Summary of Ontario Corporations Tax for Non-Residents

Bulletin 3010
Published: January 2002
Content last reviewed: September 2012
ISBN: 0-7794-2158-2 (PDF), 978-1-4249-3148-4 (HTML)

Publication Archived

Notice to the reader: Effective January 1, 2009, the Canada Revenue Agency (CRA) administers Ontario's corporate income tax, capital tax, corporate minimum tax, and the special additional tax on life insurers.

As a result, the Corporations Tax Act provisions described on this page and in other publications are only applicable to taxation years ending December 31, 2008 and prior.

For taxation years beginning January 1, 2009, the Taxation Act rules apply.

This publication was archived and kept for historical purposes. Use caution when you refer to it, since it reflects the law in force at the time it was released and may no longer apply.

References: subsections 2(2), 2(3), sections 4, 30, 37, 49, 60, 63, 64, 65, 66


This bulletin replaces Interpretation Bulletin Number L-13R originally published  August 15, 1980 and is updated for comments contained in previous Interpretation Bulletin L-7R and Information Bulletins 7-78, 12-78, 17-80, 21-81 and 2738.

The bulletin provides an overview of corporations tax for non-residents and sets out the policy of the Corporations Tax Branch. It is provided as a guide to taxpayers and is not intended as a substitute for the relevant legislation. Any references to legislation are to the provisions of the Corporations Tax Act (Ontario) (CTA) and its Regulations, unless otherwise noted.


  1. Corporations which are incorporated in countries outside Canada are commonly referred to as foreign corporations or non-resident corporations. Where a foreign corporation incorporates a Canadian subsidiary in Canada to conduct business in Canada, the subsidiary is classified as a Canadian resident corporation and will be subject to Ontario tax if it has a permanent establishment in Ontario.
  2. Alternatively, the foreign corporation may decide not to incorporate a separate subsidiary company and instead operate in Canada through a Canadian branch. It is these foreign corporations and their branch operations that are discussed in this Interpretation Bulletin and are herein referred to as "non-resident" corporations.

Liability for Tax

Income Tax

  1. A corporation incorporated under the laws of a jurisdiction outside Canada is liable for Ontario income tax if, at any time in the taxation year or the previous taxation year, it or an unincorporated partnership or joint venture in which it has an interest:
    1. had an Ontario permanent establishment
    2. owned and received income from the sale or rental (including royalties) of an Ontario:
       real property,
      1.  timber resource property, or
      2.  timber limit, or
    3. disposed of taxable Canadian property (as defined in subsection 248(1) of the Income Tax Act (Canada) (ITA)) that was situated in Ontario.

    The above criteria are further discussed in paragraphs 7 to 12 below.

Capital Tax, Corporate Minimum Tax (CMT) and Other Taxes

  1. Clause 58(1)(c) charges non-resident corporations with the liability for capital tax if either criteria (a) or (b) in the preceding paragraph applies. Every corporation subject to tax under Part II (income tax) is liable to pay CMT, pursuant to subsection 57.2(1). Non-resident corporations that are liable for Ontario income tax solely by virtue of criterion (c) in the preceding paragraph are not liable for Ontario capital tax, nor CMT.
  2. Pursuant to subsection 74(1), a non-resident insurance corporation is liable to pay tax based on its gross premium income from certain Ontario insurance policies. A non-resident corporation may also be liable under subsections 2(2.1), 2(2.2) and 74.1(1) for:
  • uninsured benefits arrangement tax under section 74.2, either as an administrator (liable to collect and remit the tax) or as a planholder (liable to pay the tax),
  • tax under section 74.3 on contracts with an unlicensed insurer, and
  • special additional tax under section 74.1, where the corporation is a non resident life insurance company.

Effect of Tax Treaties

  1. Ontario is not bound by international tax treaties or conventions which the federal government has entered into with foreign countries. There are times, however, when Ontario wishes to parallel certain provisions in these tax agreements. Subsection 1(8) of the CTA allows the CTA to be modified by regulation to give effect to the specific tax treaty provisions.

