General Anti-Avoidance Rule and Inter-Provincial Anti-Avoidance

Bulletin 3007
Published: March 2004
Content last reviewed: September 2012
ISBN: 0-7794-1732-1 (PDF), 978-1-4249-3146-0 (HTML)

Publication Archived

Notice to the reader: Effective January 1, 2009, the Canada Revenue Agency (CRA) administers Ontario's corporate income tax, capital tax, corporate minimum tax, and the special additional tax on life insurers.

As a result, the Corporations Tax Act provisions described on this page and in other publications are only applicable to taxation years ending December 31, 2008 and prior.

For taxation years beginning January 1, 2009, the Taxation Act rules apply.

This publication was archived and kept for historical purposes. Use caution when you refer to it, since it reflects the law in force at the time it was released and may no longer apply.

References: section 5, 5.1, 5.2, 5.3, 29.1, 31.1, 80, subsection 14(3.1), 32(3), 34(10), 92(1)

Application

This bulletin replaces the discussion of the General Anti-Avoidance Rule found in Information Bulletin Number 2742 originally published February 1993. This bulletin updates the discussion for changes to section 5 and adds references to several anti-avoidance provisions in the Corporations Tax Act (Ontario)(CTA).

This bulletin is intended to provide information to taxpayers and is not intended as a substitute for the relevant legislation. Any references to legislation are to the provisions of the CTA and its Regulations, unless otherwise noted.

General Anti-Avoidance Rules

General

  1. The general anti-avoidance rule (GAAR) found in section 5 generally parallels the federal rule found in section 245 of the Income Tax Act (Canada) (ITA). However, in addition to calculating corporate income tax Ontario's GAAR provision may apply to calculate:
    • other taxes under the CTA such as capital tax and premium tax, and
    • the allocation of a corporation's taxable income and taxable capital to jurisdictions
      outside Ontario.
  2. GAAR is intended to prevent tax avoidance transactions or arrangements and will not apply to arrangements that meet the spirit of the CTA read as a whole. Subsection 5(2) allows the Minister to determine in a reasonable manner, the tax consequences of an "avoidance transaction" in order to deny any tax benefit that may result.

Avoidance Transaction

  1. An avoidance transaction is a single transaction or a part of a series of transactions resulting in atax benefit, unless the transaction is undertaken mainly for business purposes other than to receive the tax benefit. For this purpose, "tax benefit" includes a reduction, avoidance or deferral of tax or any other amount payable under the CTA or ITA, or an increase in a refund of tax or any other amount under the CTA or ITA.
  2. Any transaction undertaken or arranged in good faith for purposes other than to obtain a tax benefit, is not an avoidance transaction. The purpose of the transaction is determined after considering the surrounding facts and circumstances.
  3. Subsection 5(3) provides that GAAR will not apply to a transaction if it does not result in a misuse or abuse of the provisions of the CTA, when read as a whole. As a result, the rule will not be applied to tax planning transactions which may be tax motivated, but which follow the provisions of the CTA in order to obtain a tax benefit consistent with the object and spirit of the provisions of the CTA, when read as a whole. If however, an avoidance transaction relies on specific provisions of the CTA to achieve a tax benefit that is inconsistent with the object and spirit of the CTA, the Minister may apply GAAR.

Consequences

  1. "Tax consequences" defined in subsection 5(1) include any amount payable by, or refundable to, the corporation under the CTA, or any amount that is relevant in computing amounts payable or refundable under the CTA. Subsection 5(4) further discusses the determination of tax consequences.
  2. Examples of tax consequences are a corporation's:
    • income and taxable income (for income tax)
    • taxable income earned in a jurisdiction other than Ontario (for allocation purposes)
    • adjusted net income and adjusted net loss (for corporate minimum tax)
    • paid-up capital, taxable paid-up capital (for capital tax)
    • gross premiums (for premium tax), and
    • contributions to a funded benefit plan within the meaning of section 74.2 (for tax on uninsured benefit arrangements)

Administration

  1. Efforts have been made to simplify the adoption of GAAR for purposes of the CTA. In the application of GAAR, Ontario will follow the policies of the Canada Revenue Agency (CRA). For information on the federal GAAR provisions, refer to Information Circular IC 88-2.
  2. Federally-issued GAAR assessments will be followed by Ontario to the extent that they relate to the calculation of Ontario income tax payable. Such an assessment is called a "specified assessment" (see the Specified Assessments section in paragraphs 14 and 15 below).
  3. GAAR may also apply to the calculation of other taxes under the CTA including corporate minimum tax, capital tax, premium tax and to income tax provisions which differ from those of the ITA. For example, GAAR may apply in cases where the paid-up capital of a corporation would be greater had it not been for an avoidance transaction that reduced or eliminated amounts otherwise included. In such a case, the application of GAAR could reinstate the corporation's paid-up capital to what it would have been if the transaction had not occurred.

