2011 Ontario Budget: Chapter II: Ontario's Economic Outlook and Fiscal Plan
Section F: Ontario Needs a Strong Federal Partner


The coordinated response of the federal and Ontario governments to the recent recession helped achieve renewed economic growth and job creation. Both levels of government delivered investments in infrastructure, provided financial support to the auto industry and worked together on sales tax harmonization. These measures, combined with the federal government’s enhanced short-term support for skills training, will continue to help the province turn the corner and position Ontario and Canada for sustained economic growth.

More remains to be done — and the Province is concerned about the trend of waning federal interest in programs and the unfair treatment of Ontarians compared to people in other provinces. Although many families are still feeling the effects of the recession, the federal government is reducing its support for skills training and immigrant settlement. While Ontario is addressing emerging economic and demographic challenges, the federal government remains vague on its long-term commitment to Ontario’s health, education and social programs.

The Province needs a strong partner to meet the needs of Ontarians and to help them prepare for the future. Ontario calls on the federal government to provide adequate long-term support to help build a stronger Ontario — in a stronger Canada.

To Meet the Needs of Ontario’s Workforce

Employment Insurance

The federal Employment Insurance (EI) program is still failing to meet the needs of Ontario’s unemployed workers and the modern labour market.

Despite some improvements in 2008 and 2009, Ontarians still have trouble accessing EI regular benefits. In 2010, only 34 per cent of Ontario’s unemployed received EI regular benefits compared to an average of 54 per cent in the other provinces.

Chart 21: Bar Graph: Ontario's Low EI Coverage Rate Persists in 2010

Ontarians also continued their long-standing overcontribution to the EI program in 2010 by paying an estimated 40 per cent of premiums but receiving only 31 per cent of total regular benefits.

These persistent discrepancies show that the EI program has reached a permanent state of imbalance that has negative implications for unemployed workers and Ontario’s economy. The EI program should be responsive to current labour-market conditions, facilitate productivity in all regions of the country and ensure fairness for Ontario workers.

Labour-Market Training

As the province emerges from the global recession, the Open Ontario plan will help Ontarians increase productivity and promote economic growth. While the Province is investing in the tools Ontarians need to prosper in the new economy, it is also important that the federal government continue to maintain its enhanced support for Ontario’s skills training programs. These enhancements have helped Ontario make investments in Second Career and other critical programs. If the federal government fails to maintain its support of skills training, tens of thousands of Ontarians would lose the opportunity to develop essential labour-market skills required to succeed in a growing, knowledge-based economy.

Table 22. Examples of the Impact of Expiry of
Enhanced Federal Funding for Skills Training1
Programs Clients Served
Summer Jobs Service An estimated 29,000 fewer students per year would receive help to find a summer job.
Literacy and Basic Skills An estimated 13,000 fewer learners per year would be able to access Literacy and Basic Skills programming.
1  Selected programs presented for illustration purposes only.

In addition, Ontario remains concerned about its overall share of EI training funds, which support numerous training programs delivered by the Province. In 2010, Ontarians accounted for 42 per cent of Canada’s unemployed but received only 31 per cent of the EI funding allocation for training. This would be further reduced if the federal government continues with current plans to reduce funding. Ontario also calls on the federal government to review the principles for allocating EI training funds and provide Ontario with greater flexibility in designing EI training programs so the Province can better respond to the specific needs of Ontarians.

Immigration Settlement

Helping new Canadians contribute to Ontario’s success is an important part of the Open Ontario plan to strengthen the economy. However, the federal government failed to fully meet its commitment under the Canada–Ontario Immigration Agreement (COIA) by underspending over $200 million allocated to Ontario settlement agencies. This funding would have benefited 60,000 newcomers to Ontario, with services ranging from settlement to workplace-focused language and communications training to bridging and technical upgrading programs. These services would have accelerated the integration of newcomers into the workforce. In addition, the federal government recently announced that Ontario agencies serving newcomers can expect cuts to their funding, beginning with $44 million in 2011–12. This lack of commitment from the federal government seriously limits the ability of newcomers to fully participate in the labour market and contribute to Ontario’s growth.