Permanent Establishment - Clause 2(2)(a)

  1. The definition of permanent establishment is basically the same for purposes of determining the liability for tax of both non-resident and Canadian corporations. Accordingly, taxpayers should refer to Interpretation Bulletin 3008 for further information.
  2. Subsection 4(8) provides that where a non-resident produced, grew, mined, created, manufactured, fabricated, improved, packed, preserved or constructed anything in Canada in whole or in part in the taxation year, the non-resident is deemed to have maintained a permanent establishment for Ontario tax purposes in the taxation year the non-resident did any of those things.

Owned Real Property – Clause 2(2)(b)

  1. Subsection 2(3) expands the meaning of ownership of real property, timber resource property or a timber limit to include situations where a corporation has a legal, equitable or beneficial interest. Accordingly, corporate beneficiaries of trusts for example, would be subject to tax under the CTA if the trust derives income from the ownership of real, timber and resource property or a timber limit situated in Ontario.

Taxable Canadian Property Situated in Ontario – Clause 2(2)(c)

  1. A non-resident corporation is liable for income tax if it disposes of "taxable Canadian property situated in Ontario" which is prescribed by section 504 of Regulation 183.
  2. However, where a non-resident corporation is otherwise taxable in Ontario by virtue of only clause 2(2)(b) or 2(2)(c), the taxable capital gain on the disposition of taxable Canadian property situated in Ontario is exempt from Ontario tax if the gain is exempt from federal tax under a treaty between Canada and another country.
  3. Subsection 37(3) provides that where a transitional rule in a prescribed tax treaty or tax convention between Canada and another country excludes from federal tax a portion of a capital gain made from the disposition of taxable Canadian property, the amount will be exempt from Ontario tax. The Canada - United States Income Tax Convention (1980) is the only prescribed convention for this purpose.

Income Tax

Taxable Income Earned in Canada

  1. Whereas Canadian corporations are liable for tax on their worldwide income, non-residents are taxed on their taxable income earned in Canada only.
  2. Section 37 states that the rules provided in section 115 of the ITA are applicable in determining the taxable income earned in Canada of a non resident, except that for purposes of the CTA the corporation must also include:
    • the income from the sale or rental of real property, or an interest in real property, situated in Canada,
    • royalties and similar payments in respect of real property, or an interest in real property, situated in Canada, and
    • timber royalties in respect of a timber resource property or a timber limit situated in Canada.

    However, in applying paragraph 115(1)(d) of the ITA, the corporation may not deduct any amount which is exempt from federal income tax by reason of a tax treaty under subparagraph 110(1)(f)(i) of the ITA.

  1. The income of a non-resident owned investment corporation is determined under section 49.

Calculation of Income Tax – Section 38

  1. Pursuant to section 38, for taxation years ending after December 31, 2000 and before October 1, 2001, the general rate of income tax is 14% and the rate on income from manufacturing and processing, mining, logging, farming and fishing (M&P rate) is 12%. For taxation years commencing after September 30, 2001 the general rate and the M&P rates are both reduced annually as outlined in the following table:
Taxation years commencing after... General Rate M&P Rate
September 30, 2001 and before January 1, 2003 12.5% 11.0%
December 31, 2002 and before January 1, 2004 11.0% 10.0%
December 31, 2003 and before January 1, 2005 9.5% 9.0%
December 31, 2004 8.0% 8.0%
  1. Pursuant to section 39, a corporation may deduct from tax otherwise payable, an amount of tax that relates to the portion of the income attributed to other Canadian jurisdictions. This amount is equal to:
  • the general rate of tax, times
  • taxable income earned in Canada which is earned in each Canadian jurisdiction where a permanent establishment is maintained other than Ontario, determined under rules prescribed by sections 313 to 318 of Regulation 183.
  1. Subject to the eligibility requirements of the specific tax credit, non resident corporations are eligible for the Qualifying Environmental Trust Tax Credit under section 43.2 and a number of refundable specified tax credits. These refundable specified tax credits include:
Specified Tax Credit CTA Section Tax Legislation Bulletin
Ontario Innovation Tax Credit 43.3 --
Co-operative Education Tax Credit 43.4 96-2R2
Graduate Transitions Tax Credit 43.6 01-3
Ontario Book Publishing Tax Credit 43.7 01-2
Ontario Business-Research Institute Tax Credit 43.9 00-2
Ontario Production Services Tax Credit 43.10 --
Ontario Sound Recording Tax Credit 43.12 01-4

