2012 Ontario Budget: Chapter II: Ontario's Economic Outlook and Fiscal Plan
Section B: 2011–12 Interim Fiscal Performance

The 2011 Budget projected a deficit of $16.3 billion in 2011–12. The deficit for 2011–12 is now projected to be $15.3 billion — $1.0 billion lower than the 2011 Budget forecast. This improvement of over 38 per cent from the 2009–10 deficit of $24.7 billion forecast in the fall of 2009 was achieved through the government's commitment to manage growth in spending. The government continues to build on its track record of overachieving on its fiscal targets, just as it has in the last three years.

Program spending and total spending are both projected to be lower than forecast in the 2011 Budget. In addition, program spending is expected to grow by only 2.5 per cent over the 2010–11 results — the second-lowest annual growth in program spending in 10 years.

TABLE 2.2. 2011–12 In-Year Fiscal Performance
($ Millions)
  Budget Plan1 Interim In-Year Change
Revenue 109,298 109,277 (20)
Expense      
   Programs 114,623 114,463 (161)
   Interest on Debt 10,290 10,097 (193)
Total Expense 124,913 124,560 (353)
Reserve 700 (700)
Surplus/(Deficit) (16,316) (15,283) 1,033

1Revenue and expense have been restated to reflect a fiscally neutral accounting change related to the reclassification of government agencies and organizations as described in the 2011 Ontario Economic Outlook and Fiscal Review. Starting in this Budget, revenue and expense have been restated to reflect a fiscally neutral reclassification of a number of tax expenditures as described in Section F of this chapter. For purposes of comparison, 2011 Budget amounts were restated on the same basis.

Revenue in 2011–12 is projected to be $20 million below the Budget Plan. Lower taxation revenue as a result of slower economic growth and lower federal transfers was largely offset by higher one-time non-tax revenues.   

Program expense for 2011–12 is projected to be $161 million below the Budget Plan, reflecting the government's commitment to manage growth in spending. With interest on debt expense coming in below forecast, total expense for 2011–12 is projected to decrease by $353 million compared with the 2011 Budget forecast. This would mark the third consecutive year that total expense has come in lower than the Budget Plan.

In the 2011 Ontario Economic Outlook and Fiscal Review, the government reduced the reserve by $500 million to counter the expected impact of slower economic growth on the Province's fiscal performance. The 2011–12 interim outlook uses the remaining $200 million reserve to improve the Province's fiscal performance and reduce the 2011–12 deficit.

The interim results for 2011–12 are based on information available as of early March 2012. Given the preliminary nature of these estimates, the interim forecast is subject to change as actual Provincial revenue and expense are finalized in the 2011–12 Public Accounts this summer.

In–Year Revenue Performance

Total revenue in 2011–12 is estimated to be $109,277 million. This is $20 million below the amount projected in the 2011 Budget. This reflects offsetting variances among revenue sources.

  • Taxation revenues are $638 million lower, largely due to slower economic growth.
  • Government of Canada transfers are $372 million lower, due in part to a federal estimation error that led to a downward revision to Ontario's Equalization entitlement. In addition, lower transfers for infrastructure and consolidated agencies were largely offset by lower spending.
  • Income from Government Business Enterprises is $87 million lower, with lower net incomes from the Liquor Control Board of Ontario, Ontario Power Generation Inc. and Hydro One Inc. only partially offset by higher net income from the Ontario Lottery and Gaming Corporation.
  • The variances noted above are offset by a largely one-time positive variance of $1,077 million in Other Non-Tax Revenue related to Chrysler's repayment of an Ontario loan, and higher-than-expected recoveries of prior-year expenditures from government ministries.
TABLE 2.3 Summary of Revenue Changes Since 2011 Budget1
($ Millions)
    Interim 2011–12
Taxation Revenue    
   Personal Income Tax (1393)  
   Sales Tax 751  
   Ontario Health Premium (183)  
   Land Transfer Tax 163  
   Corporations Tax (156)  
   All Other Taxes 180  
    (638)
Government of Canada    
   Equalization Payments (150)  
   All Other Government of Canada (222)  
    (372)
Income from Government Business Enterprises    
   Ontario Power Generation Inc./Hydro One Inc. (107)  
   Ontario Lottery and Gaming Corporation 65  
   Liquor Control Board of Ontario (45)  
    (87)
Other Non-Tax Revenue    
   Chrysler Loan Repayment 468  
   All Other Non-Tax Revenue 609  
    1,077
Total Revenue Changes Since 2011 Budget   (20)

