Capital Tax - Corporate Partners in Limited and Ordinary Partnerships

Bulletin 3017
Published: March 2004
Content last reviewed: November 2010
ISBN: 0-7794-2162-0 (PDF)

Publication Archived

Notice to the reader: Capital Tax was fully eliminated on July 1, 2010. It was eliminated effective January 1, 2007 for Ontario corporations primarily engaged in manufacturing or resource activities.

This publication was archived and kept for historical purposes. Use caution when you refer to it, since it reflects the law in force at the time it was released and may no longer apply.

References: section 59, subsections 3(1), 61(5), 62(3), 68(1), (3), 69(1), (4), (5), clause 1(1)(a)


This bulletin replaces Interpretation Bulletin Number L-12 originally published October 15, 1979 and is updated for comments contained in previous Interpretation Bulletins L-7R and L-16 and in Information Bulletins 15-79, 20-81, and 26-82.

The bulletin sets out the policy of the Corporations Tax Branch regarding the capital tax treatment of corporate partners in limited and ordinary partnerships. It is provided as a guide to taxpayers and is not intended as a substitute for the relevant legislation. Any references to legislation are to the provisions of the Corporations Tax Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. C.40 (CTA) and its Regulations, unless otherwise noted.


  1. This bulletin describes the capital tax treatment of a corporate partner's interest in an unincorporated joint venture or partnership. Except for paragraphs 3, 4, 7 and 8 which apply to limited partnerships, the comments in this bulletin apply with appropriate modifications to all unincorporated joint ventures and partnerships.

Ordinary Partnerships: Partner's Share of Paid-up Capital

  1. Pursuant to subsection 61(5), each corporate partner must include in the computation of paid-up capital, its share of those liabilities and other amounts of the partnership or joint venture that would otherwise be included in the paid-up capital of a corporation. For example, a mortgage liability of the partnership would normally be attributed to each partner in proportion to the profit-sharing ratio of each partner in the partnership.

Limited Partnerships: Partner's Share of Paid-up Capital

  1. Clauses 61(5)(c) and (d) provide for similar rules to be applied to taxpayers investing in limited partnerships. Each corporate general and limited partner must include in computing paid-up capital, its share of those limited partnership liabilities and other amounts that would be components of the paid-up capital of a corporation. Partners' shares, except for the share of a general partner, are to be determined by reference to the profit-sharing ratio of the limited partnership. A general partner must report, in addition to its own share, the shares of noncorporate limited partners of the limited partnership who are:
    • shareholders of the general partner
    • members of such shareholders' family
    • related to the general partner, or
    • trusts, the beneficiaries of which are related to any of the above persons.
  2. In a partnership that has more than one corporate general partner it may be that there is a non-corporate limited partner who is related to two general partners. Those two general partners must include in their calculation of paid-up capital their proportionate share of that limited partner's liabilities. The proportions used derive from the profit-sharing ratios of the general partners in the limited partnership. This is illustrated in the numerical example in paragraph 7.

Definition of "Related"

  1. Subsection 251(2) of the Income Tax Act (Canada) provides a definition describing the circumstances under which a person or persons are considered to be related. Pursuant to clause 1(1)(a), this definition applies for purposes of subsection 61(5).
  2. Under that definition, an individual limited partner who is, for example, the controlling shareholder of the parent company of a corporate general partner, is related to that general partner.

Limited Partnership Example

  1. In the example below, General Partner A with 40% has an interest twice that of General Partner B at 20%. They therefore divide the share of limited Partner C in two parts to A and one part to B.

    Limited Partnership Balance Sheet as at April 30, 2000

    Land $1,000,000
    = $1,000,000

    Mortgage Payable: $400,000
    Partners Accounts and Profit Sharing Ratios:

    • Corporate general partner A - 40%: 150,000
    • Corporate general partner B - 20%: 150,000
    • Individual limited partner C (shareholder of A and B) - 30%: 200,000
    • Non-related individual limited partner D - 5%: 75,000
    • Corporate limited partner E (subsidiary of A) - 5%: 25,000

    = $1,000,000

  2. Using the information in the Balance Sheet of Limited Partnership:
    • A will include in its paid-up capital, in addition to its own 40% of the mortgage payable, 40/60 of C's 30% share, for a total of 60% or $240,000
    • B will include the remaining 20/60 of C's 30% share plus its own 20%, for a total of 30% or $120,000
    • E will include only its 5% share or $20,000 in paid-up capital
    • D's 5% share representing $20,000 will not be subject to capital tax.

