: PUBLIC SECTOR COMPENSATION

March 27, 2012

A Long-Term Plan for Public Sector Compensation

Ontario's economy is now growing in the wake of the global recession, but the Province is facing new economic and fiscal challenges. The economy is growing at a slower pace than projected in the 2011 Budget and the Province has a substantial deficit.

Today, the cost of servicing Ontario's debt is approximately $10 billion, the third-largest annual expense and one of the fastest-growing expenditures. To put this in perspective, Ontario spends more on interest each year than on colleges and universities. And for every one per cent increase in interest rates, the cost to service the debt would increase by $467 million in the first year of the increase. If no action is taken to balance the budget, Ontario would pay almost as much to service debt in 2017–18 as it spends on education today.

The status quo is not an option. Given the impact of the recession and the ongoing uncertainty in the global economy, Ontario cannot rely on economic growth alone to balance the budget. 

If no action is taken, the deficit would increase, which would hurt Ontario's ability to continue focusing on its priorities: education, health care and smart, strategic investments to spur job creation. Escalating deficits would also impair the Province's ability to set and control its future priorities, choices and actions.

The government's five-year plan, which will keep Ontario on track to balance the budget by 2017–18, requires spending growth of less than one per cent a year on average between now and then, while ensuring long-term sustainability of core public services.

The Costs of Public Sector Compensation

Compensation costs account for over half of Ontario's program spending, either paid directly through the Ontario Public Service or as part of the government's transfer payments to schools, hospitals and other broader public sector partners. 

A balanced approach must be taken to ensure that labour agreements are linked to public sector sustainability and improved productivity, that fiscal goals are met, the deficit is eliminated, and key services such as education and health care are preserved.

Compensation Framework

Agreements with three key groups will expire in 2012:

  • Ontario Teachers and Other Education Stakeholders: the government has begun facilitating negotiations and discussions with school boards and unions. The government is proposing parameters that, if accepted, would allow full-day kindergarten to roll out as scheduled, keep class sizes at current levels and continue the focus on students and classrooms. This will help protect nearly 10,000 teaching positions, including 3,800 for full-day kindergarten and nearly 10,000 non-teaching positions, while sustaining and improving educational achievements.
  • Ontario Doctors: payments to doctors under Ontario's health insurance plans represent $11 billion or 23 per cent of health care costs. The government has begun discussions with doctors in connection with the fee schedule for insured services and other issues, and is aiming, through discussions, to make health care better for patients while keeping total physician compensation at current levels.
  • Ontario Public Service Employees: later this year, the government will be setting mandates to negotiate with OPS employees, represented by the Ontario Public Service Employees Union and the Association of Management, Administrative and Professional Crown Employees of Ontario.The government intends to negotiate agreements that are consistent with the fiscal plan while enhancing productivity and facilitating public sector transformation.

The government will continue to respect existing collective agreements in the broader public sector (BPS).

As agreements expire, the government expects all BPS partners to bargain responsibly, reflecting the fiscal circumstances of the Province and significant income and employment gains made over the past eight years.

In future negotiations, the priority must be to ensure the long-term sustainability of Ontario's public services and to protect the recent gains made. Public sector employers and bargaining agents should seek compensation agreements that allow the government to live within its fiscal plan while preserving results in Ontario's schools, health care system and broader public services. As such, the government expects its partners to consider not only current and future compensation, but also those aspects of collective agreements that enhance productivity and facilitate public sector transformation.

Where collective agreements cannot be negotiated that are consistent with the fiscal plan and the shared objective of ensuring the long-term sustainability of public services such as education and health care, or in the face of significant disruption, the government is prepared to propose necessary administrative and legislative measures. 

Beyond current and upcoming bargaining, there is a need over the long term to streamline public sector collective bargaining in Ontario. Currently, there are nearly 4,000 collective agreements in the BPS. To increase effectiveness and value for money, the government will move towards greater centralization of bargaining over time, reducing transaction costs for all parties to negotiations. It will conduct a review of collective bargaining best practices to determine the most appropriate path forward.

The government also recognizes the need for more transparency in collective bargaining outcomes. This includes the need to ensure that bargaining will be supported by better, publicly available data related to all elements of compensation, including wages, benefits and pensions. 

