: ONTARIO′S ECONOMIC OUTLOOK AND FISCAL PLAN

March 27, 2012

The global economy is recovering and Ontario′s economy is growing stronger. Just as Ontario took definitive action to help families through the recession, the Province is now taking strong action to balance the budget to ensure a robust economy and continued job creation.

Given the impact of the worldwide recession and the ongoing uncertainty in the global economy, Ontario cannot rely on economic growth alone to balance the budget. European countries, where interest rates remain at unsustainable levels, demonstrate the consequences of not addressing deficits and debts soon enough.

The status quo is not an option. If action is not taken, the deficit would increase, which would hurt Ontario′s ability to continue focusing on its priorities: education, health care and smart, strategic investments to spur job creation. Escalating deficits would also impair the Province’s ability to set and control its future priorities, choices and actions.

Balancing the Budget

The 2012 Budget is the next step in the McGuinty government′s plan to balance the budget. It is a fair, balanced and reasonable plan to strengthen the economy and provide a great quality of life for Ontario families.

For every dollar in new revenues outlined in the 2012 Budget, there are four dollars of savings and cost-containment measures. This means that program spending will be reduced by a cumulative $17.7 billion over the next three years compared to what it would have otherwise been.

Average annual growth in program spending will be held to 1.0 per cent between 2011–12 and 2014–15. The government is taking strong action to manage current and future compensation costs. Overlap and duplication will be eliminated, services will be delivered more efficiently and the value of taxpayer assets will be maximized.

By maintaining a low rate of growth in spending and building on a record of beating the deficit targets laid out in the 2010 and 2011 Budgets, the McGuinty government will balance the budget by 2017–18. A balanced budget will make the economy stronger and better able to create jobs while protecting gains in education and health care.

Chart : Ontario's Plan to Balance the Budget

Meeting and Exceeding Fiscal Targets

The deficit for 2011–12 is now projected to be $15.3 billion — $1.0 billion lower than the 2011 Budget forecast and over 38 per cent lower than the 2009–10 deficit of $24.7 billion forecast in the fall of 2009. This was achieved through the government′s commitment to manage growth in spending.

The government is building on its track record of beating its fiscal targets, just as it has in the last three years. The Province is on track to meet the medium-term fiscal targets established in the 2011 Budget.

Medium-Term Fiscal Plan and Outlook
($ Billions)
  Interim Plan Outlook
  2011–12 2012–13 2013–14 2014–15
Total Revenue 109.3 112.2 116.1 121.0
Expense        
   Programs 114.5 115.8 117.0 117.9
   Interest on Debt 10.1 10.6 11.2 12.3
Total Expense 124.6 126.4 128.2 130.3
Reserve 1.0 1.2 1.5
Surplus/(Deficit) (15.3) (15.2) (13.3) (10.7)

Note: Numbers may not add due to rounding.

Total revenue is projected to grow at an average annual rate of 3.5 per cent between 2011–12 and 2014–15.

Total expense is projected to increase at an average annual rate of 1.5 per cent over the same period, lower than the 2.2 per cent growth forecast in the 2011 Budget.

Encouraging Growth and Creating Jobs

Ontario real gross domestic product (GDP) has fully recovered from the global recession. Real GDP increased by 1.8 per cent in 2011. As of the fourth quarter of 2011, Ontario real GDP was an estimated 1.6 per cent above the pre-recession level in the second quarter of 2008.

The recovery was supported by the strong action of the McGuinty government, a robust rebound in business investment encouraged by Ontario′s Tax Plan for Jobs and Growth, and consumer spending.

For planning purposes, the Ministry of Finance is assuming GDP growth of 1.7 per cent in 2012, 2.2 per cent in 2013, 2.4 per cent in 2014 and 2.5 per cent in 20151

Ontario Economic Outlook (Per Cent)
  2009 2010 2011 2012p 2013p 2014p 2015p
Real GDP Growth (3.2) 3.0 1.8e 1.7 2.2 2.4 2.5
Nominal GDP Growth (0.9) 5.3 4.2e 3.4 4.1 4.2 4.3
Employment Growth (2.5) 1.7 1.8 0.9 1.3 1.5 1.6
CPI Inflation 0.4 2.5 3.1 1.7 2.0 2.0 2.0

e = estimate. p = Ontario Ministry of Finance planning projection.
Sources: Statistics Canada and Ontario Ministry of Finance.

Since the recessionary low in June 2009, 299,300 net jobs have been created. Full-time employment rose by 300,300 over this period, while part-time employment has remained stable. The majority of the net new jobs were in industries paying above-average wages. As of February 2012, Ontario employment was 33,500 net jobs above its pre-recession peak in September 2008.