Profit-Sharing Ratio

  1. The paid-up capital of the partnership (determined as if it were a corporation) is allocated to each partner in the same proportion as the share of the profits to which the partner is entitled under the partnership agreement. The paid-up capital of the partnership is allocated to the partners using the "profit-sharing ratio" even if the partnership agreement provides for a different ratio ( "loss-ratio"), in situations where the partnership has no profit or incurs a loss in the year.

Partnership's Financial Statements

  1. Corporations that have entered into a partnership or joint venture agreement must enclose the complete partnership or joint venture financial statements with their tax returns. Paid-up capital is measured at the close of the taxation year of the taxpayer corporation. When the fiscal year of the partnership does not coincide with the taxation year of the corporate partner there may be hardship in obtaining a partnership balance sheet at the close of the corporate partner's taxation year. In such instances a corporation should include in its taxable capital for a year its share of partnership taxable liabilities for those partnerships whose year end falls within the taxation year of the corporation.
  2. For example, a partnership's fiscal year may run from April 1, 2000 to March 31, 2001 whereas the corporate partner's taxation year may end on December 31, 2000. The Corporations Tax Branch (Branch) would prefer a partnership balance sheet as at December 31, 2000, but where this is not available, the partnership balance sheet as at March 31, 2000 is acceptable for capital tax purposes. Using the March 31, 2000 balance sheet for reporting the partnerships' "liabilities" for capital tax purposes matches the reporting of the partnerships' income for income tax purposes.
  3. For taxation years ending prior to May 20, 1981, when the fiscal year of the partnership did not coincide with the taxation year of the corporate partner and where financial statements coinciding with the corporation's year end were not prepared, previous Branch policy was to accept partnership financial statements at the date "closest" to the taxation year end of the corporate partner. Corporations that filed prior to 1981 based on the "closest" fiscal year of the partnership and that have consistently filed on the same basis thereafter, are permitted by the Branch to continue such filing.
  4. The Branch's acceptance of partnership financial statements falling within the corporate taxation year is based on administrative policy. This policy applies for most corporations. However, in cases where the difference in year ends between the corporation and the partnership results in a substantial reduction in a corporation's capital tax liability, the Branch reserves the right to request that a corporate partner compute its share of partnership capital based on partnership financial statements prepared as at the corporate partner's year end.

Partnership Eligible Investments

  1. The CTA does not permit a corporate partner to claim an investment allowance on that partner's share of eligible investments of the partnership. The partners of a partnership each have an interest in the partnership itself but not in any specific assets of the partnership. This is especially true for limited partners of limited partnerships where the general partner has exclusive control of all the partnership assets until such time as the partnership is dissolved.
  2. However, as an administrative concession, the Branch allows a corporate partner (general partner or limited partner) to claim an investment allowance on its share of any qualifying investments of the partnership. This share is the same proportion as the partner's share of the partnership paid-up capital and is added to the corporate partner's own eligible investments. For a discussion of what investments qualify for the investment allowance, refer to Interpretation Bulletin 3015.

Partnership Total Assets

  1. Pursuant to subsection 62(3), the corporate partner's share of the partnership's "total assets" (based on the profit-sharing ratio) should be added to the partner's own "total assets" and a deduction made from "total assets" for the amount of "investment in the partnership" shown on the corporate partner's balance sheet.

Computation of Partnership Total Assets: Numerical Example

  1. Consider the following balance sheets for A Ltd and AB Partnership:

    A Ltd. Balance Sheet
    As at April 30, 2000

    Investment in bonds: $ 100,000
    Investment in AB Partnership: 500,000
    Other Assets: 400,000
    = $1,000,000

    Accounts payable: $ 400,000
    Capital Stock: 600,000
    = $1,000,000

    AB Partnership Balance Sheet
    As at April 30, 2000

    Accounts receivable: $ 400,000
    Other Assets: 1,600,000
    = $2,000,000

    Accounts payable $ 1,000,000
    Capital Accounts:

    • A LTD. - 50%: 500,000
    • B LTD. - 50%: 500,000

    = $2,000,000

    Total Assets per A Ltd.'s balance sheet

    Add: Share of total assets of AB Partnership (50% of $2,000,000)

