2012 Ontario Budget: Foreword


The McGuinty government is taking strong action for a stronger Ontario.

Right now, the single most important step the Ontario government can take to grow the economy is to balance the budget.

By maintaining a low rate of growth in spending and building on a record of overachieving the deficit targets laid out in the 2010 and 2011 Budgets, the McGuinty government will balance the budget by 2017–18. A balanced budget will make the economy stronger and better able to create jobs while keeping schools and hospitals strong.

Keeping Schools and Hospitals Strong

Between 2003 and 2008, Ontarians worked together to improve key public services, especially education and health care, and rebuilt the province's infrastructure, which previous governments had allowed to deteriorate. These efforts were supported by stable economic growth. During this period, the Province eliminated the hidden deficit left by the previous government and balanced three consecutive budgets between 2005 and 2007.

In September 2008, the global economy entered into a sharp, sudden recession that created new challenges for Ontarians. The achievements Ontarians had accomplished together to improve key public services helped protect families from some of the effects of the global recession. In addition, the government, like other governments in Canada and around the world, injected substantial stimulus into the economy. The McGuinty government helped create jobs in the clean energy economy and preserve jobs in auto and other key manufacturing sectors, while protecting the gains made in education and health care.

The global economy is recovering, and Ontario's economy is growing stronger. Just as Ontario took action to help families through the recession, the Province must now take strong action to grow the economy and continue to support needed job creation. The McGuinty government's five-year plan will result in a balanced budget by 2017–18. By choosing strong action today, Ontario will avoid a future of even larger deficits and painful choices imposed by forces outside its control. The Province spends more money on interest each year than on colleges and universities. As interest rates increase, so will those payments, taking precious resources away from education and health care.

The McGuinty government is maintaining its strong commitment to education and health care. Ontario's edge in the global economy is its highly skilled and educated workforce. According to McKinsey and Company, Ontario's schools are now the best in the English-speaking world. The actions outlined in the 2012 Budget are necessary to balance the budget and protect the gains Ontarians have made. The McGuinty government's plan to build the best-educated workforce includes:

  • fully implementing full-day kindergarten by 2014 to give the youngest learners the best start;
  • keeping a cap on class sizes in the early grades;
  • maintaining the 30% Off Ontario Tuition grant for families; and
  • integrating employment and training programs to make them more responsive to today's job market.

Reforms to health care are enhancing community-based care and will help keep growth in spending to an average of 2.1 per cent annually over the next three years. The government will also income-test seniors who receive prescription medicine through the Ontario Drug Benefit so that only the five per cent of seniors with the highest incomes pay more for their prescription medicine.

Protecting Results and Public Services

Compensation costs account for the majority of program spending. The McGuinty government respects and supports the collective bargaining process and remains committed to good-faith negotiation and consultation.

The government is facilitating negotiations and discussions with school boards and unions. Through this process, and through direct negotiations with other public servants, the government must achieve agreements that support the shared objectives of a balanced budget and protect the important gains in education and health care. For teachers, the proposed labour framework includes a two-year wage freeze, no incremental increases on the salary grid for two years, and an end to a sick-leave plan that allows some to get a partial payment for up to 200 unused sick days upon retirement. The government will pursue a very similar mandate with its other public-sector partners. It has begun discussions with doctors in connection with the fee schedule for insured services and other issues. The goal is to make health care even more centred on patients and to ensure that we get even better value for money for health care dollars, while maintaining total physician compensation at current levels.

Where collective agreements cannot be negotiated that are consistent with the fiscal plan, the shared objective of protecting education and health care, and the plan to balance the budget, the government will consider all options to meet its fiscal goals, including intervention through legislation or other means.

Ontario needs interest arbitration that is transparent, accountable and efficient. The McGuinty government will propose legislation that would require written submissions by both parties in arbitration and would require written rationales by the arbitrator when requested by either party. The government will also seek input from employers with automatic access to arbitration about which additional tools may be required to deliver public services within their funding envelopes.

