May 2, 2013

Ontario is a province with tremendous diversity and a strong economic foundation. In the face of global economic challenges, it continues to outperform many parts of the world.

As the province moves forward through a sensitive economic recovery, it is taking a balanced approach to eliminate the deficit and make smart investments for long-term economic growth. Eliminating the deficit strengthens the economy by helping to protect public services, like schools and hospitals, which matter to people. These investments will help Ontario seize opportunities to compete in the global economy and create jobs here at home.

While Ontario faces economic challenges such as a high dollar, the province’s economic fundamentals are solid and its industries are well-positioned to take advantage of growing opportunities in the global economy.

Acknowledging these challenges and working with business, labour and other key partners to deal with them head-on will position Ontario for stronger growth in the future.

Economic growth and job creation are driven by business and entrepreneurs making investments. The government’s efforts are best focused on creating a favourable economic environment.

Working with key partners, the government is laying out a six-part economic renewal plan that will help Ontario’s economy seize new opportunities for growth and job creation:

  • competitive business climate — supporting a competitive tax system and effective regulation promotes new business investment for job creation and economic growth;
  • modern infrastructure — investing in transit, roads, schools and hospitals is a key foundation for a productive economy;
  • highly skilled workforce — investing in skills and education, as well as youth employment, ensures the people of this province can work and prosper;
  • promoting entrepreneurship and innovation — strengthening Ontario’s ability to transform ideas into innovative goods and services for the global economy;
  • going global — working with business to expand market access for goods and services beyond Ontario’s borders to other provinces, the United States and emerging economies; and
  • vibrant and strong communities — helping all communities and regional economies benefit from opportunities for job creation and economic growth.

The single most important thing the government can do to secure Ontario’s prosperity is to eliminate the deficit. The deficit for 2012-13 is now estimated to be $9.8 billion — a $5 billion improvement compared with the 2012 Budget forecast.

The fiscal year that just ended marks the fourth year in a row that Ontario has reported a lower deficit than forecast — the only government in Canada to achieve this level of success. It also marks the second year in a row where the rate of growth in program spending is projected to be less than one per cent. The deficit projection for 2013-14 is $11.7 billion, an improvement of more than $1 billion from the projection in last year’s Budget. 

Beyond 2013-14, the government is on track to meet the steadily declining deficit targets outlined in the 2012 Budget and to return to balanced budgets beginning in 2017-18.

Ontario's Plan to Eliminate the Deficit

The Ontario government is committed to eliminating the deficit by 2017-18 in a way that is both fiscally responsible and fair, while strengthening the economy and building a more prosperous and fair Ontario. As part of the province’s plan to eliminate the deficit by 2017-18, the government will continue its consultations with the public after this Budget. Engaging the people of Ontario on the future of their public services requires ongoing dialogue. The government will announce further details later this spring.

2012-13 Interim Outlook

The deficit for 2012-13 is now projected to be $9.8 billion — a $5.0 billion improvement compared with the 2012 Budget forecast. In addition to beating the deficit target for 2012-13, the province is projecting an improvement of over $1.0 billion from the $12.8 billion deficit projected in the 2012 Budget for 2013-14. Achieving this forecast would represent the fifth year in a row the province has exceeded its fiscal targets. Beyond 2013-14, the government is on track to meet the steadily declining deficit targets outlined in the 2012 Budget and achieve a $0.5 billion surplus in 2017-18.

As the Commission on the Reform of Ontario’s Public Services indicated, slowing the rate of growth in program spending is essential for balancing the budget by 2017-18. The government’s plan for eliminating the deficit is to manage spending effectively. Growth in program spending is projected to be less than one per cent in 2012-13 for the second consecutive year. The majority of ministries, including Health and Education, contained growth in spending and managed well below their 2012-13 budgets. Ontario currently has the lowest program spending per capita among Canadian provinces.

Ontario is Projected to Have the Lowest Program Spending Per Capita in 2012-13

Managing the growth in program spending will continue to be a key component of the province’s fiscal plan moving forward. Program spending in 2013-14 is unchanged from the 2012 Budget projection. Between 2012-13 and 2017-18, program spending is projected to grow at an average annual rate of less than one per cent.


Total revenue in 2012-13 is estimated to be $114,223 million. This is $1,650 million above the amount projected in the 2012 Budget. The increase is due to higher taxation revenues, higher net income from government business enterprises as well as higher other non-tax revenues. Lower Government of Canada transfers partially offset the overall increase.