The government's fiscal plan provides no funding for incremental compensation increases for new collective agreements. 

Interest Arbitration

To make arbitration more transparent, accountable and efficient, the government is proposing legislation that would:

  • Require written submissions by both parties in arbitration
  • Require written rationales by the arbitrator when requested by either party
  • Require that arbitration decisions be delivered in less than 12 months, subject to extension in exceptional circumstances.

In cases where a decision is not delivered within 12 months, the Ontario Labour Relations Board would issue the final award for the parties.    

The government will also begin a dialogue with those employers with automatic access to arbitration about additional tools they may need to live within their funding envelopes while protecting services. 

Ensuring the Sustainability and Affordability of Public Sector Pensions

Sustainability and affordability are key pillars of any pension system.

The Commission on the Reform of Ontario's Public Services forecast that, if no changes were made, the cost of pensions would nearly double between this fiscal year and 2017–18. Pension costs are one of the fastest-growing line items in the Budget. These rising costs, made worse by the global recession's impact on the pension plans' assets and low interest rate environment, make it more difficult to meet future pension obligations and maintain the results achieved in education and health care.  

Strong action today will limit taxpayer exposure to pension costs, protect priority public services such as education and health care, and put pensions on a sustainable track for the future. The government is proposing the following actions to make public sector pensions more affordable for taxpayers and sustainable for pension plan members:

  • Jointly Sponsored Pension Plans: the government will consult with its partners to develop a legislative framework involving the following parameters:
    • In case of a deficit, plans would be required to reduce future benefits or ancillary benefits before further increasing employer contributions
    • In exceptional circumstances, a limit would be set on the amount or value of benefit reductions before additional contribution increases could be considered
    • Any benefit reductions would involve future benefits only, not those that have already been accrued. Current retirees would not be affected
    • Where employee contributions are currently less than employer contributions, increased employee contributions would also be available as a tool to reduce pension deficits
    • Where plan sponsors cannot agree on benefit reductions through negotiation, a new third-party dispute resolution process would be invoked
    • The framework would be reviewed after the budget is balanced.
  • Single-Employer Public Sector Pension Plans: as with jointly sponsored pension plans, the government believes that single-employer public sector plan members should share the ongoing cost of their pension benefits equally with the employer. These increasing employer pension costs are absorbing funding that is critically needed for public services.

The government expects that single-employer public sector pension plans will move to a 50–50 cost sharing formula for ongoing contributions within five years.

Building on the temporary solvency relief measures already in place, the government will create additional incentives for plans to move to equal contribution-sharing. 

Employers would continue to be responsible for plan deficits. 

  • More Efficient, Effective Pension Asset Management: research shows the benefits of scale in pension plan management. Larger size allows for more efficient internal management, as well as access to a broader range of investment options.
    • The government intends to introduce framework legislation in the fall of 2012 that would pool investment management functions of smaller public sector pension plans in Ontario. Under this framework, management of assets could be transferred to a new entity or to an existing large public sector fund. The government will appoint an adviser to develop recommendations for this framework, working with affected stakeholders and building on Ontario's internationally recognized model for pension plan management.

Extending the Freeze on Executive Compensation

The government is continuing to take action to manage compensation costs by proposing to extend the pay freeze for executives at hospitals, universities, colleges, school boards and agencies for another two years. This would mean their pay will have been frozen for four years.

Regulations would also be proposed to capture certain other organizations and agencies such as Ornge, Local Health Integration Networks, the LCBO and the OLG. The extended freeze would also apply to office holders of these organizations who are full-time members of their governing boards.

It is also proposed that MPP pay would be frozen for another two years, bringing the total length of the pay freeze to five years.

FOR MEDIA INQUIRIES ONLY:

Aly Vitunski, Minister′s Office, 416-325-9819
Scott Blodgett, Ministry of Finance, 416-325-0324

FOR PUBLIC INQUIRIES CALL:

1-800-337-7222
TTY: 1-800-263-7776

ontario.ca/finance-news
Disponible en français

: RÉMUNÉRATION DANS LE SECTEUR PUBLIC

Le 27 mars 2012

Plan à long terme pour la rémunération dans le secteur public

L’économie de l’Ontario recommence maintenant à croître à la suite de la récession mondiale, mais la province fait face à de nouveaux défis économiques et financiers. La croissance économique est plus lente qu’on ne l’avait prévu dans le budget de 2011, et la province accuse un déficit considérable.