Ontario is committed to supporting the success of its immigrants. The federal government must fulfill its obligations under COIA and flow the full funding it committed under that agreement to immigrant service agencies immediately. Moreover, to improve outcomes for immigrants who choose Ontario as their home, the federal government must also negotiate a new agreement with the Province — one that would give Ontario greater policy control and full funding support for immigrant settlement and training. Similar to the agreements with Manitoba, British Columbia and Quebec, a new devolved agreement is necessary in order for Ontario to provide more coherent training programs that would meet the needs of Ontario’s workforce.

To Lay the Groundwork for Future Prosperity

Equally crucial to the success of Ontarians are long-term federal commitments to infrastructure, innovation and financial regulation. Ontario has benefited from the federal Building Canada Plan and infrastructure stimulus through various joint projects that have improved Ontario’s universities, roads and economy.

Windsor is Canada’s premier trade gateway. Each year more than 12 million cars, trucks and buses, and nearly $120 billion worth of goods, flow between Canada and the United States through the Windsor–Detroit corridor alone. With support from the federal government, the Windsor–Detroit crossing will be upgraded to ease traffic congestion across the border and improve trade flows. Ontario welcomes the federal government’s commitment to fund 50 per cent of eligible capital costs of the Windsor–Essex Parkway leading to the new bridge.

The Province is committed to promoting productivity and encouraging economic growth in Ontario. The federal government is currently undertaking a review of its research and development (R&D) supports, while also developing a national Digital Economy Strategy. Ontario is Canada’s largest performer of R&D and is home to significant digital economy clusters in Toronto, Ottawa and Waterloo. Any federal actions must protect Ontarians’ interests in these two areas and be based on principles of fairness, transparency and excellence. See Chapter III: Tax and Pension Systems for Ontario’s Future for further discussion of the federal R&D review.

Ontario is committed to maintaining and promoting the strength, vibrancy and integrity of Canada’s capital markets, which are mostly based in Toronto. The Province and federal government have worked together to promote Canada’s reputation for strong financial institutions and Toronto’s status as a premier financial services centre through the creation of the Global Risk Institute in Financial Services.

Ontario believes that a strong Canadian regulator would further improve the efficiency of Canada’s capital markets and facilitate better enforcement and investor protection. The new regulator should be centred in Toronto, Canada’s financial capital, to meet the needs of Canadian capital markets. Ontario will continue to actively work with the federal government to create a Canadian securities regulator.

“A Canadian securities regulator would provide better protection for investors, more efficient regulation and lower costs for firms… The establishment of a Canadian securities regulator administering a single federal Securities Act for the whole country will reinforce financial stability, strengthen enforcement and help protect investors through increased accountability.”

Federal Finance Minister Jim Flaherty, September 16, 2010.

To Help Families and Support Communities

The Province is working with the federal government on a new affordable housing initiative that would extend federal and provincial funding. This program would help build and renovate affordable housing, improve housing affordability, and foster safe, independent living for low-income families. However, Ontario continues to maintain that the federal government should be a long-term partner in funding affordable housing. Going forward, a long-term, fair-share commitment from the federal government would help ensure that Ontario families have access to housing.

While Ontario supports the federal government’s efforts to improve the safety of communities, federal anti-crime initiatives come with a cost. The Province expects the federal government to recognize any fiscal pressures created by its recent crime bills and to provide support to provinces to address these pressures.

Provincial governments are working together to manage the cost of health care services, including work on pan-Canadian procurement of drugs and medical equipment and sharing clinical best practices. However, the future of universal health care also depends on the federal government providing adequate financial support to provinces and territories. Ontario welcomes the federal government’s commitment to continue transfers that support hospitals and schools as it moves to balance its budget. To continue to deliver quality services on which Ontarians rely, provinces need a strong and sustained federal commitment beyond the expiry of current agreements in 2013–14 and a renewal of the federal government’s commitment to the reduction in health care wait times.

Federal Contribution to Health Care in Ontario

Universal health care in Canada was founded in the late 1960s on the understanding that the costs would be shared 50–50 between the provinces and federal government.

