2013 Ontario Budget

A Prosperous and Fair Ontario

Ontario is a great place to live and work. During the global recession, the people of Ontario worked together to protect our schools and hospitals and to invest in modern infrastructure. We worked together to protect and create jobs.

The Province enjoys strong economic fundamentals and our economy is recovering after the global recession. We have a highly educated, healthy and diverse workforce to support greater prosperity. Tax reform in recent years has turned Ontario into one of the most investment-friendly places to do business.

The people of Ontario expect their government to provide high quality public services. They also expect the cost of these services not to lead to unsustainable debt levels and high interest costs for future generations. That is why the government is committed to eliminating the deficit by 2017–18 and then reducing the net debt-to-GDP ratio to the pre-recession level of 27 per cent.

We are taking a balanced approach to eliminating the deficit. Across-the-board cuts would hurt Ontario’s sensitive economic recovery. Keeping growth in program spending at low levels allows us to make smart investments for Ontario’s long-term prosperity while balancing the budget.

A Plan for Jobs and Growth

The government’s role in job creation is to encourage the right environment for businesses and entrepreneurs to take risks, make investments, create jobs and drive innovation.

The single most important thing the government can do to secure Ontario’s prosperity is to eliminate the deficit. The deficit for 2012–13 is now estimated to be $9.8 billion — a $5 billion improvement compared with the 2012 Budget forecast.

The fiscal year that just ended marks the fourth year in a row that Ontario has reported a lower deficit than forecast — the only government in Canada to achieve this level of success. It also marks the second year in a row where the rate of growth in program spending is projected to be less than 1 per cent. The deficit projection for 2013–14 is $11.7 billion, an improvement of more than $1 billion from the projection in last year’s Budget.

However, since the 2012 Budget, expectations for global economic growth have weakened. European economies are in recession and the growth in emerging-market economies has slowed. Ontario still relies heavily on the U.S. economy as a major export market and the province faces significant challenges as a result of a high dollar and low productivity growth.

Acknowledging these challenges and working with business, labour and other key partners to deal with them head-on will position Ontario for stronger growth.

The government’s economic plan will help Ontario face these challenges and stimulate growth:

  • Ontario will promote its competitive business climate to attract new investment and jobs.
  • Investments in modern infrastructure will continue. The 2013 Budget provides more than $35 billion for infrastructure investments over the next three years, including a new fund to help small and rural municipalities build roads, bridges and other critical infrastructure.
  • The Province will invest in skills and education for its workforce. The 2013 Budget proposes a comprehensive Youth Jobs Strategy that invests $295 million over two years. The strategy would generate job opportunities for about 30,000 youth.
  • We will strengthen the ability of Ontario’s entrepreneurs to innovate and transform ideas into goods and services for global markets. This includes increasing access to capital, promoting arts and culture, and making it easier for manufacturers to invest in new machinery and equipment.
  • The government will work with business to expand global market access for Ontario goods and services.
  • Ontario will help its communities and regional economies benefit from opportunities. Key measures include promoting local food and reducing electricity costs for mining and forestry companies in the North. The government will also consider a range of new revenue tools to support the expansion of transportation and public transit in the Greater Toronto and Hamilton Area.

The new government is committed to helping all Ontarians succeed, no matter where they live — in the north, in rural communities or in urban centres. All of us should be able to thrive and enjoy a high standard of living in our vibrant communities.

A Fair Society

Ontario’s economic performance is stronger when everyone has the opportunity to be gainfully employed, to participate in the life of their communities and to contribute to the prosperity of our province.

The government’s plan for increasing prosperity and building a fair society involves continued investment in health care, education and the environment, and transforming social assistance. This transformation will help more people find employment and provide better financial security. The government will also help more people save for retirement. Ontario will improve opportunities for youth, people with disabilities and Aboriginal people, and it will protect the most vulnerable.

The new Ontario government is proposing to remove barriers to employment and improving financial security for people who receive social assistance:

  • Create a $200 monthly earnings exemption for people who receive funding from Ontario Works and the Ontario Disability Support Program (ODSP).
  • Increase social assistance rates by one per cent.
  • Improving the benefit rate of Ontario Works single adults without children — the group of social assistance recipients that experiences the lowest income — with a monthly top-up.
  • Increase cash and other liquid asset limits for people who receive Ontario Works.

