Capital Tax - General Information and Special Cases

Bulletin 3011
Published: March 2004
Content last reviewed: November 2010
ISBN: 0-7794-2159-0 (PDF)

Publication Archived

Notice to the reader: Capital Tax was fully eliminated on July 1, 2010. It was eliminated effective January 1, 2007 for Ontario corporations primarily engaged in manufacturing or resource activities.

This publication was archived and kept for historical purposes. Use caution when you refer to it, since it reflects the law in force at the time it was released and may no longer apply.

References: section 60, 62.1, 63, 64, 65, 66.1, 68, 69, 72, subsections 58(2), 61(5), 66(1), 66(4), 71(1)


This bulletin replaces Interpretation Bulletin L-7R published April 22, 1980 and sets out the policy of the Corporations Tax Branch.

The bulletin provides general information with respect to capital tax. It is provided as a guide to taxpayers and is not intended as a substitute for the legislation. Any references to legislation are to the provisions of the Corporations Tax Act (Ontario) (CTA) and its Regulations, unless otherwise noted.

General Information


  1. The following table summarizes six current bulletins which contain general guidelines to assist corporations in calculating capital tax payable under Part III:

Corporations Subject to Capital Tax

  1. Generally, every corporation which is subject to Ontario corporation income tax is also subject to capital tax. Even if a corporation does not have to pay income tax for any particular year because of losses incurred or other reasons that reduce taxable income or income tax payable to NIL, it may still be required to pay capital tax. Corporations which are exempt from capital tax are discussed in paragraphs 5 to 10 of this bulletin.

Capital Tax Rate

  1. Subsection 66(1) establishes the capital tax rate for corporations to be 3/10 of 1%. This general rate is not applicable to financial institutions.
  1. Small business corporations may be exempt from capital tax under section 68 or be eligible for a reduction in capital tax under section 69. These sections do not apply to financial institutions.

Small Business Exemption

  1. To qualify for exemption from capital tax, a corporation must either satisfy a total assets and gross revenue test or have taxable paid-up capital below a certain threshold. The following table summarizes the criteria that a corporation must satisfy to qualify for exemption from capital tax:

    If the taxation year... Neither total assets nor gross revenue exceeds... Taxable paid-up capital does not exceed...
    Commences after September 30, 2001 $3,000,000 $5,000,000
    Ends after December 31, 2000 and commences before October 1, 2001 $1,500,000 $2,000,000
    Ends prior to January 1, 2001 $1,000,000 $2,000,000
  2. Generally, a small corporation would not have to compute its taxable paid-up capital to determine if it is exempt from tax. The corporation may use the total assets and gross revenue from its unconsolidated financial statements. However, in determining both total assets and gross revenue, corporations should include their share of total assets and gross revenues of any partnerships in which they have an interest.
  3. For this purpose, the financial statements should be those prepared for reporting to shareholders, owners or partners and, as required by subsection 75(6), should be in agreement with the books of the corporation. For a discussion of financial statement requirements, refer to Information Bulletin 4002.

Small Business Exemption - Effect of Associated Corporations

  1. In determining whether a corporation that is a member of an associated group of corporations, partnership, or connected partnership is exempt from capital tax, the aggregate taxable paid-up capital of the associated group of corporations must be considered. This includes any share of partnership or connected partnership taxable paid-up capital allocated to the members of the group or related persons of the group. For taxation years commencing after September 30, 2001, the associated corporation is exempt from capital tax if the aggregate taxable paid-up capital of the associated group of corporations does not exceed $5,000,000 ($2,000,000 for taxation years ending before October 1, 2001).
  2. For purposes of computing the aggregate taxable paid-up capital of the associated group of corporations, the taxable paid-up capital of a member that is a non-resident corporation is computed as if the corporation was resident in Canada in accordance with Division B of Part III, irrespective of whether the corporation is subject to tax under the CTA.

Other Corporations Exempt From Capital Tax - Section 57(1), 71(1)

  1. Subsection 71(1) exempts a number of special types of corporations from paying capital tax. Examples of exempt corporations are:
  • a family farm/fishing corporation (refer to Interpretation Bulletin 3018)
  • a condominium and co-operative housing corporation
  • a credit union (see paragraph 23), and
  • a corporation referred to in subsection 57(1) including:
    • crown corporations (unless prescribed)
    • boards of trade
    • chambers of commerce
    • registered charities
    • non-profit corporations, and
    • labour organizations.