In 1977, the federal government gave the provinces more policy flexibility by splitting its support for health care into half cash and half transfer of tax room.

Beginning in the 1980s, however, the federal government gradually reduced its health and social transfers, leading to drastic cuts in the 1990s.

With the 2004 Health Accord, the federal government agreed to increase its investment in health care and ensure a more consistent level of support through a six per cent escalator for 10 years. By 2013–14, the last year of the Accord, federal support for health care in Ontario is expected to stand at roughly 24 per cent.

Moving to the next generation of funding arrangements, Ontario expects the federal government to maintain a strong and sustained commitment to health care.

Ontario encourages the federal government to work with provinces and territories in renewing all fiscal arrangements, including the Canada Social Transfer. In particular, Ontario looks to the federal government to partner with the Province in its plan to raise Ontario’s postsecondary attainment rate while increasing the quality of postsecondary education.

To Improve Government Efficiency

To manage taxpayers’ dollars responsibly, governments must ensure that services are not duplicated across levels of government. Ontario and the federal government have acted to streamline services and realign responsibilities where it makes sense. Over the last decade, various labour-market agreements have devolved the responsibility for the design and administration of certain federal training programs. For businesses, the Corporate Tax Administration Redesign initiative implemented a single federal–provincial corporate tax return and the Harmonized Sales Tax will reduce compliance costs from the move to a single administration. Ontario also supports the creation of a Canadian securities regulator, which would strengthen financial regulation.

Governments must continue to ensure that services are delivered efficiently and effectively by the level of government best positioned to provide them; sometimes it will be the federal government and sometimes it will be the Province. Governments can better serve people by working together to take advantage of opportunities to realign.

Immigration Settlement and Labour-Market Training

The devolution of immigrant settlement and integration services to Ontario with federal funding would realize this opportunity to realign. Situating training, immigrant settlement and integration programs under one level of government would allow the Province to strengthen its one-stop shop of integrated services. The federal government could further improve service delivery for Ontarians by devolving the remaining federal labour-market training programs with adequate and predictable funds, which would allow clients to access the full range of training services available in one location.

Correctional Services

International experience suggests that rehabilitation services provided in prisons are effective at keeping communities safe and controlling correctional expenses. The delivery of these rehabilitation services could be more effective and efficient if mainly delivered by one level of government. Ontario calls on the federal government to assume responsibility for inmates serving sentences of over six months to ensure that inmates receive the effective rehabilitation services they need.

“Clearly assigning responsibility for corrections services based on a distinction that makes sense will minimize duplication, improving the sector’s efficiency.”

James Pearce, Joshua Hjartarson and Matthew Mendelsohn, “Saving Dollars and Making Sense: An Agenda for a More Efficient, Effective and Accountable Federation,” Mowat Centre for Policy Innovation, October 2010.

Budget de l’Ontario 2011 : Chapitre II : Perspectives économiques et plan financier de l’Ontario
Section F  : L’Ontario a besoin d’un partenaire fédéral solide

Aperçu

Les interventions coordonnées des gouvernements fédéral et ontarien en réponse à la récente récession ont contribué à stimuler la croissance économique et la création d’emplois. Les deux échelons de gouvernement ont fait des investissements dans l’infrastructure, accordé une aide financière à l’industrie automobile et uni leurs efforts aux fins de l’harmonisation de la taxe de vente. Ces mesures, combinées au soutien accru fourni à court terme par le gouvernement fédéral en matière de formation professionnelle, continueront à aider la province à remonter la pente et à mettre l’Ontario et le Canada sur la voie d’une croissance économique soutenue.

Il faut toutefois faire plus – et la province s’inquiète de la perte d’intérêt du gouvernement fédéral envers les programmes et de son traitement injuste envers la population de l’Ontario comparativement à celle d’autres provinces. Bien que de nombreuses familles continuent à subir les effets de la récession, le gouvernement fédéral réduit son soutien en matière de formation professionnelle et d’établissement des immigrants. Alors que l’Ontario s’attaque aux défis démographiques et économiques émergents, le gouvernement fédéral reste vague quant à ses engagements à long terme envers les programmes sociaux, de santé et d’éducation de l’Ontario.