Revenues are projected to increase at an average annual rate of 3.0 per cent over the 2012-13 to 2015-16 period.


Total expense in 2012-13 is projected to be $2,387 million lower than forecast in the 2012 Budget, primarily due to the government’s commitment to manage growth in program spending — projected to be held to less than one per cent for the second year in a row — along with lower-than-forecast interest on debt expense. 

Program expense is $2,140 million lower than projected in the 2012 Budget. This change is a result of the one-time savings in the education sector, as well as efforts across all ministries to contain growth in spending and manage within their budgets. In fact, 16 of 25 ministries (or more than 60 per cent) are projected to spend below their 2012 Budget allocation in 2012-13, helping to hold growth in program spending to less than one per cent for the second year in a row.

The province’s total expense outlook is projected to grow by an average annual rate of 1.8 per cent between 2012-13 and 2015-16. In addition, the total expense outlook is lower in each and every year compared with the medium-term forecast in the 2012 Budget — representing a projected cumulative reduction in total expense of $3.8 billion over three years. 

A Responsible, Respectful and Fair Approach to Public Sector Compensation

Compensation costs account for more than 50 per cent of Ontario-funded program spending, either paid directly through the Ontario Public Service (OPS) or as part of the government’s transfer payments to schools, hospitals and other public-sector partners. All public-sector partners — including employers and bargaining agents — need to work together to control current and future compensation costs, including wages, benefits and pensions.

Additionally, an advisory panel will be appointed to review compensation practices for senior executives in the broader public sector. The panel’s mandate will include the consideration of hard caps on compensation while recognizing the need to hold senior executives accountable for results. 

The government respects collective agreements and the collective bargaining process, and will not over-ride existing collective agreements. Such actions would not only create significant legal risks, they would also undermine the ability of responsible employers and bargaining agents to increase productivity, maintain services and ensure fiscal sustainability through respectful bargaining that reflects Ontario’s economic circumstances.

Salaries have been frozen for designated executives at hospitals, universities, colleges, school boards and provincially owned electricity companies. All aspects of compensation plans are frozen, and base salaries cannot be increased. In addition, the overall performance pay envelopes at designated employers are frozen. These restraint measures will be in place until the Budget is balanced in 2017-18. Members of Provincial Parliament will also continue to see their wages frozen — bringing the total length of the freeze to five years.

Ontario public-sector settlements are now below the average of those in the private sector, municipal sector and the federal public sector. Pension expense forecasts are down, in part, as a result of successful efforts to contain public-sector wage growth. These results have been achieved while protecting jobs and services.

Ontario Wage Settlements
Difference in Projected Pension Expense versus Commission on the Reform of Ontario's Public Services Forecast

Going forward, compensation costs must be addressed within Ontario’s existing fiscal framework, which includes no funding for incremental compensation increases for new collective agreements. The government is confident that broader public sector partners can work together to achieve outcomes that remain within the fiscal plan while protecting services. In future rounds of bargaining, the government is willing to work with employers and bargaining agents to look at mechanisms such as productivity improvements as a way to achieve fiscal and service-delivery goals.

Economic Growth

Ontario’s economy is expected to grow at a moderate pace over the next several years. Business investment is helping Ontario’s economy adopt new technologies to produce more innovative goods and services and to expand into new trade markets. Trade is expected to be a key contributor to growth over the medium term. In particular, Ontario will benefit from stronger exports to the United States, as the U.S. economic recovery gains momentum.

While a forecast of sustained moderate growth is a reasonable basis for planning, there are considerable risks in the global economy. Economic and fiscal uncertainty in Europe and the United States continues to pose significant risks for Ontario’s economy.

For planning purposes, the Ministry of Finance is assuming real gross domestic product (GDP) growth of 1.5 per cent in 2013, 2.3 per cent in 2014, and 2.4 per cent in both 2015 and 2016.

Ontario Economic Outlook
(Per Cent)
  2010  2011  2012  2013p 2014p 2015p 2016p
Real GDP Growth 3.2 1.8 1.6 1.5 2.3 2.4 2.4
Nominal GDP Growth 5.2 4.7 2.9 3.0 4.1 4.2 4.2
Employment Growth 1.7 1.8 0.8 1.2 1.4 1.5 1.5
CPI Inflation 2.5 3.1 1.4 1.5 2.0 2.0 2.0
p = Ontario Ministry of Finance planning projection.
Sources: Statistics Canada and Ontario Ministry of Finance.