Assessment

  1. Subsection 5(7) provides that if a corporation has entered into an avoidance transaction, the tax consequences to the corporation for the current or prior years will be conveyed by means of an assessment or reassessment.
  2. In some cases, such as an adjustment to the adjusted cost base of a property, the tax consequences of a transaction will not be realized until a future taxation year. Since a notice of assessment cannot be issued for a future taxation year, corporations will be notified of these adjustments through a notice of determination. A notice of determination is treated the same as an assessment for purposes of the objections and appeals procedures under sections 84 to 92.
  3. Refer to subsections 5(5) and 5(6) for the rules relating to a request for adjustments by third parties.

Specified Assessments

  1. A specified assessment issued pursuant to subsection 92(1) is defined as an assessment or
    part there of that:
    • states that it is a specified assessment
    • involves the application of section 5, and
    • results from the issuance of a notice of assessment or notice of determination
      pursuant to section 245 of the ITA.
  2. Since a specified assessment is based on a federal determination of tax consequences, corporations that want to dispute a specified assessment must do so through federal objection and appeals procedures. An Ontario notice of objection is not required. This process reduces administrative work for both the corporation and the Ministry, and allows the issue in dispute to be settled with the taxing authority that initiated the matter. Both the corporation and the Ministry are bound by the resolution of the issue at the federal level.]

Objections and Appeals Procedures

  1. Corporations can object to an assessment issued pursuant to section 80 by filing a notice of objection in accordance with section 84 of the CTA, within 180 days from the date of mailing of the notice of assessment.
  2. In some cases, it is necessary to file objections with both taxing authorities. This can occur where a federally-initiated GAAR assessment is paralleled by an Ontario assessment that includes both the specified GAAR items as well as Ontario initiated adjustments. It could include an Ontario-initiated GAAR adjustment or any other Ontario-initiated matter pertaining to income tax, corporate minimum tax or capital tax. Corporations may need to file notices of objection with either CRA, the Ministry of Finance, or both, depending on which issues the corporation wishes to dispute.

Inter-provincial Anti-Avoidance

Introduction

  1. Paragraphs 20 to 26 provide a brief summary of the provisions of the CTA which impact corporations involved in inter-provincial asset transfers, and corporations claiming inconsistent discretionary deductions or specified reserves across different jurisdictions.

Inter-provincial Asset Transfers

  1. When certain conditions apply, section 5.1 prevents corporations or corporate members of partnerships from utilizing inter-provincial asset transfers to avoid Ontario income tax on the disposition of assets. This section applies to dispositions and acquisitions of property that are a part of a series of transactions or events if the series is completed after December 19, 1996.
  2. Subject to certain exceptions, sections 29.1 and 31.1 prevent a corporation or partnership from filing an Ontario election unless a valid federal election has been made pursuant to subsections 85(1), 85(2) or 97(2) of the ITA. The Ontario elected amount must be equal to the federal elected amount. These provisions apply to elections in respect of dispositions occurring on or after May 6, 1997.
  3. Subsection 32(3) prevents corporations from using elective provisions applicable to trusts resident in another province, for the purposes of avoiding provincial tax payable by the trust and its corporate beneficiaries.
  4. Subject to certain exceptions, subsection 34(10) requires corporations to designate the same amount for provincial purposes as they have designated for federal purposes under paragraph 111(4)(e) of the ITA in respect of deemed dispositions of capital properties prior to an acquisition of control.

Discretionary Deductions and Specified Reserves

  1. Section 5.2 prevents corporations from claiming an inconsistent discretionary deduction for Ontario tax purposes compared to that claimed for federal or other provincial tax purposes when certain conditions exist. The rules in subsections 5.2(1) to 5.2(4) are applicable for taxation years ending after December 18, 1998. Subsections 5.2(5) and 5.2(6) are applicable for taxation years ending on or after December 14, 1999.
  2. Section 5.3 prevents corporations from claiming inconsistent specified reserves for Ontario tax purposes compared to that claimed for federal or other provincial tax purposes. Subsection 5.3 applies to taxation years ending on or after December 14, 1999.
  3. Subsection 14(3.1) prevents corporations from claiming an Ontario capital gains reserve greater than the federal reserve claimed. This provision does not apply if section 5.2 or 5.3 applies.
 
