Ontario Political Contributions

Bulletin 3002
Published: October 2005
Content last reviewed: November 2010
ISBN: 0-7794-2154-X (PDF)

Publication Archived

Notice to the reader: Effective January 1, 2009, the Canada Revenue Agency (CRA) administers Ontario's corporate income tax, capital tax, corporate minimum tax, and the special additional tax on life insurers.

As a result, the Corporations Tax Act provisions described on this page and in other publications are only applicable to taxation years ending December 31, 2008 and prior.

For taxation years beginning January 1, 2009, the Taxation Act rules apply.

This publication was archived and kept for historical purposes. Use caution when you refer to it, since it reflects the law in force at the time it was released and may no longer apply.

References: Section 36

Application

This bulletin replaces Interpretation Bulletin 3002R published March 2004. This bulletin sets out the policy of the Corporations Tax Branch (Branch) in respect of Ontario political contributions. This bulletin is provided as a guide to taxpayers and is not intended as a substitute for the relevant legislation. Any references to legislation are to the provisions of the Corporations Tax Act (Ontario) (CTA) and its Regulations, unless otherwise noted.

Explanation of Changes

This interpretation bulletin is revised due to an increase in the contribution limits specified and the maximum deduction allowed for contributions made after December 31, 2003.

Paragraph 2:
The paragraph has been expanded to clarify the non-deductibility of political contributions made outside Ontario.

Paragraph 3:
Pursuant to sub-clause 36(1)(a)(iii) of the CTA, the maximum deduction allowed for political contributions in computing a corporation's taxable income for a taxation year has been increased from $15,000 to $16,800 for contributions made after December 31, 2003 and before January 1, 2009.

Paragraphs 4 and 5:
These new paragraphs describe the increase in the maximum deduction for taxation years that straddle the effective date of January 1, 2004.

Paragraph 6:
This paragraph has been expanded to illustrate how the total deduction is reduced when it exceeds taxable income computed before deducting the contributions.

Paragraph 8:
This new paragraph clarifies whether the deduction is reduced for short taxation years.

Paragraph 10:
Former paragraph 8 has been expanded to include the current contribution limits. In accordance with clause 40.1(1)(a) of the Election Finances Act (EFA), the contribution limits are adjusted by an indexation factor every five years. For the first five-year period (1999 to 2003 calendar years), the indexation factor was 1. It has been increased to 1.12 for the next five year period effective January 1, 2004 (2004 to 2008 calendar years).

Paragraph 11:
Former paragraph 9 has been revised to include the current indexation factor. The indexation factor is defined in section 40.1 of the EFA as the percentage change in the Canadian Consumer Price Index over the previous five-year period.

In addition to the above changes, we have renumbered some paragraphs and updated certain information.

Deductible Political Contributions

  1. Section 36 provides a deduction from Ontario net income for eligible Ontario political contributions made by a corporation. Eligible Ontario political contributions are contributions made under the EFA to Ontario parties and constituency associations or to candidates in an Ontario election.
  2. Ontario does not allow a deduction or tax credit for contributions made to a political party or constituency association established outside Ontario, or a candidate normally resident outside Ontario. Also, Ontario does not allow any deduction or tax credit for contributions made in respect of federal or municipal elections and candidates. However, federal political contributions may be eligible for a tax credit from the federal government and municipal political contributions may be eligible for a rebate from a municipal government. Corporations should refer to the applicable federal and municipal legislation for entitlement to such credits and rebates.

Calculating and Claiming the Deduction

  1. Pursuant to clause 36(1)(a), the maximum deduction allowed for political contributions in computing a corporation's taxable income for a taxation year, prior to the gross-up adjustment discussed in paragraph 7, is the least of:
    1. the total eligible contributions made in the current year plus any undeducted eligible contributions made in prior years,
    2. the corporation's taxable income for the taxation year before the deduction for eligible contributions, and
    3. the deduction limit which is $16,800 for contributions made after December 31, 2003 and before January 1, 2009, or $15,000 for contributions made after December 31, 1998 and before January 1, 2004.

Taxation Years Straddling January 1, 2004

  1. For a taxation year straddling the effective date of January 1, 2004, the deduction for the taxation year must be calculated separately for the contributions made before January 1, 2004 and the contributions made after December 31, 2003.
  2. The following example illustrates a taxation year straddling January 1, 2004.

    Corporation A has a June 30, 2004 taxation year end. Total eligible contributions are $16,500 for the taxation year, with $16,000 made before January 1, 2004 and $500 made after December 31, 2003. There are no undeducted contributions carried forward from prior taxation years.