1 Revenue and expense have been restated to reflect a fiscally neutral accounting change related to the reclassification of government agencies and organizations as described in the 2011 Ontario Economic Outlook and Fiscal Review. Starting in this Budget, revenue and expense have been restated to reflect a fiscally neutral reclassification of a number of tax expenditures as described in Section F of this chapter. For purposes of comparison, 2011 Budget amounts were restated on the same basis.

Revenue Changes

Highlights of key 2011–12 revenue changes from the 2011 Budget forecast are as follows:

  • Personal Income Tax (PIT) revenues are estimated to be $1,393 million lower, mainly due to weaker revenues from processing 2010 tax returns. Since the 2011 Budget, processing of 2010 tax returns has lowered the base upon which growth is applied in forecasting PIT revenues for 2011–12. Lower revenues than estimated at the time of the 2010–11 Public Accounts also resulted in a one-time decrease of $566 million in 2011–12 as variances from past Public Accounts are reflected in the current year. Weaker-than-expected wages and salaries growth in 2011 also contributed to weaker 2011–12 results.
  • Sales Tax revenues are projected to be $751 million higher, largely reflecting higher federal estimates of Ontario's Harmonized Sales Tax entitlements for 2010 and 2011 that were received in December 2011.
  • Ontario Health Premium revenues are $183 million below the 2011 Budget Plan, primarily reflecting weaker revenues from processing 2010 tax returns and weaker personal income growth.
  • Land Transfer Tax (LTT) revenues are estimated to be $163 million above the 2011 Budget Plan due to a stronger-than-expected housing market.
  • Corporations Tax (CT) revenues are estimated to be $156 million lower mainly due to higher refunds related to past years and weaker growth in corporate profits, which are partially offset by higher revenues resulting from 2010 tax return processing.
  • All Other Taxes revenues combined are estimated to be $180 million higher on a net basis, largely reflecting higher revenues from Mining Tax and the Preferred Share Dividend Tax.
  • Government of Canada transfers under the Equalization program are $150 million lower, due to the federal government calculation error as previously reported in the First Quarter Ontario Finances.
  • All Other Government of Canada transfers are $222 million lower, mainly due to lower transfers for infrastructure spending and consolidated agencies, which are largely offset by lower spending.
  • The combined net income of Ontario Power Generation Inc. (OPG) and Hydro One Inc. is estimated to be $107 million below the 2011 Budget forecast, largely due to the Ontario Energy Board's (OEB) March 2011 decision for OPG's rate application for 2011 and 2012, lower market prices for OPG's unregulated hydro and lower volumes, and the impact of unfavourable capital markets on OPG's nuclear funds.
  • Net income from the Ontario Lottery and Gaming Corporation is projected to be $65 million higher, largely due to the agency working to decrease operating costs across all lines of business and higher revenues.
  • Net income from the Liquor Control Board of Ontario is $45 million lower than projected, largely due to a one-time accounting adjustment.
  • All Other Non-Tax Revenue combined is $1,077 million higher, largely reflecting:
    • a $468 million gain from Chrysler's repayment of an Ontario loan as previously announced in the First Quarter Ontario Finances; and
    • higher recoveries of prior-year expenditures from government ministries.

In-Year Expense Performance

Total expense in 2011–12 is currently projected to be $353 million lower than the 2011 Budget forecast as a result of strong expenditure management and lower interest on debt expense.