Capital Tax

Taxable Capital Employed in Canada

  1. Where a non-resident corporation's business is carried on entirely in Canada, the capital tax calculation is based on the rules for Canadian corporations in sections 61 and 62. Otherwise, capital tax for the non-resident corporation is based on its taxable paid-up capital employed in Canada as determined under section 64.
  1. Taxable paid-up capital employed in Canada is:
  • its paid-up capital employed in Canada as determined by the formula in section 63 (discussed in paragraph 21 below),less
  • the deductions permitted under section 62, such as investment allowance and deferred Canadian Exploration and Development Expenses, as may reasonably be considered wholly applicable on the assumption that the only assets of the corporation were assets pertaining exclusively to its permanent establishments in Canada. Refer to Interpretation Bulletin 3015 for details on the deductions from paid-up capital allowed under section 62.

Paid-up Capital Employed in Canada – Section 63

  1. Paid-up capital employed in Canada for a non-resident corporation with business outside Canada is the greater of:
  • its taxable income earned in Canada capitalized at 8%, (i.e., taxable income divided by 8%), and
  • total assets of the Canadian branch less its current accounts payable and deductions prescribed in subsection 701(1) of Regulation 183.
  1. The above calculation relates only to the assets used and liabilities incurred in the Canadian operations.
  1. Each non-resident corporation which has an interest in an unincorporated partnership with Canadian operations must include in its paid-up capital employed in Canada its share of those partnership liabilities that would be included in the paid-up capital of a corporation, based on the partnership's profit-sharing ratio. Similarly, the non-resident corporation's share of the partnership's investments is available for investment allowance purposes. Further information is available in Interpretation Bulletin 3017.
  1. Pursuant to section 65, where the non-resident corporation has income from operating a foreign ship or aircraft that is exempt from income tax under paragraph 81(1)(c) of the ITA, the paid-up capital invested in the ship or aircraft operated in Canada is not included in the corporation's paidup capital employed in Canada. Accordingly, the value of any aircraft or ships sitting at Canadian airports or ports is excluded from paid-up capital employed in Canada.

Capital Tax Payable

  1. The rate of capital tax for non-resident corporations is the same 3/10 of 1% that applies to ordinary Canadian corporations.
  1. Pursuant to section 67, the corporation may deduct an amount of capital tax that relates to its taxable paid-up capital employed in Canada used in jurisdictions outside Ontario. A corporation's taxable paid-up capital employed in Canada is allocated among the provinces and territories as set out in section 329 of Regulation 183. Refer to Interpretation Bulletin 3008 for further information.

Exemption From Capital Tax

  1. Under section 68, for taxation years commencing after September 30, 2001, where neither a non-resident corporation's total assets nor its gross revenue exceeds $3,000,000 or its taxable paid-up capital does not exceed $5,000,000, the corporation may be exempt from capital tax. These exemption limits are $1,500,000 and $2,000,000, respectively, for taxation years ending in 2000 and commencing prior to October 1, 2001.
  1. In determining whether the corporation is exempt from tax under section 68, taxable paid-up capital must be calculated as if the corporation is resident in Canada. In other words, world paid-up capital is used, not taxable paid-up capital employed in Canada. Furthermore, the taxable capital of associated corporations including non-resident corporations must be added.
  1. Further information regarding the small business capital tax exemption is contained in Interpretation Bulletin 3011.