    Deduction allowed for 2003 contributions:
    Lesser of:

    • the amount contributed $ 16,000
    • the deduction limit $ 15,000
      Deduction = $15,000
      Undeducted contributions = $1,000

    Deduction allowed for 2004 contributions:
    Lesser of:

    • the amount contributed (see Note 1) $ 500

    • the deduction limit (see Note 2) $ 1,800
      Deduction = $500
      Undeducted contributions = Nil

      Note 1 The undeducted 2003 contributions ($1,000) cannot be added to the amount contributed under the 2004 calculation rather, they must be carried forward to the 2005 taxation year.

      Note 2 The deduction limit for the 2004 contributions is reduced by the deduction allowed for the 2003 contributions ($16,800 - $15,000 = $1,800).

    • Subject to a limit for the taxable income of the corporation, the total deduction for the 2004 taxation year is $15,500 and the carry forward to the 2005 taxation year is $1,000.

  1. Pursuant to subclause 36(1)(a)(ii), the deduction for eligible election contributions is limited to the taxable income of the corporation prior to the deduction of election contributions and may not create a loss. Any portion of eligible Ontario election contributions which cannot be deducted in a particular year can be carried forward indefinitely for deduction in subsequent taxation years.

    Continuing the example from paragraph 5, with the additional assumption that the taxable income of the corporation for the 2004 taxation year is $5,000, the following illustrates how the total deduction is further reduced to the extent it exceeds taxable income computed before deducting the contributions. Any further reduction would be added to the carry forward.

    The maximum deduction allowed is the lesser of:

    • Total deduction allowed for the 2004 taxation year $ 15,500
    • Taxable income for the 2004 taxation year $ 5,000

The total deduction for the 2004 taxation year is limited to $5,000 and the carry forward to the 2005 taxation year is increased to $11,500.

Less Than 100% Allocation to Ontario

  1. The deduction for Ontario political contributions applies only to Ontario income. Where the corporation allocates a portion of its taxable income to other jurisdictions, a portion of the benefit of the deduction for eligible Ontario political contributions allowed in computing Ontario taxable income would be lost. To ensure that the full benefit of the political contributions deduction is recognized for Ontario tax purposes, subsection 36(3) effectively provides for a "gross-up" of political contributions. The grossed-up political contributions deduction equals:

    Eligible political contributions / Ontario allocation percentage

    For example, consider a corporation which made $12,000 of eligible political contributions in the year. The corporation allocates 60 per cent of its taxable income to Ontario. The grossed-up deduction for Ontario political contributions would be: $12,000 / 60% = $20,000

Short Taxation Years

  1. The number of days in a taxation year is not relevant for calculating the deduction of political contributions. The deduction is not reduced for a short taxation year.

Election Finances Act: Contribution Limits

  1. The CTA sets out the maximum amount of political contributions which may be deducted to arrive at taxable income. Subsection 18(1) of the EFA sets limits on the amounts that a corporation may contribute in any year to each registered provincial party, registered constituency association or registered candidate.
  2. The new contribution limits along with the previous contribution limits are:

    Maximum Contributions Allowed under subsection 18(1) of the EFA For Calendar Years 1999-2003 For Calendar Years 2004-2008
    In Any Calendar Year During a Campaign Period In Any Calendar Year During a Campaign Period
    To each Registered Party (Notes) $7,500 $7,500 $8,400 $8,400
    To each Constituency Association $1,000 $Nil $1,120 $Nil
    To all Constituency Associations $5,000 $Nil $5,600 $Nil
    To each Candidate $Nil $1,000 $Nil $1,120
    To all Candidates endorsed by any one party $Nil $5,000 $Nil $5,600

    Note 1 A campaign period is treated as a separate calendar year for contributions to a registered party; therefore, an additional $7,500 / $8,400 contribution, depending on the calendar year, is permitted to each registered party during an election.

    Note 2 If a campaign period falls partly in 2003 and partly in 2004, it is deemed to fall entirely in 2003 as per subsection 40.1(4) of the EFA.

Election Finances Act: Indexation of Contribution Limits

  1. The maximum deduction discussed in paragraph 3 and the maximum contribution limits discussed in paragraph 10 are adjusted by an indexation factor every five years. The indexation factor is defined in section 40.1 of the EFA as the percentage change in the Canadian Consumer Price Index over the previous five-year period. The current indexation factor is 1.12 and covers calendar years 2004 to 2008 inclusive.
  2. Further information concerning the EFA can be obtained from:

    Elections Ontario - Election Finances
    51 Rolark Drive
    Toronto, Ontario M1R 3B1
    Telephone: 416 325-9401 or 1 800 566-9066
    Facsimile: 416 325-9466
    Website: www.electionsontario.on.ca

Official Receipts

  1. Under the CTA, corporations are required to file official receipts with their tax return in which a deduction is being claimed. Administratively, the Ministry of Finance no longer requires this practice. However, a schedule which lists the contributions should be attached to the return and the receipts should be retained for review, if requested by the Ministry. Deductions which cannot be supported by official receipts will be disallowed.
 