Reduction to Capital Tax

  1. Effective May 5, 1999, for taxation years ending prior to January 1, 2002, corporations or associated groups of corporations with taxable paid-up capital in excess of $2,000,000 but less than specified threshold limits receive a reduction from the general rate of capital tax as follows:

    Applicable Period (Taxation Year Ending...)
    Reduction from the General Rate l Threshold
    After May 4, 1999 and before January 1, 2000 1.5 % $2,400,000
    in 2000 calendar year 0.75 % $2,800,000
    After December 31, 2000 and before October 1, 2001 0.5 % $3,200,000
  1. For taxation years straddling more than one period cited in the table above, a reduction amount must be computed for each applicable period and prorated based on the ratio that the number of days in the applicable period is to the total number of days in the taxation year.

Capital Tax Deduction

  1. For taxation years ending after September 30, 2001, a deduction from taxable paid-up capital is available equal to the lesser of:
    • $5,000,000, and
    • the corporation's taxable paid-up capital for the year.
  2. If the corporation is associated with other corporations that have permanent establishments in Canada and the taxable paid-up capital of the associated group is less than $5,000,000, the deduction is equal to the corporation's taxable paid-up capital.
  1. If the taxable paid-up capital of the associated group is greater than $5,000,000, the deduction is equal to:

    $5,000,000 × [(Taxable paid-up capital of the corporation) / (Taxable paid-up capital of the associated group)]
  2. For taxation years straddling September 30, 2001, the capital tax deduction is prorated based on the ratio of the number of days in the taxation year after September 30, 2001 to the total number of days in the taxation year.

Taxation Years Not Equal to 365 Days

  1. Generally, corporations with short taxation years (less than 365 days) are allowed to prorate the capital tax in proportion to the number of days in that year (e.g., newly incorporated corporations and corporations formed as a result of an amalgamation).
  1. Proration is not allowed where a corporation, for business reasons, has a floating taxation year (e.g. the taxation year ends on the last Friday in December). For these corporations, the reporting period will be treated as a full taxation year for assessment purposes even though the number of days in the taxation year is either less than or greater than 365 days.
  1. Corporations in existence for their full taxation year which maintain an Ontario permanent establishment for only a portion of that year are not eligible for proration.

Special Cases

Financial Institutions - Sections 58(2), 61(5), 62.1, 66(1), 66(4), 66.1

  1. Effective May 7, 1997, a corporation is considered to be a financial institution for a taxation year for capital tax purposes if at any time during the taxation year it is:
    • a bank
    • authorized under the laws of Canada or a province to carry on the business of offering its services as a trustee to the public
    • authorized under the laws of Canada or a province to accept deposits from the public, and carries on the business of lending money on the security of real estate or investing in mortgages on real estate
    • a registered securities dealer
    • a mortgage investment corporation, or
    • a corporation prescribed by section 703 of Regulation 183.
  2. Financial institutions pay capital tax on their "adjusted taxable paid-up capital" in accordance with section 62.1, at the rates of tax found in section 66(4). For taxation years (or the part of a taxation year) ending after October 31, 1998, a deposit-taking financial institution is no longer required to pay the surcharge under subsection 66.1(1.1).
  3. Tax Legislation Bulletin Number 98-1 issued February 1998 (TLB 98-1) provides a detailed outline of the capital tax treatment of financial institutions. However, TLB 98-1 does not reflect the capital tax deduction outlined in paragraph 13.

Credit Unions - Sections 58(2), 62.1, 66(6), 66(7), 68, 71(1)

  1. Effective May 5, 1999, capital tax was eliminated for credit unions. Prior to May 5, 1999, for taxation years ending after December 31, 1997, credit unions were considered to be financial institutions for capital tax purposes. TLB 98-1 discusses the calculation of capital tax for credit unions before May 5, 1999.

Partnerships - Section 61(5)

  1. Special rules are provided for the computation of paid-up capital where a corporation has entered into a partnership or joint venture agreement. For details regarding the capital tax computations of corporate members of partnerships, including numerical examples, refer to Interpretation Bulletin Number 3017.

Non-resident Corporations - Sections 60, 63, 64, 65, 66(1)

  1. Special rules are provided for the computation of the paid-up capital employed in Canada of corporations that are incorporated outside Canada (subsection 63(1)). For a summary of the special rules applicable in computing Ontario corporations tax for non-residents (income and capital tax) refer to Interpretation Bulletin Number 3010.

