de dollars.
Étudiants collégiaux 182 600 étudiants à temps plein. Variation de 1 % de l'effectif : 13 millions de dollars.
Ontario au travail 260 423 dossiers par année, en moyenne. Variation de 1 % du nombre de dossiers : 23 millions de dollars.
Programme ontarien de soutien aux personnes handicapées 290 172 dossiers par année, en moyenne. Variation de 1 % du nombre de dossiers : 38 millions de dollars.
Système correctionnel 3,2 millions de jours-détenus adultes par année. Coût moyen de 180 $ par jour par détenu. Variation de 1 % des jours-détenus : 5,8 millions de dollars.
Intérêt sur la dette Coût moyen d'emprunt prévu en 2011-2012 : environ 4,5 %. Incidence prévue en 2011-2012 d'une variation de 100 points de base des taux d'emprunt : environ 500 millions de dollars.

Les coûts de rémunération et les règlements salariaux constituent aussi d’importants inducteurs de coûts. Conformément à l’énoncé de politique du gouvernement en matière de rémunération du secteur parapublic, le plan financier ne prévoit pas de fonds pour les hausses salariales pendant les deux premières années de toute convention collective future.

Passif éventuel

Outre les principaux risques économiques et sensibilités liés à la demande auxquels il est exposé, le plan financier est aussi assujetti à des risques découlant du passif éventuel du gouvernement. La concrétisation ou non de ces éventualités échappe au contrôle direct du gouvernement. Ce dernier pourrait essuyer des pertes à la suite de règlements judiciaires, de manquements dans le cadre de projets, et de garanties de prêt ou de financement. Des provisions pour pertes ayant de fortes chances de se réaliser et dont on peut raisonnablement faire une estimation sont imputées au titre des passifs dans les états financiers de la province. Un passif éventuel considérable a été divulgué dans le document Rapport annuel et États financiers consolidés de 2009-2010, qui a été publié en août 20101.

Plan visant à éliminer le déficit

Le plan Ontario ouvert sur le monde, conjugué à l’approche de gestion financière prudente et soutenue du gouvernement, fournit des assises solides à la reprise économique et à la prospérité à long terme de la province.

Le rythme équilibré de réduction du déficit fait en sorte que la province sera en mesure de relever ses défis financiers grâce à des mesures réalistes et responsables, sans compromettre les services publics essentiels ni recourir à des compressions arbitraires dans l’ensemble des secteurs. Le plan fonctionne.

Le gouvernement est en voie de réaliser des améliorations cumulatives de 4,7 milliards de dollars entre 2010-2011 et 2012-2013 par rapport aux projections au titre du déficit dans le budget de 2010. Ces améliorations sont en grande partie le résultat des efforts soutenus du gouvernement pour contenir les charges tout en protégeant les services publics qui comptent le plus pour la population de l’Ontario, tels que ceux des secteurs de la santé et de l’éducation.

Graphique 20: Plan de l'Ontario en vue d'éliminer le déficit

Le plan du gouvernement visant à éliminer le déficit d’ici 2017-2018 comprend les éléments clés suivants :

  • limiter à 1,0 %, en moyenne, la hausse annuelle des charges de programmes entre 2010-2011 et 2013-2014;
  • mettre en oeuvre des initiatives pour améliorer la prestation des services publics et faire en sorte que l’argent des contribuables soit utilisé de façon optimale pour offrir la meilleure valeur qui soit à la population ontarienne;
  • promouvoir la conclusion d’ententes fiscales fédérales-provinciales durables et fondées sur des principes;
  • suivre un plan financier prudent qui inclut une réserve et des fonds de prévoyance;
  • continuer à soutenir la reprise de l’économie ontarienne à mesure qu’elle remonte la pente à la suite de la récession.
TABLEAU 21. Plan de redressement de l'Ontario
(en milliards de dollars)
  Chiffres prov.
2010-2011
Plan
2011-2012
Perspectives à moyen terme Perspectives à long terme
2012-2013 2013-2014 2014-2015 2015-2016 2016-2017 2017-2018
Revenus 106,2 108,5 111,8 117,0 122,8 129,0 135,4 142,2
Charges                
Programmes 113,3 113,8 114,6 116,7 118,8 121,0 122,9 124,9
Intérêt sur la dette 9,5 10,3 11,4 12,6 13,7 14,8 15,7 16,3
Total des charges 122,9 124,1 126,0 129,3 132,6 135,8 138,6 141,2
Réserve 0,7 1,0 1,0 1,0 1,0 1,0 1,0
Excédent/(Déficit) (16,7) (16,3) (15,2) (13,3) (10,7) (7,8) (4,2) 0,0
Nota : Les totaux peuvent ne pas correspondre à la somme des chiffres, qui ont été arrondis.

Prudence financière

En plus de maintenir une approche prudente et responsable pour contenir l’augmentation des dépenses, le plan financier intègre chaque année d’autres éléments de prudence afin de protéger les objectifs financiers généraux du gouvernement et de favoriser la réalisation des objectifs financiers.

Conformément à des pratiques financières judicieuses, les perspectives de revenus de la province sont fondées sur des hypothèses économiques prudentes.

Pour satisfaire aux exigences de la Loi de 2004 sur la transparence et la responsabilité financières, le plan financier se fonde sur une approche prudente et prévoit une réserve visant à protéger les perspectives financières contre les variations défavorables des revenus et des charges de la province, y compris celles qui découlent de changements dans les résultats économiques de l’Ontario.

Le plan financier englobe également des fonds de prévoyance (pour le fonctionnement et les immobilisations) pour atténuer les risques liés aux charges qui pourraient avoir une incidence négative sur les résultats.

1    Pour un complément d’information, consultez le site www.fin.gov.on.ca/fr/budget/paccts/2010.