Public-sector pensions are one of the fastest-growing expenses in Ontario's budget. The government is taking action to make public-sector pensions more affordable for taxpayers and sustainable for pension plan members by proposing to limit additional contributions while asking employees to share pension costs equally with their employers. The McGuinty government is asking public-sector workers to put their pensions on a sustainable footing by reducing future benefits before asking for additional contributions from taxpayers. These changes are required to put the plans on a sustainable path for future retirees — and they would only affect future benefits, not existing retirees or pension credits already earned.

Balancing the Budget

The 2012 Budget includes strong action to balance the budget and to maintain gains made in education and health care. For every dollar in new revenues, the plan includes four dollars of expense measures.

Over three years, the plan, if passed, would include:

  • $17.7 billion of savings and actions to contain cost increases; and $4.4 billion of revenue-raising measures.

The plan includes many elements that, if passed, would help balance the budget:

  • extending the pay freeze for MPPs by a further two years — for a total of five years;
  • delaying and cancelling infrastructure projects to reduce borrowing by over $3 billion;
  • capping the Ontario Clean Energy Benefit at 3,000 kWh per month, which allows virtually all families to continue receiving the 10 per cent discount on electricity and creates over $500 million in savings; and
  • freezing planned tax reductions to Corporate Income Tax and Business Education Tax.

Transforming the Delivery of Public Services

The McGuinty government is focusing more than ever on the services that are most important to Ontario families — and that means education and health care receive moderate increases in funding, while lesser priorities get less funding. These thoughtful choices will ensure that Ontario families are receiving the best possible service and the highest value for tax dollars.

The 2012 Budget presents a strong plan to move forward and transform public services — to change the way they are delivered to give Ontario families better value for money and better results. The plan rejects tax increases. It does not include across-the-board cuts to public services, which hurt families and do not yield long-term success. Some examples announced in this Budget include:

  • streamlining business support programs to create the Jobs and Prosperity Fund. This move will produce administrative savings of at least 25 per cent and overall savings of $250 million in 2014–15;
  • using office space more efficiently to reduce the government's real estate footprint by about one million square feet;
  • divesting or closing down some parts of the Ontario Northland Transportation Commission, avoiding costs of approximately $250 million over three years; and
  • pursuing a public–private partnership for ServiceOntario to improve service while lowering costs.

Beating Fiscal Targets

Ontario's economy is growing stronger. In 2011, over 121,000 net new jobs were created in Ontario — virtually all of them full-time. The economy is projected to grow at 1.7 per cent in 2012, 2.2 per cent in 2013 and 2.4 per cent in 2014.

Ontario's deficit reduction plan is ahead of schedule. For the third year in a row, deficit forecasts have been beaten. The government's five-year plan keeps Ontario on track to balance the budget by 2017–18.

The deficit for 2011–12 is now projected to be $15.3 billion, which is a $1 billion improvement from the deficit forecast in the 2011 Budget. This forecast is based on year-over-year program expense growth of 2.5 per cent. For 2012–13, the deficit is projected to be $15.2 billion, consistent with the plan to balance the budget laid out in the 2011 Budget.

The 2012 Budget is the next step in the McGuinty government's plan to balance the budget. It presents strong action for Ontario. It is fair, reasonable and balanced. Deficit elimination is not an end in itself — it is a means to an end: ensuring that Ontario families continue to receive the best value through the best education and health care in the world and a strong economy that creates jobs.

: Budget de l’Ontario 2012 : Avant-propos

Avant-propos

Le gouvernement McGuinty prend des mesures décisives afin de renforcer l’Ontario.

À l’heure actuelle, la mesure la plus importante que peut prendre le gouvernement de l’Ontario afin de faire croître l’économie consiste à équilibrer le budget.