The Ministry of Finance consults with private-sector economists and tracks their forecasts in order to inform the government’s planning assumptions. All of these private-sector economists are forecasting continued growth for the Ontario economy in 2013 and the following three years. On average, private-sector forecasters are projecting growth of 1.6 per cent in 2013, 2.4 per cent in 2014, and 2.5 per cent in both 2015 and 2016.


The government’s role in job creation is to encourage the right environment for businesses and entrepreneurs to take risks, make investments, create jobs and drive innovation.

Ontario has created almost 400,000 jobs since June 2009, recovering all the jobs lost during the recession. The pace of job creation in Ontario since June 2009 is ahead of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) average and that of the United States. Ontario’s strong economic fundamentals, as well as government actions, have helped its economy recover from the global recession. 

Job creation is expected to strengthen over the medium term, with employment increasing by 1.2 per cent in 2013, 1.4 per cent in 2014, and 1.5 per cent in both 2015 and 2016. By 2016, Ontario will have created nearly 400,000 net new jobs compared to 2012. The solid gains in employment will allow the unemployment rate to decline steadily from 7.7 per cent in 2013 to 6.6 per cent by 2016.

Employment Expected to Rise Over the Medium Term

The government’s economic plan for jobs and growth includes infrastructure investments of more than $35 billion over the next three years, in critical areas such as transportation, health care and education, to support over 100,000 jobs on average each year across the province.

Highlights of Planned Infrastructure Expenditures by Sector

Borrowing and Debt

Ontario successfully completed its annual borrowing program in 2012-13, despite continuing challenges in global financial markets. The province borrowed $36.6 billion in 2012-13, including financing for capital and refinancing of maturing debt, taking advantage of the historically low interest rate environment and strong demand for Ontario bonds.

The province’s total borrowing requirement in 2013-14 has been reduced by $7.2 billion compared to the 2012 Budget forecast because of lower deficits. This reduction will impact both long-term and short-term borrowing. Long-term public borrowing in 2013-14 is now $5.7 billion lower than the forecast contained in the 2012 Budget, and short-term borrowing is forecast to be $1.5 billion lower.

Strong global investor demand for Canadian-dollar assets, the liquidity of Ontario benchmark bonds and continuing confidence in the province allowed Ontario to borrow 72 per cent in the Canadian-dollar market in 2012-13. This is consistent with the target of at least 70 per cent set out in the 2012 Budget, down from 81 per cent in 2011-12.

In 2013-14, the province plans to borrow at least 70 per cent in the Canadian-dollar market. This is in line with the historical average of issuing approximately three-quarters in that market, and continues to represent a decline in the reliance on foreign markets seen during the financial crisis. In 2009-10, at the peak of the crisis, only 49 per cent of the province’s issuance was in the Canadian-dollar market.

The province borrows to fund the deficit, investments in capital and to refinance maturing debt. Ontario’s net debt is projected to be $252.8 billion as at March 31, 2013 and the accumulated deficit is projected to be $168.2 billion as at March 31, 2013. The $84.6 billion difference is primarily due to the province’s net investments in infrastructure. Infrastructure investments would remain focused on the most critical areas such as transportation, health care and education, consistent with the government’s long-term infrastructure plan, Building Together

After eliminating the deficit by 2017-18, overall spending increases will be restricted to one per cent below GDP growth until the province’s net debt-to-GDP ratio returns to the pre-recession level of 27 per cent.


Susie Heath, Minister’s Office, 416-325-3645
Scott Blodgett, Ministry of Finance, 416-325-0324


TTY: 1-800-263-7776

Disponible en français

: PERSPECTIVES ÉCONOMIQUES ET PLAN FINANCIER DE L'ONTARIO

Le 2 mai 2013

L’Ontario est une province fort diversifiée dont les fondements économiques sont solides. En dépit des difficultés économiques mondiales, la province s’en tire mieux que bien d’autres territoires.

Alors que la province va de l’avant au milieu d’une reprise économique fragile, elle adopte des mesures équilibrées afin d’éliminer le déficit et de faire des investissements judicieux qui favoriseront la croissance économique à long terme. En éliminant le déficit, nous renforçons l’économie en protégeant les services publics, comme les écoles et les hôpitaux, qui sont importants pour la population. Ces investissements permettront à l’Ontario de saisir les occasions de soutenir la concurrence sur les marchés mondiaux et de créer des emplois dans la province.