Aujourd’hui, le coût du service de la dette, qui est d’environ 10 milliards de dollars, vient au troisième rang des charges annuelles les plus considérables, et c’est l’une des charges qui augmentent le plus rapidement. Pour placer les choses en perspective, disons que l’Ontario paie plus d’argent en intérêts chaque année qu’elle n’en verse aux collèges et universités. Pour chaque augmentation de 1 % des taux d’intérêt, le coût du service de la dette augmenterait d’environ 467 millions de dollars durant la première année après l’augmentation. Si aucune mesure n’était prise pour équilibrer le budget, l’Ontario paierait presque autant pour le service de la dette en 2017-2018 que ce qu’il consacre à l’éducation aujourd’hui.

Le statu quo n’est pas une solution. Compte tenu des effets de la récession et de l’incertitude continue qui a suivi concernant l’économie mondiale, l’Ontario ne peut pas se fier seulement à la croissance économique pour équilibrer le budget.

Si aucune mesure n’était prise, le déficit augmenterait, ce qui empêcherait l’Ontario de continuer à se concentrer sur ses priorités : l’éducation, les soins de santé et des investissements stratégiques judicieux pour stimuler la création d’emplois. La montée en flèche des déficits empêcherait également la province d’établir et de contrôler ses priorités, ses décisions et ses activités futures.

Grâce au plan quinquennal mis de l’avant par le gouvernement, l’Ontario sera en voie d’équilibrer son budget d’ici 2017-2018. Ce plan exige que l’on contienne la croissance des dépenses à moins de 1 % par année en moyenne d’ici là, tout en veillant à la viabilité à long terme des principaux services publics.

Coûts de la rémunération dans le secteur public

Les coûts de rémunération représentent plus de la moitié des dépenses des programmes de l’Ontario, soit sous forme de paiements directs à la fonction publique de l’Ontario (FPO) ou de paiements de transfert aux écoles, aux hôpitaux et aux autres partenaires du secteur parapublic. 

Une approche équilibrée doit être adoptée pour faire en sorte que les contrats de travail soient liés à la viabilité et à la productivité accrue du secteur public afin d’atteindre les objectifs financiers, d’éliminer le déficit et de préserver les services les plus importants tels que l’éducation et la santé.

Cadre de rémunération

Les conventions suivantes, conclues avec trois groupes clés, viendront à échéance en 2012 :

  • Personnel enseignant de l’Ontario et autres intervenants en éducation : le gouvernement a favorisé l’amorce de négociations et de discussions avec les conseils scolaires et les syndicats. Il propose des paramètres qui, s’ils sont acceptés, permettront de poursuivre le déploiement de la maternelle et du jardin d’enfants à temps plein tel que prévu, de maintenir l’effectif des classes à leurs niveaux actuels et de continuer à mettre l’accent sur les élèves et l’enseignement en classe. Cela permettra de protéger quelque 10 000 postes d’enseignant, y compris 3 800 postes au niveau de la maternelle et du jardin d’enfants à temps plein, et près de 10 000 postes de personnel non enseignant tout en maintenant et en améliorant les résultats scolaires.
  • Médecins de l’Ontario : les paiements aux médecins en vertu des régimes d’assurance-santé de l’Ontario représentent 11 milliards de dollars, soit 23 % des coûts des soins de santé. Le gouvernement a entrepris des discussions avec les médecins, notamment sur le barème des honoraires des services assurés, dans le but d’améliorer les soins de santé pour les patients tout en maintenant la rémunération totale des médecins aux niveaux actuels.
  • Employés de la fonction publique de l’Ontario : plus tard dans le courant de l’année, le gouvernement établira les mandats de négociation avec les employés de la FPO, représentés par le Syndicat des employées et employés de la fonction publique de l’Ontario et l’Association des employées et employés gestionnaires, administratifs et professionnels de la couronne de l’Ontario. Il entend négocier des conventions qui sont conformes au plan financier tout en améliorant la productivité et en facilitant la transformation du secteur public.