Program expense in 2011–12 is projected to be $161 million lower compared with the 2011 Budget forecast. The decrease is mainly due to lower-than-projected expense in the health, postsecondary and training, and children's and social services sectors.

Growth in program spending between 2010–11 and 2011–12 is projected to be only 2.5 per cent — the second-lowest rate of growth in the last 10 years. This outcome was supported by the government's expenditure management strategy to fund any new initiatives through offsetting savings from other areas of spending.

Interest on debt expense is $193 million lower than projected in the 2011 Budget, primarily reflecting the impact of lower-than-forecast interest rates and the lower deficits for 2010–11 and 2011–12.

TABLE 2.4 Summary of Expense Changes Since 2011 Budget 1
($ Millions)
  Interim
2011-12
Program Expense Changes2  
   Health Sector (261.3)
   Education Sector3 126.3
   Postsecondary and Training Sector (52.8)
   Children's and Social Services Sector (135.5)
   Justice Sector 68.1
   Other Programs 94.6
Total Program Expense Changes (160.6)
Interest on Debt (192.9)
Total Expense Changes Since 2011 Budget (353.5)

1Revenue and expense have been restated to reflect a fiscally neutral accounting change related to the reclassification of government agencies and organizations as described in the 2011 Ontario Economic Outlook and Fiscal Review. Starting in this Budget, revenue and expense have been restated to reflect a fiscally neutral reclassification of a number of tax expenditures as described in Section F of this chapter. For purposes of comparison, 2011 Budget amounts were restated on the same basis.
2Excludes fiscally neutral transfers between ministries.
3Excludes Teachers' Pension Plan.

Expense Changes

Highlights of key expense changes since the 2011 Budget include the following:

  • Health sector expense is projected to decrease by $261 million, primarily due to savings in the Ontario Drug Program, as well as lower-than-expected utilization and underspending in various ministry programs such as clinical education.
  • Education sector expense is projected to increase by $126 million, primarily due to a one-time adjustment related to last year's capital grants. That adjustment is fully offset by an increase in revenue recovery from the school board sector. Excluding this adjustment, education sector expense would have decreased by $121 million, primarily due to lower-than-expected school board expense.
  • Postsecondary and training sector spending is projected to decrease by $53 million, mainly due to underspending in Employment Ontario programs resulting from lower client uptake, and consolidated savings primarily from a realignment of capital funding to match construction expenditures at colleges and universities.  
  • Children's and social services sector expense is projected to decrease by $136 million, primarily due to lower-than-projected social assistance expense.
  • Justice sector expense is expected to increase by $68 million primarily as a result of legal settlements under the Proceedings Against the Crown Act and additional funding for operational pressures.
  • Other programs expense is projected to increase by $95 million, mainly due to the impact of providing additional resources for emergency forest firefighting services. The contingency funds have been maintained at $250 million in recognition of expense changes that could materialize as the 2011–12 Public Accounts are finalized.
  • Interest on debt expense for 2011–12 is projected to be $193 million lower than forecast in the 2011 Budget primarily due to the impact of lower-than-forecast interest rates and the lower deficits for 2010–11 and 2011–12.

Budget de l’Ontario 2012 : Chapitre II : Perspectives économiques et plan financier de l’Ontario
Section B : Résultats financiers provisoires de 2011-2012

Le budget de 2011 prévoyait un déficit de 16,3 milliards de dollars en 2011-2012. Le déficit prévu cet exercice est maintenant de 15,3 milliards de dollars, soit 1,0 milliard de dollars de moins que selon les prévisions du budget de 2011. Cette amélioration de plus de 38 % comparativement au déficit de 24,7 milliards de dollars pour 2009-2010 qui avait été prévu à l'automne 2009 est tributaire de l'engagement du gouvernement de gérer la croissance des dépenses. Le gouvernement continue de miser sur le fait qu'il a réussi à dépasser ses objectifs financiers par le passé, notamment au cours des trois derniers exercices.

