Cash Concentration Systems

Bulletin 3003R1
Published: March 2004
Content last reviewed: November 2010
ISBN: 0-7794-2164-7 (PDF)

Publication Archived

Notice to the reader: Capital Tax was fully eliminated on July 1, 2010. It was eliminated effective January 1, 2007 for Ontario corporations primarily engaged in manufacturing or resource activities.

This publication was archived and kept for historical purposes. Use caution when you refer to it, since it reflects the law in force at the time it was released and may no longer apply.


This bulletin updates Interpretation Bulletin 3003R dated March 2004.

The bulletin sets out the policy of the Ontario Ministry of Finance regarding the capital tax treatment of loans and advances created through the operation of cash concentration systems. It is provided as a guide to taxpayers and is not intended as a substitute for the relevant legislation. Any references to legislation are to the provisions of the Corporations Tax Act (Ontario) (CTA) and its Regulations, unless otherwise noted. This bulletin is applicable for taxation years ending on or after December 31, 1997 and before January 1, 2009. For taxation years ending after December 31, 2008, taxable capital is determined in accordance with section 181.2 of the Income Tax Act (Canada) as provided by section 81 of the Taxation Act, 2007.


  1. Generally, a cash concentration system is a system by which a group of related corporations conducts its banking business through one group bank account in order to optimize cash management for all of the corporations together. The system operates through the use of a group concentration bank account, individual current operating accounts and mirror accounts.


  1. The group concentration account, which is usually maintained by and in the name of the parent corporation, is a consolidation of the transactions in the current operating accounts of all of the individual corporations in the related group. Transfers to and from the group concentration account are usually done at the end of each business day in order to eliminate any cash or overdraft balances in each corporation. These transfers are facilitated through the use of mirror accounts.

Inclusion in Paidup Capital

  1. When a transfer is made under a cash concentration system, which results in a liability to a related corporation, the ministry requires that loan or advance payable to be included in paid-up capital.

Eligible Investment Claim

  1. When a corporation makes a transfer under a cash concentration system which results in a receivable from another related corporation, the ministry will allow the corporation to claim that loan or advance receivable as an eligible investment for purposes of the investment allowance, provided that it meets the requirements discussed in Interpretation Bulletin 3015R and all of the following conditions are met:
    • the transfer to and from the group concentration account creates legally effective rights and obligations
    • the banking agreement states that the parent corporation is the owner of the group concentration account and is also responsible for the net overdraft position in that account, and
    • both of the corporations have recorded the transfer in their financial statements and books and records of account.
Page: 474  |

Systèmes Centralisateurs

Bulletin 3003R1
Date de publication : mars 2004
Dernière mise à jour : novembre 2010
ISBN: 0-7794-2177-9 (PDF)

Publication archivées

Avis aux lecteurs : L'impôt sur le capital a été complètement éliminé le 1er juillet 2010. Il a été éliminé à compter du 1er janvier 2007 pour les sociétés ontariennes exerçant des activités principalement dans les secteurs de la fabrication ou des ressources.

Cette publication fait partie des archives pour des raisons historiques. Puisque ce document reflète la loi qui était en vigueur au moment où il fut publié et peut ne plus être valide, veuillez l'utiliser avec prudence.

Application

Le présent bulletin est une mise à jour du Bulletin d'interprétation 3003R daté de mars 2004.

Le bulletin expose la politique du ministère des Finances de l'Ontario concernant l'application de l'impôt sur le capital dans le cas des prêts et avances créés par le biais de systèmes centralisateurs. Il est fourni aux contribuables à titre de guide et ne vise nullement à remplacer les lois pertinentes. Toutes références à la loi se rapportent aux dispositions de la Loi sur l'imposition des sociétés (Ontario) et à ses règlements, sauf indication contraire. Le présent bulletin s'applique aux exercices qui se sont terminés le 31 décembre 1997 ou après cette date mais avant le 1er janvier 2009. Pour les exercices se terminant après le 31 décembre 2008, le capital imposable est déterminé conformément à l'article 181.2 de la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu (Canada), tel que prévu par l'article 81 de la Loi de 2007 sur les impôts.

Introduction

  1. Par système centralisateur, on entend généralement un système selon lequel un groupe de sociétés apparentées effectue ses opérations bancaires par le biais d'un seul et même compte bancaire de groupe dans le but d'optimiser la gestion de la trésorerie pour l'ensemble desdites sociétés. Un tel système comporte un compte bancaire centralisateur de groupe, ainsi que des comptes courants d'exploitation et des comptes miroirs.

Description

  1. Le compte centralisateur de groupe, généralement détenu par la société mère et établi à son nom, regroupe les transactions des comptes d'exploitation courants de toutes les sociétés individuelles d'un groupe de sociétés apparentées. Les transferts à destination et en provenance du compte centralisateur de groupe sont généralement compilés à la fin de chaque jour ouvrable afin d'éliminer tout solde de caisse ou découvert dans chacune des sociétés. Ces transferts sont effectués par le biais de comptes miroirs.

Inclusion dans le capital versé

  1. Lorsqu'un transfert effectué dans le cadre d'un système centralisateur se traduit par un élément de passif pour une société apparentée, le ministère requiert qu'un prêt ou une avance exigible soit inclus dans le capital versé.

Déclaration d'un placement admissible

  1. Lorsqu'une société effectue un transfert dans le cadre d'un système centralisateur qui se traduit par une créance de la part d'une autre société apparentée, le ministère autorise la société à déclarer tel prêt ou telle avance créditeur(trice) en tant que placement admissible, pourvu qu'elle réponde aux exigences énoncées dans le Bulletin d'interprétation 3015R et que soient respectées toutes les conditions suivantes :
    • le transfert à destination et en provenance du compte centralisateur de groupe crée des droits et obligations légalement en vigueur
    • l'entente bancaire stipule que la société mère est propriétaire du compte centralisateur du groupe et qu'elle est également responsable de la situation de découvert net dans ce compte, et que
    • les deux sociétés ont reporté le transfert dans leurs états financiers et livres comptable
 
Page : 474  |