Malgré les défis économiques que l’Ontario doit relever, comme la valeur élevée du dollar, ses assises économiques sont solides et ses industries sont bien placées pour tirer parti des occasions de plus en plus nombreuses qu’offre l’économie mondiale.

Il importe de reconnaître ces défis et de travailler avec les entreprises, le monde du travail et d’autres partenaires clés pour s’y attaquer de plein front afin d’assurer une plus forte croissance à l’avenir pour l’Ontario.

La croissance économique et la création d’emplois sont mues par les entreprises et les entrepreneurs qui sont prêts à investir. Le gouvernement, de son côté, doit concentrer ses initiatives sur la création d’un environnement favorable à l’économie.

De concert avec ses partenaires clés, le gouvernement établit un plan de renouveau économique en six points qui aidera l’économie ontarienne à saisir les nouvelles possibilités de croissance et de création d’emplois :

  • un environnement compétitif pour les entreprises soutenir un régime fiscal compétitif et des règlements efficaces qui favorisent les nouveaux investissements des entreprises porteurs d’emplois et de croissance économique;
  • une infrastructure moderne investir dans les transports en commun, les routes, les écoles et les hôpitaux, fondement essentiel d’une économie productive;
  • une main-d’oeuvre hautement qualifiée investir dans la formation professionnelle et l’éducation, ainsi que dans les perspectives d’emploi pour les jeunes, pour que la population ontarienne puisse travailler et prospérer;
  • la promotion de l’entrepreneuriat et de l’innovation – renforcer la capacité de l’Ontario de transformer des idées en produits et services novateurs destinés à l’économie mondiale;
  • des visées mondiales – travailler avec les entreprises pour ouvrir l’accès des biens et services ontariens aux marchés extérieurs, notamment dans les autres provinces, aux États-Unis et dans les économies émergentes;
  • des collectivités dynamiques et vigoureuses – aider toutes les économies locales et régionales à profiter des occasions de création d’emplois et de croissance économique.

L’élimination du déficit est, à elle seule, la décision la plus importante que le gouvernement puisse prendre pour assurer la prospérité de l’Ontario. On prévoit maintenant que le déficit de 2012-2013 s’établira à 9,8 milliards de dollars, soit 5 milliards de dollars de moins que les prévisions du budget de 2012.

L’exercice financier qui vient de s’achever marque la quatrième année de suite où l’Ontario annonce un déficit inférieur aux prévisions, le seul gouvernement au Canada à atteindre ce niveau de succès. C’est aussi la deuxième année de suite où la hausse des dépenses de programmes devrait s’élever à moins de 1 %. Pour 2013-2014, on prévoit que le déficit s’établira à 11,7 milliards de dollars, ce qui constitue une amélioration de plus de 1 milliard de dollars par rapport aux prévisions du budget de l’année dernière. 

Au-delà de 2013-2014, le gouvernement est en bonne voie d’atteindre ses objectifs de réduction progressive du déficit énoncés dans le budget de 2012 et d’afficher un excédent de 0,5 milliard de dollars en 2017-2018.

Plan de l'Ontario visant è éliminer le déficit

Le gouvernement de l’Ontario est déterminé à éliminer le déficit d’ici 2017-2018 de façon financièrement responsable et équitable, tout en renforçant l’économie et en édifiant un Ontario plus prospère et plus équitable. Dans le cadre du plan de la province visant à éliminer le déficit d’ici 2017‑2018, le gouvernement continuera de consulter le public après le dépôt du budget. Pour mobiliser la population de l’Ontario sur l’avenir de ses services publics, il faut établir un dialogue continu. Le gouvernement donnera des précisions à ce sujet plus tard ce printemps.

Perspectives provisoires 2012-2013

On estime maintenant que le déficit de 2012-2013 devrait se chiffrer à 9,8 milliards de dollars, ce qui représente une amélioration de 5,0 milliards de dollars par rapport aux prévisions du budget de 2012. En plus de dépasser ses objectifs de réduction du déficit pour 2012-2013, la province prévoit de réduire de plus de 1,0 milliard de dollars le déficit de 12,8 milliards de dollars qui avait été prévu pour 2013-2014 dans le budget de 2012. Si ces objectifs sont atteints, ce sera la cinquième année de suite que la province dépasse ses objectifs financiers. Au-delà de 2013-2014, le gouvernement est en bonne voie d’atteindre ses objectifs de réduction progressive du déficit énoncés dans le budget de 2012 et d’afficher un excédent de 0,5 milliard de dollars en 2017-2018.