Reduced Capital Tax

  1. Effective for taxation years ending after September 30, 2001 a deduction from taxable paid-up capital is available to non-resident corporations equal to the lesser of:
  • $5 million, and
  • the corporation's taxable paid-up capital for the year, or if associated with other corporations with a permanent establishment in Canada, the taxable paid-up capital of the associated group of corporations with permanent establishments in Canada.
  1. The deduction is prorated for taxation years straddling September 30, 2001. Furthermore, where the non-resident corporation is associated with other corporations with permanent establishments in Canada, the deduction is apportioned among all such associated corporations. The apportionment is based on the taxable paid-up capital of each corporation to the total taxable paid-up capital of the Canadian group of associated corporations.
  1. Corporations with taxation years ending on or before September 30, 2001 may be eligible for a reduced amount of capital tax. To be eligible, the corporation's taxable paid-up capital (including the taxable paid-up capital of any associated corporations) must be less than $3,200,000. Further information regarding the reduced capital tax is contained in Interpretation Bulletin 3011.
  1. Example
(Operating exclusively in Ontario)
Balance Sheet
as at March 31, 2001
Investment in shares of Canadian public company $100,000
Inventory $400,000
Building (equal to UCC) $300,000
Total Assets $800,000
Accounts Payable $200,000
Home office Account
(including $80,000 profit for the year which equals taxable income)
Total Liabilities $800,000
  1. It is assumed that the corporation is associated with other corporations and the taxable paid-up capital of the associated group as of March 31, 2001 exceeds $3,200,000. Accordingly, the corporation does not benefit from the reduction in capital tax referred to in paragraph 32. As the corporation's taxation year ended prior to December 31, 2001, the corporation is also not entitled to the $5,000,000 deduction referred to in paragraphs 30 and 31.
  1. Paid-up capital employed in Canada is the greater of:
  • Taxable income earned in Canada capitalized at 8%
    = ($80,000 / 8%)
    = $1,000,000
  • Total Assets less accounts payable (and other prescribed amounts).
    = $600,000.Thus, paid-up capital employed in Canada is $1,000,000.
  1. Taxable paid-up capital employed in Canada:
  • Paid-up capital employed in Canada calculated above: $1,000,000
  • Investment allowance:

    = ($100,000 ÷ $800,000) × $1,000,000
    = $125,000

    However, the maximum claim allowed is the cost of the investments
    = $100,000

    Taxable paid-up capital employed in Canada
    = $900,000

  1. Capital tax is calculated at 3/10 of 1% with no allocation
    to other provinces or territories.
    = $2,700
Page: 492  |

Sommaire de l'impôt des sociétés de l'Ontario applicable aux sociétés non-résidentes

Bulletin d'interprétation 3010F
Bulletin 3010
Date de publication : janvier 2002
Dernière mise à jour : septembre  2012
ISBN: 0-7794-2171-X (PDF), 978-1-4249-3149-1 (HTML)

Publication archivées

Avis aux lecteurs : A compter du 1er janvier 2009, l'Agence du revenu du Canada (ARC) administre l'impôt sur le revenu des sociétés, l'impôt sur le capital, l'impôt minimum des sociétés, et l'impôt supplémentaire spécial des compagnies d'assurance-vie de l'Ontario.

En conséquence, les dispositions de la Loi sur l'imposition des sociétés décrites sur cette page et dans d'autres publications sont applicables qu'aux années d'imposition se terminant le ou avant le 31 décembre 2008.

Pour les années d'imposition commençant le 1er janvier 2009, les dispositions de la Loi de 2007 sur les impôts s'appliquent.

Cette publication fait partie des archives pour des raisons historiques. Puisque ce document reflète la loi qui était en vigueur au moment où il fut publié et peut ne plus être valide, veuillez l'utiliser avec prudence.

Références : paragraphes 2 (2), 2 (3), articles 4, 30, 37, 49, 60, 63, 64, 65, 66

Application

Le présent bulletin remplace le Bulletin d'interprétation numéro L-13R publié le 15 août 1980 et a été mis à jour à la suite des observations formulées dans le Bulletin d'interprétation précédent L-7R et les Bulletins d'information 7-78, 12-78, 17-80, 21-81 et 2738.

Ce bulletin décrit l'application de l'impôt des sociétés aux non-résidents et expose la politique du ministère, Section de l'imposition des sociétés. Il se destine à servir de guide à l'intention des contribuables et ne remplace aucunement la loi pertinente. Toute référence à la loi porte sur les dispositions de la Loi sur l'imposition des sociétés (Ontario) et les règlements afférents, à moins d'indication contraire.

Généralités

  1. Les sociétés constituées en personnes morales à l'étranger sont communément appelées sociétés étrangères ou sociétés non-résidentes. Lorsqu'une société étrangère constitue en personne morale une filiale canadienne au Canada dans le but d'exercer des activités au Canada, cette filiale est désignée en tant que société canadienne résidente et est assujettie à l'impôt de l'Ontario si elle possède un établissement stable dans cette province.
  2. De même, la société étrangère peut décider de ne pas constituer en personne morale une filiale distincte et choisir d'exercer ses activités au Canada par l'entremise d'une succursale canadienne. Le présent bulletin d'interprétation porte sur ces sociétés étrangères et leurs succursales, que l'on définit aux présentes sous l'appellation de sociétés « non-résidentes ».