Other Corporations Subject to Capital Tax

  1. There are no special rules governing the computation of capital tax for the following corporations; therefore, these corporations are treated as ordinary corporations for capital tax purposes:
    • mutual fund corporations
    • investment corporations
    • non-resident-owned investment corporations
    • foreign business corporations as defined by subsection 213(3) of the Income Tax Act (Canada), and
    • co-operative corporations.
Page: 466  |

Impôt sur le capital - Renseignements généraux et cas spéciaux

Bulletin 3011
Date de publication : mars 2004
Dernière mise à jour : novembre 2010
ISBN: 0-7794-2172-8 (PDF)

Publication archivées

Avis aux lecteurs : L'impôt sur le capital a été complètement éliminé le 1er juillet 2010. Il a été éliminé à compter du 1er janvier 2007 pour les sociétés ontariennes exerçant des activités principalement dans les secteurs de la fabrication ou des ressources.

Cette publication fait partie des archives pour des raisons historiques. Puisque ce document reflète la loi qui était en vigueur au moment où il fut publié et peut ne plus être valide, veuillez l'utiliser avec prudence.

Références: articles 60, 62.1, 63, 64, 65, 66.1, 68, 69, 72, paragraphes 58(2), 61(5), 66(1), 66(4), 71(1)

Application

Le présent bulletin remplace le bulletin d'interprétation L-7R publié le 22 avril 1980, et expose la politique du ministère, Section de l'imposition des sociétés.

Ce bulletin fournit des renseignements généraux concernant l'impôt sur le capital. Il se destine à servir de guide à l'intention des contribuables et ne remplace aucunement la loi pertinente. Toute référence à la loi porte sur les dispositions de la Loi sur l'imposition des sociétés (Ontario) et les règlements afférents, à moins d'indication contraire.

Renseignements généraux

Généralités

  1. Le tableau suivant présente les six bulletins actuels comportant des directives générales destinées à aider les sociétés à calculer l'impôt sur le capital payable en vertu de la partie III :

Sociétés assujetties à l'impôt sur le capital

  1. Généralement, toute société assujettie à l'impôt sur le revenu en Ontario est également assujettie à l'impôt sur le capital. Même si une société n'a pas d'impôt sur le revenu à payer au cours d'une année donnée, à cause de pertes encourues ou pour toute autre raison réduisant à zéro son revenu imposable ou son impôt sur le revenu payable, il lui faudra peut-être encore payer l'impôt sur le capital. Les paragraphes 5 à 10 du présent bulletin sont consacrés aux sociétés exonérées d'impôt sur le capital.

Taux d'impôt sur le capital

  1. Le paragraphe 66 (1) établit le taux d'impôt sur le capital à 3/10 de 1 %. Ce taux général ne s'applique pas aux institutions financières.
  2. Les petites entreprises peuvent être exonérées de l'impôt sur le capital en vertu de l'article 68, ou avoir droit à une réduction de l'impôt surle capital en vertu de l'article 69. Ces articles ne s'appliquent pas aux institutions financières.

Exonération des petites entreprises

  1. Pour avoir droit à l'exonération de l'impôt sur le capital, une société doit satisfaire aux exigences relatives à l'actif total et au revenu brut, ou présenter un capital versé imposable inférieur à un certain seuil. Le tableau suivant résume les critères qu'une société doit remplir pour avoir droit à l'exonération de l'impôt sur le capital :

    Si l'année d'imposition... Ni l'actif total ni le revenu brut ne dépassent...Le capital versé imposable ne dépasse pas...
    Commence après le 30 septembre 20013 000 000 $5 000 000 $
    Se termine après le 31 décembre 2000 et commence avant le 1er octobre 20011 500 000 $2 000 000 $
    Se termine avant le 1er janvier 20011 000 000 $2 000 000 $
  2. En général, une petite société n'a pas à calculer son capital versé imposable pour déterminer si elle est exonérée de cet impôt. La société peut utiliser l'actif total et le revenu brut qui figurent dans ses états financiers consolidés. Toutefois, dans l'établissement de son actif total et de son revenu brut, la société doit inclure sa part de l'actif total et du revenu brut de toute société de personnes dans laquelle elle détient une participation.
  3. à cette fin, les états financiers devraient être ceux préparés à l'intention des actionnaires, propriétaires ou associés et, tel que prescrit par le paragraphe 75 (6), devraient être conformes aux registres et livres comptables de la société. Pour un exposé plus approfondi des exigences relatives aux états financiers, consultez le Bulletin d'information 4002FR1.