Chart : Job Recovery in Ontario

Ontario′s unemployment rate has also declined from a recessionary high of 9.4 per cent in June 2009 to 7.6 per cent in February 2012. The pace of job creation in Ontario since June 2009 is ahead of that of the United Kingdom, the United States and all of the Great Lakes States, and also leads Canada′s as a whole.

Employment is forecast to increase by 0.9 per cent in 2012, or 59,000 net new jobs.

The government will establish a Jobs and Prosperity Council, which will advise the government on a plan to boost Ontario′s productivity. The Council will seek to leverage the experience of business, labour, academics and non-government organizations.

The Council will provide advice to the government on consolidating and refocusing existing business support programs. Ontario currently provides about $3.5 billion a year in support to business and people, through the tax system and through dozens of grant and training programs across many ministries.

The government will consolidate many of its programs into one Jobs and Prosperity Fund that will focus on supporting productivity and job creation.

The McGuinty government will wind down those support programs that do not fit the new productivity focus, for overall savings of $250 million in 2014–15.

Ontario is projecting 360,000 net new jobs by 2015 and the unemployment rate is expected to fall to 6.7 per cent from a high of 9.4 per cent in June 2009.

Increasing Revenues Without Raising Taxes

In a trend that has been developing for many years, Ontario tax revenue has been falling as a share of the economy. Tax revenues are 11.6 per cent of GDP, almost 15 per cent lower today than the ratio in 1994. While some may argue for tax increases, the McGuinty government will not take this path to balance the budget.

This Budget proposes to freeze the general Corporate Income Tax (CIT) rate at 11.5 per cent until Ontario′s budget is balanced. This measure would save Ontario almost $1.5 billion over the next three years, while maintaining Ontario′s competitive advantage.

The CIT rate is currently scheduled to fall to 11 per cent on July 1, 2012 and to 10 per cent on July 1, 2013. When Ontario returns to a balanced budget, CIT rate reductions would resume and the general CIT rate would continue to fall.

The Budget is also proposing to temporarily freeze the Business Education Tax (BET) reduction plan, beginning in 2013. This move would avoid revenue decreases, providing fiscal savings growing to more than $300 million annually by 2014–15. BET rates will continue to be reduced to offset reassessment increases.

When Ontario returns to a balanced budget, the government is committed to resuming the BET rate reductions.

Revenues are projected to increase at an annual average rate of 3.5 per cent over the 2011–12 to 2014–15 period. This forecast is based on the Ministry of Finance economic outlook and reflects revenue measures that the government is proposing in order to manage the fiscal plan responsibly and to achieve the targets announced in its balanced budget plan.

Slowing the Rate of Growth on Expense

In 2011–12, Ontario′s per capita program spending is projected to be $8,560. This is the lowest among the provinces and 11 per cent below the average spent across the other nine provincial governments.

Program expense for 2011–12 is projected to be $161 million below the 2011 Budget plan, reflecting the government′s commitment to manage growth in spending. With interest on debt expense coming in below forecast, total expense for 2011–12 is projected to decrease by $353 million compared with the 2011 Budget forecast. This would mark the third consecutive year that the projection for total expense has come in lower than the Budget plan.

Between 2010–11 and 2017–18, program spending growth will be held to an average of 0.9 per cent — in line with the recommendation of the Commission on the Reform of Ontario′s Public Services. These projections reflect the government′s commitment to control growth in program expense while protecting gains made in education and health care. Given the government′s record of beating its fiscal targets by managing growth in recent years, this target for expense growth is achievable, underpinned by the $17.7 billion in expense measures announced in the 2012 Budget.

Long-Term Public Borrowing

Ontario successfully completed its annual borrowing program in 2011–12, despite continuing challenges in global financial markets. Going forward, the Province’s long-term public borrowing for 2012–13 has declined by $3 billion since the 2011 Budget.

Strong global investor demand for Canadian-dollar assets, the liquidity of Ontario benchmark bonds and continuing confidence in the Province have allowed Ontario to borrow 81 per cent in the Canadian-dollar market in 2011–12, up from 59 per cent in 2010–11 and well above the target of at least 60 per cent set out in the 2011 Budget.

In 2012–13, the Province plans to borrow at least 70 per cent in the Canadian-dollar market. This is in line with the historical average of issuing approximately three-quarters in that market, but represents a considerable decline in the reliance on foreign markets during the global financial crisis. In 2009–10, more than 50 per cent of the Province’s issuance was in international markets.

1Based on information available up to March 6, 2012.


