2013 Ontario Budget
Chapter II: Ontario's Economic Outlook and Fiscal Plan

Section F: Accountability, Transparency and Financial Management

The government is accountable to the public for the appropriate use of taxpayer dollars and for clearly communicating the objectives and results of how those dollars are spent. Ontario continues to pursue opportunities to strengthen accountability to the public, improve transparency in reporting on the use of taxpayers' money, and ensure effective stewardship over government funds.


Public-Sector Salary Disclosure

The government has taken additional actions to enhance the reporting and disclosure of salaries as required under the Public Sector Salary Disclosure Act, 1996 (PSSDA). In June 2012, the government amended the PSSDA to allow the Province to audit organizations subject to the act to help ensure full reporting compliance. In the fall of 2012, the Province also made a regulation under the PSSDA, which amended the definition of salary to include per diem payments made to appointees of government bodies and other non-profit organizations that are subject to the act. These changes have strengthened the accountability of all organizations subject to the PSSDA to properly comply with the reporting requirements of the act.

Improving Accountability

Ontario continues to make progress in strengthening oversight of its agencies and other government organizations to ensure that measures ministries are using are effective and up to date. Over the past year, the government's internal financial assurance and certification process has been updated to clarify and strengthen ministries' requirements for ensuring effective accountability mechanisms are in place regarding their agencies and other government organizations. These changes have increased focus on the evaluation of financial results and internal controls of these entities, including compliance with associated government directives and identification of risks and required mitigation. Ministries are incorporating these new requirements into their oversight processes.

As well, both ministry and corporate audit committees are proactively focusing on these entities' and ministry risks and process improvements, and ensuring effective support to ministries as they carry out their oversight responsibilities.


Transparent and timely government financial reporting is a cornerstone of effective public accountability. Each Budget communicates the government's fiscal plan and economic and social policy priorities. Informed by public consultations and stakeholder input, the fiscal plan included in the Budget is approved by the legislature and represents a benchmark against which future results will be measured.

Public-sector accounting standards, as determined by the Public Sector Accounting Board (PSAB) of the Canadian Institute of Chartered Accountants, establish how the financial activities of governments and public-sector organizations are measured, recorded and reported to the public. They are an essential building block for effective government decision-making, budgeting and transparent reporting of financial information. Consistency in presentation and measurement of planned and actual results enable the government to provide clear and understandable information to the public. This alignment between fiscal plans and financial reporting is common among senior governments in Canada. Ontario, like other senior Canadian governments, continues to support the PSAB standards and to provide input to the standard-setting process to ensure that the standards support transparency and accountability to the public, and enable sound fiscal policy decisions.

The PSAB initiated a project to review its accounting conceptual framework for the Canadian public sector in 2011. All Canadian senior governments, including Ontario, are supportive of PSAB's efforts to develop a sound conceptual framework for the Canadian public sector. This will help ensure that changes to PSAB's standards continue to serve the public interest and reflect the nature of accountability relationships between governments and the public. Without a sound conceptual framework, changes in accounting standards may not clearly reflect the economic substance of the government's activities and may negatively impact fiscal policy decisions. This could lead to governments having to reconsider the basis upon which they report in order to protect the public interest and ensure continued alignment between fiscal accountability and financial reporting in the future.

Ontario expects that PSAB will incorporate the results of its conceptual framework review into its current standards and any future proposals to ensure consistency and appropriateness.

Recent Developments in Public-Sector Accounting Standards

The PSAB has issued a number of changes to its standards for government financial reporting, including accounting for liabilities for contaminated sites, financial instruments and foreign currency. The government is currently evaluating the implementation impact of these standards on future financial reports of the Province. However, a preliminary assessment of the impacts of the new financial instruments and foreign currency standards has raised some concerns that these standards do not properly recognize the long-term nature of Ontario's borrowing program and that they will introduce volatility into the Province's net debt and annual surplus/deficit. Following similar concerns raised by other governments, PSAB is planning to review the application of financial instruments and foreign currency standards by December 31, 2013. Ontario supports PSAB's upcoming review of the standards and looks forward to providing additional details for PSAB's consideration.