Comme l’a indiqué la Commission de réforme des services publics de l’Ontario, pour équilibrer le budget d’ici 2017-2018, il est essentiel de ralentir le rythme de croissance des dépenses de programmes. Pour éliminer le déficit, le gouvernement entend gérer les dépenses efficacement. On prévoit que la croissance des dépenses de programmes sera inférieure à 1 % en 2012-2013 pour le deuxième exercice de suite. La plupart des ministères, y compris ceux de la Santé et de l’Éducation, ont contenu leurs dépenses et ont réussi à fonctionner bien en deçà de leur budget de 2012-2013. C’est en Ontario que les dépenses de programmes par habitant sont les plus basses parmi les provinces canadiennes.

Les dépenses de programmes par habitant de l'Ontario devraient être les plus faibles en 2012-2013

La gestion de la croissance des dépenses de programmes demeurera un élément important du plan financier de la province. Pour 2013-2014, les dépenses de programmes sont les mêmes que les projections contenues dans le budget de 2012. Entre 2012-2013 et 2017-2018, on s’attend à ce que les dépenses de programmes augmentent à un taux annuel moyen inférieur à 1 %.

Revenus

Le total des revenus en 2012-2013 est estimé à 114 223 millions de dollars, résultat qui est supérieur de 1 650 millions de dollars au montant prévu dans le budget de 2012. Cette augmentation est attribuable à la hausse des revenus fiscaux, des revenus nets des entreprises publiques et d’autres revenus non fiscaux. La réduction des paiements de transfert du gouvernement du Canada neutralise partiellement la hausse totale.

Les revenus devraient augmenter au taux annuel moyen de 3,0 % entre 2012-2013 et 2015-2016.

Charges

On prévoit que le total des charges en 2012-2013 sera inférieur de 2 387 millions de dollars aux prévisions du budget de 2012, principalement en raison de l’engagement du gouvernement à gérer la hausse des dépenses de programmes qui, selon les prévisions, devrait se maintenir à moins de 1 % pour la deuxième année de suite, conjugué à l’incidence des taux d’intérêt sur la dette qui sont inférieurs aux prévisions. 

Les charges de programmes sont inférieures de 2 140 millions de dollars aux prévisions du budget de 2012. Cette variation est attribuable à des économies ponctuelles réalisées dans le secteur de l’éducation ainsi qu’aux efforts déployés par tous les ministères pour maîtriser la hausse de leurs dépenses et gérer leurs activités dans la limite de leur budget. En fait, 16 ministères sur 25 (plus de 60 %) prévoient de dépenser en 2012-2013 moins que l’affectation prévue dans le budget de 2012, contribuant ainsi à maintenir la hausse des dépenses de programmes à moins de 1 % pour la deuxième année de suite.

Les charges totales de la province devraient augmenter en moyenne de 1,8 % par année entre 2012-2013 et 2015-2016. Par ailleurs, elles devraient diminuer chaque année, comparativement aux prévisions à moyen terme énoncées dans le budget de 2012, ce qui correspond à une réduction cumulative prévue des charges totales de 3,8 milliards de dollars sur trois ans. 

Approche responsable, respectueuse et équitable en matière de rémunération dans le secteur public

Les coûts de rémunération représentent plus de 50 % des dépenses des programmes financés par l’Ontario, soit sous forme de paiements directs à la fonction publique de l’Ontario ou de paiements de transfert aux écoles, aux hôpitaux et aux autres partenaires du secteur public. Tous les partenaires du secteur public, y compris les employeurs et les agents de négociation, devront travailler de pair pour contrôler les coûts actuels et futurs de la rémunération, notamment les salaires, les avantages sociaux et les régimes de retraite.

En outre, un comité consultatif sera mis sur pied pour revoir les pratiques de rémunération des cadres du secteur parapublic. Il aura notamment pour mandat d’examiner le plafonnement sans exception de la rémunération tout en reconnaissant la nécessité de tenir les cadres responsables des résultats.