Page: 489  |

Contributions politiques en Ontario

Bulletin 3002
Date de publication : octobre 2005
Dernière mise à jour : novembre 2010
ISBN: 0-7794-2177-9 (PDF)

Publication archivées

Avis aux lecteurs : A compter du 1er janvier 2009, l'Agence du revenu du Canada (ARC) administre l'impôt sur le revenu des sociétés, l'impôt sur le capital, l'impôt minimum des sociétés, et l'impôt supplémentaire spécial des compagnies d'assurance-vie de l'Ontario.

En conséquence, les dispositions de la Loi sur l'imposition des sociétés décrites sur cette page et dans d'autres publications sont applicables qu'aux années d'imposition se terminant le ou avant le 31 décembre 2008.

Pour les années d'imposition commençant le 1er janvier 2009, les dispositions de la Loi de 2007 sur les impôts s'appliquent.

Cette publication fait partie des archives pour des raisons historiques. Puisque ce document reflète la loi qui était en vigueur au moment où il fut publié et peut ne plus être valide, veuillez l'utiliser avec prudence.

Référence : article 36

Application

Le présent bulletin remplace le bulletin d'interprétation 3002FR publié en mars 2004. Il expose la politique du ministère, Section de l'imposition des sociétés concernant les contributions politiques en Ontario. Ce bulletin se destine à servir de guide à l'intention des contribuables et ne remplace aucunement la loi pertinente. Toute référence à la loi porte sur les dispositions de la Loi sur l'imposition des sociétés (Ontario) (LIS) et les règlements afférents, à moins d'indication contraire.

Explication des modifications

Le présent bulletin d'interprétation révisé fait suite à une augmentation des plafonds des contributions indiqués et de la déduction maximale accordée sur les contributions effectuées après le 31 décembre 2003.

Paragraphe 2 :
Ce paragraphe est plus détaillé afin de clarifier la question de la non-déductibilité des contributions politiques effectuées à l'extérieur de l'Ontario.

Paragraphe 3 :
Aux termes du sous-alinéa 36 (1)(a) (iii) de la LIS, la déduction maximale accordée pour des contributions politiques dans le calcul du revenu imposable d'une société pour une année d'imposition donnée est passée de 15 000 $ à 16 800 $ pour les contributions versées après le 31 décembre 2003 et avant le 1er janvier 2009.

Paragraphes 4 et 5 :
Ces nouveaux paragraphes décrivent l'augmentation de la déduction maximale pour les années d'imposition chevauchant la date d'entrée en vigueur du 1er janvier 2004.

Paragraphe 6 :
Ce paragraphe est plus détaillé afin de montrer comment la déduction totale est réduite lorsqu'elle dépasse le revenu imposable calculé avant la déduction des contributions.

Paragraphe 8 :
Ce nouveau paragraphe explique si la deduction doit être réduite dans le cas des années d'imposition abrégées.

Paragraphe 10 :
L'ancien paragraphe 8 a été révisé afin d'inclure le plafond actuel des contributions. Conformément à l'alinéa 40.1 (1)(a) de la Loi sur le financement des élections (LFÉ), les plafonds des contributions sont rajustés par un facteur d'indexation tous les cinq ans. Dans le cas de la première période de cinq ans (années civiles 1999 à 2003), le facteur d'indexation était de 1. Il est passé à 1,12 pour la deuxième période de cinq ans, à compter du 1er janvier 2004 (années civiles 2004 à 2008).

Paragraphe 11 :
L'ancien paragraphe 9 a été modifié afin d'inclure le facteur d'indexation actuel. Le facteur d'indexation est défini au paragraphe 40.1 de la Loi sur le financement des élections en tant que taux de variation de l'indice canadien des prix à la consommation, par rapport à la précédente période de cinq ans.

Outre les modifications précisées ci-dessus, nous avons changé les numéros de certains paragraphes et mis à jour certains renseignements.