FOR MEDIA INQUIRIES ONLY:

Aly Vitunski, Minister′s Office, 416-325-9819
Scott Blodgett, Ministry of Finance, 416-325-0324

FOR PUBLIC INQUIRIES CALL:

1-800-337-7222
TTY: 1-800-263-7776

ontario.ca/finance-news
Disponible en fran├žais

: PERSPECTIVES ÉCONOMIQUES ET PLAN FINANCIER DE L'ONTARIO

Le 27 mars 2012

L’économie mondiale se rétablit et celle de l’Ontario se renforce. Tout comme l’Ontario a pris des mesures décisives afin d’aider les familles durant la récession, la province fait maintenant de même pour équilibrer le budget afin d’assurer la vigueur de l’économie et de maintenir la création d’emplois.

Compte tenu des effets de la récession mondiale et de l’incertitude qui persiste concernant l’économie mondiale, l’Ontario ne peut se fier seulement à la croissance économique pour équilibrer le budget. Les pays européens où les taux d’intérêt sont à des niveaux insoutenables montrent bien les risques qui planent si l’on tarde à s’attaquer au déficit et à la dette.

Le statu quo n’est pas une option. Si aucune mesure n’était prise, le déficit augmenterait, ce qui empêcherait l’Ontario de continuer à se concentrer sur ses priorités : l’éducation, les soins de santé et des investissements stratégiques judicieux pour stimuler la création d’emplois. L’accroissement des déficits empêcherait également la province d’établir et de contrôler ses priorités, ses décisions et ses activités futures.

Équilibre budgétaire

Le budget de 2012 est la prochaine étape dans la réalisation du plan du gouvernement McGuinty en vue d’équilibrer le budget. Il s’agit d’un plan juste, équilibré et raisonnable visant à renforcer l’économie et à assurer une excellente qualité de vie pour les familles ontariennes.

Pour chaque dollar de nouveaux revenus décrits dans le budget de 2012, on prévoit quatre dollars de mesures visant à réaliser des économies et à contenir les coûts. Cela signifie que les dépenses de programmes seront réduites d’un montant cumulatif de 17,7 milliards de dollars au cours des trois prochaines années par rapport au niveau qu’elles auraient autrement atteint.

La croissance annuelle moyenne des dépenses de programmes sera maintenue à 1,0 % entre 2011-2012 et 2014-2015. Le gouvernement prend des mesures décisives pour gérer les coûts de rémunération actuels et futurs. On éliminera les chevauchements et le double emploi, on améliorera la prestation des services pour la rendre plus efficiente et on maximisera la valeur des biens publics.

En maintenant un faible taux de croissance des dépenses et en se fondant sur ses antécédents de dépassement des objectifs de lutte contre le déficit établis dans les budgets de 2010 et de 2011, le gouvernement McGuinty parviendra à l’équilibre budgétaire d’ici 2017-2018. Un budget équilibré renforcera l’économie et stimulera la création d’emplois tout en protégeant les progrès réalisés dans les secteurs de l’éducation et de la santé.

Graphique : Plan de l'Ontario visant à équilibrer le budget

Atteindre et dépasser les objectifs financiers

On prévoit maintenant que le déficit de 2011-2012 sera de 15,3 milliards de dollars, soit 1,0 milliard de dollars de moins que selon les prévisions du budget de 2011. Cette amélioration de plus de 38 % comparativement au déficit de 24,7 milliards de dollars pour 2009-2010 qui avait été prévu à l’automne 2009 découle de l’engagement du gouvernement de gérer la croissance des dépenses.

Le gouvernement mise sur le fait qu’il a réussi à dépasser ses objectifs financiers au cours des trois derniers exercices. La province est en voie d’atteindre les objectifs financiers établis à moyen terme dans le budget de 2011.

Plan financier et perspectives à moyen terme
(en milliards de dollars)
  Chiffres prov. Plan Perspectives
  2011-2012 2012-2013 2013-2014 2014-2015
Total des revenus 109,3 112,2 116,1 121,0
Charges        
Programmes 114,5 115,8 117,0 117,9
Intérêt sur la dette 10,1 10,6 11,2 12,3
Total des charges 124,6 126,4 128,2 130,3
Réserve 1,0 1,2 1,5
Excédent(Déficit) (15,3) (15,2) (13,3) (10,7)

Nota : Les totaux peuvent ne pas correspondre à la somme des chiffres, qui ont été arrondis.

On prévoit que le total des revenus augmentera en moyenne de 3,5 % par année entre 2011-2012 et 2014-2015.

Durant la même période, les charges totales devraient quant à elles progresser à un taux annuel moyen de 1,5 %, ce qui est inférieur au taux de 2,2 % prévu dans le budget de 2011.