Le gouvernement respecte les conventions collectives et le processus de négociation collective, et il ne dérogera pas aux conventions collectives en vigueur. Une telle mesure non seulement créerait des risques juridiques importants, elle minerait également la capacité des employeurs et des agents de négociation responsables d’augmenter la productivité, de maintenir les services et d’assurer la viabilité financière dans le cadre de négociations respectueuses tenant compte de la situation économique de l’Ontario.

Les salaires des cadres désignés des hôpitaux, des universités, des collèges, des conseils scolaires et des compagnies d’électricité appartenant à la province ont été gelés. Tous les aspects des régimes de rémunération sont gelés, et les salaires de base ne peuvent pas augmenter. En outre, les enveloppes globales de rémunération au rendement chez certains employeurs désignés sont gelées. Ces mesures de restriction seront en place jusqu’à ce que le budget soit équilibré en 2017-2018. Le salaire des députés provinciaux continuera d’être gelé, ce qui portera à cinq ans la durée totale de ce gel.

Les conventions conclues dans le secteur public de l'Ontario sont maintenant en deçà de la moyenne de celles du secteur privé, du secteur municipal et du secteur public fédéral. Les charges de retraite prévues diminuent, en partie grâce aux efforts déployés pour contenir la croissance des salaires dans le secteur public. Ces résultats ont été obtenus sans que soient sacrifiés les emplois et les services.

Règlements salariaux en Ontario
Écart entre les charges de retraite prévues et les prévisions de la Commission de réforme des services publics de l'Ontario

À partir de maintenant, les coûts liés à la rémunération doivent être gérés à l’intérieur du cadre financier actuel de l’Ontario, qui ne prévoit pas de fonds au titre de l’augmentation progressive de la rémunération dans les nouvelles conventions collectives. Le gouvernement est persuadé que les partenaires du secteur parapublic peuvent travailler ensemble pour obtenir des résultats qui demeurent dans les limites du plan financier tout en protégeant les services. Lors des futures rondes de négociations, le gouvernement est disposé à collaborer avec les employeurs et les agents de négociation pour trouver des mécanismes, comme l’amélioration de la productivité, pour atteindre les objectifs sur le plan financier et de la prestation des services.

Croissance économique

On prévoit une croissance économique modeste pour l’Ontario au cours des prochaines années. Les investissements effectués par les entreprises aident l’économie de la province à adopter de nouvelles technologies afin de créer plus de produits et de services innovateurs et à pénétrer de nouveaux marchés commerciaux. On s’attend à ce que les échanges commerciaux contribuent de façon importante à la croissance à moyen terme. L’Ontario profitera notamment de l’augmentation de ses exportations vers les États-Unis à mesure que la reprise économique américaine s’accentue.

Bien que des prévisions de croissance modérée mais soutenue constituent une prémisse raisonnable pour la planification, l’économie mondiale présente des risques considérables. L’incertitude économique et financière en Europe et aux États-Unis continue de poser des risques importants pour l’économie de l’Ontario.

Aux fins de planification, le ministère des Finances suppose que le produit intérieur brut (PIB) réel croîtra de 1,5 % en 2013, de 2,3 % en 2014 et de 2,4 % en 2015 et en 2016.

Perspectives économiques de l'Ontario
(en pourcentage)
   2010  2011  2012 2013p 2014p 2015p 2016p
Croissance du PIB réel 3,2 1,8 1,6 1,5 2,3 2,4 2,4
Croissance du PIB nominal 5,2 4,7 2,9 3,0 4,1 4,2 4,2
Croissance de l'emploi 1,7 1,8 0,8 1,2 1,4 1,5 1,5
Inflation de l'IPC 2,5 3,1 1,4 1,5 2,0 2,0 2,0
p = projection de planification du ministère des Finances de l'Ontario.
Sources : Statistique Canada et ministère des Finances de l'Ontario.

Le ministère des Finances consulte des économistes du secteur privé et suit leurs prévisions afin de former les hypothèses de planification du gouvernement. Tous ces économistes prévoient une croissance continue pour l’économie ontarienne en 2013 et pendant les trois prochaines années. Selon la moyenne des prévisions du secteur privé, l’économie ontarienne devrait afficher une croissance de 1,6 % en 2013, de 2,4 % en 2014 et de 2,5 % en 2015 et en 2016.

Emplois

Au chapitre de la création d’emplois, le gouvernement a pour rôle de favoriser un environnement propice aux affaires où les entrepreneurs peuvent prendre des risques, faire des investissements, créer des emplois et stimuler l’innovation.