En maintenant un faible taux de croissance des dépenses et en se fondant sur ses antécédents de dépassement des objectifs de lutte contre le déficit établis dans les budgets de 2010 et de 2011, le gouvernement McGuinty parviendra à l’équilibre budgétaire d’ici 2017-2018. Un budget équilibré renforcera l’économie et stimulera la création d’emplois tout en préservant la vigueur des écoles et des hôpitaux.

Préserver la vigueur des écoles et des hÔpitaux

De 2003 à 2008, les Ontariennes et Ontariens ont travaillé de concert afin d’améliorer les principaux services publics, particulièrement l’éducation et les soins de santé, et de reconstruire l’infrastructure de la province, que les gouvernements précédents avaient laissée se détériorer. Ces efforts ont été appuyés par une croissance économique stable. Durant cette période, la province a éliminé le déficit caché laissé par le gouvernement précédent et a présenté trois budgets équilibrés consécutifs de 2005 à 2007.

En septembre 2008, une récession prononcée a soudainement frappé l’économie mondiale, créant de nouveaux défis pour les Ontariennes et Ontariens. Leurs réalisations pour améliorer ensemble les services publics clés ont aidé à protéger les familles de certains des effets de la récession mondiale. À l’instar de tous les autres gouvernements au Canada et dans le monde, le gouvernement ontarien a de plus injecté des fonds de stimulation considérables dans l’économie. Le gouvernement McGuinty a aidé à créer des emplois dans le secteur de l’énergie propre et à préserver des emplois dans le secteur de l’automobile ainsi que dans les autres principaux secteurs manufacturiers, tout en protégeant les gains réalisés dans les domaines de l’éducation et des soins de santé.

L’économie mondiale se rétablit et celle de l’Ontario se renforce. Tout comme l’Ontario a pris des mesures afin de protéger les familles durant la récession, la province doit maintenant faire de même pour faire croître l’économie et continuer de stimuler la création d’emplois, qui demeure nécessaire. Le plan quinquennal du gouvernement McGuinty fera en sorte que le budget sera équilibré d’ici 2017-2018. En choisissant de prendre des mesures aujourd’hui, l’Ontario évitera un futur marqué par des déficits encore plus considérables et des choix douloureux imposés par des forces échappant à son contrôle. Chaque année, la province dépense davantage en intérêts que pour les collèges et universités. Si les taux d’intérêt augmentent, ces paiements augmenteront aussi, détournant ainsi des ressources précieuses qui auraient pu être affectées à l’éducation et aux soins de santé.

Le gouvernement McGuinty maintient son engagement résolu à l’égard de l’éducation et des soins de santé. L’avantage de l’Ontario dans l’économie mondiale réside dans sa main-d’oeuvre très compétente et éduquée. Selon McKinsey and Company, les écoles de l’Ontario sont aujourd’hui les meilleures du monde anglo-saxon. Les mesures prévues dans le budget de 2012 sont nécessaires afin d’équilibrer le budget et de protéger les gains que les Ontariennes et Ontariens ont réalisés. Le plan du gouvernement McGuinty de créer la main-d’oeuvre la mieux éduquée qui soit comporte les éléments suivants :

  • entièrement mettre en oeuvre la maternelle et le jardin d’enfants à temps plein d’ici 2014 afin que les élèves les plus jeunes prennent le meilleur départ qui soit;
  • maintenir le plafond de l’effectif des classes au primaire;
  • poursuivre la réduction de 30 % des frais de scolarité en Ontario pour les familles;
  • intégrer les programmes d’emploi et de formation pour les adapter plus étroitement au marché du travail d’aujourd’hui.

Les réformes de la santé améliorent les soins communautaires et contribueront à maintenir à 2,1 % la croissance moyenne annuelle des dépenses au cours des trois prochaines années. En outre, le gouvernement assujettira les personnes âgées qui reçoivent des médicaments sur ordonnance par l’entremise du Programme de médicaments de l’Ontario à une évaluation de leur revenu afin que seulement le groupe de 5 % des personnes âgées qui ont le revenu le plus élevé paient davantage pour leurs médicaments sur ordonnance.