Assujettissement à l'impôt

  1. Une société constituée en personne morale en vertu des lois en vigueur dans un ressort étranger est assujettie à l'impôt sur le revenu de l'Ontario si, à un moment ou l'autre de l'année d'imposition ou de l'année d'imposition précédente, elle ou une société de personnes ou une coentreprise non constituée en personne morale à laquelle elle était associée :
    1. possédait un établissement stable en Ontario,
    2. était propriétaire :
      1. d'un bien immobilier,
      2. d'un avoir forestier, ou
      3. d'une concession forestière
    3. a disposé d'un bien-fonds canadien imposable (tel que défini dans le paragraphe 248 (1) de la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu (Canada)) situé en Ontario.
    Les critères ci-dessus sont élaborés aux paragraphes 7 à 12 ci-dessous.

Impôt sur le capital, impôt minimum sur les sociétés (IMS) et autres impôts

  1. L'alinéa 58 (1) c) assujettit les sociétés non-résidentes à l'impôt sur le capital si l'un ou l'autre des critères (a) ou (b) des paragraphes précédents s'appliquent. Toute société assujettie à l'impôt en vertu de la partie II (impôt sur le revenu) est assujettie à l'IMS conformément au paragraphe 57.2 (1). Les sociétés non-résidentes qui sont assujetties à l'impôt de l'Ontario uniquement en vertu du critère (c) énoncé au paragraphe précédent ne sont pas assujetties à l'impôt sur le capital en Ontario, ni à l'IMS.
  2. Aux termes du paragraphe 74 (1), une compagnie d'assurance non-résidente est assujettie à l'impôt en fonction de son revenu brut sur les primes tiré de certaines polices d'assurance en Ontario. Une société non-résidente peut également être assujettie, en vertu des paragraphes 2 (2.1), 2 (2.2) et 74.1 (1) :
    • à l'impôt sur les arrangements pour des avantages sociaux non assurés aux termes de l'article 74.2, soit en tant qu'administrateur (responsable de percevoir et de remettre l'impôt) soit en tant que participant (responsable de payer l'impôt),
    • à l'impôt, aux termes de l'article 74.3, sur les contrats conclus auprès d'un assureur non autorisé, et
    • à l'impôt supplémentaire spécial, aux termes de l'article 74.1, lorsque la société nonrésidente est une compagnie d'assurance

Incidence des conventions fiscales

  1. L'Ontario n'est pas lié par les conventions fiscales conclues par le gouvernement fédéral avec d'autres pays. Il arrive cependant que, dans certains cas, l'Ontario souhaite s'aligner sur certaines dispositions prévues par ces conventions. Le paragraphe 1 (8) de la Loi sur l'imposition des sociétés permet la modification de ladite loi par voie d'un règlement afin de rendre effectives certaines dispositions de conventions fiscales précises.

Établissement stablealinéa 2 (2) a)

  1. La définition d'établissement stable est fondamentalement la même lorsqu'on cherche à déterminer l'assujettissement à l'impôt dans le cas des sociétés non-résidentes et des sociétés canadiennes. À cet égard, les contribuables doivent consulter le bulletin d'interprétation 3008F pour plus de précisions.
  2. Le paragraphe 4 (8) prévoit que lorsqu'une société non-résidente a, dans une année d'imposition,
    produit, cultivé, miné, créé, manufacturé, fabriqué, amélioré, empaqueté, conservé ou construit,
    en totalité ou en partie, quoi que ce soit au Canada, ladite société est réputée avoir maintenu un
    établissement stable aux fins de l'impôt de l'Ontario pendant l'année d'imposition au cours de
    laquelle elle a accompli l'un ou l'autre de ces actes.


Propriété de bien immeuble – alinéa 2 (2) b)

  1. Le paragraphe 2 (3) étend le sens de propriétaire de bien immeuble, d'un avoir forestier ou d'une concession forestière afin d'inclure les situations où une société détient un intérêt en common law, en équité ou un intérêt bénéficiaire. Par conséquent, les bénéficiaires de fiducies qui sont des sociétés, par exemple, seraient assujettis à l'impôt en vertu de la Loi sur l'imposition des sociétés si ladite fiducie tire un revenu de la propriété dudit bien immeuble, de l'avoir forestier ou de la concession minière situé(e) en Ontario.

