May 2, 2013

Ontario’s economic performance is stronger when everyone has the opportunity to be gainfully employed, to participate in the life of their communities and to contribute to the prosperity of the province.

Ontario has created almost 400,000 jobs since June 2009, recovering all the jobs lost during the recession. The pace of job creation in Ontario since June 2009 is ahead of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) average and that of the United States. Ontario’s strong economic fundamentals, as well as government actions, have helped its economy recover from the global recession. 

But despite these job gains, Ontario’s youth face persistently high unemployment. The employment rate of youth (the proportion of the population aged 15 to 24 with jobs) has also remained well below its pre-recession levels, largely because youth shouldered the brunt of job losses during the downturn. In 2012, the youth employment rate stood at 50 per cent, compared to 57 per cent in 2007.

While government investments have minimized the severity of the economic downturn and helped to ensure that Ontario’s youth fared much better than their counterparts in most OECD countries, youth unemployment is still unacceptably high.

Youth (15 to 24 years) Employment Rate: 2006-12

Studies show that spells of youth unemployment can have long-term social and economic consequences. These experiences can lead to youth facing persistently lower wages and a higher likelihood of becoming unemployed later in life. Therefore, it is critical that governments and employers work together to pave the way for a brighter future for Ontario youth.

The government supports Ontario’s young people through programs and services from
world-class schools to programs that help them move into employment.

Support for everyone from Early Years to Adulthood

Recognizing the need to provide even more opportunities for Ontario’s youth, the government is proposing a comprehensive Youth Jobs Strategy, providing an investment of $295 million over two years. The strategy would support the following initiatives that would promote employment opportunities, entrepreneurship and innovation for youth in Ontario:

Ontario Youth Employment Fund

The government is proposing a Youth Employment Fund of $195 million over two years to create employment opportunities for 25,000 youth in Ontario. The province would provide hiring incentives to employers to offer young people in all regions of the province an entry point to long-term employment. Youth who participate in the program would learn life and work skills while earning income. It would also help employers better tap the youth talent available in the province.

The Fund would use Employment Ontario’s network of employment and training services and the support of the employer community across Ontario to find appropriate job placements that meet the diverse needs of Ontario’s youth.

Employment opportunities would be available across Ontario, with an added focus on areas with high youth unemployment, including at-risk youth (e.g., youth leaving care, youth receiving social assistance), Aboriginal youth, recent immigrants and visible minority youth, and youth in rural and northern communities. This investment would improve youth outcomes today by providing employment opportunities, while supporting Ontario’s future economic growth as youth are equipped with the skills to succeed going forward.

Ontario Youth Entrepreneurship Fund

Creating new businesses is an important part of Ontario’s economic future. To help ensure that Ontario’s next generation of entrepreneurs is strong, confident and ready to compete at home and abroad, the government is proposing an Ontario Youth Entrepreneurship Fund of $45 million over two years, generating nearly 6,000 mentorship and job opportunities.

The fund would focus on three priority areas:

Mentorship: ensuring young entrepreneurs are connected to experienced entrepreneur mentors who provide coaching, business strategy and “go to” market advice that substantially increase the long-term success of a startup company.

Seed-stage capital: financing a company is often the biggest barrier to getting started. The fund would offer small loans, seed capital and other grants to lower this barrier. The seed-stage capital would be provided to Accelerator Hubs that would partner with investors to support young entrepreneurs with their startup companies.

High school entrepreneurship outreach: funding over two years to entrepreneurship-focused organizations that would support outreach and provide tools to students through classroom presentations, conferences and experiential learning. Successful business owners would also serve as mentors to help strengthen the next generation of business leaders.

These targeted investments would support young entrepreneurs across the province, as they work to build their careers, turning them from job seekers into job creators. The Province would use the Ontario Network of Excellence and Small Business Enterprise Centres to ensure that this fund is implemented as quickly as possible.

