2011 Ontario Budget: Chapter II: Ontario's Economic Outlook and Fiscal Plan
Section G: Accountability, Transparency and Financial Management

Introduction

The government is accountable to the public for the appropriate use of taxpayer dollars and for clearly communicating the objectives and results of how those dollars are spent. The Province has introduced a number of initiatives to strengthen its accountability to the public, improve transparency in reporting on the use of taxpayers’ money, and ensure that funds are managed effectively.

Strengthening Accountability of Organizations

As part of its role, the government needs to ensure that publicly funded organizations are accountable for the prudent use of taxpayers’ money. Through new and strengthened legislation and public reporting tools, the government is committed to ensuring the accountability of these organizations.

Enhancing Accountability in the Broader Public Sector

The government continues to take significant steps to protect the interests of taxpayers and strengthen the accountability of organizations that receive public funding.

The new Broader Public Sector Accountability Act, 2010 (www.e-laws.gov.on.ca/html/statutes/english/elaws_statutes_10b25_e.htm), which received Royal Assent on December 8, 2010, establishes greater financial accountability for larger broader public-sector organizations, including hospitals, school boards, colleges, universities, children’s aid societies, community care access centres and other publicly funded organizations that receive $10 million or more in government funding.

The Act bans the use of public funds to hire external lobbyists, expands freedom-of-information legislation to cover hospitals, and requires hospitals and Local Health Integration Networks to report and post expenses of senior executives. The Act also establishes new rules for procurement and expenses for designated broader public-sector organizations.

The government will introduce amendments to the Broader Public Sector Accountability Act, 2010 this spring. The amendments, if passed, would ensure that any unnecessary perks would be eliminated in broader public-sector organizations. The government has also introduced new rules for ministries and agencies that will ensure perks are not provided.

Improving Accountability for Travel-Related Expenses

The government has strengthened accountability by making specified travel, meal and hospitality claims information available to the public on www.ontario.ca, the government’s website.

Travel-related expense information for senior government managers, cabinet ministers, parliamentary assistants and their staff continues to be posted by the government on the website. This website also features links to the websites of the 22 government agencies and organizations prescribed under the Public Sector Expenses Review Act, 2009.

Transparency in Reporting on the Use of Public Money

Transparency in public-sector reporting is vital to help taxpayers and users of financial information assess how public money is used. Consistent reporting, improved asset management and the Pre-Election Report provide key tools to help better understand the use of and value obtained with taxpayers’ money.

Developments in Public-Sector Accounting Standards

Public-sector accounting standards establish how the financial activities of governments and public-sector organizations are measured, recorded and reported to the public. They are an essential building block for effective government decision-making, budgeting and transparent reporting of financial information.

Over the past year, the Public Sector Accounting Board (PSAB) has issued a number of proposed changes to government financial reporting, including accounting for government transfers, financial instruments and foreign exchange. In response to issues raised through a federal–provincial Joint Working Group of senior government and accounting standards officials, PSAB has also initiated a review of its Conceptual Framework, which underlies the Board’s development of all public-sector accounting standards in Canada. The PSAB acknowledges that it is giving this project the highest priority.

Ontario expects that PSAB will incorporate the results of the Conceptual Framework review into its recent proposals and existing accounting standards to ensure the transparency and quality of public-sector financial reporting. The government will continue to work with PSAB and other stakeholder groups to ensure that accounting standards established for governments in Canada serve the best interests of Ontario’s taxpayers.

Consistency in Accounting Standards for the Public Sector

Consistency in accounting standards is important as it provides more relevant and understandable information on the finances of public-sector organizations delivering publicly funded services.

Late in 2010, PSAB approved the inclusion of accounting standards applicable to public-sector not-for-profit organizations in the Public Sector Accounting (PSA) Handbook. As well, effective in 2011, the Accounting Standards Board replaced current accounting standards for commercial enterprises with International Financial Reporting Standards and Accounting Standards for Private Enterprises. As a result of these two significant changes, public-sector entities must individually reassess their basis of reporting and implement standards that best meet their users’ needs and support sound decision-making. Without guidance and support, however, these changes will increase the risk of inconsistent financial reporting across publicly funded entities.

As a result, the government is collaborating with government ministries and their respective agencies and sectors to ensure that an informed and consistent choice of accounting standards is made to support transparent financial reporting and accountability throughout Ontario’s public sector. The initial phase of this process focused on consolidated public-sector entities. The next step will be to engage public-sector organizations outside the Province’s reporting entity, such as municipalities and universities.