Le gouvernement continuera de respecter les conventions collectives en vigueur dans le secteur parapublic.

À mesure que ces conventions viendront à échéance, le gouvernement s’attend à ce que tous les partenaires du secteur parapublic négocient de façon responsable, pour tenir compte de la situation financière de la province et des gains importants obtenus au cours des huit dernières années sur le plan du revenu et de l’emploi.

Dans les négociations à venir, il faut assurer en priorité la viabilité à long terme des services publics de l’Ontario et protéger les gains réalisés récemment. Les employeurs et les agents négociateurs du secteur public devraient chercher à conclure des ententes salariales qui permettent au gouvernement de respecter son plan financier tout en préservant les résultats obtenus dans les écoles, le système de soins de santé et les services parapublics de l’Ontario. Le gouvernement s’attend donc à ce que ses partenaires prennent en considération non seulement les questions touchant la rémunération actuelle et future, mais aussi les aspects des conventions collectives qui rehaussent la productivité et facilitent la transformation du secteur public.

Si les conventions collectives ne peuvent pas être négociées conformément au plan financier et à l’objectif commun d’assurer la viabilité à long terme des services publics comme l’éducation et la santé, ou en cas d’interruption importante, le gouvernement est prêt à proposer les mesures administratives et législatives nécessaires.

Au-delà des négociations qui se déroulent actuellement ou qui auront lieu prochainement, il faudra à plus long terme rationaliser le processus de négociation collective du secteur public en Ontario. Il y a actuellement près de 4 000 conventions collectives dans le secteur parapublic. Pour accroître l’efficacité et optimiser l’utilisation des ressources, le gouvernement adoptera graduellement une approche de négociation plus centralisée, ce qui réduira les coûts d’opération de toutes les parties aux négociations. Il étudiera les pratiques exemplaires touchant les négociations collectives afin de déterminer la voie la plus appropriée à suivre.

Le gouvernement est également conscient du besoin d’une plus grande transparence en ce qui a trait à l’issue des négociations collectives. Cela inclut entre autres le soutien du processus de négociation à l’aide de données plus précises accessibles au public relativement à tous les éléments liés à la rémunération, y compris les salaires, les avantages sociaux et les prestations de retraite.

Le plan financier du gouvernement ne prévoit pas de fonds au titre de l’augmentation progressive de la rémunération dans les nouvelles conventions collectives.

Arbitrage des différends

Pour rendre ce processus plus transparent, responsable et efficient, le gouvernement propose des mesures législatives qui :

  • exigeraient des observations écrites de la part des deux parties à l’arbitrage;
  • exigeraient des justifications écrites de la part de l’arbitre sur demande de l’une ou l’autre des parties;
  • exigeraient que les décisions d’arbitrage soient rendues dans une période de moins de 12 mois, à moins qu’une prolongation ne soit accordée dans des circonstances exceptionnelles.

Dans les cas où une décision n’est pas prononcée dans la période prescrite de 12 mois, la Commission des relations de travail de l’Ontario rendrait la décision arbitrale finale.

 

Le gouvernement entamera également un dialogue avec les employeurs ayant automatiquement accès à l’arbitrage concernant les outils supplémentaires dont ils pourraient avoir besoin pour respecter leur enveloppe budgétaire tout en protégeant les services.

Viabilité et abordabilité des régimes de retraite du secteur public

La viabilité et l’abordabilité sont les piliers de tout régime de retraite.

La Commission de réforme des services publics de l’Ontario prévoit que si aucun changement n’était fait, les coûts liés aux régimes de retraite doubleraient presque d’ici 2017-2018. Les coûts liés aux régimes de retraite représentent un des postes budgétaires qui augmentent le plus rapidement. La hausse des coûts, exacerbée par les effets de la récession mondiale et la faiblesse des taux d’intérêt sur les actifs des régimes de retraite, fait qu’il est plus difficile de s’acquitter de ses obligations et de maintenir les résultats obtenus dans les secteurs de l’éducation et de la santé.