Ontario is transforming health care services so that more people receive the care they need on a more timely basis.

  • The 2012 Budget committed to increasing investment in home care and community services by an average of four per cent per year. The 2013 Budget proposes an additional one per cent per year — for a total increase of over $700 million by 2015–16 compared to 2012–13.

In the 2011 Budget, the government introduced the Ontario Trillium Benefit (OTB), which combined payments of three different tax credits to help people pay their bills as they arrive. Some people have asked for the ability to choose between monthly payments and one annual lump sum. The 2013 Budget announces this option.

Path to Balance

Eliminating the deficit is the single most important step the Province can take to grow the economy and create jobs. The government is strongly committed to eliminating the deficit by 2017–18 — and to lowering the net debt-to-GDP ratio to the pre-recession level of 27 per cent once it balances the budget.

Ontario is beating its fiscal targets, due in part to its transformation of how it delivers public services. Over the last year, the government began moving forward with about half of the recommendations made by the Commission on the Reform of Ontario’s Public Services. This year, the government will continue to move forward with a total of 60 per cent of the recommendations.

The government is also appointing a technical panel to identify savings in business support programs and refundable tax credits as recommended by the Jobs and Prosperity Council. Businesses in Ontario enjoy a very competitive tax environment. The technical panel will report back in six months with recommendations that will include restructuring, discontinuing, maintaining or replacing some credits with grants to ensure they are producing effective results that create jobs.

Ontario is also working closely with the federal government to close tax loopholes and to combat the underground economy. These are the right things to do to ensure everyone is paying their fair share to protect public services and eliminate the deficit.


Ontario is a province with tremendous diversity and a strong economic foundation. In the face of global economic challenges, we continue to outperform many parts of the world.

As the Province moves forward through a sensitive economic recovery, we are taking a balanced approach to eliminate the deficit and make smart investments for long-term economic growth. Eliminating the deficit strengthens our economy and helps protect public services, like schools and hospitals, which matter to people. These investments will help Ontario seize opportunities to compete in the global economy and create jobs here at home.

The government is effectively managing the rate of growth in spending to keep Ontario on track to eliminate the deficit by 2017–18. It is also making strategic investments to strengthen the economy.

The new government is committed to helping all Ontarians succeed. Taking a balanced approach to strengthening the economy will help build a prosperous and fair Ontario for all.

[Original signed by]

The Honourable Charles Sousa
Minister of Finance

Avant-propos

Un Ontario prospère et équitable

L’Ontario est un endroit où il fait bon vivre et travailler. Pendant la récession mondiale, la population ontarienne s’est serré les coudes afin de protéger ses écoles et ses hôpitaux et d’investir dans une infrastructure moderne. Nous avons travaillé ensemble pour préserver et créer des emplois.

Les assises économiques de l’Ontario sont solides et son économie est en voie de se rétablir après la récession mondiale. Très scolarisée, saine et diversifiée, sa main-d’oeuvre est porteuse de prospérité. La réforme du régime fiscal de ces dernières années en a fait l’un des endroits les plus propices aux affaires et aux investissements.

La population de l’Ontario compte sur son gouvernement pour lui offrir des services publics de qualité. Elle espère également que le coût de ces services n’entraînera pas des niveaux d’endettement insoutenables et des frais d’intérêt élevés qui accableront les futures générations. Le gouvernement est donc déterminé à éliminer le déficit d’ici 2017‑2018, puis à réduire le rapport dette nette‑PIB pour le faire passer à son niveau d’avant la récession, qui était de 27 %.

Nous adoptons une approche équilibrée pour éliminer le déficit. Des compressions arbitraires générales nuiraient à la délicate reprise économique de l’Ontario. En maintenant la croissance des dépenses de programmes à un faible niveau, nous pouvons faire des investissements judicieux pour favoriser la prospérité à long terme de l’Ontario tout en équilibrant le budget.

Un plan pour l’emploi et la croissance

Au chapitre de la création d’emplois, le gouvernement a pour rôle de favoriser un environnement propice aux affaires où les entrepreneurs peuvent prendre des risques, faire des investissements, générer des emplois et stimuler l’innovation.