Pre-Election Report on Ontario’s Finances

In December 2004, the McGuinty government passed the Fiscal Transparency and Accountability Act, 2004 (FTAA) to ensure greater transparency and accountability in the government’s fiscal planning and financial reporting. Under the FTAA, the Ministry of Finance must release a Pre-Election Report on Ontario’s Finances in advance of a provincial election.

The purpose of the Pre-Election Report is to give citizens a clear understanding of the Province’s estimated future revenues and expenses, and other details of the fiscal plan, before the upcoming provincial election, including:

  • the macroeconomic forecasts and assumptions used to prepare the fiscal plan;
  • an estimate of Ontario’s revenues and expenses, including estimates of the major components of the revenues and expenses set out in the plan;
  • details of the reserve; and
  • the ratio of provincial debt to Ontario’s gross domestic product.

Under the FTAA, the Auditor General will promptly review the Pre-Election Report to determine whether it is reasonable and release a statement on the results of the review.

Improving Reporting on Capital Assets

The government has made steady progress to improve the reporting of tangible capital assets, resulting in greater transparency and opportunities for improved asset management. Major assets have been reported in Printed Estimates from 2003 and a number of other asset classes (including vehicles, aircraft, marine craft, information technology systems and hardware) added from 2009. The government will implement additional measures to further enhance the financial reporting model for its real estate portfolio and improve transparency in the management of government assets.

Efficient Use of Public Money

Prudent management of public money is critical to ensure results are achieved and taxpayers obtain value for their tax dollars. Effective financial management enhances efficiency in the use of public money and helps to manage demands for debt financing and associated borrowing costs.

Financial Management of Stimulus Programs

In the 2009 Budget, the government announced a two-year investment in capital infrastructure to help stimulate the economy and create jobs across Ontario. For many of the projects funded under the stimulus programs, Ontario, the federal government and the project proponents, including municipalities, each contributed one-third of the costs. For investments in social housing, Ontario and the federal government split the cost equally. The Ontario government has applied strong control measures to ensure that funds are spent for the intended purpose and that the expected results are achieved.

In 2010, the Auditor General of Ontario conducted a value-for-money audit that focused on the structure and implementation of three programs. The audit looked at whether adequate systems and procedures were in place to ensure timely distribution and prudent administration of the funds, and measured and reported on the effectiveness of these programs. The audit was done as the programs were being implemented. The government has already taken steps and made changes to the programs based on the Auditor General’s work and recommendations. The Auditor General’s report noted that “the responsible ministries devoted significant efforts to establish the appropriate systems and process, and to adhere to the Province’s Transfer Payment Accountability Directive on program eligibility, reporting and other accountability requirements.”1

The government has made timely monitoring and reporting essential elements of the stimulus programs. Since November 2009, Ontarians have been able to track the progress of projects in their communities and across the province on the Revitalizing Ontario’s Infrastructure website at www.ontario.ca/infrastructure. The website shows up-to-date progress for each stimulus project. In December 2010, the Ministry of Infrastructure launched an enhanced version of the website with new features and additional information.

Ontario and the federal government have announced an extension of the stimulus funding deadline from March 31, 2011 to October 31, 2011 for qualifying projects. The government will continue to maintain strong controls to ensure program objectives are achieved and funds are spent wisely.

Effective Management of Debt

The government borrows money to build new infrastructure, such as roads, hospitals and schools, and to fund annual operating deficits. Increased debt leads to increased borrowing costs, which squeezes the overall amount of funding available for future health care, education and social programs. Accordingly, it is important to manage the levels and cost of government borrowing.

To ensure the sustainability of its financial plan, the government continues to carefully choose its infrastructure investment priorities and maintain the appropriate balance between investments that provide economic stimulus and create the jobs and infrastructure necessary to underpin Ontario’s future economic growth, and the level of increased debt. By carefully managing the rate of investments, the Province will reduce pressure on its borrowing needs. This approach will lower the rate of debt growth and associated borrowing costs.

Other Requirements

The government will introduce the proposed Supplementary Interim Appropriation for 2011–12 Act, 2011 to supplement the Interim Appropriation for 2011–12 Act, 2010. If approved by the legislature, this will provide the balance of interim legal spending authority for anticipated 2011–12 spending, pending finalization of the 2011–12 voting of Supply process.