    Deduct: Investment in AB Partnership per A Ltd.'s balance sheet

    Total Assets to compute A Ltd.'s investment allowance

Partnership Impact on Exemption or Reduction in Capital Tax

  1. As explained in Interpretation Bulletin 3011, for periods in a taxation year after May 4, 1999 and for taxation years that commence before October 1, 2001, corporations with taxable paid-up capital up to $2,000,000 are exempt from capital tax while corporations with taxable paid-up capital in excess of $2,000,000 but less than $3,2000,000 receive a reduction of capital tax payable at the general rate. For taxation years commencing after September 30, 2001, a corporation that is not associated with other corporations is exempt from capital tax if the corporation's taxable paid-up capital does not exceed $5,000,000.
  2. If a corporation is a member of a partnership or a "connected partnership", subsections 68(3) and 69(4) require that the corporation's share, as well as the share of related partners, of the taxable paid-up capital of the partnership or connected partnership be added to the taxable paid-up capital of the corporation when calculating whether the overall taxable paid-up capital falls within the above limits for an exemption from or reduction in capital tax.
  3. Subsection 69(5) provides the rules for determining whether a partnership of which the corporation was a member is connected with another partnership. Generally, two partnerships are considered connected to each other when more than 50% of the total income or loss of both partnerships is allocated to the same person, same group of persons, or corporations associated with the person or group.
  4. The corporation's share of taxable paid-up capital of the partnership or connected partnership that is added to the corporation's taxable paid-up capital is computed using the last fiscal period of the partnership or connected partnership ending in the corporation's taxation year.

Partnership Impact on Gross Revenue and Total Assets Exemption Threshold

  1. For taxation years that end after December 31, 2000 and commence before October 1, 2001, pursuant to clause 68(1)(a) and subsection 68(3), a corporation with "gross revenue" and "total assets" not exceeding $1,500,000 and taxable paid-up capital not exceeding $2,000,000 is eligible for a small business capital tax exemption. For taxation years commencing after September 30, 2001, a corporation is eligible for a capital tax exemption if neither the corporation's "gross revenue" nor its "total assets" exceeds $3,000,000 and if the corporation's taxable paid-up capital does not exceed $5,000,000.
  2. For purposes of this exemption, pursuant to subsection 69(1), a corporate partner must add to its own "gross revenue" and "total assets" the corporation's share in the partnership's "gross revenue" and "total assets" for the fiscal period of the partnership ending in or coinciding with the taxation year of the corporation. Consistent with the definition of total assets in subsection 62(3), total assets are reduced by the corporation's investment in the partnership.
Page: 462  |

Impôt sur le capital - Associés de sociétés de personnes ou en commandite qui sont des sociétés

Bulletin 3017
Date de publication : mars 2004
Dernière mise à jour : novembre 2010
ISBN: 0-7794-2175-2 (PDF)

Publication archivées

Avis aux lecteurs : L'impôt sur le capital a été complètement éliminé le 1er juillet 2010. Il a été éliminé à compter du 1er janvier 2007 pour les sociétés ontariennes exerçant des activités principalement dans les secteurs de la fabrication ou des ressources.

Cette publication fait partie des archives pour des raisons historiques. Puisque ce document reflète la loi qui était en vigueur au moment où il fut publié et peut ne plus être valide, veuillez l'utiliser avec prudence.

Références : articles 59, paragraphes 3(1), 61(5), 62(3), 68(1), (3), 69(1), (4), (5), alinéa 1(1) a)

Application

Le présent bulletin remplace le Bulletin d'interprétation numéro L-12 publié le 15 octobre 1979 et représente une mise à jour des précédents Bulletins d'interprétation L-7R et L-16 ainsi que des Bulletins d'information 15-79,20-81, et 26-82.

Il expose la politique du ministère, Section de l'imposition des sociétés concernant l'application de l'impôt sur le capital dans le cas des associés de sociétés de personnes ou en commandite qui sont des sociétés constituées en personne morale. Ce bulletin se destine à servir de guide à l'intention des contribuables et ne remplace aucunement la loi pertinente. Toute référence à la loi porte sur les dispositions de la Loi sur l'imposition des sociétés, L.R.O. 1990, ch. C.40 et les règlements afférents, à moins d'indication contraire.

Introduction

  1. Le présent bulletin décrit l'application de l'impôt sur le capital d'une part détenue par une  société constituée en personne morale dans une société  de personnes ou une coentreprise non constituée en personne morale. À l'exception des paragraphes 3, 4, 7 et 8 qui concernent les sociétés en commandite, le contenu du présent bulletin s'applique - moyennant certaines modifications appropriées - à toutes les sociétés de personnes et les coentreprises non constituées de personnes morales.