Bien immeuble canadien imposable situé en Ontario – alinéa 2 (2) c)

  1. Une société non-résidente est assujettie à l'impôt sur le revenu si elle se départit d'un « bien immeuble canadien imposable situé en Ontario » prescrit par l'article 504 du règlement 183.
  2. Toutefois, si une société non résidente est par ailleurs imposable en Ontario en vertu de l'alinéa 2 (2) b) ou 2 (2) c) seulement, le gain en capital imposable applicable à la disposition dudit bien immeuble canadien imposable situé en Ontario est exonéré de l'impôt de l'Ontario si ledit gain est exonéré de l'impôt fédéral en vertu d'une convention entre le Canada et un autre pays.
  3. Le paragraphe 37 (3) prévoit que lorsqu'une règle transitoire d'une convention fiscale ou d'un accord fiscal prescrit entre le Canada et un autre pays a pour effet d'exclure, de l'impôt fédéral, une partie du gain en capital tiré de la disposition du bien immeuble canadien imposable, le montant visé sera exonéré de l'impôt de l'Ontario. La convention de 1980 sur l'impôt sur le revenu entre le Canada et les États-Unis est la seule convention prescrite à cette fin.

Revenu imposable gagné au Canada

  1. Alors que les sociétés canadiennes doivent payer l'impôt sur leur revenu mondial, les sociétés non-résidentes sont imposées en fonction de leur revenu imposable gagné au Canada seulement.
  2. L'article 37 stipule que les règles énoncées à l'article 115 de la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu (Canada) s'appliquent dans l'établissement du revenu imposable gagné au Canada dans le cas d'une société non-résidente, sauf que, aux fins de la Loi sur l'imposition des sociétés, la société doit également inclure :
    • le revenu tiré de la vente ou de la location du bien immeuble, ou d'un intérêt à l'égard dudit bien immeuble, situé au Canada,
    • les redevances ou autres paiements semblables relatifs au bien immeuble, ou un intérêt à l'égard du bien immeuble, situé au Canada, et
    • les redevances forestières relatives à un avoir forestier ou à une concession forestière
      situé(e) au Canada

Toutefois, dans l'application de l'alinéa 115 (1) d) de la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu (Canada) la société ne peut pas déduire de montant exonéré de l'impôt fédéral sur le revenu à la suite d'une convention fiscale aux termes du sous-alinéa 110 (1) f) i) de la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu (Canada).

  1. Le revenu d'une société de placement appartenant à des personnes non-résidentes est établi en vertu de l'article 49.

Calcul de l'impôt sur le revenu - article 38

  1. Aux termes de l'article 38, dans le cas des années d'imposition se terminant après le 31 décembre 2000 et avant le 1er octobre 2001, le taux général d'impôt sur le revenu s'élève à 14 % et le taux applicable au revenu tiré de la fabrication et de la transformation (taux de F et T), de l'exploitation minière, de l'agriculture, de l'exploitation forestière ou de la pêche est de 12 %. Dans le cas des années d'imposition débutant après le 30 septembre 2001, le taux général et les taux de F et T sont tous deux réduits annuellement, tel qu'indiqué dans le tableau suivant :
Années d'imposition débutant après le... Taux général Taux de F et T
30 septembre 2001 et avant le 1er janvier 2003 12,5% 11,0%
31 décembre 2002 et avant le 1er janvier 2004 11,0% 10,0%
31 décembre 2003 et avant le 1er janvier 2005 9,5% 9,0%
31 décembre 2004 8,0% 8,0%
  1. Aux termes de l'article 39, une société peut déduire de l'impôt payable par ailleurs, tout montant d'impôt représentant la partie de son revenu qui est gagnée dans d'autres ressorts canadiens. Ce montant correspond :
    • au taux d'imposition général, fois
    • le revenu imposable au Canada, qui est gagné dans chaque ressort canadien où un établissement stable est maintenu, autre que l'Ontario, établi conformément aux règles prescrites par les articles 313 à 318 du règlement 183.
  2. Sous réserve des critères d'admissibilité du crédit d'impôt spécifique, les sociétés non-résidentes sont admissibles au crédit d'impôt au titre des fiducies pour l'environnement admissibles en vertu de l'article 43.2 ainsi qu'à un certain nombre de crédits d'impôt précisés remboursables. Ces crédits englobent :
Crédit d'impôt précisé Article de la Loi Bulletin de législation fiscale
Crédit d'impôt à l'innovation de l'Ontario 43.3 --
Crédit d'impôt pour l'éducation coopérative 43.4 96-2R2
Crédit d'impôt pour l'insertion professionnelle
des diplômés
43.6 01-3
Crédit d'impôt de l'Ontario pour les maisons
d'édition
43.7 01-2
Crédit d'impôt de l'Ontario pour les entreprises
parrainant les instituts de recherche
43.9 00-2
Crédit d'impôt de l'Ontario pour les services
de production
43.10 --
Crédit d'impôt de l'Ontario pour
l'enregistrement sonore
43.11 01-4