1 Office of the Auditor General of Ontario, 2010 Annual Report, p. 179.

Budget de l’Ontario 2011 : Chapitre II : Perspectives économiques et plan financier de l’Ontario
Section G  : Responsabilité, transparence et gestion financière

Introduction

Le gouvernement est responsable, envers le public, de l’utilisation judicieuse de l’argent des contribuables et de la communication claire des objectifs visés et des résultats obtenus grâce à ces fonds. Le gouvernement provincial a mis en oeuvre un certain nombre d’initiatives visant à renforcer la responsabilité envers le public, à améliorer la transparence de la communication de l’information sur l’utilisation de l’argent des contribuables et à assurer la gestion efficace des fonds.

Accroître la responsabilité des organismes

Un des rôles du gouvernement consiste à s’assurer que les organismes financés par l’argent des contribuables rendent compte de l’utilisation judicieuse de ces fonds. Pour ce faire, le gouvernement a adopté ou renforcé des mesures législatives et des outils pour la communication de l’information au public.

Renforcer la responsabilité du secteur parapublic

Le gouvernement continue de prendre d’importantes mesures pour protéger les intérêts des contribuables et renforcer la responsabilité des organismes qui reçoivent des fonds publics.

La nouvelle Loi de 2010 sur la responsabilisation du secteur parapublic (www.e‑laws.gov.on.ca/html/statutes/french/elaws_statutes_10b25_f.htm), qui a reçu la sanction royale le 8 décembre 2010, renforce la responsabilité financière des principaux organismes du secteur parapublic, tels que les hôpitaux, les conseils scolaires, les collèges et les universités, ainsi que les sociétés d’aide à l’enfance, les centres d’accès aux soins communautaires et tout autre organisme financé par des fonds publics qui reçoit des fonds publics totalisant au moins 10 millions de dollars.

La Loi interdit l’utilisation de fonds publics pour engager des lobbyistes externes, élargit la portée des mesures législatives régissant l’accès à l’information pour englober les hôpitaux et exige que les hôpitaux et les réseaux locaux d’intégration des services de santé divulguent et affichent les dépenses engagées par les cadres supérieurs. La Loi établit également de nouvelles règles pour les activités d’approvisionnement et les charges des organismes désignés du secteur parapublic.

Ce printemps, le gouvernement déposera des modifications à la Loi de 2010 sur la responsabilisation du secteur parapublic. Ces modifications, si elles sont adoptées, feront en sorte que tout avantage indirect inutile soit éliminé au sein des organismes du secteur parapublic. Le gouvernement a aussi établi de nouvelles règles, à l’intention des ministères et des organismes, dans le but d’empêcher ces avantages indirects.

Améliorer la reddition de comptes quant aux frais de déplacement

En vue de renforcer la responsabilité, le gouvernement a pris des mesures pour que certains renseignements sur les demandes de remboursement de frais de déplacement, de repas et d’accueil soient mis à la disposition du public sur le site Web du gouvernement à www.ontario.ca.

Le gouvernement continue d’afficher sur ce site Web des renseignements sur les frais de déplacement des chefs principaux du gouvernement, des ministres, des adjoints parlementaires et des membres de leur personnel. Ce site renferme aussi des liens vers les sites Web des 22 organismes gouvernementaux prescrits en vertu de la Loi de 2009 sur l’examen des dépenses dans le secteur public.

Transparence de la communication de l’information sur l’utilisation des fonds publics

Pour que les contribuables et les personnes qui se servent des renseignements financiers puissent évaluer la façon dont les deniers publics sont utilisés, il est essentiel que la communication de l’information par le secteur public se fasse de façon transparente. La communication uniforme de l’information, une meilleure gestion des actifs et un rapport préélectoral constituent des outils clés pour mieux comprendre l’utilisation et la valeur des biens et services obtenus avec l’argent des contribuables.

Progrès réalisés à l’égard des normes de comptabilité du secteur public

Les normes de comptabilité du secteur public établissent la façon de mesurer, de consigner et de divulguer, à l’intention du public, les activités financières des gouvernements et des organismes du secteur public. Elles sont essentielles à la prise de décisions efficaces, à la préparation des budgets et à la communication transparente de l’information financière du gouvernement.

Au cours de la dernière année, le Conseil sur la comptabilité dans le secteur public (CCSP) a proposé un certain nombre de modifications à la communication de l’information financière du gouvernement, dont la comptabilité des paiements de transfert du gouvernement, des instruments financiers et des opérations de change. Suite aux questions soulevées par un groupe de travail fédéral-provincial, formé de hauts fonctionnaires et de responsables des normes comptables, le CCSP a entrepris l’examen du cadre conceptuel qu’il utilise pour élaborer toutes les normes comptables du secteur public au Canada. Ce projet est en tête des priorités du CCSP.