Sociétés de personnes : Part du capital versé détenue par un associé

  1. Aux termes du paragraphe 61 (5), chaque associé d'une société de personnes doit inclure, dans le calcul du capital versé, sa part des éléments de passif de la société de personnes ou la coentreprise, et tout autre montant qui serait par ailleurs inclus dans le capital versé d'une société. Par exemple, un élément de passif découlant d'une hypothèque de la société en commandite serait normalement attribué à chaque associé, proportionnellement au taux de participation aux bénéfices de chaque associé de la société de personnes .

Sociétés en commandite : part du capital versé détenue par un associé

  1. Les alinéas 61 (5) c) et d) prévoient l'application de règles similaires dans le cas des contribuables qui investissent dans une société en commandite. Chaque commandité qui est une société et chaque commanditaire doivent inclure dans le calcul du capital versé, leur part des éléments de passif de la société en commandite et autres montants qui feraient par ailleurs partie du capital versé d'une société. Les parts des associés, à l'exception de celle d'un commandité, doivent être établies en fonction du taux de participation aux bénéfices de la société en commandite. Un commandité doit déclarer, outre sa propre part, les parts des commandités de la société en commandite qui ne sont pas des sociétés et qui sont :
    • des actionnaires du commandité,
    • des membres de la famille de tels actionnaires,
    • liés au commandité, ou
    • des fiducies, dont les bénéficiaires sont liés à l'une ou l'autre des personnes qui précèdent.
  2. Dans le cas d'une société en commandite qui compte plus d'un commandité qui est une société, il est possible que l'un des commanditaires qui n'est pas une société soit lié à deux commandités. Ces deux commandités doivent alors inclure, dans le calcul de leur capital versé, leur part proportionnelle du passif dudit commanditaire. Les proportions sont établies en fonction du taux de participation aux bénéfices des commandités de la société en commandite. Cette situation est illustrée par l'exemple donné au paragraphe 7.

Définition de « personnes liées »

  1. Le paragraphe 251 (2) de la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu (Canada) donne une définition décrivant les circonstances dans lesquelles on considère qu'une ou plusieurs personnes sont liées. Aux termes de l'alinéa 1 (1) a), cette définition s'applique également aux fins du paragraphe 61 (5).
  2. En vertu de cette définition, on considère qu'un commandité qui est un particulier et qui, par exemple, est actionnaire contrôlant de la société mère d'un commandité qui est une société, est lié à ce commandité.

Exemple d'une société en commandite

  1. Dans l'exemple qui suit, le commandité A (40 %) détient une part deux fois plus élevée que celle du commandité B (20 %). Par conséquent, ils doivent attribuer la part détenue par le commanditaire C à raison de deux parts pour A et d'une part pour B.

    Société en commandite Bilan au 30 avril 2000

    Terrain : 1 000 000 $

    = 1 000 000 $

    Emprunt hypothécaire : 400 000 $
    Comptes des associés et taux de participation
    aux bénéfices :

    • Commandité (société) A -40 % : 150 000
    • Commandité (société) B - 20 % : 150 000
    • Commanditaire (particulier) C (actionnaire de A et B) - 30 % : 200 000
    • Commanditaire (particulier) non lié D - 5 % : 75 000
    • Commanditaire (société) E (filiale de A) - 5 % : 25 000

    = 1 000 000 $

  2. D'après l'information fournie par le bilan de la société en commandite :
    • A inclura dans son capital versé, en plus de sa propre part de 40 % de l'emprunt hypothécaire, 40/60 de la part de 30 % de C, soit un total de 60 % ou 240 000 $.
    • B inclura les 20/60 restants de la part de 30 % de C, en plus de sa propre part de 20 %, soit un total de 30 % ou 120 000 $.
    • E inclura seulement sa part de 5 %, soit 20 000 $, en capital versé.
    • La part de 5 % de D représentant 20 000 $ ne sera pas assujettie à l'impôt sur le capital.

Taux de participation aux bénéfices

  1. Le capital versé de la société de personnes ou en commandite (établi comme s'il s'agissait d'une société), est alloué à chaque associé dans la même proportion que la part des bénéfices auquel l'associé a droit en vertu du contrat de société. Le capital versé de la société de personnes ou en commandite est réparti entre les associés en fonction du « taux de participation aux bénéfices », même si le contrat de société prévoit un taux différent (« coefficient de perte ») dans le cas où la société de personnes ou en commandite n'a réalisé aucun bénéfice ou lorsqu'elle affiche une perte pour l'année.