Depuis juin 2009, il s’est créé en Ontario près de 400 000 emplois, ce qui a permis de récupérer tous les emplois perdus pendant la récession. La création d’emplois, depuis juin 2009, s’accroît en Ontario à un rythme supérieur à la moyenne dans les pays de l’Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques (OCDE) et aux États-Unis. Grâce aux solides facteurs fondamentaux de l’économie ontarienne et aux mesures prises par le gouvernement, l’économie a pu se remettre de la récession mondiale. 

La création d’emplois devrait s’améliorer à moyen terme, avec des augmentations de 1,2 % en 2013, de 1,4 % en 2014 et de 1,5 % en 2015 et en 2016. D’ici 2016, l’Ontario aura créé près de 400 000 emplois nets par rapport à 2012. Grâce à l’amélioration marquée de la situation de l’emploi, le taux de chômage diminuera progressivement pour passer de 7,7 % en 2013 à 6,6 % d’ici 2016.

L'emploi devrait s'accroître à moyen terme

Le plan économique du gouvernement pour l’emploi et la croissance comprend des investissements dans l’infrastructure, qui se chiffrent à plus de 35 milliards de dollars au cours des trois prochaines années, dans des secteurs critiques comme les transports, la santé et l’éducation, à l’appui de plus de 100 000 emplois en moyenne par année dans toute la province.

Points saillants des dépenses liées a l'infrastructure prévues par secteur

Emprunts et gestion de la dette

L’Ontario a réussi à exécuter son programme d’emprunt annuel en 2012-2013, malgré les défis auxquels les marchés des capitaux font toujours face à l’échelle internationale. La province a emprunté 36,6 milliards de dollars en 2012-2013, y compris le financement du capital et le refinancement de la dette arrivant à échéance, tirant parti des taux d’intérêt historiquement bas et de la forte demande d’obligations de l’Ontario.

Grâce à des déficits moins élevés, le total des besoins d’emprunt de la province en 2013-2014 a été réduit de 7,2 milliards de dollars comparativement aux prévisions du budget de 2012. Cette réduction aura une incidence sur les emprunts à court et à long terme. Les emprunts à long terme sur les marchés publics en 2013-2014, sont désormais de 5,7 milliards de dollars inférieurs aux chiffres projetés dans le budget de 2012 et les emprunts à court terme devraient être de 1,5 milliard de dollars inférieurs.

La forte demande d’actifs en dollars canadiens de la part des investisseurs internationaux, la liquidité des obligations de référence de l’Ontario et la confiance qu’inspire toujours la province ont permis à l’Ontario de contracter 72 % de ses emprunts sur le marché du dollar canadien en 2012-2013, ce qui correspond à la cible d’au moins 70 % établie dans le budget de 2012, mais est inférieur au taux de 81 % affiché en 2011-2012.

En 2013-2014, la province projette de contracter au moins 70 % de ses emprunts sur le marché du dollar canadien. Cela est conforme au pourcentage moyen historique qui est d’environ 75 % et illustre le fait que la province dépend moins des marchés étrangers que durant la crise financière. En 2009-2010, au plus fort de la crise, seulement 49 % des émissions de la province étaient sur le marché du dollar canadien.

La province emprunte pour financer le déficit, investir dans le capital et refinancer la dette arrivant à échéance. On projette qu’au 31 mars 2013, la dette nette de l’Ontario se chiffrera à 252,8 milliards de dollars et que le déficit accumulé sera de 168,2 milliards de dollars. La différence de 84,6 milliards de dollars s’explique surtout par les investissements nets de la province dans l’infrastructure. Les investissements dans l’infrastructure resteraient axés sur les secteurs les plus critiques, comme les transports, les soins de santé et l’éducation, en conformité avec le plan d’infrastructure à long terme du gouvernement, Construire ensemble.

Une fois le déficit éliminé d’ici 2017-2018, les augmentations des dépenses globales se limiteront à 1 % de moins que le taux de croissance du PIB jusqu’à ce que le rapport dette nette-PIB de la province retourne au niveau de 27 % enregistré avant la récession.

DEMANDES DE RENSEIGNEMENTS DES MÉDIAS :
Susie Heath, bureau du ministre, 416 325-3645
Scott Blodgett, ministère des Finances, 416 325-0324

DEMANDES DE RENSEIGNEMENTS DU PUBLIC :
1 800 337-7222
ATS : 1 800 263-7776

ontario.ca/finances-nouvelles
Available in English