La province a besoin d’un partenaire solide pour répondre aux besoins des Ontariennes et des Ontariens et les aider à se préparer pour le futur. L’Ontario enjoint au gouvernement fédéral de fournir un soutien à long terme adéquat afin de contribuer à la création d’un Ontario plus fort – dans un Canada plus fort.

Répondre aux besoins de la main-d’oeuvre de l’Ontario

Assurance-emploi

Le programme fédéral d’assurance-emploi (a.-e.) ne répond toujours pas aux besoins des Ontariennes et des Ontariens sans emploi ni à ceux du marché du travail d’aujourd’hui.

Malgré les améliorations apportées en 2008 et 2009, l’accès aux prestations ordinaires d’assurance-emploi demeure difficile pour la population ontarienne. En 2010, seulement 34 % des chômeurs en Ontario ont reçu des prestations ordinaires d’a.-e., comparativement à 54 % en moyenne dans les autres provinces.

Graphique 21: En 2010, le taux de couverture de l'a-e.1est resté faible en Ontario

La population ontarienne a aussi continué en 2010, comme elle le fait depuis longtemps, à surcotiser au programme d’a.-e., puisqu’elle a fourni 40 % des cotisations selon les estimations, mais n’a reçu que 31 % de l’ensemble des prestations ordinaires.

La constance de ces disparités montre que le programme d’a.-e. se trouve dans un état de déséquilibre permanent qui a des répercussions négatives sur les personnes sans emploi et l’économie de l’Ontario. Le programme d’a.-e. devrait être adapté aux conditions actuelles du marché du travail, favoriser la productivité dans toutes les régions du pays et assurer le traitement équitable des travailleurs de l’Ontario.

Formation de la main-d’oeuvre

À mesure que la province sort de la récession mondiale, le plan Ontario ouvert sur le monde aidera les Ontariennes et Ontariens à accroître la productivité et favorisera la croissance économique. Alors que la province investit dans les outils dont sa population a besoin pour prospérer dans la nouvelle économie, il importe également que le gouvernement fédéral maintienne la bonification du soutien offert à l’Ontario aux fins des programmes de formation professionnelle. Ces bonifications ont aidé l’Ontario à faire des investissements dans des programmes importants, dont Deuxième carrière. Si le gouvernement fédéral ne maintient pas son soutien en matière de formation professionnelle, des dizaines de milliers d’Ontariennes et d’Ontariens n’auront pas la possibilité d’acquérir des compétences d’emploi essentielles pour réussir dans l’économie du savoir en expansion d’aujourd’hui.

TABLEAU 22. Exemples de l’incidence de l’expiration du financement fédéral bonifié en matière de formation professionnelle1
Programmes Clients servis
Service d’emplois d’été Selon les estimations, 29 000 étudiants de moins par année recevraient de l’aide pour se trouver un emploi d’été.
Alphabétisation et formation de base Selon les estimations, 13 000 apprenants de moins par année auraient accès aux programmes d’alphabétisation et de formation de base.
1  Les programmes choisis sont présentés à titre indicatif seulement.

En outre, l’Ontario demeure préoccupé de sa part globale des fonds d’a.‑e. destinés à la formation, qui soutiennent bon nombre des programmes de formation offerts par la province. En 2010, l’Ontario comptait 42 % des chômeurs du Canada, mais n’a reçu que 31 % des fonds d’a.-e. affectés à la formation. La part de l’Ontario en sera davantage amoindrie si le gouvernement fédéral maintient sa décision de réduire le financement. L’Ontario enjoint au gouvernement fédéral de reconsidérer les principes régissant l’allocation des fonds d’a.-e. destinés à la formation et de donner à l’Ontario une plus grande marge de manoeuvre dans l’élaboration des programmes de formation dans le cadre de l’a.-e. afin que la province puisse mieux répondre aux besoins spécifiques de sa population.