Favoriser la croissance et créer des emplois

Le produit intérieur brut (PIB) réel de l’Ontario s’est complètement rétabli depuis la récession mondiale. Il s’est accru de 1,8 % en 2011. Au quatrième trimestre de 2011, on estimait que le PIB réel de l’Ontario dépassait de 1,6 % le niveau où il se situait avant la récession au deuxième trimestre de 2008.

La reprise a été soutenue par les mesures décisives prises par le gouvernement McGuinty, par le redémarrage des investissements des entreprises favorisé par le Plan fiscal de l’Ontario pour stimuler la création d’emplois et la croissance, et par les dépenses de consommation.

Aux fins de planification, le ministère des Finances suppose que le PIB croîtra de 1,7 % en 2012, de 2,2 % en 2013, de 2,4 % en 2014 et de 2,5 % en 20151.

Perspectives économiques de l'Ontario
(en percentage)
  2009 2010 2011 2012p 2013p 2014p 2015p
Croissance du PIB réel (3,2) 3,0 1,8e 1,7 2,2 2,4 2,5
Croissance du PIB nominal (0,9) 5,3 4,2e 3,4 4,1 4,2 4,3
Croissance de l'emploi (2,5) 1,7 1,8 0,9 1,3 1,5 1,6
Inflation de l'IPC 0,4 2,5 3,1 1,7 2,0 2,0 2,0

e = estimation. p = projection de planification du ministère des Finances de l’Ontario.
Sources : Statistique Canada et ministère des Finances de l’Ontario.

Depuis le creux survenu pendant la récession en juin 2009, 299 300 emplois nets ont été créés. Le nombre d’emplois à plein temps s’est accru de 300 300 pendant cette période, tandis que le nombre d’emplois à temps partiel est demeuré stable. La majorité des nouveaux emplois nets ont été créés dans des industries où le salaire est supérieur à la moyenne. En février 2012, l’emploi en Ontario affichait 33 500 emplois nets de plus que lors du pic atteint en septembre 2008, avant la récession.

Graphique : Reprise de l'emploi en Ontario

Le taux de chômage en Ontario a aussi baissé, passant du sommet de 9,4 % atteint en juin 2009, lors de la récession, à 7,6 % en février 2012. Depuis juin 2009, l’Ontario crée des emplois à un meilleur rythme qu’au Royaume-Uni, aux États-Unis et dans tous les États des Grands Lacs et se classe au premier rang dans l’ensemble du Canada.

L’emploi devrait s’accroître de 0,9 % en 2012, ce qui correspond à la création de 59 000 emplois nets.

Par ailleurs, le gouvernement établira le Conseil pour l’emploi et la prospérité, lequel aura pour mandat de conseiller le gouvernement sur un plan visant à stimuler la productivité de l’Ontario. Le Conseil cherchera à mettre à profit l’expérience des entreprises, des syndicats, des milieux universitaires et des organismes non gouvernementaux.

Il fournira des conseils au gouvernement sur la façon de consolider et de réorienter les programmes de soutien aux entreprises. L’Ontario fournit actuellement environ 3,5 milliards de dollars par année pour soutenir les entreprises et les particuliers par l’entremise du régime fiscal et de dizaines de programmes de subventions et de formation offerts par plusieurs ministères.

Le gouvernement entend regrouper un grand nombre de ses programmes en un seul Fonds pour l’emploi et la prospérité, qui visera avant tout à appuyer la productivité et la création d’emplois.

Le gouvernement McGuinty éliminera graduellement les programmes de soutien aux entreprises qui ne correspondent pas au nouveau cadre axé sur la productivité. On réalisera ainsi des économies globales de 250 millions de dollars en 2014-2015.

L’Ontario prévoit qu’il se créera 360 000 emplois nets d’ici 2015 et que le taux de chômage chutera à 6,7 %, après avoir atteint un sommet de 9,4 % en juin 2009.

Accroître les revenus sans hausser les impôts

On observe depuis plusieurs années que la part de l’économie que constituent les revenus fiscaux de l’Ontario est en déclin. Les revenus fiscaux représentent une part de 11,6 % du PIB, ce qui est presque 15 % de moins que ce qu’était cette part en 1994. Bien que certains préconisent des augmentations d’impôts, ce n’est pas la voie que le gouvernement McGuinty entend suivre pour équilibrer le budget.

Le budget propose de geler le taux général de l’impôt sur le revenu des sociétés (IRS) à 11,5 % jusqu’à ce que l’équilibre budgétaire ait été rétabli en Ontario. Cette mesure permettrait à la province d’économiser près de 1,5 milliard de dollars au cours des trois prochaines années, tout en préservant l’avantage concurrentiel de l’Ontario.