Impôt sur le capital

Capital imposable utilisé au Canada

  1. Lorsqu'une société non-résidente exerce ses activités entièrement au Canada, le calcul de l'impôt sur le capital est fondé sur les règles applicables aux sociétés canadiennes, telles qu'énoncées aux articles 61 et 62. Par ailleurs, l'impôt sur le capital de la société non-résidente est fondé sur son capital versé imposable utilisé au Canada, tel qu'établi en vertu de l'article 64.
  2. Le capital versé imposable utilisé au Canada correspond à :
    • son capital versé utilisé au Canada, tel qu'établi selon la formule précisée à l'article 63 (traitée au paragraphe 21 ci-dessous), moins
    • les déductions permises aux termes de l'article 62, telles qu'une allocation de placement ainsi que des frais d'exploration et d'aménagement au Canada, qui peuvent raisonnablement être considérées comme entièrement applicables en supposant que tous les éléments d'actif de la société se rapportaient exclusivement à ses établissements stables au Canada. Consultez le Bulletin 3015FR pour plus de détails sur les déductions du capital versé permises aux termes de l'article 62.

Capital versé utilisé au Canada – article 63

  1. Le capital versé utilisé au Canada dans le cas d'une société non-résidente qui exerce des activités à l'extérieur du Canada correspond au plus élevé des deux montants suivants :
    • son revenu imposable gagné au Canada, immobilisé au taux de 8 %, (c.-à-d. son revenu imposable divisé par 8 %), et
    • l'actif total de la succursale canadienne moins ses comptes fournisseurs à court terme et les déductions prescrites au paragraphe 701 (1) du règlement 183.
  2. Le calcul ci-dessus s'applique uniquement à l'actif utilisé et au passif contracté dans des activités canadiennes.
  3. Chaque société non-résidente détenant une participation dans une société de personnes non constituée en personne morale et exerçant des activités au Canada doit inclure dans son capital versé utilisé au Canada sa part des éléments de passif de ladite société, qui serait comprise dans le capital versé d'une société, en fonction du taux de participation aux bénéfices. De même, la part des investissements de la société de personnes détenue par la société non-résidente est admissible aux fins de l'allocation de placement. Pour plus de précisions, consultez le Bulletin d'interprétation 3017FR.
  4. Aux termes de l'article 65, lorsque la société non-résidente tire un revenu de l'exploitation d'un navire ou d'un aéronef exonéré d'impôt sur le revenu en vertu de l'alinéa 81 (1) c) de la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu (Canada), le capital versé investi dans le navire ou l'aéronef exploité au Canada n'est pas compris dans le capital versé de la société utilisé au Canada. Par conséquent, la valeur des aéronefs ou des navires en poste dans les aéroports ou les ports du Canada n'est pas comprise dans le capital versé utilisé au Canada.

Impôt sur le capital payable

  1. Le taux d'impôt sur le capital applicable aux sociétés non-résidentes est le même que celui des sociétés canadiennes ordinaires, soit de 3/10 de 1 %.
  2. Conformément à l'article 67, la société peut déduire un montant d'impôt sur le capital relatif à son capital versé imposable utilisé au Canada dans des ressorts autres que l'Ontario. Le capital versé imposable d'une société utilisé au Canada est réparti entre les provinces et territoires, tel que précisé à l'article 329 du règlement 183. Consultez le Bulletin d'interprétation 3008F pour plus de précisions.