Page: 481  |

Règle générale anti-évitement et anti-évitement interprovincial

Bulletin d'information 3007FR
Bulletin 3007
Date de publication : mars 2004
Dernière mise à jour : septembre  2012
ISBN: 0-7794-1733-X (PDF), 978-4249-3147-7 (HTML)

Publication archivées

Avis aux lecteurs : A compter du 1er janvier 2009, l'Agence du revenu du Canada (ARC) administre l'impôt sur le revenu des sociétés, l'impôt sur le capital, l'impôt minimum des sociétés, et l'impôt supplémentaire spécial des compagnies d'assurance-vie de l'Ontario.

En conséquence, les dispositions de la Loi sur l'imposition des sociétés décrites sur cette page et dans d'autres publications sont applicables qu'aux années d'imposition se terminant le ou avant le 31 décembre 2008.

Pour les années d'imposition commençant le 1er janvier 2009, les dispositions de la Loi de 2007 sur les impôts s'appliquent.

Cette publication fait partie des archives pour des raisons historiques. Puisque ce document reflète la loi qui était en vigueur au moment où il fut publié et peut ne plus être valide, veuillez l'utiliser avec prudence.

Références : articles 5, 5.1, 5.2, 5.3, 29.1, 31.1, 80, paragraphes 14(3.1), 32(3), 34(10), 92(1)

Application

Le présent bulletin remplace le texte portant sur la règle générale anti-évitement figurant dans le bulletin d'interprétation no 2742 publié en février 1993. Il comprend les mises à jour apportées à l'article 5 et ajoute des références à plusieurs dispositions d'anti-évitement figurant dans la Loi sur l'imposition des sociétés (LIS).

Ce bulletin se veut un guide pour les contribuables et ne vise pas à remplacer les mesures législatives auxquelles il se rapporte. À moins d'indication contraire, toute mention d'un texte de loi renvoie aux dispositions de la LIS et des règlements pris en application de celle-ci.

Règles générales anti-évitement

Généralités

  1. La règle générale anti-évitement (RGAE) figurant à l'article 5 suit dans l'ensemble celle de l'article 245 de la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu (Canada) (LIR). Toutefois, outre le calcul de l'impôt sur le revenu des sociétés, les dispositions ontariennes de la RGAE peuvent également servir à
    calculer :
    • d'autres impôts aux termes de la LIS, comme l'impôt sur le capital et l'impôt sur les primes;
    • l'imputation du revenu imposable et du capital imposable d'une société à des compétences autres que l'Ontario.
  2. La RGAE vise à prévenir les transactions et les arrangements d'évitement de l'impôt et ne s'applique pas aux arrangement qui suivent l'esprit de la loi dans son ensemble. Le paragraphe 5(2) accorde au ministre la possibilité de déterminer de façon raisonnable, les attributs fiscaux découlant d'une « opération d'évitement » afin de supprimer l'avantage fiscal qui en découlerait.

Opération d'évitement

  1. Une opération d'évitement est une opération unique ou une opération qui fait partie d'une série d'opérations dont découlerait un avantage fiscal, sauf si celle-ci est entreprise à des fins commerciales autres que l'obtention d'un avantage fiscal. Dans le cas présent, un « avantage fiscal » constitue la réduction, l'évitement ou le report d'impôt ou d'un autre montant payable aux termes de la LIS ou de la LIR, ou l'augmentation d'un remboursement d'impôt ou d'un autre montant visé par la LIS ou la LIR.
  2. Toute opération véritablement entreprise ou organisée d'abord à des fins autres que l'obtention d'un avantage fiscal ne constitue pas une opération d'évitement. L'objet de l'opération est déterminé, en fonction des faits et des circonstances.
  3. Le paragraphe 5(3) stipule que la RGAE ne s'applique pas à une opération qui n'entraînerait pas d'abus dans l'application des dispositions de la LIS, lue dans son ensemble. Par conséquent, elle ne s'applique pas aux opérations de planification fiscale ayant pour objet de réduire l'impôt, mais qui adhèrent aux dispositions de la LIS pour obtenir un avantage fiscal conforme à l'objet et à l'esprit de la LIS, lue dans son ensemble. Par contre, lorsqu'une opération d'évitement repose sur des dispositions précises de la LIS pour obtenir un avantage fiscal qui n'est pas conforme à l'objet et à l'esprit de la LIS, le ministre pourra appliquer la RGAE.