L’élimination du déficit est, à elle seule, la décision la plus importante que le gouvernement puisse prendre pour assurer la prospérité de l’Ontario. On prévoit maintenant que le déficit de 2012‑2013 s’établira à 9,8 milliards de dollars, soit 5 milliards de dollars de moins que les prévisions du budget de 2012.

L’exercice financier qui vient de s’achever marque la quatrième année de suite où l’Ontario annonce un déficit inférieur aux prévisions; notre gouvernement est le seul au Canada à atteindre ce niveau de succès. C’est aussi la deuxième année de suite où la hausse des dépenses de programmes devrait s’élever à moins de 1 %. Pour 2013‑2014, on prévoit que le déficit s’établira à 11,7 milliards de dollars, ce qui constitue une amélioration de plus de 1 milliard de dollars par rapport aux prévisions du budget de l’année dernière.

Cependant, depuis le budget de 2012, les attentes quant à la croissance économique mondiale se sont affaiblies. Certains pays européens sont en récession et la croissance des économies émergentes a ralenti. L’Ontario, qui dépend toujours fortement de l’économie américaine, son principal marché d’exportation, doit relever des défis de taille en raison de la force du dollar canadien et de la faible croissance de la productivité.

En reconnaissant ces défis et en collaborant avec les entreprises, les travailleurs et d’autres partenaires clés pour y faire face, l’Ontario se donnera les moyens de stimuler sa croissance.

Le plan économique du gouvernement aidera l’Ontario à relever ces défis et à favoriser la croissance :

  • L’Ontario fera la promotion de son climat des affaires concurrentiel afin d’attirer de nouveaux investissements et des emplois.
  • Les investissements dans une infrastructure moderne se poursuivront. Le budget de 2013 prévoit des investissements de plus de 35 milliards de dollars pour l’infrastructure au cours des trois prochaines années, y compris un nouveau fonds destiné aux petites municipalités et aux collectivités rurales pour la construction de routes, de ponts et d’autres infrastructures essentielles.
  • La province investira dans l’enseignement et la formation professionnelle de sa main-d’oeuvre. Le budget de 2013 propose une stratégie d’emploi sur deux ans, dotée de 295 millions de dollars, afin de créer des possibilités d’emploi pour environ 30 000 jeunes.
  • Nous renforcerons la capacité des entrepreneurs de l’Ontario à innover et à transformer les idées en produits et en services destinés aux marchés mondiaux. Pour ce faire, nous favoriserons l’accès aux capitaux, ferons la promotion des arts et de la culture et ferons en sorte qu’il soit plus facile pour les fabricants d’investir dans les machines et le matériel.
  • Le gouvernement travaillera avec les entreprises afin d’ouvrir encore plus les marchés mondiaux aux produits et aux services ontariens.
  • L’Ontario aidera les collectivités et les économies régionales à jouir de meilleures possibilités. La promotion des aliments locaux et la réduction des frais d’électricité pour les compagnies minières et forestières dans le Nord de la province figurent parmi les mesures clés que nous prendrons. Le gouvernement examinera aussi de nouveaux moyens de générer des revenus afin d’appuyer l’expansion des réseaux de transport et de transport en commun dans la région du grand Toronto et de Hamilton.

Le nouveau gouvernement est déterminé à aider tous les Ontariens et les Ontariennes à réussir, où qu’ils vivent : dans le Nord, en milieu rural ou dans un centre urbain. Tous les habitants de nos collectivités dynamiques devraient pouvoir prospérer et jouir d’un niveau de vie élevé.

Une société équitable

L’économie de l’Ontario sera plus forte si tout le monde a la possibilité d’avoir un emploi rémunéré, de participer à la vie communautaire locale et de contribuer à la prospérité de la province.

Le plan du gouvernement visant à stimuler la prospérité et à bâtir une société équitable nécessite la poursuite des investissements dans la santé, l’éducation et l’environnement, ainsi que la transformation de l’aide sociale. Cette transformation aidera davantage de personnes à trouver un emploi et procurera une meilleure sécurité financière. Le gouvernement aidera aussi plus de gens à épargner pour leur retraite. L’Ontario améliorera les possibilités pour les jeunes, les personnes handicapées et les Autochtones, et protégera les personnes les plus vulnérables.