Improving Reporting on Capital Assets

The government continues to take steps on increasing the transparency of financial reporting of its real estate portfolio. New public works construction (using the Alternative Financing and Procurement model) is now identified within each responsible ministry's appropriations. This allows the public to identify where these investments are made. Going forward, the government will undertake further efforts to increase transparency through improved and more detailed reporting of the real estate portfolio.

Financial Management

The government will introduce the proposed Interim Appropriation for 2013–14 Act, 2013. If approved by the legislature, this would provide the interim legal spending authority for anticipated 2013–14 spending, pending finalization of the 2013–14 Supply process.

Budget de l'Ontario 2013
Chapitre II : Perspectives économiques et plan financier de l’Ontario

Section F : Responsabilité, transparence et gestion financière

Le gouvernement a la responsabilité d’utiliser l’argent des contribuables de façon judicieuse et de communiquer clairement ses objectifs et les résultats des initiatives financées à l’aide des deniers publics. L’Ontario continue de chercher des moyens de renforcer sa reddition des comptes envers la population, d’améliorer la transparence des rapports sur la façon dont l’argent des contribuables est utilisé et de gérer les deniers publics de manière efficace et responsable.

Responsabilité

Divulgation des traitements dans le secteur public

Le gouvernement a pris des mesures supplémentaires pour améliorer le processus de divulgation des salaires comme l’exige la Loi de 1996 sur la divulgation des traitements dans le secteur public (la Loi). En juin 2012, le gouvernement a modifié la Loi pour permettre à la province de vérifier si les organismes qui y sont assujettis en respectent toutes les dispositions. Pendant l’automne 2012, la province a aussi adopté un règlement afférent, modifiant la définition de traitement afin d’y inclure la rémunération journalière des personnes nommées aux organismes gouvernementaux et aux autres organismes sans but lucratif assujettis à la Loi. Ces modifications ont renforcé les obligations de tous les organismes assujettis à la Loi quant au respect de ses dispositions en matière de divulgation.

Améliorer la responsabilisation

L’Ontario poursuit ses efforts pour renforcer la supervision de ses organismes et des autres entités gouvernementales et s’assurer que les mesures que les ministères appliquent sont efficaces et actuelles. Au cours de la dernière année, le processus interne de garanties financières et d’accréditation du gouvernement a été mis à jour afin de clarifier et de renforcer les exigences des ministères pour s’assurer que des mécanismes de reddition des comptes efficaces sont en place au sein de leurs organismes et des autres entités gouvernementales. Ces changements ont attiré l’attention sur l’évaluation des résultats financiers et les contrôles internes de ces organismes et entités, y compris l’observation des directives gouvernementales et l’identification des risques et des mesures d’atténuation requises. Les ministères intègrent ces nouvelles exigences à leurs processus de supervision.

En outre, des comités de vérification ministériels et gouvernementaux dirigent proactivement leurs efforts sur les risques et l’amélioration des processus de ces ministères et entités, en plus de veiller au soutien efficace des ministères dans leurs activités de supervision.

Transparence

Des rapports financiers transparents, présentés en temps opportun, sont un élément essentiel à un processus efficace de reddition de comptes au public. Chaque budget présente les priorités du gouvernement au chapitre des finances, de l’économie et des politiques sociales. Le plan financier inclus dans le budget, qui tient compte des résultats des consultations publiques et des commentaires des parties prenantes, est approuvé par l’Assemblée législative et constitue un point de référence à l’aune duquel les futurs résultats seront mesurés.