Établissement des immigrants

Favoriser la contribution des nouveaux Canadiens au succès de l’Ontario est un important volet du plan Ontario ouvert sur le monde pour renforcer l’économie. Toutefois, le gouvernement fédéral ne s’est pas entièrement acquitté de ses engagements aux termes de l’Accord Canada-Ontario sur l’immigration (ACOI) en n’utilisant pas une somme de plus de 200 millions de dollars destinée aux organismes d’établissement ontariens. Ce financement aurait servi à fournir à 60 000 nouveaux arrivants en Ontario toute une gamme de services, allant des services d’établissement aux cours de langue et de communication en milieu de travail en passant par les programmes de transition et de perfectionnement technique, qui auraient accéléré leur intégration à la main-d’oeuvre. De plus, le gouvernement fédéral a récemment annoncé que les organismes ontariens servant les nouveaux arrivants devaient s’attendre à des compressions de leur financement, notamment de l’ordre de 44 millions de dollars en 2011-2012. Le manquement du gouvernement fédéral à ses engagements limite sérieusement la capacité des nouveaux arrivants de pleinement participer au marché du travail et de contribuer à la croissance de l’Ontario.

L’Ontario s’est engagé à favoriser la réussite des immigrants qui s’établissent dans la province. Le gouvernement fédéral doit s’acquitter de ses obligations en vertu de l’ACOI et verser immédiatement l’intégralité des fonds prévus aux termes de cet accord aux organismes de services aux immigrants. En outre, pour aider les personnes qui immigrent en Ontario à obtenir de meilleurs résultats, le gouvernement fédéral doit entreprendre des négociations en vue de conclure un nouvel accord avec l’Ontario – un accord qui donnerait à la province davantage de contrôle en matière de politiques et assurerait un financement complet des programmes d’établissement et de formation des immigrants. À l’instar des ententes avec le Manitoba, la Colombie-Britannique et le Québec, un nouvel accord prévoyant le transfert des pouvoirs à la province s’impose pour que l’Ontario puisse offrir des programmes de formation plus cohérents qui répondent aux besoins de sa main-d’oeuvre.

Jeter les assises de la prospérité future

Les engagements à long terme du gouvernement fédéral en matière d’infrastructure, d’innovation et de réglementation du secteur financier revêtent une importance tout aussi cruciale au succès de l’Ontario. La province a bénéficié du plan Chantiers Canada et des mesures de stimulation en matière d’infrastructure dans le cadre de divers projets conjoints qui ont permis d’améliorer ses universités, ses routes et son économie.

Windsor constitue la principale porte d’entrée commerciale du Canada. Chaque année, plus de 12 millions d’automobiles, camions et autobus, et près de 120 milliards de dollars de marchandises circulent entre le Canada et les États-Unis via le corridor Windsor-Detroit. Grâce au soutien du gouvernement fédéral, le passage frontalier Windsor-Detroit sera modernisé afin d’atténuer la congestion routière à la frontière et d’améliorer le flux des échanges commerciaux. L’Ontario se réjouit de l’engagement du gouvernement fédéral d’assumer 50 % des coûts d’immobilisations admissibles de l’autoroute de Windsor-Essex en direction du nouveau pont.

La province est déterminée à promouvoir la productivité et à favoriser la croissance économique en Ontario. Le gouvernement fédéral procède actuellement à un examen de ses mesures de soutien en matière de recherche-développement (R-D) tout en élaborant une stratégie nationale sur l’économie numérique. L’Ontario se classe au premier rang en matière de R-D au Canada et abrite d’importants noyaux de l’économie numérique à Toronto, Ottawa et Waterloo. Toute mesure prise par le gouvernement fédéral doit protéger les intérêts de la population ontarienne dans ces deux secteurs et être fondée sur les principes de l’équité, de la transparence et de l’excellence. Veuillez consulter le chapitre III, Un régime fiscal et des régimes de retraite pour assurer l’avenir de l’Ontario, pour plus de détails sur l’examen fédéral en matière de R-D.