L’Ontario s’attend à ce que le CCSP englobe les résultats de l’examen de ce cadre conceptuel dans les propositions qu’il a formulées récemment et dans les normes comptables existantes afin d’assurer la transparence et la qualité de la communication de l’information financière du secteur public. Le gouvernement continuera à travailler avec le CCSP et d’autres groupes intéressés afin que les normes comptables établies pour les gouvernements au Canada soient dans l’intérêt des contribuables ontariens.

Uniformité des normes comptables pour le secteur public

Il est important que les normes comptables soient uniformes, car elles servent à fournir des renseignements plus pertinents et plus compréhensibles sur les finances des organismes du secteur public qui dispensent des services financés par des fonds publics.

À la fin de 2010, le CCSP a approuvé l’ajout de normes de comptabilité pour les organismes sans but lucratif du secteur public dans le Manuel de comptabilité de l’ICCA pour le secteur public. En outre, en 2011, le Conseil des normes comptables a remplacé les normes de comptabilité s’appliquant aux entreprises commerciales par des Normes internationales d’information financière et des normes comptables pour les entreprises à capital fermé. En raison de ces deux changements importants, les entités du secteur public doivent réévaluer individuellement leur méthode de comptabilisation et adopter les normes qui répondent le mieux aux besoins des utilisateurs et qui favorisent la prise de décisions judicieuses. Cependant, si on ne donne pas l’orientation et le soutien nécessaires, ces changements augmenteront le risque de manque d’uniformité dans la communication de l’information financière par les entités financées par les fonds publics.

Par conséquent, le gouvernement collabore avec les ministères et leurs organismes et secteurs respectifs afin que le choix des normes comptables se fasse en connaissance de cause et de façon uniforme pour assurer une communication de l’information financière transparente et la responsabilité financière au sein du secteur public de l’Ontario. La phase initiale de ce processus mettait l’accent sur les entités consolidées du secteur public. La prochaine étape consistera à faire participer les organismes du secteur public qui ne font pas partie du périmètre comptable de la province, tels que les municipalités et les universités.

Rapport préélectoral sur les finances de l’Ontario

En décembre 2004, le gouvernement McGuinty a adopté la Loi de 2004 sur la transparence et la responsabilité financières pour que la planification financière et la communication de l’information financière du gouvernement se fassent de façon plus transparente et plus responsable. En vertu de cette loi, le ministère des Finances doit rendre public un rapport préélectoral sur les finances de l’Ontario avant la tenue d’élections provinciales.

Le rapport préélectoral vise à aider la population à comprendre les revenus et charges prévus par la province et à fournir d’autres renseignements sur le plan financier avant la tenue des prochaines élections provinciales, dont les renseignements suivants :

  • les prévisions et hypothèses macroéconomiques ayant servi à préparer le plan financier;
  • une estimation des revenus et charges de l’Ontario, y compris des estimations des principaux postes des revenus et charges énoncés dans le plan;
  • des détails sur la réserve;
  • le rapport dette provinciale-produit intérieur brut de l’Ontario.

En vertu de la Loi de 2004 sur la transparence et la responsabilité financières, le vérificateur général doit examiner promptement le rapport pour déterminer s’il est raisonnable et faire connaître les résultats de son examen.

Améliorer la communication de l’information sur les immobilisations corporelles

Le gouvernement fait des progrès constants quant à la communication de l’information sur les immobilisations corporelles, ce qui améliore la transparence et la gestion des actifs. Les principaux actifs sont déclarés dans les budgets des dépenses imprimés depuis 2003 et un certain nombre d’autres catégories d’actifs (dont les véhicules, les aéronefs, les bateaux, les systèmes de technologie de l’information et le matériel informatique) ont été ajoutées depuis 2009. Le gouvernement mettra en oeuvre des mesures supplémentaires pour renforcer davantage le modèle utilisé pour la communication de l’information financière sur son portefeuille immobilier et améliorer la transparence de la gestion de ses actifs.

Utilisation judicieuse des fonds publics

Il est essentiel que les fonds publics soient gérés prudemment si on veut que les résultats visés soient atteints et que les contribuables en aient pour leur argent. Une gestion financière efficace assure une utilisation plus efficiente des fonds publics et aide à gérer la demande relative au financement de la dette et les coûts d’emprunt qui y sont liés.