États financiers de la société de personnes ou en commandite

  1. Les sociétés qui ont conclu un contrat de société de personnes ou en commandite, ou de coentreprise doivent joindre à leurs déclarations de revenus les états financiers complets de la société ou coentreprise. Le capital versé est évalué à la fin de l'exercice de la société contribuable. Lorsque l'exercice de la société de personnes ou en commandite ne concide pas avec l'année d'imposition de l'associé de ladite société, il pourrait être difficile d'obtenir le bilan de la société à la fin de l'année d'imposition de l'associé. Dans un tel cas, la société doit inclure dans son capital imposable pour l'année, sa part du passif imposable des sociétés de personnes ou en commandite dont l'exercice se termine durant l'année d'imposition de la société.
  2. Par exemple, l'exercice d'une société de personnes ou en commandite pourrait s'échelonner du 1er avril 2000 au 31 mars 2001, tandis que l'année d'imposition de l'associé de ladite société pourrait se terminer le 31 décembre 2000. Le ministère, Section de l'imposition des sociétés (le ministère) préférerait un bilan en date du 31 décembre 2000, mais s'il n'est pas disponible, le bilan au 31 mars 2000 est également acceptable aux fins de l'impôt sur le capital. En utilisant le bilan au 31 mars 2000 pour déclarer le « passif » de la société de personnes ou en commandite aux fins de l'impôt sur le capital, on établit un parallèle avec la déclaration du revenu de ladite société aux fins de l'impôt sur le revenu.
  3. Dans le cas des années d'imposition se terminant avant le 20 mai 1981, lorsque l'exercice de la société de personnes ou en commandite ne concidait pas avec l'année d'imposition de l'associé de ladite société et lorsque des états financiers correspondant à la fin de l'exercice de la société n'étaient pas préparés, le ministère avait pour politique d'accepter les états financiers de la société à la date « se rapprochant le plus » de la fin de l'année d'imposition de l'associé. Les sociétés ayant produit une déclaration avant 1981 en fonction de l'exercice le plus proche et ayant continué de produire leurs déclarations de cette façon par la suite sont autorisées par le ministère à conserver cette méthode de production.
  4. L'acceptation, par le ministère, des états financiers d'une société de personnes ou en commandite tombant durant l'année d'imposition de l'associé de ladite société repose sur une politique administrative qui s'applique à la plupart des sociétés. Toutefois, dans les cas où la différence entre la fin de l'exercice de la société et celle de la société de personnes ou en commandite entraîne une réduction considérable de l'impôt sur le capital exigible de la société, le ministère se réserve le droit de demander qu'un associé d'une société de personnes ou en commandite calcule sa part du capital de ladite société en fonction des états financiers de telle société, tels que préparés en date de la fin de l'exercice de l'associé.

Placements admissibles d'une société de personnes ou en commandite

  1. La Loi sur l'imposition des sociétés ne permet pas à un associé d'une société de personnes ou en commandite de demander une déduction pour placements sur la part des placements admissibles de ladite société, détenue par l'associé. Les associés d'une société de personnes ou en commandite détiennent chacun une part de ladite société, mais ne détiennent pas une part d'un élément d'actif en particulier de la société. Cette situation s'applique particulièrement dans le cas de commanditaires d'une société en commandite, lorsque le commandité exerce un contrôle exclusif sur tous les éléments d'actif de la société, jusqu'à la dissolution de la société.
  2. Toutefois, en tant que concession administrative, le ministère permet à un associé (commandité ou commanditaire) de demander une déduction pour placements sur sa part de tout placement admissible de la société de personnes ou en commandite. Cette part correspond à la part du capital versé de la société, détenue par l'associé, et s'ajoute aux propres placements admissibles de l'associé de la société de personnes ou en commandite. Pour plus de précisions sur les placements donnant droit à la déduction pour placements, consultez le Bulletin d'interprétation 3015.

Actif total de la société de personnes

  1. Conformément au paragraphe 62 (3), la part de l'« actif total » détenue par l'associé de la société de personnes ou en commandite (en fonction du taux de participation aux bénéfices) doit être ajoutée à l'« actif total » de l'associé, le montant « investi dans la société de personnes ou en commandite » indiqué sur le bilan de l'associé de ladite société étant déduit de l'« actif total ».