Les normes comptables pour le secteur public, qui sont établies par le Conseil sur la comptabilité dans le secteur public (CCSP) de l’Institut canadien des comptables agréées, déterminent la façon dont les activités financières des gouvernements et des organismes du secteur public sont quantifiées, comptabilisées et présentées au public. Ces normes sont essentielles à une prise de décisions efficace, à la préparation des budgets et à une information financière transparente. Grâce à cette uniformisation des rapports et des mesures des résultats prévus et réels, le gouvernement peut présenter au public des rapports transparents et compréhensibles. Cette harmonisation entre les plans et les rapports financiers est commune parmi les gouvernements de palier supérieur au Canada. L’Ontario, comme ces autres gouvernements, continue d’appuyer les normes du CCSP et de participer à leur établissement pour s’assurer qu’elles favorisent la transparence et la reddition de comptes, et permettent une prise de décisions budgétaires judicieuses.

En 2011, le CCSP a entrepris un projet d’examen de son cadre comptable conceptuel pour le secteur public canadien. Tous les gouvernements de palier supérieur, dont l’Ontario, appuient les efforts que le CCSP déploie afin d’établir un solide cadre conceptuel pour le secteur public à l’échelle du pays. Cela permettra de s’assurer que les modifications apportées aux normes du CCSP continuent de servir l’intérêt général et reflètent la nature des relations redditionnelles entre les gouvernements et le public. Sans un solide cadre conceptuel, les modifications apportées aux normes comptables risquent de ne pas refléter clairement la réalité économique des activités du gouvernement et peuvent avoir une incidence négative sur les décisions budgétaires. Les gouvernements pourraient alors être obligés de revenir sur les principes de présentation de l’information pour protéger l’intérêt général et veiller à ce que la responsabilité budgétaire soit en permanence alignée sur la présentation de l’information financière.

L’Ontario s’attend à ce que le CCSP intègre les résultats de son examen du cadre conceptuel aux normes actuelles et aux futures propositions pour en assurer la cohérence et la pertinence.

Nouveautés au chapitre des normes comptables du secteur public

Le CCSP a apporté un certain nombre de changements à ses normes relatives à la présentation de l’information financière par le gouvernement, y compris la comptabilité des passifs associés aux sites contaminés, des instruments financiers et des devises étrangères. Le gouvernement évalue actuellement l’incidence de la mise en oeuvre de ces normes sur les futurs rapports financiers de la province. Toutefois, une évaluation préliminaire des répercussions des nouvelles normes relatives aux instruments financiers et aux devises étrangères a suscité quelques réserves, car ces normes ne reconnaissent pas de façon adéquate la nature à long terme du programme d’emprunt de l’Ontario et instaureront une certaine incertitude envers la dette nette et l’excédent ou le surplus annuel de la province. Réagissant aux questions soulevées par d’autres gouvernements à cet égard, le CCSP prévoit d’examiner l’application des normes relatives aux instruments financiers et aux devises étrangères d’ici le 31 décembre 2013. L’Ontario appuie le CCSP dans sa décision de revoir les normes et prévoit de proposer des détails supplémentaires au CCSP pour qu’il en tienne compte.

Améliorer la communication de l’information sur les immobilisations corporelles

Le gouvernement continue de prendre des mesures pour accroître la transparence de l’information financière concernant son portefeuille de biens immobiliers. Les nouveaux projets de travaux publics (réalisés selon le modèle de diversification des modes de financement et d’approvisionnement) sont désormais identifiés à l’intérieur des crédits de chaque ministère responsable. Ainsi, le public peut voir où vont ces investissements. Le gouvernement prendra d’autres mesures pour accroître la transparence en présentant des rapports améliorés et plus détaillés sur le portefeuille de biens immobiliers.

Gestion financière

Le gouvernement présentera la Loi de 2013 portant affectation anticipée de crédits pour 2013-2014. Si cette loi est adoptée par l’Assemblée législative, elle accordera le pouvoir légal provisoire d’engager les dépenses anticipées de 2013‑2014, en attendant la fin du processus d’examen des crédits de 2013-2014.