Attribut fiscal

  1. Ainsi que l'indique le paragraphe 5(1), on entend par « attribut fiscal » tout montant payable, ou remboursable, à la société aux termes de la LIS, ou tout montant qui est pertinent dans le calcul des montants payables ou remboursables en vertu de la LIS. Le paragraphe 5(4) donne de plus amples détails sur la détermination de l'attribut fiscal.
  2. Voici quelques exemples d'attribut fiscal d'une entreprise :
    • le revenu et le revenu imposable (aux fins de l'impôt sur le revenu)
    • le revenu imposable gagné dans une compétence autre que l'Ontario (aux fins de l'imputation)
    • le revenu net rajusté et les pertes nettes rajustées (aux fins de l'impôt minimum sur le revenu des sociétés)
      • le capital libéré, le capital libéré imposable (aux fins de l'impôt sur le capital)
    • les primes brutes (aux fins de l'impôt sur les primes)
    • les cotisations à un régime de prestations financé au sens de l'article 74.2 (aux fins de l'impôt sur les avantages non assurés)

Administration

  1. On s'est efforcé de simplifier l'adoption de la RGAE aux fins de la LIS. Dans son application de la RGAE, l'Ontario suivra les politiques de l'Agence du revenu du Canada (ARC). Pour obtenir des renseignements sur les dispositions fédérales de la RGAE, il faut consulter la Circulaire d'information IC 88-2.
  2. Les cotisations déterminées à l'échelon fédéral aux termes de la RGAE seront suivies par l'Ontario dans la mesure où elles sont liées au calcul de l'impôt ontarien payable sur le revenu. Une telle cotisation est appelée une « cotisation déterminée » (voir la section portant sur les cotisations déterminées aux paragraphes 14 et 15 ci-après).
  3. La RGAE peut également s'appliquer au calcul d'autres impôts aux termes de la LIS, dont l'impôt minimum sur le revenu des sociétés, l'impôt sur le capital, l'impôt sur les primes et d'autres dispositions de l'impôt sur le revenu qui se distinguent de celles de la LIR. Ainsi, la RGAE s'applique aux situations où le capital libéré d'une société aurait été plus important, s'il ne s'était produit une opération d'évitement qui a réduit ou éliminé des montants qui auraient autrement été inclus. Dans une telle situation, l'application de la RGAE pourrait ramener le capital libéré d'une société à son montant initial, comme si l'opération n'avait pas été effectuée.

Cotisations

  1. Le paragraphe 5(7) stipule que lorsqu'une société a effectué une opération d'évitement, l'attribut fiscal de l'année en cours ou d'années précédentes sera déterminé par un avis de cotisation ou de nouvelle cotisation.
  2. Dans certaines situations, comme un redressement du prix de base rajusté d'un bien, l'attribut fiscal d'une opération ne se produira que lors d'une année d'imposition subséquente. Étant donné qu'il n'est pas possible d'émettre un avis de cotisation à l'égard d'une année d'imposition future, les sociétés seront avisées de ces redressements par le biais d'un avis de détermination. Un avis de détermination est interprété de la même façon qu'une cotisation aux termes des procédures d'opposition et d'appel, énoncées aux articles 84 à 92.
  3. Il faut consulter les paragraphes 5(5) et 5(6) pour les règles portant sur les demandes de redressement présentées par des tiers.

Cotisations déterminées

  1. Une cotisation déterminée délivrée au titre du paragraphe 92(1) énonce qu'il s'agit, en totalité ou en partie :
    • d'une cotisation déterminé
    • d'une application de l'article 5
    • du résultat de la délivrance d'un avis de cotisation ou
      de détermination, au titre de l'article 245 de la LIR.
  2. Étant donné qu'une cotisation déterminée repose sur la détermination fédérale d'un attribut fiscal, les sociétés qui veulent s'opposer à une cotisation déterminée doivent suivre des procédures d'opposition et d'appel fédérales. Un avis d'opposition ontarien n'est pas nécessaire. Ce procédé réduit ainsi le travail administratif de la société et du ministère, et permet le règlement de l'affaire directement avec l'administration fiscale qui a entrepris la démarche. Le règlement de l'affaire au niveau fédéral lie la société et le ministère.