To help Ontario’s young entrepreneurs, the government will allow graduates choosing to start a business in Ontario to defer paying off Ontario Student Assistance Program (OSAP) loans and payment of interest until one full year after completing postsecondary education, rather than the standard six-month grace period.

Ontario Youth Innovation Fund

Ontario’s academic institutions provide students with 21st-century skills to succeed in the modern economy. These talented students, however, need more opportunities to enter the knowledge-based workforce and make positive contributions to the province’s innovation economy.

Ontario would invest $10 million over two years to provide exceptional post-doctoral fellows with skills and experience to lead and manage industrial research, development and commercialization efforts, resulting in rapid commercialization of research and a boost to economic activity. This investment would flow through Ontario Centres of Excellence, which offer established infrastructure, and should leverage $40 million from industry. This new investment would build on the success of Mitacs, which has created 1,650 internships for graduate students and 111 post-doctoral fellowships in Ontario, since 2008.

The government would also provide $20 million over two years for the On Campus Accelerator Centres that would facilitate development of entrepreneurial activity in Ontario’s universities and colleges. This investment would build on existing centres like Ryerson’s Digital Media Zone, University of Toronto’s Impact Centre, Nipissing University’s Student Development Fund, Experience Entrepreneurship at Conestoga College and the VeloCity Program at the University of Waterloo, where successful, new innovative companies are being developed and getting products to the market.

Business-Labour Connectivity and Training Fund

In recognition of the need for better coordination among business, labour, educators and youth to identify and solve talent development issues, the government is proposing $25 million over two years to support creative new pilot initiatives. This funding would support youth-focused training programs that strengthen innovation and collaboration skills, as well as initiatives from business groups.

The government will consult with youth, young professionals and community partners on designing the strategy, including consulting with the Premier’s Council on Youth Opportunities.


Susie Heath, Minister’s Office, 416-325-3645
Scott Blodgett, Ministry of Finance, 416-325-0324


TTY: 1-800-263-7776

Disponible en français

: CRÉATION D’EMPLOIS POUR LES JEUNES

Le 2 mai 2013

L’économie de l’Ontario sera plus forte si tout le monde a la possibilité d’avoir un emploi rémunéré, de participer à la vie communautaire locale et de contribuer à la prospérité de la province.

Depuis juin 2009, il s’est créé en Ontario près de 400 000 emplois, ce qui a permis de récupérer tous les emplois perdus pendant la récession. La création d’emplois, depuis juin 2009, s’accroît en Ontario à un rythme supérieur à la moyenne dans les pays de l’Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques (OCDE) et aux États-Unis. Grâce aux solides facteurs fondamentaux de l’économie ontarienne et aux mesures prises par le gouvernement, l’économie a pu se remettre de la récession mondiale.

Malgré les nouveaux emplois qui se sont créés, les jeunes de l’Ontario sont aux prises avec un chômage élevé persistant. Le taux d’emploi des jeunes (proportion des jeunes de 15 à 24 ans ayant un emploi) reste bien inférieur aux niveaux enregistrés avant la récession, ce qui découle dans une large mesure du fait que les jeunes ont été plus durement frappés durant le ralentissement économique. En 2012, le taux d’emploi des jeunes était de 50 %, contre 57 % en 2007.

Bien que les investissements gouvernementaux aient réduit la gravité du ralentissement économique et contribué à faire en sorte que les jeunes de l’Ontario soient en meilleure position que ceux de la plupart des pays de l’OCDE, le chômage est encore beaucoup trop élevé parmi ce segment de la population.

Taux d'emploi chez les jeunes (de 15 à 24 ans) : 2006-2012

Des études indiquent que des périodes de chômage chez les jeunes peuvent avoir des conséquences sociales et économiques à long terme. En raison de cette instabilité de l’emploi, les jeunes risquent davantage d’occuper de façon chronique des emplois mal rémunérés et de subir d’autres périodes de chômage plus tard dans la vie. Par conséquent, il est de la plus grande importance que les gouvernements et les employeurs travaillent ensemble pour ouvrir la voie à un meilleur avenir pour les jeunes de l’Ontario.