ProtÉger les rÉsultats et les services publics

Les coûts de rémunération représentent la majorité des dépenses de programmes. Le gouvernement McGuinty respecte et appuie le processus de négociation collective et maintient son engagement à l’égard de la négociation de bonne foi et de la consultation.

Le gouvernement favorise les négociations et les discussions avec les enseignants et les syndicats. Dans le cadre de ce processus, ainsi que par des négociations directes avec d’autres fonctionnaires, le gouvernement doit conclure des ententes qui appuient les objectifs communs d’équilibrer le budget et de protéger les importants gains en éducation et en santé. Pour les enseignants, l’entente-cadre proposée comporte un gel salarial de deux ans, ne prévoit aucune augmentation progressive sur l’échelle salariale pendant deux ans et inclut l’annulation du régime lié à la réserve de congés de maladie qui permettait à certains d’obtenir un paiement partiel représentant jusqu’à 200 journées de congé de maladie inutilisées au moment de leur retraite. Le gouvernement s’est donné un mandat semblable avec ses autres partenaires du secteur public. Il a entrepris des discussions avec les médecins relativement au barème des services assurés et à d’autres questions. Le but consiste à centrer davantage les soins de santé sur les patients et à s’assurer que nous optimisons encore davantage chaque dollar investi en santé, tout en maintenant la rémunération totale des médecins aux niveaux actuels.

Lorsqu’il sera impossible de négocier des conventions collectives respectant le plan financier et l’objectif commun de protéger l’éducation et les soins de santé ainsi que le plan d’équilibrer le budget, le gouvernement envisagera toutes les options possibles pour atteindre ses objectifs financiers, notamment par la voie législative ou d’autres moyens.

L’Ontario nécessite des services d’arbitrage des différends qui sont transparents, responsables et efficaces. Le gouvernement McGuinty proposera un projet de loi qui exigerait que les deux parties au processus d’arbitrage présentent des observations écrites et que l’arbitre motive sa décision par écrit sur demande d’une des deux parties. Le gouvernement sollicitera également les commentaires des employeurs qui jouissent d’un accès automatique à l’arbitrage des différends, l’objet duquel pourrait nécessiter des outils supplémentaires afin d’assurer la prestation des services dans le cadre de leur enveloppe de financement.

Les régimes de retraite du secteur public sont l’une des dépenses qui croissent le plus rapidement dans le budget de l’Ontario. Le gouvernement prend des mesures pour rendre les régimes de retraite du secteur public plus abordables pour les contribuables et plus viables pour les participants aux régimes en proposant des limites aux cotisations supplémentaires, tout en demandant aux employés de partager le coût des pensions à parts égales avec leurs employeurs. Le gouvernement McGuinty demande aux travailleurs du secteur public d’assurer la viabilité de leurs régimes de retraite en réduisant les prestations futures avant de demander que les contribuables fassent des cotisations supplémentaires. Ces changements sont nécessaires afin de mettre les régimes sur le chemin de la viabilité pour les futurs retraités, et ils auraient uniquement un effet sur les prestations futures et non sur les retraités actuels ou les crédits de retraite déjà acquis.

Équilibrer le budget

Le budget de 2012 comporte des mesures vigoureuses pour viser l’équilibre et maintenir les gains réalisés en éducation et dans les soins de santé. Pour chaque dollar en nouveaux revenus, le plan comporte quatre dollars de mesures touchant les dépenses.

S’il est adopté, le plan sur trois ans comportera :

  • des économies de 17,7 milliards de dollars et des mesures visant à maîtriser les hausses de coûts; des mesures d’augmentation des revenus de 4,4 milliards de dollars.