Il est prévu actuellement que le taux de l’IRS diminuera et passera à 11 % le 1er juillet 2012 et à 10 % le 1er juillet 2013. Lorsque l’équilibre budgétaire aura été rétabli en Ontario, les réductions des taux de l’IRS reprendraient et le taux général de l’IRS recommencerait à diminuer.

Dans le budget, le gouvernement propose d’interrompre temporairement le plan de réduction de l’impôt scolaire applicable aux entreprises (ISE) à compter de 2013. Cette mesure permettrait d’éviter une baisse des revenus et de réaliser des économies budgétaires qui dépasseront 300 millions de dollars par an d’ici 2014-2015. Les taux de l’ISE continueront de baisser pour contrebalancer les hausses découlant de la réévaluation.

Le gouvernement est déterminé à reprendre les réductions du taux de l’impôt scolaire applicable aux entreprises lorsque l’Ontario aura retrouvé l’équilibre budgétaire.

Les revenus devraient augmenter au taux annuel moyen de 3,5 % entre 2011-2012 et 2014-2015. Ces prévisions reposent sur les perspectives économiques du ministère des Finances. Elles tiennent compte des mesures touchant les revenus que le gouvernement propose afin de gérer son plan financier de manière responsable et d’atteindre les objectifs annoncés dans son plan visant à équilibrer le budget.

Ralentir le taux de croissance des charges

En 2011-2012, les dépenses de programmes de l’Ontario par habitant devraient être de 8 560 $. Ce montant est le plus faible parmi les provinces et est inférieur de 11 % aux dépenses moyennes des neuf autres gouvernements provinciaux.

On prévoit que les charges de programmes pour 2011-2012 seront 161 millions de dollars moins élevées que selon le plan budgétaire de 2011, ce qui témoigne de l’engagement du gouvernement de gérer la croissance des dépenses. Comme les charges liées à l’intérêt sur la dette sont inférieures aux prévisions, les charges totales pour 2011-2012 devraient diminuer de 353 millions de dollars comparativement aux prévisions du budget de 2011. Il s’agirait de la troisième année consécutive où les charges totales prévues seraient inférieures à celles projetées dans le plan budgétaire.

Entre 2010-2011 et 2017-2018, la croissance des dépenses de programmes sera maintenue à 0,9 % en moyenne, ce qui est conforme aux recommandations de la Commission de réforme des services publics de l’Ontario. Ces prévisions traduisent l’engagement du gouvernement de maîtriser la croissance des charges de programmes tout en protégeant les progrès réalisés dans les secteurs de la santé et de l’éducation. Étant donné que le gouvernement a réussi à dépasser ses objectifs financiers en gérant la croissance des charges au cours des derniers exercices, cet objectif est réalisable grâce notamment aux mesures touchant les charges de 17,7 milliards de dollars annoncées dans le budget de 2012.

Emprunts à long terme sur les marchés publics

L’Ontario a réussi à exécuter son programme d’emprunt annuel en 2011-2012, malgré les défis avec lesquels les marchés des capitaux sont toujours aux prises à l’échelle internationale. Les besoins en matière d’emprunts à long terme sur les marchés publics de la province ont diminué de 3 milliards de dollars pour 2012-2013 depuis la parution du budget de 2011.

La forte demande d’actifs en dollars canadiens de la part des investisseurs internationaux, la liquidité des obligations de référence de l’Ontario et la confiance qu’inspire toujours la province ont permis à l’Ontario de contracter 81 % de ses emprunts sur le marché du dollar canadien en 2011-2012, ce qui est supérieur au taux de 59 % de 2010-2011 et bien au-dessus de la cible d’au moins 60 % établie dans le budget de 2011.

En 2012-2013, la province projette de contracter au moins 70 % de ses emprunts sur le marché du dollar canadien. Cela est conforme au pourcentage moyen historique qui est d’environ 75 %, mais permet à la province de dépendre beaucoup moins des marchés étrangers durant la crise financière mondiale. En 2009-2010, plus de 50 % des émissions de la province étaient sur les marchés internationaux.

1Selon les renseignements disponibles en date du 6 mars 2012.


DEMANDES DE RENSEIGNEMENTS DES MÉDIAS :

Aly Vitunski, bureau du ministre, 416 325-9819
Scott Blodgett, ministère des Finances, 416 325-0324

DEMANDES DE RENSEIGNEMENTS DU PUBLIC :

1 800 337-7222
ATS : 1 800 263-7776

ontario.ca/finances-nouvelles
Available in English