Contributions politiques déductibles

  1. L'article 36 prévoit une déduction du revenu net de l'Ontario relativement aux contributions politiques admissibles effectuées par une société en Ontario. Les contributions politiques admissibles en Ontario sont celles versées en vertu de la LFÉ à des partis politiques et associations de circonscriptions de l'Ontario ou à des candidats inscrits à une élection en Ontario.
  2. L'Ontario n'accorde ni déduction ni crédit d'impôt dans le cas de contributions versées à un parti politique ou à une association de circonscription établis à l'extérieur de l'Ontario, ou à un(e) candidat(e) résidant habituellement à l'extérieur de l'Ontario. De plus, l'Ontario n'accorde pas de déduction ni de crédit d'impôt dans le cas de contributions versées en rapport avec des élections fédérales ou municipales ou à des candidats participant à de telles élections. Toutefois, les contributions politiques fédérales peuvent donner droit à un crédit d'impôt du gouvernement fédéral, et les contributions politiques municipales, à une remise accordée par une administration municipale. Les sociétés doivent consulter à cet égard la loi fédérale ou municipale applicable pour connaître le montant des crédits ou remises auquel elles peuvent avoir droit.

Calcul et demande de la déduction

  1. Aux termes de l'alinéa 36 (1)(a), lors du calcul du revenu imposable d'une société pour une année d'imposition donnée, la déduction maximale accordée pour des contributions politiques, avant la majoration décrite au paragraphe 7, correspond au moindre des montants suivants :
    1. le total des contributions admissibles versées au cours de l'année plus toute contribution admissible versée lors d'années précédentes et non déduite,
    2. le revenu imposable de la société pour l'année d'imposition avant déduction des contributions admissibles, et
    3. le plafond de la déduction, qui s'élève à 16 800 $ pour les contributions versées après le 31 décembre 2003 et avant le 1er janvier 2009, ou à 15 000 $ pour les contributions versées après le 31 décembre 1998 et avant le 1er janvier 2004.

Année d'imposition chevauchant le 1er janvier 2004

  1. Dans le cas d'une année d'imposition chevauchant la date d'entrée en vigueur du 1er janvier 2004, la déduction applicable à l'année d'imposition doit être calculée séparément pour les contributions versées avant le 1er janvier 2004 et pour celles versées après le 31 décembre 2003.
  2. L'exemple qui suit illustre une année d'imposition chevauchant le 1er janvier 2004.

    L'année d'imposition de la société A se termine le 30 juin 2004. Le total des contributions admissibles pour cette année d'imposition s'élève à 16 500 $, la somme de 16 000 $ ayant été versée avant le 1er janvier 2004 et la somme de 500 $ ayant été versée après le 31 décembre 2003. Il n'y a aucune contribution non déduite et reportée à partir d'années d'imposition précédentes.

    Déduction accordée pour les contributions de 2003 :
    Le moindre des deux montants suivants :

    • le montant de la contribution versée 16 000 $
    • le plafond de déduction 15 000 $

      Déduction = 15 000 $
      Contribution non déduite = 1 000 $

    Déduction accordée pour les contributions de 2004 :
    Le moindre des deux montants suivants :

    • le montant de la contribution versée (voir note 1) 500 $
    • le plafond de déduction (voir note 2) 1 800 $

      Déduction = 500 $
      Contribution non déduite : Aucune

      Note 1 : Les contributions non déduites de 2003 (1 000 $) ne peuvent être ajoutées au montant des contributions utilisé pour le calcul de 2004; elles doivent être reportées à l'année d'imposition 2005.

      Note 2 : Le plafond de déduction pour les contributions de 2004 est réduit de la déduction accordée pour les contributions de 2003 (16 800 $ − 15 000 $ = 1 800 $).

Sous réserve d'une limite du revenu imposable de la société, la déduction totale pour l'année d'imposition 2004 est de 15 500 $ et le montant à reporter pour l'année d'imposition 2005 est de 1 000 $.

  1. Aux termes du sous-alinéa 36 (1)(a)(ii), la déduction pour contributions électorales admissibles est limitée au revenu imposable de la société, avant déduction des contributions électorales, et ne peut entraîner une perte. Toute partie des contributions électorales admissibles versées en Ontario ne pouvant être déduite au cours d'une année donnée peut être reportée indéfiniment à des fins de déduction sur une année d'imposition ultérieure.

    Pour faire suite à l'exemple illustré au paragraphe 5, et en supposant que le revenu imposable de la société pour l'année d'imposition 2004 soit de 5 000 $, l'exemple qui suit montre à nouveau comment la déduction totale est réduite car elle dépasse le revenu imposable calculé avant la déduction des contributions. Toute autre réduction serait ajoutée au montant à reporter.

    La déduction maximale accordée correspond au moindre des deux montants suivants :

    • Déduction totale accordée pour l'année d'imposition 2004 15 500 $
    • Revenu imposable pour l'année d'imposition 2004 5 000 $

La déduction totale pour l'année d'imposition 2004 est limitée à 5 000 $ et le montant à reporter à l'année d'imposition 2005 est passé à 11 500 $.