Le nouveau gouvernement de l’Ontario propose de supprimer les obstacles à l’emploi et d’améliorer la sécurité financière des personnes qui reçoivent des prestations d’aide sociale :

  • en instaurant une exemption de gains de 200 $ par mois pour les personnes qui reçoivent des prestations du programme Ontario au travail ou du Programme ontarien de soutien aux personnes handicapées (POSPH);
  • en augmentant de 1 % les taux de l’aide sociale;
  • en bonifiant le taux des prestations versées par le programme Ontario au travail aux adultes vivant seuls, sans enfants, au moyen d’un supplément mensuel; ces personnes constituent le groupe de bénéficiaires de l’aide sociale dont le revenu est le plus faible;
  • en majorant le plafond s’appliquant aux espèces et à l’avoir liquide dans le cas des bénéficiaires de prestations du programme Ontario au travail.

L’Ontario transforme les services de santé pour que davantage de citoyens reçoivent les soins dont ils ont besoin, plus rapidement.

  • Dans le budget de 2012, le gouvernement s’est engagé à accroître les investissements dans les soins à domicile et les services communautaires de 4 % par année en moyenne. Le budget de 2013 propose une augmentation de 1 % de plus par année, pour une hausse totale supérieure à 700 millions de dollars d’ici 2015‑2016 par rapport à 2012‑2013.

Dans le budget de 2011, le gouvernement a créé la Prestation Trillium de l’Ontario, qui réunissait en un seul versement trois crédits d’impôt pour aider les gens à payer leurs factures en temps opportun. Certaines personnes ont indiqué qu’elles souhaitaient avoir le choix entre des paiements mensuels ou un seul versement annuel. Le budget de 2013 annonce cette option.

La voie vers l’équilibre

Éliminer le déficit est la décision la plus importante que la province puisse prendre pour stimuler l’économie et créer des emplois. Le gouvernement est déterminé à éliminer le déficit d’ici 2017‑2018 et, une fois le budget équilibré, à réduire le rapport dette nette‑PIB pour le ramener au niveau de 27 % enregistré avant la récession.

L’Ontario est en train de dépasser ses objectifs financiers, grâce en partie à la refonte de la prestation des services publics. L’année dernière, le gouvernement a commencé à concrétiser environ la moitié des recommandations de la Commission de réforme des services publics de l’Ontario. Cette année, il continuera de déployer des efforts afin que 60 % des recommandations aient été mises en oeuvre.

Par ailleurs, le gouvernement forme un groupe technique pour trouver des économies dans les programmes de soutien aux entreprises et les crédits d’impôt remboursables, comme l’a recommandé le Conseil pour l’emploi et la prospérité. Les entreprises ontariennes jouissent d’un contexte fiscal très concurrentiel. Dans six mois, le groupe technique formulera ses recommandations qui porteront, entre autres, sur la restructuration, l’élimination ou le maintien de certains crédits d’impôt, ou leur remplacement par des subventions qui permettront une plus grande efficacité et la création d’emplois.

L’Ontario collabore aussi étroitement avec le gouvernement fédéral pour éliminer les échappatoires fiscales et lutter contre l’économie souterraine. Ces mesures sont nécessaires si on veut que tout le monde paie sa juste part, de manière à protéger les services publics et éliminer le déficit.

Conclusion

L’Ontario est une province qui jouit d’une extraordinaire diversité et de solides assises économiques. Face aux défis économiques mondiaux, nous continuons à devancer bien des régions du monde.

Alors que la province va de l’avant au milieu d’une reprise économique fragile, nous adoptons des mesures équilibrées afin d’éliminer le déficit et de faire des investissements judicieux qui favoriseront la croissance économique à long terme. En éliminant le déficit, nous renforçons notre économie et protégeons les services publics, comme les écoles et les hôpitaux, qui sont importants pour la population. Ces investissements permettront à l’Ontario de saisir les occasions de soutenir la concurrence sur les marchés mondiaux et de créer des emplois dans la province.

Le gouvernement gère efficacement la hausse des dépenses, afin de maintenir le cap sur son engagement d’éliminer le déficit d’ici 2017‑2018. Il fait aussi des investissements stratégiques pour consolider l’économie.

Le nouveau gouvernement est déterminé à aider tous les Ontariens et les Ontariennes à réussir. En adoptant une approche équilibrée pour renforcer l’économie, nous édifierons un Ontario prospère et équitable pour tous.

[Original signé par]

L’honorable Charles Sousa
Ministre des Finances