On prévoit que les charges de programmes et les dépenses totales seront toutes deux inférieures aux prévisions du budget de 2011. De plus, on prévoit que les charges de programmes augmenteront de seulement 2,5 % par rapport aux résultats de 2010-2011. Le taux de croissance annuelle de ces dépenses n'a été plus faible qu'une fois en 10 ans.

TABLEAU 2.2 Résultats financiers en cours d'exercice 2011-2012
(en millions de dollars)
  Plan budgétaire1 Chiffres prov. Variation en cours
d'exercice
Revenus 109 298 109 277 (20)
Charges      
  Programmes 114 625 114 463 (160)
  Intérêt sur la dette 10 290 10 097 (193)
Total des charges 124 913 124 560 (353)
Réserve 700 (700)
Excédent/(Déficit) (16 316) (15 283) 1 033

1 Les revenus et les charges ont été redressés pour tenir compte d'une modification comptable neutre sur le plan financier découlant de la reclassification d'organismes du gouvernement qui est décrite dans le document Perspectives économiques et revue financière de l'Ontario de 2011. À partir du budget de 2012, les revenus et les charges seront redressés pour tenir compte de la reclassification, neutre sur le plan financier, d'un certain nombre de dépenses fiscales, conformément à la section F du présent chapitre. À des fins de comparaison, les chiffres du budget de 2011 ont été redressés de la même manière.

On prévoit que les revenus de 2011-2012 seront inférieurs de 20 millions de dollars aux prévisions du plan budgétaire. Les revenus fiscaux moins élevés en raison du ralentissement de la croissance économique et les transferts fédéraux inférieurs ont été largement contrebalancés par des revenus non fiscaux ponctuels supérieurs.

On prévoit que les charges de programmes pour 2011-2012 seront 161 millions de dollars moins élevées que selon le plan budgétaire, ce qui témoigne de l'engagement du gouvernement de gérer la croissance des dépenses. Comme les charges liées à l'intérêt sur la dette sont inférieures aux prévisions, les charges totales pour 2011-2012 devraient diminuer de 353 millions de dollars comparativement aux prévisions du budget de 2011. Il s'agirait de la troisième année consécutive où les charges totales seraient inférieures à celles prévues dans le plan budgétaire.

Dans le document Perspectives économiques et revue financière de l'Ontario de 2011, le gouvernement a réduit la réserve de 500 millions de dollars afin de contrebalancer l'effet prévu du ralentissement de la croissance économique sur le rendement financier de la province. Dans les perspectives provisoires de 2011-2012, on utilise les 200 millions de dollars qui restent de la réserve pour améliorer le rendement financier de la province et réduire le déficit de 2011-2012.

Les résultats provisoires de 2011-2012 sont fondés sur les renseignements disponibles au début de mars 2012. Puisqu'elles sont provisoires, ces estimations pourraient changer lorsque les revenus et les charges réels de la province seront déterminés de façon définitive dans les Comptes publics de 2011-2012 qui seront publiés cet été.

Revenus au cours de l'exercice

Le total des revenus en 2011-2012 est estimé à 109 277 millions de dollars. Cette somme est inférieure de 20 millions de dollars au montant prévu dans le budget de 2011. Cette diminution découle d'écarts compensatoires parmi les sources de revenus.