Le plan comporte de nombreux éléments qui, s’ils sont adoptés, contribueront à équilibrer le budget :

  • prolonger le gel salarial des députés de l’Ontario de deux années supplémentaires, ce qui donne cinq ans de gel au total;
  • retarder et annuler des projets d’infrastructure afin de réduire les coûts d’emprunt de plus de 3 milliards de dollars;
  • plafonner la Prestation ontarienne pour l’énergie propre à 3 000 kWh par mois, ce qui permet à pratiquement toutes les familles de continuer à recevoir le rabais de 10 % sur l’électricité et dégage des économies de plus de 500 millions de dollars;
  • geler les réductions prévues pour les entreprises relativement à l’impôt sur le revenu des sociétés et l’impôt scolaire applicable aux entreprises.

Transformer la prestation des services publics

Plus que jamais, le gouvernement McGuinty axe ses efforts sur les services qui comptent le plus pour les familles de l’Ontario. Cela signifie que l’éducation et les soins de santé reçoivent de modestes augmentations de financement, tandis que les priorités moins importantes reçoivent un financement moindre. Ces choix réfléchis feront en sorte que les familles de l’Ontario reçoivent les meilleurs services possible et la valeur la plus élevée qui soit pour chaque dollar confié par les contribuables.

Le budget de 2012 présente un plan vigoureux pour progresser et transformer les services publics, pour changer leur mode de prestation afin de donner aux familles de l’Ontario plus de valeur pour leur argent et de meilleurs résultats. Le plan rejette les hausses d’impôts. Il ne comporte pas de compressions arbitraires générales des services publics, lesquelles font du tort aux familles et ne favorisent pas de réussite à long terme. Voici quelques exemples des mesures annoncées dans le budget de 2012 :

  • rationaliser les programmes de soutien des entreprises afin de créer le Fonds pour l’emploi et la prospérité. Cette mesure produira des économies administratives d’au moins 25 % et des économies globales de 250 millions de dollars en 2014-2015;
  • utiliser les locaux plus efficacement afin de réduire l’empreinte immobilière du gouvernement d’environ un million de pieds carrés;
  • vendre ou fermer certaines parties de la Commission de transport Ontario Northland, ce qui évitera des coûts d’environ 250 millions de dollars sur trois ans;
  • instaurer des partenariats public-privé pour ServiceOntario afin d’améliorer les services tout en réduisant les coûts.

DÉpasser les objectifs financiers

L’économie de l’Ontario reprend de la vigueur. En 2011, plus de 121 000 nouveaux emplois nets ont été créés en Ontario, presque tous à temps plein. On prévoit que l’économie croîtra de 1,7 % en 2012, de 2,2 % en 2013 et de 2,4 % en 2014.

L’exécution du plan de réduction du déficit de l’Ontario devance les échéances prévues. Pour la troisième année de suite, les prévisions de déficit ont été surpassées. Le plan quinquennal du gouvernement garde la province sur la voie menant à l’équilibre budgétaire d’ici 2017-2018.

On prévoit que le déficit de 2011-2012 s’établira à 15,3 milliards de dollars, soit une amélioration de un milliard de dollars par rapport aux prévisions du budget de 2011. Cette prévision est fondée sur une croissance des charges de programmes de 2,5 % d’une année à l’autre. Pour 2012-2013, on prévoit que le déficit sera de 15,2 milliards de dollars, conformément au plan d’équilibre budgétaire présenté dans le budget de 2011.

Le budget de 2012 est la prochaine étape du plan du gouvernement McGuinty en vue d’équilibrer le budget. Il présente des mesures décisives pour l’Ontario. Il est équitable, raisonnable et équilibré. L’élimination du déficit n’est pas une fin en soi, c’est plutôt le moyen d’atteindre un but, c’est-à-dire que les familles de l’Ontario continuent de recevoir la meilleure valeur qui soit grâce à la meilleure éducation et aux meilleurs soins de santé au monde et que notre économie soit vigoureuse et crée des emplois.