Calcul de l'actif total d'une société de personnes ou en commandite : exemple

  1. Voici les bilans de deux sociétés, A Ltée et Société AB :

    A Ltée Bilan
    au 30 avril 2000

    Placements en obligations : 100 000 $
    Montant investi dans Société AB : 500 000
    Autre actif : 400 000

    = 1 000 000 $

    Comptes créditeurs: 400 000 $
    Capital-actions 600 000

    = 1 000 000 $

    Société AB Bilan au 30 avril 2000

    Comptes débiteurs : 400 000 $
    Autres actif : 1 600 000

    = 2 000 000 $

    Comptes créditeurs : 1 000 000 $
    Comptes de capital :

    • A Ltée - 50 % 500 000
    • B Ltée - 50 % 500 000

    = 2 000 000 $

    Actif total selon le bilan de A Ltée :
    1 000 000 $

    Plus : Part de l'actif total de Société AB (50 % de 2 000 000 $) :
    1 000 000/2 000 000

    Moins : Montant investi dans Société AB selon le bilan de A Ltée :
    (500 000)

    Actif total aux fins du calcul de la déduction pour placements de A Ltée
    = 1 500 000 $

Incidence de la société de personnes ou en commandite sur une exonération ou une réduction de l'impôt sur le capital

  1. Tel qu'expliqué dans le Bulletin d'interprétation 3011, dans le cas des périodes d'une année d'imposition se terminant après le 4 mai 1999 et des années d'imposition débutant avant le 1er octobre 2001, les sociétés dont le capital versé imposable ne dépasse pas 2 000 000 $ sont exonérées de l'impôt sur le capital, alors que celles dont le capital versé imposable est supérieur à 2 000 000 $ mais inférieur à 3 200 000 $ ont droit à une réduction de l'impôt sur le capital au taux d'imposition général. Dans le cas des années d'imposition débutant après le 31 décembre 2001, toute société qui n'est associée à aucune autre société est exonérée de l'impôt sur le capital si le  pas 5 000 000 $.
  2. Lorsqu'une société fait partie d'une société de personnes ou en commandite ou d'une société de personnes ou en commandite « rattachée », les paragraphes 68 (3) et 69 (4) stipulent que la part du capital versé imposable de la société ou de la société rattachée détenue par ladite société, ainsi que celle des associés liés, doit être ajoutée au capital versé imposable de la société lorsqu'on cherche à déterminer si le capital versé imposable global entre dans les limites ci-dessus aux fins d'une exonération ou d'une réduction de l'impôt sur le capital.
  3. Le paragraphe 69 (5) précise les règles permettant d'établir si une société de personnes ou en commandite dont fait partie une société est rattachée à une autre société de personnes ou en commandite. En général, on considère que les deux sociétés sont rattachées lorsque plus de 50 % du revenu total ou de la perte totale des deux sociétés est inclus dans le calcul du revenu d'une même personne, d'un même groupe de personnes, ou de sociétés associées à cette personne ou ce groupe.
  4. La part du capital versé imposable de la société de personnes ou en commandite ou de la société de personnes ou en commandite rattachée, ajoutée au capital versé imposable de la société, est calculée en fonction du dernier exercice de la société ou de la société rattachée se terminant durant l'année d'imposition de la société.

Incidence d'une société de personnes ou en commandite sur le seuil d'exonération du revenu brut et de l'actif total

  1. Dans le cas des années d'imposition se terminant après le 31 décembre 2000 et débutant avant le 1er octobre 2001, conformément à l'alinéa 68 (1) a) et au paragraphe 68 (3), toute société dont le « revenu brut » et l'« actif total » ne dépassent pas 1 500 000 $ et dont le capital versé imposable ne dépasse pas 2 000 000 $ est admissible à une exonération de l'impôt sur le capital pour les petites entreprises. Dans le cas des années d'imposition débutant après le 30 septembre 2001, une société est admissible à une exonération de l'impôt sur le capital si ni le « revenu brut » de la société ni son « actif total » ne dépassent 3 000 000 $ et si son capital versé imposable ne dépasse pas 5 000 000 $.
  2. Aux fins de cette exonération, conformément au paragraphe 69 (1), un associé d'une société de personnes ou en commandite doit ajouter à son propre « revenu brut » et à son propre « actif total » la part du « revenu brut » et de l'« actif total » de ladite société, que détient la société, pour l'exercice de la société se terminant ou correspondant à la date de la fin de l'année d'imposition de la société. Conformément à la définition d'actif total énoncée au paragraphe 62 (3), l'actif total est réduit du montant que la société a investi dans la société de personnes ou en commandite.
 
Page : 462  |