  • Les revenus fiscaux sont inférieurs de 638 millions de dollars, ce qui est largement dû au ralentissement de la croissance économique.
  • Les transferts du gouvernement du Canada sont inférieurs de 372 millions de dollars, en raison notamment d'une erreur d'estimation du gouvernement fédéral qui a mené à une révision à la baisse des paiements de péréquation de l'Ontario. De plus, les transferts moins élevés pour l'infrastructure et les organismes consolidés ont été largement compensés par des dépenses plus faibles.
  • Les revenus des entreprises publiques sont inférieurs de 87 millions de dollars, les revenus nets moins élevés de la Régie des alcools de l'Ontario, d'Ontario Power Generation Inc. et de Hydro One Inc. n'étant compensés qu'en partie par les revenus nets supérieurs de la Société des loteries et des jeux de l'Ontario.
  • Les écarts qui précèdent sont compensés par un écart positif, en grande partie ponctuel, de 1 077 millions de dollars au poste des autres revenus non fiscaux lié au remboursement par Chrysler d'un prêt du gouvernement de l'Ontario et au recouvrement plus élevé que prévu des dépenses de ministères de l'exercice précédent.
TABLEAU 2.3 Sommaire des variations des revenus depuis la publication du budget de 20111
(en millions de dollars)
    Chiffres
prov. pour
2011-2012
Revenus fiscaux    
Impôt sur le revenu des particuliers (1 393)  
Taxe de vente 751  
Contribution-santé de l'Ontario (183)  
Droits de cession immobilière 163  
Impôt des sociétés (156)  
Tous les autres impôts et taxes 180  
    (638)
Gouvernement du Canada    
Paiements au titre de la péréquation (150)  
Tous les autres - Gouvernement du Canada (222)  
    (372)
Revenus tirés des entreprises publiques    
Ontario Power Generation Inc. et Hydro One Inc. (107)  
Sociétés des loteries et des jeux de l'Ontario 65  
Régie des alcools de l'Ontario (45)  
    (87)
Autres revenus non fiscaux    
Remboursement du prêt consenti à Chrysler 468  
Tous les autres revenus non fiscaux 609  
    1 077
Total des variations des revenus depuis la publication du budget de 2011   (20)

1Les revenus et les charges ont été redressés pour tenir compte d’une modification comptable neutre sur le plan financier découlant de la reclassification d’organismes du gouvernement qui est décrite dans le document Perspectives économiques et revue financière de l’Ontario de 2011. À partir du budget de 2012, les revenus et les charges seront redressés pour tenir compte de la reclassification, neutre sur le plan financier, d’un certain nombre de dépenses fiscales, conformément à la section F du présent chapitre. À des fins de comparaison, les chiffres du budget de 2011 ont été redressés de la même manière.

Variations des revenus

Voici les points saillants des variations des revenus en 2011-2012 par rapport aux prévisions du budget de 2011 :