Attribution de moins de 100 % en Ontario

  1. La déduction pour contributions politiques en Ontario s'applique uniquement au revenu gagné en Ontario. Si une société attribue une partie de son revenu imposable à d'autres territoires, une partie de l'avantage tiré de la déduction pour contributions politiques admissibles en Ontario, autorisée dans le calcul du revenu imposable de l'Ontario, sera alors perdue. Afin que l'avantage intégral de la déduction pour contributions politiques soit reconnu aux fins de l'impôt de l'Ontario, le paragraphe 36 (3) prévoit effectivement une « majoration » des contributions politiques. Ainsi, la déduction pour contributions politiques majorée correspond au montant suivant :

    Contributions politiques admissibles / Coefficient de répartition de l'Ontario

    Par exemple, prenons le cas d'une société ayant versé 12 000 $ en contributions politiques admissibles au cours de l'année. La société attribue 60 % de son revenu imposable à l'Ontario. La déduction pour contributions politiques en Ontario « majorée » serait de :

    12 000 $ / 60 % = 20 000 $

Années d'imposition abrégées

  1. Le nombre de jours dans l'année d'imposition n'a pas d'incidence sur le calcul de la déduction des contributions politiques. La déduction n'est pas réduite dans le cas d'une année d'imposition abrégée.

Loi sur le financement des élections : plafonds des contributions

  1. La Loi sur l'imposition des sociétés établit le montant maximum des contributions politiques pouvant être déduit dans le calcul du revenu imposable. Le paragraphe 18 (1) de la LFÉ établit le montant maximum qu'une société peut verser au cours d'une année donnée à chaque parti provincial inscrit, association de circonscription inscrite ou candidat(e) inscrit(e).

  2. Les nouveaux plafonds des contributions, ainsi que les plafonds précédents, sont les suivants :

    Contributions maximales autorisées en vertu du paragraphe 18(1) de la LFÉ Pour les années civiles 1999 à 2003 Pour les années civiles 2004 à 2008
    Pour toute année civile Durant une période de campagne électorale Pour toute année civile Durant une période decampagne électorale
    À chaque parti inscrit (Notes) 7 500 $ 7 500 $ 8 400 $ 8 400 $
    À chaque association de circonscription d'un parti 1 000 $ Néant $ 1 120 $ Néant $
    À toutes les associations de circonscription d'un parti 5 000 $ Néant $ 5 600 $ Néant $
    À chaque candidat(e) Néant $ 1 000 $ Néant $ 1 120 $
    À tous les candidats appuyés par un parti Néant $ 5 000 $ Néant $ 5 600 $

    Note 1 : Une période de campagne électorale est considérée comme une année civile distincte relativement aux contributions versées à un parti inscrit; par conséquent, le plafond des contributions est augmenté de 7 500 $ / 8 400 $, selon l'année civile, pour chaque parti inscrit durant une période électorale.

    Note 2 : Si une période de campagne électorale chevauche une partie de 2003 et une partie de 2004, elle est considérée comme étant survenue entièrement en 2003 conformément au paragraphe 40.1 (4) de la LFÉ.

Loi sur le financement des élections : Indexation des plafonds des contributions

  1. La déduction maximale énoncée au paragraphe 3 ainsi que les plafonds des contributions précisés au paragraphe 10 ci-dessus seront rajustés tous les cinq ans au moyen d'un facteur d'indexation. Aux termes de l'article 40.1 de la LFÉ, ce facteur d'indexation correspond au taux de variation de l'indice des prix à la consommation au cours de la période de cinq ans. Le facteur d'indexation actuel est de 1,12 et couvre les années civiles 2004 à 2008 inclusivement.

  2. Pour de plus amples renseignements concernant la LFÉ, s'adresser à :

    Élections Ontario - Bureau du financement des élections
    51 Rolark Drive
    Toronto (Ontario)  M1R 3B1
    Téléphone : 416 326-6300 ou 1 800 677-8683
    Télécopieur : 416 325-9466

    Site Web : www.electionsontario.on.ca

Reçus officiels

  1. En vertu de la LIS, toute société est tenue de joindre des reçus officiels à sa déclaration d'impôt lorsqu'une déduction est demandée. Sur le plan administratif, le ministère des Finances n'applique plus cette pratique. Toutefois, une annexe dressant la liste des contributions doit être jointe à la déclaration et les reçus doivent être conservés à des fins de vérification, sur demande du ministère. Les demandes de déduction ne pouvant être appuyées par des reçus officiels seront rejetées.

 
Page : 489  |