Le gouvernement soutient les jeunes Ontariennes et Ontariens en leur offrant une gamme de programmes et de services allant des écoles de classe mondiale à des initiatives pour les aider à accéder au monde du travail.

Soutien pour tous de la petite enfance à l'âge adulte

Reconnaissant la nécessité d’offrir de meilleures perspectives aux jeunes de l’Ontario, le gouvernement propose une stratégie ontarienne d’emploi pour les jeunes, dans laquelle il investit 295 millions de dollars sur deux ans. Cette stratégie appuierait les initiatives suivantes qui favoriseraient les perspectives d’emploi, l’entrepreneuriat et l’innovation pour les jeunes de l’Ontario :

Fonds ontarien d’aide à l’emploi pour les jeunes

Le gouvernement propose un Fonds ontarien d’aide à l’emploi pour les jeunes, doté de 195 millions de dollars sur deux ans, afin d’ouvrir de nouvelles perspectives d’emploi pour 25 000 jeunes. La province offrirait aux employeurs des incitatifs à l’embauche pour les encourager à offrir aux jeunes de toutes les régions de la province des postes de premier échelon ouvrant la voie à des emplois à long terme. Les jeunes qui participent à ce programme pourraient acquérir des aptitudes fondamentales à la vie quotidienne et des compétences professionnelles tout en gagnant un revenu. De plus, les employeurs pourront mieux tirer profit des jeunes talents disponibles dans la province.

Le Fonds profiterait du réseau de services d’emploi et de formation d’Emploi Ontario et du soutien de la communauté des employeurs partout dans la province pour trouver des stages appropriés en milieu de travail qui répondent aux besoins diversifiés de la jeunesse ontarienne.

Des perspectives d’emploi seraient disponibles partout dans la province, et en particulier dans les régions où le taux de chômage chez les jeunes est élevé, y compris les jeunes à risque (p. ex., les jeunes qui ne sont plus pupilles de la Couronne, ceux qui reçoivent de l’aide sociale), les jeunes Autochtones, les jeunes récemment immigrés et ceux des minorités visibles, ainsi que les jeunes des collectivités rurales et du Nord. Un tel investissement améliorerait dès aujourd’hui les résultats pour les jeunes en offrant des possibilités d’emploi, en plus d’appuyer la croissance économique future de l’Ontario en procurant aux jeunes les compétences dont ils ont besoin pour réussir à long terme.

Fonds ontarien d’aide aux jeunes entrepreneurs

La création de nouvelles entreprises est un aspect important de l’avenir économique de l’Ontario. Pour veiller à ce que la prochaine génération d’entrepreneurs soit forte, confiante et prête à soutenir la concurrence au pays et à l’étranger, le gouvernement propose un Fonds ontarien d’aide aux jeunes entrepreneurs, doté de 45 millions de dollars sur deux ans, offrant près de 6 000 possibilités de mentorat et d’emploi.

Ce fonds viserait trois priorités:

Mentorat : l’établissement de liens entre de jeunes entrepreneurs et des entrepreneurs chevronnés, qui agissent comme mentors en encadrant les jeunes et en leur offrant des conseils au sujet des stratégies commerciales et de la mise en marché, peut améliorer de beaucoup la réussite à long terme des nouvelles entreprises.

Capital de démarrage : le financement d’une entreprise est souvent le plus gros obstacle au démarrage. Le fonds offrirait de modestes prêts, des capitaux de départ et d’autres subventions pour amoindrir cet obstacle. Le capital de démarrage serait fourni à des centres d’accélération qui s’associeraient à des investisseurs afin d’appuyer les jeunes entrepreneurs qui se lancent en affaire.

Rayonnement de l’entrepreneuriat dans les écoles secondaires : une aide financière sur deux ans aux organismes axés sur l’entrepreneuriat appuierait les activités de rayonnement et offrirait aux élèves des outils importants au moyen d’exposés en classe, de conférences et de l’apprentissage par l’expérience. Les propriétaires d’entreprises prospères serviraient également de mentors pour renforcer la formation de la prochaine génération de dirigeants d’entreprise.