  • Les revenus tirés de l'impôt sur le revenu des particuliers (IRP) devraient être inférieurs de 1 393 millions de dollars en raison surtout des revenus moindres découlant du traitement des déclarations de revenus de 2010. Depuis la publication du budget de 2011, le traitement des déclarations de revenus de 2010 a entraîné une baisse de l'assiette à laquelle est appliquée la croissance aux fins des prévisions des revenus découlant de l'IRP pour 2011-2012. Les revenus inférieurs aux estimations figurant dans les Comptes publics de l'Ontario de 2010-2011 ont également entraîné une diminution ponctuelle de 566 millions de dollars en 2011-2012 étant donné que les écarts par rapport aux prévisions antérieures dans les Comptes publics figurent dans l'exercice en cours. Une hausse des traitements et salaires plus faible que prévu en 2011 a également contribué à affaiblir les résultats de 2011-2012.
  • On prévoit que les revenus de la taxe de vente seront de 751 millions de dollars supérieurs, ce qui est largement dû à des estimations plus élevées par le gouvernement fédéral de la part de la taxe de vente harmonisée revenant à l'Ontario pour 2010 et 2011 qui ont été reçues en décembre 2011.
  • Les revenus tirés de la Contribution-santé de l'Ontario sont inférieurs de 183 millions de dollars par rapport au plan budgétaire de 2011, principalement en raison de revenus moins élevés provenant du traitement des déclarations de revenus de 2010 et d'une croissance plus faible du revenu des particuliers.
  • On estime que les revenus tirés des droits de cession immobilière dépasseront de 163 millions de dollars les prévisions du plan budgétaire de 2011 en raison de la vigueur du marché de l'habitation dépassant les attentes.
  • On estime que les revenus tirés de l'impôt des sociétés seront inférieurs de 156 millions de dollars, principalement en raison des remboursements plus élevés des exercices précédents et d'une baisse des profits des entreprises qui sont partiellement annulés par l'augmentation des revenus découlant du traitement des déclarations de revenus de 2010.
  • Les revenus tirés de tous les autres impôts et taxes combinés devraient être supérieurs de 180 millions de dollars sur une base nette, ce qui est attribuable en grande partie à la hausse des revenus tirés de l'impôt sur l'exploitation minière et de l'impôt sur les dividendes privilégiés.
  • Les transferts du gouvernement du Canada au titre du Programme de péréquation sont inférieurs de 150 millions de dollars, ce qui est dû à une erreur de calcul du gouvernement fédéral déjà indiquée dans le bulletin Finances de l'Ontario – premier trimestre.
  • Tous les autres transferts du gouvernement du Canada sont inférieurs de 222 millions de dollars, ce qui est surtout attribuable aux transferts moins élevés pour les dépenses en infrastructure et les organismes consolidés, qui sont largement contrebalancés par des dépenses plus faibles.
  • Le revenu net combiné d'Ontario Power Generation Inc. (OPG) et d'Hydro One Inc. devrait être inférieur de 107 millions de dollars aux prévisions du budget de 2011, en raison surtout des effets de la décision de mars 2011 de la Commission de l'énergie de l'Ontario qui portait sur la requête tarifaire d'OPG pour 2011 et 2012, de prix du marché inférieurs pour l'électricité provenant de la production non réglementée d'OPG et de volumes plus faibles que prévu, ainsi que de l'impact défavorable sur les marchés financiers des fonds nucléaires d'OPG.
  • Le revenu net de la Société des loteries et des jeux de l'Ontario devrait être supérieur de 65 millions de dollars en raison surtout des efforts de l'organisme visant à diminuer les frais de fonctionnement dans tous les secteurs d'activité ainsi que des revenus plus élevés.
  • Le revenu net de la Régie des alcools de l'Ontario est inférieur de 45 millions de dollars par rapport aux prévisions, surtout en raison d'un redressement comptable ponctuel.
  • Tous les autres revenus non fiscaux combinés sont supérieurs de 1 077 millions de dollars, ce qui est surtout attribuable :
    • à un gain de 468 millions de dollars découlant du remboursement par Chrysler d'un prêt que la province lui avait consenti, tel qu'annoncé dans le document Finances de l'Ontario – premier trimestre;
    • à des recouvrements plus élevés que prévu des dépenses de l'exercice précédent auprès des ministères.

Charges au cours de l'exercice

On prévoit actuellement que les charges totales en 2011-2012 seront inférieures de 353 millions de dollars aux prévisions du budget de 2011 en raison d'une rigoureuse gestion des dépenses et des charges liées l'intérêt sur la dette moins élevées.

On prévoit qu'en 2011-2012, les charges de programmes seront inférieures de 161 millions de dollars aux prévisions du budget 2011. La baisse est principalement due aux charges inférieures aux projections dans les secteurs de la santé, de l'éducation postsecondaire et de la formation, ainsi que des services à l'enfance et des services sociaux.

On prévoit que la croissance des charges de programmes de 2010-2011 à 2011-2012 sera de 2,5 % seulement. Le taux de croissance n'a été plus faible qu'une fois au cours des 10 dernières années. Ce résultat découle de la stratégie de gestion des dépenses du gouvernement qui consiste à financer les nouvelles initiatives grâce à des économies réalisées dans d'autres secteurs de dépenses.

Les charges liées à l'intérêt sur la dette sont de 193 millions de dollars inférieures aux prévisions du budget de 2011, ce qui s'explique surtout par des taux d'intérêt plus bas et un déficit moindre que prévu pour 2010-2011 et 2011-2012.