Des mesures rigoureuses prises aujourd’hui limiteront l’exposition des contribuables aux coûts liés aux régimes de retraite, protégeront les services publics prioritaires comme l’éducation et la santé, et placeront les régimes de retraite sur la voie de la viabilité pour l’avenir. Le gouvernement propose les mesures suivantes pour rendre les régimes de retraite plus abordables pour les contribuables et plus durables pour les participants :

  • Régimes de retraite conjoints : le gouvernement consultera ses partenaires pour l’élaboration d’un cadre législatif comprenant les paramètres suivants :
    • En cas de déficit, les régimes seraient tenus de réduire les prestations futures ou les prestations accessoires avant d’augmenter davantage les cotisations des employeurs.
    • En cas de circonstances exceptionnelles, une limite serait imposée quant au montant ou à la valeur de la réduction des prestations avant que des hausses supplémentaires des cotisations ne soient envisagées.
    • Toute réduction des prestations s’appliquerait uniquement aux prestations futures, non à celles qui ont déjà été acquises. Les retraités actuels ne seraient pas touchés.
    • Lorsque les cotisations salariales sont actuellement moindres que celles des employeurs, une hausse des cotisations salariales pourrait également être envisagée pour éponger les déficits des régimes de retraite.
    • Lorsque les promoteurs des régimes ne peuvent pas s’entendre sur la réduction des prestations par la négociation, un nouveau processus de règlement des différends par une tierce partie serait utilisé.
    • Le cadre serait revu une fois que le budget aurait été équilibré.
  • Régimes de retraite à employeur unique : comme dans le cas des régimes de retraite conjoints, le gouvernement croit que les participants aux régimes de retraite à employeur unique du secteur public devraient assumer le coût de leurs prestations de retraite à parts égales avec leur employeur. La hausse des coûts que doivent assumer les employeurs absorbe des fonds qui sont cruciaux pour les services publics.

Le gouvernement s’attend à ce que les régimes de retraite à employeur unique du secteur public soient financés à parts égales par les employeurs et les participants dans un délai de cinq ans.

S’appuyant sur les mesures temporaires d’allégement de la capitalisation du déficit de solvabilité qui existent déjà, le gouvernement créera des incitatifs supplémentaires pour encourager les régimes à mettre en oeuvre la formule de partage des coûts à parts égales.

Les employeurs continueraient d’être responsables des déficits des régimes.

  • Gestion plus efficiente et plus efficace des actifs des régimes de retraite : des études montrent les économies d’échelle que peut procurer la gestion des régimes de retraite. Les régimes plus grands permettent une gestion interne plus efficiente ainsi que l’accès à un plus grand éventail d’options en matière d’investissement.
    • Le gouvernement a l’intention de déposer un cadre législatif à l’automne 2012 qui regrouperait les fonctions de gestion des investissements des plus petits régimes de retraite du secteur public de l’Ontario. En vertu de ce cadre, la gestion des actifs pourrait être cédée à une nouvelle entité ou à une grande caisse de retraite existante du secteur public. Le gouvernement nommera un conseiller qui fera des recommandations concernant le cadre, en collaborant avec les intéressés et en s’appuyant sur le modèle ontarien de gestion des régimes de retraite reconnu internationalement. 

Prolongation du gel de la rémunération des cadres

Le gouvernement continue de prendre des mesures pour gérer les coûts liés à la rémunération et propose de prolonger de deux autres années le gel des salaires des cadres des hôpitaux, des collèges, des universités, des conseils scolaires et des organismes. C’est donc dire que leur paie aurait été gelée pendant quatre ans.

Des règlements seraient également proposés pour assujettir certains autres organismes comme Ornge, les réseaux locaux d’intégration des services de santé, la LCBO et l’OLG à cette mesure. Le gel prolongé des salaires s’appliquerait aussi aux titulaires de charge de ces organismes qui sont également membres à plein temps de leur conseil d’administration.

On propose également de geler le salaire de tous les députés pendant encore deux ans, portant à cinq ans la durée totale de la période de gel de leur salaire.

DEMANDES DE RENSEIGNEMENTS DES MÉDIAS :

Aly Vitunski, bureau du ministre, 416 325-9819
Scott Blodgett, ministère des Finances, 416 325-0324

DEMANDES DE RENSEIGNEMENTS DU PUBLIC :

1 800 337-7222
ATS : 1 800 263-7776

ontario.ca/finances-nouvelles
Available in English