Procédures d'opposition et d'appel

  1. Les sociétés peuvent s'opposer à une cotisation délivrée au titre de l'article 80 en signifiant un avis d'opposition conformément à l'article 84 de la LIS, dans les 180 jours qui suivent la date d'expédition de l'avis de cotisation.
  2. Dans certaines situations, il est nécessaire de signifier un avis d'opposition aux deux administrations fiscales. C'est le cas lorsqu'une cotisation de la RGAE amorcée par le gouvernement fédéral est assortie d'une cotisation ontarienne qui comprend les éléments liés à la RGAE, ainsi que des redressements amorcés par l'Ontario. Celle-ci pourrait comprendre un redressement selon la RGAE amorcé par l'Ontario ou tout autre redressement, amorcé par l'Ontario, et ayant trait à l'impôt sur le revenu, à l'impôt minimum sur le revenu des sociétés ou à l'impôt sur le capital. Les sociétés pourront avoir à signifier un avis auprès de l'ARC ou du ministère des Finances, ou auprès des deux, selon les questions faisant l'objet du litige.

Anti-évitement interprovincial

Introduction

  1. Les paragraphes 20 à 26 énoncent brièvement les dispositions de la LIS qui touchent les sociétés qui effectuent un transfert interprovincial d'actif et les sociétés qui se prévalent de déductions discrétionnaires qui manquent de cohérence ou de provisions précisées portant sur plusieurs compétences.

Transfert interprovincial d'actif

  1. Lorsque certaines conditions s'appliquent, l'article 5.1 stipule qu'il est interdit aux sociétés, et à celles qui font partie d'une société de personnes ou en commandite, d'avoir recours au transfert interprovincial de l'actif pour éviter d'être assujetties à l'impôt ontarien sur le revenu en cas de cession d'actif. Cet article s'applique aux cessions et à l'achat d'actif qui font partie d'une série de transactions ou d'événements, qui ont eu lieu après le 19 décembre 1996.
  2. Sous réserve de certaines exceptions, les articles 29.1 et 31.1 stipulent qu'il est interdit à une personne morale ou à une société de personnes ou en commandite de choisir un montant assujetti à l'imposition en Ontario, à moins qu'un choix fédéral valable n'ait été fait, conformément aux paragraphes 85(1), 85(2) ou 97(2) de la LIR. Le montant choisi pour l'Ontario doit être équivalent au montant du choix fédéral. Ces dispositions s'appliquent aux choix faits à l'égard des cessions d'actif qui sont effectuées le 6 mai 1997 et après cette date.
  3. Le paragraphe 32(3) interdit aux sociétés d'avoir recours à des dispositions de choix qui
    s'appliquent aux fiducies établies dans une autre province, dans le but d'éviter d'avoir à verser de
    l'impôt provincial payable par la fiducie et ses sociétés bénéficiaires.
  4. Sous réserve de certaines exceptions, le paragraphe 34(10) stipule que les sociétés doivent indiquer le même montant aux fins provinciales qu'elles l'ont fait aux fins fédérales aux termes de l'alinéa 111(4) e) de la LIR en vue de déterminer le produit de disposition d'une immobilisation avant l'acquisition du contrôle.

Déductions discrétionnaires et provisions précisées

  1. L'article 5.2 stipule qu'il est interdit aux sociétés de se prévaloir d'une déduction discrétionnaire aux fins de l'impôt ontarien différente de celle qui a été déclarée aux fins de l'impôt fédéral ou d'autres provinces, lorsque certaines conditions existent. Les règles des paragraphes 5.2(1) à 5.2(4) s'appliquent aux années d'imposition qui se terminent à une date postérieure au 18 décembre 1998. Les paragraphes 5.2(5) et 5.2(6) s'appliquent aux années d'imposition qui se terminent le 14 décembre 1999 et après cette date.
  2. L'article 5.3 stipule qu'il est interdit aux sociétés de se prévaloir de provisions précisées aux fins de l'impôt ontarien différentes de celles qui ont été déclarées aux fins de l'impôt fédéral ou d'autres provinces. Le paragraphe 5.3 s'applique aux années d'imposition qui se terminent le 14 décembre 1999 et après cette date.
  3. Le paragraphe 14(3.1) stipule qu'il est interdit aux sociétés de se prévaloir d'une réserve pour gains en capital supérieure à la réserve déclarée aux fins de l'impôt fédéral. Cette disposition ne s'applique pas lorsque s'applique l'article 5.2 ou 5.3.
 
Page : 481  |