Ces investissements ciblés aideraient les jeunes entrepreneurs d’un bout à l’autre de la province au moment où ils essaient de s’établir, les transformant de chercheurs d’emplois en créateurs d’emplois. Le gouvernement provincial ferait appel au Réseau ontarien d’excellence et aux centres d’encadrement des petits entrepreneurs pour que ce fonds soit mis en oeuvre le plus rapidement possible.

Pour aider les jeunes entrepreneurs de l’Ontario, le gouvernement permettra aux diplômés qui décident de lancer une entreprise dans la province de reporter le remboursement de leur prêt du Régime d’aide financière aux étudiants de l’Ontario (RAFEO) ainsi que les intérêts jusqu’à douze mois après la fin des études postsecondaires, au lieu de la période de grâce habituelle de six mois.

Fonds ontarien d’innovation pour les jeunes

Les établissements d’enseignement ontariens fournissent aux étudiants des compétences adaptées au XXIe siècle pour leur permettre de réussir dans l’économie moderne. Ces étudiants de talent ont toutefois besoin qu’on leur offre de meilleures chances d’intégrer le marché du travail et d’apporter une contribution positive à l’économie de l’innovation de la province.

L’Ontario investirait 10 millions de dollars sur deux ans pour offrir à des boursiers exceptionnels de recherches postdoctorales des compétences et l’expérience requises pour diriger et gérer les activités de recherche, de développement et de commercialisation au sein d’une industrie, ce qui accélérera la commercialisation des résultats de la recherche et stimulera l’activité économique. Cet investissement serait fait par l’intermédiaire des Centres d’excellence de l’Ontario, qui offrent une infrastructure déjà établie, et devrait permettre de recueillir 40 millions de dollars de l’industrie. Ce nouvel investissement mettrait à profit les réalisations de Mitacs, qui a créé 1 650 stages pour les étudiants des cycles supérieurs et 111 bourses de recherche postdoctorales en Ontario depuis 2008.

Le gouvernement affecterait également 20 millions de dollars sur deux ans pour les centres d’accélération sur les campus qui faciliteraient l’élaboration d’activités d’entrepreneuriat dans les collèges et universités de l’Ontario. Cet investissement mettrait à profit l’expérience des centres existants, comme Digital Media Zone de l’Université Ryerson, Impact Centre de l’Université de Toronto, Student Development Fund de l’Université de Nipissing, Experience Entrepreneurship du Collège Conestoga et VeloCity Program de l’Université de Waterloo, où de nouvelles entreprises novatrices sont développées et lancent des produits sur le marché.

Fonds pour une meilleure adéquation entre la formation et l’emploi

Face à la nécessité de mieux coordonner les activités entre les entreprises, le monde du travail, les milieux de l’éducation et les jeunes pour cerner et régler les problèmes relatifs au développement des compétences et des talents, le gouvernement propose d’affecter 25 millions de dollars sur deux ans pour appuyer de nouveaux projets pilotes novateurs. Ce financement serait utilisé pour des programmes de formation axés sur les jeunes ayant pour but de renforcer les compétences d’innovation et de collaboration, et des initiatives provenant de groupes d’entreprises.

Le gouvernement consultera les jeunes, les jeunes professionnels et les partenaires communautaires à propos de la conception de cette stratégie, notamment par l’entremise du Conseil de la première ministre pour de meilleures perspectives pour la jeunesse.

DEMANDES DE RENSEIGNEMENTS DES MÉDIAS :
Susie Heath, bureau du ministre, 416 325-3645
Scott Blodgett, ministère des Finances, 416 325-0324

DEMANDES DE RENSEIGNEMENTS DU PUBLIC :
1 800 337-7222
ATS : 1 800 263-7776

ontario.ca/finances-nouvelles
Available in English