Gestion financière des programmes de stimulation

Dans le budget de 2009, le gouvernement a annoncé un programme d’investissement dans les immobilisations, échelonné sur deux ans, pour stimuler l’économie et créer des emplois partout dans la province. Pour un grand nombre de projets financés dans le cadre des programmes de stimulation, le coût de chaque projet a été assumé à parts égales, soit le tiers chacun, par le gouvernement de l’Ontario, le gouvernement du Canada et les promoteurs des projets, y compris les municipalités. Dans le cas des investissements dans le logement social, les gouvernements de l’Ontario et du Canada se partagent les coûts à parts égales. Le gouvernement de l’Ontario a mis en oeuvre des mesures de contrôle strictes pour veiller à ce que les fonds soient dépensés comme prévu et que les résultats escomptés soient atteints.

En 2010, le vérificateur général de l’Ontario a effectué une vérification d’optimisation des ressources qui mettait l’accent sur la structure et la mise en oeuvre de trois programmes. Il a vérifié si des procédures et des systèmes adéquats étaient en place pour que les fonds soient versés en temps utile et administrés prudemment. Il a aussi évalué l’efficacité de ces programmes et publié un rapport à ce sujet. Cette vérification s’est faite lors de la mise en oeuvre des programmes. Le gouvernement a déjà pris des mesures et apporté des modifications aux programmes pour donner suite aux travaux et aux recommandations du vérificateur général. Dans son rapport, le vérificateur général a indiqué que « les ministères responsables ont fait des efforts considérables pour établir des systèmes et des processus appropriés et pour respecter les dispositions de la Directive sur l’obligation de rendre compte en matière de paiements de transfert de l’Ontario en matière d’admissibilité aux programmes, de reddition de comptes et de responsabilisation »1.

Le gouvernement a fait du contrôle et de la communication de l’information en temps utile des éléments essentiels des programmes de stimulation. Depuis novembre 2009, la population de l’Ontario est en mesure de suivre le déroulement des projets mis sur pied dans leur collectivité et à l’échelle de la province en se rendant sur le site Web Revitalisation de l’infrastructure de l’Ontario à www.ontario.ca/infrastructure. Ce site renferme des renseignements à jour sur le déroulement de chaque projet de stimulation. En décembre 2010, le site Web du ministère de l’Infrastructure a été amélioré. On y a ajouté de nouvelles caractéristiques et des renseignements.

Les gouvernements de l’Ontario et du Canada ont annoncé que la date limite pour les fonds de stimulation passerait du 31 mars 2011 au 31 octobre 2011 pour les projets admissibles. Le gouvernement continuera d’utiliser des mesures de contrôle strictes pour s’assurer que les objectifs des programmes sont atteints et que les fonds sont dépensés de façon judicieuse.

Gestion efficace de la dette

Le gouvernement emprunte de l’argent pour construire l’infrastructure, telle que les routes, les hôpitaux et les écoles, et pour financer les déficits de fonctionnement annuels. L’augmentation de la dette entraîne une hausse des coûts d’emprunt, ce qui réduit le montant global des fonds disponibles pour les futurs programmes sociaux, et liés à la santé et l’éducation. Il est donc important de gérer les niveaux et le coût des emprunts du gouvernement.

Pour assurer la viabilité de son plan financier, le gouvernement continue de choisir avec soin ses priorités en matière d’investissement dans l’infrastructure et de maintenir un bon équilibre entre les investissements qui stimulent l’économie, créent des emplois et servent à la construction de l’infrastructure nécessaire à la croissance économique future de l’Ontario, d’une part, et le niveau d’augmentation de la dette, d’autre part. En gérant prudemment le taux d’investissement, le gouvernement provincial allégera la pression exercée sur ses besoins en matière d’emprunt. Cette approche réduira le taux d’augmentation de la dette et les coûts d’emprunt qui en découlent.

Autres exigences

Le gouvernement déposera la Loi supplémentaire de 2011 portant affectation anticipée de crédits pour 2011-2012 proposée, qui se greffera à la Loi de 2010 portant affectation anticipée de crédits pour 2011-2012. Si elle est adoptée par l’Assemblée législative, cette loi accordera le reste du pouvoir légal provisoire d’engager les dépenses anticipées de 2011-2012, en attendant que le processus de vote des crédits de 2011-2012 soit terminé.

1   Bureau du vérificateur général de l’Ontario, Rapport annuel 2010, p. 212.