L’Ontario est résolu à maintenir et à promouvoir la vigueur, le dynamisme et l’intégrité des marchés financiers du Canada, dont la plupart sont établis à Toronto. La province et le gouvernement fédéral ont travaillé ensemble pour mettre en valeur la réputation de solidité des établissements financiers du Canada et le statut de centre financier de premier plan de Toronto en créant l’Institut mondial de gestion des risques du secteur financier.

L’Ontario croit qu’un organisme canadien de réglementation musclé rendrait les marchés financiers du Canada encore plus efficients et permettrait de mieux protéger les investisseurs et d’améliorer l’application de la loi. Cet organisme devrait être établi à Toronto, la capitale financière du Canada, afin de répondre aux besoins des marchés financiers canadiens. L’Ontario continuera à collaborer activement avec le gouvernement fédéral afin de créer un organisme canadien de réglementation des valeurs mobilières.

« Un organisme canadien de réglementation des valeurs mobilières permettrait de mieux protéger les investisseurs, d’assurer une réglementation plus efficiente et de réduire les coûts pour les entreprises. … La création d’un organisme canadien de réglementation des valeurs mobilières chargé d’administrer une loi fédérale unique sur les valeurs mobilières à l’échelle du pays renforcera la stabilité financière et l’observation, en plus d’aider à protéger les investisseurs grâce à une reddition de comptes accrue. »

Jim Flaherty, ministre fédéral des Finances, 16 septembre 2010.

Aider les familles et soutenir les collectivités

La province collabore avec le gouvernement fédéral à l’établissement d’une nouvelle initiative en matière de logement abordable qui élargirait le cadre du financement fédéral et provincial. Cette initiative contribuerait à construire et à rénover des logements abordables, à accroître l’abordabilité des logements et à créer les conditions nécessaires pour que les familles à faible revenu puissent vivre de façon autonome et en sécurité. Toutefois, l’Ontario continue d’affirmer que le gouvernement fédéral devrait être un partenaire à long terme dans le financement de logements abordables. Alors que nous allons de l’avant, un engagement équitable à long terme de la part du gouvernement fédéral aiderait à faire en sorte que les familles ontariennes aient accès à des logements.

Bien que l’Ontario appuie les efforts du gouvernement fédéral dans le but d’améliorer la sécurité au sein des collectivités, des coûts sont associés aux initiatives fédérales de lutte contre le crime. La province s’attend à ce que le gouvernement fédéral reconnaisse les contraintes financières créées à la suite de ses récents projets de loi en matière de criminalité et à ce qu’il donne aux provinces le soutien nécessaire pour faire face à ces coûts accrus.

Les gouvernements provinciaux ont uni leurs efforts afin de gérer les coûts des services de santé, notamment en travaillant à la mise en place d’un mécanisme pancanadien d’approvisionnement en médicaments et en équipement médical, et en mettant en commun les meilleures pratiques cliniques. Toutefois, l’avenir du système de santé universel dépend également de l’octroi d’un soutien financier adéquat de la part du gouvernement fédéral aux provinces et aux territoires. L’Ontario accueille favorablement l’engagement pris par le gouvernement fédéral de maintenir les transferts aux fins des hôpitaux et des écoles au même moment où il prend des mesures en vue d’atteindre l’équilibre budgétaire. Afin de continuer à offrir les services de qualité sur lesquels la population compte, les provinces ont besoin d’un engagement solide et soutenu de la part du gouvernement fédéral au-delà de la fin prévue des ententes en 2013-2014, ainsi que du renouvellement de l’engagement du gouvernement fédéral envers la réduction des temps d’attente dans le secteur des soins de santé.

Contribution fédérale aux soins de santé en Ontario

Les soins de santé universels, qui ont vu le jour à la fin des années 1960 au Canada, reposaient sur une entente où les provinces et le gouvernement fédéral assumaient chacun 50 % des coûts.

En 1977, le gouvernement fédéral conférait aux provinces une plus grande marge de manoeuvre en matière de politiques en fournissant la moitié de son soutien en espèces et l’autre moitié sous forme de transfert de marge fiscale.

Toutefois, dans les années 1980, le gouvernement fédéral a graduellement réduit ses transferts en matière de santé et de programmes sociaux, avant de sabrer de façon draconienne ces transferts dans les années 1990.