Exonération des petites entreprises - Effet des sociétés associées

  1. Pour déterminer si une société membre d'un groupe de sociétés associées, d'une société de personnes ou en commandite, ou d'une société de personnes ou en commandite rattachée est exonérée de l'impôt sur le capital, il faut tenir compte du capital versé imposable total du groupe de sociétés associées. Cela comprend toute part du capital versé imposable de la société de personnes ou en commandite distribuée aux membres du groupe ou à des personnes liées du groupe. Dans le cas des années d'imposition débutant après le 30 septembre 2001, la société associée est exonérée de l'impôt sur le capital si le capital versé imposable total du groupe de sociétés associées ne dépasse pas 5 000 000 $ (2 000 000 $ pour les années d'imposition se terminant avant le 1er octobre 2001).
  2. Aux fins du calcul du capital versé imposable total du groupe de sociétés associées, le capital versé imposable d'un membre qui est une société non-résidente est calculé comme si la société était résidente du Canada aux termes de la Division B de la partie III, peu importe si ladite société est assujettie à l'impôt en vertu de la Loi sur l'imposition des sociétés.

Autres sociétés exonérées d'impôt sur le capital - paragraphe 57 (1), 71 (1)

  1. Le paragraphe 71 (1) prévoit une exonération de l'impôt sur le capital pour de nombreux autres types de sociétés spéciales. Par exemple :
  • une société agricole/de pêche familiale (consultez le bulletin d'interprétation 3018),
  • une association condominiale ou une société d'habitation coopérative,
  • une caisse populaire ou un credit union (voir paragraphe 23), et
  • une société citée au paragraphe 57 (1), notamment :
    • les sociétés de la Couronne (sauf prescription),
    • les chambres de commerce,
    • les organismes de bienfaisance enregistrés,
    • les sociétés sans but lucratif, et
    • les syndicats.

Réduction de l'impôt sur le capital

  1. Depuis le 5 mai 1999, dans le cas des années d'imposition se terminant avant le 1er janvier 2002, les sociétés ou groupes de sociétés associées dont le capital versé imposable dépasse 2 000 000 $ mais est inférieur aux limites prescrites ont droit à une réduction du taux général d'impôt sur le capital, comme suit :

    Période applicable (année d'imposition se terminant...)Réduction du taux généralSeuil
    Apeés le 4 mai 1999 et avant le 1er janvier 20001,5 %2 400 000 $
    durant l'année civile 20000,75 %2 800 000 $
    le 31 décembre 2000 et avant le 1er octobre 20010,5 %3 200 000 $
  2. Dans le cas des années d'imposition chevauchant plus d'une période citée dans le tableau cidessus, une réduction doit être calculée pour chaque période applicable et établie au prorata en fonction du rapport existant entre le nombre de jours de la période applicable et le nombre total de jours de l'année d'imposition.

Déduction d'impôt sur le capital

  1. Dans le cas des années d'imposition se terminant après le 30 septembre 2001, une déduction est accordée sur le capital versé imposable, correspondant au moindre des deux montants suivants :
  • 5 000 000 $, ou
  • le capital versé imposable de la société pour l'année.
  1. Si la société est associée à d'autres sociétés qui possèdent des établissements stable au Canada et que le capital versé imposable du groupe de sociétés associées est inférieur à 5 000 000 $, la déduction est égale au capital versé imposable de la société.
  2. Si le capital versé imposable du groupe de sociétés associées est supérieur à 5 000 000 $, la déduction est égale à :

    5 000 000 $ × [(Capital versé imposable de la société) / (Capital versé imposable du groupe de sociétés associées)]
  3. Dans le cas des années d'imposition chevauchant le 30 septembre 2001, la déduction d'impôt sur le capital est calculée au prorata en fonction du rapport existant entre le nombre de jours de l'année d'imposition après le 30 septembre 2001 et le nombre total de jours de l'année d'imposition.