Exonération de l'impôt sur le capital

  1. Aux termes de l'article 68, dans le cas des années d'imposition débutant après le 30 septembre 2001, et où ni l'actif total d'une société non-résidente ni son revenu brut ne dépassent 3 000 000 $, ou lorsque son capital versé imposable ne dépasse pas 5 000 000 $, la société peut être exonérée de l'impôt sur le capital. Ces limites d'exonération s'élèvent à 1 500 000 $ et 2 000 000 $, respectivement, pour les années d'imposition se terminant en 2000 et 2001 commençant avant le 1er octobre 2001.
  2. Pour établir si la société est exonérée d'impôt aux termes de l'article 68, le capital versé imposable doit être calculé comme si la société était une société résidente du Canada. En d'autres mots, on tiendra compte du capital versé de toutes provenances et non du capital versé imposable utilisé au Canada. De plus, le capital imposable des sociétés associées, y compris les sociétés non-résidentes, doit être ajouté.
  3. On trouvera plus de précisions concernant l'exonération de l'impôt sur le capital pour les petites entreprises dans le Bulletin d'interprétation 3011FR.

Réduction de l'impôt sur le capital

  1. À compter des années d'imposition se terminant après le 30 septembre 2001, une déduction sur le capital versé imposable est offerte aux sociétés non-résidentes, correspondant au moindre des deux montants suivants :
    • 5 millions de dollars, et
    • le capital versé imposable de la société pour l'année, ou si elle était associée à d'autres sociétés possédant un établissement stable au Canada, le capital versé imposable du groupe de sociétés associées possédant des établissements stables au Canada.
  2. La déduction est calculée au prorata pour les années d'imposition chevauchant le 30 septembre 2001. De plus, lorsqu'une société non-résidente est associée à d'autres sociétés possédant des établissements stables au Canada, la déduction est répartie proportionnellement entre toutes les sociétés associées. Cette répartition est fondée sur le rapport entre le capital versé imposable de chaque société et le capital versé imposable total du groupe de sociétés canadiennes associées.
  3. Les sociétés dont l'année d'imposition se termine le 30 septembre 2001 ou avant peuvent avoir droit à une réduction de l'impôt sur le capital. Pour y être admissible, le capital versé imposable de la société (y compris le capital versé imposable de toute société associée) doit être inférieur à 3 200 000 $. On peut obtenir plus de précisions concernant la réduction de l'impôt sur le capital en consultant le Bulletin d'interprétation 3011FR.
  4. Exemple
SOCIÉTÉ NON-RÉSIDENTE SUCCURSALE CANADIENNE
(exploitée exclusivement en Ontario)
Bilan au 31 mars 2001
Actif
Placements dans de actions d'une société publique canadienne 100,000 $
Inventaire 400,000
Immeubles (fraction non amortie du côut en capital) 300,000
Actif Total 800,000 $
Passif
Comptes créditeurs 200,000 $
Compte - bureau principal (y compris profits de 80 000 $ pour  
(l'année correspondant au revenu imposable) 600,000
Passif total 800,000 $
  1. On suppose que la société est associée à d'autres sociétés et que le capital versé imposable du groupe de sociétés associées en date du 31 mars 2001 dépasse 3 200 000 $. Ainsi, la société ne peut bénéficier d'une réduction de l'impôt sur le capital mentionnée au paragraphe 32. Par ailleurs, étant donné que l'année d'imposition de la société se termine avant le 31 décembre 2001, elle n'est pas non plus admissible à la déduction de 5 000 000 $ décrite aux paragraphes 30 et 31.
  2. Le capital versé utilisé au Canada correspond au plus élevé des montants suivants :
    • Revenu imposable gagné au Canada, immobilisé au taux de 8 %
      = (80 000 $ / 8 %)
      = 1 000 000 $

      Actif total moins comptes créditeurs (et autres montants prescrits).
      = 600 000 $.

      Ainsi, le capital versé utilisé au Canada s'élève à 1 000 000
  1. Capital versé imposable utilisé au Canada :
    • Capital versé utilisé au Canada calculé ci-dessus : 1 000 000 $ moins :
    • allocation de placement :

      = 100 000 $ ÷ 800 000 $ × 1 000 000 $

      = 125 000 $ toutefois, la déduction maximum permise correspond au coût des placements 100 000

      Capital versé imposable utilisé au Canada 900 000 $
  2. L'impôt sur le capital est calculé au taux de 3/10 de 1 % sans répartition dans d'autres provinces ou territoires.
    2 700 $
 
Page : 492  |