En vertu de l’Accord de 2004 sur les soins de santé, le gouvernement fédéral avait convenu d’augmenter ses investissements dans les soins de santé et de fournir un niveau de soutien plus constant grâce à un facteur d’indexation de 6 % sur 10 ans. D’ici 2013–2014, l’année où l’Accord prendra fin, la part du soutien fédéral accordé à l’Ontario dans le secteur de la santé devrait s’élever à environ 24 %.

Tandis que nous nous dirigeons vers la nouvelle génération d’ententes de financement en matière de santé, l’Ontario s’attend à ce que le gouvernement fédéral maintienne un engagement solide et durable dans ce secteur.

L’Ontario encourage le gouvernement fédéral à travailler avec les provinces et territoires pour renouveler tous les accords fiscaux, y compris le Transfert canadien en matière de programmes sociaux. Plus précisément, l’Ontario souhaite que le gouvernement fédéral s’associera à la province dans le cadre de son plan visant à augmenter le taux d’accession aux études postsecondaires et à rehausser la qualité de l’enseignement postsecondaire.

Améliorer l’efficacité du gouvernement

Pour gérer l’argent des contribuables de façon responsable, les gouvernements doivent éviter la duplication des services entre les échelons de gouvernement. L’Ontario et le gouvernement fédéral ont pris des mesures pour rationaliser les services et réaligner les responsabilités lorsque cela était approprié. Au cours de la dernière décennie, la conception et l’administration de certains programmes fédéraux de formation ont été dévolues en vertu de diverses ententes sur le marché du travail. En ce qui concerne les entreprises, le Projet de reconception de l’administration de l’imposition des sociétés a permis de créer une déclaration de revenus fédérale-provinciale unique. De plus, la taxe de vente harmonisée réduira les coûts d’observation grâce à la mise en place d’une administration unique. L’Ontario appuie également la création d’un organisme canadien de réglementation des valeurs mobilières, qui renforcerait la réglementation du secteur financier.

Les gouvernements doivent continuer à faire en sorte que les services sont offerts de façon efficace et efficiente, et ce, par l’ordre de gouvernement le mieux placé pour le faire : parfois, il s’agit du gouvernement fédéral et, d’autres fois, du gouvernement provincial. Les gouvernements peuvent mieux servir la population en travaillant ensemble afin de tirer avantage des occasions de réalignement.

Établissement des immigrants et formation liée au marché du travail

La dévolution des services d’établissement et d’intégration des immigrants à l’Ontario, accompagnée des fonds fédéraux, serait une telle occasion de réalignement. Le fait de placer les programmes de formation et les programmes d’établissement et d’intégration des immigrants sous un seul échelon de gouvernement permettrait à la province de consolider son guichet unique de services intégrés. Le gouvernement fédéral pourrait améliorer encore davantage la prestation des services à la population de l’Ontario en transférant à la province la responsabilité des autres programmes liés au marché du travail et en lui fournissant des fonds suffisants et prévisibles à cette fin. Les clients auraient ainsi accès à toute la gamme des services de formation sous un même toit.

Services correctionnels

Selon l’expérience à l’échelle internationale, les services de réadaptation offerts dans les prisons sont efficaces pour assurer la sécurité des communautés et contenir les charges dans le secteur correctionnel. La prestation des services de réadaptation aux détenus pourrait être plus efficace et efficiente si elle relevait principalement d’un seul échelon de gouvernement. L’Ontario enjoint au gouvernement fédéral d’assumer la responsabilité des détenus purgeant des peines de plus de six mois pour faire en sorte que ces derniers obtiennent les services de réadaptation dont ils ont besoin.

« L’attribution claire de la responsabilité des services correctionnels fondée sur une distinction valable réduira au minimum le double emploi et rendra le secteur plus efficient. »

James Pearce, Joshua Hjartarson et Matthew Mendelsohn, Saving Dollars and Making Sense: An Agenda for a More Efficient, Effective and Accountable Federation, Mowat Centre for Policy Innovation, octobre 2010.