TABLEAU 2.4 Sommaire des variations des charges depuis la publication du budget de l'Ontario de 2011 1
(en millions de dollars)
  Chiffres
prov. pour
2011-2012
Variations des charges de programmes2  
Secteur de la santé (261,3)
Secteur de l'éducation3 126,3
Secteur de l'éducation postsecondaire et de la formation (52,8)
Secteur des services à l'enfance et des services sociaux (135,5)
Secteur de la justice 68,1
Autres programmes 94,6
Total des variations des charges de programmes (160,6)
Intérêt sur la dette (192,9)
Total des variations des charges depuis la publication du budget de 2011 (353,5)

1Les revenus et les charges ont été redressés pour tenir compte d'une modification comptable neutre sur le plan financier découlant de la reclassification d'organismes du gouvernement qui est décrite dans le document Perspectives économiques et revue financière de l'Ontario de 2011. À partir du budget de 2012, les revenus et les charges seront redressés pour tenir compte de la reclassification, neutre sur le plan financier, d'un certain nombre de dépenses fiscales, conformément à la section F du présent chapitre. À des fins de comparaison, les chiffres du budget de 2011 ont été redressés de la même manière.
2Excluent les transferts neutres sur le plan financier entre les ministères.
3 Exclut le Régime de retraite des enseignantes et des enseignants de l'Ontario.

Variations des charges

Voici certains des points saillants des variations des charges par rapport aux prévisions du budget de 2011:

  • On prévoit que les charges du secteur de la santé diminueront de 261 millions de dollars, principalement en raison d'économies au sein du Programme de médicaments de l'Ontario, ainsi que de la sous-utilisation des fonds prévus pour différents programmes du ministère, comme la formation clinique, et d'un moins grand recours à ces programmes.
  • On prévoit que les dépenses du secteur de l'éducation augmenteront de 126 millions de dollars, principalement en raison d'un redressement ponctuel lié aux subventions d'immobilisations de l'exercice précédent. Ce redressement est entièrement compensé par une augmentation du recouvrement des revenus auprès du secteur des conseils scolaires. N'eut été de ce redressement, les charges du secteur de l'éducation auraient diminué de 121 millions de dollars en raison surtout des charges des conseils scolaires qui ont été plus faibles que prévu.
  • On prévoit que les dépenses du secteur de l'éducation postsecondaire et de la formation diminueront de 53 millions de dollars, principalement en raison de la sous-utilisation des fonds pour les programmes d'Emploi Ontario qui a découlé d'une baisse des inscriptions ainsi que d'économies consolidées provenant en grande partie de la réaffectation du financement des immobilisations en fonction des dépenses de construction dans les collèges et les universités.
  • On prévoit que les dépenses du secteur des services à l'enfance et des services sociaux diminueront de 136 millions de dollars, principalement de charges d'aide sociale moins élevées que prévu.
  • On prévoit que les charges dans le secteur de la justice augmenteront de 68 millions de dollars principalement en raison de règlements judiciaires aux termes de la Loi sur les instances introduites contre la Couronne et d'un financement supplémentaire pour alléger les pressions opérationnelles.
  • On prévoit que les charges des autres programmes augmenteront de 95 millions de dollars, principalement en raison de l'impact de l'affectation de ressources supplémentaires aux services d'intervention d'urgence contre les incendies de forêt. Les fonds de prévoyance ont été maintenus à 250 millions de dollars, en raison des variations dans les charges qui pourraient se concrétiser lorsque les Comptes publics de 2011-2012 seront arrêtés.
  • On prévoit que les charges d'intérêt sur la dette en 2011-2012 seront inférieures de 193 millions de dollars aux prévisions du budget de 2011, principalement en raison de l'incidence des taux d'intérêt inférieurs aux prévisions ainsi que des déficits moins élevés en 2010-2011 et en 2011 2012.