Années d'imposition de moins de 365 jours

  1. En général, les sociétés qui présentent une année d'imposition abrégée (moins de 365 jours) sont autorisées à calculer l'impôt sur le capital proportionnellement au nombre de jours de cette année (par ex., les sociétés nouvellement constituées et celles formées à la suite d'une fusion).
  2. Le calcul au prorata n'est pas autorisé lorsqu'une société, pour des raisons commerciales, présente une année d'imposition flottante (par ex. lorsque l'année d'imposition se termine le dernier vendredi de décembre). Pour ces sociétés, la période de déclaration est alors traitée en tant qu'année d'imposition complète aux fins d'évaluation, même si le nombre de jours de l'année d'imposition est inférieur ou supérieur à 365 jours.
  3. Les sociétés exerçant leurs activités pendant toute leur année d'imposition et qui maintiennent un établissement stable pendant une partie de l'année seulement ne sont pas autorisées à recourir à ce calcul proportionnel.

Cas spéciaux

Institutions financières - articles 58 (2) 61 (5), 62.1, 66 (1), 66 (4), 66.1

  1. Depuis le 7 mai 1997, une société est considérée, aux fins de l'impôt sur le capital, comme une institution financière pour une année d'imposition donnée si, à un moment ou l'autre de l'année d'imposition, elle était :
    • une banque
    • autorisée en vertu des lois du Canada ou d'une province à offrir ses services en tant que fiduciaire au public
    • autorisée en vertu des lois du Canada ou d'une province à accepter des dépôts du public, et à prêter de l'argent sur garantie immobilière ou à investir dans des hypothèques immobilières
    • un courtier en valeurs mobilières inscrit
    • une société de placement hypothécaire, ou
    • une société prescrite par l'article 703 du règlement 183
  2. Les institutions financières paient l'impôt sur le capital sur leur « capital versé imposable rajusté » conformément à l'article 62.1, aux taux d'impôt établis au paragraphe 66 (4). Dans le cas des années d'imposition (ou d'une partie d'une année d'imposition) se terminant après le 31 octobre 1998, une institution de dépôt n'est plus tenue de payer un impôt supplémentaire aux termes du paragraphe 66.1 (1.1).
  3. Le Bulletin fiscal numéro 98-1 publié en février 1998 (TLB 98-1) expose en détail l'application de l'impôt sur le capital aux institutions financières. Toutefois, ce bulletin ne tient pas compte de la déduction décrite au paragraphe 13.

Caisses populaires et credit unions - articles 58 (2), 62.1, 66 (6), 66 (7), 68, 71(1)

  1. Depuis le 5 mai 1999, l'impôt sur le capital a été éliminé dans le cas des caisses populaires et credit unions. Avant le 5 mai 1999, dans le cas des années d'imposition se terminant après le 31 décembre 1997, les caisses populaires et credit unions étaient considérés comme des institutions financières aux fins de l'impôt sur le capital. Le Bulletin TLB 98-1 porte sur le calcul de l'impôt sur le capital applicable aux caisses populaires et credit unions avant le 5 mai 1999.

Sociétés de personnes - paragraphe 61 (5)

  1. Des règles spéciales sont prévues pour le calcul du capital versé dans le cas des sociétés qui concluent une entente avec une société de personnes, ou avec une coentreprise. Pour plus de détails concernant le calcul de l'impôt sur le capital dans le cas des membres d'une société de personnes qui sont des sociétés, y compris des exemples numériques, consultez le Bulletin d'interprétation numéro 3017FR2.

Sociétés non-résidentes - articles 60, 63, 64, 65, 66 (1)

  1. Des règles spéciales sont prévues pour le calcul du capital versé engagé au Canada par des sociétés constituées en personne morale à l'extérieur du Canada (paragraphe 63 (1)). Pour un résumé des règles spéciales s'appliquant au calcul de l'impôt ontarien sur les sociétés (impôt sur le revenu et sur le capital), consultez le Bulletin d'interprétation numéro 3010F.

Autres sociétés assujetties à l'impôt sur le capital

  1. Aucune règle spéciale n'est prévue à l'égard de l'impôt sur le capital des sociétés suivantes; par conséquent, ces sociétés sont traitées comme des sociétés ordinaires aux fins de l'impôt sur le capital :
    • sociétés de placements à capital variable,
    • sociétés de placement,
    • sociétés de placement appartenant à des sociétés non-résidentes,
    • sociétés étrangères telles que définies au paragraphe 213 (3) de la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu (Canada), et
    • sociétés coopératives.
 
Page : 466  |