: Capital Markets Regulatory Authority Initial Board of Directors and New Implementation Timelines Announced

July 22, 2016

The Ministers responsible for capital markets regulation in British Columbia, Ontario, Saskatchewan, New Brunswick, Prince Edward Island and Yukon, and the Minister of Finance of Canada, have chosen the Capital Markets Regulatory Authority’s initial board of directors and set new timelines for implementing the Authority.

Pending the creation of the Authority, the 15 highly-qualified individuals chosen will serve as the board of directors for the Capital Markets Authority Implementation Organization, which will assist in the transition to and implementation of the Authority.

The implementation milestones related to passing legislation and launching the Authority set out in the Memorandum of Agreement Regarding the Cooperative Capital Markets Regulatory System have been amended. Participating jurisdictions will use their respective best efforts to enact the uniform provincial-territorial Capital Markets Act and the complementary federal Capital Markets Stability Act by June 30, 2018, with the Authority expected to be operational in 2018. The participating jurisdictions are committed to moving forward and taking the necessary time to ensure a successful launch of the Cooperative System with a smooth transition for market participants.

For more information on the Cooperative System, visit the Cooperative Capital Markets Regulatory System website.

: Annonce du premier conseil d’administration et du nouveau calendrier de mise sur pied de l’Autorité pour la réglementation des marchés des capitaux

22 juillet 2016

Les ministres responsables de la réglementation des marchés des capitaux en Colombie-Britannique, en Ontario, en Saskatchewan, au Nouveau-Brunswick, à l’Île‑du‑Prince‑Édouard et au Yukon, ainsi que le ministre des Finances du Canada, ont désigné le premier conseil d’administration de l’Autorité pour la réglementation des marchés des capitaux et ont fixé de nouveaux délais pour établir l’Autorité.

En attendant la création de l’Autorité, les 15 experts choisis constitueront le conseil d’administration de l’organisme de mise sur pied de l’Autorité pour la réglementation des marchés des capitaux, chargé d’apporter son aide à la transition et à la mise sur pied de l’Autorité.

Des modifications ont été apportées aux étapes de la mise en œuvre liées à l’adoption de lois et au lancement de l’Autorité qui sont décrites dans le protocole d’accord concernant le régime coopératif en matière de réglementation des marchés des capitaux. Les administrations membres déploieront tous leurs efforts pour adopter, d’ici le 30 juin 2018, la Loi sur les marchés des capitaux provinciale et territoriale et la Loi sur la stabilité des marchés des capitaux fédérale complémentaire. L’Autorité, quant à elle, devrait démarrer ses activités en 2018. Les administrations membres se sont engagées à aller de l’avant et à prendre le temps nécessaire pour assurer un lancement réussi du régime coopératif, avec une transition en douceur pour les acteurs du marché.

Pour en savoir davantage sur le régime coopératif, visitez le site Web du régime coopératif en matière de réglementation des marchés des capitaux.